Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Union County College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 66

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This public college it's pretty big and you don't really get lost, because you can find a map of the campus everywhere. The teachers are friendly and really helpful. The students are really friendly and helpful.

  • 01/08/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe environment. Nothing crazy ever happens on campus and there are never any accidents of any sort.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    UCC offers many sports such as: basketball, baseball, golf ect. They are also in the process of building a new wrestling team which is something the school has never had. Many clubs are also on campus such as the 5 star rated honor society of Phi Theta Kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    UCC is great for the student looking to save lots on their education while not losing out at all on the quality of their education.

    Bang for the buck

    County college is a great way to start your path to post-graduate success and Union County College is a great place to make that start. There are a ton of majors and programs offered to all students. Many students also elect to transfer to a four year university after their two years at UCC. Union County College preperes them for their future academic ventures wherever they might end up.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much campus life as it is as it is a community college. Although, many students do like to hang out in the commons and play ping pong or play video games provided by the school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a pretty good selection of food and drinks. You can find anything from a granola bar to a delicious hamburger and french fries. There are many options when it comes to food at UCC.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Union County College; all current students commute.

    Academic Rigor

    As expected from a community college, the academic rigor is as hard as you make it for yourself. Some classes will be hard and require a little more study time, while some will be an absolute breeze to take. Whether your classes are easy or hard, make sure you are continuously being on top of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to be attending Union County College know that you are going to be attending statistically one of the best community colleges in the nation. The transition from high school to college will slowly come to you and you will see that by your second semester. Last, make sure you are always on top of your schoolwork. Many students feel that just because it is a community college they do not have to work/study as hard as they should. That is not the case; whether be it community college or a four year institution, make sure you are working to your hardest potential because after all it is still a college.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a wonderful community college. Although many students making the transition from high school to college often disregard any sort of community/county colleges, county college is a great way to start the path to your post-graduate education.

  • 12/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun, wish they had more outing events to bring students together for example concerts by artists. Most of the things are posted up around the school on the bulletin board all you have to do is look.

    Food and Dining

    The Elizabeth campus food and dining is excellent. The staff is friendly and they make the atmosphere also friendly. The food made by the chefs is made with care which makes the thought of was this food handled properly fly out the window.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is like any other classes in life. Do the homework, study hard and you will sow what you reap. Most people I have noticed would show up to class and expect a A when no work was even attempted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan a few weeks ahead when registering for classes. Everyone waits for the last minute to sign up which creates stress for the workers and stress for you because you can not get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is very diverse, majority of the teachers care for the success of the students. Had a chance to meet the president and have lunch with her. She truly cares to uplift the community and school.

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Union County College is always having events for students, whether the staff is in charge, sororities or students who get together to get away from the stress on the busy daily lifestyle.

    Food and Dining

    When I attended events the food was one of the best part of my visit but the price and the waiting line was a little out of a hand.

    Dorm Life

    I have not attended to know how it is to dorm.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is very well organized and is a well maintained school from appearance. The students and staff seem very helpful and friendly to the new comers as I am. Union County College helps those students who seek for help to their best ability.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Leave the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Feels like high school all over again

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go downstairs to the catering they always have ping pong and some other games you can enjoy during break.

    Food and Dining

    If you are eating in the Elizabeth campus the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your professor

    Tips for prospective students

    Have your mind and goals set. I know people say that college is a time to have fun but you can have fun and an amazing GPA just organize well.

    In three sentences

    Union county college has been an amazing college, great professors, friendly people, save environment. There's always something to do on campus and it's very diverse.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    don't believe people when they say community college is bad. college is college whether its community or a four year school.

    In three sentences

    this college is wonderful you can get the same education as if you were going to a four year school. The only difference is that you pay less money to go here !

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security sucks. They give more parking tickets than they secure anything. These guys aren't the real deal.

    Greek Life

    From what i know, there's two groups of greek life. I don't participate in them but they always have bake sales so that's awesome.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really participate in clubs and things but they seem to have pretty cool events so thats awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, but since you're commuting you may not want to stay after your classes to participate in clubs. That's up to you. I don't participate in clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is below decent. It's tolerable if you're hungry and you don't have a car. There are at least four places to get food and they're not that great. If you have a car, i suggest you go to the McDonalds or something in the area if you're really hungry.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so there isn't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are decent. It really just depends on what classes you pick and how interested you are in that subject. All my classes were great and were taught by great professors, but you can always add or drop classes during the add/drop period.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is don't plan on staying here forever. UCC is a good school but an associates degree won't get you very far. It's best if you take general education classes here, and then transfer to a four year school for a bachelors degree.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a pretty decent school. The academics are good and the professors, if you have the right ones, are awesome. The only thing i don't really like about UCC is their dining options.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on campus and there are very friendly with students. Always there to help.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life,only Honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of clubs available and the student government is open to any new clubs that students want to begin.

    Great for these types of students

    determine to go to four year college and want to find great opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The historic tree grove, the observatory.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that i have learned alot more in this college compared to the one i attended in Florida. The professor are very well educated for college level. The teachers truly love their job and are there for the students.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an event going in in school that educates or entertains students also make students more involved. There are many club and honor society that are alway contributing to society.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has a very large variety of meals, deli and meals made at the spot.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    The professor are great take advantage of their knowledge

    In three sentences

    Very good college ... Students are first

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is tasty and not too expensive but, somewhat healthy upon individual choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make useful of all helps sourced available to you....

