Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lincoln University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They have the Divine 9. We have a very rich greek culture. The sororities and fraternities are pretty active on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Lincoln is pretty diverse. They offer a wide variety of clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is no place like this. Lincon University is very unique.We are known for our excellent track team and amazing marching band.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always somethin goin on.

    Academic Rigor

    Theres no reason anyone should fail because they have plenty of resources available to the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont party all the time focus on why you came to college. Set goals and execute. Find at least one thing to get involved in and stay with it because it will pay off. Remember education should be your main priority but its okay to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln gives everyone a chance to get an education. Its one big blue tiger family here. Also Lincoln University a place of growth and a darn good start.

  • 04/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food around the area is ok there's nothing that just outright grabs the attention of your taste buds.

    Dorm Life

    its ok there's a lot of people who lack respect for others who stay in the building. there also are issues with the lack of concern with taking care of restrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes and teachers all are on board with teaching and making sure you grasp the concepts

    In three sentences

    Great academic installtion with caring staff. terrible food and aging facilities. no positive programs in and around the school for community connections

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every student should always feel safe on campus , in order to enter the dorm you have to have a key or swipe a card. The campus police comes to the dorms to check on students. Emergency phones are in different places on campus just in case students need to get a hold of campus police

    Greek Life

    The Greeks at lincoln university are amazing they are working together to make it even better then what it is now.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs and also activities to choose from, even better when you find the organization that fits you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just Homecoming Times When Alumni Come back an amazing atmosphere and also getting to hear Alumni stories!!!

    What to do for fun

    -Attend school events - hang out wih friends -be apart of organizations

    Food and Dining

    Great!!! Definitely on Thursdays and also this spinach bread they make is AMAZING!!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    -Great college experience -meet a lot of different people while leaving on campus

    Academic Rigor

    They have one of the top nursing programs

    Tips for prospective students

    -Future students make sure to get involved with your university -Make sure to network -Work Hard -And Also Follow Your Dreams

    In three sentences

    Lincoln University has taught me out and I also have learn from other pervious students who are now alumni. As lincoln university of Missouri being a hirtorically Black College And University it has this family oriented environment. It's like any other school all school have there problems and it's what you make it and the bonds you build while being there.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You hardly ever see a policeman. You are on you on for the most part.

    Greek Life

    Their Greek Life is very bad. I must say for this to be an HBCU the divine nine is not the best. You never ever see the sororities or fraternities strolling or doing anything fun. You hardly see them in general. Joining one at this school would really be a waste and would not be fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, and very dry with low of a selection. Basically I bought a 10 meal plan and I used is maybe five times and I am in my second semester. Gross.

    Dorm Life

    If you plan on attending Lincoln University, the first thing you should know is living on campus is the most unsafe experience. There are many wild students that do not really plan on having a future, but just to have fun. Me myself am a freshman, and I thought by staying in the newer dorms their would be less ghetto situations, but sadly it is just as bad. In the dorms there will be the smell of drugs in the hall and loud students playing loud music.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go if you do not like the ghetto life Do not go if you like good food Do not go if you like shopping Go if you do not stay on campus and have a car.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln University is a great place to attend if you do not live on campus. It has a beautiful campus and plenty of hills. But, living on campus shows the true colors of the school, which is not the best thing to see.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are completely weird people sometimes that don't go there are in the dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT wait to apply. Apply earlier so you can see what the college is going to offer you in scholarship money.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus. The atmosphere there is great. And the other students are approachable.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Between working and going to school full time, I'm happy to watch my favorite tv programs when I can.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home, so again I do not know.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program can be rough at times but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to really work towards degree. You earn the grade you, yhe more effort you put into it, the better your grade.

    In three sentences

    Great School. Instructors are hands on, and really work to make you understand the material. They are out to make you learn, understand, and be proficient in your degree, not try fail you.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are parties around campus a lot if you're into that. There's sometimes open gym to have certain activities. There will be some events going on throughout the year to go to, you can catch those events.

    Food and Dining

    There's only one cafeteria and the food is not bad, it's definitely edible.

