Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First and Foremost are students who know and Love Jesus Christ. UMHB, is an AMAZING Christian Community, and you will feel welcome and at home here. Athletes also enjoy this campus, all the sports teams have winning records every season. Students who want to live in the Heart of Texas, Belton is located in a great spot of Central Texas, beautiful little town. Also, the campus is about 20 or so miles from Fort Hood, and the Army ROTC program here is new, so it is a great campus for students who want to serve after college, or current military personnel who want to take courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved, UMHB likes to see students who are involved, and who will be involved in the Crusader community. What helped me, was I attended a small Christian high school, so I had letters of recommendation from my Principal and Assistant Principal, and the Religious Brothers from my school. Letters of recommendation from a Pastor a Priest will help, but also letters from people who see what you are involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    I would be lying if I didn't mention that this college is fairly expensive. However, the close-knit Christian Community, the great friends, the quality of the education, the fun, the memories, and the history of this University make it worth it. There are a lot of scholarships the university offers to help students lighten the load of paying for school. I cannon stress enough that the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor truly offers Education for Life...Experience of a Lifetime.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a relatively small school, so it is a close-knit community, with not just the students, the faculty, staff, and even the small town of Belton. You can always find something to do, there are plenty of campus activities throughout the week. You will make great friends, and if you are a Follower of Christ, you will the Christian centered community of this university. All the sports teams are very good, and the games are a blast to attend. The town of Belton is located close to Austin, Waco, Fort Hood, and College Station, so if you can't find something to do on campus, a short drive will get you to some fun places.

    Am learning a lot

    Besides certain classees that EVERYONE takes, the class size is very small, even at the Freshman level. So you will get individualized attention if you need it. The University finds the best professors, every class I have had, the professor has been flexible, courteous, and extremely competent in getting the students to understand the material.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! (:

    Will enjoy being here

    I've visited the campus more than once, and have fallen in love with the college. It's perfect for me, because its close enough to big cities like Austin, however, it is set in a small town.

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a more personalized college experience in a smaller, down home Christian setting located in a small town. It is perfect for smart athletes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait...visit UMHB now! I wanted to enjoy my senior year and not worry about where I was going to go to college so I did my research and visited several colleges and I made my decision in January that UMHB was the place for me.

    Bang for the buck

    UMHB is expensive, but my parents say you get what you pay for. I plan to be a nurse and UMHB has one of the best nursing schools anywhere. I don't want to be a number in an auditorium so for the caliber of instruction and the class size, great value!

    Am enjoying being here

    I graduated in the top 5% of my High School class and was accepted at many large universities, but I knew from the start UMHB was the right choice for me. The classes are small enough so the professor actually knows your name and your work. The campus facilities are great. I am an athlete and work out all the time...they have a great gym...a smoothie bar...great places to run.

    Am learning a lot

    It is not a walk in the park, but who wants to pay tuition for a blow-off class. I had a tough semester taking classes and practicing baseball, but I ended my Freshman year with a 3.5 GPA. The professors are tough, but willing to help any student that is willing to put in the effort.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to learn and have fun. My Old Testament professor made the class interesting for all students, whether they believe in God or not. He referenced movies all the time, even doing a Scarlet O'Hara impression once or twice when we discussed certain Bible stories. He also brought in visual aids and show and tell things on multiple occasions. Many of my professors are not merely academics. A lot of them love making modern connections to the things of the past. Learning becomes much more dynamic here. It really become more than just text on a page. The professors here like to give breath and color to the people and characters of the past. They no longer live on a page, but almost come to life as they describe them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just take a tour (Although that's a good first step.) Attend a Preview weekend or have a conversation with some of the students here. That's the real measure of a college. You can see people going about their lives on campus, but it isn't until you talk to one of them that you know whether or not you can see yourself here. If you do attend, get involved. The people here want to know you, but if you spend all year like a hermit in your room you do yourself an injustice. You miss out on all the memories and friends you'll make. Who knows you could meet your best friend here, or your future roommate. Just give people a chance cause they want to give you one.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is rather pricey compared to other colleges, but definitely the education you'll receive here is worth it. I'm only a freshman and I've learned more than I have my entire life. Not only that the faculty and staff make themselves available to you. In my first semester, I had the Provost of the University, the Dean of my College of study, the Head of the Math Department, the most respected Psych professor on campus and one of the top History professors in here field as my teachers. I also had countless tutoring and educational programs and aid as my disposal. You also, get small classes so you really know the people you see every day. The library is phenomenal, on a cold or rainy day you can get a coffee and do your homework or read a good book. Also, the people in the Registrar's office and Bursar's office are really nice and helpful. I've had to be in there every week and everyday I've had to go in there they greet me with a smile and a laugh. They answer any questions I might have, and go out of their way to make the endless amount of paperwork go quickly and smoothly. When you pay the costs for college at UMHB, you pay for quality and community. The people here have hearts that are as open as your pocket book. :D