    In three sentences

    I've been attending UCC for almost to years now and i could not have made a better choice. The tuition is affordable and excellent variety of career choices. Help and support for students to succeeds is greater then some other colleges i've attended.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Commons is usually always filled with students chatting, and they have set up new TV's and gaming systems at the Cafe. However, for a student like me, I love hanging out at the library. Very helpful and peaceful place to be in.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is fine, satisfying. However, I believe that it is a little over-priced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available, but they really should.

    Academic Rigor

    I am on my second year of school, and I have been challenged by fellow students because the bar is set high and you have to be up and par with these intellectuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid of the whole Associate's Degree stereotype. This school is a great foundation and start for your hopes of success.

    In three sentences

    Strict, yet helpful faculty. There will always be students that do not value education, and it shows through their actions...but the majority of the students here are driven by their hope for success.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many sports one can play or even join the clubs that are available. We also have a huge commons area where students and staff come to relax, do school work, and even put shows on for the kids, (Ex. dancing, shows, music). The college life is great and one can even go to the nice workout gym we have or even play basketball in the gymnasium.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried the food yet. I haven't had any time to just eat and relax.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing and all know what they are doing. It's real easy to learn and comprehend what they are explaining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for the earliest classes possible and as soon as possible because they can go real fast and once done, you can have the rest of the day to yourself. Also, take school seriously because it is the last doorway you have before the big world hits you with a career and reality.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a great college. The campus life is amazing, with all the sports available, the clubs we have, and the many options of things you can do at campus. Union County College is the college to be at, especially with the wonderful staff we have.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty good

    Clubs and Activities

    business association, art association

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    great way to save money, flat tuition 12-18 credits is $2,300

    What to do for fun

    business association, random events, art association, discount tickets for shows and trips from SGA, I've heard outing club is pretty fun

    Food and Dining

    I am getting sick every time I eat anything from the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    commuting college

    Academic Rigor

    There are extremely hard professors as well as easy teachers. Check ratemyprofessor.com before you register!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Dr. Singer for any of your Business classes, she is amazing. Abdo is the funniest math professor you can possibly think of. Stay away from counseling center if you want to transfer. They are going to send you to NJ Transfer website which doesn't work. Do your own research. Contact University you want to go and ask them which classes they accept. (Unless you want to go to rutgers or kean, they accent anything)

    In three sentences

    It is pretty good way to save money. There are many good professors. You can meet a lot of people from different backgrounds.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I never had the food myself. But the muffins are great and I heard the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, all living is off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    UCC has a set of high standards and expectations for students and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are willing to put forth 100% effort and determined to succeed, UCC is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Union County college is a great school to attend and my experience so far has been pleasant. They have many professors who take pride in making sure their students are equipped with all the tools needed to succeed. They offer many great opportunities.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Union County College has many sport teams and club that will interest many student.

    Food and Dining

    Foods okay

    Academic Rigor

    Just because this a community college it does not mean that the class are any easier, for example the higher level Chemistry and Biology class are still difficult if you do not keep up with your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of your studies, and seek help from the professor if you need it, becuase at Union County College the professor are always available for the students.

    In three sentences

    Union County College offers a great transition between high school and college. The fact that there are three different campuses enables student whom compute much comfort, find a campus near by. Union County College has relatively small campuses which allows student to become familiar with one another.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sell. charity, breast cancer walk, columbus day walkn and a whole lot!

    Dorm Life

    If they had a dorm..it would be the best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont think twice Go and Register!

    In three sentences

    Union county college for me personally is the best college out there. I have learnt a lot from the professors and im becoming a better person! Most of all, I learnt how to love, care and encourage others.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is around the clock security on each of Union County College's campuses. Security has a great relationship with all of the students. They watch for the students and help them with car trouble or any other dilemma they might have.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great variety of clubs and everyone is very welcoming for new students.

    Great for these types of students

    Union County College is great for everyone. There are many different types of cultures and everyone is very accepting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college really does not have any unusual traditions nor locations. Everything is very fun and safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Union County College gives you a great education for a very reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    The outside of the campus is beautiful. It has an amazing park where you could take a walk, ride your bike, or even read a book under the tree's cool shades. There are also 2 gazebos that you can hang out in and listen to students play their guitars. The school also offers a large variety of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Union County College has great cooks on the campus. They are very cautious with the meals and advise students about healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college and does not offer a dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and keep a plan intact. Always give your best in all of your classes

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a great way to start your path to a bright future. They offer many helping hands like the Academic Learning Center and the Math Success Center. You are also surrounded with a lot of school spirit activities.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Really good!!!

    What to do for fun

    Go watch the owls play soccer, lacrosse,basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The Food here is very delicious. One small problem, however, is that almost everything is pricy.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. You have to commute there.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very dedicated. They only ask that you do your part and best.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an awesome place for you to take advantage of your future opportunities. It's really captivating.

    In three sentences

    I am proud owl! It is an awesome place for opportunities. I have learned a lot during the last year.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs! Also look at the bulletin boards that have special offers. I went to my first Board Way play with UCC for only $25!

