- College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Birmingham Majors

Our College Structure

Our college structure puts academic endeavour at the heart of our decision making.

Each college is led by a Head of College who also acts as a Pro-Vice Chancellor and sits on the University Executive Board.

The collaborative nature of the college structure means that there are fewer administrative boundaries between disciplines and working relationships between diverse areas of research have been strengthened.

New initiatives – such as our Centre for Computational Neuroscience and Cognitive Robotics and our proposed Heritage and Cultural Learning Hub – have been fostered and developed under our college structure.

The University of Birmingham is structured into five colleges, each of which is divided into a number of schools and departments. The five colleges are:

  • Arts and Law
  • Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • Life and Environmental Sciences
  • Medical and Dental Sciences
  • Social Sciences

  • Useful links:

  • Student video profiles
  • POLSIS Student Experience
  • UBSport