Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trinity International University-Illinois Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/15/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are events that happen throughout the school year, which are put on by a student led group called College Union. They provide fun AND affordable opportunities to meet new people and to have a great time with your friends. Activities include but are not limited to: movies on and off campus, whirly ball, a campus-wide tag-like game, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience is great on and off campus. Hawkins Dining Hall has good quality food, and operates in a buffet style per meal swipe. Fresh has great quality food, and is extremely efficient during time crunches since you can take your food on-the-go. We are also right next to Chicago, which speaks for itself!

    Dorm Life

    My dormitory life has been very diverse, in the quality of the dormitory and the community. I chose to rate TIU 4/5 instead of 3/5, because I feel the quality of the community in general made up for any short-comings related to the dorms. I have lived in three of the four dorms on campus (Carlson, Trinity, and Madsen Hall). Each one is different, having its own style and flavor. Carlson Hall is the least aesthetically pleasing and functional place to live, but if you choose your roommate and suites mates wisely you will potentially experience the best community and "suite-life" in your college career as I did in my junior year. Trinity Hall is the newest dorm, so it is more aesthetically pleasing and functional to live in, although some rooms do not have a main living room area which could hinder community relationships within your suite. Madsen Hall is for upperclassmen, and is based on an apartment style (some suites have kitchens) to help prepare seniors and juniors for the next step in their life which is great, but I is not what you would see in a Martha Stewart magazine.

    Academic Rigor

    Trinity College was an academically challenging time for me, which has grown me not only intellectually but also spiritually. We not only engage with the class content at hand, but also apply a Christian worldview to each and every subject in class, which helped me understand how to think as a well-informed individual and as a Christian. I feel adequately prepared for graduate school, should I choose to pursue further schooling. As a senior with only one semester left (and assuming I'll pass those classes), I can testify that it is not impossible!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Search the Scriptures and yourself and determine what the Lord is calling you to and what you personally desire for your college experience. 2. Understand what Trinity stands for and offers (intimate, Christian, liberal arts college), and weight this with the first tip. 3. Preferably, have a general idea of what you would like to study and major in. 4. Work or get an internship over the summer. 5. Consult your parents, and trustworthy family members, teachers, coaches, etc. for advice and guidance. 6. Spend a night on campus. 7. Call the admissions office with any questions you have!

    In three sentences

    Trinity International University is an intimate, Christian, liberal arts college that has afforded me the opportunity to obtain a bachelors degree, allowing me to feel prepared to engage the world as a well-informed and spiritually-formed individual, to love and serve God and my neighbor by building His Kingdom while here on earth. I have experienced some of the best times of my life, as well as some of the worst, while living on campus, and I will be forever grateful for the community, network, and friendships that God has provided for me during my time at TIU. I would not choose to have it any other way!

  • 05/02/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is located in a very safe area and our security staff is always willing to walk you back to your dorm or give you a ride across campus if you do not feel safe doing so on your own. It's important to avoid walking alone late at night, but sometimes, if you stay at the library longer than your friends, you might want an escort to bring you back to your dorm. We have 24/7 security on campus and they make sure that everything remains safe for all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many things to get involved in! From intramural sports to leadership groups, you'll be sure to find something you'd like to join!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, we have a tradition called Dorm Wars, where each of the residence halls on campus compete against each other to be names the #1 dorm on campus! Some of the events include obstacle courses through a bouncy house, life-size hungry, hungry hippos, and trivia about our university. It's always a good time to get competitive with your neighboring dorms! We also have a winter formal every year called Santa Lucia, where a freshman girl is crowned as the Santa Lucia based on her leadership, Christian character, and service for others. She is nominated by the student body. Another tradition I love is a night called Golf in Rolf, where we mini-put throughout our Rolfing library. Students create golfing holes throughout the library and students can come golf for the low price of $1. The proceeds go towards our missions trips that students take part in over Spring Break and May term.

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity is a bit costly, since it is a private university, but the financial aid office does a great job of providing scholarships and various ways to breakdown the cost. I think that the experiences I am getting are definitely worth the money. I am not only just growing as a student, but also as a friend, in the work setting, and in preparation for my future career. I have learned so much professionalism while being involved in various groups on campus and have learned how to work alongside different types of people and lead people well.

    What to do for fun

    Trinity has a student group on campus called College Union that plans various events for students throughout the school year. They try to plan something for every weekend, such as Paint Wars, going to Broadway plays in Chicago, trips to MLB games, whirlyball, and formal events such as Jr./Sr. Some weeks are filled with many, many things to do, while other weeks are a bit quieter. There are lots of parks and places to go around campus and being so close to Chicago is great too!

