Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gwinnett Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very high. Officers are always patrolling, i have no fear of something bad happening.

    Greek Life

    no greek life here

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always clubs running around and setting up meet up days!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for someone who isn't into a big school, and wants to specialize in a trade, like welding or EMT services. Adult education is very prevalent as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The automotive building is awesome! very big shop. The nursing program building is one of the nicest setups i have ever seen, including animatronic dummies to practice on.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is probably the least expensive in the network of public Georgia colleges. The education is the same as a big name school.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs to join, video games set up in break rooms where you can always play with someone. When the weather is nice, one club holds pickup soccer games on the front lawn.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a cafeteria but they don't operate it for some reason. There is a ChickFilA stand in one of the break rooms, and some vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here try very hard to make class fun. the level of professionalism and detail they go into is bar none. As far as the work goes, classes are pretty easy compared to other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aggressive with setting meetings for admissions officers and the heads of majors. If you did not score well on your standardized tests, GTC offers an unlimited time and shortened version of the SAT, which is very very easy. Being a technical school, attendance is more mandatory than other schools. Don't miss any classes!

    In three sentences

    Gwinnett Technical College is a solid investment for individuals looking to go into a skilled trade. Teachers here are very passionate, and are genuinely concerned about you understanding the material. The class sizes are never too big, just right for a good learning environment.

  • 04/28/2015

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police officer during school/business hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have endless amounts of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for first time college students.

    Bang for the buck

    For in-state tuition, it it very reasonable to pay for. Of course they offer Financial Aid. The ad-visors will do any and everything to do to help you pay for school.

    What to do for fun

    There are newsletters sent out every Friday in regards to activities happening weekly.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are located everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms. So therefore you can stay at home or apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Students need to understand that we all struggle and fail when we try something new therefore we learn ways to modify what we are doing until we can do it fully and with success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research before applying.

    In three sentences

    The faculty/staff are informative and exceptional. The website is very easy to navigate. This is one of the best technical schools in Gwinnett County.

  • 12/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I had no issues with campus safety, but it appeared to be a very safe place. They have campus police as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not participate in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Gwinnett Tech is great for those who want to get hands on training in order to get a good job. It is also a great place for those who may have a particular field of interest that a regular college would not cover.

    Bang for the buck

    If you put forth the effort, then the classes are well worth the money you spend. To get the most out the instruction, however, you have to have enough time to do your work thoroughly, and it would be best to have some extra time for better reading, studying with classmates, and absorbing the information.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities on campus, but I did not participate in any of them.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small food court in the main building, and Chick-Fil-A is served every day for breakfast and lunch. The dining area looks very nice and clean. There are also plenty of snack and drink machines scattered around. You are allowed to have food and drinks in most classrooms so long as you are neat. Only certain types of classes forbid them.

    Dorm Life

    I can not answer this because there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly difficult - not necessarily to understand, but there is such a great volume of information covered each week along with a lot of homework. In order to do well on the assignments, you must set aside enough time to thoroughly complete each assignment. Be sure to start immediately with any large projects so you don't have to rush and in case you run into any problems. If you are a full time student, then I would highly recommend not working more than 10-15 hours a week so that you have plenty of time for homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are passionate about the field of study that you are entering. Otherwise, you will find the classes and homework difficult to complete. Be honest in all things, and do your work. The instructors are more than happy to assist you in any way possible if they see that you are doing your best and really care and want to learn.

    In three sentences

    All of the faculty that I have worked with are very kind, helpful, and willing to work with you, but they expect you to do your work. The campus is very beautiful, well kept, and clean, and there are always security guards on campus. They have many computer labs, and the library is great!

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Chickfila 12-3

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your Dean. Talk to other class mates about the classes you are about to take.

    In three sentences

    A wonderfully cost efficient school. Most of the teachers really care about you and how you learn. Join the HRT program it is tbe best.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol and I have never felt unsafe here!

    Greek Life

    The Honor Society is fabulous!!

    Clubs and Activities

    You will find most anything you are interested in!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't want to attend a large college or university; students that need to live at home for financial reasons; students that are more serious about classes than college life.

