Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western Piedmont Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/10/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe all around campus!

    Greek Life

    there isn't a greek system

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs to choose from, there is something for everyone! there are many events throughout the year, you can eat and play games for free!

    Great for these types of students

    people who like smaller classes. people who want a great education at a cheaper cost than a university. people who don't quite have a major picked out, if you are right out of high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cafeteria always has specials on wednesdays!

    Bang for the buck

    teachers are caring and really strive to see their students succeed. you get one on one time with many of the instructors if you need it. if you need extra help in your studies there is a fantastic tutoring program for free!

    What to do for fun

    for fun i enjoy going to campus events. i, also, enjoy volunteering time at the nc school for the deaf museum of history and going to different events as a student interpreter to help build skills for my profession.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is one of the best!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    this is a high scoring academic college with teachers and student who push you to always do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    never give up on you goals of graduating. always be intuitive. have fun and study hard.

    In three sentences

    a great environment to learn in. wpcc has fantastic teachers. it is one of the best community colleges around.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. WPCC is not a big school but they have a lot of security and there are always people around.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many great clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I think WPCC is great for any type of student. WPCC has such a diverse campus with people of all ages, races, education level and much more.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to WPCC was the smartest decision for me because you can get pretty much the exact same education there as you could get at a university without spending tons of money.

    What to do for fun

    WPCC had many different clubs that you could join that do many fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    WPCC has a cafeteria and the food is pretty good. But it is nothing compared to the variety of food you would find at a university.

    Dorm Life

    WPCC does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take they could either be some what easy or really hard. WPCC has an academic success center where you can go and get a tutor to help you with any class you are struggling in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with your adviser as soon as you can to figure out what classes you want to take because classes fill up quickly. Also take advantage of the fact the classes are small and typically the teachers will help you one on one.

    In three sentences

    WPCC is a great environment, most people are very friendly. The teachers are very helpful and caring. Each class feels very comfortable and it is easy to get any help you need.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Global Village. Theater. Kickball....

    Great for these types of students

    Great for creative students as well as students who are self motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    What could be better than getting a degree for a few thousand dollars? I got my associate's in arts degree for about $500.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! They have a great theater program. They also offer awesome classes like rock climbing and snow boarding.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent. There isn't much of a variety. However, the food they do serve is good.

    Dorm Life

    none.none.none.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome in all departments except for math. The biology/chemistry teachers are challenging, but incredibly informative and helpful. You will not succeed if you are lazy, but if you work hard you will go far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the helpful registration staff. Get involved in some of the many volunteer opportunities. Avoid taking any math classes here, nearly all of the math teachers are horrible.

    In three sentences

    Western Piedmont has an abundance of extracurricular activities. They also have very helpful registration staff. However, Western Piedmont does not have the most ideal teachers.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel in danger. Because it is so small, the danger level is really low, and also there are really nice security officers!

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a solid education for a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    So close to the greenway, and they recently added new tennis courts.

    Food and Dining

    Eh... So so.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    WPCC is strict but laid back at the same time. You have to stay focused, and do well. A house is only as strong as the foundation. This is your foundation to the rest of your educational path and also your career. Make decisions wisely.

    In three sentences

    I really believe that WPCC is a firm foundation for a better and further education. Should you stop here? No, keep going and follow your heart about which educational path to choose.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never experienced anything bad on campus, nor any of my friends. Campus security is always roaming around, and they do frequent lock down drills.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of clubs. Everything from Global Village to the Science Club - plus, if you want to start a club, all you have to have is a faculty adviser and people that want to join!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, this college is definitely somewhere to think about attending. The faculty is excellent and the coursework is challenging.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to pick from, and they all do various activities together.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. It's slightly expensive, but well worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Western Piedmont doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is challenging and fun. The teachers are skilled at making things interesting, and the instructors' enthusiasm for their subject area is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips I would give are what you would expect: attend class, submit assignments on time, and be respectful.

    In three sentences

    Western Piedmont is an excellent school. The teachers are very knowledgeable and friendly, and the coursework is challenging. Western Piedmont truly has a commitment to excellence.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much to speak of, but there are no dark alleys to speak of. Open parking right outside of buildings deters crime/vandalism. Mostly just people coming/going/hanging out no real loiterers/creeps.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek system

    Clubs and Activities

    Theatre is the best, but there are SGA backed festivals and activities. Other clubs exist out of each department.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, working, parents, teenagers getting a jump start on concurrent enrollment, recent graduate and pretty much anyone. We have a pretty wide-spread demographic here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Morganton always involves the WPCC students in parades, community service projects and work study opportunities. The theatre program is probably the oddest and most wonderful thing about my experience here.