    Am enjoying being here

    In the summer, before I began my first semester of college I couldn't imagine being here at UMHB. I didn't believe this was where I was supposed to be. I participated in the University's Welcome Week 2010 for incoming freshman and transfer student. During that first week my entire perspective on the University changed. I learned that here, they want this to be a place we can call home. A place to find brothers, sisters, friends, spouses etc and live together as a community of Crusaders. I'll never forget when I changed my mind about my expectations of my first year at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. It was the last event of Welcome Week, the dubbing ceremony. It's an event where all the new students sit out in from of Luther Memorial, light our candles, go on bended knee before our faculty and professors and pledge ourselves Crusaders Forever. To most students it's kinda a funny tradition, it's kinda chaotic there isn't any robes or chanting in the background, but to me it was the day I decided I was going to make the most of what God had given me. Not to long afterward I found friends that I could depend on. What was more I found brothers and sisters in Christ who I trust and rely on. We walk together as Christians and as Crusaders. On campus, there really is a sense of comradery. If you need a ride anywhere there is always a friendly face and a willing friend to give you a ride. I think the biggest form of unity we have at the University is the Home football games. Hundreds of students, alumni, faculty and staff all gather together in their cars, line up, roll down their windows and scream with a police escort all the way to the football field. Then, like crusaders going off to war we cheer for our team. Everywhere you go and to every event the students you see are always happy, always excited to see you, and if anyone is having a bad day or is worried about anything the students here are the first to pray for you, cry with you, laugh with you and help you through anything. I never thought I'd find a home here at UMHB, but that's exactly what I found. I really hope whoever is reading this can find that home here too.

    Am learning a lot

    Honestly, I have never learned as much as have attending UMHB. I was blessed enough to be a part of the University Honors Program, and doing so I was able to meet students that hold themselves to a higher standard. My professors have been more than helpful. Whenever I had a problem or a question I could send them an email and within 10 or 15 minutes, sometimes any time of day I could get an answer to my questions. The professors here really do care about whether or not you understand the information. They're less concerned with grades and more interested in whether or not the students are prepared to succeed not only in their class but as a student at the University. I could ask any professor where to get help, and they were willing either to help me themselves or point me in the direction of a professor who could. They paid close individual attention to the way we think and how we process information, and every single one of my professors tried to relate to me on more than a student-to-teacher basis. They tried to bring me up to a higher level of academia and try to grow me as a student.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. The security are friendly and they are always there to protect you and to always give you a hand in case your keys are inside your car to even start it if you are having difficulties on it.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek Life at UMHB.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone at UMHB. If you are a athlete theres many clubs and teams, also if you like to read or just like helping out the community there is something for you.

    Great for these types of students

    UMHB is great for everyone, especially if you like sports and is into religion. As you might already know its a religious school but don't let that just stop you. As well its a small campus compared to other school, that's a benefit cause you get to know everyone as well the teacher helps you out more and you get to actually meet them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UMHB hold may different tradition and events that makes it unique. From their homecoming to its games. as well to its pageant it hold like the miss MHB pageant even for the guys the crusader knights. Also there an event that hey hold which they combine all four classes to compete one another which is stunt night. You will definitely feel like the Crusader family.

    Bang for the buck

    UMHB is very great for their tuition. They will help you out and even grant you some scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of stuff you could do at UMHB. You wont get bored from all the clubs and events you could do. As well the town has plenty of things as well there's a lake close by so you could have some fun on the weekend with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious! There is a variety you can choose from even if you are a vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are really great. They could adjust and add some stuff but overall pretty good. Best ones to choose for the guys is McLane and for the girls I've heard is Burt.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academic is excellent in all majors. Especially in the science departments. They have really high standards in the medicine as well the nursing program. They will get you ready for your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking at the school right away. Get your application filled out and get your SAT and ACT taken car of. Get to know your admission councilor as well visit campus. Go to Sader day and Cru camp and just have fun.

    In three sentences

    The feeling when you step into campus it feels like you are at home. The intense and adrenaline feeling when you watch the teams perform, always bringing their A game. To the great teaching techniques UMHB holds for their students future.

