Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Blue Ridge Community College - Virginia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/09/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    BRCC is the best place to get the most out of your money. Typical four year universities will have you spending about 10,000 or more a semester whereas BRCC offers a full semester for under 5,000 dollars.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, it is nice to play volleyball or soccer on warm days.

    Food and Dining

    They have an awesome cafeteria that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    BRCC does not offer any dorms since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others but I never felt overly stressed about a certain class. Yes, it is hard work at times but it is well worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend meeting your professors before signing up for their classes. A lot of the professor teach in different ways. You must make sure that your learning style and their teaching style matches!

    In three sentences

    BRCC is a place of opportunity for students who would not be able to afford opportunity elsewhere. BRCC offers many majors and programs for students to take to further their education about the career path they wish to take. I would recommend Blue Ridge Community College to anyone who is interested in saving money while obtaining a better future.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and the dining facility is very nice. There are plenty of places to sit and study or sit and socialize with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but rewarding all at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip for prospective students would be to utilize every service that the college has to offer. Don't think just because you've been on campus for a semester that you may not need to speak to an advisor, but they're there for you and to help you stay on your career path!

    In three sentences

    I have loved the past few years that I have taken classes here at BRCC. There have been many teachers/professors that have been wonderful, and some that haven't been so encouraging or informing. Overall I would highly recommend Blue Ridge Community College with the professionalism of the advisors and the rest of the staff as well.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Quiet Campus

    Greek Life

    No Greek life at this campus

    Bang for the buck

    It definitely saves you a lot of money than a university.

    Food and Dining

    It has a good variety on the campus but also has a good variety off campus too.

    Dorm Life

    This college doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Students work hard and the work is a good amount given at different times.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best community colleges in the state. It's a really good college for saving money, especially if you are going to be in college for a while. And even though its a community college the teachers are great.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe in the daytime but after dark not necessarily very safe. Although there are lots of lights in the parking lot.

    What to do for fun

    There is volleyball and soccer on the lawn for anyone to play. There is a game room to hang out in and try your skills.

    Food and Dining

    I'm told the food is good! I bring my own from home though.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to school so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    Semesters are as rigorous as you make them because you control your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and enjoy every moment, don't be worried whether you'll fit in or not everything will work out fine.

    In three sentences

    BRCC is very helpful for students who are looking to find out what they want to do in life. They offer many services to help students with their needs no matter what it is. All in all the school is very good, offering many different classes to help students start their College life.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    o percent

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not make this mistake and waste your time and money.

    In three sentences

    Do not take the Pharmacy Technician classes. The teachers name is Bill Wilkes and he works as a Pharmacist at Grottoes Pharmacy. He said it is really easy to get a job as a Pharmacy Technician. That is a complete lie because without hands on training such as a intern program which he does not offer Pharmacies will not hire you without experience.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there and the implementation of lights and security phones int he parking lots have made me feel safe. I fell this is a very safe campus. You will be comfortable. It is very beautiful too!

    Greek Life

    I feel that BRCC does not have this culture. However, I am attending James Madison University in the summer of 2013 and this campus has a Greek culture. I am looking forward to understanding this better.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are limited clubs on this campus. I have not joined any will there.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for people whom need a excellent education for a reasonable price. This college is great for post high school, adults, and I have seen older individuals as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is construction going on for a new Gym. It has been a blessing to know that this campus is growing!

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended this college for 4 years and I have grown intellectually and I have matured greatly. I am transferring to James Madison University in the summer of 2013. I will really miss this college. It gave me the ability to become the person I want to be. I really love this college and always will. You would too!

    What to do for fun

    I like to play in in front of the Houff student center with the recreation soccer, football, frisbee, etc. The campus is building a brand new gym with basketball courts and a weight room. This is very important to know.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small area for cooking. I would say it is like a small diner. However, the food prepared is very good and you get a lot of fries too!

    Dorm Life

    This is a off campus community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the Professor are there for you the whole time. You are not alone in your studies and you can get help for peers also. This is a really good school. I attended this school for 4 years. I am transferring and I am going to really miss this school. It is very affordable too!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to fill out your federal student aid each year and apply for scholarships. Also there is a new tutoring center called the cave. This area is for academic excellence. It has helped me greatly. I would also say that the class schedules are very diverse for your needs.

    In three sentences

    This college is growing academically and structurally as time past. The professors are very good mentors and excellent in his or her field of study. This college will allow you to grow and mature as a person.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    College is great for students who want to better they future and to get something out of it. College may not be good for students who just want to party all the time and not take school seriously. Students who love to learn new things, interact and grow a relationship with their professor, and want to be able to better their future would be a great student for college.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though college can be expensive the learning experience is worth more than what money can buy. At the end of college when you look back on your college experience you know it has been very expensive, but every dollar was worth the education and experience.

    What to do for fun

    For fun Blue Ridge offers different activities near different holidays, they have a gym for students, there is a place for students to go to to study, and then of course hanging out with friends. College can be full of fun and a great experience.