    Food and Dining

    TIU does an incredible job with their food and dining services! We have two dining options on campus, Hawkins Dining Hall and Fresh grab-n-go. The dining hall staff does a fantastic job providing meals for all students. For those with allergies and food sensitivities, they are quick to provide food that is safe and healthy for each student to eat. The dining hall has many themed days throughout the year, from Thanksgiving dinners, Christmas celebrations, beach days, and celebrating the Chinese New Year, there is always something new to try in the dining hall. The salad bar is always open, but the other food offered changes very often, so that meals are not repeated too often. Fresh is a grab-n-go option, where you can get salads, soup, sandwiches, breakfast burritos, bagels, muffins, coffee, etc. Whether you need to grab food fast before class or just want to go back to your dorm room to eat, Fresh is a great option for meals, too.

    Dorm Life

    We have four different dorms on campus, one freshmen dorm and three upperclassmen dorms for sophomores through seniors. I lived in the freshmen dorm for two years (before it became a freshmen-only dorm) and I absolutely loved it! It is a community-style dorm, so you share a room with one roommate and share a bathroom with your floor. The RAs of each floor plan creative community building nights, which are always a lot of fun! I am now an RA in an upperclassmen dorm called Trinity Hall and it has been an incredibly great experience! It is so fun to get to know the residents of this dorm and to plan fun events for them. I helped plan a March Madness event for the hall and have planned events for my floor specifically, such as a mug decorating night, spa night, a suite slumber party, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a part of the Honors Program at TIU and have felt challenged in my coursework throughout my time here. Being part of this program, I take an honors class every semester and will do a research project during my senior year and present my findings in front of multiple staff and faculty members. Outside of the Honors Program, I take my regular major courses and general education classes, and I feel as if the professors of each class I have taken want to push me and challenge me in my studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trinity International University is a small university, but it is what I love most about it. My tip to prospective students would be to keep an open mind about each university they visit. There are pro's and con's to both large and small schools (though I like to think that there are many more pro's to going to a small school!). I have been able to meet and become friends with so many different kinds of students at this university. I know athletes, student-leaders, students in my academic department, and those outside of my department. I think that having the opportunity to get to know so many different types of people is one of the best things you can look for in a college.

    In three sentences

    Trinity International University is an academically rigorous university that is preparing me incredibly well for my future career as a physical therapist. Its location could not be better- a train's ride away from Chicago and close to many established businesses, companies, and employers that will serve as fantastic networks after graduation. TIU serves its students so well, from the genuine dining hall staff to the approachable professors, and it is obvious that each staff and faculty member loves working there.

  • 05/01/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on our campus! Most students even leave their laptops, IDs, phones, wallets, etc. sitting on tables when running to the bathroom or grabbing food in the dining hall. We are a very trusting community and feel very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Trinity has amazing access to lots of opportunities for students: everything from athletics to the arts to leadership. I have been involved in the leadership program and have been given so many hands-on experiences from it. I have grown and learned a lot about myself and others and feel very well set up to graduate and go into a career with my leadership experience giving me a firm foundation to stand on.

    What to do for fun

    I love to explore the area we are in and go to local coffee shops, farmers markets, and more. I also like to explore downtown Chicago and other nearby cities, like Milwaukee. Mainly for fun, I love to hang out with the community I am in! Getting to experience college with friends has been amazing and provides the opportunity for lots of fun shenanigans amidst the academic life.

    Food and Dining

    Our Dining Hall is awesome in the way they bring variety to the food and in the way they have plenty of options for those who have allergies. The staff are so very kind and create a welcoming atmosphere for us all to share all of our meals together. There are plenty of options and everyone has their own favorite!

    Dorm Life

    The community at Trinity is a major distinctive of the school! The students are welcoming and inviting, and dorm life brings lots of fun experiences. Being able to all live together is a unique experience, and I would highly recommend everyone experience it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are faith-centered, and they are taught in a holistic manner. Students are taught how to apply their knowledge to all parts of their life and are challenged to wrestle with big questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly encourage prospective students to visit campus and enter into the Trinity story to see what it is like to be a student here! Come see classes, interact with current students, stay in the dorms, try to our food, and so much more!!