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing! A lot of variety and great prices.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my professors have been amazing, although I do a lot of research before showing them. They have a lot of experience in the subject and that is how it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to the classes necessary for your major. Counselors and professors know best so ask them all the questions you have. Do not slack on classes, UCC is meant for you to finish in 2 years.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is the regular county college experience. Some professors are amazing but there are others that are just there to get their paychecks. UCC is a 2 year school so most students are in a rush to get out of there.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Union County College has a great student commons for students to mix and mingle. The institution also comprises of a game room and clubs and societies to keep the average student busy.

    Food and Dining

    Union County College has an excellent food and dining area that consists of spacious seating arrangements and an excellent variety of foods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure that upon registration you visit an adviser to help steer you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is an excellent institution for those who would like to further their education. This institution consists of a variety of majors and will suit your every academic needs. Their friendly professors always display a sense of professionalism and will ensure that you get the best learning experience.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There are always guard driving around.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned before there are many clubs and activities on campus. Many sport clubs. Academic clubs such as Psychology or History clubs. Community services and Honors societies are opened to students. Also travel and language clubs. There are religious and gender related clubs. And the Honors societies keep busy all year round with book sales and blood drive par clean-ups and such. The campus is always buzzing with activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Moderate to very self-motivated students. The opportunity to succeed are present. And the size of the school makes the students feel comfortable. Lazy students will not do well here.

    Bang for the buck

    The aspect that appeals to me the most at Union County College is the diversity among the student body as well as among the teaching body. I am impressed by the quality of the professors, who are more than mere faculty. They are real people who can and do relate to their students. They seem truly excited about teaching here. The majority are very dedicated and caring. The students also bring a lot the the atmosphere of UCC. This is a truly international, multi-cultural establishment, where students of all walk of life can share their life experience and learn about the world. The opportunities are present every where for the students to be the best they can be, if they really want to. Also there is a pretty good library, which host an art gallery. Ucc offers lots of different majors, which is great.

    What to do for fun

    I do not really have time to entertain myself one campus because I also work full time and do volunteer work. However there are many clubs , wide array of sports and cultural activities available. I did write for the Leaf, the magazine they publish which contains students art and writing. They also stage 2 plays every year.

    Food and Dining

    Food is typical of campus. They do have good salads. I am a picky eater so I don't really eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends very much on each professor. But overall expectations are high. There is an extensive network of tutoring available to students in every class. Professors expect the students to do the work on time and accurately. Tey stick to their guideline.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers are for the most part enthusiastic about teaching here. They will definitely guide and help the students , however they do expect a serious commitment from the students; as they should. If you want to be successful the help is available but you need to do your part and study hard. t is all about reading.

    In three sentences

    Union County College surprised me. Most of the professors are really dedicated to their profession and have high expectations from their students. Most of them take pride in teaching at a community college and really seem to enjoy their jobs.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are not only there for our safety but they're also extremely friendly. When I was new to the college, they guided me wherever I needed to go. I feel very safe on the campus, even at night.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has so many options for their students. Asking questions will always help direct you to the major you are interested in. There are so many councilors that truly care about every student ! There's usually always parking available, even if you park at the very last lot, a bus comes on time - every 5 minutes to bring you to the main building, it's great !

    What to do for fun

    There's always bake sales, beginning of the year picnics, basketball games and it's fun to watch the cheerleaders at practice!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great here ! There's a different food item for every day of the week. We always have the salad bar - if you're on a healthy kick ! The coffee is amazing and keeps us up for those late studying nights.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Union County College is actually very strict when it comes to the students' GPA. If the student fails to maintain a certain GPA; they can be put on academic probation. A failing GPA can also lead to the student not receiving a loan and/or financial aid. They take this very serious at UCC. Students are aware of this and try their best to pass their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    - take advantage of the free tutoring - never be afraid to ask your professor for help - always hand in your work on time - be on top of your work, and don't become lazy - form study groups with classmates - study study study !

    In three sentences

    The guidance councilors are all very helpful. There's always free tutoring in the ALC, which is great. The college is a positive environment to be a student in.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the courses offered at UCC are just as rigorous as 4 year institutions. How could they not be, a lot of professors teach at county and a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make a schedule that you like and can actually see yourself doing. Don't just sign up for the class you see first, we all will be commuting so going home will be tempting, but if you make a schedule you like you're more likely to actually go

    In three sentences

    I think Union County is a great school that helps students that either are not sure of what they want to do in their future or who cannot afford the tuition of a 4 year school. All the professors and staff are friendly and really care about the students. I l.ove being a student at Union County College

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent !!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Good !

    What to do for fun

    Union County College have a gaming area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and Union County College and they will recognize !

    In three sentences

    Union County College deserves five star's. The professor's there are excellent. The professor's there are patient, and takes there time to make sure there student's understand what are being taught to them. Usually most of the professors there teach at other 4 year colleges.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    spend time with a counselor before enrolling. If you are not interested in finishing on time, they aren't either. You really need to be checking what classes do you need and what are the requirements. don't leave all you science classes for last, they are the hardest ones. good luck

    In three sentences

    good quality learning environment. Great professors and good atmosphere. you need to be on top of your classes requirements and courses needed to graduate.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security officer at every corner, every hallway, can not get any safer that that, with the usual emergency call boxes. The long walk to parking lots at night is something scary though.

    Greek Life

    absolutely none that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    many sports teams, clubs, never joined any of them, with a job, family, friends and studying, plus photo work.

