Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Santiago Canyon College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/30/2017

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus police and campus security all over the campus, and in the parking lots too. SCC is in a very safe area. Students walk in the night (in groups of course!) without worrying about their safety.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure that I have seen Greek life over at Santiago.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs, but they have a decent variety of clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    SCC is great for any student! It's great for those who want to get ahead of the game and do well in school. If you need that extra time and attention, SCC will be a great fit for you too. Want to transfer? Come here. The LGBT community is strong here. This campus is much more diverse than other schools places I have visited.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a large garden that displays the different types of vegetation that would occur in different climates of our world.

    Bang for the buck

    WAY more affordable then regular school, especially private universities. I was able to pay for all of my schooling all on my own with my part-time job. Great bang for the buck. You get so much more than what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There's a hiking trail, a park (where you can right bikes, surrey bikes, and have picnics, and ride a little train), and a ZOO! Granted the park and the zoo cost a little money for admission and some of their services, but it's a cute area to visit every now and then. The freeway is only a 10 minute drive, so you can go to some shopping malls and centers too.

    Food and Dining

    They have a little student store and a cafeteria where you can purchase little sandwiches, drinks (like coffee), and salads. There's a little plaza right outside of the campus which comes in handy since there is a market and several restaurants there too.

    Dorm Life

    I've known this place to be a commuter school, so I commute. I cannot comment much on the dorm life, except that I have never, ever experienced traffic over there. It's a quick and easy drive.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors that I've had push you to think about our greater population, and not what's thrown in the textbooks. They make the material come to life. Some professors are harder than others, but I can guarantee you, it is so worth it in the end, when you see all the great grades on your transcripts.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Take advantage of ALL the resources they have. You will be grateful for them. -Try your best! These people capitalize on your strengths and want to help you do extremely well. -Come prepared anywhere you go with questions. The answers and guidance you get will help you immensely in the long run.

    In three sentences

    There are people at that school who want to help you succeed. You will find some great people over there. Community college is so much more than what people give it credit for!

  • 07/02/2016

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety for the students is really well. they make sure that any kind of violent act, discrimination, or etc is handled accordingly. it will not be tolerated at santiago canyon at all.

    Food and Dining

    i have not been to the cafeteria for the school however i heard that they sell good food

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this college, however, "students can request placement with an american host family through santiago canyon college international student home stay program."

    Academic Rigor

    this college has a wide variety of academic courses that vary from fairly easy to very vigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a school i would honestly recommend if you are thinking about attending a junior college. you will feel very welcomed the moment you walk into the college.

    In three sentences

    i would rate santiago canyon college a 9.7 out of 10. they are a very hands-on school that helps their students with any issues they have. the campus id the school is very beautiful and inviting also.

  • 03/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take classes seriously so you can transfer and actually experience college life.

    Food and Dining

    I have never bought any food or drinks here but I know there are several places that sell them. There are vending machines, a coffee stand, a cafe and the student store even sells food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is college so some of the classes are very hard but some are still pretty easy. Its a lot about studying and you definitely get out what you put in. Sit in front, take notes and try to participate and I'm sure you'll do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend coming to this campus as opposed to other local community colleges. It is very clean and has many brand new buildings. There is no smoking on campus and it feels as if the students there actually want to be there and aren't being forced to keep up their parent's expectations.

    In three sentences

    A great school to start out at. Prepares you to transfer and makes it a possibility to get enough units to get out in 2 years. Very clean and great staff!

  • 02/23/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe on campus. I've never seen anything bad happen. In fact, I've left my stuff unattended on tables and it was totally fine. They also email out a crime report to students and have a texting alert mechanism for those who subscribe to it.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't too much of a community at Santiago Canyon college, to be honest. This is mostly because it is essentially a commuter school and students want to take classes in order to transfer out. However, there is an abundance of clubs to join for those interested, and there are club carnivals at the beginning of each semester and ASG (Associated Student Government) events throughout.

