U.S. Supreme Court Allows Temporary Travel Ban

on June 28, 2017

The U.S. Supreme Court issued a temporary order June 26, 2017, allowing portions of the Trump administration’s travel ban to stand. The order, however, provides an exemption for foreign nationals who have a credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States, such as international students.


The travel ban applies to six countries. They are Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.


The exemption specified by the U.S. Supreme Court, however, extends to international students. According to the temporary order, students from the six countries who have been admitted to U.S. colleges and universities have a qualifying relationship with an American entity.


“The students from the designated countries who have been admitted to the University of Hawaii have such a relationship with an American entity. So too would a worker who accepted an offer of employment from an American company or a lecturer invited to address an American audience,” stated the order. Hawaii is one of the parties challenging the travel ban.


The exemption also applies to people with a close familial relationship.


The travel ban has come under political scrutiny because none of the countries affected by it have carried out a terrorist attack on American soil. Critics of the Trump administration have said it specifically targets majority-Muslim countries where the president has no business holdings.


The U.S. Supreme Court is expected to hear arguments on the travel ban in October 2017.



Can I get Into...

We Know Your Chances. Do You?

What Are My Chances