    Great for these types of students

    Relaxed students willing to learn not to just joke around trying to live the college experience

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unual traditions or locations? none that I can think of. However, we do have a cemetary right behind the school, with extra parking at the church. Parking is a long mile or two walk if you do not get there before 8am.

    What to do for fun

    watching netflix on you tablet, phone, computer. gym, get in shape or stay healthy hanging with friends in the common. taking a walk around the pond across the street. drinking coffee outside in the tiny garden reading books in the library

    Food and Dining

    Never tried the food, yet always told its all plain normal cafeteria food. But their is a students commons. Where you can relax and eat with outlets all around the room next to almost each table where you can simultaneously eat and learn.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    This is one school where the teachers force you to work hard. They do not care what your plans are after school, they get paid to teach you, and that is what they will do. Teachers, professors, they make a living off of teaching other human beings, they will try whatever they can do to make sure you get out of their class with some new forms of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some classes may not be available, although they are in the course catalog. Coming on time to class, no texting and actually working makes a difference.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a pretty good school with excellent teachers. It is not parties, and friends and fun, you actually have to study and pay attention. In the long run, I am happy with my choice of union county for my first two years of college.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and you will get answers.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very knowledgeable and always willing to give a helping hand. You will always feel safe. You will also feel as if you will succeed.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food served at Union County College is pretty good. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The price of the food is reasonable. They also have vending machines if you just want a snack or drink.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not available at Union County College.

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor that I had has always made an effort to help all of their students. They always offered staying after class or arranged a study session to help students. Professors always mention the Academic Learning Center, it has tutors for every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions to your counselors or professors. Also don't leave things for last minute, such as registering for classes, paying for your classes, and etc.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a great way to start your path to success. Everyone there seems motivated and driven to reach their goal. I've had great professors and I would recommend starting your education here.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Union County College has numerous club activities and a wonderful sports program.

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of food to satisfy ones hunger, but it is all pricey in my opinion. If one has a champagne taste expect only beer on the menu, this is not a filet-mignon establishment.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is summed up as follows: The seriousness of what one puts into a student career is expected outcome. Classes are fair enough to pass with good grades. If one does not score well it is because of the lack of effort that was put into doing the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any students making the leap from High School to College should realize that college is a different experience than high school. One is now considered an adult and therefore expected to act as a responsible, respectful, individual. A college student will NOT be mothered and chased down by professors as a high school student. Expectations of being on time, having your work done, knowing the material, and seeking tutoring if one does NOT know the material, are the norm. CAUTION: Time management is of the essence, the discipline of properly using time to do school work and study are important as the semesters go by quick and it is VERY easy to fall behind or get lost in a subject.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a small two-year college. It has a warm and friendly community with great resources and an open helpful staff. The academic goals of students willing to learn will be nurtured and achieved without any problem whatsoever.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Adequate security, safety measure for the pedestrians, and friendly helpful people. Walking around here after dark feels as safe as you could possibly imagine

    Greek Life

    Greek life?? Huh? This sounds a bit dodgy to me!

    Clubs and Activities

    You are looking for a club? We probably have the one you are looking for, from Religious groups to gaming or Glee clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Foreign, economically sensible, intelligent.

    Bang for the buck

    Seriously? this is a county college, so the prices are very low in comparison to other schools, and as I have already pointed out, the education level here is high. We do have students who go on to the ivy league schools from here. This place could not be much more reasonable. On top of this, most of the professors encourage students to get the books second hand online, to save even more money.

    What to do for fun

    We have a gym that is part of our enrollment, gorgeous grounds with a park opposite the school. There are bars and restaurants in the local town, and a train station to get to other areas at the weekend if you need a break from Cranford.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe here is very popular, although I am unable to eat there as I keep Kosher. It is a shame that no Kosher options are available, but our number in this college is currently small. The prices look reasonable, and the smell coming from the kitchen can be enticing.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, most students live locally, although there are numerous that come in form out of County, or out of State. The campus life is fun and friendly despite this, it is very easy to make friends regardless of shared classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses can be extremely hard (see above) some can be easier (depending upon previous knowledge and ability) I have found that my professors try to tailor courses to make them challenging, and if they have the room to do so, will push the more capable students harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think that the course you are taking will be easy because it is at a county college, you may end up with a nasty surprise. The Chemistry department boasts highest ranking national grades for its' students, for example. And if you are going in for Nursing, Trinitas and Muhlenburg are two of the hardest Nursing schools to attend.

    In three sentences

    County colleges get a bad review from people who have not gone there. The fact is, this county college is excellent, with very knowledgeable professors who can actually teach. The fellow students here are very friendly, with varied backgrounds.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has security and cameras for protection.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to be on a small campus and interact with their professors.

    What to do for fun

    I relax in the library or outside with a couple of people.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm

    In three sentences

    Union County College is an amazing school if you enjoy being in a friendly environment, surrounded by great people. The school offers a nice selection of classes and is always adding new additions to its curriculum. The professors are great and always try to remember who you are as an individual.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security put for students in their highest standards.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of activities that goes on in the UCC. At any given moment there is always signs put up for any clubs doing any kind of bake sales or trips for students.

    Food and Dining

    They redesigned the cafeteria with new seats and more space for everyone to enjoy their meals.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent help around the students, letting us know we are able to be what we want and they are there to help at any moment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are focused and not slip into holes. Keep your main goal as to passing every class! Speak loud towards help don't keep it to yourself. Achieve with greatness.