    Great for these types of students

    Santiago Canyon College is a great school to aid students in transitioning between high school and university life. It allows for students to truly understand what they love and what they should major in without wasting too much time or money. Students who are determined to do well will definitely find this college to be an encouraging environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none as far as I know.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for a class is around $46 a unit, which is incredibly cheap compared to universities. It's definitely worthwhile.

    What to do for fun

    The area in front of the book store is a nice place to hang out. The library is also pretty nice and modern and ideal for long breaks and naps.

    Food and Dining

    Food and coffee (the essentials!) are available at the The Drip Coffee, Bookstore, and The Hawk Cafe (which may be a little hard to find at first). Prices are a bit expensive but the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. SCC is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, I do not find the academics to be very rigorous, but that may be due to the tough classes I've taken in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit your counselor often and let them know what colleges you have in mind to transfer to. Take classes relevant to your interests in order to pin down your intended major and make sure you're on the right course by visiting the transfer center, counselors office, and representatives at the college fair. Work hard in your classes and keep up your GPA - and don't be afraid to talk to your professors!

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College offers a variety of opportunities in the form of clubs, helpful counselors, an abundance of classes, mostly small class sizes, and dedicated professors. The campus is relatively small, the students there are typically hardworking and want to transfer to a four-year university, and the professors are definitely there to help if you have questions after class or over email. The environment of the campus is pretty nice overall because everyone has a mission and is helping each other achieve it.

  • 01/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Students are constantly exposed to various clubs on campus and the student government is very encouraging in student success especially during finals with activities on the school lawn areas and, my favorite, puppy rooms!

    Bang for the buck

    COMPLETELY WORTH THE COST! I recommend attending SCC for the first two years of your college career no matter what your major is!

    Food and Dining

    A small cafeteria with snack-like food. Great coffees stands with inexpensive coffee though!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    Become a member of the Honor's Program! The class sizes are smaller, you receive priority registration, the professors are spectacular, and almost all of the general education classes every student needs to complete offer Honor's classes. The homework load is not greater than that of a regular class but with smaller class sizes, students are able to establish actual academic relationships with their professors and the learning is so much fun in a classroom designed for discussions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make regular appointments with a counselor (and pick one you like the best) to ensure you are completing the correct plan to transfer into your desired major at the college you want to attend after transferring.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College provides a wide range of classes to help students dip their toes in perspective majors without spending too much money to discover their intended path. Great counselors are supportive in aiding students achieve their desired degrees to earn admittance into four-year colleges and universities. Once a major is decided, professors and counselors both assist students to be successful in the plans to transfer.

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always felt safe on campus. Even after late classes. There are plenty of blue security signal stations around campus. Even though its safe I would exercise common sense and not leave valuables in your car.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has few choices but if you're looking for a quick snack it does the job. Taco bell is a good option for a quick lunch to eat since its right across the street. The campus is a little bit away from things so there aren't many options for dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms on campus. Most students commute to school from around Orange County and Corona.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but definitely doable. You feel like you learned something at the end of the day, which makes all the work you do feel worthwhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best and attend as much as possible. Classes are a lot easier and professors appreciate punctuality. If you only take a class or two per week do not pay for a parking pass. Print one out from the little machines in the parking lot, you'll save some money.

    In three sentences

    SCC is a great choice for many types of students. It is located in a beautiful setting and they are building new buildings that add to the overall aesthetics of the campus. I would highly recommend this school looking for a great experience at a community college.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    financial was awesome, i had $$ left over after registering and buying my books/supplies.

    What to do for fun

    many clubs and organizations from cultural clubs to student government

    Food and Dining

    they have a cafeteria and a coffee shop, the coffee is yummy!

    Dorm Life

    Does not have on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy if you pay attention and do work. also depends on the course

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a community college, but know that its still college and requires hard work and determination.

    In three sentences

    This school has such a pretty campus! All of my teachers so far have been great, and really helpful. There are a lot of people from around southern California that I've met, i love this school!

