Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lenoir-Rhyne University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/06/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do in Hickory, like bowling, going to the mall, and other shopping. The surrounding areas of Hickory are also nice to visit.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different options for dining.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and commute daily.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will give you a large workload, but not to the extent that you cannot handle it. The teachers want you to learn and make themselves available should anyone need help. Students will be well rounded by the time they are finished with school.

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I eat in the cafeteria occasionally and for the most part the food is good. It has improved since last year and the staff is really trying to get opinions on how it can be improved even more. There is a variety of food in the cafeteria, it's all you can eat. Then we have a coffee shop, subway, and a grille. If you want to eat off campus there are a lot of choices that are close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Currently I am taking 18 credit hours, and at times it can be stressful when trying to get everything done all at once. For the most part though, professors understand you are taking other classes so it isn't usually too much of an overload. Most assignments are directly related to the course objectives, but every once in a while we have assignments that branch out from the typical stuff.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir Rhyne University is a wonderful school. The professors and staff make an effort to get to know you, and they really care about your education/plans for the future. The curriculum is so broad so you get a really well-rounded education experience that will help you in the future when you're looking for a job. I love how close-knitted the student body and staff is on campus. It feels like you're going to school with family. The professors all know their information and are very passionate about the subjects they teach.

  • 01/08/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus at Lenoir-Rhyne. The security guards are visible on campus. If a student finds themselves at the library late at night, they can call security and get a ride back to their dorm.

    Great for these types of students

    Lenoir-Rhyne University is a great place for students who need to be recognized by professors. At Lenoir-Rhyne you are not just a number in a class, the professor knows your name and is easy to talk to if you have any problems at all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Charge is the rather large bear statue in the middle of campus. One of the quirky traditions at Lenoir-Rhyne is to put items in the open mouth of the Charge. In the winter, the Charge can often be found sporting a scarf and hat.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Hickory has many exciting places to go on the weekends. Downtown Hickory is a cute place to walk around on Saturday morning. Many festivals take place downtown, such as Octoberfest. The Catawba art/science museum is within walking distance of the school. Backstreets is a great restaurant that is also within walking distance and a favorite among students on Friday nights. There are always sports games on campus where you can cheer on the Bears and have a good time with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are limited, with only the cafeteria, subway, and grill works. The cafeteria does not have very good food all the time and I will usually forego the cafeteria and go to subway for meals. There are not great healthy options, except for fruit.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms at Lenoir-Rhyne provides for a far better experience than commuting to the school. It is easy to make friends that live on your hall, and there is always an activity going on in the lounges where you can take a study break and relax with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Lenoir-Rhyne are in depth and thought provoking. The professors not only want you to learn the course material, but also how to problem solve and think critically. If a student does not understand a concept completely, the professor will work with them and explain things because they believe in helping students grow in learning.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne University is a tight knit community that feels like a home away from home. The professors know their students and are willing to help them in any way that they can. The clubs provide a wide variety of things to do, including transforming the campus into a winter wonderland.

  • 12/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a shopping mall, bowling alleys, etc. Hickory is a very small area but its not far from places Charlotte or the mountains.

    Food and Dining

    I love subway that is on campus. I always eat there or buy groceries for the dorm room. There is a starbucks and bakery that is being build in spring 2015.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on which dorm you live in. You do get to interact with a lot of people from your class.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at this school especially the science and nursing majors. Professors always want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Know where your classes are a day ahead -Get opinions on professors before you take their class -Naps will become your best friend between classes.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne is a good school if you want a small population and interact with professors on a personal level. Professors really do care about your grades and want you to pass their class. You have to make your own fun though around the area.

  • 11/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The lighting system just got updated, and security is willing to escort you to your dorm at any time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a wide variety, and they aren't exclusive based on major. A science major can write for the newspaper, or a business major can be in the swing dance club; it's all based on what you're interested in.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the downtown area, or attend events put on by the campus (there's a lot of them!)

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is generally decent, and the grill and Subway on campus is good for some variety.

    Dorm Life

    The quiet and visiting hours are generally followed. The rooms are a good size.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors actually care about you learning not only how to do stuff, but how it can relate to other classes and real life. The workload is not unreasonable, but it is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of the large sticker price. They have lots of scholarships for a wide variety of things: athletics, academics, and music, and practically every student gets some form of aid.

    In three sentences

    It's small, but that makes it feel more connected rather than restrictive. There's a religious presence on campus, but it isn't forced on students. You really can get to know the faculty and staff here, and you can join a variety of clubs and activities.