    In three sentences

    TIU is a welcoming place where people with diverse stories can come together to learn and grow. Trinity has a family feel to it as the community invests in and encourages one another, especially the staff and faculty who are wise, understanding, and care about students holistically. Trinity is devoted to the Gospel in all they do!

  • 04/27/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are hoping to grow in your faith, I believe that Trinity provides one of the best environments for spiritual growth available. Trinity is a unique place in that you can study many different things, all through the lens of the Christian faith. Though not just a Bible School, Trinity is one of the best schools for those interested in vocational or bi-vocational ministry. The college benefits from having the seminary on the same campus, because there are many experienced teachers and mentors available.

    Bang for the buck

    Almost everybody has a scholarship, so don't be scared by the price at first. Between the classes, experiences in ministry in the area, and campus life, I know I could not be better prepared anywhere else, and the fact that I get financial aid only helps from there!

    Food and Dining

    Quality and quantity of food is good. Between Hawkins and Fresh I feel that I have enough options. There are also plenty of off-campus choices in the area, including some iconic Chicago restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The tight community is one of Trinity's best benefits. As an RA, I get to see how each suite organizes their rooms, some of the late night conversations, and the growth that inevitably occurs during the college experience. The dorm experience is huge, and I'm glad that I am at Trinity for mine.

    Academic Rigor

    TIU has enough options to provide the perfect amount of rigor and challenge to many students. The Student Success center has free tutoring, so you should never feel completely lost. I never thought I would need it, but the Philosophy tutor literally took me through the library and helped me set a direction for my final project in PH 180. If interested, students can join the honor's program. There are great scholarships available, and many great opportunities to visit museums and concerts as a group in downtown Chicago. One last unique opportunity that students may choose would be to take graduate level courses. As a junior, I can take one free class per semester, and many of the seminars and lectures held on campus are interesting to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come to campus and take a tour or sit in on a class. An overnight visit is the best way to see if Trinity is a good fit for you! If you have time during the visit, talk to some of the professors- they are really approachable and can help you understand what studying at Trinity will be like.

  • 04/27/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security always has someone on duty and regularly patrols campus. If you are out late studying and want to be walked or driven back to your dorm, they are more than willing to do that. Campus security is easily accessible by phone or even by going to security in person. The Bannockburn Police are right down the road and Trinity has been working with them to build good relationships between them and the university.

    Great for these types of students

    Trinity is especially great for students who want to be involved in student leadership. There are so many opportunities to be involved, even as a freshmen!

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity is a private Christian college and is priced similarly to other colleges in that category. Trinity has great financial aid opportunities and a vast majority of students do receive financial aid. The quality of the staff and faculty alone would make it worth the price, but the spiritual development, academic opportunities, and friendship opportunities make it even more valuable.

    What to do for fun

    Trinity has a beautiful 111 acres with space for hanging hammocks, picnicking, playing Frisbee golf, and many more things! There are several forest preserves nearby and many nice neighborhoods and shopping centers. The train to downtown Chicago is only 3 miles away with access to countless opportunities including free concerts in Millennium Park, world class museums, and delicious food!

    Food and Dining

    Hawkins Dining Hall and Fresh grab-and-go are both delicious food choices. They have a good variety of food and consistently seek student feedback in how they can improve. They do provide gluten and dairy free options regularly and will even work with students with more dietary needs to make sure that they have safe and healthy food choices.

    Dorm Life

    The community in the dorms is great and the RA's are super high quality! Johnson Hall is the freshman dorm and it is super conducive to building community. Trinity's residence life staff really care for students and want to see us succeed.The dorms are clean and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    At Trinity, you will take general education classes in many different disciplines - this gives you a foundation for engaging outside of your field. The professors that teach here are amazing and many have written books and textbooks in their fields. There are many resources to go further with your academics through the honors program, through the graduate school on campus, and through the opportunities that Chicago provides.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit campus! You can only get so much information from a website. When you are on campus, you can really get the feel of the community here and can more easily picture what your life would be like here at Trinity.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is a great place to learn and grow. Although we have our childhood elsewhere, college is really the place where we grow up. Trinity provides an awesome community where students can grow in the faith, their relationships, and their academics.