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol, and just a phone call away! Numbers are posted all over campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are unsure of what you want your major to be, or you are not ready to leave home just yet, SCC is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for your money. Much cheaper than nearby universities. Apply for the FAFSA!

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee cart on campus as well as snacks in the bookstore. There are also many nearby restaurants that offer student discounts.

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of classes are basic general education requirements for CSU's and UC's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register online as early as possible to make sure you get all of your classes. Utilize on-campus resources such as the counseling office and transfer center as much as possible, they are there to help you! Try to take a basic counseling class your first semester to help map out your college plan and career goals.

    In three sentences

    SCC is in a great location in Orange County. The instructors are knowledgable in their respective fields. Classes are easy to get into!

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security can be seen on campus throughout the day with emergency phones easy to get to. Also campus alert system through email and text.

    Greek Life

    non that I know of

    Clubs and Activities

    Woment's Soccer Team

    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to transfer to a university, or to further your education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers, great campus all for a minimal cost per unit.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of their sports team.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard but if you give a 100% it is worth every bit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in the Honors Program for a great education and a road to transferring to your favorite university.

    In three sentences

    Great updated campus that is easy to get to off of many freeways. Fantastic Honors Professors that have great classes and care about the students. Fantastic women's soccer team.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to join at school that allow people to get to know others and form friendships.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and vending machines available on campus. They have a bunch of snacks and sandwiches. They have healthy choices like salads and eggs. The food is also available in the bookstore. They even have spoons and napkins and condiments available too.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school. There would be no space for them either.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study, take notes, and participate in class then you should be fine. Some classes require more work than others but you should not feel overwhelmed. I do recommend doing small bits at a time so the workload does not feel so stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend printing a map of the campus so at least you have an idea of where the buildings are located and after the first fews days then you will get the hang of it. i also suggest studying in the library or using a computer to work on assignments whenever you get a chance between classes. There are printers available for students if they need it.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College is a small community college where you get to know your way around campus real quick. The teachers are great and the staff is very helpful. The library is a good place to study and meet with other students in a room to get a bit of extra help.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus hosts tournaments (e.g. dodge ball), fundraisers and special guest speakers for the benefit of the student to allow them to ease their mind from their usual academic schedule with mind stimulating, healthy, and still educational activities.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafe is average; provides one with any needed snacks and lunches needed in order to get through a day, but there are local places to dine off campus which are a only walking distance away.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't let the small campus fool you, Santiago Canyon College is just as rigorous as other campuses in the area. The professors at this school know the importance of their classes to their students' success, so they prepare each student with the knowledge and skill set necessary for one to transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit a counselor AT LEAST once a semester

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College is a great place to begin your college career. The services at this school are easily accessible and the proper information one needs in order to succeed are easily provided. New renovations are underway to better accommodate the student body, which isn't as high or impacted as other schools, allows for better one on one time with your professors, which is always an option during their office hours.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take major classes first like math, English and science.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Classes are more easy to get into because it's not a very crowded school. It has lots of resources to help students such as free tutoring and more.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Santiago Canyon doesn't have a lot of options when it comes to eating on campus, but it is surrounded by a lot of options from Subway to bigger restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Santiago Canyon College is a community college and doesn't have any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Santiago Canyon are always trying to get your brain working. Nonetheless they are always available to help you whether it's through office hours they set aside for students or by attending the tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend prospective students to always have a counselor help them pick their classes along the way. It is very easy to waste time and energy on classes you don't need and getting help from a counselor ensures that you will get the best class recommendations.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College has some of the most caring professors that want to see you succeed. The school does everything in their power to help you transfer and succeed in the future. Attending Santiago Canyon College will make your transition to a 4-year university as easy as possible.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around! Last year, I locked my keys in my car and killed my battery and they were there in 5 minutes!

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions! Everyone in the counseling office, admissions office, and transfer center makes themselves fully available to you. Your first year of college can be really stressful so don't do it alone.

