Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wisconsin Lutheran College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are thinking of education degrees. We also have a blossoming nursing program. Over half of our student population is not Lutheran, so if you feel like you wouldn't fit in because of that, don't worry, you're not alone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't shop at the bookstore, buy books online. Get involved, even if you are shy - find at least one group you like to be active in. We have lots of options. Work hard and don't procrastinate!

    Bang for the buck

    WLC has an initially scary price tag, but it offers a lot of scholarships and between those scholarships and state funding, it ends up being less than half of what you anticipate. :) If you are going for Education, it is one of the top colleges in the state and schools ASK WLC for upcoming graduates because they like our program!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a senior and yet to have a poor experience with classmates, staff, or professors here. I already anticipate missing it!

    Am learning a lot

    WLC has definitely changed me for the better. The teachers really care about getting you where you need to go. I didn't really change majors, but I added on another certification to my education major, and my professors worked hard with me to get me done ASAP. Planning to graduate Winter 2011!

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WLC is a great school for students looking for a small school with teachers who care. WLC is about 10 minutes away from downtown Milwaukee, so it is a great school for someone who is used to the suburbs but wants to be by a big city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers. The teachers at WLC are understanding, helpful, and just plain nice! Be involved with the college, whether it's with sports, music, or other clubs. Being involved and active gives you the opportunity to make new friends and meet many more people.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is expensive, but manageable with all the financial aid they provide. The teachers seem to be always available for questions and there are tutors willing to help you in almost any subject. You are definitely getting what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I finished my first year of college this year and I am very happy I chose Wisconsin Lutheran College. People at the college are very nice and friendly and I have made some great friends. Whether it's playing sports, hanging out with friends, or studying I have always been busy and active.

    Am learning a lot

    In all the classes I have been in, there has always been group work and class discussion. The teachers are also very knowledgeable and friendly. This comfortable learning environment has really helped me!

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to join! Plus, if the one you're looking for doesn't exist, you can create your own pretty easily.

    Great for these types of students

    Even if you aren't Lutheran, or even religious, you will find a place to fit in here. I myself am non-denominational Christian and have no trouble in this environment. You can attend chapel and bible studies if and when you want.

    Bang for the buck

    As with private schools, WLC looks expensive at a glance. But with help from financial aid, you will find a way through grants and loans.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many campus clubs and activities constantly being planned! There is something to do most nights on campus, even if it's just visiting the Brewhaus for a yummy coffee or playing pool. There are also a few places to eat in walking distance, which is always nice.

    Food and Dining

    Most small schools are unable to provide good food selection, but there is a larger selection here than I expected. A menu is available online and the food is always good! There are options for vegetarians but it's harder for a vegan to find much to eat here in all honesty.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are bigger than most I've seen, the RA's are friendly and helpful, and most importantly, the security is high. I feel safe on campus because I know they have great safety always available.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to do the reading and homework to succeed like with any school, but small class sizes make any challenges easy to get help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested, just apply! It's a free and easy app so you have nothing to lose.

    In three sentences

    This small school has all I want. Personalized help with classes, majors and life on campus is always available. Private schools can be expensive, but financial aid is always a big help in finding grants and scholarships.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While we are in the greater Milwaukee area, which is not known for being the safest city in America, we are on the outskirts in the town Wauwatosa. This area is much nicer and family oriented. While on campus, I never felt as though I were in danger. However, it is not recommended to stray far off campus alone during the night hours.

    Greek Life

    Our school has no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an enormous amount of clubs and organizations for everyone to get involved in! The options are quite honestly endless.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for small class sizes and a home feeling campus. However, if you are a party animal, you should steer away; it is a dry campus. Sorry!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every week a group of students play ultimate frisbee on The Quad, a large span of grass in the middle of our campus. There is also a section of the administration building, called the nun run, that is supposed to be haunted. I have never seen anything here, but it is definitely eerie enough for me to refrain walking through the fall alone at night.