  • 07/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security officers on campus, and they are just a phone call away. If you get lost walking, and need a ride back to your dorm, if you are up late studying at the library and you don't feel safe walking home they will pick you up and drop you off at your dorm. If you lock yourself out of your dorm. No matter what the situation campus security is available for you.

    Greek Life

    There are four wonderful Sororities on campus Sigma Kappa, Kappa Delta, Delta Zeta, and Zeta Tau Alpha. There are two wonderful Fraternities which are Theta Xi, and Pi Kappa Phi. Greek Life at LR is not about partying and drinking, but I'm saying this as a member of LR's Greek Life system it is truly an environment about sisterhood and brotherhood, learning leadership, and participating in Philanthropy events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. If you can't find a club you want to get involved in then you can easily start another club on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Lenoir-Rhyne is located in Hickory, NC. In Hickory there is quite a bit to do whether it is going to the mall and walking around, or going to Club 5, or any of the other night clubs around Hickory. LR also works with one of the local movie theaters to put on a free movie night every month, and Thursdays when there is a home Hickory Crawdads(local minor league baseball team) LR students get in for free. There is also CAB(Campus Activities Board) that hosts many events throughout the year such as the Red Carpet Event, Exam Cram Breakfast, guest speakers, etc. . .

    Food and Dining

    There are four dining options on campus. You can eat in the Caf, which is buffet style, there is a wide variety of food everyday. There is the Bear's Liar which offers two different dining options Subway and the Grille Works. Subway and Grille Works offer meal equivalency, and you can pay with Bear Bucks or money. The last dining option is the Cup's Pup in the lobby of Fritz-Conrad.

    Dorm Life

    There are two options for Freshman living on campus that is Morgan Hall which is hall style, and Isenhower Hall(also referred to as Ike Hall) which is suite style. For Sophomores and above you have four different living options you can live in Price Village which is 6 and 15 person Townhouses, you can live in the Living Learning Center(LLC) which is apartment style either 4 individual rooms a common area and bathroom or 2 double rooms a common area and a bathroom. You could live in Fritz-Conrad, which is the hall style upperclassmen dorms. If you are with Greek Life or Honors Academy you can live in one of several houses across campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are not going to go easy on you, their job is to challenge you intellectually. They are going to push you to give your best work. The professor will never give up on you, unless you show that you don't care, and you don't want to be there, then the professor will give you the F that you earned. You're not going to coast through LR, it is going to take work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whenever you come and visit LR, listen to your tour guides very well. They are all very knowledgeable of the school, their job is to tell you about campus, and make you feel very comfortable at LR. If you do decide to come to LR, then make sure that you set up relationships with your professors. The professors are not your enemy at LR, and they are going to want to help you out as much as they possibly can. There is a few people that you have to meet around campus, and if you are coming for a tour anytime soon, ask your tour guide about Pastor Weisner and Dean Fisher. They are two wonderful individuals that are there to help you no matter what you are going through, and they will always remember your name. The Freshmen dorms are not the greatest places on campus but can be very comfortable if you are willing to put a little work into making them comfortable. Overall though the thing you should know best is the relationships you make at LR are going to be lifelong.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne is a wonderful place to be. As with everything in life you get out of it what you put into it. Professors are your friends at LR, and will do whatever they can to help you out.

  • 04/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour security that is a phone call away. They can help you if you're locked out, hurt, need a ride to the doctor but don't have a car, or even if your power goes out in your on-campus house at midnight (that's happened to me).

    Greek Life

    We have Kappa Delta, Zeta Tau Alpha, Sigma Kappa, and Delta Zeta sororities. We have Theta Xi and Pi Kappa Phi fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have some great clubs that you can become involved in. If you're interested in leadership, LR offers many opportunities to lead in campus organizations. It's also pretty easy to start your own organization and make a difference!

    Great for these types of students

    If you're religiously affiliated, LR has a great religiosity with several on-campus organizations. We are Lutheran affiliated as a school, but you don't have be Lutheran to come here! Athletes! We have won the SAC conference championship in football 3 years in a row, as well in Softball, and most recently in Lacrosse. Leaders! You can lead an organization in any academic year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a plaque that you can stand on outside of the Belk Centrum building that when you speak, it creates a strange echo that only the person standing on the plaque can hear. It's super cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Lenoir-Rhyne offers several opportunities that larger, public schools can't, so that is priceless! LR also offers several scholarships to students based on merit and athletics.