    Dorm Life

    I've stayed in Dawson Hall and Sherman-Scruggs Hall. I prefer Sherman because of the suite style, even though it is more expensive than Dawson. Dawson was not really my style of living, with the community style.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor isn't too much to handle. You have to really study, not only from notes in class, but read your assigned readings for everything, you never know what's missing.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Focus on academics before recreation or extra-curricular activities. -Get involved on campus with the different events. -Utilize your right to tutors as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln University is a small university located a few minutes from the state capitol of Missouri. The campus is pretty small, not much to do all of the time, but if you're pretty imaginative you can come up with something. The professors are pretty lenient and are friendly.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling, sports, music (choir and band), campus activities board, rec room activities, parties, greek organization life and pageants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all of your financial and deadlines months ahead of time and print off everything that you receive. At least two copies, to keep track of what all you pay for and what you've already completed so that no mistakes will render you from continuing your education. And lastly, learn while you live in the dorms, all the good and the bad.

    In three sentences

    I rate this school with a 7.0 out of 10.0, I love attending this school. I've met a lot of cool people and I can see myself involved and graduating here. And I've learned a lot from their academic programs.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 HOUR POLICE DEPARTMENT

    Clubs and Activities

    REGISTERED ORGANIZATIONS ARE THE BEST!!! THEY ARE THE TRUE LEADERS OF OUR CAMPUS.

    Bang for the buck

    I have been active in my universityâ??s student activities since I stepped foot on the campus serving as an ambassador for the university, recruiting for the university and helping to maintain the prestigious name of the university. I have served as: Freshman Class Vice President Interim Freshman Class President Mr. Sophomore Interim Sophomore Class President Junior Class Representative at Large Lincoln University Campus Activity Board Lincoln University Dance Troupe Captain Lincoln University Vocal Ensemble Section Leader Lincoln University Marching Band Section Leader Student Government Association Parliamentarian Student Government Association President Pro Temp Student Government Association Representative At Large Mr. Blue & White for Lincoln University Lincoln University Student Ambassador Admissions Recruiter Student Representative on 2012 Presidential Search Committee Lincoln University affords you the opportunity to be successful and actually be someone in this world.

    What to do for fun

    university choir marching band university dance company university theatre parties reading volunteering at high schools volunteering at boys and girls club ice skating roller skating shopping movie theatres

    Tips for prospective students

    Please get involved. Being involved allows you to network, prepare yourself for the business professional and challenges you to keep your gpa up.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln University has helped me understand that the world in which I will enter is a competitive place. Too many times in the year youth of all races are discouraged and not equipped with the necessary knowledge on being a professional business individual. Lincoln University has allowed me be a well renown HBCU Ambassador and has allowed me to be able to give back not only to my generation but individuals who come after me with knowledge on how to be successful in this world.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to party on the weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Lincoln is a bit pricey for out-of-state students but academically it is worth it. What is not is the housing and dining, they need to be a lot less for what we get.

    What to do for fun

    Travel to Columbia, that's where everything is. Unless you like to go to house parties thrown by the locals.

    Food and Dining

    There are not enough options for residents with meal plans. The food is too greasy and the lettuce and other salad foods are wilted and old. I don't eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the residence halls are not conducive to studying. I know where I am the recreation room is hardly used so I go down there to study.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major. The Agriculture natural resources program is demanding but that is exactly why I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on your academic game. There are many parties that go on during the weekend and many freshmen here get distracted by that and end up flunking.

    In three sentences

    Small College Campus of about 3500 students. Great Agriculture program. Hills everywhere you go.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a 50 year old white woman, I am a minority on this campus. There are a lot of hot-headed young African-American people on campus who still think I had their grandparents as slaves (they need to check their history books). In some of my first-year classes, this attitude seemed to be more prevalent. There was one class that I was actually scared to go to. I did take this to the staff, and to the administration, and eventually, those students were removed from the class. It took time, though, and I did not like the way that it was handled. I blame the lack of control in the class more on the professor than the security, though.

    Greek Life

    I am unfamiliar with the Greek Live.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not familiar enough with this aspect of campus life to give a detailed comment. I know that there are many, and that you can even form your own, if you take the proper steps.

