Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of South Carolina-Sumter Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can attend the basketball, softball, or baseball games. There are various functions such as theatre plays, cookouts, movie nights and a lot more fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    Students feel at home, whenever they dine and the cafeteria. There are different varieties of food and you may sit, relax and watch the television if you desire. Although we have no dorms, the college life is still awesome.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, USC Sumter has no dorms. This is because it is a 2year school where students can start their education, and then they can be transferred to another USC Campus to further their studies. I wish they would however consider dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the courses that i have taken are not challenging. Some can be more challenging however, but i just apply myself and attack them. Some professors give many homework and some do not. this may be the same for quizzes, papers and tests.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina is such an amazing institution. The small classrooms allow students to receive the one and one time they need with their professors. I truly enjoy attending this wonderful school.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People just looking for their degree and want to get out. If you're looking for a social life USC Columbia is better

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a good education for fairly cheap

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do around the campus. It's set in a small town and a small towns life. There's hiking and camping but other then that you have to go into Columbia.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus very often but I've heard that the food is good from others who do

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms for this campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class and do your homework

    In three sentences

    A small friendly campus. The professors know what they're talking about and are willing to spend time with students

  • 11/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Students that know what they want to do and are focused on academics.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Go to the SUB and play pool or watch tv. Hang out with friends in the SUB or the library.

    Food and Dining

    I never eat on campus but I've heard from others that the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus. The athletes stay in apartments down the road from the school. They recently did a survey about campus housing though, so maybe they will have dorms in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are more challenging than others but overall they have great professors who make sure that you really understand the material. The classes are small so it's easier to focus and concentrate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the classes are more vigorous than others so make sure that you study. Get involved on campus and meet people.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are an assortment of restaurants, but not many activities for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend this school unless your financial situation requires you to do so.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school with regards to being able to get the credits you need to transfer to a four year college at a reasonable cost. The classes are very easy however, and cannot be compared to the rigor of classes at a four year school. There is no on-campus housing, so plan on spending a lot of time alone.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are clubs. Make friends with people who share common interests.

    Food and Dining

    Small food court with very greasy food. the bookstore sells sandwiches. the campus is scattered with vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. You have to commute

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get assignments, don't procrastinate. If you do, you might end up experiencing what an all-nighter and the repercussions of it. Don't be afraid to network with students in your class. It could save your GPA.

    In three sentences

    This college has teachers that will prepare you for other campuses and the real world. However, there are some teachers that you never want to take.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing has ever happened on campus in the two years I have been here! So it is a pretty safe place.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few clubs that students can get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who aren't quite sure what they want to do or where they are headed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a really inexpensive way to get those pre reqs everyone needs!

    What to do for fun

    Sumter is a smaller town so there is not a ton to do. I would suggest going to Columbia or Florence. They are both great towns.

    Food and Dining

    Not a whole lot of options. But once you get to know the cook ladies you'll be hooked!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to study! But the professor are great and will help if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard, and put forth effort. The classes aren't easy but they wont kill you if you work hard either. Just keep at it and you will do well. Don't slack off!

    In three sentences

    An excellent starting place for beginning students. You will find kind and nurturing professors. A great place to start.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to stay in the Student Union Building and talk with my friends and occasionally play some pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. The cooks are very friendly and the food is cooked made to order.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but its great to have to option of going home everyday to the privacy of your own home.

    Academic Rigor

    They have very awesome teachers who love their job. They teach very well and also take the time to make sure you understand the lesson.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study. Pay attention in class. Write plenty of notes!

    In three sentences

    Its a great school. You'll defiantly will get your moneys worth.

  • 11/01/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never witnessed ANY criminal activity at or around this school.

    Greek Life

    None to my knowledge :(

    Clubs and Activities

    This is a category in which USC Sumter has grown a lot in! There are now countless clubs at this school, making it really hard not to fit in. Everyone here is just a big family, where everybody knows everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student, whether that student is interested in a 2-year or above through the transfer programs USC has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You've got to go to at least one of the sporting events even if you're not a big fan of sports. Its a college thing! It's all added to your experience as a student, cheering on your school (that's right, YOUR school).

    Bang for the buck

    This school is the perfect median from a smaller technical college and an often expensive four year college. This school really has grown to be something big over the past few years, outreaching to prospective students through their scholarship programs (a la me) and sports teams. It is definitely a great start for anyone who is considering college, whether it's for a 2-year degree or a 4-year degree. I guess its versatility is what makes this school so intriguing.

    What to do for fun

    Ah, we reach the inevitable downfall of the review: being that the college is centered inside of a smaller town, there really isn't much to do for fun if you aren't actively participating in a student club or intramural sports team. I was in both of each and I thoroughly enjoyed my time at USC Sumter. That said, my advice would be to explore and see what's out there in the context of student clubs and sports. You'd be surprised what you'll find in a small town school.

    Food and Dining

    The student union building was most definitely my typical hangout when I wasn't working or in class. Its just a great environment to be in and to get to the most important aspect -- the fire ant cafe was pretty delicious in my opinion! The school has done a lot of changing in the eating area since I have transferred, and in most cases, a growing economy is a happy economy!

    Dorm Life

    I have to be honest with this rating... I've given it 1 star because we don't really have any dorms for students. This may be a necessary improvement for out of city kids (and believe me, there are a lot of them). While touring as a student ambassador I met a boy who came all the way from New Jersey who had been chosen as a baseball scholar for USC Sumter's team. However, being from New Jersey, he wouldn't really have an on-campus living option. So maybe a few dorms should be something to think about.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the university's classes are held at the same academic standards (as I was told) as the big USC in Columbia, the classes are much smaller, allowing you to easily adapt to college courses with the same feeling of being in a classroom setting. Some classes were a cake-walk while others were pretty tough! It all depends on your strong suits; as we know all too well, everyone is different.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip, as previously mentioned, is to start off at a smaller school and build your way up. With little distractions, therein lies the possibility of a higher GPA (and trust me, you want that your first few semesters, as the GPA effectiveness gets smaller the longer you stay in school leaving less and less room for improvement). That said, start off strong!

    In three sentences

    Personally, I loved the small town atmosphere and the availability of communication to the professors who taught there. As a student, I felt a bit more at ease, knowing that I had developed relationships with all of my professors; I wasn't just a number. I highly recommend going here at least one year if you have plans to transfer like me. It influences the adaptation to college to become much smoother than it would be if you were to head to the big USC in Columbia.

  • 11/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ALWAYS GO WITH A FRIEND!

    Clubs and Activities

    Join every group you can. Be social! It helps in the business world.

    What to do for fun

    Study with a group, you'll learn more and worry less.

    Food and Dining

    Don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. Sample only what is made by a responsible person.

    Dorm Life

    Make it a home away for home.

    Academic Rigor

    Remember the rest you're in college. Your study should come first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your G.P.A. is everything! Just because a C may be acceptable to pass aim for the best grade possible. When It's time for graduate selection you want to be in the top of the class.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking to experience college life before actually living on campus consider applying to University of South Carolina-Sumter site. You will feel so welcomed that you can only dream of living on campus at the Columbia site. There is always activities that make education fun as well as activities that make you feel like you're at home at a family event.