Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Worcester State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/20/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very adequate

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    People looking for community, a bit of relaxation, student involvement, and who don't mind ugly dorms!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wednesdays there are always events out in the commons, and there's usually free food!

    Bang for the buck

    This was not my school of choice, and I'm not staying here, I'm transferring to Clark University. But that doesn't mean that I don't greatly respect Worcester State for everything they've done to create an affordable and eclectic liberal arts school

    What to do for fun

    There are always events happening either in the resident commons or in one of the main event areas. There's lazertag and a working gym, a neat new program called "The Bike Share Program" where you can sign up to check out a bike and more. A lot of res hall meetings to get to know your fellow hallmates for residents, and an entire other roster of events specifically for commuters.

    Food and Dining

    Greasy as hell and filled with variety, there are multiple places to eat on campus but I recommend the main dining hall in Sheehan Hall: the Pod. Be careful, you'll add weight fast if you're not careful!

    Dorm Life

    Kind of ugly colors, and the floors are made to trip you up, I swear. Seriously, I dare you to walk across the dorm hall in sneakers and not trip! Pretty good overall though, nice facilities to use; but no kitchenett for freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely harder than high school, but more in format than anything else. Be prepared to read a lot, skim a lot, and in general most of the work that will be hard to keep up with is the reading. Join class discussions, it makes everything else easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect it to be easy just because it's a state school. Don't be afraid to approach and talk to your teachers, if you put in the effort, so will they. Try not to only goto the right of the Pod to eat, you'll gain a freshman 40 instead of a freshman 15.

    In three sentences

    Worcester State is a nice, quiet community with a lot of diversity and a host of opportunities. It's far away from everything in-city, so you won't like it too much if you like walk around in the community, but it's very nice. There's a lot of inclusive events.

  • 12/06/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. Worcester State is not too big which makes it feel safer by seeing the same faces around or friends so you're always surrounded by people you know. The campus police is always around and their office is in a convenient place. There are also emergency buttons around campus if someone needs help. If something major goes on we either get an e-mail or text message so we can feel safe and know what is going on. And many residents are close to their RAs so they can always ask them for help if they do not know what to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that hold activities so people can learn about them and join. There are also lots of sports which provides a close environment so people can cheer on their friends, or join a team and meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student, there are so much culture here so anybody would fit in. There are many clubs and majors.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on campus like different clubs hosting events, pet therapy, zoo comes to the woo, hypnotist, comedians, and every Thursday night 10-12pm there are activities for students to go to, like crafts, bingo, price is right, with lots of cool prizes to win.

    Food and Dining

    Last year they built a new building for students to live in and downstairs is the cafeteria. There are many stations to get food which makes a lot of choices for people. There is a deli, international, main kitchen food, a pizza section, soup and salad, and two sections where people are cooking food on the grill. They are open at convenient times and have a lot of seating.

    Dorm Life

    There are many options for people living on campus. You can live in small 4 person suite that has 2 doubles and a bathroom, and bigger suite that includes a kitchen living room and bathrooms where 4-6 people can live. And you have the choice to have a roommate or a single room. Also you can have the choice to live in an apartment style building with a choice of 4-11 people and also get the choice of living with a roommate or single room. There is something for everyone. Freshman most likely live in a building with 1-2 roommates and community bathrooms but this makes it easier to meet new people by having your room door open a lot and meet all your neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many great professors that teach here. They expect a lot out of the students here and always seem to be happy with what they learned at the end of the semester. In my urban studies class we were able to go to Urban Studies to talk to a guy that works for the city of Worcester which made it a great learning experience having these resources right down the road, we also learned about many things that were invented in Worcester that are well known across the world.

    In three sentences

    I think Worcester State is under estimated and more people should learn more about it. It is in a great area where there are lots of job and internship opportunities. The campus has many people from all over which adds a lot of diversity including the professors that teach here. And they provide many services including fun activities on campus, free access to the Worcester Art Museum, sport events, library loans to get books from other colleges and libraries, and tutoring and counseling services. Which is all included in the tuition.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none (that i know of at least)

    Food and Dining

    Eat in the lower caffe it is better than the upper one. Other than that they are changing the upper caffe to be put into the new dorm so cannot say what I do not know yet. Especially because the new one is supposed to be bigger than the current caffe

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are bigger than most. Anoying to have to use keys all the time but you get used to it. In upper-classman dorms, kitchen is huge and so is the living rooms. Also alot to do on campus just need to find the right people to do stuff with.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small. Alot of extra credit options available in most classes. Teachers are extremely friendly and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with other students in your prospective major and with the professors it comes in handy. Don't worry you will figure out the campus within the first 3 days of classes it is not hard. Try to walk through the buildings during the winter, it is a lot better than having to take the extra time and chill to walk around.