    Great for these types of students

    I think this school is over-run by first year college students who are not going to finish school. As a result, the first year classes are pretty tough because of the constant interruptions of the non-focused students. This can be very discouraging, and cause animosity between the students who are there for the party and the students who are there for the education. Somewhere, you must find a balance. This school is great for the second through fourth year students. They are goal oriented, and more driven to succeed. You will need that drive to make it through!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus requires all first year students to take a General Education class that is just one credit. I hear many young students complaining about what a waste of time this class is. It teaches study skills, gives advice about mental and physical health, and where help can be accessed, and even shows web-sites that the student can access for academic enrichment and assistance. The class teaches personal finance, talks about personal hygiene, and even gives the location of local churches, restaurants, and social services. This is information that ANY person can benefit from, and should be taught as a young adult. I think it is a shame that the class is not taken more seriously, and that the students do not access or use the information provided to them. If you choose Lincoln as your facilitator of higher learning, put this class on your priority list!

    Bang for the buck

    I am absolutely loving every minuet of my education! I try to take all the good from it that I can, and leave the bad aside. I have struggled for a very long time, raising 3 children on my own to KNOW what it means to NOT have a degree. I have been swimming in deep water for a very long time, and I am very thankful for the life raft that has finally floated my way! I KNOW what a difference this education will make in my life and the lives of my children, and intend to make this the biggest bang for my buck that I have ever done! I highly recommend you do the same!

    What to do for fun

    Jefferson City, while the capital of Missouri, is a small town without many amenities. The campus does have a bowling alley (as does the town, itself) and there are often times campus organizations that sponsor activities for the students. The student body is very multi-cultural, and I see this honored in many ways throughout the school year.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall, and I think that the food is average. Your average meal is a basic five dollars, and you can eat all you would like from a choice of Mexican, burgers, pizza, sandwiches, a salad bar, deserts, and drinks. The atmosphere is very loud, and the doors are only open during certain hours, so it does not always work well with a students schedule.

    Dorm Life

    I rate this a three star because, while I have no experience with the dorm life at this school, I have spoken with students who have indicated that it is average

    Academic Rigor

    I believe you get what you pay for, and the quality of one's education at Lincoln University lies solely in the hands of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lincoln University was founded by three black soldiers of the Civil War who wanted to afford the opportunities of higher education to others of their community who had been given their freedom without the tools to survive. I think that college is a turning point for every successful student from dependency to independence and should be treated as a true blessing. Many people, for many reasons, are never given the opportunity to better their lives in such a profound way and I find it unfortunate that so many children who are given this chance are not made to understand what a profound difference four years of education can have on their whole lives. I see an over-abundance of wasted opportunities at this school, because lack of guidance and encouragement by not only the children's parents, but by the faculty and staff at this school. Do not be afraid to seek the help and answers you need. If the answer you get from one person is not the answer you were looking for, ask someone else. The money paid for your education is an investment in YOU. Make it a good investment.

    In three sentences

    The fact that it is local and relatively inexpensive makes this institution and obvious choice for my personal needs to further my education, but because of those same reasons, it makes the school over-run by young students that did not know what to do with themselves when they graduated high school. I think that the school is first, and foremost, a financial institution rather than an educational institution, and makes it's money by bringing in the masses rather than putting forth a quality education that some would be willing to pay for. And so, if this school is your choice, as it is mine, based solely on location and finance, but you are actually attempting to obtain an education, it will take determination and endurance on your part to make it an education worth gaining.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty average.

    Greek Life

    Yes many available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers a wide variety of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for traditional and untradtional students.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say it's a pretty good bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    The great outdoors such as hunting, fishing and hiking.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very Intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would study and enjoy college life.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy with my education at Lincoln University. I enjoy my program. The instructors are wonderful.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    You have to love our Greek Life.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, cards, video games, movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch your 12, 3, 6, 9 and everything in between. Meaning know your surroundings and watch who you surround yourself with. It will make the most difference in your experience.

