Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security everywhere you'll definitely be safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs and organizations to get involved in

    Food and Dining

    They change it up from time to time and the food isn't that bad.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing although it would be great !

    Academic Rigor

    Very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep pushing forward, work hard, and no giving up!

    In three sentences

    Olive Harvey is really a great community college. My school is really helpful and would like all of their students to succeed . Having fun and gaining the education I need to obtain my degree.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive, but it is good for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all professors are the best. Make sure you ask your academic adviser if the professor is good and get some feed back from students who had the professor. Also make sure your final grades match with the grades that your professor gives you. Other than that, the class is very good the student body in each class is average and great in the use of resources in tutor and library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before register, make sure you arrive early because it takes all day for them to assist you. Make sure you get some feed back before registering for class. It is a good school to get your generals done and the tuition is inexpensive.

    In three sentences

    Some of the professors who has experience in teaching are great. The financial aid office is not very good you have to have patience for them to assist you. Olive Harvey is a good school to get your basics done and is not expensive.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall the Campus is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a budget friendly College to take your general courses at then I would recommend Olive-Harvey or any other local community College. That way your two years spent at the University taking your major courses will not be that expensive.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good education for a low budget.

    What to do for fun

    Does Not Apply

    Food and Dining

    Does Not Apply

    Dorm Life

    Does Not Apply

    Academic Rigor

    Although the professors at Olive Harvey are very good, if you are looking for a more challenging academic rigor, then I would not recommend OHC for this.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend before taking any classes with any professor to check out the following website: www.ratemyprofessor.com. At that website you will hear from previous students about their experience with each professor they took in class.

    In three sentences

    I highly recommend Olive-Harvey College due to it's reputable professors there. The time that I was there all of my professors were very good (i.e understanding, teaching methods, etc...). I can not say enough about OHC and my experience there was very memorable and rewarding.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of Security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Choma Arts. Basketball, Baseball, PTK, SGA, Businessman Club, Men of Distinction, Veterans Association, Choir to name a few there many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Student unsure of what they want to major in. Students that can't afford to go away to school. Student reentering school after a long break.

    Bang for the buck

    Yees it is with cost of college now days.

    What to do for fun

    Student Center for Engagement, Clubs, Sports.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria/Canteen on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Average. Some classes harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the clubs and student activities. Get to know the faculty and staff. And most importantly ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The school has some good teachers and staff that want to prepare you to continue your education at a four year college/university. They also have certification programs for those who are just looking for a career like: Microsoft Office, Cab Driver, and Emergency Medical Technician to name a few. They also have program for people whose jobs require additional training or people just looking for a refresher course.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is beyond expensive, fast food is cheap- salads are weighed and charged per pound.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard whatsoever

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose night classes, nice and calm students and enjoyable environment.

    In three sentences

    Financial Aid office is awesome, will do everything in their power to help you. What I didn't like was the fact the guidance counslers are not very good at all. Student are not serious about their school, meaning they interrupt your learning, NIGHT CLASSES are better.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    no fun just learning

    Food and Dining

    the food here is very good and offer a better variety

    Academic Rigor

    I rate this college an with 5 starts

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus on the tasks at hand and is you need help, dont be afraid to ask, a close mouth don't get feed

    In three sentences

    I am pround and honored to be attending olive harvey college, they really take care of you if your willing and able, they will help you with all your need, there were times when I wanted to give up ,but teacher s and staff encourage your to continue, and also give the necessary pushe needed to go further.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Securty are all around the campus.

    Greek Life

    Olive Harvey don't discriminate anybody

    Clubs and Activities

    None other then joining the panther program were they offer activities for students to join

    Great for these types of students

    Students can get asses to the gym, cafeteria , computer lab and pool for free

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have 1 library and more than 3 open computer labs also they have a gym pool and cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    It really saves you money and will have your degree in less than 3 years.

    What to do for fun

    Students can go to the gym or join panther program

    Food and Dining

    It has a well clean cafeteria but don't have any restaurants

    Dorm Life

    It does not provide dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    The community college is a distinctly American contribution to higher education. Nowhere else in the world can one find such commitment to access to higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The bus takes you in front of the school, their is student parking lot, and their is security everywhere.

