Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Woodbury University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/06/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What I normally do for fun is hang out with my friends whether on-campus or off-campus.

    Food and Dining

    I also don't have an opinion here because I don't normally eat at the school. I've heard from some students the food is pretty enjoyable though.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have much an opinion for forming because I don't live on campus. However, the students in the dorms are great to hang out with. A lot of them are very easy-going.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are straight forward and easy to learn. Some of my classes are a bit difficult for me, but it adds to the college life challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    The courses here should be taken seriously as it's hard to obtain the units that you pay for. Study hard, learn well, and don't slack off. This advice willl pay off as it will make any student ahead for graduation.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury University is a close-knit school that really connects with us students. Here, we are thrown into courses that correspond with our major without having to wait two years, unlike most schools. Everyone in Woodbury is wiling to lend a hand to whomever, whether they are freshmen to senor, or film major to fashion major.

  • 08/19/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for this university is high and will continue to rise. I recommend applying for as many desired colleges and deciding once the options considering scholarship and financial aid have been considered.

    Food and Dining

    Woody's Cafe has a different menu for each day of the week. There's a salad bar, soups, and coffee machine. It gets crowded during lunch time which make it difficult to move around when the cafeteria is so small. I recommend coming early before lunch and placing an order to avoid the traffic.

    Academic Rigor

    Graphic designers will need time to develop and create their designs. Workload will depend on how many classes a student will take but design classes alone will most likely need a good amount of time devoted to it. Lower division graphic design classes are hands-on projects while upper division concentrate on digital design.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury University offers students a comfortable campus with small class sizes. Students can ask their professor questions right after class. And the cafeteria, Woody's, gives different dishes everyday.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has their own security guards that roam around the campus. It is in a safe area.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do right around the campus. You can drive to Hollywood and Studio City in about 15 min. If you shop or want to go to the movies downtown Burbank is a few min away. If you have a car it is great. If you do not have a car they have buses that stop right outside the school.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the dining area is ok. You can always go to taco bell down the street or you can go to downtown Burbank for other selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are kinda small, but they do have many choice of types you can select from. South Hall has been upgraded this year so they should be a lot better.

    Academic Rigor

    The program at Woodbury can be challenging at times. If you stick to the program and keep moving forward you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to work hard and stay focus. If you do this your stay at Woodbury will be very successful. Teachers are always willing to help at most anytime.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury is a very small school. It has a good teachers that are involved in your success at Woodbury. It has a small community of students from around the world.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Stare at a wall. Pound out a screenplay. Listen to too much punk rock. Do all those things down at the Starbucks nearby. And it's a dry campus (thought the RA's don't really seem to care). And the nearest bar's all the way in downtown Burbank.

    Food and Dining

    The onsite cafe is pretty good. Everyone else seems to hate it, though, and I'm confident that's because they're doing it wrong. Chicken bacon quesadilla's with jalapenos are pretty awesome.

    Dorm Life

    There are rooms. There are beds. See above about fitting in.

    Academic Rigor

    Ha! Academic rigor! I have this problem where I half-ass things like papers until a professor gives me a C or basically rights You can do better. The basic idea is to find out if doing all that work necessary for a good paper is worth it. Why should I spend hours upon hours writing an A paper when the guy next to me pounded his out right before class and got the same grade. I didn't get called out on my laziness last semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid anything to do with the film program like the plague. That was orignally my major, but that only lasted for a little more than a year before it become obvious that the department head is an honest to god con-artist constantly promising things will get better only to undeliver. It's like clockwork. The interdisciplinary program pretty rad thought, and it's the only place one can be a weirdo or stuck-up rich person.

    In three sentences

    It's a really mixed bag. And whether or not things turn out well for you largely rests on whether you have money already. If you don't, don't ever expect to feel like you fit in there, because you don't.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit and relax while enjoying the scenery.

