Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Michigan-Flint Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 07/19/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    i won't be staying in their dorms, but their dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    they have a lot of academic qualities that are to much to list.

    In three sentences

    this school is absolutely amazing! i fit in very easily, and everyone there is super nice!

  • 02/09/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who live in the area

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a ghandi statue in the park that not to many people know about.

    What to do for fun

    The number of clubs are limited but there are a few. There are computer labs and the recreation center. The university center has events and students hang out here in between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here unless you have to. If you do end up going use the resources to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    Its an okay school but obviously not a first choice. There is a lot of assistance and resources but the selection of classes is limited. The majority of the professors are helpful.

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is very quiet yet sociable. And everyone seems very nice and friendly.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are driving around all the time and there if you need them for anything. Nothing too big or too small.

    Greek Life

    As I have said, I absolutely love it!! I joined as a freshman and it has completely transformed my life already!

    Clubs and Activities

    U of M - Flint has a lot to offer for everyone's interests! And if you don't see what you are interested in, start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for anyone! It is very diverse, that is one of the things I love about it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I can think of.. The student loft is really chill though, I like to spend time in there in between classes/meetings.

    Bang for the buck

    Greek life here is amazing, I have met some truly amazing people through it. I cannot wait to see how the rest of my time here goes. I have already became more outgoing and confident because of the sorority and it definitely has brought out the leader in me!

    What to do for fun

    I am really busy with classes and sorority stuff so I don't get out much. Joining a sorority was a great choice, and they have a lot of other things you can join as well like clubs, sports, etc.

    Food and Dining

    It is pretty expensive and it varies, but is usually really good.

    Dorm Life

    It's not bad, I just want to be with my cats and boyfriend. The dorms are really nice and being right on campus is extremely convenient!

    Academic Rigor

    I have loved my classes and all my teachers so far!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put it down because it is in Flint, this is an amazing school with amazing staff and students.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing. The campus is great and the people are awesome. I am so glad I chose this school!

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Worst part of the university, I must say.

    Dorm Life

    Very safe! A lot of rules, but they're totally understandable. All of the RA's are really nice and understanding. The housing department could use some work.

    Academic Rigor

    This all really depends on your area of studies, the professor, and what year you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research before you come -- campus visits are really great!

    In three sentences

    The professors are very knowledgeable and are willing to work with students. The dining services are not of the greatest caliber. If you stay in the dorms, things are pretty nice and convenient.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The first semester I went to U of M, Flint, I crashed my car in the parking structure. Not only did they send a Campus Safety Officer immediately, they contacted the police for me and helped to make me feel better.

    Food and Dining

    There are many vending machines throughout the buildings. There is also a plaza in the Pavilion that offers many different types of food. The town also has many restaurants to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms, but I have heard plenty of good things about them. They are apartment style and extremely close to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly hard, but there are plenty of resources to help you. Many of the programs are competitive, so it is important that you do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your advisors! They are easy to access and seem to really know and understand what they are talking about. Also, make sure you find other students in your classes to study with; it is a huge help!

    In three sentences

    Classes are fairly big (60-100) people, with a few having about twenty students. Although each professor has many students, they still put a lot of energy into making sure each student has the opportunity and resources to learn. I love the size and quality of the University of Michigan, Flint.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is up and alert 24/7. if you need help there is always a blue phone available for you to pick up and get the help you need no matter what situation you are in. Very knowledgeable and helpful for whatever you need.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang with my roommates for fun, we all became closer than i expected. i also love to listen to music and let my true colors show. Being myself is one thing I do best. Reading a book is not so bad neither when you need to past time.

    Food and Dining

    After a while the food really gets tiring. I really do recommend bringing fruits and other healthy foods because out here no one watches your weight but you. The food is very limited like there is really no variety and

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is something different, you have a guarantee of meeting new people, its all up to you to make the best of it. You have to be sure ti be prepared because when you're here you turn out to need a lot more than what you expected.

    Academic Rigor

    They have high expectations here but they also understand when help is needed, do not ever let your pride stop you from getting help. They have free tutoring and other free resources its just up to you to put them to use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to fill out lots scholarships and to get involved in any and everything you can. Do not be to yourself learn to be social that's how you learn and figure out a lot more.

    In three sentences

    I love being here, it has a nice campus and the people here are so friendly. The classes are fairly easy if you apply yourself.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patrol cars throughout campus. Police officers, not just Flint, the university's are there daily. In addition to police cars, there are safety officers who will drive you across campus to class if need be. They sweep the campus every hour and in between. There are local telephones around campus that connect you with an operator ready to dispatch officers instantly.

    Greek Life

    The greeks are always trying something new. One thing they always are doing are trying to recruit new students. They have an entire month of activities for students, movie on the lawn, bowling events, comedians.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs here. I just joined CAB today. It stands for campus activities board. They are the second largest group on campus next to greek life. Their responsibilities include bringing entertainment to campus! We get to inspire comedians, poets, singers, musicians, magicians to entertain us students!

    Great for these types of students

    Types of students who do not prefer large crowds, universities, or lecture halls. A typical lecture hall carries 56 students, when another university would carry at least 300.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel the price is a bit high but since it does carry the Michigan label I understand the cost of attendance.