    What to do for fun

    Charlotte, Asheville, and Boone are all within 1 hour away. Lake Hickory has public parks, and is a great place to go fishing. There is every chain restaurant you can think of (pretty much) in Hickory as well as stores. There are bowling alleys and movie theaters, one of which is the Carolina Movie Theater that offers showings for a great price because it shows movies that have already left the main theaters. Lenior-Rhyne's Campus Activities Board is really active on campus and they throw events for students, this year, we have had free movie nights at the Carolina Theater, a foamapalooza foam party, bounce houses on campus with snocones and cotton candy, live performances, and many free giveaways for students. The Hickory crawdads games are also about a 5 minute drive from campus.

    Food and Dining

    We only have 4 dining options on campus. The cafeteria, or caf as we call it, is buffet style, but some of the food is questionable. It is all you can eat, so if you're really hungry, that's the place to go. We just got a Subway on campus, which is great if you have money to spend, the options they offer for meal equivalency are slim, and you can only get a 6-inch sandwich, chips/apples, and drink for it to count as a meal swipe. This is one area that the school should significantly improve upon.

    Dorm Life

    We have 5 dorms to choose from and several houses that belong to the Honors Academy and Greek life. As with all other things, dorm life is what you make it! If you have a great roommate or suite mates and you choose to do things together, it will make for a better experience in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is really easy to get into Lenoir-Rhyne, but your class experience is what you make it. If you don't want to challenge yourself, your professors won't challenge you. I am a straight A student, but it isn't easy. If you want to do well at any college, you have to put in some effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't trust the food on your visit; they are trying to impress you. Do trust your tour guide, they are current students, and they really love Lenoir-Rhyne. There are always people who have negative things to say no matter where you go, so come up with your own opinion before you decide what you think about our school. Talk to our school pastor (even if you're not religious), he'll never forget your name if you actually come to LR; he sent me a personal thank you card for committing to Lenoir-Rhyne and never fails to have a conversation with me when he sees me on campus.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne is like a family. Many opportunities are provided to all students at LR that are not provided at larger, public universities such as doing undergraduate research and presenting it, running for executive office positions in clubs and programs, and building your professional network through close relationships with your professors. Although the school is small, it offers a huge payoff in the end!

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security here to protect students. What is amazing is if you are in your building and you want to get to another building at night and don't want to risk your safety, you can call security to come pick you up and drop you off at your destination which is COOL!!

    What to do for fun

    People like to print out papers and tape them to doors at the classroom buildings or on the bulletin for everyone to know what event is happening. There have been events such as Super Smash Bros contest or fundraisers and movie nights. Many things to do here at Lenoir-Rhyne is to exercise. LR provides access to their workout room and there is also a swimming pool that only LR students have access to.

    Food and Dining

    Lenoir-Rhyne provides excellent service in foods. They actually take samples of what they cook and store them in a cooler for weeks that if anyone was to get sick, theyd go back to that sample and find what was contaminated in it. They always ask what should be improved and what food everyone is interested in. The lunchroom provides lots of desserts, pizza, ice cream, entrees and etc.

    Dorm Life

    It is very fun and warming to meet others! Many people will leave their door open if you want to meet them. Sometimes in the dorms there is game nights and people just play their game consoles and etc.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many types of classes whether in a classroom or online or even outside.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lenoir-Rhyne University provides many events across campus such as convocation, which provides students many aspects of intellectual, personal, creative and hands-on learning. There is also movie nights here and bingo at times. There are so many majors that Lenoir-Rhyne offers that if you were to change yours, it is possible because most classes you take are already required for many majors. If you can't decide, Lenoir-Rhyne can direct you to career management and they can speak with what you are interested in and if they don't have the major you want, they have sources to direct you to another school to achieve your goal. Every year there is always a new major or minor that is added. Everyone here is also friendly and willing to help!

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne is always expanding to increase the knowledge across campus. I would give Lenoir-Rhyne a high five because professors care for their students. Lenoir-Rhyne does a great job at helping you in tough situations such as money or career decisions.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, bowling, service projects, dining at restaurants, go to Asheville, concerts, park, bible study, exercise, swim, go to the lake, visit the mountains, shop, read, midnight runs to cookout, go skating, hang out will other students, and arts and crafts projects with friends.

    Food and Dining

    If I could rate this lower than one star I would. I have eaten in the cafe a few times and the food is decent. There has been a few exceptions where the food is good but I once got a piece of fried chicken that was cooked all the way. The bear's lair offers better food and there is a subway but the there are not many food options on campus so many eat off campus. There is not a microwave to heat your own food. (Well there is one but I wouldn't recommend since it looks like it has never been cleaned).

