Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cowley County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/09/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i already feel like family! i have been at cowley for four days and love it. for some reason it won't let me capitalize my i's.

  • 11/09/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Luckily for me, I have not needed the security on campus, but I have seen the vehicles driving around the campus. They patrol the area so that one can feel safer while walking on campus and the lights shine fairly brightly once nightfall hits.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that one can choose from depending on the specific taste of the individual.

    Great for these types of students

    For those students fresh out of high school and looking for a small start to their larger goals in life.

    What to do for fun

    There are signs posted around the school about upcoming events that students are welcomed to participate in during their time at Cowley.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to eat on campus which include the cafeteria and the tiger deli. While I have not eaten at the cafeteria, the Tiger Deli has a wonderful amount of choices to choose from and is delicious to try.

    Dorm Life

    I have not explored the dorm life at Cowley College because I live near by the school. Still, from what I have seen and heard, the school has fairly reasonable ways to deal with any dorm issues that may arise from roommate disputes and keep the area fairly clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very proud of how honest they want their students to be and will remind students of what is considered academically wrong to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students wanting to attend, remember to be on time to class and be prepared to take notes. While many of the teachers will help you when you are struggling, there are tutors that will help you as well. Also, remember that the school offers many services, so be willing to accept some help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    Cowley County Community College offers a fairly cheap route to continue one's learning. Many of the teachers are nice and willing to help those students who are struggling to understand the material, and for those teachers that do not help, there are plenty of services offered to do the job for them, The atmosphere is one of a nicer and calmer environment that is devoid of messes.

  • 09/21/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe and campus security is very nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many amazing clubs. At the beginning of the semester there is a church/club fair, so you can find out how you can get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great JUCO (Junior college) for homeschoolers, shy students, and people who just love smaller class sizes. This college is also great for students who need a little extra help from teachers that really care.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the teachers. I feel like I am receiving a high quality education at almost no cost to me. If this were a four-year college, I would definitely continue my education here.

    What to do for fun

    There is something fun to do for everyone! You can watch TV or just hang out in the Jungle where you can play ping-pong or pool. There is WIFI (but it is not the best) and plenty of accessible computers so you can do anything online. They have a free movie night sometimes at the theater. There are intramurals and plenty of clubs you can join. There is a wellness center (fitness center), which is only $25 membership for a full-time student and if you ever want to get you hair done, eyebrows waxed, mani/pedi, etc,... there is a beauty salon with very reasonable pricing.

    Food and Dining

    I must be honest, I did not eat the cafeteria food. I do, however, eat at the tiger cafe and that is some good food!

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, not in the dorms. I have not heard anything bad about the dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, it's challenging. Work hard, work smart, and you will be rewarded. There are very few classes that you cannot get an A in if you are trying your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and ask lots of questions. Don't wait! Find out about great clubs, programs, and scholarships from current students. Remember, even if you miss a deadline, there is always next semester, so plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    Cowley college is affordable and accepts virtually everyone. Cowley is small, which makes it ideal for getting to know your teachers and classmates. Although it is a small campus, and very affordable, Cowley offers plenty of activities for all interests, as well as opportunities to be a part of the community.

  • 11/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have never felt uneasy.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have wonderful NS a wide variety of clubs for lots of things.

    Bang for the buck

    Very low tuition rates and most courses transfers to 4-year universities.

    What to do for fun

    Cowley offers lots of things to do. The have games and dances and more.

    Food and Dining

    I don't use the facilities.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are relatively easy paced. I take the accelerated (2 month) courses and I still have lots of down town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with an advisor, know all your options. This community college has so many opportunities for everyone to a cell.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college. Lots of opportunities to help further your degree. Great class sizes and fabulous educators.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security at Cowley is wonderful; they are so nice and will help you out with any problem you may have. The Ark City police station is not even a mile away from the campus, so that even made it more of a plus for my parents.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few groups that will pay for your books and tuition, and all clubs are glad to see new faces and will welcome you in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with goals will do great at Cowley; as well as, students that love to meet new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the cosmology school building on the very top floor there are ghosts haunting it, and no one goes up there unless they have to.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the fact that I can get the same college experience at Cowley for the fraction of the price is amazing. Living at home for college was not the ideal situation for me, and the low cost of Cowley helped me get all the knowledge and have the college experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events that clubs set up, and give free stuff to the students; thats the fun of college. If there is free stuff it usually a fun event. Get involved!

    Food and Dining

    As a raw vegan, their dinning hall is not exactly for me. Many of my friends on the other hand absolutely love the food, and would rather eat there than at home.