    Food and Dining

    Good and fresh food for breakfast lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus but i have taken a tour and its pretty convenient when going to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into financial aid and scholarships because it will help tremendously throughout your college life.

    In three sentences

    Friendly students, clean campus and supportive staff. When visiting Woodbury university i felt a welcomed and positive feeling about this school. The academic couselor assisted me with making a decision and provided all the resources i need to succeed. It is very important when enrolling to a university or college, the academic support is available.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe although the front gate is always open. There is not much security in the campus but in order to get into studio it does require a password that is given to each student.

    Great for these types of students

    Architecture students have their own table in studio which the are free to decorate as they please. I recommend that you install doors under your table and lock it to keep your supplies out of sight since there has been many cases of burglary in studios.

    What to do for fun

    The campus only has a small basketball court towards the back where many students get together and play indoor soccer. Since there is not much space, we get together at the studio and hang out with friends at times. Other times we have to go out of campus to look for fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one food place in this university and it is not rated well by the students due to its unhealthy food and its slow service. Half of the small menu consists of burgers and other unhealthy products. The cooks move slow and I have waited for food for up to 30 minutes at times causing me and my friends to eat elsewhere.

    Dorm Life

    The doors are located at the back of the campus very close to the classrooms. Since it is a small campus, it is very easy to get around. Most students are very young and know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    This university requires each student to try very hard and the academic standards require every student to try very hard with their hard grading. In order to receive the highest grade it requires more than just completing the assignments, but it also requires lots of creativity. You must be able to impress your professors and show that you have tried very hard in your work in order to get the highest marks possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is necessary to be prepared for every class ahead of time so that you will not fall behind. It is easy to slip in a class, so if you are having trouble then you should speak to your professor or seek help as soon as possible. The courses require lots of work so do not be shy and make friends quickly because this will help in many ways.

    In three sentences

    With the small amount of students in this university, it makes it a comfortable environment. Help comes easy as long as you look for it and the professors are very helpful. The courses are very challenging but after getting though them they give you the ability to prepare for the future.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend various events the school organizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try getting involved in working with teachers. Try to know as much people as possible. Networking!

    In three sentences

    Woodbury University teachers are extremely interested in your personal achievements. Classes are personal. The university is clean and organized

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out to downtown, or have a few fieldtrips in LA. We also have actvities inside the campus and other programs and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    They always offer different varieties of food everyday, we can request a different menu, and even add one of our own recipes to the menu. The people who work there are very friendly

    Dorm Life

    There usually an activity at least once a week, my RA is really nice and if there is a problem they try to solve it ASAP.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I know and experianced in architecture there is this saying sleep when you are dead but dont let that frighten you, its pure dedication that all of us in this field have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged by the size of the campus, even though it is small it has a lot to offer, you just have to be willing to get out there and explore.

    In three sentences

    Since I am majoring in architecture I can say I am very satisfied with their academic curriculum. The student to professor ratio is extremely satisfactory since I do not like huge classes. In terms of tuition and other expenses, it can be expensive.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on campus all hours of the day constantly making rounds, the campus is a pretty safe place.

    Greek Life

    On campus there is only four greek organizations, I am a part of one of the sororities Sigma Omega Nu! Not everyone joins greek life but those who do love that they made the decision. Being greek means being involved on campus and hosting events and making life on campus fun and pleasant while also doing good things for the Los Angeles community by being involved in community service and philanthropic events! Best Decision i've ever made.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus you just have to make the effort into choosing what suits you best.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for anybody who is willing to be around a diverse bunch, and who loves the small school atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something unusual about the campus is it used to be a catholic school for all girls, so stories go around about how the place is haunted. Our library used to be the church and is a nicely built building.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of students complain about where our tuition goes. Aside from being poor college students the university does do a lot to feed to the needs of students anything sold on campus aside from the book store and Woodys cannot be sold for more than $5 and there are a lot of free events with free food.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun on campus.... well to be honest it is not much of a party school and we don't really have sports. In my opinion the best way to have fun and be involved on campus is by joining a greek organization, a fraternity or sorority, or any other club on campus that holds events. Getting involved can take the stress of school by doing fun stuff here and there and meeting new people!