    Food and Dining

    At Blue Ridge Community College on-campus food can be pretty pricy. I usually bring my own food or go without, because I am short on money. Paying for books, gas, schooling, and more having extra money doesn't happen very often.

    Dorm Life

    At Blue Ridge Community College they do not offer dorms, so I do not have an experience in dorm life. While attending college and not living with parents is still a similar situation. Sometimes it can be very difficult on new students right out of high school. Doing good in school involves a lot of studying, dedication, and not getting into trouble. Schooling should be taken very seriously. Dorm life can also be a good experience. One thing I like to do is set up study groups in order to get ready for a test.

    Academic Rigor

    While in college academic grade point average is very important. Making good grades is the key part in keeping up a GPA. Professors expect the student to put time and dedication into the material. A diploma is just not handed to you. Students need to work for what they want. Also another important thing is keeping up a GPA for scholarships, financial aid, and job opportunities that may come in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being in college is fun experience and is very beneficial. Tips for prospective students are always a good thing. I'd say the number one tip is to enjoy the learning experience and have good time management skills. Staying on track with work, studying to actually learn the material, and enjoying the experience all at the same time is what every student should know how to do.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge Community College is a small campus in Weyers Cave where students can attend college and feel a sense of belonging. The professors, employees, students, and activities they offer are absolutely amazing and everyone can enjoy a fun experience. Being apart of a college like Blue Ridge Community College allows a person who enjoy education, enjoy the beginning of college life, and can be for anyone.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Get the same classes/professors you would at JMU for much cheaper!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is really good, a bit pricey however.

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus housing for this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the clubs and organizations.

    In three sentences

    Small yet cozy school where the teachers care about you and how well you do. I enjoyed my time here and getting to know the community.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers are so friendly and helpful!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Im not in any but i hear most do alot for the comunity.

    Great for these types of students

    undecided majors,only going because your parents/family force you to go, planning to transfer to bigger college, can get IN-state tuition rates.

    Bang for the buck

    Its defiantly a great way to save MAJOR DOLLARS if you are planning to go to a 4 year university or other big college. You just have to make sure you stay on top of the requirements at this school & the one you plan to transfer to!

    What to do for fun

    Get together with friend and classmates for a friendly game of volleyball,ultimate Frisbee,soccer or football.Plenty of places to hangout for study groups and the Cafe is great for a breather in between classes with great,affordable pick-me-up coffee & munchies.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes and schedule YOU choose to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    ALWAYS check your classes with a councilor and double check financial aid details/requirements.

    In three sentences

    I love BRCC! The options are endless.The faculty and staff are so helpful and informative about the classes,options,financial aid,& everything else you could possibly have a question about!

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue Ridge Community College provides on campus security which is contracted out. They have video monitoring system. They also provide an emergency notification system to the students and faculty.

    Greek Life

    At this particular college, they do not have a Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different organizations for each student from student government to intramural sports. Of course, it is up for the student to take the extra step to become involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    As with any community collegs, the tuition is more affordable than a four year school. I highly recommend students attend the first two years locally to reduce costs and gives them the chance to adjust to college level classes.

    What to do for fun

    Most students who attend this community college live in this area and are familar with the area. There are numerous sports and cultural activities in and around this area. The area also provides numerous oppurtunities for outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    Blue Ridge Community College contracts out the cafeteria to a local catering company. They have a variety of food along with daily specials. There are also local restaurants that have quick and easy access.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Blue Ridge Community College provides top of the line professors at a local community college. The professors range from having Master's degrees to Doctorates. Along with their professionalism, they make themselves readily availible to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Each prospective student needs to take the time to look around campus and at the academic classes. The student should not discount this community college. They are small but offer so much.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge Community College provides area students with the opportunity to stay local and attend college level classes at a low cost. You are able to attend classes that are smaller in size with access to your professors. Blue Ridge also provides online classes for the convenience of the student.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards and vehicles that patrol most of the time and they have video surveillance in the parking lots and in certain classrooms.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students.

    Bang for the buck

    You do save in tuition costs going to a community college instead of directly a 4 year institution, but neither are cheap.

    What to do for fun

    The school does focus on some events, but none enthralling.

    Food and Dining

    It is true there is a on campus dining hall, but the prices of the food are not economical for students. There is no meal plan because it is not really a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Although there is a slight freedom in it being a commuter college, there is very little assistance on living expenses.

    Academic Rigor

    It is dependent on which professors you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to speak to upper classmates about professors and also check ratemyprofessor.com to get a better sense of the professors. At the end of your courses post reviews to help prospective students.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge Community College has some fantastic professors that truly want to educate students and see them exceed as well as some poor professors that simply teach. The difference between the two can be examined through how the teachers structure their tests and grade assignments. The teachers that wish you to succeed will design test to test your knowledge on the material rather then try to trick you on questions. When grading papers they will give you constructive criticism rather then plop an opinion based grade with no indication on how they came to that final decision. I have found it very important and useful for students to use websites like ratemyprofessor.com to help other students be wary of poor professors along with having some sort of legitimate evaluations of professors. My opinion on the matter is not simply biased, my wife who has graduated from William and Mary shares my opinions, as she also assists me in my studies and compares my educational experience to her own.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is above average and the cafeteria has a wide variety to choose from every day. Try the coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    BRCC has not housing.