    Bang for the buck

    For the expensive private college price, the school is absolutely amazing and completely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of sports events around the school constantly, including intramural sports. There is also an outdoor basketball court as well as a sand volleyball court! With easy access to Milwaukee's public bus transportation system, you can also easily take a short bus ride to down town Milwaukee, Brookfield Square, and even Wauwatosa Village. There is plenty to do in the suburban area to keep you busy the entire school year.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is cafeteria food. The food here isn't any worse than your typical high school style dining, but it is not much better either. They do attempt do provide a broad span of choices, and normally do a pretty good job.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are outstanding. To start, they are some of the largest dorm rooms I have ever seen. The safety precautions they take make you feel safe and comfortable at all times. Living in the dorms here was so much fun

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are dedicated to assuring that you get that most out of your money towards your education. They push you to challenge yourself and actually learn the material that you are studying, but at the same time are graciously helpful when you are struggling. The small class sizes helps a great deal towards this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are looking into a TON of scholarships. This school is expensive, as is any private college or university. However, the quality of the school is worth it if it is affordable for you.

    In three sentences

    Wisconsin Lutheran College is a great environment for people looking for a small community of genuinely caring individuals. You are open to many opportunities that are sometimes missed while attending larger state schools. Also, for such a small school, they do they very best they can to help students afford their education.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great they make you feel safe walking around campus anytime of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of sports and clubs at the school and they are very efficient.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for open minded and open hearted students who are willing to open up to new options.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is this place called the wu (warrior underground). its under the cafeteria and it is a great place to study, hang with friend or play games of pool, table tennis or foosball.

    What to do for fun

    the school has a lot of events happening at the school and also has a lot of off campus trips to places.

    Food and Dining

    has a good variety of foods from pastas and subs to burgers and fries.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are terrific very spacious. you get real close to the people you live with and around.

    Academic Rigor

    has very good academic programs. has small classes and it is better to learn and get one on one time with the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to the school with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    it's a great school you will feel right at home. the staff and student are very friendly. you will feel like you are with you own family.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are expensive. The food is adequate, quality is similar to a high school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spacious, cable is included in every room, and a free laundry facility is included.

    Academic Rigor

    Although requirements to get admitted into WLC have drastically declined, classes are still designed for high achieving students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources you have, make sure to meet professors that teach the courses required for your major.

    In three sentences

    Wisconsin Lutheran College has been recognized as a top small school for many years. This is because a majority of the professors are motivated to help students succeed inside and outside of the classroom. The activities around campus are limited.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I saw that there were basketball courts and volleyball courts. At the time that I visited, there were also intramurals going on, but lots of other people attended them to watch just for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I ate in the dining hall when I was visiting and it was very delicious. There was so much to choose from and I know that when I attend there in the fall that I will be well fed. The dining hall also has a good home feel to it with everyone eating with their friends and being invited to sit with people.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student, but advice for others like me I would tell them to not be afraid to ask questions. I would also tell them that visiting the college is very rewarding as well. When I visited WLC in April, I fell even more in love with the college and it became even more of a desire for me to attend there.

    In three sentences

    Out of all the colleges I have been looking into, they have been the most involved with me. If I ever had a question, WLC was right there within the next twenty-four hours with an answer. I would definitely rate this college as a ten out of ten without a doubt!

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus isn't very safe. Its very easy for someone who is not a student to walk on campus and satrt trouble. Security isn't the best either, but because of its location, its rare for something serious to occur.

    What to do for fun

    You could visit the gym anytime during the day as well as during the morning, as long as you don't have any classes. Other than that, it was pretty much classes and school work.

    Food and Dining

    The food wasn't the best to say the least. For the most part, it was pretty much generic brands of everyhting. However, on rare occassions, there was some good dinners.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was pretty good. The buildings were pretty clean. The apartments however, we not as good though.I

    Academic Rigor

    In my opinion, the college courses are not very challenging. The work itself is pretty simple, if you apply yourself and take of what needs to be taken care of. The teachers can be very unfair when grading alot of your assignments though.

    Tips for prospective students

    tip 1: Do not come to this college if you love to play sports and are looking for a great team atmosphere. tip 2: Usually, the collge recruits Lutheran students, so there isn't much diversity. tip 3: The College is very expensive, so consider this before deciding to attend here.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten, I would give this school a five. Reason being because I didn't have a good experience there. Overall, I didn't like the personality of the school.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do or something going on.

    Bang for the buck

    For costing so much there was something that shouldn't be happening.