    What to do for fun

    What is there not to do for fun? There are constant events going on in which all students are invited to. The great thing about campus is that you are never bored as long as people are having new ideas.

    Food and Dining

    There is this great buffet here! You can eat as much as you would like, and the menu is different each day. One of the main reasons why I love the buffet so much is because of the staff that work there. They make the experience of dining so much more enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing. Relatively new compared to those other universities. Although there is only one dorm it is enough to not only meet people but establish a nice study session in your own room without all the noise of others. The lobby constantly has someone working at the front desk, so there is always someone to talk to whenever, even at three o' clock in the morning.

    Academic Rigor

    All my classes are challenging and I simply love that. They each challenge me in a different way and I get the opportunity to capitalize on my study skills. My professors are open to helping me out in any way with the work load. Each professor has office hours where I can come in with my academic struggles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and construct a schedule that not only maximizes your study time but also incorporates your time to relax. Never, ever be dismayed from a challenging class, better yet, embrace it. There is so much support, all you have to do is go out and get it.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely like it, it is great in size and diverse at the same time. The classes are challenging but enjoyable at the same time. Meeting various students here is always encouraged as well as getting involved in the various programs. The atmosphere is very friendly and welcoming.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always Campus security and Flint PD everywhere I look. Very safe!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes on campus! I commute to campus but am taking all online classes. I wish I would've taken classes on campus. It's gorgeous!

    In three sentences

    The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The campus is beautiful! I really underestimated what UM-Flint had to offer!

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    patrol is always near by, very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Huge greek life, lots of different sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs and activities and it's easy to make new ones.

    Great for these types of students

    driven hard working student who also want to be able to have fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the river that runs through the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the shows and parties and events held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food and nice dining areas to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    very nice dorms, and acceptable rules/

    Academic Rigor

    Rigorous classes depending of course, on the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where the skywalks are to avoid the dreaded winter season and stay warm.

    In three sentences

    A very safe school full of diverse students. Professors who care about your education and are willing to help in any way they can. Great staff who make you feel apart of a family.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has a great campus and beautiful dorms. They even have a closed in Skywalk! I would be definitely interested in attending this school.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few cafes around the campus, and there are events on campus everyday ranging from dances and films to open mic and international potlucks.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an academic adviser early in the semester, it can help save you time and money, and they're all very friendly.

    In three sentences

    Although a small commuter campus, UM-Flint has a lot to offer. Professors are extremely helpful, interactive, and knowledgeable; most have PHDs. There is also a large international student community, and the art scene downtown is awesome.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from. Something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    International students. There are lots of clubs, events, and other students for all around the world to get to know and learn about. Nobody should feel uncomfortable or out of place here.

    What to do for fun

    Joining a club and getting involved in extracurricular activities is lots of fun. There is something for everyone here.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food choices here and you can find some in almost every building so you don't ever have to walk far.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms here, but I have heard from other students that they are good.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here to me are challenging, but not overbearing. The workload is enough for you to want to pull your hair out at times, but it's not overwhelming if you set good study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    The students here are very friendly, diverse, and from all over the world. Students and faculty are always willing to help you with anything. There are many great clubs to join and be a part of that help make you feel welcome and comfortable.

    In three sentences

    This is a very friendly and diverse university. It has many choices for majors and extracurricular activities. There are many of diverse clubs that you can join that make you feel comfortable here.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football!!

    Food and Dining

    GOOD!

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    So many options.

    In three sentences

    Great school.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I spend most of my time at home in Waterford but if I am in Flint, Churchhills is the place to go.

    Food and Dining

    I hardly ever eat at school.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Riverfront for a while and it was pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel the classes are challenging, especially if you join the honors program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you figure out how you are going to pay for the whole experience and plan on changing majors at least once.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the small class sizes. I like that the buildings are connected. I like being taught by professors instead of TAs.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is patrolled by cops 24/7 here in Flint. There is a lot of crime going on day and night. If you have night classes, the best thing is walk with a friend or a group of people. Or better yet, you can dial the police to walk you to your dorm and commuters that don't live on campus to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    The university has clubs and activities that you can join in. The best thing is try to be in a club or an activity that is based on your major. It will give you a broader view on you're area of studies.

    What to do for fun

    The college is very busy. For me, I did not have time to do anything fun. Not even joining clubs or activities due to homework and studying. Though, the only thing that can happen at this university is special events that are held.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is very expensive. The numbers skyrocket when you use your meal plan. The cafeteria usually served food the same thing. The best thing is try to change up a little bit. Do not eat the same thing everyday. It's going to clog up your arteries.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. If you are coming here to this university for schooling. Make sure that you get a single bed. Get your own bed. Because it's easier for you to concentrate. You can get more work done when you have your own room. Though, some rooms usually have a double room.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here is very challenging. Take the time to do the work. There is a lot studying to do. When you are doing homework, make sure that you understand the materials very well. And take the time to think about it. Ask yourself can you relate this to the real world. Remember, things that you learn from books is different the practical world.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a college, make sure you visit a college or a university before applying to it. It's important that you know what is best for you when it comes to your academics but also the environment.