    Bang for the buck

    Truly an economical way to earn a college degree!

    What to do for fun

    Everyone has their own idea of what fun is, but I'm sure you'll find a club or organization to fit your needs here!

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, there is no cafeteria here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard but just as they should be if you want to EARN a degree!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to tour the campus and talk to admissions about what you want to do. If you are not sure what courses you want to take, ask to talk to someone in Career Services so that you can narrow it down to what you are good at doing.

    In three sentences

    The teachers truly care about you and your success! The courses are relevant to your chosen degree or diploma. The campus is not too large, but large enough to have that campus feel!

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is my first year and my classes are basically during the day, there is campus security available, there is always the probability that things will happen so you should always stay alert and prepared in case something does happen

    Clubs and Activities

    Jobs and internship information is available for anyone interested getting the experience they will need for their career field This is my first year and have not had a chance to seek out clubs or activities on campus, however I have gone outside the campus on my own and am doing a few internships that will give me the experience and advancement I will need in my career choice.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable for a Georgia Resident. If you qualify for the Hope Scholarship, it will pay a portion of your tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are several places to go, there is the Sugarloaf Mills was known as the Discover Mills where you can shop and eat. Atlanta is not too far and has many shopping areas, restaurants, 6 flags, the fairgrounds, Atlantic Station, Buckhead and Stone Mountain

    Food and Dining

    There is a dinning area snack machines and there are restaurants close to the campus

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus

    Academic Rigor

    Whatever major you undertake the classes specific towards the major require a lot of commitment and focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early, classes fill up quickly make sure you check to see that qualify for scholarships before you go get to the earliest orientation as possible, tip everyone seems to wait till the last minute because of scheduling issues with work and family

    In three sentences

    commuting distance very close to home easy registration easy access to advisors

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gwinnett Tech does have campus security but they are over the age of 50, so not very much protection.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs or activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are really cheap for someone looking to save there money but you really do get what you pay for and a lot of classes do not transfer to other major colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There were no options for fun things to do or ways to meet people. I don't recommend this school for people who are looking for the real college experience.

    Food and Dining

    There are no options for food other than vending machines. No healthy options are available. There use to be a cafeteria, a small one, but the school did not have the funds to keep it up and running so it was closed.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not very advanced when it comes to teaching education. Some of the staff really know what they are doing others do not. It doesn't feel like professors it feels like high school teachers all over again.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for prospective students would be to register really early because by day two of registering almost EVERY single class is filled and it can be really stressful to find the classes that you may need.

    In three sentences

    About 50% of the teachers I came in contact with at Gwinnett Technical College were willing to help me succeed. Dealing with the financial aid office was the biggest headache I've ever had to deal with. There needs to be more school activities to get into and more options of classes.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student Life offers a lot of great deals and activities!

    Food and Dining

    Close to a few drive thru's

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here!

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough, but great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take too many classes. Online classes are more time consuming than traditional classes.

    In three sentences

    Gwinnett Tech is great! The staff is super friendly. The school has a very convenient location.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I beleive there is one maybe two types of greek clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several types of clubs and activities that you can get involved in. There aren't any sports, but then again it's a tech school so sports isn't their focus anyway.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The math classes are set up different. If you are someone who struggles in math there is a special curriculum that is designed to help you move forward much easier. This program is something you would never expect because it isn't set up like any other math class you've seen and everyone moves at their own pace.

    Food and Dining

    Has a cafeteria, but hasn't served any food since I've attended the school; although, I did hear that they once did. When there is food the kitchen is ran by the culinary arts majors.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of the office at all times and make sure they update your paperwork.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. Great atmosphere. Unprofessional because they constantly lose paperwork which delays chances of getting enrolled.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student Life Center, Discover/Sugarloaf Mills Mall

    Food and Dining

    We no longer have a cafeteria, so the only food available is vending.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always apply for financial aid! Chances are that you will be awarded at least something to apply to classes.

    In three sentences

    GTC is a great college to get your foot in the door. They offer financial aid and loan options, and have a wide array of classes.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems alright

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is any?

