Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

East Mississippi Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/04/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    An almost too quiet campus where the main focus is football, and taking freshman and sophomore classes.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Great for these types of students

    Wish to transfer to a 4-year undergraduate university. Do not have enough economic funds. Want to work and study throughout the school year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus events like sport, theater productions, concerts, the library, clubs, school organizations and clubs like chess club, instrument club, dancing club etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose wisely and calmly. Attend campus events. Contact the school advisers.

    In three sentences

    It offers help to every student, who wishes to pursue a major there. They can help by transferring students to a better university, by fulfilling the requested requirements. They offer financial, emotional help to overcome the bad economic and psychological situations, students are going through.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. Dorms are not provided at the campus I attend.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but willingness to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early.

    In three sentences

    So far everything has gone smoothly and any questions have been answered in a timely manner.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    EMCC has a wide range of activities. One activity that is my favorite is movie night. They have movie night every Wednesday.

    Food and Dining

    Some days, the cafe has excellent food, but I would recommend more food choices. For an example, more vegetables and fruit. Friday is the best day for me because they have fish. Simply Delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! A student get to meet and maybe become friends with their roommates. Also, a student get to leave whenever they feel like it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at East Mississippi Community College are not hard, if a student apply themselves. They have wonderful classes that flexible around your personal schedule. Also, they award the students who have excellent grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are searching for a small college to go to, I think East Mississippi Community College is the best choice. You will not only meet friends, but also teachers who are genuinely and constantly helping you to reach your goal. Also, if you thinking about finding a job in your major, their career services are excellent resources.

    In three sentences

    East Mississippi Community College has excellent career services. They are helpful in finding a job for students who are searching for employment. Most of all, EMCC is dedicated to improving the lives of the students and community.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing here at EMCC. the cafertia does a tremendous job letting you know the menu. They take the time to send an e-mail out listing specific foods they will be cooking throughout the entire week. The food is also fresh. The workers cook your food right there in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    I do not life in the dorms so I can not offer any personal detail about that. From what I have heard from other EMCC students that the dorm life is great. There are a lot of people to meet. You get the feel of having your own home and rules.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at East Mississippi Community College is great. Considering that the school has grown in huge number each year. More and more students are applying every year to get the best college education possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I can give is to make sure that you apply for all the scholarships and grants that you are qualified for. You never know if you will recieve anything but it is definitely worth the time and effort that you put into it. Keep in close contact with you counselor, he or she will become your best friend when you have specific questions that you need answered quickly, and I can promise you will have questions.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are absolutely amazing. The financial aid office works deligently to bring you knowledge about scholarships and upcoming grant deadlines. Last but certainly not least the cafteria food is to die for.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students are allowed to use the old football field and the gym to play sports. Student Activities also hold intramural sports for students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and the grill in the Student Union are the only two places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorms on campus for men and women. However, the best dorms are honors. Though security is tight, they offer a more close-knit community between the students who live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor pertains to your major at EMCC like at any college. However, the electives you may choose are amazing. My Volleyball/Tennis class was a treat for my first semester of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students: do not imagine a larger university if you are thinking of attending EMCC. The rules are much more high school oriented and you will not have the freedom of a larger college.

    In three sentences

    I am a freshman at EMCC and so far it has been a treat to attend. My classes are easy and manageable, and my professors are fun and engaging.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every building has a security guard and they are very visible on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I live in a town that has a major university. I feel I had a much better experience at Emcc that at the university because the ratio of teacher to student is smaller. The teachers were much much more accesible, and it was cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Nearby towns that offer lots to do

    Food and Dining

    Good food and lots of places available to sit and enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at the satellite campus I attend

    Academic Rigor

    4 out 5 stars in my experience

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for finanicial aid as soon as you can. Apply for classed early to get which class you need.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful learning experience, small classes. and very afforadable for our area

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe while on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for commuter and military students. They have two main campuses and a couple satellite campuses for students.

    Bang for the buck

    It's great!

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, Student Government, Choir, are among the popular choices.

    Food and Dining

    Since I live at home, I don't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, so I can't say anything about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college, so it difficult. They are preparing students to enter the workforce and to proceed to other institutions of higher learning. Just keep on top of class work, and every thing will work out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. Do your research first. Let your first year be the time for you to get the basics out of the way then decide on a major. Don't wait till the last minute to register for classes--- they fill up fast. The same goes for financial aid--- fill out and submit your FAFSA early.

    In three sentences

    EMCC has provided a great experience for me. Everyone I have come in contact with has been extremely helpful and professional.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can always attend one of our many championship winning athletic teams, or you can travel to Meridian or Starkville to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has its days just like any high school. You have a wider selection of choices however, and can eat as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty decent. They are not new, but they are not worn down either.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes I took were pretty easy compared to the Advanced Placement classes I took in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an attitude that is eager to learn. The school is not as hard as everyone makes college seem. I truly enjoyed my freshman year here at EMCC.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school to attend. Teacher's really care and try hard to help students. Its a peaceful environment to be apart of and the sports teams are great.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to be distant from home and trying to start fresh on their careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore other options. If you do not know what you want to do with your life at all, then go to EMCC.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was alright; it felt just like a passageway between high school and a tinge of college/university.

    Did learn a lot

    Not really. Just mostly repeats from high school so it was pretty easy.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Home-bodied types of people, people who like small school atmospheres, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since this is a small school, try getting to know people before talking about yourself. People at this school will try to scoop out the weak.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as the tuition, its OKAY.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not anything to do. But they ARE building a new student union. Hopefully this union will bring new entertainment.

    Am learning a lot

    This school teaches you responsibility right off the bat. It teaches you about invidiuals, teachers, and about yourself as well.