    Academic Rigor

    BRCC strives to maintain a high academic rigor. Courses are challenging and the school is adding new classes, both credited and non credited every year. High standards are not only expected of the students, it also applies to each and every staff member and professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to attend BRCC, you will not be disappointed. Take advantage of any and all of the help available to you from tutors to meeting with your professors for extra personal help.

    In three sentences

    I rate BRCC as one of the best Community Colleges in the Shenandoah Valley. The staff and professors are great and helpful. Graduation will be bitter-sweet.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For average high school students that need to get their grades up before attending a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth it to go to Blue Ridge. You save a lot of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always double check which classes you take and make appointments with transfer advisers from the school you want to transfer to.

    In three sentences

    I really did enjoy going to BRCC. I saved a TON of money and learned a lot. It is pretty easy to pass the classes if you do the work. Counselors were not very helpful to me at first, but I have found the right counselor for me. Now they make it really easy to transfer and provide many tools on the website.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    constantly present security does not infringe on your space but makes it a comfortable place to study within.

    Greek Life

    fairly nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    study abroad programs and frequent guest speakers are bonuses.

    Great for these types of students

    it's ideal for those who struggled in high school but are determined to further themselves. if one goes in expecting to continue their high school apathy it will equal the same results. be forewarned; college is college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a corner coffee shop snuck into the older buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    four year education at two grand a semester? yes, please. definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    the best thing, even in my hometown, is still to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is accommodating but not much more can be said.

    Dorm Life

    nonresidential campus

    Academic Rigor

    social sciences and physical activities tend to be loosely structured.

    Tips for prospective students

    show up for class. the rest will figure itself out.

    In three sentences

    though it is not and exact compliment to the four university experience the teachers are enthusiastic, the students are diverse and the options are varied but lack organization.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    none.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    i have no idea.

    Great for these types of students

    small town, small brian students.

    Bang for the buck

    nope.

    What to do for fun

    theres nothing in this tiny town.

    Food and Dining

    never eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    go somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    while attending blue ridge community college i have had no help. the staff is unfriendly and most professors would like you to fail. this school is miserable but, it is all i can afford.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i think the campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek like whatsoever.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs and activities that anyone can get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    those who are unsure where they want to study at a four year school, those who have financial difficulties, and those who want a more diverse experience than a four year school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the blue cafe is where everyone hangs out and gets coffee or a little snack between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    there is nothing quite like the community college savings.

    What to do for fun

    go to harrisonburg, weyer's cave really does not have anything to do, but fun can be found in harrisonburg.

    Food and Dining

    the food is fine, but it is a little overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life at brcc. all people live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    brcc is only hard if you choose not to do your work or studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    if finances are a problem for you, this would be a great place to consider because it is so much cheaper than a traditional school.

    In three sentences

    brcc is a great school with something for everyone. the teachers are wonderful and really care about students. it is very easy to create the perfect schedule and get a jump start on your future.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a very friendly environment and an open, beautiful campus.

    Bang for the buck

    all of my classes are doing just the job! there is a base-rate for each credit you are taking and it evens out to about $1,800 per 15-credit semester before textbooks. they also offer a great payment plan that makes it easier the earlier you begin paying for tuition. plan ahead!

    What to do for fun

    there are many different clubs and public meetings there. some great public speakers like joel salatin have made some appearances to talk about very relevant and great opportunities for students in today's world.

    Food and Dining

    i've heard that the food is great! i know the little coffee shop around the corner of my pre-calculus class is great! they sell wonderful coffee and the perfect snack for in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus and i do not know if there are any campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the course workload is sufficient enough to keep you busy but at the same time, you can still have time for work, family, friends and studying. the teachers are always willing to work with you, after all, life happens.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is very important that you make sure you know your schedule if you are taking any online classes and stay ahead on your assignments. it can be easy if you stay ahead, but don't fall behind because then you'll have to catch up, and you know what they say, its easier to keep up than catch up!

    In three sentences

    i am in my first semester here at blue ridge community college. it is fairly small and very friendly. the instructors are kind and very easy to get along with.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Whoever is trying to broaden their horizon and willing to put in the work to make their own future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well and get into the college of your dreams, it's not hard just do the work your asked and cram for a couple hours the night before the test and you will be fine. I just got into James Madison for example.

    Bang for the buck

    It's community college, self explanatory.

    Did enjoy being here

    I met lots of locals and people from other places of VA. I had a blast because the work load wasn't to much and I lived in Harrisonburg with all the JMU students which allowed me to go out and party probably more than them.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a good amount, but the classes are pretty simple. Some of the teachers were great. For one Ms. Tusing is a saint and Mrs. Hawks was an awesome psych teacher that involved the whole class. Just do your work and you will get out fine.