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place to really get food on campus WOODYS, a lot of students do complain about the food but i think that is because when you eat too much of the same things year after year you can get tired of it. I like to think back to my first impression of the food there they were always making something new that i had not tried which personally I love trying new foods but if your not into that maybe try the sandwiches and burgers and fries they are so delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it at Woodbury University, opportunities arise to meet new students through events that the Resident Advisors host, such as movie nights, game nights, or themed events for halloween and such but the way you meet people in the dorms is by coming out of your room and talking to people. Also a plus of living on campus is you are 5 minutes away from everything.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are always deep into their studies as studio majors tend to spend all their time working on design projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should really take a tour of the school to get an idea of the student life and if a small private school is just right for them. Another tip is look into the major you are interested in and research it because some students like to change their majors more than once.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury is a very diverse university where people from all lives and cultures come together for one common goal, success. With different majors students can emerge themselves in fields such as architecture, business and design. With the help of professors who have worked or are currently working in the fields us students dream about having one day, we are one step closer to achieving our goals.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Besides the club events that almost never happen there is nothing to do on or around campus for fun except for food, movies, and the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but not always good and does not stay open very late.

    Dorm Life

    There is almost never anyone hanging out in the halls being social, it is just a place to sleep and study.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes that I have taken were a joke and very easy but the architecture courses are very grueling and take up all your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure that this is where you want to go, it cost a lot of money and will not be all fun and games like high school and other big schools that always have activities going on.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury is a very focused and easy place to learn. It is very small so everyone knows who everyone is and you run into your teachers all the time. It is small and cannot alway accommodate for all the kids that go there especially during midterm and final exams.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You can find Woody's cafeteria at the center of the campus and it never fails to disappoint. Weather you are looking to grab a snack, drink, or lunch, there is always a variety of options! Small clipboards are available for students by the main cafeteria that gives the student many options to mix and match an entree' to your desire. The staff is friendly and if there was a problem with your meal, the cooks will kindly replace it. Stop by Woody's sometime and check it our for yourself!

    Dorm Life

    I haven't had the opportunity to experience living in the dorms but i would definitely consider it. It is not only convenient but also a stepping stone in your adult life to live on your own away from home. Students are polite, respectful, and mainly focused for their future and academic success. So if you were looking to party throughout the year then Woodbury University is NOT the school for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will make sure to stay up to date with their contact information so that a student can ask any questions if needed. Patience is also displayed towards the students who are struggling to understand the material but ultimately, its up to the student to read the texts and complete all assignments in order to pass the classes successfully. There are also plenty of locations on campus for commuter's to comfortably study and do homework.

    In three sentences

    The small class sizes that are featured make it real easy to interact with the professors. Student advisers alongside faculty are very polite and committed to helping the student achieve his/her academic goals. Calm, friendly campus illustrates overall environment, two thumbs up!

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's definitely lacking.

    Greek Life

    2 fraternities and 2 sororities, most events come from here, they're all great. I'm part of a sorority and we constantly try to make more events that will help students and the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres various organizations, lack of involvement from students that aren't in any though.

    Bang for the buck

    They are helpful with finances once you hassle them, otherwise it can get pretty expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There's many organizations you can join, and the greek life is pretty awesome, most events come from them.

    Food and Dining

    It's good the first couple of times, after a while you grow tired of it.

    Dorm Life

    They're not very big but it's your own space.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have most finances figured out by the time you begin to attend.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place. The people there are amazing and so are the opportunities. Unfortunately, dealing with the 3 main offices (financial aid, business office and registrar) is difficult.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards all over campus!