    Dorm Life

    They have a dorm for students that maintain a 3.0 GPA that are much bigger than their usual dorms. Each dormitory has RAs that set up nice activities so that everyone gets to know each other. In addition, they also have lounge areas where people can hang out and watch T.V.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really care for their students as long as you also put in the effort. They will stay later for you and if they can they will set you up with a tutor. The classes have more of a high school feeling with the college work; therefore, you can wing yourself off of the spoon feed high school ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    As any college should Cowley takes underage drinking seriously; many students get kicked out of their scholarship program and even dorms. There are loads of groups and clubs too keep out of trouble, so get involved.

    In three sentences

    Big enough to where not too many people know your life, but small enough to where the teachers know your name; that is what makes Cowley so nice. Being an hour away from all the crazy of a big town one can really dive in and study. As College says All the knowledge without all the cost.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security available all dorms are locked 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    Math and Science Creative Claws Diverse Tigers Art Club FCA many more

    Great for these types of students

    everyone who like a small class size feeling.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount you pay is half the cost of most Colleges, and many students are on books and tuition scholarships which pays about half of all the costs.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different things to do for fun we have many different activities coordinated by student life including hypnotists, hot air balloon rides, laser tag, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. There are always many different options for those who don't like certain foods!

    Dorm Life

    Amazing!!! the Dorms are very large in size for a dorm room and everyone feels like family on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but attainable, the teachers are willing to put in the time and effort to help you achieve the grade you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the classes that will best suit you and follow through. Do not start a class and decide that you do not want to take it anymore and just drop it, it will only make you feel bad.

    In three sentences

    Cowley County Community College is a college that has a very home like feel. Everyone is willing to help you as much as they possibly can. The academics at Cowley are stellar.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 security.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities and clubs have a big influence in the student life.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a variety of students here. Anyone is welcomed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Queen Arkalala in which they nominate top notch sophomore girls and the student body picks a queen every year.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a small town therefore you don't spend much money.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out int he dorms and chill with friends. Go to the park or even go to the near city pool.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better but they have a large variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Nice environment, a lot of variety and comfortable dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing is given to you. Work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask any questions to your professors. Do not assume.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus. The professors are willing to help. Very competitive at sports.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have 24 hour campus security that for instance if you lock your keys out of your room you can call and they will let you in, if you have to walk across campus at night or something you can have them take you where you need to go so you don't have to go by yourself, the guys are very nice as well!

    Greek Life

    They have no Greek life :(

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all kinds of clubs and activities not as many as you would see at a university though

    What to do for fun

    There really is not much to do for fun in Ark City, they have a bowling alley and lots and lots of parks, a swimming pool, a skate park, and lots and lots of restaurants. on campus they have a place called the Jungle that has pool tables and ping pong table and an area with a TV and couches

    Food and Dining

    I honestly don't have a problem with their food but most people say that they hate it. It is run by different people so they have some very strict rules and are not afraid to kick you out. Another thing is that they are only opened certain times of the day for each meal and sometimes they are very crappy hours especially if you take any night classes

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life really varies from which one you live in, some of the dorms are really old and kind of crappy but they have 2 really nice ones, one of them is the honors dorm which is one that I was lucky enough to stay in and the other called Central and it is the newest one and it is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    They do a fabulous job of helping you succeed in all you do!

    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion for prospective students is that you try and get out and meet people, when I first started I was a loner and never even tried talking to anyone and now I have so many friends and they are all awesome! Also I understand that Arkansas City may be a druggy town and all but that dose not make the school terrible

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love being here at Cowley. The staff are fantastic and they do everything they can to help you succeed in school. I wish that I could finish my degree here!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras everywhere on campus and 24/7 security officers. They live in the guys dorms. The campus is always lit up so you will not be walking in the dark. The dorms even have cameras which most colleges do not have.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs out there to join. No one will be left out. Activities are all the time we even have intramural sports to join. Most of the school is athletes, so we like to stay active.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition, you really are getting a great deal for your money. This is the cheapest tuition I have seen and you can literally get scholarships for anything. Cowley is basically handing you money, which is great.

    What to do for fun

    We have a movie theatre, but you have to drive to it. The tickets are six dollars, so that is pretty cheap for a movie. We do have activities on campus and clubs to join. Being in a sport really helps with being bored. There is a gym to workout at for free if you are a student. We normally have movie nights in our dorm rooms and everyone brings snacks. It is basicallt like living on your own.