    In three sentences

    The University of Michigan-Flint is isolated. There is nothing to do here. Majority of students that live on campus usually go home every week. The atmosphere here is not that pleasant. It's like a community college with the brand name.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's okay. We do get a lot of reports of purse snatching or robberies from the area, but that's because the campus is in downtown Flint. I have never seen any crimes happening and I have never had someone I know on campus be involved in one, but they do happen.

    Greek Life

    There are so many frats or sororities to join. If you're looking for a party though, because this campus is in Flint, it's a little harder to find that kind of fun. It's not as cool as actual universities where more students live on campus and want to make more friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join, literally for anything you're interested in. These clubs hold activities and so does the campus to try and get students more involved.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great campus for students who like to keep to themselves. Because students come and go it's a lot harder to make friends because you're not forced to be here all the time.

    What to do for fun

    Once a month the university has a free movie night at the local movie theater, with your school i.d. present. The UCEN also has a lot of activities for students to do like hangout with friends, watch tv, play games, or listen to music. The Greek Life hold a lot of events for students to go to and so do the organizations. There are a lot of benefits to being a student but if you're looking for something fun to do in between classes your best bet is just to go home or study.

    Food and Dining

    There is a pavilion that has some restaurants and a few cafeterias around campus. There is I believe one cafeteria per building. There is a good variety of foods and drinks at them but because so many people commute not a lot of people have a meal plan. A lot of students eat before or after class in their off campus home.

    Dorm Life

    There is not much activity in the dorms. Because this is a branch off of Main Campus, most students commute. There is only one or two dorm buildings and they seem to be average quality.

    Academic Rigor

    Because the campus is so small professors are always willing to help students. They always know what they are talking about and if they're strict it's because they are trying to better you as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I have for prospective students is to take a tour before deciding to attend here, then you will know if it is right for you or not. Also, always stay in contact with your adviser and professors. Honestly, they will help you with all of your success.

    In three sentences

    For being a branch off of the main campus in Ann Arbor, U of M Flint is decent. Some of the organizations are pushy, but overall you come and go as you please. It's a small campus, but it has a overall good environment.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters

    What to do for fun

    Walk downtown and visit a restaurant or coffee shop.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many food options

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. If you're in high school and considering attending here, if they offer you a scholarship, you should take it. I went to another school for one year and then when I transferred there they no longer offered me a scholarship.

    In three sentences

    I had wonderful teachers at this university. Counselors were very helpful in helping me set up a class schedule.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Love it! Everyone should check it out, no matter where you go to school. It really helps with academics, building the resume, and networking.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Flint, Local Cultural Center, Malls, movies.

    Food and Dining

    Dorm card food isn't that good, but improving. We do have a Starbucks!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club, it makes learning more fun and exciting. Also will help you build your resume. You need more than just a degree to get a job!

    In three sentences

    University of Michigan-Flint is very student centered. They also provide numerous resources and opportunities in just about anything. And the professors are here to know YOU, not just a name in the class.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a good thing. They have security guards roaming the school all day and night. You can call them and request an escort if you need someone to walk with you during the night.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally think its not the best. You are paying extra for certain amenities you may never use. The food is overpriced, especially for people on a student budget. Plus there's so many general education classes that are required for no particular reason, so they are basically just sucking more and more years off of your life while at the same time you are losing money paying for things you don't need.

    What to do for fun

    There's a huge recreational facility on campus along with a myriad of clubs and organizations for you to join. If you are not someone who can get into that, there's 24/7 wireless internet to fit your need.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are ridiculous for food that's not that great. Even if the food was made five star chef there's nothing there that is readily available to people on a low student's budget or people who are dirt-broke because they are paying for college.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but the facilities they possess are available to students during the majority of the day so getting work done is fairly easy. The times can be a bit of a problem if you need to do something late at night, but they can't be open 24/7 so its not problem.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teachers. Some teachers really shouldn't be teachers and make several mistakes, while others will bend over backwards in order to help you. Basically whatever class you are in all of your work is for the TEACHER not you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Their website has several flaws and isn't the easiest to navigate if you are frustrated and looking for something specific. Their work study application process isn't that smooth either since its a lot of back and forth between you and the computer that can take weeks or even months when it could be shortened to only a week. So, basically start earlier when you need to find something and stay calm.

    In three sentences

    They have magnificent teachers and all the students are willing and almost eager to help each other out. Very diverse facilities give students almost anything they want despite the variety of races, ethnic upbringing, and economic status of the student body. A myriad of opportunities in both the professional light, like internships and jobs, but also a nice selection for just having fun, like clubs and other miscellaneous events.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Flint is not the best area to be in - take classes that do not end at dark, walk with groups of people and you will be fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs that offer events all year around for all students to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the tuition is high, you are still getting a University of Michigan education - that should say enough by itself.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to eat around and even on campus, but I haven't eaten at any of them because of my diet.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are great and really push students to do their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much aid as you can! This is a university so it is on the expensive side.

    In three sentences

    The University of Michigan-Flint is a great option for students that are looking for a university, rather than a community college, experience. There are always different types of events going on across campus any given week. The instructors are top-notch.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I definetly feel safe on campus because there are always campus officers on every part of the campus. they have many emergency phones located in the parking lot , just in case of an emergency

    Greek Life

    I really don't know a lot about the Greek life, but the friends I have that are apart are really cool and friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    The social work club is a great group to be apart of. they provide many volunteering opportunities for individuals to be apart of. they also take trips to some place to learn more about research as it relates to our field.