    In three sentences

    Union County College cares for us students. Offers plenty of help to become successful. Won't deny any advantage for any career we may want to achieve.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is very safe as far as I know. There are many securities around every corner. Public safety and you feel free and comfortable.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life in my school. I know that it is usually in 4 year colleges and etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many various club activities in Union County College based on your preference. From Bible Study to African Club, Art Club. So many to select from due to your own liking.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for every student, whether outgoing or reserved. You will meet amazing people that will help you along your journey in this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people tend to spend their time in the commence, cafeteria or in the library. The commence is a very popular area in which various student spend their time communicating and also a station where various activities of the school occurs. The cafeteria is popular of course because people love to eat. The food is too pricy for me. Rather go to the book store, find a snack and just eat it.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish I understood what this meant but i don't at all.

    What to do for fun

    Due to your preference, you can either stay in the commence or walk around outside but you have to make sure the weather is good. The library is a good stay too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad but its just pricey for no amount of reason. Rather just pack a meal and bring it to school. There is a microwave. Save money and just live better.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this college. It a community college so you just commute back and forth.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is good. The teachers are by far good not all but overall. The assignments and projects assigned daily based on the teacher will help you in your stay in Union County College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grade point average Choosing career Joining activities Experience. It good to keep your grade point average on top. It might sound easy but it's not. Choose a career that you will enjoy not what your parents what you to do and also what is on top of the job market. It always best to be involved in various activities in school because it shows that your active not just educational wise but also in your community and school.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a college with various activities and filled with different ethnicity and backgrounds. Wan to get a cheaper, affordable tuition, come to Union County College. You won't be disappointed at all.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Astronomy class is actually a very interesting and fun class

    What to do for fun

    Gym and school plays

    Food and Dining

    Food is good

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pick the right classes for your transfer.

    In three sentences

    Very accommodating College

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you're using the train for transportation in Elizabeth, just be a little on guard. I've had a couple unwanted run ins with not so kind people here.

    What to do for fun

    In Elizabeth there's shopping! There's many clothing stores so you could always look around on you're free time. Cranford has a very nice gym, which I'm looking forward to using!

    Food and Dining

    A little too pricey. You're better off getting lunch in the nearby restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a calm and steady pace. If you worry and rush to much, you'll end up making it harder on yourself.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy it here. The teachers are amazing. Beware of financial office staff, especially in Elizabeth.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The commons area is basically a lounge where students enjoy their breaks. Waiting for your next class to begin can be boring and time consuming but here you can interact as well as catch up on some homework.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food is good but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    no dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major and the classes you take. As well as when you sign up for them, the more you wait the less chance of getting into the classes you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus and use time management. Procrastination is very common among us college students but it can be a major setback.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Union County College has been unique. There has always been good days, as well as bad, but with one goal in mind, graduation. Certain classes are very interesting while others not so much. Union County has some of the best teachers who care about their students success.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never seen an incident on campus that was a cause for concern.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am apart of Phi Theta Kappa which is a honor society club. The club is to help you build connections with other students and faculty. It will also assist you when you decide to transfer.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who is unsure if you want go away to college Union County College is a great alternative. It could help you to get comfortable with the initial college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many like to hang in the student commons between classes.

    What to do for fun

    I personally do not have a particular activity because of my studies, but there are many mixers, clubs, and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at both the Cranford and Elizabeth campus are very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken have been very helpful and informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to attend Union County utilize all the programs that are offered. The tutors and counselors are a major help. They will be there to help gude you in every process of your journey too success.

    In three sentences

    My education is an extremely important chapter of my life, so I am attending Union County College to better myself for my family. I have found myself becoming an over achievers in my course, and the professors that I have been fortunate enough to learn from were the key to it all. They are exceptional at what they do, and I am receiving a top notch education compared to the previous community college that I attended.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security are friendly and really keep every campus safe. They react quick to emegencies and they are constantly walking around campus as assurance for the students while they are there.

    Greek Life

    I can not say anything about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs you can partake in. I don't know any of them being I am on the run all the time but there are catalogs that states which clubs are available.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for healthcare students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know anything about that.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is definitely affordable, especially if you live within the county.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the gym and meet up with new friends. You can volunteer and help out the community as the college is know for this.

    Food and Dining

    I dont eat here as I am always on the go. I may pick up a coffee here and there or water.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know if they have dorms or not being its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I love how the professors prepare you for a subject. The ALC is great for when you can't quite understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you attend here for many reasons. My top reason is for health care students. If you want to become a nurse, radiologist or respiratory therapy, I suggest you come here to get it underway.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a great college for the student pursuing a career in healthcare. They have a high graduate rate in regards to that. The professors are great and everyone is helpful in wanting to see you succeed.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Special activities to involved the studentens and comunity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be perseverence and never give up.

    In three sentences

    Union County college is a amazing school, it help to the stutends to depelop their goals.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Always look up professors before you take classes.

    In three sentences

    Union County College can be a hit or miss when it comes to classes. I have met some amazing teachers that I was able to learn so much with, and I was also unfortunately taught by teachers who seemed to know nothing about the topic at hand. Online classes here are good though.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always security walking around, very safe school.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and activities to join at Union County College.

    Bang for the buck

    It is 100% worth the money paid, it prepares you greatly for a 4 year university.