    In three sentences

    I love my University. It is constantly teaching me more about myself and others around me. I am a proud Blue Tiger.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Have all of your documents complete and ready. Also copy and keep copies of all of your documents for future reference as you would with any job or important information. Always visit the departments that you need to speak with; communication over the phone is never a good idea.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln has one of the top Nursing programs in the country. Lincoln's professors strive to give the best education possible. Lincoln University is a great, inexpensive university that offers a lot of bang for your buck and life goals.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    theres cops everywhere. probably becuase theres hoodrats everywhere

    Greek Life

    boring, they dont even step or have any on campus parties

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    who dont care about school and like to waste money

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nope boring

    Bang for the buck

    its fairly cheap and affordable

    What to do for fun

    nothing! its small and boring.

    Food and Dining

    nothing but fatty unhealthy food

    Dorm Life

    Just horrible! people play loud music, if your staying in dawson people pull the fire alarm like crazy.

    Academic Rigor

    classes aren't very hard or challeging but very good teachers overall

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a diffrent school!

    In three sentences

    Very unprofessional and unorganized. Majority of the students here stay under the influence. There studies aren't important.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LUPD very interactive and are more like friends so most things go smoothly.

    Greek Life

    Very big on Greek life things that will never be broken.

    Clubs and Activities

    D2 and all the sports u want and even more clubs

    Great for these types of students

    small town settings and big city new comers that need a change in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of hills a bike or care recommended.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and very expensive Education.

    What to do for fun

    football and lots of on and close off campus events.

    Food and Dining

    It's good just wish there where more options.

    Dorm Life

    everybody come out and talks to everybody so if you just come out a little you will meet people

    Academic Rigor

    its hard but there so much help for you its easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come if you don't know what your coming for its cheap but things but its not a big enough environment to try to help you find a big change in you.

    In three sentences

    Small setting urban town. Calm not to much to distract you from school. Very helpful with the success to graduate

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not a lot to do for fun, you can walk around for a while.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    My highschool classes were harder than a lot of the lower level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here unless you have to.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln's tuition is cheaper than Mizzou by far. There is not much student comradery. The professors can be hard to understand at times because soem do not make an effort to expain an asked question.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe for students in my opinion you just have to be careful who you hang around; so you don't get involved in trouble or drama. You should also be careful with what parties you attend off campus. If you decide to attend a party off campus make sure you always have a friend with you.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and Fraternities at Lincoln University are great but I feel as though some of them do not always follow traditional rules. I also think that some of the fraternity and sorority members need to exemplify themselves more as leaders. I also feel as though the sororities and fraternities need to stand out and show students what each organization is about and why they should be a member of that organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities on campus for every student you just have to decide if you really want to join them. There are also several different sports students are offered to play on campus like basketball, baseball, football and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that Lincoln University would be great for students who are dedicated to there studies and enjoy having a good time with there friends occasionally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any unusual traditions, but I am sure as my years go on at Lincoln University I will learn them like many other students attending the university.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that many students that graduated from Lincoln University are getting as much money as they spent in loans and scholarships trying to attend Lincoln University. It is taking opportunities that are given to, excel at that college that make students really successful. I think if the students are involved in activities around campus and try there best in their classes their really going to get all the money they put in to going to Lincoln University.

    What to do for fun

    When I am looking for something fun to do there are plenty of activities to get involved in. I can go bowling with my friends at the campuses bowling alley. I could also go shoot some pool at the pool table in recreation room. Also there are sometimes parties thrown in the ballroom by student committees.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Lincoln University is okay it doesn't have much flavor to it and there is not much choice of a variety of different dishes. Also there are not a good amount of healthy foods you can choice from that taste good.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the halls at Lincoln University are big. Some of the halls are nicer than others. What really played a big part of my dorm life was the people I socialized with,my roommate and my sweet-mates.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor at Lincoln University is not extremely hard. What you must do to pass your classes is have a steady attendance each day so that you know whats going on in that class and to also do the work in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first begin attending Lincoln University focus on your education because you always have plenty of time to meet new friends and socialize. If you see yourself starting to struggle in a class first contact your professor to see if they can assist you. If the professor cannot get a tutor for that class.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln University is a diverse, historically black university. It can be very fun but you have to be creative and open to new people and places. You can really benefit educational wise from attending Lincoln University.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is good safety on campus. If there is every a problem on campus Lincoln University Police Department (LUPD) is there in no time. And if the problem is too bad then Jefferson City Police Department will show up too.