    Clubs and Activities

    I am still discovering these

    Great for these types of students

    Local students, part-time students, working students, parents wishing to complete a college degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not have any.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy teaching group fitness at LA Fitness: Boot Camp, Pilates, Body Works, and Club Boxing. If there were a scholarship for this, I'd go for it!

    What to do for fun

    Movies and dinner. At the same time. There are two nearby establishments...Studio Movie Grill and Movie Tavern. Excellent!

    Food and Dining

    I eat off campus, thank you very much!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I am looking forward to returning to school so that I may learn, advance, and seek opportunities in nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Submit your FAFSA early on, so that it has time to be processed.

    In three sentences

    The location is convenient for me, registration is super easy, and the admissions employees are wonderful and very helpful.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have a perfect body that governs safety of students, and staff.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused and hardworking students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Non..

    What to do for fun

    Plant trees and engage in voluntary services.

    Food and Dining

    Have a perfect food court for both students and instructors.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have a dormitory for students.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the best school with high academic record in the state of Georgia.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be hardworking and remain focused.

    In three sentences

    The best college have ever attended.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had occasion to need them, but the school does have patrolling officers.

    Bang for the buck

    GTC is advertised as the least expensive local school per credit hour. The education you receive for that is wonderful. To me, that's a lot of bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, I don't spend any time on campus beyond classes and studying. I'm told some of the club meetings are very entertaining, and they often supply lunch!

    Food and Dining

    At present, beyond the vending machines scattered throughout the campus, there is no real dining. However, there are many restaurants very close by.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Gwinnett Tech is not a show up and pass tech school. It's a school that cares about your education, and for many, the site for completion of core classes before moving on to major universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hold your breath and jump in! The toughest part is enrolling. Don't let fear hold you back.

    In three sentences

    Gwinnett Tech is convenient and inexpensive. It is staffed with caring instructors who want to see their students succeed. Completing any of the available programs will make students more marketable in today's hostile employment climate.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never once have I felt unsafe on campus. There always a security guy roaming and taking care of the campus in every building. The parking lot is also very safe, there's always a police man cruising around campus making sure everything is okay and safe.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any sororities in Gwinnett Tech.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's emails that are send to the students' through their student email, telling people about blood drives or keeping-the campus clean days, that are held by the college. There are also activities by the clubs there, like in key club or science club, they do volunteer work. And mostly, there's also a variety of clubs that are related to the program of study people are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Gwinnett Tech is for everyone and anyone who wants to start their life and careers fast. The programs there are great and really do teach skillful subjects ranging from carpentry all the way to nursing. And all of these programs are take two years or less to complete.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gallery of photos. It's a hallway close to the library in the 100 building. It has the biggest variety of the most stunning pictures. From digitally enhances to simple self-portraits. And all done and taken by the Photography students in our college.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to the fact that Gwinnett Tech is a technical college, the prices of classes is very inexpensive. The classes are about $400. Also, I know for a fact that the credits for classes are transferable all over GA.

    What to do for fun

    There's the Rec Room in the back of the 100 building. It's a place where there's a big screen tv to watch movies, or there two other smaller tvs to play games, and also there's plenty of computers to use there. But mostly it's a place where people go to hang out and relax.

    Food and Dining

    There used to be a cafeteria in the 100 building, but there no longer is. I think it's due to the fact that there are so many food joints around campus. You literally don't drive a mile without seeing a McDonalds or a Chick-fil-a close by. The location is fabulous.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms in Gwinnett Tech due to the fact that it's a technical college, but an adviser at the One Stop did tell me that GTC students do get special prices from the apartments around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I've said before, GTC is really good on hands-on learning. First day, the professors are straight to the point and help everyone start learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    It doesn't matter what age you are, Gwinnett Tech is really good at taking care of its own. They will help you get where you need to be. And even if you don't know or aren't sure they will advise you and help you through every step of your time there.

    In three sentences

    Gwinnett tech is a great college for people who want to have hand-on learning for a two year career. Everyone is very helpful in any situation you're stuck in; whether it's financial or as simple as study tips. People are there to help.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security.