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I do not live on campus. My rate is based on commuter life. The parking lot close to the main academic building is small and often filled once I arrive to school. The other parking lots are further away but still close to the buildings. The campus is rather small so walking isn't as bad but it does get old. If you have a three hour break before class, commuters normally hang out in the library or get food. There really is no decent area to relax and chill during a break. The student center has poor lighting and the cub's pub is usually loud and has a distracting environment. If you make friends with those who live on campus, chilling with them would be ideal. I don't mind being a commuter especially since I have a room to myself and I can eat real food.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many majors that rigorous. The main ones are education, business, and nursing. Many other majors are strong and students who have graduated have been able to find careers in that field. As part of many majors, an internship is required which prepares students for the work field. There are some majors that are not challenging but many of these majors are going to have their curriculum changed which will be beneficial.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely ask questions and talk to students at LR. Ask them what drew them to LR and what they have gained from college. Step out of your comfort zone and talk to professors. Everyone one at LR, from the students to faculty and staff, love to speak with prospective students and offer some of the best advice. I would advice prospective students to visit the library and academic buildings since that is where you will be spending most of your time. Don't forget to check out the student center to see events are happening. This will give you an idea of student life and activities are available.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne University receives a 7 out of 10 for amount of student activities. Student participation in sporting events receives an 8 out of 10. The academics at LRU receives an 8 out of 10.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, theirs dodge ball on certain days. Joining a club or organization. There is a fitness station

    Food and Dining

    At Lenoir-Rhyne we have a buffet style cafeteria everyday having something new (sometimes). On campus there is a Subway and like two cafes. I enjoy the food here.

    Academic Rigor

    In any new environment that one moves into things are going to get hard and challenging. In Lenoir-Rhyne, thanks to the teacher to student ratio, teachers are able to have an easy one on one session with students and they encourage one to ask them for help always saying that their office doors are always open for a student that is struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for new students is to get involved, not just to go to classes and then go home or to their dorms and end up not doing anything else for the day. Lenoir-Rhyne offers many clubs and organizations, even intramurals sports to participate in.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne is a small private university thus giving it a family style life since classes are small and the staff is very helpful to one. In the small time that I have been here I had made some new friends since Lenoir-Rhyne made sure to have activities were all the new students would participate in to start to loosen up and meet new people. Due to the small classes the teacher to student ratio is very helpful for one if they are struggling in a class.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city of Hickory is all around and movies and wal mart and clubs always have activities going on

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good for campus food and staff very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice for freshman dorms and upperclassmen, just enough room and the people and RA's are very friendly

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very challenging and easy at the same time.you work for the grade you want

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved in any organization you are interested in and never be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a small,quiet campus this one is it. The professors and students are very friendly and helpful. It is a great place to go.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hickory has plenty to do. Downtown is a great area to check out, with always something going on. There is a local farmer's market weekly on Saturday mornings, sometimes there is live music on Friday nights, there is a movie theater that has showings for $1, and there are plenty of bars and restaurants. Other areas besides downtown have activities also, such as the mall with plenty of places to shop.

    Food and Dining

    There are only a few options for dining on campus, but they are pretty good. One option is located in the common area of two residence halls, and includes a sandwich shop as well as coffee.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, a couple of residence halls are nicer than others. But they are all safe and have laundry facilities and are a short walk to anywhere you might need to go on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is challenging, but I know I am being well prepared for going into the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan a visit to make sure that Lenoir-Rhyne is for you. An open house is a good way to both see the campus and talk to representatives from financial aid, housing, the health center, as well as from your academic department. Check on financial aid early, and make sure to fill out the FAFSA.

    In three sentences

    Overall, the LRU campus has a great atmosphere. It's small but charming, and you can easily get where you're going in no time. The staff is also helpful, and Hickory is a nice city.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this campus is beyond safe and secure. We never have issues of crime here

    Greek Life

    Greek like at LR is honesty terrible... we have two for the guys and i think three or four for the girls. only 9% of students are involved in Greek life. But we also have tons of Clubs that may mimic Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    LR has solid Varsity sports teams (needless to say football at LR is awesome!) we have just about every Sport for both male and Female. We have an Equestrian team. And we have clubs ranging from dodge ball to quidditch :) ... to grapelling. LR is open to any idea of student clubs so you can easily start one!