    In three sentences

    Academically do-able. Campus is clean and functional. People are friendly.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is clearly in high regard at Worcester State. After my whole tenure at WSU, and my brothers' who went there 7 years prior to me, I have never heard of any major incidents happening on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for the buck is definitely there seemingly because the school is definitely inexpensive and you get a great education for a low cost.

    What to do for fun

    Worcester is a like a little-big city. There is plenty to do seeing as how there are many clubs and bars in and around the city, and all over Park Ave and Main St; you'll always find something to do. On campus you could join a variety of sports or even join an independent league if you have the time to balance it all. And dorm life like I said is also a fun time, living on campus is definitely something everybody should look in to.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and dining are one of the lower points to be completely honest. There is a lot of unhealthy and fried food, so if you have no problem with that kind of food then you'll be fine. But if you're looking for diversity or health-conscious foods, you're better off eating off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has been increasingly dramatically, and currently (as of summer 2013), they are building a brand new dormitory building to house more students. The dorms overall at Worcester State are very impressive compared to other schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Worcester State are improving every single year and have become increasingly more rigorous with time. All depending on which major you intend on studying, the school could either be really easy or very rigorous. It also helps that the school is now adding more majors and minors to its academic profile.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school itself is very progressive and teachers teach in a non-traditional way, so if you're coming to WSU you should keep your mind open and ready to learn in new and exciting ways. Same advice I'll give to any prospective student for any college, just be calm and collected and be ready to have a great time and enjoy it while it lasts.

    In three sentences

    Worcester State is a great alternative option if you're looking for a school that is both academically and financially reasonable. The campus has been improving dramatically in the past few years and looks more and more like a great University every passing year. WSU also provides great housing options for non-commuters and with the newly renovated dorms, coming to WSU makes for a great college experience.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always roaming around and are only a phone call away 24/7. There are several buttons around campus which are there for you to press in case of emergency that instantly send campus police to that area if you come into contact with danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of activities going on each day. New clubs are always being started and ongoing clubs are always there to join.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all students. Young or old, shy or outgoing. So many majors and activities are available to make sure you enjoy your time on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great four year school especially for people who work and have to commute. Parking is usually hard to find so I suggest taking early classes to make sure you find a spot. The overall quality of everything is pretty good. If there is ever a problem there are plenty of offices and professors always willing to listen to your opinion and do their best to make sure you are satisfied.

    What to do for fun

    There are emails sent to ones school email almost daily. They are constantly committees and groups being set up. Exercise classes as well as academic and church groups are offered. Each major has different groups that meet and if something is not offered you want just create a group! And of course you are central to clubs and night life spots for nights out!

    Food and Dining

    There are several options for eating. There is a Starbucks in the library and each dorm building have a snack store. There are two big cafeterias, one being a buffet. Both commuters and residents are able to purchase food in any of these places using either cash or ones student ID card. They offer a wide variety of food breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter and have never lived in a dorm. The small time I have spent in dorm rooms have been enjoyable. They do offer different sized rooms and sometimes even singles. Suites hold six people with two bathrooms, a living room, and dining room.

    Academic Rigor

    Worcester State is about average to other schools in this respect, I would have to say. There are always campus police around, watching drivers and giving out tickets for parking violations. Some professors are more lenient than others but it all depends on who they are. Rules are pretty standard and you are expected to follow them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Worcester State is primarily a commuter school but is currently building a new dorm building, to create more living space for students living on campus. Take as many well rounded classes as possible and start with an open mind! There are so many different classes offered here you are bound to find what sparks your interests.

    In three sentences

    Professors are always very helpful, and always inform students about the options of free centers available on campus to help you improve in a particular subject. (Such as the writing center, which goes over your whole paper with you to make corrections before handing it in to your teacher!) Everyone is really accepting, I have never seen any rude remarks being made toward others. There are always tons of activities happening, and they always notify you of them through your school email. So you'll never miss anything!