    What to do for fun

    Join as many clubs and sports as you can, it's a productive way to keep busy and get involved/

    Food and Dining

    A lot of options, good quality.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Union County College.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the class all depends on how hard you work and who your professor is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not underestimate the fact that it is a county college. A lot of professors are tough and will challenge you, so attend all classes and show them you care. Asking questions, reviewing tests, and speaking with professors during their office hours will put you on their good list. It is key to hand in all the work and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is actually a great county college. It is very small but that helps you in standing out in classes. All professors are different, some are easy, some are hard, some are caring, some could careless.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lounge in the cafeteria or in the commons. Some people bring video games and you can also watch t.v.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a rather large selection of food and snacks through out the day.

    Dorm Life

    Cranford does not have dorming

    Academic Rigor

    Has a great academic program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connected, whether it's with the teachers or students, having other people to talk to helps going to college become easier.

    In three sentences

    A great start to college, Union County College makes it easy to transition from a high school student to a college student. Flexible, they have a variety of class hours to fit your schedule. Affordable, tuition is affordable compared to other colleges.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is relatively safe.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of clubs for a two year college.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions known in this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it so that you may save money for a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to shops around Cranford and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food is relatively bland but there is great restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Average rigor depending on your courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to do good in your placement test,pick teachers that stimulate your interest, and be sure to go to your counselor for any changes.

    In three sentences

    It's a college that is close to home and provides me with an easy way to commute. It's an affordable two year college where you can easily save money. Moreover, it allows students to gain some of the college experience.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    people who are intimidated by 4 year colleges or broke

    Bang for the buck

    less than 10,000$ for the 2 years. great professors

    What to do for fun

    nothing. this is a community college. no dorms, a lot of clubs don't host guest worthy events

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    take classes ALL year round, make great relationships with your professors, and keep a 4.0. don't fall in the UCC trap.

    In three sentences

    UCC is a very shifty jr. college, though people have been successful in graduating and going on to bigger and much better things, a large amount of people end up dropping out or remaining there for more than the two years.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing goes on too much, everyone is here to just do their work. Not sketchy

    Greek Life

    One or two I think

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sports and multiple clubs. Variety of what you want to be apart of

    Great for these types of students

    Transfers or students that just want an associates degree to work

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    haha none

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is what it is, you just have to make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Nothin really haha I mean you can talk to some friends in the common. Theres an xbox in the cafeteria which is pretty sweet. It's a positive atmosphere for the most part.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad, I haven't tried any of the prepared foods but there is a variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too bad, almost comparable to AP high school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just get your work done and do the best you can. There are a lot of distractions but if you want to go big meaning 4 year, you have to earn your grades.

    In three sentences

    It is what it is(community college). There are some professors here that are actually very into what they're teaching. Not a bad institution, but think outside the box.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are alot of organizations in which you can sign up for and sometimes there are things to do in the cafe .

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good but a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so their are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on which course you take up.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first year at Union County college transitioning from high school is a bit somehwat difficult if you dont take the time out to email your proffessors if you miss class or dont attend at all. You would have to show the proffesor that you want to learn and that you care about his class. Although, this isnt a 4year university where there is alot to do around campus at Union County College you would have to make it fun im not saying its boreing but you would have to get invovled in order for it to be fun.

    In three sentences

    At Union County College the stdents come first and the proffesors here take the time out to truly teach the subject in which they have love for and also want their students to excel within their colleg years at UCC.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards throughout the campus, and although more emergency phones and lighting would be preferred on campus, especially the parking lots, it seems improvements are being made.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a sort of garden area near the Cranford Campus Library; very relaxing and peaceful at times.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great deal coming to Union County College. There are activities fun and lots of help whenever you need. There can be improvements in parking and a better variety of when classes are available, especially for engineering students.

    Academic Rigor

    Although this school is not Yale or Harvard or any of the Ivy league Institutes, it can still be a challenge. School is school no matter the name on the front of the building; do not be fooled by names, County Colleges give F's too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work! It is very easy to get caught up in a high school mentality and get comfortable. This school is a stepping stone, not the light at the end of the tunnel.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a great place to start off; especially if your not quite sure where your going. As long as you, the student, are determined to do what it is you have to do in order to graduate then this school will pose no problem. I've learned a lot in this school and have matured into a proper college student.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are there every time you look up.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple Clubs to join, pretty much anything you can think of.

    What to do for fun

    You can play football or Frisbee out side when he weather is nice, or there is the Richel Commons where every one hangs.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent. Many choices. including vending.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes give more some give less but over all its a little overwhelming at first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be scared to put yourself into the life.

    In three sentences

    Union County is very lively and inviting. There is great food and a great common area to hang with friends before class. There are plenty of computers to get work done, Ipads are rented out and there are plenty of books to choose from for an assignment.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    fun clubs like karaoke offered.

    Great for these types of students

    students looking for a greater chance of acceptance to nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    grades are replaceable.

    Bang for the buck

    It's the largest and oldest community college in new jersey.

    What to do for fun

    shopping nearby

    Tips for prospective students

    experienced faculty and supportive and spacious academic learning centers.

    In three sentences

    student centered

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any student who is looking to boost up there GPA or just want to learn something new on the way.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good school for the amount it cost.

