Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Truett-McConnell College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/29/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think Truett is pretty safe. We don't have a security alarm system in the dorms, but the doors are always locked so you can't get in without your key. At the entrance to Truett we have a guard station and the security guards will also ride around campus.

    Greek Life

    None :/ The girl's freshman dorm, Merritt, is the closest thing to a Sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about six different factions as they call it you can sign up for and even if you do not belong to that faction, you can sign up for particular activities they host throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students looking for a small Southern Baptist college. If you also love the mountains and small country towns then you are two for two. Around campus will get to know almost everyone quickly, you just have to be friendly, and your college will become to feel like a big family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the top of the hill located near the cafe we have a cross and about once a month we will have an event called Worship at the Cross where the title explains itself. There is also something called Cover Truett were we meet outside on the front lawn to pray for our school. Both of these events are optional. We have Chapel in the gym instead of the Chapel because the Chapel is too small.

    Bang for the buck

    You get $25 dollar each semester to purchase snacks or get a Starbucks drink at Outtakes each semester and if you get $25 worth of printing in the Student Center each semester if you need to print out something. What you don't use up that semester doesn't roll over to the next semester.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun besides outdoor stuff. Other than that you will have to drive 15-30 mins away. On campus they are currently building a Wellness Center that will be open Fall 2016 which will contain fun things to do and we also have a gym located on campus. Sometimes they'll schedule activities on campus, but never on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is pretty great with six different stations to choose from. The hours through the week are pretty reasonable, but the weekend hours are kinda annoying. There is also a place called Outtakes where you can grab a quick snack or sandwich/biscuit as well as a Starbucks located in the building with the classrooms. The hours for this place are very short and it is not opened on the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    At first I was very apprehensive about living in a dorm with 30 other girls on my floor and having a community bathroom. Now I couldn't imagine not living in the door and having to move to New Dorm which is more like apartments. I love the socialness of friendships you make in the dorms. At first the community bathroom is really awkward, but you get used to it really fast and you will form strange close bonds with your friends by this.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, the work load is huge and very stressful. College is real; your're not in high school anymore. Be prepared to work hard, but also allow yourself a little fun on the weekends now and then to relieve the stress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save up your money because it is expensive. If you're looking for a big party school, this is not your college. Be prepared for the majority of your teachers to not post grades until the end of the semester, so you will be stressed about your grades, but it all turns out good no matter how bad you think you are doing in a class. Be outgoing and friendly and you will adjust just fine.

    In three sentences

    Truett-McConnell is a small Southern Baptist college. It is located in the country and mountains of Cleveland, GA. On campus you will find a family community and Christ-centered atmosphere.

  • 12/29/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Can only get into dorms with a key

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking for a small Christian type atmosphere where you can focus not only on education but on learning about our Lord.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have chapel on the hill & sports gatherings on the big lawn.

    What to do for fun

    Several local attractions within 15-30 minutes. Lots of college sports activities.

    Food and Dining

    This was adjustment as well. Not a large selection of veggies. There is no iceberg lettuce for salads.

    Dorm Life

    Love getting to know & meet new friends. Was adjustment having restroom down the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared for much less teacher help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for homesickness.

    In three sentences

    Very nice small Christian college

  • 01/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plenty to do in the summer! There's hiking, camping, swimming, fishing and almost anything else outdoors you can think of. Campus has a huge front lawn where people are always playing flag football, soccer, or ultimate frisbee. There is a sand volleyball court there that is a favorite. In the winter, there isn't usually much to do, but the college usually holds fun movie nights or stuff in the gym to entertain us. And, on the off chance that it snows, the huge hills on campus make for some awesome sledding.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the caf is pretty good. They do a good job of trying to keep a variety of food available. It's not always great, but it could be worse!

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms on campus are in need of an upgrade because the school is pretty old. I live in the New Dorms, however, and they're clean and very nice. I love living there!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not always easy, but if you work hard and seek help from your professors they will be willing to help you in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be nervous or afraid of college. So far, these have been the most fun years of my life! Truett is an amazing place to go to school because the staff here care about each and every student and they will personally help you with anything that you need. The students here are so nice and making friends is a breeze.

    In three sentences

    Truett-McConnell is an awesome place to learn and to grow. I have grown in my faith as well as in myself. Truett-McConnell is truly a family and I have met many lifelong friends here.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    The school has plenty of activities for all students to be involved in. There are intramural sports and other opportunities to have safe fun. Helen, GA is also only 10 minutes away if that is what you're interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is for you to build relationships with your teachers. This helped me a lot throughout the years. All the teachers that I have had so far are very supportive and caring.

