Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trinity Baptist College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing really in the vandalism department. great securty

    Greek Life

    if you take greek it will be your life, i have a feeling that's not what they're looking for.

    Clubs and Activities

    societies instead of whatever big colleges have. every year they plan activities but they're all virtually the same with a different theme or twist. example: two years ago=survivor theme, last year=pirates theme? i don't know. all i knew was that it didn't feel any different. the one major change was that it was a scavenger hunt...welcome to 5th grade.

    Great for these types of students

    pastors and missionaries.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lack of tradition is a way of life.

    Bang for the buck

    i guess? you don't pay a lot but there's also not a lot offered so it might be priced just right.

    What to do for fun

    most people just go off campus because there's not much to do unless you like parking lots and a football field that you're not allowed to touch.

    Food and Dining

    typical college food.

    Dorm Life

    good people, lots of people with no volume control or respect for others too.

    Academic Rigor

    very limited selection on majors and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't come just for sports. make sure you want to be in the ministry or you won't last.

    In three sentences

    unless you are supernaturally self-motivated and completely bought into what this school is doing i wouldn't try it. unless you seriously want to be in the ministry this school probably won't grow on you.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security guys are always out at night driving around. The gates are locked around 9pm. The doors to the dorm are always locked and you need a key to get in at all times. There is also a lock to each individual dorm-room. Our RA's come around every night to make ensure we are all in our rooms at curfew so they know we are safe and sound.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have our societies which host various activities from time to time. There is always something happening on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Those considering going into the ministry

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fountain jump, slow clap at chapel, clapping when cups/plates are dropped, and most importantly, Humans VS. Zombies

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is only about $14,000 a year and that includes the dorm, food, books, classes, and much more.

    What to do for fun

    We have a tv, ping-pong tables, pool tables, a coffee shop and more in the commons.

    Food and Dining

    I am not the biggest fan of the food, but I am also very picky. Basically, if you know it's chicken delight night, plan on going out to McDonald's or something.

    Dorm Life

    There was some drama in the beginning of the year with one student but it was taken care of right away. I personally have only 1 roommate. Curfew is at 11, and we have dean inspection only once a week, and if you pass, you get extended curfew on Friday nights.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging especially near midterms and finals so you have to prioritize and use good time management.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to work Extended Ed at Trinity's Christian Academy! It is an awesome job especially for those who want to be education majors!

    In three sentences

    Trinity is for someone who wants to be in the ministry. You can't come here just for sports or you'll never make it the whole 4 years. This school is definitely impacting my life for Christ and I am making great relationships with others.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always several security guards on duty 24/7!

    Greek Life

    SOOO FUN!

    Clubs and Activities

    Major rivalries between the four societys. Everyone hates Alpha because we win EVERYTHING, and they get extremely jealous!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rush night is always incredible!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good practical education, and with the academy right there it allows for a lot of hands-on practice,

    What to do for fun

    Jump into the fountain at the front of the campus!

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast is yummy, lunch and dinner not so much.

    Dorm Life

    Be a commuter, much easier!

    Academic Rigor

    Limited majors, but the professors are extremely passionette about what they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Choose your friends wisely, 2. Don't get behind in classes, 3. Enjoy yourself, college doesn't have to be all work and no play

    In three sentences

    Don't go into college thinking it is going to be a piece of cake. But if you study hard and manage your time wisely you will have some of the best experiences of your life. If you want to see more check out thetrinitarian.org, the campus newspaper.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a notoriously good job.

    Greek Life

    Fun. Lots of activities and competitions.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great activities in societies.

    Great for these types of students

    Ministry-oriented. like-to-have-fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sigma has some unusual traditions. Come and find out about them.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty reasonable at around 14k.

    What to do for fun

    The commons has a tv, 2 pool tables, foosball, coffee shoppe, hubs for homework...

    Food and Dining

    Food could be improved, but they probably are working with a limited budget.

    Dorm Life

    We like to have fun in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A nice balance of rigorous classes and not-so-rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people. You'll make friends fast.

    In three sentences

    New leadership has infused a new, refreshing way of governing the student body. Relaxed rules have allowed the students to be responsible on their own. Overall, I have enjoyed the college life here.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Sounds pretty good.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently, in the societies, they have a game called mattress surfing (not related to the Princess Diaries 2 equivalent), but it does look very amusing.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very cheap compared to other Private (or even Public) schools. They have plenty of scholarships for you, and you do get a quality education with it as well.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of fun and challenging activities to be done here while you are a student. The majority of them is broken up into two categories: Sports and Community/Spiritual service (if you think that stuff is fun). I would give this section an A because of all the activities.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat here. The one time I did though, the bread was really dry. They did give it to me for free though, so that's a plus. I don't eat here on a regular basis though, since I live in the city.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, so I can't say for sure. Ask an actual dorm student.

    Academic Rigor

    It might be because I've been through a lot worse, or this school is really easy. I can't say for sure until I'm at least a Junior, but so far, I'm making straight A's and hardly enough work is being put into that.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school if you are coming from a sheltered background and want to continue on with the sheltering, or if you are serious about God and want to pursue a career with Him in mind. (I recommend the latter.)