    Food and Dining

    The caf food is not that bad, but if you are a health freak the only thing to eat is salads. There is always desserts for you to eat. If one day you don't want to eat at the caf there is a mexican restaurant that is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice compared to other colleges. They are a decent size and you can choose from three different colleges. There is docking which is the basic dorm, then the other is Kimmel where the advanced students can go to, but that is a more expensive price. Next are the living off campus, called lodging where you pay for everything, but can still eat at campus. The dorms are also seperated by gender so boys and girls do not live in same building except for kimmel. The dorms always come up with things for us to do, we have awesome dorm managers. Also, laundry is for free so that is definitely a bonus. There are no community showers, two rooms share a bathroom together. You do have to do the cleaning yourself. In the Kimmel dorms they have there own bathroom to a room and are much larger. Lastly, there is a dorm curfew. On weekdays opposite sex has to be out of the dorm by 11:59 pm and on weekends 1:59 am. If you are not out you are fined and no opposite sex is aloud to stay in each others rooms, which will result in another fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers really care for what is going on in the class. They are actually there to help you and prepare you for life or a university. Classes are not hard, if you go you should pass. There are tutors available for all classes. Cowley also has a lot of majors to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    The things that you should be aware of is the location and what you want to do with your life. If you want a small classroom this is definitely the place to go. Teachers are there to help you and actually care where you are gonna go in life. It is a small town, so you need to be aware that there will not be much to do. The prices are amazing it is so cheap compared to other colleges.

    In three sentences

    Cowley County should be rated as 8 on a scale from 1-10. There is not much to do here so if you like going places this is not the place for you. Also, the tuition is really cheap so that is great.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Arkcity has a very nice and new movie theatre, their sporting teams are ranked nation wide and are always enjoyable to watch, and the small town atmosphere always has great rural activites for the country kids to enjoy!

    Academic Rigor

    Cowley is a great example of getting what you give. While you are able to get by with fairly little effort, the knowledge is here and being taught if you choose to take it.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you put forth effort, you can and will succeed at CCCC!

    In three sentences

    Cowley has a beautiful and very well updated campus in small Arkansas City, KS. I have also had some remarkable instructors, ones that truly inspire you to be the best student you can be. On the flip side of that, there have also been instructors with very different views and morals then myself and they haven't been afraid to express them.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see security guards around a lot

    Great for these types of students

    Cowley is well blended with many international students. It seems to be a great school for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    AMAZING. Great education, great price.

    Academic Rigor

    This would be a 5 star but I've had two instructors that either hated teaching or hated students. Maybe both. The majority 0f the instructors are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a lot of financial aid available. Talk to the faculty in charge of the department your degree is in and they will help you with financial aid and planning your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Cowley County provides excellent instruction at a great value. I have been very impressed with how my studies have been personalized.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Come for the education, stay for the small town charm.

    Food and Dining

    There are not a lot of places to eat close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    Great! Clean campus and safe dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Competitive with U.O.P Associates with a third of the cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read all you assignments and utilize the library!

    In three sentences

    A higher education you can depend on at an affordable price. You will find helpful financial aid and many resources. Another major perk is the high quality teachers, I have attended 5 colleges and this is by far the best!

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security, and the dorms are locked with a dome monitor on site.

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Lambda Business, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society,

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic civic Engagement, Activity awareness, Math and Sciences, Phi Beta Lambda Business club, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Skills USA and more

    Great for these types of students

    They do not have a football team. Otherwise, they have a really good technology center. Pre-engineer, business majors, chemist etc. are just some types of majors offered. Pre-engineer has a 2+2 program with Wichita State University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unable to assess

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is reasonable and you can take online classes as well, which is another option. Any dorm resident earning a 3.5 GPA or higher will be award $500.00 toward next semesters dorm expense. Free High Speed wireless in every room, laundry, in each dorm, free cable

    What to do for fun

    Unable to rate. The community has a community center and various entertainment is provided on campus through their theater and arts department. Movie theaters are within the community setting.

    Food and Dining

    Dining room is clean and spacious. Various food choices, but easy access to other restaurants in the downtown area.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean and dorm monitors are on site. Easy access to classes

    Academic Rigor

    Cowley college has 80+ majors of study, and students must maintain an appropriate GPA to maintain status in specific majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have an ACT score that is above 20 especially in English and Math. Always, tour first to get a feel, if you will fit into the campus culture. Ask questions and understand that you are now paying for a service.