    Greek Life

    There are 4 Greek sororities and 3 Greek Fraternities at lincoln University. The sororities are Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Incorporated, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Incorporated, and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated. The Fraternities on campus are Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Incorporated, Iota Phi Theta Fraternity Incorporated, and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Incorported. The other two fraternities got kicked off the yard but they should be back soon, which is Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Incorporated and Kappa Alpha Phi Fraternity Incorporated.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many things to get involved in at Lincoln. Royal Connections which are the kings and queens of the campus, that represent different organizations. (I am Miss ROTC). There's SGA, Senate, science clubs, agriculture clubs, foreign language clubs, entertainment groups, non- Greek fraternities and sororities, band, choir, ROTC, sports events, homecoming, CAB, etc. there's lots of stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    Lincoln is great for people who don't want to go to a big school, starting out. Also for people who didn't do all that great in high school, its an open enrollment school so it gives everyone an opportunity to go to college. Its also for people who don't like large classrooms. A typical class at Lincoln is between 30-40 students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A unusual location at Lincoln University is Soldier's Memorial which is located in the center of the campus and is dedicated to the 62nd and 65th Colored Infantry Soldiers. It is a very sacred and well respected place on Lincoln's campus.

    Bang for the buck

    CHEAP COLLEGE!!! Its affordable and they work around your schedule.

    What to do for fun

    At Lincoln University you have to make your own fun. There's not much to do in Jefferson City. So most people just hang out all day. If you have friends though you will be okay.

    Food and Dining

    Lincoln has one cafeteria. And the food is alright. Most upper class men cook in the hall that they live in. The freshman dorm doesn't have a kitchen. So most freshman go to the cafe. But the food is decent though.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what dorm you stay in depends on how much freedom you have. All dorms have visitation but some are more strict than others. As long as you follower the rules of what ever hall you live in, you should have no problems.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you go to class you won't fail. Lincoln is a small college so attendance is very important. Teachers make it easy for you to talk to them. So its easy to get a 3.0 every semester as long as you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    When starting college, it is best to remember that this is a whole different environment than high school, there are no parents. So with that being said it is easy to get caught up in everything else. When coming to college remember do not lose focus because that could potentially get you kicked out of school.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln University of Missouri is a college that is rich in history. If you like small schools then Lincoln is the college for you, its easy to talk to teachers, and easy to get involved. Lincoln is an HBCU and has lots of Blue Tiger Pride.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The university needs to invest in security cameras all across campus.

    Greek Life

    Interesting and fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    Boys and Girls club close by. Different sorority and fraternity groups one could join. Many different group programs that credit towards classes and tuition.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants education at a cheap price. Also for anyone looking for a top nursing school, Lincoln University is one of the highly recommended.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great war memorial in the center of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Grey education for cheap price but books are a little too pricey!

    What to do for fun

    Bowl in the bowling alley or run on the beautiful walk-ways they have around campus. Also great park to go to on campus as well for reading, family get togethers, friend gatherings or study sessions during the nice weather.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food but work on prices. Good cafeteria though.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of drama in the dorms and most of the time it's either really hot or really cold in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your classes and don't get behind. Also make many friends, usually great for help in classes and easier on group work!

    In three sentences

    Lincoln University has great education. Love the psychology and sociology programs! Pretty campus as well.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus pd is very alert and prompt if ever unsavory situations arise. never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    several sororities and fraternities are available, although i have not taken part in them.

    Clubs and Activities

    the student government really makes you feel like you're making a difference on campus and they do get to decide a lot of big decisions for the student body, unlike other schools i've attended that basically got together just to eat cookies, drink punch, and gossip.

    Great for these types of students

    great for the student who is looking to achieve his/her personal goals on their own. the teaching staff is wonderful at providing individualized assistance, but you still feel like you're writing your own ending! great for personal growth and independence!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing super unusual to report, although there is a beautiful soldier's memorial statue right in the middle of the common area.

    Bang for the buck

    absolutely the most affordable university you might ever come across, especially for the wonderful education being given.

    What to do for fun

    the bowling alley on campus is always a blast!

