Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Massachusetts College of Art and Design Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten in the cafeteria but the school store has really good peach tea. If you don't like the food there you can go to wentworths cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The way the dorm's are set up is pretty cool. The "closets" seem to have a lot of space and each student gets their own desk. Also the toilet, shower, and sink are separated so multiple people can get ready at once.

    Academic Rigor

    I dont know since i dont go here but i took saturday studios and that was nice lol

    In three sentences

    It looks like a really cool working environment and I really like the people there.

  • 07/25/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all the security staff look comprehensive (and a little bit dangerous), so they're probably good at their job. all the buildings require a student id to enter.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    massart students can use wentworth's schumann fitness center. wentworth's clubs, simmons' clubs, and emmanuel's clubs are also open to anyone attending a college of the fenway (including, yes, massart)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    like mit, nearly all the buildings are connected, which is convenient for when it's hot, cold, raining, etc, and you don't want to have to transport your work or your self in that weather. it also cuts time traveling between classes. massart is conveniently located right on the green line, and there's also a fenway station a 15 minute walk away, so if you know you'll be commuting, that's convenient.

    What to do for fun

    if you're a history nerd, you might have been excited to go to this school, which is in boston. however, massart isn't in the historical part of boston, it's on the fenway, which is still a bit pretty, but there isn't much to do / see. on the plus side, massart is literally right next door to the isabella stewart gardener museum, and a massart student id grants you free (free!) admission to that. the mfa is also rather close, within a very short walking distance, so that's an excellent resource and a rather fun pastime. i personally love the mfa.

    Food and Dining

    i ate at wentworth's cafeteria during my time there. i'm assuming some of massart's full-time students eat there as well, so it might be important for prospective students to be aware of the quality of wentworth's cafe. the food there is ok, but there are a ton of unhealthy food options and very few healthy options. pretty much everyone eats fried chicken, and the quality of the food isn't anything to write home about, especially not the pastries. the prices are high, too (but that's just college cafeterias). the staff seem unenthusiastic and impatient. perhaps massart's own cafe is better?

    Dorm Life

    i was not able to see the dorms themselves. the treehouse looks new and seems like a nice place to live. it's right across the street from the campus buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm very satisfied with the quality of the teachers that were there, although as far as i know, they were only summer studios teachers. they are helpful and, for the most part, enthusiastic about what they teach. massart is also part of the colleges of the fenway, an association of all the colleges located on the fenway, including wentworth institute of technology, simmons college, emmanuel, mcphs, and wheelock college. this means if you're accepted to massart, you're able to take classes at any of these schools. so if you're interested in any of the above schools as well as massart, that's good news!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're considering applying to this school, you want a larger portfolio, or you want to get a thorough impression of massart's campus, consider attending the summer studios program. you attend 3 different core classes (2d, 3d, and a sort of "art history" class that also talks about the meaning behind artwork) and an elective of your choice. it's a lot of work, especially if you apply for massart course credits, but it's very fun if you like art, and makes you feel like a real art school student.

    In three sentences

    campus is very small, but isn't anything special. the teachers are great, and helpful. the food is mediocre.

  • 12/29/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore the city - There is so so much to discover! My favorite part of school is living in Boston. I've been to so many new places and tried so many new foods.

    Food and Dining

    It's college, what do you expect? Needs more healthy options besides salad and limited fruits/vegetables. Too much fried chicken, burgers, pizza, etc..

    Dorm Life

    If you like your roommate(s), which I do, then it should be pretty good! Treehouse is new, and has some issues (i.e. Our toilet needs two flushes to actually work, our sink leaks, etc), but it's not too bad. Treehouse is right across from the school which makes it super easy to get to class.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you practice good time management, you will be all set with the work load.

    In three sentences

    A great art school in the middle of an even greater city. I've only been here for one semester and I've already noticed great improvement in my skills. One of the most accepting communities of people.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It sounds like an amazing school and I really hope I can attend. The school sounds amazing with a very promising education. The cost of going to this college is also very reasonable.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety open 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a group or club for everyone and if not, you can make one.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, independent students. However, with small classes, there is also a lot of individual attention if you need more guidance.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a Massachusetts resident is absolutely invaluable. You will get one of THE best art educations for a state school price.