    In three sentences

    The college has a nice campus and some of the buildings have been recently renovated. The campus is in the heart of downtown Cowley County, which provides easy access to public transportation. The dorms are spacious and clean and it felt safe.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good, located in a small city not much crime at all

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Capa, Math and Science, book club, and a few others

    Great for these types of students

    independent and eager to learn

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    the cheapest community college in the area

    What to do for fun

    head to wichita

    Food and Dining

    only vending machines

    Dorm Life

    didnt attend the main campas. mulvane location doesnt have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    they want you to succed, they provide tutoring but that is it. all extra help you have to find.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a layout of your classes and if your not sure what to take talk with a concelor.

    In three sentences

    It is a satelite school but has the acedemic level of the main campus. Most teachers are great and willing to help. The admissions office is very helpful.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mulvane is a small town and I feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mulvane campus has poor selection of clubs. The only two I know of are Phi Theta Kappa & Math & Science Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Because of the small classes, it would be good for fresh out of high school students or returning adults. Students can get more one on one help for instructors.

    Bang for the buck

    Cowley is one of the less expensive community colleges in South-Central Kansas.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of places in Wichita to do things.

    Food and Dining

    I did not live on Ark City campus. The Mulvane campus is near Derby & Wichita where you have a wide variety of food selection.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a science major and there are instructors who are easy and some who make you really work for your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you already think you know what major you seek, I recommend researching exactly what classes you need especially if you are transferring to a 4-yr. the advisors at Cowley are great at helping you pick out your classes mostlybfor Cowley degrees but it's also best to know for yourself

    In three sentences

    I attend/attended the Mulvane campus. The campus is closer to my home than Ark City. It offers most of the same classes as the main campus. There isn't much for clubs or organizations.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    i didn't live on campus but from viewing the dorms and hanging out with friends that did, they are nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved on campus!

    In three sentences

    cowley is a wonderful community college to attend before going on to a university. teacher to student ratios are small so there is time for one on one interaction. teacher's get to know their students and care about their progress.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had a problem on campus, but i am not there all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everything here! and if there isn't, it is pretty easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    homeschooled kids would love it here. also, anyone who wants to get into college without being overwhelmed by it.

    Bang for the buck

    this place is great for people who don't have money to blow. it is even in the motto, all the knowledge, half the cost

    What to do for fun

    cowley is constantly doing stuff to make this small town more fun. they do all kinds of stuff from dances to bowling to bringing in live game shows. and that is just the tip of the iceberg.

    Food and Dining

    there is some really good food here! not a lot of choices, but some really good food.

    Dorm Life

    i couldn't say for sure. i lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    you will be challenged, but there is no class here that is impassable. most of them were so much fun that i didn't even notice the learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get into the impact program. it is, by far, the best student support system ever created. i would not have this gpa without them.

    In three sentences

    this place is a small, close-knit family. everyone is willing to help you any way they can. a great place for home-schooled kids especially.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town students Athletes Students who plan to be active with their school

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are looking at all colleges that you might be interested and make you visit the campus! A lot of the time that is the deciding point for many students about to attend college. Everyone needs to make sure the campus is what they were hoping for, as well as the staff and students are helpful and friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Cowley is a junior college of course it is cheaper. I feel that even though the cost has been minimized, you still get all the benefits. The advisers help you stay on track for the next school that you are planning to attend. And as I said earlier, the teachers work very well with the students. Also, Cowley puts on a lot of activities throughout the year. Many of which are free to the students attending CCCC. There are free movie nights, free bowling nights, and there are entertainers that come onto campus about once a month. We have had music artists as well as a hypnotists.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Cowley College. I feel that being active in a school helps you to meet other students. I am a captain on the Dance Line and I am also a student ambassador. I enjoy helping those high school students and other students check out Cowley College. I am also not a huge fan of big towns. I enjoy Cowley because it is in a smaller town, which makes me feel more safe. However there is still always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers work with each student. The classes are small therefore each student gets more one on one time with those teachers. Most teachers know extra ways to help break down material for the students to understand.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Desire small class size highly active variety of classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't turn town a college option just because it is a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes definitely, the scholarships are great and the price for dorms are perfect.

    Will enjoy being here

    the campus tour was great, the people where all extremely nice. For the short amount of time I was there it already felt like like home.

    Will learn a lot

    Wish I could say something here but i have yet to take any classes yet, i will be next semester. However, I have only heard positive things from former students.

  • 02/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    Tips for prospective students

    It's the better community college in the area for both academics and athletics.