    In three sentences

    Truett-McConnell is a very small school with strong religious beliefs. If you like small schools and knowing everybody that goes there, and you are a true Christian, then this is a great school for you, I personally love it.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, one on one learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one specific unique thing about Truett is that no matter what, there is always someone here to show you kindness an lend a hand to someone in need.

    What to do for fun

    If you like the outdoors then you are set. Truett has many hiking, fishing, camping, and hunting activities around the area. However, the campus life staff does a good job providing other activities, such as intramural sports and dorm bonding activities,

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a Christ centered education, come to this college. Come with a open mind and heart to see what the future holds for you.

    In three sentences

    Truett has a beautiful campus. Its small size is perfect for students who like to have relations with teachers and small class sizes. The Christian education is beyond expectation and incredible.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Baptist southern

    What to do for fun

    Hiking

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful with those Christians that do bad things Save money for cafeteria food Know that it is a rural town

    In three sentences

    They are very friendly Worry about your life with Christ Have a good kinda of teaching

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are only two security guards. Then again, the campus is in the North Georgia Mountains, and people don't even lock their cars.

    Greek Life

    Not present.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs could truly do for a revitalization.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, open-minded, those who want to understand the true nature of life, and for those who love simplicity, as well as nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Never run the Goat Hill!

    Bang for the buck

    This is an excellent school to begin to find out who you are, and what you want to do with your life.

    What to do for fun

    Go hiking, camping, kayaking, golfing, or visit Helen nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are what makes Truett-McConnell college. It is here lasting friendships are made.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the classes are very rigorous, the material can be underwhelming at times. Once the student gets past the core classes, the fun begins, and the workload increases heavily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to become family with those who you dorm with, and with many of your teachers. This is a friendly, community driven school. However, there is not much to do in the town of Cleveland, so if you are looking for the city life, Cleveland lacks it tremendously. But, this allows the student to instead focus on what is important, all the while allowing the opportunity for friendships to develop.

    In three sentences

    Truett-McConnell College is an excellent school with a diverse educational program. The staff and administrators diligently and effectively teach their respective courses while maintaining Jesus Christ as the main focus. The campus is beautiful and well maintained.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get into those woods! Incredible hikes and climbing walls surround the campus, but you're not far from many other towns as well.

    Food and Dining

    See above answer

    Dorm Life

    I am married and am returning to finish my education, so I commute about an hour to get to school.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Truett push you to do your very best and to get the most that you can out of each class. They are understanding, yet fair. The administration as a whole wishes to see each student excel and will encourage them to do so,

    Tips for prospective students

    Become part of the community. Don't just come for classes, but be sure to engage in the many opportunities provided. Glean from your professors and do not take the small classes for granted. And lastly, enjoy the incredible nature that surrounds the beautiful campus.

    In three sentences

    Truett McConnell is an excellent school that launches their students into whatever field in which they are passionate. The small environment is ideal, creating more a more personal education system among the professors. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any Christian student, also perfect for students who are adventurous and like to be out doors.

    What to do for fun

    Truett has a ton of stuff to do. There is always a student activity going on. Intramural sports are taken very seriously here and this really is a great place for people who love nature. YOu can always climb mount Yonah or enjoy a refreshing swim at Dick's Creek!

    In three sentences

    Truett McConnell college is the best college for anyone who wants to be in a Christian atmosphere. Here at Truett every teacher prays before class and mentins biblical principles often. I have only been here a month and I love Truett!!

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many activities available.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good with a variety of choices

    Dorm Life

    I have heard the dorm life is safe and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Truett-McConnell is a private school with a very high academic standing.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a perfect school for students looking to major or minor in missions.

    In three sentences

    I am planning to attend Truett-McConnell College in the Fall of 2013. This school has a friendly environment with staff and counselors who care about the students. They also have many courses available online to accommodate working students.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe and i feel right at home

    Clubs and Activities

    All different sports

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year if it snows all the students go out on the hill and sled. Also the students sit on the front lawn a lot. They spend most their time on the front lawn under a tree or go tight rope walking

    What to do for fun

    At truett you become very close with people on campus as well as the teacher. Most the time students go out to games to support other students and friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good at Truett. There are many options every day for the students that are different every day. The cafe' is very nice and new. They just remodeled the cafe' and it is very nice with a beautiful view of the mountains.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm so i cannot say what dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    Truett is a great school and has many difficult classes that will test your knowledge as well as expand it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to do challenging work, but have help and fun along the way come to Truett. It is a great comforting school, where students can feel at home and be loved as well as earn a high standard education.