    In three sentences

    If I was to rate Santiago Canyon College on a scale of 1-10, I would give it a 9. I have loved all of my professors and councilors so far. Everyone truly has your best interest in mind and dedicates so much time and effort.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This campus has become my 2nd home and I grew to love it so much.

    Food and Dining

    The only reason why I didn't give this a higher score because the cafeteria is tiny and I feel like they never carry anything that I want.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms due to the fact that it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing Professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't procrastinate! 2. Ask questions; don't be afraid! 3. Get involved on campus; join clubs or organizations and be a well-rounded student. 4. Go to your professors' office hours! 5. Make friends with your teachers. 6. Take college seriously

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College is dear to my heart. It is one of the best community college campuses where I walked in an automatically felt comfortable. I give this school a 20 out of 10.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are coffee shops on campus as well as the student store. The student store is always a fun place to go to in order to kill some time in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Since this school is a community college the amount of students attending this college is a bit small. Due to this I believe the cafeteria is very small as well, but it gets the job done if you are hungry!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have a map before you attend Santiago College! This school is not very big, but any student coming from high school will definitely be a bit overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon is a small, yet very friendly school. The classrooms are always clean and well kept. Lastly, one of my favorite things about SCC is how helpful the staff is there.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great diversity

    What to do for fun

    I played soccer to Santiago Canyon college in the 2 years I attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think most community colleges are impacted. This college was a great alternative with great academic standing.

    In three sentences

    I am glad I went to Santiago Canyon College. The teachers and opportunities were excellent. The environment within the college was very positive and lively.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very visible and always willing to escort females at night to their cars, though I have never used this service. Campus just feels safe.

    Greek Life

    Probably not.

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't tried these yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated. Clean cut. Value minded.

    Bang for the buck

    Hard to beat $53/credit hour. Very affordable quality education in a beautiful setting from fantastic teachers.

    What to do for fun

    No idea. But just sitting outside in the sun you can strike up some fantastic conversations with very friendly students on this campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not much here for dining. But a few nearby places within walking distance for tacos, pizza, burgers, and subs. Short driving distance (less than 3 miles) to much wider variety of food options.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter campus only.

    Academic Rigor

    Math and English classes I have taken so far are tough, but the teachers are more than willing to provide support if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up if you can't get the classes you want during online registration. Get on the waitlist. If you are in the top 5-7 people on the waitlist, show up to the first day of class. Teachers will give you the add code to enroll. I've had success 4 out of 5 classes with this method. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, great teachers, and friendly students. So much better than high school. People who work there want to be there, and so do I.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always two carts circling the campus all the time. You get to know the security people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are few clubs. I have not joined one personally though.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to walk around in a small campuses. Never rushing to get to the other of the school for class. Friendly people. Its a very quite campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I have heard of about this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You will learn and get well educated in this school.

    What to do for fun

    The community college has small events every semester to help out a cause.

    Food and Dining

    Small place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    The professors make sure you learn something daily, and do not try to make anything impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    When need any help about class schedule or payments, the admission office is always friendly. Ask around if lost in the campus which can not happen because campus is small even though it is expanding. Join the gym now that it been renewed.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College is a great community college to attend. The professors and counselors are always there to help you. It is not as hard to get into a class like the colleges. It is a small quite campus which I enjoy.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out and meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your best and you will get the best.

    In three sentences

    safe, honorable, amazing.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in top of things, don't let all the work accumulate to the last day. Talk to your counselors often, and with the student aid office. Ask about scholarships and the Transfer Associate Degree program.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon is a school that focuses student into transferring. They try their best to accommodate student and allow them to gain the credits they need as quick as possible. The professors have been very well informed and connected.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus! Good area of Orange County, and also has security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs on campus. The clubs range from Art to Science and everything between.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for student looking for Community College before transferring to a University.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a public school, it is low cost tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Very close to freeways, so easy drive to beaches. Also, Disneyland within 10 miles. Major malls and shopping all local.

