Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Maine at Augusta Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    music, plays, movie nights, trips...

    Food and Dining

    i don't really eat at school

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    just right

    Tips for prospective students

    lots of opportunities!

    In three sentences

    i really enjoy attending school here. its small enough that getting to know people throughout the year is easy. also, the opportunities available here are great!

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional, working, full-time/part-time parents, high school grads living near by.

    Food and Dining

    small deli brings in fresh subs and pizza daily. student activities provide free food during activities. several restaurants and fast food near by.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms-commuter only, apartments close by

    In three sentences

    this is a great school for commuter students. it has convenient hours for students who work or have children.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for non-traditional students (ie- have a job, children, a life). If you've ever wanted to go back to college this is the place to do it! Do not go to some degree mill, this is a real University that will give a quality education.

    Food and Dining

    Commuter Campus, but the food is reasonably priced and the dining area is clean.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter Campus

    In three sentences

    UMA is a great place to learn. The teaching staff is dedicated and caring, and the diverse student population makes everybody feel welcome. I would recommend UMA to anybody!

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this is definitely geared more towards the non-traditional student. teachers are willing to work with those whose schedules require flexibility.

    Academic Rigor

    some professors are definitely more strict than others. try to get your work in on time and take advantage of peer tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely take advantage of on campus academic planning. i would also recommend joining into the myriad of student organizations available and applying for all the scholarships. campus involvement isn't great so you definitely have a chance to shine.

    In three sentences

    the local branch of the uma system is thoroughly decent. the instructors are either very engaged or fairly jaded. i would recommend it as a great doorway experience into college, but for serious students i would recommend transferring as soon as possible.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have security on whenever you need them

    Food and Dining

    I go to the bangor campus and there are no food/dining on campus but there are places near by.

    Dorm Life

    They only offer off campus housing.

    In three sentences

    This is a great University the staff are interested in you and are willing to help. They have fun activities planned for teh students all the time. I would highly reccomend anyone looking into this school.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Adult and Non-Traditional students

    What to do for fun

    Student Government, student interest groups and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    We have catered lunches twice weekly.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the Bangor Campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your notes, meet with your adviser, and don't be reluctant to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are small, and the professors are involved with ensuring their students success. The student advisers strive to meet the needs of the students and encourage students to succeed.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe..

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Local students, people who live in the area and want to go back to school, older students, single parents, people from low-income households.

    What to do for fun

    Movies nearby are pretty expensive. There really isn't much in Augusta.

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining is fairly decent. Inexpensive and quick. There are fast food places nearby, grocery stores and a few healthier more local options like Bagel Mainea and Baywrap.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Many intro-level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to start off taking classes.

    In three sentences

    The University of Maine at Augusta is a diverse school, accepting to people who want to further their education at any point in their lives. You will meet people from many different backgrounds. A fun school.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for non traditional students because of the flexibility of the schedule. But it is also a great fit for anybody looking for a college that is small where you get to know the professors personally.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is one of the best deals around! The tuition is incredibly low compared to everything that is offered.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events happening here. The school is always offering trips, special guests, plays/performances, outing clubs, sports teams, ect. Plus there is a civic center next door that has many concerts and events. A short drive away you can visit the ocean, go skiing, hiking, fishing, or visit one of Maine's many historic sites.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe here that has a great selection of food. It has salads, pizza, and snack foods that help you get through the day. Also there are plenty of restaurants nearby that you can stop by if there is something else you are craving.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, but there are still plenty of ways to stay involved in the community. There are always events, trips, and clubs that you can attend/join.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been to other colleges and I found that some of the classes to be harder, but this may have been due to my learning style. I do not do as well in large auditorium style lectures. UMA has small interactive classrooms that are better suited for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour! It's a beautiful campus with lots of opportunity. There are no dorms here, but there are plenty of apartments near by. If you are interested in a specific major come talk to the professors about the opportunities that are available. The professors here love what they do and are always looking to share their knowledge. They can help you decide if this is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    UMA is great for students who need flexibility with their schedules but also want to be able to be connected to a college community. There are many groups, organizations, and clubs available. One of my favorite things about this college is that it is small enough that the professors get to know you by name; you're not just another face in the crowd here.

  • 11/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who want to go to a university, transfer to a larger umaine system, and want to have smaller classes/pay less for their general education courses.

    Bang for the buck

    They claim its the cheapest tuition in the state for university's, which may be true but they also said they would keep the price the same and then increased it. Forcing me to take out more loans when I would have had barely enough before. Not to mention the fact that they also make you take classes you aren't ready for so you fail those and effectively waste your money. But it is cheap, just apply to as many scholarships as possible, even if it makes them offer you less.

    Food and Dining

    We have vending machines... that's pretty much it although they get free pizza fairly often.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are more difficult than others obviously and some teachers for the same course have more work than others. Overall my general education courses were pretty balanced, if you don't procrastinate too much you should be okay, but there is free tutoring if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Print out the degree requirements for your program and use those for reference when enrolling. Enrollment will put you in courses you aren't ready for, several of my friends failed math courses and then were jumped up, skipping maths, and had to take ones they had no chance of doing well in.

    In three sentences

    A very small school so you learn to recognize most of the people, except for the ones that only go to classes and then go home. Everybody is pretty nice although like anywhere else there are exceptions. Don't have your heart set on staying at the school forever, have a backup plan, they don't always seem to know what they're doing and a lot of the teachers won't help you.

  • 12/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Bangor campus is located in a low-crime area of the city. The campus offers its own security force and is located across the road from the Bangor International Airport. The City of Bangor also offers police coverage to the campus and hospitals are within close distance. Should an emergency happen, the response time would be 1-2 minutes.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    UMA offers clubs and activities to students, but they are limited due to the geographic spread of the college.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is perfect for non-traditional students. Students who work full-time, have children, and are not the typical age for starting college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    As previously stated, I have discovered that this college's Mental Health and Human Services program better prepares it students for their careers. UMA is one of the cheapest colleges in Maine and I would definitely argue that students receive their money's worth. However, the old adage, 'you get what you pay for' comes into play with UMA. The college has a limited budget to operate with. The college is unable to offer as many classes as other University of Maine Schools. Due to recent budget cuts, some programs and courses are no longer offered.

    What to do for fun

    As previously stated, most students are non-traditional students. They either work full-time or have families to take care of when they are not in class or studying. The college does not have many groups and activities compared to others. If you plan on studying at UMA, fun activities will depend on what site you choose.

    Food and Dining

    The location I attend does not have dining services.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not offer dorms. Most students who attend UMA are non-traditional students. All students either rent apartments close to their site or live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard to grade UMA on academic rigor because of how spread out the college is. My observation is based on the classes I've taken at the Bangor campus. The Bangor professors in the Mental Health and Human Services program provide students with a quality education that is undervalued by the community. The professors provide information based on their years of experience in the human services field and teach lessons that cannot be found in a book. Compared to my UMaine Social Work counterparts, I would argue that I am learning more pertinent information about my future career. I have connected with several students in the UMaine Social Work program and discussed the differences in curriculum. UMA provides a more realistic education than UMaine.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college is geared towards adults who are looking to go back to school. If you are fresh out of high school and looking for a traditional college experience, UMA is not for you. I am 21 and I am younger than most of my classmates in my program.

    In three sentences

    The college is successful at providing students with an inexpensive and convenient way of obtaining a college degree. With locations all over Maine, students are able to pursue their degrees at satellite campuses through online classes. However, the college is unsuccessful at providing students with a wide array of classes.