    What to do for fun

    Make some art. Explore the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty mediocre. Not a huge amount of options. However, there are two cafeterias because one is shared with Wentworth.

    Dorm Life

    Living off campus is much more lively. Nothing too exciting happens in the dorms on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Studio classes are as helpful and as difficult as you want them to be. Some professors demand more than others. However, to be a successful artist, push yourself as much as possible in your studios.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a commuter school for the most part so, if you want to really meet people make sure to live on campus for at least the first year.

    In three sentences

    MassArt is a tremendous place for artists that are seeking a tight knit community. You are surrounded by people who are passionate (for the most part) about art and making. The faculty here is absolutely incredible and hearing opinions from working artists makes all the difference.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's right in the middle of Boston, 10 minute walk from the prudential center, and 15 minutes from Fenway par. Plus the T can help you get anywhere. MFA right next door.

    In three sentences

    Very good school. Great student to teacher ratio. Helpful staff.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24-hour security in all three of the dorm buildings, as well as a campus shuttle that can take you to and from almost any place in the city if need be.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a limited number of choices as far as sports are concerned; however, that being said, MassArt is connected to other Colleges of the Fenway where we are welcome to join their teams. There are a number of non-sport related clubs, as well.

    Great for these types of students

    To be at MassArt, you have to be driven. No one is going to tell you to go to class or do your homework. You can excel here, or you can do the minimum. It's really up to you.

    Bang for the buck

    You get out of it what you put into it. If you want to excel, and you have the motivation to do so, you will succeed and go far. But the opposite is also true.

    What to do for fun

    Boston is your campus! Need I say more?

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at MassArt is not fantastic. I generally stick to soup and salad (although oddly enough, the sushi is quite good) when I eat there. However, the variety of cuisine throughout Boston makes up for the lacking cafeteria food. You have to nose around and look for it, but there is affordable (imagine that!) food that tastes like four or five star quality. (And most places deliver!)

    Dorm Life

    There are usually activities going on (dances, gallery openings, etc.), but it's really up to you how good your dorm experience is. Occasionally roommates can be a gamble, but for the most part, I've found people are happy with them--and often want to room with them again.

    Academic Rigor

    Like with any school, there are always a few people that float by without any real effort. But MassArt is not easy--especially if you want to excel and get the most out of your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be on the creative career path, crave the city life, and want your artistic views to be challenged (and maybe even changed), then MassArt is the place for you.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With the exception of a few security guards, the Campus safety department is rather well run.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. The majors often feel like a kind of brotherhood (or sisterhood, or just a kind of hood, to be all-inclusive), but there are no fraternities or sororities at the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There can be good ones if you look for them, or start them, but for the most part, I've been to preoccupied with my work to really delve into it.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who has the drive to go beyond the average limitations of bureaucratic intervention. And anyone who truly wants to pursue the Arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are almost too many to list. Again, it's all about exploring. I'd be in a lot of trouble with the school were I to reveal all of the locations I've found, so unfortunately, I'll have to keep those to myself. But the traditions of the SIM department are legendary. Every Fall, we put on a large scale production to showcase everyone in the major in honor of the birthday of the major's founder, Harris Barron. That and the ongoing tradition of nudity, for one reason or another.

    Bang for the buck

    MassArt is the most affordable accredited art school that I found. The faculty are all respected in their fields, and are all very knowledgeable on many subjects. Th

    What to do for fun

    If you look, there is nothing you can't find in the city. Being that the school has a very close proximity to several public transit options, exploring is a breeze. Even easier if one owns a bicycle. Exploring the city became a past time for me my Freshman year, and has remained at the top of the list ever since.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus dining hall is awful, frankly. I was once given food poisoning from eating there, so I have since stopped giving them my business.