    Food and Dining

    Local restaurants, close too major market place and dining.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms, this is a junior college. There are several rooms for rent local to the area.

    Academic Rigor

    There are several courses of study. There are many transfer opportunities with a growing curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy campus to navigate. Because SCC is a small school, you get a little more one on one time with your professors. Nice campus to start with before you transfer to big university.

    In three sentences

    The professors at SCC are very interested in student success. The campus is in a nice location. You are able to get most of your classes.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe nothing has happened on campus in decades. The student body is also pretty good; I once left my laptop in a classroom and a student just turned it into security instead taking it.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some sports teams. Our girls soccer team is ranked 2nd in the nation. I know that there are clubs on campus but they don't really do a good job of marketing themselves so no one really knows what they do.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for older people that are looking to get back to school and earn a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't any traditions its pretty boring.

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't really seem like a college. The feeling you get is that its just a place you have to serve some time before you can to your real college or university. But it is cheap and if you're looking to transfer the counselors do a good job of helping you get to where you want to go.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located at the border of the City of Orange so Irvine is not too far away and there's plenty to do there. But the only things close to the school is the Irvine Regional Park which is pretty cool it even has a zoo.

    Food and Dining

    We have a small cafe which is made up of two portable classrooms put together. Its on the outskirts of campus and they sell pizza from a local pizzeria, chips, candy, soda,...etc

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There are some tough instructor especially in the more technical classes like physics. However, in difficult classes students tend to team up and tackle material on as a group. We also have some great free tutors. For the most part you can get by on most introductory level courses without even reading the book.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have an issue getting to places on time I would recommend taking evening classes because parking isn't too bad. Nights and mornings are packed. Always check ratemyprofessor or ask around when planning your next semester; since its such a small school 2-3 teachers will cover a certain subject and you want to make sure you get the best instructor.

    In three sentences

    Its a decent community college and way better than it's sister school Santa Ana College. The instructors are great very supportive and understanding. The student body is pretty boring there are some events such as talent shows but most of the people attending SCC aren't there to socialize; for the most part they students know what they want out of their education and stay on task.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out the new GYM, or join an exercise class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be late, PARTICIPATE in discussions, if you can, do your work ahead when you have time.

    In three sentences

    Small school with great professors. Make sure to join the Honors Program; the classes and interaction with professors is amazing. Also, its not too difficult to get your classes here!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to encounter any security issues during my time at SCC. The security guards patrol the parking lots to make sure that nothing too sketchy happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good number of clubs and activities on campus, but they could definitely be more extensive.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition rate for California Community Colleges is very economical and one of the most inexpensive in the country. Even with the recent tuition spikes, students attending SCC are getting a great bargain for the education they are receiving. For a fraction of the cost of a four-year university, students finish their general education requirements for the first two years of their post-secondary schooling.

    What to do for fun

    There are several things to do for fun here depending on what one's interests are. There is a workout/weight lifting area for those who want to exercise. The library is very nice and an ideal place to surf the web or read for fun in addition to studying. Also, Irvine Park is literally a five-minute walk from the campus and is a great place to partake in all sorts of outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    SCC has a small cafeteria with basic food and drink options for those who want to purchase food from here. It has pizza, packaged sandwiches, drinks, and many types of snacks. The food is nothing to rave about, but it is there if you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, SCC was academically feasible and not too tough. It is good to take advantage of this so that one can maintain a higher G.P.A., which will help when applying for transfer to another school. That is not to say none of the classes were challenging. Several of the courses that I have taken here were uniquely rigorous in their content. Since most of the courses offered here are lower division ones, they are generally not too difficult. This is a community college after all. That being said, I did learn a great deal from attending this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who plan on attending SCC should register for their classes as soon as they are able to in order to make sure that they get the ones that they need that best fit into their schedules. Classes fill up quickly and are usually pretty crowded the first two weeks of class, though they usually thin out a little by the end of the semester due to some students having dropped them. Also, future students should seek to purchase their required textbooks online in order to look for the best bargains and save money. The books online tend to be significantly cheaper than the ones sold directly from the bookstore. Students should try to become involved in clubs and extracurricular activities while attending SCC. Though their list of these types of activities is not the most extensive, it is worthwhile to participate and try to have a fulfilling social life during one's time here.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College is an ideal place for a student to complete general education requirements before transfer as well as earn a two-year degree. The professors are friendly, knowledgeable, and willing to help students who ask for it outside of the classroom during their office hours. Though the school is somewhat crowded during the first few weeks of each semester, a lot of construction has recently been going on that will greatly expand and upgrade the schools facilities which should help relieve some of the aforementioned congestion.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    EOPS is a program that provides free supplies, counseling, and a book voucher :)

