Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Tunxis Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see security around campus.

    What to do for fun

    Student gov is always hosting activities. Usually they are free as well!

    Food and Dining

    Awesome cafe which allows for many options

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professor don't be afraid to strike up a conversation, or ask a question. Work hard and you will succeed. Allow yourself extra time in the morning to allow yourself to find a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes allow for great one on one interaction. Beautiful campus allows for an enjoyable learning environment. Only flaw is parking space availability.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a great education all while saving a great amount of money. People that are looking to transfer to a four year school afterwards.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer great financial aid and other options for payment plans. It is very affordable for all walks of life.

    What to do for fun

    Every spring there is a festival in the court yard with free fried dough, cotton candy, hamburgers, beverages. There are also games available, such as a bungee trampoline set-up and basketball. They also have a student center available with pool and a nice lounge to hang out with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome, and the menu has wide variety. It is a little on the expensive side, but worth it if your hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There is dorming at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses are rigorous, such as the math and science courses. There are a plethora of other stimulating courses, such as psychology, principles of management, and public speaking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class and respect your professors by doing so. So long as you have a good attendance, it is hard not to get passing grades. I would also suggest their summer classes, but their winter ones are a little tougher.

    In three sentences

    Tunxis CC is a great place to get your Associate's degree and transfer. It is affordable, and the campus is continuing to expand with new buildings. The professors are professional and show care about contributing to your education.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tunxis has an excellent security team that is very friendly and they are consistently patrolling all areas.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, you will only pay roughly $5,000 a year to attend Tunxis. This is by far the cheapest way to get your general education classes done!

    What to do for fun

    Tunxis has a student area with arcade games and a pool table. Its a fun place to pass some time in between classes!

    Food and Dining

    Tunxis has a cafeteria, along with a coffee shop. I would rate the cafeteria as average, and the coffee shop as slightly above average. Both are decent places to grab something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Since Tunxis is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I found many classes at Tunxis to be easy, but a few were extremely hard. It really depends on your professor. Many of these professors are kind and very smart, but some don't give you nearly enough homework as they should.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, if your GPA is not the greatest, you don't have to worry because Tunxis accepts everyone. However if you are planning to attend a 4 year university, you can use this time to really boost your GPA to get into these schools!

    In three sentences

    Tunxis Community College is a great college. Tunxis has a beautiful campus, as well as great professors. Tunxis has many option for those looking for an associates degree, or for those transferring to 4 year colleges.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not bad, there is a coffee cafe by the library that offers snacks like yogurts to bagels and a cafeteria that offers wraps, sandwiches, pizza and salads.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome professors, classes are not difficult, just do the work!

    In three sentences

    Clean, cute Community College. Beautiful library, small campus.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of anything major happening at Tunxis. There are campus safety patrolling campus and assisting in the parking lots during busy time. I feel safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller classes, a smaller campus, and need a flexible schedule might want to look into Tunxis.

    Bang for the buck

    Community Colleges tend to offer courses that are the same as larger universities for a lower fee and they usually transfer to other schools. Just do your homework on the transfer school to confirm what they will accept for transfer credits.

    What to do for fun

    Tunxis has a student center.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall that offers a variety of foods; fast food/cafeteria. There is also a cafe called Pages near the library that offers light salads, pastry, coffee, tea.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Tunxis. Everyone is a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses challenge you to expand your learning. If you are struggling, there is a learning center to help you. They are very willing to help any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend Tunxis, start early and don't delay on the entry process. You don't want to miss out on getting into the class you want. Some classes are only offered during specific semesters.

    In three sentences

    Tunxis Community College is a comfortable place to go to school. The classes aren't huge so you can actually get to know your professors. Faculty and staff show genuine concern for the students and want to see them succeed.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what I've seen since I started at Tunxis there are security guards that patrol the campus daily and pretty much all the time.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Lounge is filled with video games that students may use on their free time. Also, it is a great place to just hang out and spend time with old and new friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are many vending and soda machines around campus so you never have to walk far if you're hungry. There is also a cafeteria as well as a Cafe called Page's Cafe which offers a variety of treats.

    Dorm Life

    Currently the school has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All I can say is that teachers are amazing and they really do their best to bond with students and help them achieve their goals.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a student lounge that has fun activities and friendly people.

    Food and Dining

    A very nice cafe has really good food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take the rigor may be harder or easier for different individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to know your advisor and get to know their office hours. Advisor's can sometimes be hard to locate.

    In three sentences

    Tunxis Community College is a great school for students looking to transfer from high school into a college like atmosphere. The students are friendly and provide a welcoming attitude. Teachers are available to help when needed.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students, meet with an adviser to plan out what classes would best fit you before you register for classes.