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything! Sports, clubs, bars, friends etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't so great here but you'll be able to get by.

    Dorm Life

    Not too many people live on campus but the ones that do are a blast! and the rooms are spacious compared to other schools!

    Academic Rigor

    Ive only taken 101 classes so far for the most part, they are challenging but able to be accomplished it in the right mind set.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do well during the placement tests and take them seriously! If you don't you'll find yourself in a math class that doesn't count towards credits!

    In three sentences

    It is a small school with extremely small classes. The teachers here actually care about how you do in their class and are always available to meet and help. Overall it is a perfect school for those nervous about the college transition.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is police every where inside the campus .

    Clubs and Activities

    there are alot of clubs ,

    Great for these types of students

    IN state students who wanna study and have fun in the same time

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They party a lot .

    Bang for the buck

    I know for a fact that If I go there I will pay less than 1500$ Per semester! one of the best choices financially !

    What to do for fun

    Sports and clubs are great here ..There is also many parties in and out of dorms .

    Food and Dining

    Never tried it ..

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the best.They're right next to the campus .

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great I know some of them who teach in my high school and some of them I met when I play soccer at the wsu field

    Tips for prospective students

    I know its great for nursing ,join sports , get to know your teachers and make new friends .

    In three sentences

    A small college in a mid-sized city that has alot of sports and a small class sizes with a quite mornings and a great night life .

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is highly enforced / there is a police officer every 10 min walk or drive .Allover the campus.

    Greek Life

    exceptional

    Clubs and Activities

    a whole lot and there is always free food.

    Great for these types of students

    competitive and 'all about the books' kind of

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    all the girls wear pink from victoria secret sorry but i think it unusual

    What to do for fun

    Alot of recreational places out of campus but quite near.

    Food and Dining

    it is the best!!!!!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    well am a commuter so cant say well for that. But the dorms look luxurious.

    Academic Rigor

    it is quite competitive everyone wants the an Aplus

    Tips for prospective students

    you need to be focused once u enter otherwise you will be left behind.

    In three sentences

    it is a nice experience. it helps you to be on board.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police as well as Worcester police. Cameras are everywhere and you have to have a resident card to get into the dorms.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    WSU has a lot of clubs: dance teams, student newspaper, chorales that go to Italy, and environmental society, etc. It has it's own radio station. Worcester is a city, so there a lots of things to do in the area.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters are welcome here. This is a great school for nursing majors and people looking to go into education. It's also one of the few schools with a major in Communication Sciences and Disorders.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WSU has a lot of commuters, so at least once a week there will be a table set up somewhere on campus that just gives free stuff to commuters: food, lanyards, pens, make-your-own-bumper-stickers, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Worcester State is really cheap, especially if you get the John and Abigail Adams scholarship, which covers tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Clubbing at U and Instyle, going to restaurants, $3 movie night at West Boylston cinemas, getting froyo at Yoway, watching games on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is really good and it's all you can eat. In the food court, you pay for each item, but there's a good variety. The cafeteria has special days where there will be a smoothie station, or a hot chocolate station, or some other fun thing. Plus they have soft serve everyday!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I visit a lot. They can get loud if there are parties, but the rooms have closets and are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I have a lot of reading (200-300 pgs a night) and about an essay a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know which AP scores will let you skip 101 classes. Apply early so that you can apply for WSU scholarships.

    In three sentences

    WSU has great teachers and a small, friendly campus. The dorms are decent-sized and Worcester has a lot of fun things to do, including many restaurants, theaters, clubs, and shopping. There are a lot of activities on campus as well.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When WSU finds out about situations putting students at possible risks, campus police are notified, extra are sent out here as a precaution (just happened third week of October 2012), students are notified via text AND e-mail. Doesn't get any safer than that, huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to do on campus! Sporting events, dance team, dance company, third world alliance, bible club, random cooking classes where chefs come in, hypnotists, and comedians come in, the list goes on and on!

    Great for these types of students

    There are bible study groups for those into bible study. Dance clubs for those into dance, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really sure what this Bang for the buck section is. But it reminded me of all the shopping areas near by! There are a few areas within walking distance to stock up on some food for your dorm. Besides that, there are GREAT malls about 20-25 minutes away after a 5-10 minute bus ride to city hall to catch a transfer bus!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus as well as off campus! There are a good amount of things within walking distance...or even for a few bucks!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best thing in the world, so definitely stock up!

