Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Akron Wayne College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I enjoyed my time at Wayne College. The tuition is a fraction of what it costs to attend Akron main campus and you receive the same education. Wayne offers great classes at times that are convenient for everyone. They have a wonderful staff and there are plenty of areas for students to sit down with friends and study. I would highly recommend going to Wayne college.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a cop on campus, and I haven't heard of any incidents in the 3 or 4 months I've been enrolled.

    Bang for the buck

    I couldn't have chosen a better way to spend some of my college savings. Wayne allows you to take your general education courses for far cheaper than residential campuses do, and the professors are all extremely dedicated to their material and their jobs. I've learned a lot and I always enjoy going to school.

    What to do for fun

    Again, this is a commuter college, so there isn't really a party scene. However, there are always fun things going on, such as plays, speakers, contests, and clubs, as well as notifications for all of the sports/festivals on main campus in Akron.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are fairly static but still tasty. Not much variety unfortunately, but it's better than nothing.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging but not overwhelming. The homework is standard and not unreasonable. Some professors make an effort to get their students to think critically outside the classroom by sending out supplemental learning by email or Springboard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college is a great way to transition from high-school level coursework to college-level, all while saving money. By thinking critically about what scheduling will work best for your situation, take into account how much time you should allot for homework, clubs, socializing, and a part-time job (if that applies for you). Work your hardest and get good grades; this will make the transfer process much simpler and more gratifying.

    In three sentences

    Wayne College was a fantastic solution to saving some money on college and not falling behind your graduating class. The courses are diverse and interesting, the professors are highly qualified and have much experience with their material, and the everyone who works there is friendly and helpful. Overall, it had been a great experience and I've recommended the college to others many times.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus, students often leave their belongings unattended while running errands or getting food. The police presence is noticeable but very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different types of clubs, both educational based and extracurricular.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school, great prices.

    What to do for fun

    Our campus is located in a beautiful wooded setting. There are trails to enjoy, wildlife to view and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is on the expensive side here and the hours of operation are limited.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter campus, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    We have a staff of very challenging instructors. Many are recognized in their fields and keep the students motivated.

    In three sentences

    A small campus with a family feel.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who live in Wooster or around there.

    Bang for the buck

    Take 15 or 16 creidits not just 12.

    What to do for fun

    Talk to friends, come to any of the events that there are throughout the weeks on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Good academics, challenging but yet fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Debra Johanyak for english comp 1, but consider others for comp 2.

    In three sentences

    It's an excellent small college. The teachers get to know you on a first name basis. It's cheaper than Akron U.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student life building has pool tables, Foosball, and plenty of events occur their throughout the semesters!

    Food and Dining

    There is not a huge selection of food, but that is because campus is so small. The food that is available is tasty though. You have choices of pizza, sandwiches, salads, and other small items of food.

    Academic Rigor

    It is college now, so it is a step up from high school. However, there is plenty of opportunities to meet up one on one with your professor, or you can go to the Smucker Learning Center, which is the place to go if you need help with any subject in your class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come early enough in the summer so you are able to get a locker, that way you don't need to bring home your books everyday!

    In three sentences

    Wayne is a great choice if you are planning on going to college, but want to start of with baby steps. It is a level up from high school when it comes to expectations and amount of work. What doesn't change is that the faculty priority is your success and ability to enjoy Wayne!

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    one cafe and the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    loose a lot of freedom, but meet a lot of new friends, great way to network.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics!

    In three sentences

    Helpful professors they work one on one with you. Very organized school. Personal and friendly staff ready to assist you.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Delicious, but I work at Smucker's, and the cafeteria at Smucker's is far superior.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know how dorm life is; I am married and have a house of my own. However, I'm sure the dorm life at Wayne college is clean and well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging and competitive, but the professors are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to Wayne, first, if you want to take any of your general education classes at Wayne instead of going to Akron.

    In three sentences

    The admissions advisers have been very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is enjoyable and fun. It's not incredibly crowded or busy; I like the small class sizes.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    free movies, bands, and pool tables in the cafeteria

    Food and Dining

    there's always a good selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    you get to stay at home or live in an appartment.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up with your school work and don't fall behind on book reading because it can be hard to catch up.

    In three sentences

    wayne is an excellent college to attend for post-secondary students, first time college students, and returning college students. it's a great way to save some money! all the teachers are very helpful and welcoming.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is one cop on campus...and he doesnt do much...i dont know, im not there a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    not a whole lot...theres a newspaper and a campus crusade for christ....

    Great for these types of students

    townies

    What to do for fun

    umm sit in the student life building on a computer...

    Food and Dining

    gross.

    Dorm Life

    there is none, its a cummuting school.

    Academic Rigor

    pretty good, classes are small and teachers are ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    i have heard teachers cuss. the food is disgusting. and if you get there later in the day its hard to find parking.

    In three sentences

    it is a glorfied high school basically. has small classes. small campus.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town people who want to start their education, but later want to go to main campus. Wayne college offers the introductory major courses and general education requirements, but you will have to finish your bachelors degree eventually on main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and take a tour through campus. While at campus ask to sit in on a class most professors would not mind. Be prepared to study for every class you have especially science and math. Don't be afraid to ask for help; help is always available at the learning center. I would also enter college with an open mind to meet new people and explore diverse ideas.

    Bang for the buck

    Wayne College is a regional campus of the University of Akron, therefore, costs are less at Wayne than they are at main campus. Apply early to ensure that your application will be reviewed for scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy going to Wayne College because the campus has a small town feel. All of my professors know me by name and try to ensure that I am receiving the education I should. Class sizes are small.

    Am learning a lot

    Wayne College has a lot of great professors, but to ensure that you won't end up with a professor you may not like sign up for classes early and talk with the professor teaching the course before you sign up. Each professors teaching style is different.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm not sure about the main campus, but Wayne college is great for it's small town feel. It's literally in the middle of a corn field and I love it that way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely talk with both an academic and financial aid advisor early, really early, like months before being accepted :) they can help you understand what they have to offer you, that way you don't miss out on any funding you could've received.

    Bang for the buck

    They're really generous when it comes to scholarships, and even hand out the extras that hadn't been claimed midway through the year, which is awesome for the students who's wallets are getting tight after that first semester :)

    Am enjoying being here

    I love where I am right now :) I don't go to the main campus in Akron, but stay local in the Wayne and Millersburg branches. It's wonderful that I can easily drive to the college and still be home for dinner.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are different in their own way, some more strict than others and whatnot, but I've definitely learned a lot from all of them :)