    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of things to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    I guess after eating the same thing everyday it get a little old, but the food is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Somethings just seem a little impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start saving now. Even if school is already paid for. You never know what will happen. Also apply yourself as much as you can.0

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed Wisconsin Lutheran College. Although tuition there is high, the classes were small enough to get one on one time with the Professors. This really helped in learning and understanding concepts that were needed through out the school year.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and in a good area of Milwaukee. If you want to walk around campus it is safe any time at night. There is a security guard as well as Public Safety. Even if you feel like walking off campus late at night, the neighborhood is good.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at WLC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different kinds of clubs, sports, or activities to join. There aren't as many as in public school because there aren't as many students, but there is a good variety. From ultimate frisbee to psychology club, there are clubs for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need one on one time with teachers or tutors, like small class sizes, want to feel comfortable in a Christian environment, don't mind a small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since WLC used to be a nunnery, people talk about the haunted nun run. It is in the main campus building and you can go late at night through a very creepy haunted hallway. If you are really lucky you can make friends with a key to the haunted bell tower. If you didn't know WLC is listed as one of Wisconsin's most haunted places! Another kind of weird tradition we have is we do have a winter formal dance! It is more of a thing for friends to go to have fun, not necessarily for dates. Last year it was held at the Harley Davidson Museum!

    Bang for the buck

    As WLC is a private college, it is a very expensive school. Depending on your financial aid and scholarships, the school may or not be worth going to. The meal plan is the one thing that I would say is definately overpriced. But if you are looking for a Christian (particularly Lutheran) school this is a good choice. There are daily chapel services, and Sunday morning services as well as transportation to local churchs on Sunday morning. Christ is also incorporated into every class, which is something really great for people who are very excited about their religion, or who want to avoid being prejudiced against because of their religion.

    What to do for fun

    Mayfair mall is only 10 minutes away so it's easy to find a ride there. There is also the Warrior Underground which is open all night. But before 10 at night there is even more fun to be had with pool tables, ping pong tables, and foosball tables. There are multiple TVs to watch sports games or reality shows and its a good place to hang out with opposite sex friends after hours. Another fun thing to do is have movie nights. There is a pretty nice TV and multiple couches in the common area on each floor, if that is unavailable there is a classroom on the first floor of each dorm building where you can watch movies on the projector.

    Food and Dining

    There are soda, milk, and juice served every meal. Every lunch and dinner has a sandwich bar (subs, sandwiches and wraps) pizzas constantly made, and a grill where you can get burgers, quesadillas, fries, etc. There is also always cereal, soup, and salad. Why I only rated it a 3 is because the food gets very monotonous towards the end of the semester because they only have a certain number of different meals that they serve and there are only certain ones you will like. The repetition can get boring, so make sure to have some extra food in your dorm room or some extra money to make Speedway runs or go out out to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Because the campus is small it is very easy to meet people, especially on your own floor. You have floor meetings about once a month and get to know the people on your floor very well. The rooms are very big for dorms and have heat and air conditioning that you control yourself. The bathrooms are awesome because you will only share it with 4 other people and it is connected to your room. There are also a lot of activities that are planned out for anyone who wants to go but are mostly attended by people who live in the dorms such as $1 midnight bowling, late night bingo, or half priced movies. There are large windows in the common area hallway so you can see to the other side and have dance competitions with the people across from you if you need a break from studying. There are 2 private music practice rooms and free laundry! One negative is that if you have a car parking is terrible!!!!!! But you can probably survive without one because There is a 24-hour speedway up the street and a grocery store right down the street,a nd if you need anything else badly, you can contact the RC.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some very good tutors at the school as well as student teachers. It is also pretty easy to find a time that you can get together with your teacher to help figure out things you don't understand. At the same time it is a private school and the school work does take up a lot of your time. The group projects can either turn out really good or really bad for you depending on how hard your fellow group members are willing to work, so that can add to the stress of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a lot of group projects because all but one of my teachers assigned a group project for the semester. If you aren't living on campus it is a little more difficult to make friends because people become like little families in the dorms because they all live together and the school is pretty small. Another tip would be to check your school email every day before class, it is the best way to know if your class is cancelled or if your teacher wants you to bring special material such as your book or laptop to class.

    In three sentences

    With the class sizes being as small as they are, you can easily get in contact with teachers, as well as make friends with the other students in your class. Because of the RA's that are chosen for the year, you can expect to know everyone in your dorm building at least on a first name basis by the end of the year. The Christian atmosphere makes everyone comfortable and feel free to express their faith.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to excel academically will do great here. It's not a party school.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do on campus and the only place within walking distance is Pick n Save.