    In three sentences

    Olive Harvey is a good college to attend because teachers provide good quality teaching. Olive Harvey provides CTA U-Pass for full time students. You will have your degree in less than 3 years and with low cost.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to activities they have during the year Go to events that will help you in the future

    Food and Dining

    Food is good at Olive-Harvey

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers is very nice Classes are good Teachers are willing to help at anytime

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have good help Good preparation for college and the future Good Degree programs

    In three sentences

    Olive Harvey is a good college It is very helpful for the future They care about your success

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Art Club TV & Radio Club etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to transfer within 2 years

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join or create. There aren't many sport activities however if you like basketball it's the place for you

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is pretty the pricing is a bit high for college budget. So I only eat there twice during the week.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes haven't been that hard so far. As along as you study and have your supplies for class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early if possible. Stay Focused on your goal. Study hard.

    In three sentences

    Olive-Harvey is a good school as far as classes. The professors are usually helpful and accommodating if you have certain needs.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All the security on campus are retired or off duty police

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a lot of different clubs for students to join including a new one geared toward the advancement and education of minority males called Men of Distinction

    What to do for fun

    I like to go out to the movies and to the beach, in my free time I spend it with my family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food at here is great but is not fit for the budget of a college student.

    Dorm Life

    Olive-Harvey does not have dorms but they would be a good Idea because there are alot of students that are currentlly homeless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should try to make as many friends as possible and meet with advisors at least twice a semester.

    In three sentences

    I believe Olive-Harvey College is a great two year school to begin ones education. The advisers are very helpful and the faculty are all very inspiring and intelligent. Above all you can really tell the people at Olive-Harvey have the student's best interest at heart.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I study for fun sometimes, go out to the movies, talk on the phone, and hang out with friends and families.

    Food and Dining

    I dont know. I haven't attended the college yet.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not living on campus. My home is to close to be paying money when I can just go home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have no academic rigor or its unknown so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go there and be on the ball game just like you would if you was at a 4 year university. College is not a game so please don't take it for granted.

    In three sentences

    Independent Focused Take charge

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    10-The saftey on campus is great, every turn he/she makes there's an officer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not at this time

    Great for these types of students

    The patients of all my instructors, that I have had.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When my classes are over I go home, like I have always done, even in my younger days.

    Bang for the buck

    10-I waited so long to go back to school, because I wanted to help my children get though school, to have a productive life doing what they like to do. So at this point in my life, I am following a dream that I have had for a long time. So I have to get all the help I can do in paying for my dream.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my children and grandchildren.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be determine, set your mind on something that interest you, and you will succeed if you work hard. Do not let no one make up your mind for you, because this mean you are doing it for them.

    In three sentences

    I personally think its a great school to get started in. Like myself I have not been in school in over thirty years. I have to take a lot of coures that I took in high school over again, because it has been so long.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the strict guards are very strict when it come to securing the facilty. i once never was able to enter the building without proper identification; therefore, i feel safe.

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa is an honor society and you have to be academically competitive to be a member.

    Clubs and Activities

    student government association is a great club to be a member of because it allows you be in the know of who's who. it also helps you engage more in the school activities.

    Great for these types of students

    the type of students that fit olive-harvey would be mature, precocious and focused. this school is know for being the panthers, i suggest you come to school with an aggressive attitude on learning.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost for credit hour is $89, great education and for a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    i mostly study and look forward to class discussions. #fun

    Food and Dining

    they do not have tasteful dining area remote to the school. except for the cafeteria food it is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    i currently live off campus with my parents and its great!

    Academic Rigor

    they have challenging teachers that love what they do and that is to teach. you must be willing to learn and speak up in class or you will be left behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    become well acquainted with those in leadership and set yourself apart from the mediocre students.

    In three sentences

    olive-harvey has challenged me to be a critical thinker. i have learned a vast of information in my first semester there. i'm looking towards a brighter future with my studies i've learned.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at some city colleges is good. I have only had the food at Olive Harvey. Olive Harvey's food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for city colleges. City colleges are only for 2 years. This requires students to have an apartment of live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Olive Harvey has good academic programs. City colleges are only for 2 years. This requires students to have another plan to further their education after he/she graduates.

    In three sentences

    Olive Harvey College is an awesome 2 year community college. City colleges give students a chance to get a start on their career earlier than attending a 4 year college. City Colleges also gives students the opportunity to earn 2 degrees in 4 years.