    Great for these types of students

    They have an excellent social work program! The professors genuinely care for the students and strive hard at making sure their students succeed. There are many resources available for students who become apart of the program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really consider anything unusual at the university. the school is very diverse and respectful of others backgrounds and heritage.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities always posted in the emails sent to students.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus, but I have tasted some of the food and it was delicious and made with love.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Very professional atmosphere, nothing less excepted. You get your money's worth!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources given by professors and Network.

    In three sentences

    Very intelligent Professors!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are also security guards driving around the parking lots, if anything suspicious does happen they call you, or send you a text message letting you know what is going on.

    Greek Life

    I am not in a sorority, but I do know that there are a couple around the campus. A lot of the activities are sponsored by the Sororities and the Fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds of sports clubs including roller derby, powderpuff, hockey. Chess clubs, snowboarding clubs, video game clubs, and much more that I can't even think of them all. There is also Art walks, Coffee walks, picnics, concerts, bake sales, and a bunch of random stuff the school offers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have had lots of concerts in the middle of the campus. They randomly hand out free t-shirts all the time. There is always a lot going on.

    Bang for the buck

    U of M Flint is cheaper than most Universities. When you graduate it doesn't even say U of M Flint it just says U of M. So, no one would even know it was the Flint campus. It gives you the feel of being at a top notch, largely populated school, without all the down sides.

    What to do for fun

    There are many restaurants and bars around the school, since it is located in Flint, some of the bars do college nights which students get a discount. The school also has different walks, like the art walk, and cafe walk, where you walk around Flint to all the different places. They offer a lot of clubs and fun stuff to do in order to make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    U of M-Flint has a cafeteria, which from what I hear is pretty nice, they also have some smaller food like stands where you can get pizza and hot dogs. In the pavaillon they have Subway, chineses, and a couple of restaurants where students can eat.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know much about the dorm life because I live at home and commute to school, but I have seen them and out of all the colleges I've visited U of M-Flint's dorms are the best I've seen. They are huge and just recently built so they are still very nice. They remind me of staying at a hotel. Like I said before, too, the restaurants around town give discounts to students and there is always some sort of activity going on at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all my professors so far. They make it a point to know you by name and they actually care about your future. Some of them even resort to different methods of teaching. My English professor used Katy Perry music videos to portray whatever we were talking about in class, and another one of my professors took us outside to read us American poetry while we lounged in the sun.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a real college experience, but don't want to shell out the money U of M-Flint is the perfect place. If you're looking for social activities the school offers a lot of clubs and fun activities that everyone can participate in.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, but so beautiful that you would never realize you're in Flint. The student population is big, but everyone is very friendly. The restaurants and bars around campus also give deals to the college students.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus life :)

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that any classes taken over 12 credits is a discounted price, so its cheaper to load up than to wait until Spring or Summer

    In three sentences

    Excellent professors, and administrative staff. I love this school!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety gives every student the opportunity to sign up for text, email, or both to be alerted when there have been a crime attempted or reported. They also alert everyone of school closings when the weather is going to be bad. This is the best things campus safety could come up with, because it keeps students from going to the area where the crime was committed and it keeps students from driving to the school in bad weather.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. Every degree/program has a club. Each club always have some kind of activity going on to promote their club or to help another organization in need, such as a women's shelter or to help the homeless. These clubs hold fundraisers, throw mixers, or hold carnivals on campus. Joining one of the clubs can help you when its time to graduate and look for a job. It will be good to do some volunteer work while in college.

    What to do for fun

    In the downtown area there are the museums, the art institute, the Whiting Auditorium where they have a variety of shows, plays, musicals, and a variety of acts. Outside of downtown there is the Perani Arena where they have sports, concerts, big wholesale events, and more, also there are two malls and a variety of night clubs for college students.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of food places on campus to select from if a student doesn't want to go off grounds. There's several cafeteria's inside the school to choose from that consist of deli's, cafe's, and lunch stands and there's the Pavilion that has several fast food restaurants. Off campus in the heart of downtown, where the University is located are quite a few restaurants to choose from in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life should be experienced by every college student. Its the beginning of adulthood, the first step to getting out on your own. Some students stay in dorms until they're done with college, others transfer to apartments, that's when they are ready for real adulthood (bills). Most parents will still help their children while they're in the dorms, while the students learn to to feed themselves, wash their own clothes, and still go to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    When attending U of M it is easy to get caught up in partying, because the University is in the middle of downtown and there are three colleges in Flint. I would suggest studying as much as you can after each class and studying as much as you can everyday. Lack of studying is will always put you behind in work and for test, no matter how much you think you have studied it will never seem like enough. The first semester is always the hardest, what no one ever expects and that's when they mess up their GPA, when its down its hard to get it back up, trust me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your college years, but also keep your mind on your books. College is very expensive and they are coming up with new ways to take funding away from students. Try your best to finish your classes in the allotted amount of time, if you study when its time to study, then you can party after work is done.