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors are not strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the help programs it provides for your classes.

    In three sentences

    What I like the most is the help programs, especially in math and English. Most professors know what and how to teach you the subject well. Every year they had been constructing new buildings, so it is definitely growing in population.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety guards are on campus before the students and patrol the campus parking and campus grounds all day until after every single student and faculty leaves.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at SCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Associated Student Government, Inter Club Council, Phi Theta Kappa, Psi Beta, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who want to go to a small, more intimate school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Santiago Canyon College has MANY new buildings. The E-Building/Student Services building was opened in the Fall 2009, the library was built and opened to the public for the first time during Spring 2010; the gym will be opening this semester in November. These new facilities provide for expansion of the student population and more programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Although budget cuts are being made, and tuition is rising. Santiago Canyon College has one of the most affordable prices for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    I highly recommend joining a club or getting involved with the Associated Student Government. These organizations hold community service events, fundraisers, meetings, and other events for the students and the community around Santiago Canyon College.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe, the coffee cart, and the bookstore offers snacks, food, coffee and other refreshments for the students. It is helpful that they are open late for the night classes and open early for morning classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors program is a rigorous program that provides for a lot of interaction and relatability. I believe that all of the departments, the humanities and social sciences, the physical and life sciences, the english department, etc. are all rigorous and for that reason we have such high accreditation rates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to appreciate how much the faculty and staff do for the students. Many of them volunteer their time over the minimum amount that they are required to provide for the students. Meet with a counselor every semester. Meet with a transfer specialist a whole year before the semester you are planning to apply to colleges.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College has an amazing administration, faculty, and staff that works hard in doing what is best for the student body. The college has a high success rate in completion of programs and in assisting students in completing their educational plans. It has a very high transfer rate of students from this college to 4-year universities and I am proud to be a part of this community.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Run cross country

    Food and Dining

    Its a simple cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a cousenlor before you decide your classes. Have a plan ready!

    In three sentences

    I love this school. Its has a low student population. Friendly staff that is always ready to help.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    expensive

    Academic Rigor

    take as many classes

    Tips for prospective students

    work hardtake a

    In three sentences

    good teacher and all my classes are fun and small environment which i like

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is constantly patrolling the parking lots and campus to ensure we are in a safe and comfortable place. They are very helpful men and women eager to fix a problem.

    Greek Life

    I can't speak much to this because I am unsure if community colleges partake in the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have several sports teams and academic clubs on campus. We also have a student ran government which I hear always does great work!

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for any type of student. With its offerings in online courses, regular campus hours and night classes, it's easy to fit in your education around your life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't been there for a long time and haven't noticed too much of that going on. I am in class and in the library so I don't take notice as much as I should.

    Bang for the buck

    With tuition rising everywhere, you have to do everything you can to make every dollar count. At Santiago, they have an amazing library and counselors and courses taught by highly educated me and women who want you to succeed. Its a great environment for learning and you will get what you pay for; trust me.

    What to do for fun

    It is a short distant to some great parks and hiking trails. Its always nice to get in some outdoor type exercise in a busy school week.

    Food and Dining

    A ton of eateries around campus. I am a nutrition major and most of it is fast food so I generally bring my own food to school with me.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college that caters to the commuter. No dorm life but most people aren't looking for that.