    Dorm Life

    There seems to be some racial segregation (WSU isn't the most diverse campus in the world). I came from a high school that was well diversed. Coming to WSU, I thought it was going to be just as diverse. I thought all schools across the country had that type of diversity. But I was wrong. Being a minority myself, I make friends with the other minorities who aren't of my race and it just seems like the white people versus the minorities here. I have no idea why, it just turned out that way.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes definitely aren't a breeze (although some are). You definitely get your money's worth while you're here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to WORK! Coming from high school and graduating with a near perfect GPA (3.9) and having easy classes where I didn't even have to open the book or read much to know things (AP classes included), college is definitely a whole new world! The work is so fast paced! For example, in my Anatomy and Physiology (A&P) class, each chapter is a good 40-50 pages long. In high school, my teacher would cover ONE chapter in a FEW weeks. In college, professors would blow by TWO to THREE chapters in ONE DAY! I was really in for a wake up call in college. Stuff is serious now! Professors don't care if you don't study or show up for class because hey, in the end, you're the one paying for classes. The professors still get paid whether you show up or not and pass the class or not.

    In three sentences

    This school is relatively affordable compared to the $40,000+ colleges out there. Very cheap compared to those schools, but you definitely get your money's worth here at Worcester State University. I am a nursing major and the program here is one of the best; its not an easy program, but it definitely pushes you to work harder to get that degree in four years!

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Worcester always has something going on. Weather it be new movies playing or comedy shows. Its always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Worcester State has two cafes. Both are delicious and have very flexible hours.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year I got the privilege to live in Wesleyan Hall, which is for mostly upper classmen. The hall was great, very new and had great features.

    Tips for prospective students

    Worcester will help you with whatever you need, there's always someone here to help you.

    In three sentences

    Worcester State has the right tools to set you up for the rest of your life. They are there to help you every step of the way.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Even though there's a lot of bang for your broke you're still in debt.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing you can't do for fun you just have to go out and do it whatever your version of fun may be.

    Food and Dining

    I was surprised at how good the food actually is I mean this isn't your crappy high school cafetria anymore.

    Dorm Life

    It will become your home away from home without the family awkwardness.

    Academic Rigor

    Try your best. Get organized. There is always time to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous to just say hello to anyone. Don't hide from anyone or anything. There is a lot out there.

    In three sentences

    A great experience. Very warm and welcoming. Home

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their own police force and make sure everyone has their number and feel safe while on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure yet. I haven't started.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for everything early, especially for the nursing or OT majors!

    In three sentences

    I am so looking forward to attending in the fall! Everyone is so nice and welcoming there! I feel I made the right choice.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    What to do for fun

    Right down the street from WSU is Park Ave. and a little farther down is Main Street so there is tons to do and buses near by in case you need those too. Some of the things near by are Club U, Club Instyle, Woo-berry frozen yogurt, blue jeans pizza, Moes and the greendale mall is close by as well. And when theres nothing to do at WSU, theres always WPI and Clark right near by.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, I was never a big fan of it all the time. The dining halls are a hit or miss; you are either eating something surprisingly good or you get stuck eating a burger and fries once again. That being said, they do do events and the food is usually always really good then.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are the nicest ones I have ever seen. They are all basically brand new and I have no complaints at all. I lived in the predominately freshman dorms on the 5th floor, I started out in a triple but in the second half of the year I ended up having a single because both my roommates dropped out. So don't get too bummed out if you get stuck in a triple!

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school can be very challenging or somewhat easy depending on the courses you are taking and what level they are. All the professors have different methods, and some may seem a lot easier than others but those are the easiest to fall behind in. So even though they may seem easy and boring, it definitely all catches back up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give to prospective students would be to stay organized and stay on top of your work, its the best way to succeed in your classes. From my own experience after my 1st year, I would suggest to come in to school with an open mind about what you want to do, there's so many possibilities and you should be open to trying new things before deciding on your major.

    In three sentences

    It may be on the smaller side but Worcester State has some of the best professors who have done some amazing things in their life. The experiences I have had there are some I will never forget; the dorms are new and clean, the people are amazing, and there's something for everyone! I would suggest this school to anyone, its just 5 minutes away from restaurants, clubs, and anything else you might want to do in your free time.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an experience of my own, but it seems good.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many offered

    Great for these types of students

    Drinkers and partiers

    Bang for the buck

    Good, decent price for a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    They try to put on some events, but almost nobody goes. Everyone goes to Club Universe which is actually very grimey and sketchy.