    Greek Life

    There are lots of clubs for different programs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Women in Technology, National Technical Honors Society, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Working, part-time, local resident

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library, theater, or movies. Walk the grounds. Shop at the mall.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria on campus yet. Located near mall and restaurants though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. There is a wonderful student center though.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am in (MRI) is intensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the advisement office if you have questions and you're not sure who to ask because they will direct you to the appropriate place.

    In three sentences

    Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Curriculum is clearly outlined. Beautiful school grounds.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems pretty safe to me. There's lots of people around and it's pretty crowded. But I've never had to hang out after dark or after hours, so I don't know if it changes at night. But in all honesty, there's no reason to be there after hours. Their computer labs close ridiculously early, say six or seven. You better have a computer at home, or you'll never get your work done.

    Greek Life

    I...don't know what this means. We don't have any sororities if that's what this question is about.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any yet. And I probably won't. If I get accepted to my program, I'm going to be a hardcore nerd and study until I drop.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't yet have a college degree. If you don't have one, PELL and HOPE should cover pretty much everything for you. If you already have a degree, they could care less about you. I've done nothing but struggle financially since I tried to attend. I may not even get to go, depending on whether or not I can get some scholarships or a personal loan from a bank. The school won't offer you any type of solution if you're in the same position as I am.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Uh...nothings really coming to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    The core courses are good. Definitely worth your money to re-learn math if your not very good at it. Again, I can't tell you about the actual majors, because I haven't started mine yet.

    What to do for fun

    Again, I'm not in my program yet. I spend most of my time at work. So I'm not really into the student life quite yet.

    Food and Dining

    Very expensive. I always just get in my car and drive to McDonalds down the road. It's cheaper, and tastier. They wanted to charge me something like three or four dollars for vitamin water.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to study and study hard. Chemistry is no cake walk. Pick and choose your teachers. Some of them are excellent and want to help you learn and grow. They care deeply, despite a lot of the red tape that colleges try to tie them with. However, there are a few bad apples. If you get a terrible teacher, switch classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rely on the school to provide you with financial aid. I'm getting virtually nothing from them. I'm getting a very small amount (limited severely) from FAFSA. I don't qualify for anything else, like Hope or the Pell grant because I already have a four year degree. When I went to the financial aid office, they had absolutely zero suggestions for me. My parents aren't helping me, so I've been left to my own devices to figure out how to pay for school.

    In three sentences

    I'm still waiting to get into my program, so I don't know how it is past your core courses. But the very basis courses that they'll have you take are very necessary for almost any field. You'll need to know your math, algebra, sciences like Biology and Chemistry. Don't worry, they teach you every step of the way.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is a complete joke. Do not get caught smoling in the parking lots$500 fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Ambassadors, Student life, any many other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Health Sciences and culinary Arts.

    Bang for the buck

    Over priced for the quality of education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Join 1 of the many clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    No on-campus food service. Fast food restaurants within walking distance of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. Strictly a commuter school. Parking on campus is atrocious.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience as an Accounting major, that most professors could care less about their students. There ae a handful of professors who take an interest in their students. However, that was not the case in the Accounting program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not consider attending if you are not interested in the Health Sciences field. Only attend if you are interested in getting core classes taken for a lesser tuition and planning on transfering to a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    Great school if you are considering majoring in the Health Sciences field. Also good for culinary arts.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at GTC. I recently attended a seminar. A life coach taught us things we need in order to be successful in college and in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you start college , give it your best.

    In three sentences

    GTC is a great school. They give you the necessary tools to succeed. The staff are dedicated to help you reach your goals.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are only club at this school.

    Food and Dining

    only snack machines at the moment.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going to this school you need to be very patient. I feel they do not have enough employees. You also should research things for yourself and not rely on one source for information.

    In three sentences

    The school is great and very educational. The only problem I have found is the people working in the business office are very rude. They also not very consistent with the information of their programs. The advisers are not totally sure what classes need to be taken.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this seems to be more of a career focused school to get you out in the real world with a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    I had originally thought this school had a transfer program that,only to find out that it didn't have one like the other colleges I had found.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say you can save a lot of money by attending this school.

    Will enjoy being here

    n/a