    Academic Rigor

    School will always be what you make it. Study hard and attend class and you are setting yourself up for a great experience here. It offers many upper division courses that will challenge the mind and prepare you for a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything you can to meet with counselors and figure out a plan for getting your degree or getting you transferred out of there. We have many amenities that go unused, so ask questions and utilize your time there wisely!

    In three sentences

    A stepping stone for my future. It houses a helpful counseling staff eager to see me succeed and a faculty ready to help me achieve my goals. Its expanding campus is modern, and easily accessible; its a win for anyone

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a more affordable to go here than it is to go to other big universities.

    What to do for fun

    Make lots of friends and get involved in the activities!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. They have all kinds of vending machines and even sell Starbucks drinks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on-campus or off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are a bit challenging but with hard work and effort, anyone can finish them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the tours that they offer and don't be shy, the staff there is very friendly.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for those wanting to get their GED and then transfer. It has a good variety of classes for all kinds of majors.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school tries really hard and has lowered crime but there still is some, especially for night class times. Though the staff will always make you feel as safe as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly I find that some of the classes I have taken here have given me more information or even just confidence in my own mind then I know some people get from going straight to a four year college/university.

    What to do for fun

    This campus actually has a great location it's only a couple miles from downtown Orange as well as Irvine spectrum where there is plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is not very much to choose from on campus just some vending machines and one small cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    This isn't to say most won't find the academics difficult but to honestly put that if you have any trouble the professors are more then willing to help and there is on campus tutor programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on becoming part of SCC's student body, I believe that anyone can fit in just fine. The campus is very easy to navigate and the staff for the most part very kind. The simplicity of this school makes the transfer from high school or ever returning to school much more warm.

    In three sentences

    There is nothing very special about this particular city college. However, I do find that it gets me what I need and when I need it. There is no shortage of classes, which makes finishing an easier task.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a secure campus, but not so much that it is scary or feels like a prison.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have quite a few clubs and hold a good number of events that are always quite enjoyable.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get their A.A. and transfer to a 4-year university but also have a good experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I have found it to be a great experience attending Santiago,

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs and participating in sports are fun things to do, but otherwise, the Irvine park is right down the street and Peter's Canyon is not far away either. So if you like hiking and nature or picnics, then you are in luck.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small food place on campus, but there is a strip mall with food places right down the street and you get a discount with you student ID.

    Dorm Life

    Well, there are no on campus or off campus dorms, and no near by apartments that I know of, but public transportation there is decent.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be academically challenging, depending on the amount of courses and the course choices, but from my experience, its rather manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend this college, make sure to talk to councilors about your academic college plan, they can help an enormous amount by guiding you in the right direction. If you plan to transfer, talk to the transfer center, the staff there are super nice and will help you a lot. Also, if you want a certain class and Santiago does not have it, you may find that class at their sister college, Santa Ana Community College. You can sign up for any of the classes there as well.

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College is a small but growing campus full of smart, passionate, and caring professors. The faculty strive to help students achieve their academic goals and future aspirations. The campus life is full of activities, events, and clubs, making it a great place for the social type.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Check out all the student discounts in Student Services!

    What to do for fun

    **Coming soon**

    Food and Dining

    Haven't spent much time here, but I have seen the plethera of microwavables, salads, and energy drinks galore.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus, unless you count me sleeping in my car between classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the new campus and all it has to offer.

    In three sentences

    A small campus, easy to navigate. A core of professionals waiting to help. I good place to scope out the full horizon of educational opportunities awaiting you.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in. But there are many to be involved in.

    Dorm Life

    No On Campus Housing

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can't get into a class. Put yourself on the wait list. Show up for class the first day even if you aren't on the wait list. Instructors want to add you!!