  • 04/27/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security officers are always present on campus and the police are right down the road. Having an assurance of safety is very important for staff and students alike.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to get involved in from music to leadership to athletics to extracurricular academic groups there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Trinity is great for students looking to dive into a relationship with God or students looking to strengthen their relationship with God while getting impressive and comprehensive training within their field of study.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Trinity's tuition is around 39,000 dollars a year, 95% of Trinity students receive financial aid and the average financial aid package is about 23,000 dollars.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on around campus. Whether it is a concert performed by our talented music students or a game by our awesome student athletes. There is always something for everyone. The College Union puts on events frequently and a lot of them are downtown Chicago. Being so close to Chicago is very convenient especially for a weekend or evening adventure.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really awesome. There are a few dining options available, Fresh, which is a grab and go kind of service. They offer various food options from 7:00 am until midnight, Monday through Friday, which is perfect for late night studying. Hawkins Hall is the dining hall on campus. It is a buffet style dining hall with options ranging from Cajun style food to Asian cuisine. Hawkins Hall also offers pizza from the brick oven pizza every night.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is incredibly fun. Being able to live in an environment that feels safe and where the RA's care for you on a deep even spiritual level is encouraging. There is no alcohol and no tolerance for it either. Being able to feel safe in this environment is really awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are difficult but the professors care so much about an understanding of the subject. The programs are diverse and enjoyable even to students outside of the direct major tract. Even the General Education classes are useful and informative. All classes do a wonderful job of pointing all students towards Christ in the midst of their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. TIU's community has so much to offer with leadership, athletics, music, fellowship, worship, and faith. Becoming involved in this awesome community gives a Trinity student the full TIU experience.

    In three sentences

    TIU has a genuine community that is hard to find many other places. The diversity of the students and staff highlight the diversity of the Kingdom of God and the International part of the Universities name. The academics are spectacular and the academic support from the staff is extremely helpful.

  • 08/29/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt safer than at Trinity, security is always around when you need them. During the day and at night they will go around in the car making sure that everyone is safe and no one is in any danger. Aside from that there are many safety poles that if you ever feel like you are in any danger, you can press and security will be there to help you .

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do at Trinity.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to learn and get to know people. If you are looking for a part scene then TIU is probably not for you, but if you want to grow, learn, meet new people and have fun TIU is definitely for you,

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity for being a private college is very affordable. More than that they offer a significant amount of financial, and they are always very willing to work with you to help you out financially.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at Trinity. Whether it be a sporting event, or a school activity or just hanging out with your friends, life at Trinity never really gets dull.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at Trinity, it is always changing so you never get bored of what is being offered. The food unlike many colleges is very good, at times they will even prepare the food in front of you, like wraps, salads, and stir fry.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is something that you will always have. You will obviously have your roommate, but you will also have suit mates and people that come and visit you at your dorm. Typically your roommates and suit mates will end up being some of your closest friends and you will have a great time together.

    Academic Rigor

    Trinity is a very good school, academically it can be challenging however it is not so challenging that one can not handle it, it is what one expects from a university institute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the many available clubs and activities that are available at Trinity. Also make sure to get to know your teachers, they are there for you and want to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is a great place to attend, it is a very Christ Centered school. I very much like Trinity because the people and professors care not only about you academically but also as a person.

  • 06/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good the security rides around at night to make sure students are in bed

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty there aren't a lot of party's

    Great for these types of students

    Sports are great for everyone it builds friendships and team building great for the workforce.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is unusual how much school spirit these student have.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is loaded with scholarships go look on the website for example if you have a 2.9 Gpa and a 1050 on your math and reading combined only you get $10,000 every year.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Chicago is only 20 minutes away but always travel in groups and make sure you know what parts you shouldn't even think of going.

    Food and Dining

    Food is natural organic but I am a country boy the food isn't what I would like collard greens potato bread perlo rice, roasted pig. But I actually like what they have to offer There pizza even though its organic is pretty good which surprised me because you can see any grease we all know it ain't pizza unless the grease is soaking through the box its probably better for me and others any way because once your down here your eating habits change for the better you eat healthier with out even realizing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different down here they aren't called dorms there called suites, because that's basically how it is setup down here you can choice the apartments on campus for married couples,single apartments double apartments. Seniors can get the privilege of living in a dorm by there self to get accustomed to life after college. but the regular dorms are nice they include 4 bed rooms for 8 people 2 showers a full bathroom and a living room, or you can choose the 2 bedroom living room and full bathroom which I would recommend it is located in the same building as some of your classes

    Academic Rigor

    I attend one class on my campus visit i felt challenged not because of the information being taught but because of the way the information was being taught the professor's present the information in way that makes you think deep on the simplest of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I will inform you that these majors are not as diverse as other university's. For example they don't offer engineering but they do offer pre-law, pre-med, and athletic training.