    What to do for fun

    They have multiple clubs you can join while in school.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria but they have different choices of food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    Really clean school. The teachers are really great. And easy to get help.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Exercise at the campus gym, read in the McCay Library

    Food and Dining

    UCC has an inviting cafeteria that offers a wide selection of food. Stay away from the fried stuff. Eat the fruit and drink the teas.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at UCC.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure what this means.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Eliminate distractions (Facebook, video games, etc.) - Don't overburden yourself by trying to take on more than you could or probably should - Pace yourself - Recognize your accomplishments; it will motivate you - Despite all the hours spent in class and completing homework and papers, etc., college is a fleeting experience. Value it!

    In three sentences

    I've been attending Union County College in Cranford, NJ for two years now and so far my experience there has been fantastic! Every professor I've had the honor to take a course with has exceeded my expectations in terms of educating and enlightening me in their respective fields. This has been a life changing journey for me and it can also be for you if you allow it to be.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus life is very safe. The police look at everything. This so concerned with students I feel so safe.

    Greek Life

    Beautiful nice beautiful Greek life I love it. Very nice very nice.. Nigerian are beautiful to.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have now. I just come here to learn

    Great for these types of students

    All students will love you got a college. I love Greek people and Brazilian people. I love them all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think they have any of those. Why can't this. With good nice people.

    Bang for the buck

    When it comes to learning. The accounting college give you the best education but, very feasible cost. Union County this fall people

    What to do for fun

    The library is awesome. You can concentrate on you work all day long. I love the library.

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent. They make some good cheeseburgers. The quesadillas are good to. I love it all.

    Dorm Life

    Not too good. None at all. No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I had a English professor who so professional yet, very helpful and concern about my life and the direction in which way I wanted to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school for succeeding in life. You can experience and interact with people that are really concerned about learning. The professors are so involved in helpful.

    In three sentences

    Union County College small school but, academics and leadership of the staff and professors are number one.! When it comes to learning the staff is so, helpful and concern about your education. I wish everyone could experience Union County College.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres a lot of places to hang out at school with friends and there is also lots to do around the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to make friends, spend lots of time studying at the library, and last but not least make sure you know who's teaching your class. Ratemyprofessor.com is a great way to know other students opinions on the professors.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is very diverse in its students. The guidance councilors could be more attentive and helpful. The school does offer a lot of study help for most classes and is very beneficial.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is extremely safe. The school is not very big, giving the Campus security easy access to any point in the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Union County College is great for all students, but it is even better for those seeking a career in the healthcare market.

    Bang for the buck

    Union County County is one the most affordable two-year schools in New Jersey. The quality of education you receive greatly surpasses the tuition. Respected as one of the top two-year school in the state, the price is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Exercise and bowling

    Academic Rigor

    Education is my number one priority. I now understand how school prepares you for a career, but you could miss it if you're not paying attention. Reading has become a passion, and learning has become a lifestyle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do no be distracted by the students that have no interest in learning. Focusing on your class is essentially focusing on your future. What you put into your schooling is what you will get out of it - so work hard everyday.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a very good school with some amazing teachers. They provide classes to accommodate just about any schedule, The Cranford Campus has great aesthetics, and it is very easy to go from clas to class.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    55 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good. Some theft issues, but very little if any violent crime on the main Cranford Campus. Elizabeth and Plainfield campus are more urban and less safe. Did have some bomb threats this year, but it was nothing.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 30 clubs and plenty of group activities such as going to Broadway shows and Medieval Times Dinner and Tournament.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices have been going up, but they are still cheaper than a private school and there are scholarships available.

    What to do for fun

    There are some great clubs and activities, if you take the time to search them out. The Gaming and Animation Society was particularly fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is overpriced, and very little of the food there is above average quality.

    Dorm Life

    There is no student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is working towards making the classes a little more challenging, so many of the professors who give easy A's are moving on or getting tougher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't count on the school to do things for you. While there are several professors who will take the time to guide you through the college experience, others expect you to be responsible for your own education. The administration does not always explain things completely, so ask questions and take notes on what classes you need to take.

    In three sentences

    A decent school, but undergoing lots of change. The transition caused by the new president is being met with resistance. Still a good value, if you are willing to work hard and and keep on top of your own education.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have numerous clubs you can join an sports.

    Food and Dining

    very good food too

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very good academic rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    just go in with a good head strong mind and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    This college is very commutable, has a friendly staff, pretty clean as well. You make new friends always in every aspect of your college experience. The classes do not seem to difficult either.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to the opportunities the school has to offer like the ALC (Academic Learning Center), the computers, clubs, cafeteria, library books, etc. Everything really helps.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a good place. The professors are quite helpful and most seem to really care. It's a great place to start off your educational career.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price is good , but it's all about money here.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    overall the experience is alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school isn't bad, but every one needs to be on the same page.

    In three sentences

    Union County tries there best to help students. They need real counselors who gives correct information. When I leave it's sad to say I don't want to come back.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The professors are great and you receive a valuable education.