    In three sentences

    University of Michigan-Flint is a great place to continue your education, whether your just graduating from high school or if your going back to school after 20 years. They have many departments to work with you and on campus tutors to help you with your educational needs whether its help with financial aid or if you need help with a specific subject. There are also many organizations, mixers, and a variety of functions to get to know other students outside of the classrooms. Some classes may be big, but the professors welcome the students to come to their office for help so most of the professors know there students by names, which makes it easier for the students to ask questions and not feel uncomfortable in front of the class.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The area of Flint is no particularly safe and we have had more than one campus warning in the past month about gun shots and a mugging. Last year a girl had her backpack stolen walking across the campus bridge. It is not uncommon to hear about computers being snatched up. There are a lot of drugs in the area and it is not a place for the vulnerable.

    Greek Life

    I've seen a lot of advertisements for sororities and frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are available if you have the time. They look great on a resume.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who haven't had much of a chance at higher education, this is a great option. The location kind of beacons to those who have struggled.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't heard of anything yet.

    Bang for the buck

    It really depends on how you study and what teachers you have. Sit in on a class before you register with a professor. Make sure you understand them so that you don't end up taking the class and failing.

    What to do for fun

    There is a huge gymnasium and the whole part of that building is geared towards athletics. There are showers available to students, there is a pool, there is exercise equipment and a separate area for treadmills/bikes. Yoga classes are available. There is a racetrack. I hear there is a building on campus that is 'recreational', with pool tables.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very overpriced. There is a pavilion where you an get subway or chinese but in the middle of the campus where the grill is, expect to spend five dollars on a small burger with one onion ring and a tomato slice. Monster energy drinks are like 5 bucks we you know they usually sell for $2.50. In the spring, they close down the grill so even if you are willing to pay for the expensive food because of the convince of its location, you can't.

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes are rigorous. I have not yet taken other classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on being an science major, also plan on having no time for friends or extracurricular activities. The courses are near impossible and a big percentage of the class may fail. This is not because the teachers are mean, it is because the material is difficult.

    In three sentences

    University colleges are much harder than community colleges. This university is not any different. Making the move to UMFlint is a great choice because it opens the door to future education in graduate programs and also the chance of transferring to Ann Arbor.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is fantastic!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do around campus; there are always events happening as well as many different types of clubs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There are many really good places to eat around campus as well as in downtown Flint. One of the best is the Flint Crepe Company which makes handmade sweet and savory crepes from locally grown produce.

    Dorm Life

    There are only two dorms located on campus. Most students rent an apartment or live from home and commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The upper level classes are quite challenging, but the professors are really helpful at these levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    The amount of work that you put into your education is what you will get out of it. Become involved with activities in your department as well as with clubs and groups on campus. Get to know your professors well and work hard on all of your studies to really succeed.

    In three sentences

    UM Flint is a small campus with big opportunities. There are so many things that you can become involved with on campus that will really benefit your future. There is a lot of individual attention and many opportunities to succeed.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    is the best thing there.

    Clubs and Activities

    theres not alot of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    dance team isnt that good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The University Center is kind of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    There greek liffe is the only thing fun.

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    The african smerican rate is 5 percent. You get alot of parking tickets. There is no school spirit. Less parties and more studying

    In three sentences

    its okay I guess.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have been extremely impressed with my experience at the University of Michigan Flint. Tuition is on the rise everywhere, but this is a great place for students trying to save money and avoid tremendous loan debt.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is a huge part of the University of Michigan Flint. There are also many clubs to choose from. It seems like every day on campus brings a fun new event. From Relay for Life to campus 'block parties', you won't run out of fun things to do. Downtown Flint also has several restaurants to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    There are not as many places to dine at the University of Michigan Flint as you might find at larger universities. Aside from a lack of dining options, the food has always been very good and the variety offered at the few locations is satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    The University of Michigan-Flint built student dorms in 2008; however, I live relatively close to campus and commute. Despite never living in the dorms, I've heard a lot of great things about dorm life. It must be noted that Flint, MI can be a dangerous place to live. When the automotive industry left Michigan, poverty moved in. With poverty comes crime and there are places in Flint, MI that should be avoided. The campus is a relatively safe place to reside with severeal campus patrol officers.

    Academic Rigor

    As with all universities, course difficulty ranges from not so hard to extremely advanced. I myself have experienced the full gamut of academic rigor. However, I feel the diversity provided the full collegiate experience and expanded my ability to think critically, solve problems, and interact with peers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume that because this campus is a satellite campus of the University of Michigan that it's easier. The curriculum is challenging and pushes your mental capabilities. However, it's an absolutely wonderful environment. Join a club and get involved. You'll be surprised how many close relationships you'll form in a short period of time. Get excited about attending U of M Flint!

    In three sentences

    The academic expectations are challenging but not unmanageable. The faculty and professors are consistently willing to assist students outside of the classroom. The student body is excited and involved - despite the fact that most students commute to campus.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In a dangerous area, but there are constantly safety warnings and security around. I have not run into any problems with theft or safety.

    Greek Life

    Present, have not been a part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost any club you could think of

    Great for these types of students

    Students who commute

    What to do for fun

    Many extracurricular activities available, free gym membership.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places to grab a snack on campus, very reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging, but doable. I have learned tons to help me in my future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to go if you are interested in health care.