    Great for these types of students

    students looking for a smaller school with hands on teachers and friendly people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an odd tradition of Dressing the Charge, which is a giant statue of the black bear. One time Playing Carson Newman In football someone placed an eagle in the charges mouth! We also have a all you can eat midnight pancake breakfast before the exams for all you crammers and hard workers :)

    Bang for the buck

    LRU is a private school so it is expensive in state or out. I think that the college should have more to offer for its price.. but i promise you will not regret it here!

    What to do for fun

    hickory is a small town but you are not far from hikes, mountains, and ski resorts. We have awesome Pizza joints and such. Lenoir Rhyne also has its own movie theater in Fritz-Conrad

    Food and Dining

    Everything is great here! we have a burger cafe and a subway coming in summer of 2013!

    Dorm Life

    freshmen have a choice between two dorms that are so-so to good.. you can choose Morgan or Ike. Morgan has community bathrooms and its own AC in each dorm (its pretty awesome and you dont have to clean your own bathroom like in Ike) Ike is a bit older but it equals out in the end if you like total and utter quiet and privacy. Ike is for students who really want a lot of privacy. I strongly recommend touring both dorms to get a better feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on how you apply yourself.. we have small classes so it is great to get hands on and one on one with your teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the campus!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Everyone knows each other and everyone really gets along. Don't be fooled by the Lutheran Denomination, we have a wide range of students with various beliefs. Lenoir Rhyne has an amazing community and a rich history

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good and informative!

    Greek Life

    Huge Greek life, many different organizations to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    LR is big on student evolvement. So many different thing you can join and attend.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student but I have many friends that love dorm life. It gives you that first sense of independence, and allows you to meet and interact with a wide verity of people.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important faculty and professors are willing to help you succeed in any way they can!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the religion based school scare you away! Yes we're a Lutheran officiated school but you can believe how ever you chose to! If you come from a small high school look at LR because of the student teacher ratio!

    In three sentences

    Love the small atmosphere, makes me feel like I am more than just a number! Teachers have one on one time with students.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus phone alert system so that in the event of an emergency students will be notified immediately. Security also offers rides to students late at night.

    Greek Life

    We have many greek organizations that work to raise awareness for a wide array of charities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Crusade for Christ, FCA, BSA, Ratio Christi, Circle K, two deaf organizations, Nu Generation Gospel Choir, A Cappella Choir (which does an international tour), many Greek organizations, Lutheran Student Movement, the school newspaper and Yearbook Staff etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the largest statue of Martin Luther in the world! Our football team is back-to-back SAC champions. Pastor Weisner or P-Weezy once did the Soulja Boi at halftime at a basketball game for a Circle K fundraiser. He also has a list of all student's names which he uses to pray for each student personally throughout the week.

    What to do for fun

    Hickory is FULL of restaurants. The Carolina Theater, or affectionately known as the Dollar Theater, is a great place to enough movies on a college student's budget. Our Campus Activities Board even sets up nights where LR students get in for free and are given a complimentary free popcorn and drink.

    Food and Dining

    There is ALWAYS a sandwich station, pizza bar, waffle maker and salad bar to choose from aside from Chef Eddie's specialties.

    Dorm Life

    One of our Freshman dorms is newly renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    With our new curriculum, students are required to do a Capstone Presentation and partake in a year long First Year Experience freshman course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour with one of our Bears of Distinction to really get a feel for campus. You might even run into Pastor Weisner who will instantly become your friend and tell you all about LR's rich history.

    In three sentences

    LR feels like home. LR has a helpful staff because of its small size. LR has a unique curriculum because of its goal to produce well-rounded students.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security keeping an eye out for our students and their property. Its a campus student can and do feel safe to be on at any time.

    Greek Life

    There is an ample amount of sororities and fraternities to choose from if deciding to become a part of the Greek community.

    What to do for fun

    I'm in a organization called CAB (Campus Activities Board) and they help host events for the school. So join an organization, go out to eat with friends, or even ride the Greenway Bus on a random saturday to see what Hickory has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Any cafeteria has it's ups and downs, but the food is good. I enjoy eating in the Bears Lair there is a variety of options to choose from plus I don't have a meal plan to eat in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorm is nice it keeps you involved in what's going on, on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Lenoir Rhyne is a great institution when it comes to academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep your time advised wisely. Party but not too hard! And join an organization or sport team to stay involved.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very homey. The class sizes are small enough for students to receive individual attention and not just be considered another face. The students, staff, and locals are all very friendly.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lenoir-Rhyne University is a very safe campus. There is 24/7 security throughout the campus, and at night the campus is well lighted. You honestly feel safe walking throughout the campus, even during the night.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students who are looking for a college that is friendly and welcoming. It is great for students who are trying to get equipped for the many years that lay ahead, and want to take advantage of the opportunity.