    In three sentences

    Excellent professors and resources. Friendly student services staff.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    there are many fun activities held on campus

    What to do for fun

    join clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the MASH and stem program and use the librarians

    In three sentences

    Santiago Canyon College is a beautiful campus located in a great community. The librarians love and are willing to work with you as much as needed. Santiago Canyon also has many great tutoring options on campus.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    right down the hill from a bunch of food places and grocery stores.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms. it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your homework. study. don't party too hard.

    In three sentences

    i love the campus. it's on the smaller side and it's intimate and it has decent class sizes. the teachers i've had have all been very interested in helping students. i really enjoy my time here.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is located in a very nice area and security is always on patrol in the parking lots. since my two years at scc i have not seen nor heard any type of altercations or problems with the safety of the college's students.

    Greek Life

    there are no fraternities or sororities at this community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    all current clubs are very active in the community and provide a place for people with similar interests to come together. student government is another amazing activity that has completely changed my experience at scc.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone is a great fit at this school. as previously mentioned, there is a lot of diversity on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    a university quality school with the price of a california community college.

    What to do for fun

    there are always on campus events occurring but if you're looking for something else to do in between classes, there is beautiful hiking just around the corner in santiago oaks regional park (also known as irvine park).

    Food and Dining

    there is a small cafeteria and that is about it on campus. there is, however, a local grocery store as well as a few fast food places and restaurants right across the street.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are relatively tough, but then again it is college. what makes it easier on the students is the high quality of professors at scc.

    Tips for prospective students

    become active in scc's associated student government or any club on campus, and take advantage of the support services and counseling. joining asg has allowed me to make many new friends, become informed on current issues concerning the college, and know that i am making a difference in the college and community. one of the biggest mistakes i see people make is not taking advantage of the counseling, transfer or any other support services on campus. they are extremely helpful, they will help guide you through stressful situations and processes, and will see to it that your college experience, including transferring if you intend to, will go as smoothly as possible.

    In three sentences

    it is a great school with even better teachers. there is diversity on campus, a friendly environment, many great support services including an extremely helpful transfer center, and not to mention a great location! i would highly recommend scc to anyone searching for a university quality education without the expensive costs.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCC is great for students who do not have the money to pay high tuition costs. It is also great for students who like small, clean campuses. If you're unsure of your major or if you're set on your career path, SCC is a great school for you. Really, it is a great starting point for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor as often as you can, even if you already know what you want to do with your life. Make sure to get an AA only if it is necessary because once you receive an AA, SCC will no longer grant you financial aid. This is perhaps the only negative comment that I have about SCC.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a serious student and work to pass your classes, then the amount spent is definitely worth the academic experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the best things about SCC is that it is not a large college; it is a good size and it is easy to become familiar with. The teachers here are often incredibly understanding and easy to talk to; I have only encountered one teacher that I believed to be difficult. With my other professors, I have become personally acquainted with them. I have met many great students and faculty in my few years here.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken quite a few classes at SCC and I feel as though I have retained a large portion of what I have studied. I have taken anything from Psychology to English to Human Sexuality; the wide range of classes offered really makes SCC a great learning environment. There are quite a few good teachers, as well. The low teacher to student ratio really helps with the learning process.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everybody, from those fresh out of high school, people who want to learn something new or get a certificate in a field, people who weren't able to go to college when they were young, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Buy a parking permit. A day permit is cheap at $2 but eventually will be more than the permit itself. And they do have campus security who WILL ticket you if you're parked without one.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition has gone up since my first semester here, it's still a reasonable amount, especially when you consider what other colleges are requiring! Plus financial aid is always an option. The best thing that helped me out was applying for the Board of Governors fee waiver. It basically wiped away what I owed for tuition and I just had to concentrate on the rest.

    Did enjoy being here

    Some of the students were still young, and acted like they didn't want to be there. But once I got into my major classes, those were the people who were really serious. I definitely recommend finding the serious students to study with and work on group projects with. Otherwise you may find yourself with my work than you bargained for.

    Did learn a lot

    My major was Business and I enjoyed those classes immensely. I only wish I could have had a different Accounting teacher - I found her teaching style dull and hard to pay attention to.