    In three sentences

    Great health service programs. Excellent and very intelligent professors. Student friendly campus and staff.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is there right away. They would prefer you to call them and not 911. Police would take an hour or more to get there, but campus safety heads out right away!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different activities and clubs to join! You can find anything on campus and if not, you can form the club yourself!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't forget to check out the North Bank!! Not many students know it is part of our campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I wish tuition was lower. I have had trouble receiving scholarships and yet I have had a 3.9 GPA for a year or so.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to the recreation center, join an organization, go swimming, there are tons of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Downtown would be your best bet if you are looking for a nice meal!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is absolutely amazing. I became a Resident Assistant right after leaving First Street and moving into Riverfront Residence Hall who also houses U of M students. It's fun and very recommended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get that 1 on 1 relationship with your professor, you could really use it in the future especially when applying for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere of U of M Flint. Although the area isn't safe, campus has tried their best to make it presentable and safe for the students that do actually attend. Everyone is so friendly!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent!

    Greek Life

    i hear its wonderful!

    Clubs and Activities

    terrific!!!

    Great for these types of students

    energetic, biology, criminal justice, pre-med, nursing, and physical therapy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are a lot of religious clubs and activities available on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is a little expensive, but mmore affordable than most colleges and universities but trust me it is totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of extra curricular activities offered from sororities, clubs, and sports.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good food and dinning!

    Dorm Life

    i have never lived in the dorms but my fellow classmates tell me its great!!!

    Academic Rigor

    excellent!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    always complete financial aid process as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    this is a very excellent university. its representatives are kind and caring. you are taught very well and it has a wonderful learning environment along with many opportunities.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    everywhere you look there are campus police and public safety vehicles, including late at night. there are blue light phones all over campus in case of emergencies, and emails are immediately sent out if there are any threats nearby. you can get to the main buildings through skywalks, so not a lot of your time is spent outside and alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs to join! everything from cultural organizations, to psi chi psychology organization, to the harry potter club. meet friends, attend meetings, and best of all, get free food!

    Great for these types of students

    u of m flint is great for students who are living around the genesee county area. you can live at home while going to school which helps keep costs down. it is also good for the non-traditional older students.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is affordable. extremely. you're getting professors with advanced knowledge in their fields for an amazing value.

    What to do for fun

    this may be the hardest thing about the university. since it is mainly a commuter college, there aren't too many big attractions right nearby. however, there are so many student organizations and you are guaranteed to find something you like. i'm currently in the harry potter society and am submitting literature to the qua magazine. there are a few sororities and fraternities on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    the choices for food actually on campus are pretty limited. the sandwiches in the ucen are delicious though, and there's also a great starbucks. don't be afraid to try eating in the restaurants downtown on saginaw street, there's something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are brand new and beautiful. the building is close by and quite attractive, and the rooms are sizable. i do not live in the dorms, but i have heard great things about them.

    Academic Rigor

    while i have learned a lot in my classes, there hasn't been a ridiculous amount of homework. learning has been focused on discussions rather than papers or assignments. they recently changed the policies so that 300 level classes and above now have to write term papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know how to navigate the skywalks! you will save yourself a lot of cold winter walking by figuring out how to get around quickly and warmly. stay alert when walking around downtown, however, don't be afraid to explore some of the local restaurants and attractions!e

    In three sentences

    the university of michigan-flint has a reputation in area for being on par with a community college. however, eighty percent of my professors have had doctorate degrees and are experts in their fields. i have learned more in two semesters here than in all four years in high school.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always a couple university police patrol cars around campus at various locations. also, there is emergency telephones all around the outside of campus that are connected to campus security and they will send an officer to you within a minute.

    Greek Life

    there are a lot of fraternities and sororities for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton of clubs for sports and volunteer experience.

    What to do for fun

    for fun, you can join a fraternity, sorority, or another university club. also, the campus is just a couple minutes from downtown flint with the shops, restaurants, and etcetera.

    Food and Dining

    there is a large selection of food, both healthy options and junk food options. there are three spots on campus where you can get food: the university center (ucen), university pavilion (upav), and the concession stand in the theatre building lobby.

    Dorm Life

    i am not sure, i do not live in the dorm. i live only about 20 minutes away, so i commute.

    Academic Rigor

    for me personally, i have not found any of my classes very hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are not sure what you want your major to be yet, take a bunch of classes to fulfill your general education requirements so you do not have to worry about them when you are a senior.

    In three sentences

    the university of michigan-flint has a wide variety of programs and great professors. another nice thing is that all of the main buildings are connected on the third floor with sky-walks and this is great for michigan's cold and rainy winter weather. another bonus is that except for maybe one or two high-level classes, there are no classes on friday, ever.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are numerous phones all over campus: one cannot mistaken the bright blue light they give off! someone answers immediately if picked up. patrols offer free escorts, and also help in the time of need (such as if a car needs to be jump-started).

    Greek Life

    greek life plays a huge role on campus. nearly 50% of students are members of a greek organization. greek societies offer great benefits to students such as helping pay for college and providing cheap rent at the house.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are nearly 100 clubs and organizations on campus that are student led. not to mention there are other clubs like student government.