    Food and Dining

    There's not much variety in food, and a lot of it is greasy which makes it hard to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quiet, which I like because it makes it easy to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are harder than others, obviously, but they all do a good job to make the classes challenging and yet learnable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you order your books well ahead of time and always show up to classes and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great and the class sizes are small. The campus is also small, which is nice because you don't have to walk far to campus. The two bad things I would say is that the food isn't that great and there isn't a lot to do on campus.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good. they are always patrolling around and on task if they see anything happening

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are some clubs on campus and many activities planned by the WEB

    Great for these types of students

    studious, academically driven, those who can afford it, christian, all kinds of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Phat Tuesday is every Tuesday in the WU at 9pm there are free foods from various restaurants or home made foods served to those who attend

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive, I think too expensive, but it's a good, safe school in a decent location and pretty new amenities, you can go to many free events and sporting events, but not as many free events as other universities

    What to do for fun

    there are many events planned to do on campus or off with the school, a block away from the grocery store and various fast food restaurants, it's close to the mall that has a movie theatre and many other restaurants, near Milwaukee and Wauwatosa, where you can get froyo downtown

    Food and Dining

    Do not like the food, gets very repetitive and has limited healthy options, but in the WU there are snacks you can buy with your meal money, but that can rack up fast if you always buy snacks, some foods you can get in the WU with meal swipes though.

    Dorm Life

    very nice for college dorms, suite-style rooms with double sinks, own toilet and shower, usually pretty quiet, smaller halls with RA's right when you walk in, RA monitoring

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful and understanding, I recommend going to them for help, they are very easy to get a hold of and very helpful if you take the time to meet with them. Classes such as chemistry can be very hard, see your professors and study as much as you can. some students seem to not care about their grades as much as others who study constantly, you can really see who goes further in life if you put the time into learning

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect it to be like a public college experience, it's more like a high school with dorms, but still professional

    In three sentences

    Student leadership centered

  • 07/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel more safe when I see security guards walking around all the time and almost always have a smile on their face to greet you! The campus safety number gives reassurance that if and when there is ever a case when you would feel unsafe, someone would always be there to help you. Regular fire alarm tests and drills of kinds are helpful to ensure that everyone knows what to do in case of any sort of an emergency. Card swipe ID technology as well as key locks provides extra security all around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always opportunities and endeavours that are open to any area of studies and/or interests. If you have a heart for something, it's there! The best news however, is that if it is not, YOU have the power to create a new group and create awareness and activity throughout campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Even if you really aren't very religious, this school and it's family of staff and students bring a heart of love and acceptance that will create a very open environment that encourages a healthy study and social life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something that is rather different than any other college I have heard about, is that it has regular church services every Sunday and Wednesday as well as Chapel sessions each morning. Chapel sessions are short, sweet, and to the point - perfect for the between classes Bible study. A statue of Jesus washing his disciples' feet stands as the heart of our campus. Being a servant leader and becoming you through the beauty of the Lord.

    Bang for the buck

    WLC is not just a college; it is a place to find your inner self with great support and guidance. The small feel and breath-taking beauty of the college itself only enhances the richness of the great academics that flourish from the heart of the students and professors.

    What to do for fun

    WLC has a group called WEB (Warrior Events Board) and they plan very fun and awesome things to do on and off campus at least once a week! Phat Tuesdays always bring a great study break with a snack and entertainment. Emails are sent and posters are always plastered everywhere, all you have to do is pursue it!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria always has something new to offer each week and has fresh variety of all food groups and choices. Made fresh for you before your eyes, you always have the option of eating something completely different than your colleagues. However, just like most colleges, the Cafeteria is only open certain times, so planning your schedule is essential. There are always many nice restaurants for special occasions or just to hang out with friends right off campus and in walking distance if you want something new and entirely different!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm experience is made awesome by RAs and your new family body of friendships. The dorm rooms are large and interchangeable (meaning that versatility is rather easy) and are connected to sweetmates through the bathroom. A shared full kitchen with the floor is rather handy and not sharing your restroom with hundreds of people is rather awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, current and topical information is always at hand. Professors push you to do the best you can do and work as hard as you can while always being open to assist and explain when one needs help or reassurance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though WLC is placed right in between Milwaukee and Wauwatosa Wisconsin, this college has a homey and small feel to it. Everything you need is within walking distance and there are many options for living and career choices.

    In three sentences

    WLC is the best family I have ever had. College Life and the professors are especially loving and care about you and your future. WLC has a wide variety of Majors and Minors and there is always someone to talk to and help guide you down the path God has created for you.