Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Guam Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/13/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non existant

    Food and Dining

    minimal choices

    Dorm Life

    haven't visted them but they exist

    Tips for prospective students

    don't come here if you're not a local. the administration, hr, everyone that works here does not care about you. they don't care if you aren't eating and can't pay your rent because they don't have their act together and you're not getting paid because of their mistakes.

    In three sentences

    the administration here is awful. no one cares about actually helping you. good luck thinking you're going to get anything done.

  • 01/14/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always activities going on like plays, movies, and parties. The school emails you about school events.

    Food and Dining

    There is only two choices you can pick at the food court. There is one still not open yet for a while. A cafe outside can be a choice of dining.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, so I am unsure about the condition of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The education seems alright, but some teachers are very off with their teachings.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid office will not cooperate with you, so be prepared to get false information from them.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion, the staff aren't doing their job properly. They are not telling me the right directions and just wasting my time. They cannot answer my questions as well and I hope the staff get proper training.

  • 01/05/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at the University is alright, but the cafeteria seems to be a bit to small and cramped. Renovations are needed in some areas in the Cafeteria. On the plus side, you can take a quick drive from the university to different food places in the area. There is actually a good amount of places to eat within a 3 mile radius.

    Academic Rigor

    The University has a lot of great teacher, though sometimes their lectures can be drag. Most of the professors will provide you the necessary resources to prepare you for their tests and quizzes. The University also offers online classes that can easily fit in with your busy schedule.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education majors, nursing majors and business majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They host an annual Charter Day in which they try to promote the different departments and the culture on guam. It's not only for college students but for everyone

    What to do for fun

    Socialize with different groups in the student center and meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    When transferring in or not of the university, see if y our credits transfer. Transferring credits from UOG can get really complicated.

    In three sentences

    It's a great university. They have friendly staff and polite students. 3 out of 5, simply because it is very limited in the degrees they offer.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gym and basketball court. there is also a pathway on campus that allows you to run around the campus. it is also near the beach.

    Food and Dining

    not many choices for food that is offered. most students decide to eat off campus

    Academic Rigor

    with the small class sizes, you can get a more student-teacher interaction

    Tips for prospective students

    If interested in applying into the University of Guam, sign up on the website at uog.edu. make sure all requirements are set.

    In three sentences

    Great university, Tuition is fairly cheap, and most major degree programs are offered.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There definitely needs to be improvement with campus security considering the heightened crimes that occurred in 2012 within the university's neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    We need a fraternity!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government is known for giving away free stuff, the Future Educators Association Professional is known for holding kids' carnivals each semester, and the business clubs are usually the ones with money and hold club nights.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy the island life with the beach nearby and a friendly campus will enjoy UOG.

    What to do for fun

    During the beginning of each semester, the Student Government usually holds activities where they give away free fiesta plates or movie tickets to students. During spring semester, the annual Charter Day is something students look forward to on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There needs to be more choices for students at the cafeteria as well as on campus. I would suggest a healthier and budget friendly cafe or vendor.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live at the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I must say during my freshmen and sophomore years my course load was lighter compared to my junior and senior level classes. I felt that my professors challenged me more during my upper division courses and because of that I felt I learned a lot more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till your final years to engage in school clubs. Be proactive and participate in what the school clubs have to offer.

    In three sentences

    At the University of Guam, students always feel at home. The class sizes are just right, allowing the professor to be able to accommodate each students needs. Students, faculty, and staff always carry with the hafa adai spirit--always friendly and hospitable even to strangers.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security are very successful in maintaining control of what happens at the school

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs made up of various culture from around the world from Micronesia to many many other ethnic backgrounds

    Great for these types of students

    For everyone looking to try something new and exciting. Also for those wanting to experience the island life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a charter day where all ethnic backgrounds of the world express their culture and heritage

    Bang for the buck

    the people are extremely nice and welcoming and It will be fairly easy to meet friends and enjoy your time at the University of Guam

    What to do for fun

    Go hang out with fiends at beaches, visit historical sites, and swim in rivers

    Food and Dining

    Not a very large cafeteria but the food is good

    Dorm Life

    It is pretty comfortable to live in the dorms, Others mind their own business and it is very quiet and peaceful

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you to be the best you can be

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the colleges that u can

    In three sentences

    University of Guam is a great school. University of Guam has a good business program. I am very pleased to be attending the university of Guam

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    - Very.Good Security... They be patrolling here and there! & are always informing students on what not to do (:

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs available... i don't know such but i see a lot of bulletins on the opportunites offered.. There's also the Trio Program, Kubre & National Ex. Program (:

    What to do for fun

    - Go to the Gym... - Concerts - Gallas

    Food and Dining

    The food court only has 2 business running in but they offer a lot (: umm, the bookstore doesn't have lunch alternatives so if i'm not eating at the dorms, i'll just check out the food court!