    Great for these types of students

    those willing to form close bonds with faculty and those willing to lend a helping hand will fit in greatly at the college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    often, a professional balloon artist comes in and creates astonishing balloon artwork ranging from teenage mutant ninja turtles to aliens complete with a phaser and helmet - all free of charge to the students!

    Bang for the buck

    the university of michigan - flint is one of the cheaper schools that offer a university degree from an accredited school. when compared to other colleges, the cost of attendance is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs one can join (ranging from video games to chemistry). also, there are many greek societies that always have events going on (such as flag football).

    Food and Dining

    there are numerous food vendors on campus, and many more in the area that give nice discounts to university students. the food is fast and always tastes great, not to mention served by wonderful individuals!

    Dorm Life

    there are many opportunities for those who would like to live in the dorm. many events occur that are dorm-exclusive.

    Academic Rigor

    the rigorousness is demanding but not too overloaded.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you would like to be a part of a university with the chance of having a close relationship with a teacher, look no further! class sizes are about the same size as they were in high school.

    In three sentences

    the university of michigan - flint is a bubble in the violence-enriched city of flint. it is a clean campus full of inspiring individuals. everyone is friendly and willing to lend a helping hand.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who learn well in smaller class settings, want to stay close to home, and want a high quality University education at a much lower cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and stay involved. I found it hard to make friends when I just went to class and came home. Joining a club in your field of study is a great way to get help and advice from students that have taken the classes you have to take, its good for networking, and looks great on a resume.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get a lot of one-on-one attention and extra help because of the smaller class sizes, however I still think it is expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something going on around campus. I enjoy being involved in clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot in courses I have taken so far. It really helps to have smaller class sizes so that professors have more one on one interaction with the students.

  • 09/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for diversity in every aspect of the university like people, food, events and even architecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus BEFORE you commit.

    Bang for the buck

    Its one of the best educations you can get and your paying a third here what you would pay in Ann Arbor and half of what you would pay at Dearborn for the same teachers and the same diploma.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something new to do or someone new to meet.

    Am learning a lot

    In all of my classes I find myself learning something new each day.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot from my Professor's and have learned who to take and not take. I am currently working on a bachelors in Psychology with minor in substance abuse. Everyone at the school is very helpful.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This University is quiet expensive

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope to apply and maybe attend U of M.

    Will learn a lot

    My Cousin Says this university is awesome.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students are welcome. There are a lot of Business and Engineering majors though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its really easy to apply, it only takes a few minutes.

    Bang for the buck

    The Finical Aid sucks for this this school. I got a 3.4 GPA and no scholarships. My one friend has a 3.9 and received no scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met the most amazing people here. Everyone is really friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at this school are amazing, the will bend over backwards to help you out.

  • 05/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students that want to commute to school who live in the near by area. It is great for students who want a balance of education and social interactions while being close to home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the students and the faculty. Become involved in the different activities on campus. Talk to an adviser early in your college career. Figure out your plan of action before you start taking classes that are unnecessary.

    Bang for the buck

    When I first started at the University of Michigan Flint, the tuition was reasonable. Every year since then, tuition has increased. If the tuition continues to increase, some people including myself will not be able to afford to attend the university anymore. Since the University of Michigan Flint is still mostly a commuter school, I think that the tuition is a little high.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being at the University of Michigan- Flint. The campus has been remodeled and there is still some remodeling going on. The students and faculty are nice and helpful when you need them. I enjoy that there are smaller class sizes. The Flint community is also becoming a better place. The student housing is very nice. Overall, I am happy that I chose the University of Michigan Flint.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the classes that I have been required to take have been very useful and I have learned a great deal from them. In my personal opinion some of the online courses are less helpful. I would suggest taking courses on campus instead of online because you learn more and there is more teacher-student interactions.

  • 02/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The University of Michigan Flint is a great college for those who like being part of a smaller community. Class sizes are kept small, allowing individual attention. Our campus is also very small; we only have six main buildings, four of which are connected by sky-walks.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering attending the University of Michigan- Flint, look at the clubs, Greek life, and sports. If you can find something to do in your spare time you will be less bored with this commuter campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The best thing about the University of Michigan-Flint campus is the price. By attending UMFlint, you will receive a University of Michigan degree without the cost of attending the Ann Arbor campus. The university also offers many scholarships and work study, which made paying for my tuition much more affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The University of Michigan Flint is a small school--which makes me feel very comfortable. I would have been overwhelmed by a large school. I enjoy my classes, and find most of my teachers interesting, funny and caring. One thing I do not like about UM Flint is that most of the students commute. This makes it more difficult to interact with other students during the evenings and weekends. There are a lot of clubs here and Greek life, so making new friends is more than a possibility, but it requires more effort than other college campuses. One good thing about being a student in Flint is that there are other college students (Kettering, Baker and Mott) around to hang out with.

    Am learning a lot

    The faulty here really care about your education. Not only am I learning a lot about course material, but also about relating class to life, entering the academic and professional world, and challenging myself. There are also many resources here to help out if you are having trouble. There is a writing center to help with papers, the library will help with your research, there is a free tutoring center and all the staff is willing to help!