    In three sentences

    This school is very well kept. I would give it a B+ at best though.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not enough activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the location is convenient for my family.

    What to do for fun

    go the the library and study

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared. understand. pray.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is not what i expected it to be. the classes are challenging. the staff are easy to talk too.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Trinity Baptist College has good location. Their students appear to be open and friendly. The layout on their website is good.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oh yeah, real safe. Mainly because the staff is paranoid. But not so safe that it's hard to sneak out. Leave at midnight, they'll ask who you are, say you're getting kicked out the dorms for not being a student and it's curfew.

    Greek Life

    Uhh, there are societies you're required to participate in. Each group is pitted against the other instigating life long compulsions to shout SIGMA any time there is silence in large crowds.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lol.

    Great for these types of students

    Innocent, baptist, fundamentalist, afraid of bad things kinda kids. But it also is great for those kids who are forced to go because of parents, because although they're strict, you only get caught being a normal person if you're stupid about it. Make outside friends and never hang on campus longer than you need to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They never check your fridges. If you'd like to keep a bottle of a little pick-me-up when you're stressing from not being able to talk to your girlfriend/boyfriend for your sexy hugging, feel free to hide it behind your pudding pops.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap, but you'll still be stuck with 20,000 in student loans after graduation with a job at chic-fil-a and no prospects of anything better than a minimum wage job as a church youth pastor. So I mean, yeah it's worth it. Go Eagles.

    What to do for fun

    Uhhh...depends on the person. For me it was to sneak off campus with boys in the car because it's almost like a game. You can't get caught or you'll be grounded!! Like literally. Two weeks without any verbal, physical and spiritual contact with the opposite sex.

    Food and Dining

    Can be creative some nights. Love the kitchen staff. But it's cafeteria food. For what it's worth it's pretty good. A lot of fried stuff.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dorm life. Sucky, but good memories. But when you're a 20 year old junior ready to get your own place, be warned: You can't move out on your own until you're 21 per school rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Ok, depending on the professor you can struggle with the work load. But if you've been to an actual university before, or went to a quality high school you'll breeze through it. Easy A's are great, but when it comes time to getting your masters you'll have very limited options of grad schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your ultimate goal is to work at a church that doesn't reaaaally need you to have a degree, or you want to be gauranteed a job at chic-fil-a after graduation, alright, go for it. But please do your research. Don't go there for a year, realize it's not for you, and then have untransferrable credits.

    In three sentences

    Not state accredited (Don't be fooled by the Christian Board of Accredidation). If you're a woman your classes are limited (will have to make puppets in place of adv. theo.). Finding a quality grad school after is a nightmare.

  • 06/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many of the teachers are willing to give their lives to help protect the students from any threat. There is even one Chemistry teacher who is on campus for nearly 12 hours making sure that it is safe for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know the activities for the college.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is enjoyable for all forms of Christians and can be fine for agnostics or even atheists too. Some of my friends from there were agnostics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tennis courts, basketball courts, a disc-golf course (I loved that one), baseball field, football field, track team (no field though), a chapel (I do not know the hours at which it is open), and there may be a few things that I have missed. I loved this school and I will miss it dearly.

    Bang for the buck

    I rate this school at 5 stars and if I were to get a Nobel Peace Prize for my field of work I would get a legal copy and give it to the school to show what they have done to make an understanding student out of me.

    What to do for fun

    I do not know what the college students do in their spare times, but when I hear and see that there is a rooster roaming the dorms I am sure someone is having a fun time pulling some jokes on each other. There was also another time where there was a week long game, and it was zombie survival where different students were either infected or were survivors. The obvious intent was to either tag the survivors or to survive and escape the zombies.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining commons were fair in size and would accommodate about 500 students at a time.

    Dorm Life

    I have no say on dorm life, but the dorms are not too far from any of the classrooms which means it is a far safer walk to and from the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not know the academic rigor of College at this school, but when I attended as a student I had 7 mandatory classes that nearly caused me to fail, BUT this was due to an issue in my homeschooling education so if there were no errors in it I would have had only 5 mandatory classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I assure you the staff here care for you even if one is like a drill Sargent he does this to help you make better decisions, in fact I even called him Another Father. All the staff here are reasonable and care about the students with their own lives.

    In three sentences

    I am alumni of the school and I can say without a doubt that if one were to attend one will find that the staff and the administration are great people. I was even friends with most of the school staff whether it was the Trigonometry teacher, the Physics teacher, or even the Biology teachers. I will love and miss all of them.

  • 12/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security seems to be on point, although they mostly appear to stay on the church side. I feel safe on campus though, because we have 11:00 p.m. curfew, and if you are missing, it will be noticed.