    Bang for the buck

    Less than $65 per credit hour. Less than $1200 per semester. You definitely get a pretty sweet deal.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs at WPCC/shopping nearby in little downtown Morganton

    Food and Dining

    Egg roll Wednesdays!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the academic rigor varied from course to course

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the community college brand of remedial or lower college defer you. I was a HUM/HN graduate from High School and love it here. I find the people to be genuine and the work to be challenging.

    In three sentences

    Western Piedmont has a relaxed atmosphere with teachers who have a vivid experience of the subject they art teaching. They are not there to be condescending or deceptive, they give you their honest opinion. This school has the convenience of location with the knowledgeably of those who have experienced their education abroad.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Western Piedmont has a smaller campus which helps to create an air of safety. Campus security is around every corner plus it doesn't hurt that Western Piedmont teaches law enforcement and these students can usually be found throughout the college. Of course sometimes things don't always go as planned so in order to create an even safer environment, campus safety tips are made available to all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Western Piedmont offers a wide variety of clubs. From American Sign Language Club, to Film and Fine Arts Club, to Students for Christ, and Building Energy Sustainable Technology (better known as B.E.S.T.).

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone can easily fit in with Western Piedmont's overall population because the atmosphere is very laid-back. Students are professionals here and conduct themselves in a professional manner so 'outcasts,' or those sorts of labels, are very rare.

    Bang for the buck

    Western Piedmont Community College is a freshman's dream concerning the cost: classes and books are cheaper, transportation is usually cheaper (depending on whether or not the student is a local), and not to mention the scholarships that Western Piedmont offers every day to its students. The scholarship rack is never empty because the college is doing its best to supply students with the money necessary to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Morganton hosts a collection of fun activities for college students; including, the Marquee Cinema, the annual Morganton festival, the Mesh Art Gallery, several Martial Arts academies, shopping stores containing local/brand-name products, walking, cycling, and playing an assortment of games/activities on the greenway.

    Food and Dining

    I decided to rate food as 4 out of 5 because as delicious as the cafeteria food is, the price is personally a bit of a deal-breaker for me. The prices are not extreme but they are also not the same as if you bought the meal from a store. Not only that, the cafeteria provides a different menu each day so it does not become cloying! Morganton, the town Western Piedmont is situated in, holds a variety of eating facilities from the ever-popular Grind Cafe, to Italian, Greek, and family restaurants, not to mention the typical students savior, fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Western Piedmont does not offer on-campus living quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes through Western Piedmont are along the same rigor as others but I decided to rate it as a 3 of 5 because the professors offer various forms of extra credit as well as other help, such as tutoring. I also believe that classes are on the same level as universities in that, on average, each class becomes involved in some community event or project. These are taken seriously and for some, such as American Sign Language classes, it is a mandatory objective in the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest that prospective students look at Western Piedmont as a large-town University, instead of viewing it as the small-town community college. The name, community college, does not mean that the classes will be easier, nor does it mean that straight-A students fresh from high school will pass every class. I find that many students straight from high school take for granted all the potential that comes with Western Piedmont. Their outlook changes only after they failed a class here or there, or only near the end of their two years there do they learn of all the activities hosted by or promoted through Western Piedmont. So my advice; do not be too afraid or shy to go out to events where you will undoubtedly meet others with similar interests and above all remember that Western Piedmont is a college like any other. In other words, if you decide to miss class or not submit homework, it will have the same consequences on your GPA as any other transcript: and it will follow you wherever you decide to go after your time there.

    In three sentences

    The typical reason most people attend a community college is because of its affordability, but Western Piedmont Community College offers a more rich environment in which students experience a diverse range of clubs and activities, fun community involvement, and an attainable and easy-going social setting. It may be a small college compared to some, but Western Piedmonts large spirit is apparent through the clubs and activities offered; only a few of which include, Student Government Association, Phi Theta Kappa, Drama, Global Village, and annual events such as Fall Speakers Forum/Ervin Constitutional Issues Program (an event where a renowned speaker presents a new issue or cause) and Zumbathon on the grassy commons. Instead of feeling crowded, like most large universities do, Western Piedmonts small campus helps create a familial bond between students forming lasting relationships, but not only that; students journey into community events where they come face-to-face with local people and their daily lives, a few include Halloweens Treat-or-Treat or local Deaf events like the silent dinners frequently hosted at the Geppettos restaurant in town.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus cops are always around and making sure things are safe for you. Also the campus is a no smoking campus that means no smoking on the grounds from the time you turn in on the road to the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to get into.