    Bang for the buck

    Lenoir-Rhyne University can be very expensive, but there are many scholarships that are available to students. There are also loans and grants available that can be very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different groups and organizations to get involved with around campus. There are also many student activities that go on through out the week. Something is always going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Since I am a commuter, I do not dine at the university often. There is a bear's lair, which is like a little cafe. I have eaten there a few times, and it is quite convenient in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, so I do not know first-hand what dorm life is like. I do have a lot of friends that live in dorms, and I do spend time in the dorms. From what I have seen the dorm life is great, and you meet a lot of new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Lenoir-Rhyne University provides an excellent environment that is conducive to learning. It challenges students in the way they think, and challenges them to think outside of the box. The university challenges students academically, while providing the resources and tools necessary for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lenoir-Rhyne University is a wonderful selection to include in your top choices of where you would like to attend college. The best advice I can give someone that wants is going to attend college here would be to get involved. Take advantage of the opportunities available around campus to get involved, and it is a great way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne University is a warm-welcoming campus with very friendly students and staff. It is a university that will challenge you in your academics, while providing you will the tools necessary to succeed. Lenoir-Rhyne University is equpping their students for the many years that lay ahead of them.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very good at Lenoir Rhyne security is on duty 24/7 and always there to answer your calls.

    Greek Life

    Their are several different greek life groups that you can join at the Lenoir-Rhyne and they always have activities and they have very good information if you are planning to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different clubs you can join from gospel choir to campus activity boards, no matter what you want to do or be apart of you can always find something that you would like.

    Great for these types of students

    Lenoir Rhyne is great for social students, motivated students, and religious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unsusual tradition that I would say is the different religious style.

    Bang for the buck

    Lenoir-Rhyne is definitely worth what the cost, you get a great education with the small class sizes and you also have better opputunities to get help from your professors.

    What to do for fun

    At the Lenoir-Rhyne campus there are always activities that you can do to occupy your time from chapel to just going to check out a sports game.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many various stations that you can choose your food from depending on what you would like to eat that particular day. I think it is very good that the cafe here has so many different options you can choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Lenoir-Rhyne is a very good experience, you know all of the people in your dorm because of the small school and everyone is very nice. The dorm directors and hall directors do a great job at making sure that everybodies need are met and they also make sure to plan little activities so we always have something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Lenoir Rhyne are very rigorous you just have to have the time managment and motivation and your teachers and classmates can help you through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming from a big town get ready for the small town life.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne is a very small school, if your from a small town it makes you feel like you are right at home. With Lenoir-Rhyne being so small you know everyone around campus and you are able to make a lot of friend. Lenoir-Rhyne has great academic plans and very good class sizes.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations that will keep you busy that is also fun. Hickory has a lot to offer students.

    Food and Dining

    I eat off campus as well, but the food has excellent reviews. They also have fast food and papa johns pizza.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but from my friends that are students there say that the dorms are great and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very academically challenging, but you are ready for you job when you graduate. The school has a 100% pass rate. This pass rate alone is reason why people should go there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for an amazing experience and a wonderful education. Getting your education will be challenging, but it will be worth it from Lenoir-Rhyne. There is also many resources available to students at LR.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne University is an excellent school to receive an education. The faculty go out of their way to help the students. I have attended other colleges, and LR is the best college out there for people to go to.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very important here . There is always a security guard on duty that will walk you to your dorm/room if you want , unlock your door if you forget your keys , or walk you to your car.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of fraternities and sororities here . I cant remember the names of all of them but there are plenty to choose from if you would like to be a part of one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone at some point becomes involved in one or more of the millions of clubs/activities here at Lenoir-Rhyne. There is something for everybody.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang out in the lobby downstairs , go to the cafe , go to walmart , the mall , or just hang out in my friends rooms .

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good here. There is a large variety of food that everyone can eat. And it changes up so you're not eating the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Everyone knows each other and everybody keeps their room doors open and welcomes everyone into their room. Being able to visit each others rooms/dorms and just hang out is really cool

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is good. It just depends on how much you will apply yourself towards your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lenoir-Rhyne is a very peaceful and nice place to be so always keep a smile on your face . Anytime you need help you can just ask anyone walking by you and they will help you with whatever you need.Wear comfy shoes because walking around campus is definitely some exercise.