    Greek Life

    There's Greek Life...it isn't the best.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite of few clubs and organizations on campus for different majors and backgrounds.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love intimate classroom settings. Classes are about 10 people or less for the most part.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, so of course it's really expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Explore L.A.!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll learn a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Only attend Woodbury if you believe a small school is the best fit for you. It's the type of school where everyone knows each other, and if there is a new face on campus it is known. Yes, it's kind of like high school.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury is a private school, with an extremely small population which gives the feel of exclusivity. The professors here are outstanding and VERY knowledgeable about the subjects they teach. Woodbury is also expensive.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe here. even though there are sometimes thefts around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Here the food has it's good days and it also has it's bad days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here can be improved, like maintenance is sometimes really slow. But some of the people in the dorm are great.

    Academic Rigor

    All the majors here at the school require a lot of hard work and dedication to them. They also require a lot of time and man hours put into each major.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type of person who loves to study outside, than this is the school for you. The school is so quiet that you can hear birds sing, and even write and essay while watching a deer take a nap out side your class room! No I am not lying, there are deers that like to pass by Woodbury University.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes its true, Woodbury University is more expensive than a UC. But do not worry, since Woodbury IS a private school, they give out a lot of scholarships. My first year at Woodbury, more than 80% of my tuition was covered by the school. So, If you apply to this college, make sure you also ask about their scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    I believe the better question to ask is this: WHAT ISN'T THERE TO DO FOR FUN? There are so many activities happening in Woodbury that it is kind of difficult to be board here. As other people have mentioned above, there are many Greek clubs as well as regular clubs. But, what I like most about the clubs at Woodbury is that they ALL give out free food and they ALL worry about the student's social life on campus!

    Food and Dining

    I must say that the food served at Woody's is ABSOLUTELY THE BEST FOOD I HAVE EVER TASTED! Whether you are on a special 600 calorie diet, vegan, or a meat lover, Woody's always has something ready for you. Everything that is served is in the cafeteria is fresh and made right before your very eyes. I can't complain about Woody's.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major being studied at Woodbury, the amount of homework issued can either be a light or a heavy load. For example, students who plan to study in the fields of architecture, graphic design or fashion, students may be assigned 15 to 18 hours of homework based off of the major alone (if not more). Many students who study in these areas usually do not sleep for many nights in a row, especially during midterms and finals. Now, students who would like to study in the area of fashion marketing, accounting, or business management will be assigned a lot less homework (I can not give exact hours for I do not know them). As for the general education classes, in my opinion, the amount of homework given depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have the opportunity to attend, DEFINITELY ATTEND THE SOAR PROGRAM. A month before school starts, students are invited to take a tour of the campus as well as having the opportunity to interact with other students within their major. At first the program may seem a bit childish; a few of the topics discussed by professors include team work or being responsible; however, the college professors help prospective students understand the difference between high school and college responsibility.

    In three sentences

    Dear prospective student, If you plan to attend Woodbury University I would suggest that you come prepared to learn, attentive to what your professors and peers are trying to teach you, as well as being prepared to be committed to your work. When students come to college with an open mind ready to learn from their mistakes and ready to be aware of what is being taught it is much easier for a student to be committed to their work. Pain and frustration will be your number one teacher's here, nevertheless if you preserver, at the end of your four years attending Woodbury, you will be able to see the results.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who are majoring in business, architecture, fashion design, psychology and political science (though they do have a interdisciplinary studies for those who are looking to study anything in between).

    Bang for the buck

    For the education and social structure, it definitely is worth the buck. You'd have to see for yourself to believe it.

    What to do for fun

    Woodbury has a variety of personal and professional organizations, as well as a supportive and philanthropic Greek community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is made with organic ingredients and is the company is passionate about keeping our environment beautiful and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The residential advisers are definitely nice and will help anyone in the dorm halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely challenging, and also allow for creating thinking and analysis. There is no memorization or boring lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    As it is with any student, having a close communication with teachers and building bonds with other organizations will ensure that you have a network that will lead to your dream job and goals.