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    University of Michigan- Flint is great for students who are willing to learn, who would like their professors to remember their names, who appreciate a friendly atmosphere and a diverse student body, who like small campuses and both nature and the city, who like more hands-on experience and opportunities, and who enjoy a peaceful and calm atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Make sure you order your books at least two-three weeks ahead of time. - Be sure you know where your classes are located before you start school. - DO NOT HESITATE TO DROP A COURSE OR TWO. You have plenty of time to drop one, but after the drop deadline has passed and you try to drop a course, they put you through hell in order for you to do so, and there's a chance the committee who reviews your case might not let you pass. - There's a LOT of work involved in the Honors Program, and half of it doesn't seem like it will be useful. Professors in and out of the program are usually very understanding though, so don't be hesitant to get to know them and work with them. - If you're entirely new to the university and are having a hard time making friends, join a club or two at the beginning of the semester, that is based around things you may be interested in, e.x. Anime Club or Poet and Writer's Society (PAWS). You'll be bound to make a friend or two, people here are open and friendly for the most part.

    Bang for the buck

    University of Michigan-Flint is DEFINITELY worth the money you pay for your education, here's why: - The classes are generally smaller than you would find at larger universities, even when we're talking about lecture hall-based courses. - This means more individualized attention per student, which is good for you because the professor will do his/her best to make sure you understand the material. The staff is generally very encouraging. - Tuition isn't as expensive as most other colleges, and there are several scholarship opportunities available. - More individualized attention also means it's easier to study abroad via UofM-Flint. - When you graduate, your diploma will say you graduated from University of Michigan without specifying which branch, so you will still have graduated from the big reputable university.

    Am enjoying being here

    University of Michigan-Flint's campus is moderately- sized, bordering on small. The Skywalks are a unique addition to its campus, which the student body generally appreciates, especially in the winter when we have to travel from building to building. People here are friendly for the most part- the student body is diverse and open-minded, so it's hard not to make a friend here. The food is pretty decent, but somewhat overpriced. The library is a great place to study, with myriad books and desks with walls that enable you to focus on your work- and you also can use books from Ann Arbor's campus if you request them online. There are several clubs you can join, and several volunteering opportunities.

    Am learning a lot

    University of Michigan-Flint prepares you for your career field while ensuring you've tried a bit of everything before graduating. There are a few professors who aren't that great at teaching, but they are few and greatly surpassed by their colleagues who do their best to make sure you understand the material. First semester tends to be rough on freshman, but you'll catch on quick and figure out what works and doesn't work for scheduling your courses.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is assistance for students, especially those who have ultimate career dreams to complete. There are student organization groups such as the Video Gamers' Club in the UM-Flint campus. The groups will assist and empower students in their road to success as well as the realization of their ultimate career dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't apply for more loans than what you need. Always apply for scholarships and grants. Always produce the best academic results as possible. Always take notes and lecture notes. Work forward for the ultimate career dreams that you desire to realize and complete. Lastly, if and when help is offered to you, accept it instead of deny it.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition, books, attendance, and housing was reasonable for me. The hardest part of paying for housing was applying for student loans. I had to get them anyway because I didn't have enough money for housing and books. Nevertheless, it was worth the cost. I'm residing in a studio apartment that is very nice and clean and I'm happy to live in a place of my own. I don't intend on getting more loans in the future.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at the University of Michigan-Flint. The campus food and restaurants taste as delicious as the food that is cooked by a famous chef. The professors, staff members, and students are so diverse and friendly, they have equal treatment and respect for all forms of people. The campus events are very enjoyable, and the work environment is professional in an office setting. I see myself completing my ultimate career dream in UM-Flint.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning new skills and qualities, including awesomely helpful new lecture notes, new note-taking strategies, and getting extended time on exams and quizzes. The strategies empower me to annotate textbooks, take better lecture notes, and learn more vocabulary. Getting extended time on exams and quizzes suits very well with my disabilities and my work ethic. They are and will be useful and helpful for me in the years ahead at UM-Flint.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I'd rather go away to school, this was closer to home, it's nicer than I had expected.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm only in my first semester, but things seem to be picking up quickly.

  • 07/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ready for a challenge and new possitive enviornment. People are very friendly and helpful. Staff is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take care of your admission process early and enroll in your classes asap. Classes do fill up.

    Bang for the buck

    4star

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, I feel I made the right choice in chooseing this college. I rate it a 5 star.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently taking a summer course and find it very challenging. Yes, I am learning alot in this one class. I rate it a 5 star.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for social butterflies and anyone with a specific interest. There are so many clubs and programs to be a part of, ranging from fine arts, to government, to sexual orientation. The university gym use is free to all students and most athletic classes are cheaper there than at your local gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get your books ahead of time and be a savvy shopper. The university bookstore can have some good deals on textbook prices, but alot of times, you can get them much cheaper online, or through your local library's electronic ordering system.

    Bang for the buck

    The fees for attendance is quite expensive, but there are so many qualities and benefits of this school, that I think that it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Out of all the colleges I have visited in my area, U of M Flint has the most friendly staff. Policies, as always, can be a pain, but being a government employee, I know that there is not alot a worker can do to get around those policies for the students. U of M Staff seems to do their very best to help notify students of these policies and their changes before it becomes a problem.

    Am learning a lot

    Every day I learn something new about my area of study and about adult life. College has helped me so much more than high school ever could, and I so look forward to becoming a teacher and passing this joy on to other students.