    Food and Dining

    the student center food is just about what you'd expect of any college campus or lunch hall. if you're never been on a campus, then compare it to that of a hospital. if you have been neither or these places, then compare it to your highschool's cafeteria only slightly more appetizing. leaves a little to be desired.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is very proud of its students and its staff, as well it should be!

    Tips for prospective students

    start your financial aid process early, especially if you need any type of loans. their financial aid department seems to be always busy and they seem to never be available by phone, so be prepared to go to campus (young hall) if you have any questions or need any sort of assistance.

    In three sentences

    lincoln university is an outstanding school that is very affordable. it's close to where i live, the faculty is always willing to work with you (the students) to continue to uphold their wonderful credentials and to make sure that you are getting the most you can out of your education, and they offer a wide variety of financial aid. i have had a wonderful past four years here.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    visitation and RD terrible Dawson hall get a small group of friends study> hanging scruggs higher price better

    In three sentences

    its what you make it. focus on work not partying!

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well because Jefferson city is such a small place there is not very much you can do unless you have a car on campus. But this school has best parties I ever been to. I think you will always have a good time. And if the band is playing any were be sure to go cause you'll dance your butt off.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is ok. Every Thursday is soul food, which is chicken, greens mac n cheese and more. Then on Friday they have what is called fish fry where all throughout the day they have fish for lunch and dinner, fish sandwich catfish and any other way you can make fish. The negative would be the hours the cafe is open for because its only open for about two or three hours per servings.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Lincoln University is different some clean some are really nice. For me staying at this school I stay in Bennett Hall which is one of the newer halls and Anthony hall and allow you more freedom. The sports and freshman hall are more restricted and also are not up to date. But leaving on campus is safe and the people there are very nice and are willing to give you information all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    With Lincoln University they offer lap tops that you can rent from the library for a whole day. Also they have writing center and a math center that offers one on one help with a student from teachers that teach that subject or previously have. Also they have what is called SI which is students who have taken the class a semester before you, with the same teacher you have they can tutor you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check on your financial; needs because they tend to loose your information or have you end up feeling out more paper work. I also say talk to your teachers because they help you alot and are always willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    It is a school that offers a lot of help, such as tutoring with students and teachers. I also like how the people care about your success and is willing to help you. I think the tutoring service that they offer with the writing center and math is very helpful, because you get one on one with a person.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is the way to get started on your college credits! Prepares you for the responsibility of putting in your time/efforts for the grade you want.

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars. I don't have to pay a fortune for a textbook. And tuition is at a discount.

    Am enjoying being here

    4 stars. Familiar with my high school environment and teacher

    Am learning a lot

    4 stars. This is through dual credit at my high school. Love that the teacher already knows me, but it's tougher than my high school courses. So I feel I am being prepared for college away from home.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with a mind to get in and get it done. Its college distractions lie everywhere. Stay focused.

    Bang for the buck

    The combination of the low tuition costs (compared to most universities), the peacefulness of the city in general, dedication of the teachers, and help of student life commitees....yeah its worth it

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is really laid back. Jefferson City is a very quite city, so to be away from all of the hoopla is great.

    Am learning a lot

    All teachers are generally consistent with their teaching and availability to help you understand.

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lincoln is a great school for students who are open-minded, and can accept people from all different backgrounds, struggles and circumstances.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should come prepared to step outside of their comfort zones.

    Bang for the buck

    Lincoln's affordability is outstanding for all that the school has to offer. Students receive a great education and a socially rewarding campus life while being able to afford a reasonable tuition fee.

    Did enjoy being here

    Lincoln University's atmosphere is laid-back, with a diverse group of students and faculty from different backgrounds. Because of Lincoln's diversity there is always something going on to accommodate everyone's likes and interests.

    Did learn a lot

    Lincoln University is a smaller school with smaller classrooms that allow more one on one interaction between students and teachers. The intimate setting helps teachers focus on students as individuals and teach according to their individual needs so that each student receives the best learning experience possible.

  • 06/11/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused use great thinkin skills think positve and pray

  • 06/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 17 people found this review useful. 28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for kids who need a chance. Lincoln tries their best to educate and keep everyone in school no matter the severity of what one has done.