    In three sentences

    The classes are taught by individuals who have worked in the industry, which is a big plus. The small community feel will definitely make anyone feel they have a home away from home. They care about the student's education and will let you customize your own curriculum to better fit your career goals.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7, 365 days a year, security is a phone call away, providing escorts and emergency assistance.

    Greek Life

    2 Sororities and 2 fraternities. Some are local, and others are national.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and organizations to choose from. everything from cultural to sexual orientation. It really is a great campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are hands-on and learn visually. Students who are very focused and determined.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At orientation, the incoming freshmen have the opportunity to make their mark on The Rock.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth the money. You get one-on-one personal attention from the faculty and staff. Your professors are actually working in your field and can offer great internships.

    What to do for fun

    Join an organization, or start your own.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are variously placed around campus, which is detrimental to college life. Our cafe is small, cute, and homey, with amazing cooks and staff.

    Dorm Life

    Fun activities, a great chance to mingle and get to know your peers. An ultimate experience.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, so good.

    Tips for prospective students

    As soon as you can, visit this campus. You will fall in love.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury has the most intimate campus I've ever stepped foot on. They also have a great faculty and staff that is more like family. The professors here are working in their current fields, and are highly recommended.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The events that usually happen at 12:00 noon (at various times, depending on ASB or the Greeks) because they serve free (most of the time) food!

    Food and Dining

    Woody's (the cafeteria) is good sometimes. It has MTO (made to order), specialties, and vegetarian. There is also a salad bar and daily soups. I usually just order a burger (from the Grill) if nothing else catches my eye.

    Dorm Life

    My friends tell me that dorm life is alright. I wouldn't know because I'm a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are going to be a Business major, then these classes are extremely challenging. The classrooms only full up to 20 max (and sometimes to 25 if it's a popular class) so the one on one time with the professor is pretty much expected. Work hard in your courses, because before you know it, you'd be getting ready for graduation. Always check ratemyprofessor.com to see which professor suits your learning style.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is quite easy to obtain the classes you need, even if they are full. Make friends with your advisor and visit them every once in a while because they are always willing to go above and beyond for their advisees. Since the campus is so small, it is relatively easy to find everything you're looking for. Try to sign up for a work-study if you are eligible because it is a great experience. I currently work for the School of Business with Joy and Lori and I love it.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury University is a quaint school. It has a little over 2,000-3,000 students currently attending. This school is more of a commuter school than a dorming school.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a non traditional clasroom should come here.

    What to do for fun

    Go out for a drink in Downtown after a long day of class with classmates.

    Academic Rigor

    Studio classes are by far the most demanding classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    For potential students, don't expect the typical here. This is where you go to make the most of your education.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury is the perfect small community school where each student can get the individual attention they deserve. This school works with students in every way possible to help students succeed in their education.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This college used to be a school for Catholic schoolgirls, so the library is actually an old church that looks really awesome!

    What to do for fun

    The students usually have little gatherings here and there for dorm students, which are fun. We also have lobbies, so you can watch TV with your friends and maybe help each other with homework and such.

    Food and Dining

    Woody's is nice and usually has a variety of foods. Their sandwich station is my favorite though, because they do anything from burgers to quesadillas.

    Dorm Life

    If your a very social person and love parties, then it's best to live in North Hall. However, if you like things more quieter to help you study, than South Hall is more your fancy.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what major your going to be in, the academic rigor is different in each one. Speaking for the film department, I find the academic rigor great and I always learn from my achievements and my mistakes. Teachers aren't ones to hold back here!

    Tips for prospective students

    It helps to know what career you want to do, but it's not necessary. As long as you have something your passionate about and its part of this college's academia, then this college is perfect for you. We also are growing every year with new majors and tons of clubs you can participate in.