    In three sentences

    T.I.U is a special campus.It is not to big and its not to small, but it is big on God which is all I really wanted in school. The campus is must go if you are big on making friends eating organic food and staying in dorms that are like a mini house, the dorm I stayed in had 4 bedrooms a bathroom and two showers with curtains that is especially great for guys who hate taking open showers.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to football,soccer,basketball, volleyball events and supporting each other year around is the most fun! Also, we are pretty close to the city of Chicago so, getting groups of friends together and taking the train to the city just to walk around and to see Navy Pier or the famous bean in Millenium Park is one amazing experience!

    Food and Dining

    The food at our school is amazing! The cafeteria is so clean and welcoming. It makes your homesick go away quickly! Its a very clean environment and I recommend it for anyone even if you are just coming to visit, make sure and check out our awesome cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a place to create relationship and forever friendships. It gives you the chance to reach out and touch others lives as well as listening to them and taking in new perspectives for your own life.

    Academic Rigor

    Being able to point every subject we learn at Trinity right back to the Lord makes every subject more interesting. I came from a public school where Christ was't allowed to be talked about and praying through every class here at Trinity makes learning and school one hundred times better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be open to new things. Open your heart and let God work in and out of you. Every opportunity you have to help someone please take it. You are given the best thing in the world which is a life here on earth so, do your best to give all you can back to our Heavenly Father. Life is so short, and you will find helping others helps you to enjoy a healthier lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    The greatest place to find yourself and a relationship with the Lord. The nicest people you will find around the area. The most caring faculty and staff I have ever experienced.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    -Join the leadership program on campus -Become involved -Attend chapel

    In three sentences

    Trinity is an incredible university. It provides an environment where you are unashamed to love the Lord. With this being said you will find a great community. This includes the professors who are challenging but care deeply about their students.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is equipped with security and cameras in important areas (parking lots, computer rooms, dorms, etc.) and security continues to grow as the need arises.

    Bang for the buck

    Great professors and faculty create a place that is comfortable, safe, and excellent in its academics.

    What to do for fun

    At Trinity, there is always something going on. The students are always encourage to participate and provide feedback as to what should be going on in the campus' life. Students can readily try new groups and ministries as well as meet new people. Also, a great feature is that Trinity is just a drive away from Chicago. With a little effort and participation there are plenty of opportunity for fun at Trinity.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall has excellent staff that truly care about the students and really enjoy feedback and experimenting. The food has come a long way and is continuing to get better and better as the staff continue to try and create fantastic options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Trinity are well done and for the most part well taken care of. If you experience any problems the facility services are just a call or work order away. The buildings encourage community and really grow on you.

    Academic Rigor

    I have really enjoyed my academic experience at Trinity so far. The classes are fun and challenging at the same time and the professors really put in their effort to make every class a memorable one.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend seeing the campus and meeting the staff and faculty. They are the people who really make up the school environment and they have such a passion for people. If anything, visit the campus and meet as many people as you can. They love visitors!

    In three sentences

    Trinity is a place that is full of community. Trinity puts the spiritual needs of the students as priority. Trinity is a place for the student that wants to seek God while working towards an excellent education.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXTREMELY safe campus. It is always easy to reach campus security but you probably will not need to bother.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ethnic clubs, Student Government, and religious clubs make the campus very well-rounded and diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    The library is great for the bookworms because it remains REALLY quiet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Coffee House in the Johnson girls dorm is always fun on the weekends. Local talent, including TIU students put their talents on display for whoever wants to see.

    Bang for the buck

    TIU is a private school, and so depending on your financial situation, it may be a bit on the expensive side, but the academic, social and professional opportunies make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of student activities, the gymnasium, and sports games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is almost brand-new and is always clean. Large variety in meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is AWESOME! There are four dormitories on campus for undergraduates and each of them is unique and fun in some way.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are reasonably tough and are taken seriously by professors and most students.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with every college, there are distractions, but focus and you will be just fine.

    In three sentences

    A friendly, comfortable environment that breeds success. A nice, calm campus that helps students focus on academics. An easy course sign-up process.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some go out for fun, some stay in and watch a movie for fun, some play sports for fun, and some study for fun. You are, in large part, the author of what you do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great to me. There's always something delicious, with a wide variety of flavors and levels of healthiness.

    Dorm Life

    Do not expect to be surrounded by a perfect community. A Christian community is one filled with justified sinners. Seek brothers or sisters in Christ to confide in and share life with, and live with them the following year. The Lord has blessed me beyond measure through the spiritually uplifting community He has placed around me.