    In three sentences

    Truett-McConnell College is a wonderful school. The teachers really care about their students, and the students are more than just a number they are a name. Truett is a great place for a Godly education

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school tries to have a lot of events to keep you busy. There's always ultimate Frisbee on the front lawn, volleyball, ping pong, pool, a gym, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    Great facility. Great variety of food and quality.

    Dorm Life

    The facilities are great and so are the people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this school is expensive, the school tries to help you financially as much as possible. It is so worth it. Apply for as many scholarships as you can.

    In three sentences

    Truett-McConnell is an amazing Christ-centered school. I was so impressed my first day of classes. Class sizes are small and the teachers really care.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the Student Center, walk on the trails, go tubing, hike Mount Yonah, participate in seasonal activities on campus, and hall programs.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, not that great, but Zaxby's is right down the road, and Chick-Fil-A is only 30 minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    Hopefully, you will experience the dorm life I have had. The RAs and CLCs are there to help you emotionally, spiritually, and even academically. If there's one awesome thing about Truett, it's its sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not very challenging in your freshman year, depending on what you take. There are very difficult courses, though, and it varies by professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid or nervous, the students will eventually get you out of your shell. Come expecting a moderate amount of work, lots of rules regarding dorm rooms, and knowing everyone's name.

    In three sentences

    It's a small Christian college in the North Georgia Mountains. It is fun. It is only for those who enjoy the small size and close-knit atmosphere.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot of programs outside music.

    What to do for fun

    Cleveland is a small town and a lot of students go home on the weekend. However, there's always something to do if you look.

    Food and Dining

    Usual cafiteria food. It's not great, but it's decent.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't expect to be thrilled with dorm life, but I was! The RA's really care about getting everyone involved.

    In three sentences

    This school is AMAZING! This school has a great Christian foundation and cares about it's students. It's a small school in a small town, but great!

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    High School Basketball and band for 3 years. Community services with youth.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball bowling, skating, play card games and video games

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe they will succeed . Just call and they will invite you for a tour.

    In three sentences

    Truett- McConnell should be rated #1 because during my tour they made me feel like a will be part of the Truett family. They said instructors will work with you as much as you need them. They have a great basketball team.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    beautiful campus and great academics.

    In three sentences

    great place to get a quality education.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because this school is distinctively baptist, there will be a focus on Christian worldview and background. However, anyone can find their way to Truett. This school is also for those who are wanting to excel in their education and be able to apply their beliefs as a Christian or simply learn of the Christian faith.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be ready to meet new people and share their love and passion for God and other interests they have.

    Bang for the buck

    Truett is slightly pricey because it is after a private school, but it is cheaper than most private colleges. Besides that everything meets and or exceeds expectations. The Cafe provides food for all and are even now working on ways to provide food with students who have allergies with gluten and or any other allergy. Teachers are willing to give you the extra help needed and will find time to meet up with students one on one.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty, staff and students are amazing. No matter where you are from, people are willing to open their arms and get to know you. The campus may be small, but with it comes a close family feel. It is not hard to be involved with any campus event because if you don't know, someone will inform.

    Am learning a lot

    From the very first day of class, one will learn so much that will help them in everyday life. Whether it be doing an extracurricular activity or just being with friends one could relate the given knowledge to everyday events. The professors are just as eager to help and instruct in any way or form.

  • 02/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is best for students who want to further their education with a Christian background. This school is meant for students who want to excel not only in their education but also in their faith and everyday life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to be ready for a great time with other students who all have the same desire for God and education.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is more expensive than state schools but that is only because it is a private school. A private school is usually smaller so the professors will be able to help students better because they will have more time for each student that needs help. The safety of private school is also great. The price for this school is an awesome price compared to other private schools that offer the same thing as TMC.

    Will enjoy being here

    The weekends that I have stayed at this school have been so great! Even though the town is small there are things to fill your time and it seems like something is always happening on campus. They have many sports offered on campus to get involved in as well as attend and also flag football teams for students to get involved in. The students all seem to care for each other and help out when needed.

    Will learn a lot

    When I visited this school I was able to attend a few classes as well. The learned environment was wonderful!! The professors were so willing to assist any students needs or wants and gave there all. This school provides many resources for students to excel in their education and everyone on campus will be there to help a student do their best!