    In three sentences

    Woodbury University is great college with a small campus that keeps growing everyday. I was initially a communications major, not knowing what career I really wanted, until Woodbury had finally created a film major. Since beginning the film major, I have decided what I want to do with my life and I know Woodbury is definitely going to help me with it and getting out into the real world.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's gated and secluded, there have been no problems in the past with people coming on campus that shouldn't be or such. there is an abundance of very friendly security guards who are nice to talk to and make you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    we have one fraternity and two sororities. they're both very involved in the community and offer a good balance of social interaction as well as volunteer opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a good host of clubs and activities; even major-specific clubs are available. for a smaller school, it's a great balance of things to choose from if you want to get involved in that way. and if there's not something you see that you like, make a club! they really encourage us to do so if nothing fits our interests.

    Great for these types of students

    you have to really know what you're doing. teachers help you in any areas you are lacking and are very supportive, but if you are unsure of major choice then this might not be the school to choose. you start in classes that will apply to your major the very first semester. fantastic if you've always felt artistically inclined or never quite fit in with the social hierarchy of the high school world, this place is perfect. everyone here fits together like a little family and there's very little drama. this isn't a party school, which i like. we do have our fair share of

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's a lot of wildlife. it's common to, if you're there at night, see deer, coyotes (but they really don't care about you, no one's ever had a problem), rabbits, and a host of other creatures going about campus. we have a family of owls living in one of the palm trees, you can hear them hooting at night some time. there are some great quiet spots to study like the loft in the library. so many fun little spots once you start exploring!

    Bang for the buck

    it's pricey as it is a private college, but the class sizes are so small (my largest class to date has been 26 people, smallest was 9) and the teachers are incredibly helpful and knowledgable. i've had many who have worked in prestigious jobs (honda advertisements, disney animator, warner brothers movies) and come here to teach, so they're very knowledgable about the field. many of them will meet with you if you need extra help with anything, even an out-of-class question.

    What to do for fun

    so much to do in burbank and the surrounding cities! as a burbank local i know all the trick spots to hang out with friends and find good deals. some places to check out would be downtown burbank, there's a mall, 3 movie theatres (go to the amc 16 though, by far the best), fantastic eats, and fun boutiques. another fun place to go shopping or hang out is magnolia park, a street lined with old antique shops, small cafes, and other fun things. please don't leave burbank without trying porto's! it's a cuban bakery with the most delicious things you'll ever eat. potato balls are their highlight.

    Food and Dining

    woody's makes a good effort of providing both an always-available grill menu and a rotating menu of meals. most of their food they use is from local farmers and is often organic. more than once i've eaten a vegan meal there and it's tasted pretty good. always get the chinese if they are cooking it that day, that's their highlight, strangely enough!! food can get a little boring though if you eat there regularly, so try and cook what you can or bring a lunch (which is what i do most days).

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter student, so i'm less familiar with the dorm life. rooms are small but we have a pretty good balance of other places to spend time if you need it. it's a little quiet, but there are a lot of people who love exploring la so you can usually hitch a ride with another dormer and get a lot out of dorming that way.

    Academic Rigor

    course load varies depending on your majors. it's mostly agreed upon if you're looking to go in to graphic design, interior architecture, or most heavily architecture expect to not have sleep or a social life if you want to do well in your classes. majors like business or politics and history aren't as rigorous. design majors end up being busier than anything, but we wouldn't have it any other way.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that your major is something you want to go to. this place is fast-paced but so rewarding. if you're coming here soon, try looking up and learning a bit about what classes you'll be taking or try learning a new software that will be used in class. prepping beforehand is one of the best benefits to help you stand out and you can use the teachers more to learn different things you wouldn't have had time for.

    In three sentences

    i could not be happier coming here; i have never learned more in such a short period of time. the people who come here are amazing, the teachers are even better, and the work i'm producing is so different than my stuff i was working on a year ago. everything here has been a blessing and there's so many resources available.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is small and the security is tight.

    Greek Life

    we do have greek life and it is fun and worth the while.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs on campus but it is up to the individual to aproach them.

    Great for these types of students

    committed. centered. organized.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the alumni fountain has a very special meaning to those alumni that met their significant others.