    Academic Rigor

    This in part depends on your major and professor choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek the wisdom and company of upperclassmen, and especially the professors in your area of study! Ask, and it will be given to you.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is an excellent school which provides the care of godly faculty and the opportunity to learn richly in many areas of study. Trinity is very small, so course options are very limited, but the resources available through Trinity's library and vast network of connections in the community allows for independent and culturally engaging study. The administration, faculty, and staff at Trinity seek to foster a healthy Christian community, so it's students can learn and grow not only in knowledge and understanding, but in the Truth of the Word and in the Spirit of God.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Unkown

    Clubs and Activities

    The soccer program is outstanding.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown

    What to do for fun

    Take the train to Chicago.

    Dorm Life

    I have no problem with dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and look at many different schools before making your decision.

    In three sentences

    This is an awesome Christian school. I love it. I could not imagine myself at any other school.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security that goes around the clock along with the banokburn police department to make sure that the students are taken care of and safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here at trinity there are many clubs and activities to get into yet it all makes up one big community. We have football, Student government, Multicultural movements with others.

    Great for these types of students

    Trinity is great for students who like to meet new people and loves a calm atmosphere and friendly people.

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity international is pretty expensive but you get top quality teaching for the price.

    Food and Dining

    Food could use a little work but for the most part, it is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is safe and fun. i would reccomend it to anyone who is considering trinity.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending Trinity and getting good grades is tough, the teachers will challenge you and take you to another level. I would give the acedimic level four stars because there is a lot that is demanded of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I want to encourage prospective students to come ready to work and have a lot of fun as well as gain valuable knowledge from it.

    In three sentences

    Trinity International University is a dynamic school with top grade professors coupled with great heart warming community.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    we've got just about everything you could want.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone looking to deepen their academic life, spiritual life, and athletic career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    twice a year one of the girls dorms hosts a coffee house style event that allows for students to express their various musical talents for the rest of the campus--one of my favorite events here.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a small liberal arts college that (i believe) is heading in the right direction. the school has its ups and downs but i believe that it has provided me an excellent place to grow. i'd still pursue this school if i could do it all over again.

    What to do for fun

    one of the perks of going to this school is its proximity to chicago--just hop on the train and you're heading downtown. some of the weekends can get pretty dry but there usually is something going on.

    Food and Dining

    again, the food is average. the selection is usually pretty good and nothing is ever disgusting. the dining services offers two different places for obtaining food which is rather convenient and good for late night studying.

    Dorm Life

    the housing options are, well, average. all of the residence halls are set up in an apartment style setting--something most students seem to enjoy. some of the buildings are getting a bit old. overall, the students find a way to maintain a healthy amount of time studying and having fun in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the majority of the professors are excellent and extremely well qualified. the university has a great student to faculty ratio which allows for a lot of helpful one-on-one interaction with the professors; of course, there are a few rotten apples but they are avoidable! the classes demand a lot but are well worth it if you truly apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    trinity is a place for students looking to develop academically, spiritually, and as a real person. the school requires a lot to be successful, so come prepared!

    In three sentences

    tiu is a place that encourages the development of each student holistically. the university's aim is to create a community in which every student can maximize their impact in the world.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many activities on campus. there also many clubs to join. there are sports and clubs. there is a program that helps young leaders develop their leadership skills.

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good. there are many choices to choose from. there is also a little cafe sort of that you can buy from if you want something more specific.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are really nice. they make you feel like it's your new home. there is so much peace and fun that goes on in them.

    In three sentences

    trinity is an amazing school. i haven't even started going there, and i already feel as if i am a part of the school. the community of the school is amazing. everyone is so close and treat each other as a family.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People wanting a more personal college experience in a smaller environment would enjoy this school. Because of smaller class sizes, the professors are very accessible and personable, and almost always take a personal interest in their students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have many good friends here and appreciate the intentional community and all the opportunities to get involved, get connected, and serve.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a student in the Christian Ministries department and am definitely learning a lot. The classes and professors challenge my thinking and keep me wanting to learn more.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People from small town or suburbs. People who like the more community feel rather than a huge anonymous feeling campus. People will know who you are even if they haven't met you. The classes are small and you have to be able to participate. There's not enough people to be completely anonymous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trinity is a small school with a great community atmosphere. Make sure you meet with someone in your department before you make a decision. I am in Christian Ministries and Biblical Studies, which are both high end majors here. Since the school is small there are limited majors and minors.