    Food and Dining

    No options for vegetarians other than rice, beans, and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    Horrible! Forced triples when doubles were in bigger rooms. RA's were no help. Never any quiet time.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt as though only half of my teachers truly cared about their students and worked hard to challenge us as well as making sure we really understood what was going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are someone who doesn't enjoy constant partying, do not come here. If you are someone who wants to live on campus on weekends, don't come here because nearly everyone goes home for the weekend and it becomes a ghost town. The benefits of this school are the small classrooms though. It definitely helps if you are struggling in a class.

    In three sentences

    This school has been given excellent reviews, but they fall short. Yes the school has a nice library, but it also has horrible housing, and horrible food. My freshman year here was horrible and I switched schools after.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can pay sports. there are a lot of clubs you can join and there are field trips all the time.

    Food and Dining

    food is awesome! and pretty cheap too.

    Dorm Life

    i'm a commuter. however i would prefer to live in the dorms as it's easier to get to know people and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers don't care if you show up. however the majority do. some days there will be a lot of homework but as long as you keep up with it, it's not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    save money! don't slack off. teachers do care if you attend class and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    worcester state is a small quiet school. it has small class sizes which gives you the chance to get to know you professors.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is a phone call away. there are emergency call boxes are everywhere.

    Greek Life

    no sorority or franternity, yet...

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a ton of clubs and if we do not have your hobby it is so easy to start a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    working students, students who want to graduate in 3 years, students who want night classes, we have a variety of majors and minors for everyone. who want to commute.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    commuter breakfast!!

    Bang for the buck

    with a ton of majors you can get a great degree. even if you live on campus you save a ton compared to other schools. the meal plans provide you with all your food for the week.

    What to do for fun

    comedians, novelties, clubs, trips, we have everything.

    Food and Dining

    there are cafes all over campus. you can get anything you want almost anytime.

    Dorm Life

    safe and fun. ra's have activitites.

    Academic Rigor

    all classes are engaging and you receive exactly as much as you put into the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    check rate my professor and ask around when picking classes. get to know your professor out of class. use all of the resources, and there are plenty, if you look.

    In three sentences

    professors are wonderful and helpful. there is a diversity of students. there are umerous majors and clubs to choose from.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to one of the many clubs in the city or attend a campus event.

    Food and Dining

    there are plenty of options for every meal.

    Academic Rigor

    i definitely feel challenged at worcester state but i wouldn't say the work was incredibly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to the events, they are fun and get you connected. study in the library, it helps you to focus in a peaceful atmosphere. if you commute, get to school early to get a parking space.

    In three sentences

    there is always some kind of event taking place on campus. the teachers are great and really care about the students' success. the campus offers a comfortable library to study in.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    prior to attending wsu, i attended a private college. i am saving so much money by attending wsu and i am getting a great education. professors are very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    the greendale mall is close by, and there are tons of clubs in the area.

    Food and Dining

    i love the taco salad bowls found in the lower caf. if you go, you have to try one out! i also recommend the paninis at the lower cafe. breakfast is better than ihop at the dinning hall. the cooks make breakfast sandwiches and omelets to order and have a wide variety of ready foods if you don't want to wait. pre-made salads are good and i love the starbucks on campus!

    Dorm Life

    honestly, i have never dormed at this campus but hear mixed reviews. many people enjoy living on campus for the convenience very much. the only complaint is the shorting of housing, but don't worry, wsu has already started plans to build a new residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    i am a junior, and as a junior classes should be challenging. an important thing about classes is that you can chose how challenging it is based on how much work you are willing to put in. the more work you put in, the better the grade, and, most importantly you will learn very important skills for your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved. i know this is mostly a commuter school, but getting involved really helps you feel like part on the worcester state community. it also provides a learning experience which you can add to rev up your resume.

    In three sentences

    worcester state university offers a great education for a great price. college is very expensive and its nice to know i wont be even close to $100,000 in debt upon graduation (especially since i want to obtain a masters degree later on). commuting works for me because i can work as well as enjoy the perks of being on campus whenever i want.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not so good.

    Dorm Life

    Apartment style housing, good space and privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are okay, class offerings are amazing and extra support and resources are good.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers, dedicated advisors and awesome extra curriculars