    What to do for fun

    They student services have many great things going on through out the year in the grassy area.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, it is a community college every one lives off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes that you learn a lot from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard and learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    A great community college that you can learn many things from some great teachers.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs offered at WPCC. I am in the Science Club and we do a lot of fun activities around campus, such as extracting your DNA from your saliva.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria at WPCC isn't so bad. There's a salad bar, burgers, pizzas, and etc. Also, the price is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life? There's no dorm at WPCC. I live with my parents and I love it! I don't have to worry about bills and I can fully concentrate on my school works.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is highly expected at WPCC. I use critical thinking and applied skills in all of my classes. It assured that I have obtain the right amount of knowledge needed to be learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although WPCC may be a community college, take it seriously, especially the placement test. The most important thing is do not be afraid to talk to adviser about choosing your classes. Always check up on what classes you need to take in order to graduate on time.

    In three sentences

    Western Piedmont Community College, WPCC, had greatly helped prepared me to go into a 4-year University. Attending WPCC was a challenged, but with the help of my instructors I managed to pass my classes. I am grateful to have attend WPCC.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Right now nothing. I go to school full time and have 2 jobs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good but expensive

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Always follow instructions and try and get a spot in from of the class so that you are not distracted by other students. Always come to school prepared to learn and remember tell yourself you like what you read and you will retain more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the academic success center any time you need that extra help. Always ask questions if you don't understand something a teacher says. Always come to class.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college. The staff are wonderful. The resources for this campus are much better that some of the other colleges around.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Community college is a great way to go for those students paying their own way threw school. You can get your first 2-year core classes out of the way for cheaper, allowing you to save up money to pay for your following 2-3 years at a 4-year college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future student looking into community college: don't sell yourself short by falling into the norm of people thinking community college is for those who don't aspire to be greater. Community college is a GREAT start and transition for those looking to transfer out to a bigger college/university to finish up a four-year degree. Also Community colleges can get you the backbone for a great job start with a 2-year AA degree.

    Bang for the buck

    The Community College is cheaper than the four year university's first two years. The price does not all take away from the quality of learning. The instructors there know their stuff. Each one enjoys their job there and takes the time to personalize each student's experience there. The instructors put forth all they can to ensure the best education they can give.

    Am enjoying being here

    The overall experience at Western Piedmont Community College has been a positive one. From the administration to the students, everyone has been very eager to help anyway they can.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much at the community college level of learning. Not only about my intended major of elementary education, but about life in general.

  • 01/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    No one.

    Tips for prospective students

    DONT GO TO THIS SCHOOL. If you must, and you need guidance, travel about 80 miles west to Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College in Asheville and talk to the receptionist in the Student Services Building. This woman is amazing and will be of more help than your WPCC academic advisor, Dean of Admissions, Student Records Personnel, and Financial Aid Director, combined.

    Am enjoying being here

    I HATE having to go to Western Piedmont for a SIXTH semester. The teachers are great but the ADIMINISTRATION IS ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE. If you are expecting guidance from you advisor - BEWARE. Double check everything yourself and keep your files organized - you'll need them. Ask anyone but college staff and officials for advice. Incredibly long story short, I ended up mistakenly getting a degree that doesn't transfer to a four year college after I had told my advisor I wanted to transfer to UNCA when I was done at WPCC. I now have to continue going to WPCC to get the transferable degree because if I tried to go to a different community college, a lot of my WPCC credits wouldn't transfer to the AA degree they offer. Trying to coordinate financial aid, transferring credits, and even graduation, is next to impossible. College staff (administration) is rude, irresponsible, and incompetent. IF YOU CAN AVOID IT, DO NOT GO TO WESTERN PIEDMONT.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Western Piedmont are encouraging and easy to understand. They alter their teaching styles to suit the needs of each student and are effective both online and in the classroom. I have no complaints about the educational aspect of WPCC.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think Western Piedmont Community College is perfect for everyone, no matter what the situation. It gives opportunity for those who need to go back to school to get a better education, those who need to experience college before making a decision on their career, want to take college classes while still in high school (current enrollment-wish i had done this), to gain an associates degree, and to prepare for certain jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Western Piedmont is a community college but it mean it is lacking compared to the universities;students should be prepared to work hard. Have a plan and goals for the future. Have fun with it! Western Piedmont Community college is also connected to big universities such as Western Carolina and Appalachian, so it is a perfect opportunity to be connected and work towards larger goals.

    Bang for the buck

    The books are a bit expensive, like all other colleges, but tuition is extremely low. With its convenient accessibility, excellent teachers, and interesting classes, this community college is a good bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying my time at Western piedmont for many reasons. The staff is friendly and ready to help in anyway possible. The community college is conveniently close to town, work, and home. There are many clubs that one can be a part of and the classes are diverse and interesting.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot. I have taken classes that I have taken in high school and have reviewed and studied deeper than I could have in my high school years. The material is not just crammed into the brain to be tested on, but is actually learned.