    In three sentences

    Lenoir-Rhyne is a very exciting place to be. It also has a very homey feeling to it.And its never boring here.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good for on campus and daily tasks

    Greek Life

    Only two fraternities and 4 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and organizations to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, or education

    Bang for the buck

    A steep price for an experience that might be found elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in Hickory as well as go to Charlotte.

    Food and Dining

    It starts off great yet can be dull at times.

    Dorm Life

    I have met some of my best friends in my dorm hall and it is a friendly environment.

    Academic Rigor

    A great balance of in-class and out of class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with your teachers and be willing to meet with them. This way they know you came to learn and do your best.

    In three sentences

    A great small college that gives students the opportunity to explore and thrive. An excellent academic environment with dedicated staff. A place where you have memorable moments.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, and it's good hanging out with friends, however, the school is placed in a town where there is nothing at all to do, so boredom still becomes a problem unless one wants to drive a really long distance just to do something for the night. Most of the time you have to entertain yourself.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible and unhealthy. I have heard so many students complain about how they once ate at the cafe, which is the only place to use our meal points, and they got food poisoning, so they had to spend a lot of money to eat at the Bears Liar, which has better food, but it is more expensive, and you can only use a point once a day on Monday-Friday between certain times, and weekends points can't be used. However, the food supplier is being changed next year, so maybe the food will get better.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman get different dorms from the upperclassmen. This is fine, but there are two different types of dorms that the students get. One is older, and the temperature is either too hot, too cold, and it is a very old building. The other one is a little better, but I didn't get the privilege of living there. I have heard, however, that it wasn't that great. Also, the freshman dorms are about a ten minute walk from the bulk of where all the classrooms are. The upper class dorms are a lot better, and there are 2 buildings, sorority/fraternity houses, a house given to a club per year, and town houses. They seem to be a whole lot better, but until I live in them I can't really give a good judgment on them.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course it depends on the class and the professors, but the classes I have taken was difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Statistically, first semester for freshman students is difficult, and most students do very poorly at this time. It is good to try to be optimistic, don't take difficult classes right away, and mix major classes with fun classes.

    In three sentences

    Like all colleges/universities, there are good and bad things about Lenoir-Rhyne. The professors are really helpful and care deeply about the students. However, a lot of the students claim that they pay so much money (about 26,000 a year, and all of the tuition has to be paid off before you can apply for the next year or get help for paying off books) but they have no idea where their money goes, and I have to agree.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are various parks nearby as well as movie theaters, bowling, putt putt, disc golf, ymca, downtown hickory, and much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is for students that enjoy individual attention outside of class as well as during class. the classes here are small, so the students are better attended to than a typical state school. also the school itself is small which makes it easier for students to mesh and find new friends.

    In three sentences

    lenoir-rhyne is a small lutheran school that offers a broad liberal arts education. the students here become well-rounded and are taught mainly by professors who have already earned their doctoral degree. lenoir-rhyne is located in a metropolitan area and has a beautiful campus.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    cab always has something coming up to do. sports are big here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    midnight pancake breakfast right before finals!

    Bang for the buck

    it is very expensive, but a lot can be covered by scholarships and grants

    What to do for fun

    go to charlotte.

    Food and Dining

    many different homemade options available. sometimes it doesnt taste that great though. however there is always pizza, cereal, and ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    i love living on campus. the dorm i am in is generally quiet, so i can study and sleep when i need.

    Academic Rigor

    some courses are tough, but the teachers will do whatever they can to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour of the campus. current students give them and can anser any questions you have, giving you an insiders view on how it is here.

    In three sentences

    small classroom size is awesome. the teachers really care about the students. the campus is small, but this lets you really get to know a lot of different people than only a few.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am not sure about the cafeteria food, but there are lots of near-by food and dining places.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure since I haven't started yet.

    In three sentences

    Even though I haven't started classes yet, from what I've seen so far it is a very wonderful school and I am glad I made it my choice.