    In three sentences

    This school is very good if you are planning on going to school for graphic design. As a student who has attended 3 or more different schools for graphic design, I personally feel that Tunxis Community College is an excellent starting place with excellent teachers and the best technology at your fingertips. If you have an interest in drawing and designing I highly recommend taking a look at this school as a good place to start your college career.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students are informed of safety steps during any emergency. communication is key to student's safety at Tunxis.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tunxis Business Club, PTK

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to involve in their community and love to give back to their community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ethnicity & Food Festival in Bristol.

    Bang for the buck

    No hiding fees & great education, fair tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of activities, sightseeings, the campus is close to Lake Compound and ESPN. Downtown Hartford about 15 miles from campus, great for its night life.

    Food and Dining

    Dining area is a warm and simple. Always great food !!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students need to open to diverse way of learning, and be ready to be part of a body of culture that love to give back to the community.

    In three sentences

    Tunxis Community College is a well known community college that inspired many students to greater achievement in their community. Tunxis approached of ability based education helps student develop key areas that will make he/ she successful in the working environment or any endeavor.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one area where I felt extremely comfortable. The campus and parking lot are extremely well lit (I did take some night classes). Security is always present and it is located in a lovely area close to the highways, but very near residential areas as well as restaurants and stores.

    Greek Life

    Really don't have any idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't say that I really had time for any clubs or activities since I was focused on School, work and playing hockey. I honestly cannot comment on that.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody unsure about going away to school or wanting to take it slow to start with should consider Tunxis. I started out in the classroom setting and then moved out of State to play Junior Hockey. I felt very comfortable at Tunxis and decided to continue with on-line courses. I have now been accepted to Becker College and am taking a few more courses on-line this summer while I am working full-time. Tunxis has been a life savor for me! While attending, it afforded me the opportunity to figure out what I really wanted out of life and not waste money at a four year school without being motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am told by my parents that the campus used to be a shopping plaza. Therefore it is set up with a variety of buildings and u-shaped class-rooms around the campus. They have since modernized it incredibly and have a gorgeous clock-tower that

    Bang for the buck

    You really can't beat the cost of this education. There are a variety of programs from 2 year degrees to certifications in dental assisting, etc. An education with a great value is how I describe it.

    What to do for fun

    This is a commuter school so most people go home at the end of classes, but I did meet some very good study partners to go to Starbucks, etc with to study for exams.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very good, reasonably prices, as it does compete with area fast food restaurants and a great place to study while eating. As a commuter I appreciated this very much!

    Dorm Life

    No dorming

    Academic Rigor

    I do consider this school to be my stepping stone to the four year school I am transferring to in the Fall and do expect the courses to be a bit more demanding. I did a number of on-line courses while out of State playing junior hockey and felt comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge this school as a typical community college. Instead you should spend some time during a normal school day checking out the campus...library, cafeteria, courtyard. It has a real college feel to the campus and is very comfortable.

    In three sentences

    Tunxis is the perfect school for those who are unsure what they want to do and/or where they want to go. You can transfer after one or two years or graduate from Tunxis. The options available and the exceptionally reasonable cost make it a budget friendly and academically wise choice for an abundance of students.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus safety patrolling the parking lot and campus, one can definitely feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life to my knowledge except the honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide array of clubs throughout the school that meet and quite possibly have field trips.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great community college for those just starting out or those who have decided to return to school.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    There is a wide array of clubs for a student to join.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a cafeteria and a coffee shop. The reason I would give it only three stars is because the food choices could be much healthier.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, however they have several events throughout the campus that makes it fun and exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that academia in this school is held to high standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Advice I would give to students is go to class and do your school work- easy enough!

    In three sentences

    I would rate this college exceptional as compared to most community colleges. I find it to be a well organized system and feel that the professors care for their students.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is really good. Plus you have Five Guys right across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It really all depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep track of your due dates for registration! Come early to get a parking space.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to start out. The teachers are very helpful and the students make you feel welcome. You get a great education for what you're paying for.

  • 07/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ITS GREAT FOR ALL STUDENTS! ANY AGE, GENDER, ETHNICITY.....EVERYONE!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure of what college you want to go to and you live in the farmington/bristol area go to Tunxis! It is a great school. I love it so much. The teachers actually teach you and they are all so nice. There are lots of student activities as well. If you want to start off small like I did and you don't want to jump right into a University Tunxis is the answer with out a doubt. Its very affordable, great environment, great all around I have never enjoyed school so much! I love it more than high school! Its WONDERFUL.... HANDS DOWN FANTASTIC!

    Bang for the buck

    FINANCIAL AID IS MAGNIFICENT!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    NEVER ENJOYED SCHOOL SO MUCH!

    Am learning a lot

    MOST DEFINITELY! =)