Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Valley City State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If you want a club not represented, you can start it. I'm involved in English Club, History Club, CRU, Alpha Lamba Delta, Kappa Delta Pi, Spanish Club and Concert Choir. There are so many others: Drama, Improve, Mind craft, Fisheries and Wildlife, Psychology Club, VCAB, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious students Social Students Quiet Students Basically every type

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Squirrel is the unofficial mascot of VCSU. You can see them everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    I love it at VCSU! The tuition is reasonable and the education you receive is amazing. Not to mention the friendships you will make.

    What to do for fun

    Campus provides different activities such as glow in the dark volleyball, scavenger hunts, open gym, movie nights, and many more. Movie nights and comedians are my personal favorites.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is great! They serve a wide variety of foods and always have something you will like. From burgers to salad bar to pizza. Also the staff is so nice and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs are awesome. They are so helpful and understanding. The dorm rooms are small, but cozy. Also the dorms are close to the main buildings, so you don't even have to walk that far to get to class.

    Academic Rigor

    VCSU provides an amazing variety of classes. I feel challenged in my higher level classes, but the professors are always willing to help if I'm completely lost. You have to work for your grades, but there will always be that one easy class you can fly by in. There is also a great on campus tutoring center if you ever need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. They are your best resources for passing and excelling in your classes. Also attend as many classes as possible. This will help so you won't get behind or lost in the class, especially when it comes time for tests or finals.

    In three sentences

    Valley City State University (VCSU) is like home for me. The campus is great and so welcoming, and the faculty work in every way possible to help you succeed. I have no regrets for choosing VCSU for my college career.

  • 11/30/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm still in high school, but I feel right at home whenever I am on campus. Everyone is friendly wherever you go and if you need help, all you need to do is just ask.

  • 11/16/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has one security guard on duty but no police enforcement on campus. The campus is pretty safe and there haven't been a crime yet at the moment.

    Greek Life

    They have one Greek life group. They have a sorority on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here are some activities: 1. Campus Cru 2. Newman Club 3. Human Resources Club 4. DECA 5. VCSU Student Senate

    Great for these types of students

    Here are some types of students who most likely wants to attend this college: 1. Students who are planning to major in elementary education 2. Biology 3. Software Engineering 4. Business Administration

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, one unusual location is the Bubble or the gym area for sports is located almost a kilometer away from the college campus. They have another gyjm/sports area on campus in an old building. It is use for volleyball. The bubble is use for basketball and practices.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is small, but the academics here are really good! The cost for this college is really cheap. It is a good ROI if you get your degree here.

    What to do for fun

    Well, I like to watch movies and TV shows in my dorm. I like to hangout with a group of friends and attend school activities and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Since VCSU goes through Sodexo for their food provider, their food selections are amazing most of the time. My favorite courses for dinner and lunch are the stir fries. They have healthy food during the weekdays. However, during the weekends, they only serve mostly French fries and cheeseburgers. They should have more choices during the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really amazing too! People are really nice and will intermingle with others without judging them. They have 1 dorm hall that was renovated. The dorm life is pretty awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of it varies by professors and curriculums. It is a fast paste academics settings. The professors expects you to do your work and to study before tests. The assignments hardness varies from teacher to teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Go to classes on time 2. Study and work on your assignments every day instead of working on them at the last minute before they are due. 3. Meet people if you can in order to take risks and improve your overall life. 4. Make sure to join clubs and activities to increase chances of meeting new people and to become more rounded.

    In three sentences

    Valley City State University is a great university to go through if you are looking to become a teacher. This college is small and the people are phenomenal. The teachers to students ratio is really good. You get your questions answered and you get to know your professors on a personal level. There are many clubs and activities that you can join. Overall, the academics and people are awesome! You will love it! The college is really cheap as well!

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many activities to get involved in as well as clubs. Activity boards, intramural sports, and game nights.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for cold. Get an on campus job. Make yourself personable.

    In three sentences

    Very easy to get to know other people. Great lounge areas for homework. Great place to start out the next step in life.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have only been here for a short while but I can tell I'm going to enjoy my time here at VCSU.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of different things bowling. Fast food restaurants

    Food and Dining

    Top of the line in food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is as dorm life is not great but ok.

    Academic Rigor

    Plenty of different majors for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here and you'll love it.

    In three sentences

    I love how small the school is and everyone knows your name and the teachers all know you.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Doing online...

    Dorm Life

    Doing online...

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to do online, this is the way to go....

    In three sentences

    Great online program, faculty is very helpful, like the online format. I am looking forward to starting in the fall. I think my time will be used wisely by attending VCSU.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Health emails are sent regularly to all students, there are contests and projects for extra curricular activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Musical or technologically gifted students should check this out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have an excellen online program that I have used and will continue to use for several of my classes. (I am a fully online student.)

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive, but it's to prepare you for walking right through graduate school.

    What to do for fun

    Video and composition projects.

    Academic Rigor

    I had a chance to switch one of my classes here to a different school, and I declined. I can think of no better place to prepare me for the business world.

    Tips for prospective students

    The online program is amazing! Whether you are a face-to-face student, or online, it is best if you communicate with people.

    In three sentences

    Students are encouraged to be diligent. The teachers are sensitive to cultural differences, know their subjects well, and communicate effectively. Each class teaches valuable life skills related to the subject of study.