Dismiss notification

Why Accreditation Matters

Back to Decide Tips

Not all colleges are accredited by agencies recognized by the federal government. The most common type of accreditation of degree-granting colleges, from community colleges to large universities, is called "regional accreditation." Each regional accreditor covers the colleges in one region of the U.S. Their Web sites list all colleges accredited by them and give other information such as the current status of the college's accreditation and its degrees, students and other locations.

The following are the seven U.S.regional accreditors. Specific programs within a college may also be accredited by "specialized accreditors," and they are listed below.

Specific programs within a college may also be accredited by "special accreditors."

Accreditation assures you that:

  • Teaching includes analytical, communication and other basic "life long learning" college skills; expertise in the major field; and additional courses needed for the type of education it offers. Student learning is assessed.
  • Federal funds for students are available to students of colleges accredited by federally recognized accreditors.
  • Resources, funding and services, such faculty, equipment and student services, are available as needed.
  • Credit transfer and degree acceptance by employers and other colleges will probably be facilitated because a college's accreditation is usually considered in such matters.
  • Management is performed by appropriate staff.
  • Experts are used in reviewing the college, such as professors and college presidents.

By Jean Morse, president of the Middle States Commission of Higher Education, one of the accreditation groups.