  • 03/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school. Apply for scholarships and school early. Get involved as soon as you get in.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost per credit hour is definitely no easy task to pay for but the education that you receive is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and the people are amazing. You feel like a part of the family as soon as you step on campus. Everyone is inviting and has a genuine interest in you.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors are very educated and know exactly what they are teaching. I never leave class without learning something new.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian Studies and ministry students. Nursing students. Athletes who dont mind not getting a scholarship. People who prefer a smaller school, but dont want to feel claustophobic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They play a huge game, kind of like tag, with hundreds of people. It is called Running Man and it really awesome. They have like 5 historical markers on campus and have an awesome history.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive, but definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board at UMHB is really good at having fun events on campus. They also have a Play Day every year before finals that is just a day of awesomeness. However, Belton is a small town, so you have to get real creative to find something to do a lot of the time.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo caters all of UMHBs food, and quite honestly, they are horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life should definitely be experienced. It isnt always the funnest thing, but it is worth doing. Everyone is really friendly, and you will develop a great sense of community. The dorm halls throw on their own events. McClane hall has hall wars where different sections of the dorm compete against each other over the course of a wekk in sports like dodgeball and basketball.

    Academic Rigor

    UMHB is pretty challenging academically. The professors really know they're stuff, and will challenge you to think on your own instead of just absorb a lecture. The core curriculum for Bachelor of Arts is pretty broad, but once you get into your major you can really delve deep into your interests. The professors really try to give yout ools for outside the classroom as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should be aware of what kind of university UMHB is and what they stand for. Know what to expect with a smaller school. A tight knit community, but a smaller campus life. Get to know your professors because they want to know you as well.

    In three sentences

    UMHB is a challenging school academically. UMHB is also very focused spiritually. UMHB competes athletically.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year around Easter we have a Easter Pagent describing Jesus last week of life. It's truly awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much. You can go to neighboring cities that are 5 to 1 hour away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study a lot! Get a planner because you will go crazy and lose assignments. Go talk to your teachers if you are having difficulty in the class, all my professors were always happy to see me ask them for help.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is very relaxing. the landscape is beautifull. Overall I love this college.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers patrolling and the campus has a very safe feel to it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities will keep you involved in all your interests.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive, being a private school, but there are plenty of scholarships and aid available to assist you.

    What to do for fun

    Belton is a great town and the campus is not far from a great lake with hiking trails and swimming. There are always things going on, from intramural sports to art classes.

    Food and Dining

    Hardy Hall is excellent as far as dorm food goes. An all you can eat buffet with delicious items.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and there are always activities like dodgeball and volleyball that are held every once in a while.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are typical college courses with one exception: the professors take a genuine interest in your learning and developing a personal connection with you; and that makes all the difference.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many opportunities that everyone should take advantage of.

    In three sentences

    UMHB has a great campus, everything is within walking distance and its beautiful. The staff, professors, and students are very friendly and will help with anything you need. The atmosphere is excellent and it's a very fun place.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students of any religion (however, Christians may find the most comfort) looking for an education while making personal connections with professors, wanting to be surrounded by a friendly environment, and students who want a quality education without a large quantity of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a bike! The campus is small enough to where a bike across campus, even on warmer days, will not even spark a sweat. And the many trees around campus provide shade! Also, don't be afraid or reluctant to get involved in activities!

    Bang for the buck

    Albeit expensive, the quality of learning excels. The faculty maintains friendly help for any that need it, this includes the registration offices, library, bookstore, and the food is not half bad either for on-campus cafeteria!

    Am enjoying being here

    All professors and students are friendly with one another. There are no cliques, sororities, or fraternities, so everyone is friends with everyone. The dorms and on-campus apartments all provide opportunities for its residents to meet each other and have fun. Also, the Christian environment has helped me focus on studies. And the fact our football team has been conference champions for the past decade helps our charisma!

    Am learning a lot

    This is an EXCELLENT university. The classes are small and professors become close with almost all students, providing an excellent learning environment. Most teachers also bring life into the classroom, blasting away that stereotype of boring professors in auditoriums full of students. Also, the Christian study program has opened up so much to my spiritual knowledge!

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any! Our athletics program is one of the strongest for schools of this size. The honors program is excellent. Band and choir do a fantastic job. Even if you aren't Christian, the school is welcoming and open to you in many ways. We are just the right distance from larger cities that there is plenty to go and do, while the town of Belton is a charming community and welcoming to its college students. Get involved, or stay on the outside of things, you will still love this school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pretty much what any school would tell you - get involved! Don't stay in your room all day. Don't go home every weekend, find those activities on campus! Join student government or campus activities! Definitely go to Welcome Week. It's tons of fun and you'll make friends that will last you through your college career and beyond. One great way to get involved is to belong to one of the many wonderful, active churches in the area.

    Bang for the buck

    UMHB is not going to be the cheapest school to go to, but if you can come in with good grades and keep them up, the scholarships are a true blessing. Plus, they offer work study and other financial aid opportunities. Don't let the price tag scare you away, this school is worth it! There are a hundred things to recommend you to this school, including the cute and well-placed town of Belton.

    Am enjoying being here