  • 12/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like to play sports then you should defiantly consider Lenoir Rhyne Univeristy!!! We have students from all over the world like Sweden, France, England, Ireland, Mexico, Spain, Brazil and many more! We have so many international students and we love it! If you are looking into nursing then apply here because last year we had 100% passing rate on the state nursing exam! We have a great music program as well! Anyone really can apply here, this university is great for anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about applying, then don't think just APPLY! you will love it here because this university is the best! Try to know what kind of major you want to get into. You will get a head start and not have stress about figuring out the majors! You should talk to the business/financial aid office after you have filled out FAFSA, this will help you find out how much the university will grant you to come here. You should talk to your high school councilors and see what they think about the university. If you come here then you will feel very welcoming! Our mascot is a bear, so we always want more bears at Lenoir Rhyne, don't wait just apply!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Lenoir Rhyne University is expensive but the outcome at the end is the gold. Meaning that you get so much knowledge and learn so much its basically like getting gold. You get more education here because the teachers focus on you individually as well. They help you as much as they can. The outcome of this University is getting a degree in a field you are passionate about, you get into graduates school and You get out and find a well paying job. You get more knowledge, so you are well prepared for the world also.

    Am enjoying being here

    Hickory is not like the city but it is also not like the country. Its in between. Lenoir Rhyne is a great place to learn. I enjoy being there a lot. There is something always going on so you don't really get too bored. The University gives you that little warmth feeling. They try hard not to let you get bored. There are so many sports events going on in an weekend that you want to go to. There is soccer, basketball, football, swimming, volleyball and more. Football is so much fun at Lenoir Rhyne!!! WE ALL HAVE LOTS OF SPIRIT! we make the teams get hyped up!

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small and this is really good for most students because it helps them get attention and they end up learning a lot more. I honestly thought that lenoir rhyne university would be a joke but its really not, the teachers are ALWAYS there to help you no matter what. All you have to do is email them and make an appointment. If you have any questions with any problem you have, the staff members are always there for you. I know I had a little trouble in the beginning transitioning from a high school student to a college student but the school held workshops for us so we can learn how college works. Each and every person there is extremely helpful. You just learn a lot by talking to the students there also. They all know what they are talking about. Overall, you get the attention you need and it really shows on your transcripts the effort you put into your work!!!

  • 11/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who came from a small high school and is used to everyone knowing each other. It is also a great school for student who may need additional help in certain areas because LR is very good to work with you in the areas that you may need special help in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus at least for the first year. Dorms aren't very elloquant, but it is worth it in order to get to know the people in your grade better. Also, make sure you turn in your forms to financial aid on time, you want to get as much financial help from the school as your can. It is available and it should be taken advantage of. Also, find and on-campus job. It is a way to make a little extra cash and it will work with your schedule and sometimes let you get your homework done while you are working.

    Bang for the buck

    LR is very expensive, but I think that all the one-on-one time you recieve makes up for that. Also, they give out lots of financial aid, so after that is factored in the cost isn't too high for most people. I think that it is worth paying a little extra money to learn the information well and to have teachers who are interested in your success as an individual.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being here, but a lot of people complain that it is too small. I am originally from a place smaller than Hickory, so I love the environment. It has everything you need, they just aren't used to the size. Also the roads are very confusing and it is very easy to get lost in Hickory.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are very helpful, and with class sizes so small there is plenty of time for one-on-one work. Also, the availability of free peer tutors for any subject is great! Teachers here really want you to learn and do well in their classes and are always willing to sit down and talk with you.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Kinda expensive

    Will enjoy being here

    Its way out in the country.

    Will learn a lot

    Allows you to learn about everything instead of what you want to major in.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lenoir Rhyne is a great type of school for the students who want that one on one attention from the teacher because the classes are small. its also great because it's real community based and if you like to feel like you're at home away from home this could be the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are...if you're cheap like most people here I wouldnt suggest buying the books from the bookstore because you can definetely buy them for cheaper prices at www.half.com or other websites.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, honestly I along with a lot of others that go here would think that since the tuition cost almost 35,000 a year to go here that the school would have a lot more to offer. for example, the dorms..I would think that all the dorms would be upgraded/updated and have a lot to offer. But supposedly we are getting our cafeteria done over to make it more enjoyable for us as the student body.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes I am enjoying it here because I have made friends from my freshman year but hickory is a small town so theres not a lot of places to go besides the movies, the mall, and walmart[ where you will see people from school at all hours of the day at]. But as far as the activities at school...there is really always something to do here. the people in charge of the student activities have a lot of things planned. from movies on the lawn, to free movie nights at the movie theaters, to special guest like comedians or magicians.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I am learning a lot at Lenoir Rhyne not just in academics but as far as experiences go as well. The teachers here are really dedicated to helping everyone pass and the class sizes are small enough so you can get that one on one attention that you can't get at a lot of the bigger colleges and universities.