    Bang for the buck

    if you take advantage of the school there is no real limit to what an individual can learn.

    What to do for fun

    go to hollywood and or participate with organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    we get catered by bonappetite.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is calm and at times boring simply because the students that dorm there are in architecture and they spend their whole time in the studio. weekends are fun however because you know everyone so everyone gets to hang out on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    one must be fully committed to the specific major because they require a lot of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to deal with heavy workloads. practice your time management. but overall be ready for some fun.

    In three sentences

    the campus is beautiful. the atmosphere and overall feel of the people here are positive. the faculty and staff are dedicated and are willing to make sacrifices to help students out.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent security, you feel safe on campus. it's all gated.

    Greek Life

    we have 2 frats and 2 sororities, put on good events.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs on campus that you can get involved in. if you choose to be really involved you have several options

    Great for these types of students

    hard-working, motivated, focused

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    coyotes and deer linger around at times at night. they're completely harmless though.

    Bang for the buck

    if you know what you want to do and you have the money or scholarships to attend here it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    explore the surrounding la area, visit the burbank town center, go to the americana in glendale, plenty of amazing vistas of the san fernando valley just walking distance from campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is generally good but it does get old form time to time.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are fine, could be a little more active

    Academic Rigor

    it can get pretty tough, especially for architecture

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you take a tour of the campus, it's beautiful. take into consideration that most people here know what they want to do, not really an undeclared type of school.

    In three sentences

    teachers are great and you really get great one on one feedback and attention. the campus is really small. this isn't your typical spirited university but there are definitely events and fun things to do.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You should definitely look into this school if you have a definite idea on what you want to do. The classes are geared towards your major starting from the first semester. The classes themselves offer an in-depth focus into your major and offer a variety of projects to stretch your creative minds. If you have a set mind on a major, and you are positive that is what you want to do, then I'd set up a tour to check out the school. The classes are small and hands-on, allowing the teachers to meet with each student individually for assignments/projects. If you are looking for a school that allows students to really get to know their teachers and have creative freedom over projects with a lot of feedback and constructive criticism, then definitely think about applying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Design Majors: Be prepared to devote a lot of free time to studio to work on projects. Teachers like detailed and clean work. You can't speed through the projects and call it done if you expect a good grade. Teachers look carefully at your projects, and will point out any misspellings, marks, or cuts. If you will be living on campus, the dorm rooms are a little small so only bring what you need to bring. There are kitchens, so if you do want to bring your own cookware or plates and utensils, it might come in handy. I found myself cooking quite a bit. But do note, there are no ovens, only stove toppers, in North Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition can be quite expensive, that's for sure. And as an art school, it's usually a tad more expensive than a UC. Although, I appreciate how small the classes are. Speaking as a Graphic Design major, I really enjoy my studio classes because I am learning quite a lot about my major. I would definitely say you are getting the bang for your buck despite the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am currently living on campus and it's very nice. The Residential Advisors put on numerous events to allow students to socialize and meet others who live on campus as well. It's also nice for design and architect majors to take a break from the strenuous studio hours. The campus is small but very welcoming. Everyone is friendly and it feels more like a community because you get to know the familiar faces fairly quickly.

    Am learning a lot

    My teachers are all incredible. They work in the industry as well as teach classes at Woodbury. They really know the material being covered and offer their own critiques and ideas to help improve your projects.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is exceptioally great for Architechure, Business, Fashion, Graphic Design, and many more exciting majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact your admissions advisior a year before you plan to attend so that you can discuss any questions and prepartions that need to take place for a better chance at getting accepted

    Will enjoy being here

    This school is very diverse and has very friendly students and faulty throughout the campus. The campus itself is a beautifully lanscaped area that has many inspirational pieces that are created by the students.

    Will learn a lot

    I will be attending this school in the Fall 2011. I think you can learn alot of information from this school, because they have many resources that can assist you in your field of study.