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms & it's such a great experience! The bathrooms are...alright. The rooms are...suitable and are able to accomodate us dorm residents. & there are ongoing activities every other weekend...and its well, affordable (:

    Academic Rigor

    Classrooms are equipped... Instructors have great educational background... Offer a lot of programs/majors...

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial paper over with first! It's such a hustle to complete your papers here /:

    In three sentences

    - diverse; you get to meet alot of different people (: - excellent staff; well educated & are super friendly! - Beautiful; Gorgeous campus (:

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Center has Wi-Fi capabilities and it's right next to the cafeteria. UOG is centered on the island. You're 20 minutes away from the nearest mall. There's also small cafes and dining places around the area that are 5-10 minutes away from the university itself. The university offers diverse clubs and organizations for every kind of student with fascinating interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's one of the options you should have. Even if you're not from Guam, becoming a transfer student isn't as painful. The students and faculty are very welcoming and helpful to new students.

    In three sentences

    It's a massive school with tons of majors to choose from. My favorite is the library because it's so massive with numerous amounts of books and resources, a student has endless information for their research paper. The tuition is also impeccable compared to other universities with the decent amount of classes to choose from.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything you really need is probably around 30-45 minutes away from the university. You wouldn't need to drive for a long period of time to go somewhere you need to be. That is unless you need to go somewhere really far for a hiking trip for your class or something. You could go to the beach, mall, and etc...

    Food and Dining

    Currently in the the Student Center (Rotunda), there is a small cafeteria where you would be able to purchase your breakfast and lunch. Restaurants are 15-30 minutes away from the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for a rainy, humid and hot climate. Try keeping an umbrella with you or in your car to prevent from getting wet when walking to and from your classes.

    In three sentences

    The University of Guam is an open school, which means anyone is able to attend the university. It deals with a diverse cultural background from Chamorros, Filipinos, American, FSM, and etc. Everything you really need in a 30 minute drive.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's a Student Center with a small cafe and restaurant booth.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming freshmen, review your basic Algebra & Algebra II for the Math placement test and basic procedures on how to write an essay for the English placement test.

    In three sentences

    The University of Guam is a diverse community of college students and just like a lot of colleges, offer a variety of courses for you to choose from. It is in fact the 2nd best university for Marine Biology in the world.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go running around campus, go out to the local clubs on weekends, and movies.

    Food and Dining

    Residents are required to provide food for themselves during the weekends and afternoons after 4pm.

    Dorm Life

    Moderate and controlled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good for first 2 years of education depending on major. Open at anyone that is interested. Hospitable atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Degree programs are acceptable depending on major. Some pre degree programs. Degree programs not offered in States.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the university has a gym located at the field house as well as a full sized basketball court, volleyball court. the university also has a jogging/running route around campus. the university has a marine lab located near the beach which allows you to go diving or snorkelling and enjoy the beautiful underwater world of the island of guam

    Food and Dining

    the university of guam has 3 caterers for food. they offer a variety of local cosines as well as many other delicacies. the school of business on the other hand has their own mini coffee shop that offers smoothies, food, sandwiches, tea, and a variety of coke products.

    Dorm Life

    the university of guam dormitory needs extreme renovation. the ceilings in the study hall and kitchen are leaking and the windows of the whole building are broken. there are also risks of fire hazard due to faulty wiring. in regards to the residents; life in the dorms is good. other residents treat you like family. they would occasionally offer you food (no meal plan is offered at the dorms) and would invite you to party or do fun activities. residents in the dorm have a close bond with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    the university of guam has majority of the majors that you would normally find in any other university, although they are missing academic majors such as pharmacy and engineering. most of the classes that you will attend here require adequate amounts of dedicated study time to ensure you a good grade for that certain class, at least 1 hour and 45 minutes of study for a certain subject, unless specified by your instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan on attending the university of guam and you stay off campus, plan on leaving your home at least 45 minutes to an hour to get to campus, especially if you have a morning class due to the fact that guam is having road constructions and traffic in the morning is heavy. academic wise, always be on time to classes and attend every class sessions to assure of a successful semester.

    In three sentences

    the university of guam has a great scenic campus, all buildings are walking distance, and the classroom sizes are of adequate size which allows for a student teacher bonding. everyone on campus is like a family.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The athletic fieldhouse and gym is free. they also provide free wireless internet, tutoring services from Americorp, and computer services at various computer labs across the school campus. They are included in the tuition and fees and i believe is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met many people and termsalot of new frineds here. I am actively participating in the university's intramural sports tournaments and event and activities. I have also worked under the federal work study program for three terms.

    Am learning a lot

    While some instructors either seem like they don't care about you learning or are mediocre teachers, there are others who take pride in their teaching and push you to do better. My instuctor for Human Anatomy and Physiology regularly goes out of her way to accomodate each student by giving seminars, reviews, and even refers students to help online. She knows that tihs course is really difficult, so she tries to help students learn the best way she can.