    Dorm Life

    Though I only spent one year living on Campus, the bonds I made then have lasted. I still live with 2 of my 3 oringinal room mates. The community was rather strong in my opinion, and that made for a rather enjoyable year.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic classes at MassArt do leave a bit to be desired, but through the ProArts consortium and the Colleges of the Fenway, it is possible to take classes at many other schools in the area, including MIT, Emerson, Emmanuel, Wheelock, and a few others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever stop thinking. Or working. What you get out of MassArt is directly related to what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    The institution is exceptional in terms of faculty and facilities. There are many opportunities for collaboration and advancement of thinking through work. I have also found a way to pursue Lighting as a professional career through the SIM program, which is unique to MassArt.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security in the Residence halls, and they offer shuttles that go as far as 3 miles at night.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    -independent thinkers - free-spirits -motivated people -community oriented people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    - we are the only public art school in the country -we are involved with many of the other schools surrounding us, giving us more opportunities -we have an annual Iron pour hosted by the metals department -Massart is unique for sure

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. Could be better. You get sick of the food, but that would happen anywhere.

    Dorm Life

    community oriented.

    Academic Rigor

    really intense. most people do not sleep very much.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is located inside of MassArt. There is also a Wentworth Public Safety right next to the dorms.

    Greek Life

    Pretty sure it isn't offered here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list is endless. MassArt offers many different things such as Quidditch, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds, Cosplayers, Musicians, Artists, Singers, Photographers, etc!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a fake basketball team that plays against Rhode Island School of Design's basket ball team. Every winter the MasArt Mastodons play.

    Bang for the buck

    MassArt is a state school which means if you're not from Massachusetts it's going to be more expensive to go here. Though more expensive, it's fairly cheap compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Boston is the best city to go to college in. It's a little overwhelming at first, but there are always things going on. Whether inside of MassArt or not, you can most definitely find something cool to do any day of the week in this city.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is the company that's represented in the MassArt cafeteria. The food is a mixture if qualities. It all depends on your taste. They have a good variety of food to suit a variety of people.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are so fun to live in. I'm living in the Artist's Residence for my second year. They have usual rules like no drinking, smoking, drugs, etc. Living in this building I've become friends with a lot of people who are now really close to me. It's also a good opportunity to meet people for future collaborations.

    Academic Rigor

    MassArt has a good mixture of teachers. Some are easier and laid back, and some are incredibly difficult. It's a good mix. But again, it's what you make of it. If you go above and beyond yes, it'll be more difficult, but you will end with results that're better than you could have imagined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your Massart experience is what you make of it. Some people choose to be really lazy and create poorly done sloppy work. Others choose create things that are very delicately planned out and well thought of. This is a place for people who have the passion and the drive to make work that's better than they've ever made before.

    In three sentences

    MassArt has amounted to everything I wanted and more. I've made so many great connections with people here and I've built friendships that will last forever. I've only been here for 2 years, but I've already learned so much and my skills have gotten so much better.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food here.

    Dorm Life

    Boston is a great city! Great if you enjoy the big city.

    Academic Rigor

    Very technical and not afraid to stray away from traditional art pedagogy.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can see the majority of the city from the library, even Fenway Park. So it is fun to hang out up there and see what is going on.

    What to do for fun

    Boston is packed with adventures. It is hard to run out of things to do in Boston except maybe in the winter.

    Food and Dining

    I like the different foods they offer for every meal. A fairly decent amount to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived off-campus the whole time I have attended the college. It is a little harder to make friends but I personally prefer to live off-campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management really needs to be focused on. It is easy to put off homework until the last minute especially when you schedule most of your own class hours.

    In three sentences

    Teachers, staff and students are all so friendly. It is a positive environment and you can really open up and be yourself here.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Massart doesn't have much of a campus, so most of the safety you need is just regular city smarts - be aware of your surroundings at night, walk with a friend, call public safety if you feel uncomfortable. We have a shuttle that can take you around the city if you're not comfortable commuting late at night, and pubsaf is always around.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs, and it's very easy to apply for funding from our Student Government Association and start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Creative and dedicated students. You'll learn a lot more than just art skills.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main tower building was built/designed by an architect who later turned out to be schizophrenic and unaccredited. You can definitely tell - it's a crazy building.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a state school, and a cheap one at that! The resources available are great, but they're definitely stingy with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    It's boston! There's tons to do around - Gallery openings all the time, lots of museums, good nightlife. There's also lots of music (especially in allston)

    Food and Dining

    The on-campus dining is really not great. Fried food, sandwiches/wraps, etc. catered by Chartwells. You're required to have a meal plan your first year and if you're living in the dorms, but it's really not great food.