    Greek Life

    The college has 4 societies: Pi Rho, Alpha, Theta, and Sigma. Society chapel, which occurs twice every month or so, consists either of meeting with your society as a whole or with guys and girls split up. Each society hosts different activities through out the semester in which the members of other societies can come and partake in. Rush Alpha! ;)

    Clubs and Activities

    On Campus: There are so many activities at Trinity! Various society (our version of fraternities/sororities) activities take place throughout the semester, as well as student body activities. Examples from this semester include: a scavenger hunt through beautiful St. Augustine, midnight viewing of the new Hunger Games movie, and Humans VS. Zombies (a student-wide activity pretty much everyone gets involved in). Also, intramural activities include softball and ultimate frisbee. Attending basketball, baseball, and volleyball games is also a favorite. Finally, since the college is connected with a Trinity Baptist Church, there is a lot to get involved with there as well!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students of all different backgrounds, but to really get the most out of Trinity, you must have a relationship with the Lord and a desire to grow closer to Him through the things you will learn and the acts of service you will do. If that is the case, you will love the positive environment and emphasis on trusting in God.

    What to do for fun

    Around town: TBC is located in Jacksonville, Florida. Jacksonville is pretty spread out, but there are so many things to do. Some things I've done this semester include going to the Cummings Museum(free for college students), going to the beach (free except for gas to take the 30 -minute drive), and a free field trip to Fort Caroline.

    Food and Dining

    The food is served in the same cafeteria as the high school TBC shares a campus with. The food is so much better than my old college's, although weekend dining leaves a bit to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    I feel very much at home living in the dorms. I'm very thankful that the walls are light grey, as opposed to the typical bright white that most dorms have. It makes it feel so much more home-y. There is curfew at 11, which is similar to most Christian colleges. It is slightly annoying sometimes, but it also helps make me feel safer, because roommates know you should be inside by that time, and if you're not they'll check on you.

    Academic Rigor

    I LOVE the classes here. The classes so far have been interesting, and the testing has been far easier than at my old college. This is because professors really work to repeat important information, and often make the information that will appear on the exams very well known to students. I remember so much more of the information because professors here care more about you learning the information than making tests tricky for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    University aid isn't readily available, and while there are several on-campus jobs (more than any other school that I've seen so far), they pay minimum wage with few hours. I transferred to Trinity, trading my full-tuition scholarship for one with equivalent requirements but only covering $325 of my tuition per semester. If you want to come to Trinity, it is important that you are truly willing to do what it takes to make it work for you financially.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Baptist College is a perfect find for students pursuing education in an environment that is Christ-focused while not going overboard with the rules! It is important to note that there are far more rules for students than there would be at a public college, however. Honestly, I like the rules, believing they work to set us apart, keep us safe, and prepare us for our various callings in the ministry field.

  • 07/24/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No complaints, and Tim is great.

    Greek Life

    See What To Do For Fun'

    Clubs and Activities

    See What To Do For Fun'

    Great for these types of students

    MINISTRY-MINDED PEOPLE!!! This is not the place for sports players to get the opportunity to play ball and float through school. You will be challenged and expected to uphold a certain level of conduct. This is a place for people preparing themselves to go into some form of ministry. It is not just a Christian party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spirit rock gets spray painted, preferably after curfew. Some societies have initiations. It is a small campus with little secret places.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap for an accredited college.

    What to do for fun

    Trinity tries to offer many activities for everyone. Societies are a big deal.They are similar to sororities and fraternities, but have no affiliation with anything outside the school. They plan chapels and activities in an attempt to gain points to become Society of the Year. The student body officers also try to plan events for the student body to get involved in. Sports leagues, music and drama opportunities, game nights, and more are all available for fun. The school is also affiliated with Trinity Baptist Church, which provides events and activities, as well as service opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    I woul dhave to say that this is the worst part of Trinity for the most part. Breakfast is typically pretty good, but you should get there earlier in the morning. Some days they do waffles and omelettes too. Lunch is the same as what is served in the Academy, which means some days it is good, and some days it is terrible. Dinner is usually not very good, with a few good ones, like Steak Night. While that does not sound terrible, the lack of options and fresh or healthy choices that taste good does. My advice is to keep your rmenu handy so you always know what is being served and stock up on your own supply of fresh fruits and veggies.

    Dorm Life

    If commuting is an option for you (over 21 or living with designated family), than I would recommend it. The dorms are rather run down and are quite small. You have little say in room/roommate choice. There are weekly room inspections and nightly curfew checks. Laundry room is available, and the use is included in fees, so you do not need change, which is a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more difficult and some are more fluff, as with any other college. Few students are able to float through all of their classes as some of them will take some work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare your heart and pray. You need to be sure that this is the place God wants you to be, because it is not for everyone. If you are supposed to be here, make sure to rush Pi Rho! While we would love to have you, make sure to join a society that you will enjoy, because you will be there until you graduate. Turn off the tv in the activities center and return the balls and pool sticks to where they go and try not to break any furniture. Be on time for curfew or ask for extended. They are not strict about giving extended curfew; you just have to ask for it. Work hard in Dr. Cash's class. You do not want to retake it.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is a place for people who want to grow in their daily walk, continue their relationship with the Lord, and prepare for their ministry. The professors at Trinity will work with you, as long as you will do what you are asked. There are job opportunities available on campus, so seek them out for extra cash or to pay extra bills.