    What to do for fun

    Attend theater productions and join one of the many clubs we have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as possible because they fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    The professors I've had are amiable and fun to learn from. It's easy to get around the school. The school is an open environment.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have club and different on campus

    Dorm Life

    no dorm room

    Academic Rigor

    class are good teacher are okay get the right one and your good to good

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class pay attention and study hard this is a good school to go too trust me on that

    In three sentences

    it a nice campus to go to, especially if your not ready for a 4 year school. start off here then transfer over to a 4 year school. the campus is a little small but not bad at all. i really like it here and not that bad of a school at all i wish i new about it early then i did. i would had jump over here quicker.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics there is the Academic learning center which helps you get a tutor for a certain class if you need help in it they help you get prepared and help you focus better. It also improves the students skills to be better and help them succeed.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and clubs to get involved with, with many people to meet. However, there is also a nice pond to sit near and study as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, and great pricing.

    Dorm Life

    This school is small, and local. Therefor, everyone commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the professors do care to make an effort, and are willing to help a student towards success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a check list with all important dates of meetings, deadlines of any applying material.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a great steping stone towards a successful career. I have had great professors through out my two years in the college. As long as one is determined and makes an effort towards success, everything will work out well.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 63 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety- The safety of the school is if there is ever a fire drill or an emergency there is always exit doors all around the school to get out as quick as possible.

    Greek Life

    I do not know what greek life is so i can not explain it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of Clubs and Activities. There is Baseball, Basketball, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    The things that are great for these types of students is the different types of majors people can take. If you don't like your major you can always change it but try not to do it to late.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are three different locations on campus. There is one called the McDonald hall where you go for parking permits and registration, financial aid. There is a building across from that is the main building to where everyone takes their classes plus the cafeteria and gymnasium are there to. There is one more building and that's the library where everyone either goes on the computers or read books.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck- There is a lot of things to buy at this school you can buy books, backpacks, notebooks, pens, pencils, even sweatshirts. All of this you can buy at the bookstore where everyone likes to buy items from.

    What to do for fun

    At Union County College the things you can do for fun is you can go to the bookstore and buy something for yourself. You can also go to the gymnasium and play basketball when your free, also can go to the fitness center if you want to workout.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Union County College is good. They have breakfast food, and lunch food, so you can go into the cafeteria whenever you want and get a bite to eat. You can take a break from class and go get something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know about the dorm life because Union County College does not have a dorm. You have to travel from wherever you live to the school back and forth.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics there is the Academic learning center which helps you get a tutor for a certain class if you need help in it they help you get prepared and help you focus better. It also improves the students skills to be better and help them succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the prospective students be prepared when you step into this college if you think your going to roam the halls and pass you got another thing coming. You have to study your brains off, college is not easy college is hard its not like high school.

    In three sentences

    Union County College is a good school to get yourself focused and good to get a degree. Union County College is a good way to meet new people and make new friends. Union County College is great when it comes to getting loans or scholarships.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards all over the campus, supervising traffic and available to help anyone in need.

    Clubs and Activities

    phi theta kappa student government peer tutoring christian fellowship business club

    What to do for fun

    my friends and i go to the movies, go shopping, do volunteer work together and dine. as for me alone, i read, listen to music and play with my family.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips: kow your purpose: it is easy to start, but the hardest thing is finishing what you have started. as long as you are determined and know what you want, anything is possible. be focused: never let anything keeps you from doing and accomplishing your goals, whether it be friends, family, or work. manage your time properly and effectively: great success or results comes from those who plan ahead. learn to stand out: in anything that you do, be the better person, be the first to start, be the example, be you, individual and unique! respect others: respect your professors, classmates and anybody you encouter. be involved: try to partake in activities with youe school such as (peer tutoring, student government, christian fellowship...) you not only stand out, but you gain more konwledge as you uncover different and new knowledge. have fun: do what you like! get involved in activities (gym, dance class, trips...). don't let stress overtake you though your class may be difficult. put some time aside to relax and do the things that you like with the people that you like (family, friends, loved one...) make your learning experience as fun as it can be!!!

    In three sentences

    union county college is a very diverse campus. the classes are not too big, providing each and every student with a close relationship with their professor(s). i personnally found it the right for me, since i am able to focus more in a class that is not too crowded.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like to be close to home but, still want the full on experience of college

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, sports, get involved in the community

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous

    In three sentences

    Very well put together Organized High-maitenance

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    66 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    From students who aren't sure what to major in to students who have everything planned out. Being that the tuition is cheaper than nearly all four-year colleges and you could transfer to any public school in NJ as a Jr. (As long as you receive your associates degree) I recommend this to all students. What tends to happen with students who excel in high school is that they go to a good four-year university thinking it would be as easy as high school. They end up failing or doing very poor their first semester and then try to make up for it their second semester, meanwhile their parents are paying a 5 figure tuition hoping there child gets back on track. Most of these people end up at UCC and other community colleges after 1 or 2 years at a four-year university. I'm not saying that students at two-year colleges don't fail classes, everybody fails or gets a poor grade in at least one course but it's less expensive to fail at a two-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing that happens a lot is that students are placed in courses with the same material they covered in high school. This could be avoided two ways: - Contact the head of that department and try to work something out - Or see the guidance counselors to test out of that course

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to the prices of four-year colleges and the span of majors other community colleges offer, this college is your best start for pursuing any degree.

    Did enjoy being here

    I have to admit, it gets boring sometimes at UCC if you don't get involved in activities and groups. Most of your time will be spent studying in the library, meeting your friends for lunch, and working out in the gym. As long as you make friends and get active with the various events happening every week you wont have a dull moment.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers here are just as strict and educated as four-year college professors. So learning will not be an issue.