    Dorm Life

    There are two residence halls, with a new one being built for next year. One building is suite-style, and has great studio workspaces and is good for getting to know your suitemates, but lacks good floor community. The other is a more traditional dorm style, and has a great floor community but the workspaces aren't as spacious/well-lit.

    Academic Rigor

    Art school is not for the faint-of-heart. Be prepared to work extremely hard in order to succeed! Some majors (like illustration or graphic design) are more competitive than others, but know that BS is not tolerated in any major. You will be critiqued harshly if you're not prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your portfolio is extremely important, but your academics are just as important too. Definitely try to visit and tour, get an idea of what the studios are like.

    In three sentences

    The only free-standing public art school in the US! Good community in a nice city, and most students are very driven and focused. Pretty cheap school, but stingy with financial aid.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    expect alot of work to be done both in and out of the classroom

    In three sentences

    A great place to grow your creativity.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is not a Greek life at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to have lunch out side and play frisbee.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of people like to go to Evans way park.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun around boston. Just go walking around with friends and you are bound to run into something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go on the Massart tour.

    In three sentences

    Massachusetts College of Art and Design is a great art school to attend, as most of the professors seem to have some experience in the field they are teaching. However, they lack in the fashion design equipment for the students. The school definitely needs industrial, sewing machines, a button machine, a leather machine and a shoe machine.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students dedicated to a career in art.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good in-state price.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city and/or go to all of the shows happening on campus. There are tons of student and alumni galleries on campus where you can submit work.

    Food and Dining

    Brand new cafe with great food and a convince store around the corner where you can use meal points.

    Dorm Life

    A new dorm building with 20 floors has just opened for next year !

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to manage your time. Your professors give a lot of work and expect the best you can do every time.

    In three sentences

    MassArt is a great school with great programs. The professors are very helpful and they're always there to help. They have great resources for all students no matter what their major is.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are several art exhibits that are open to sometimes more specific students down to an open exhibit where any student can show their work. Also, the Compass program helps to introduce new areas of the school that are extremely helpful in incoming students, including registering for class and finding work in the arts fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though it is an art school, incoming students must not forget that they will need to work hard at improving their technical skills as well as conceptual skills. Also, keep an open mind when entering into a larger crowd of much more art culture than what would normally be involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other art colleges and schools, Massachusetts College of Art and design gives an excellent education for a reasonable and fairly cheap price. With the tuition, the college offers free services for the students such as counseling and other services as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    The experience of living in Boston is really an intense one. I have really learnt a lot about being in an urban setting and it has certainly opened my mind even further than it ever has been. I have met several new friends who share the same interests and I have learned a lot about myself through the projects in classes and just by being in a different area of the world. I have experienced new activities in art and I have been exposed to more education in the arts through different people and different activities.

    Am learning a lot

    The education offers a wide variety of ideas and constructive criticism form not only peers but also the staff and professors. There are not only art courses, but there are others options to study other fields as well by taking some of the critical studies courses that introduce a new way of conceptual thinking for the students. Also, the school works with others schools including Berkeley School of Music and Wentworth Institute of Technology to cross register for classes of other interests.

  • 04/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, creative, open-minded, enthusiastic, artistic

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a transfer student coming from a liberal arts college, and this transfer was the best decision of my life! I was worried about locking myself into an art career, but there is such a vast difference between art school and liberal arts school, that if you're unhappy at a liberal arts college and happen to be a visual learner who is interested in an art career but scared to take the plunge, STOP WORRYING! MassArt is also great because it is part of the Colleges of the Fenway (COF) which allows students to take courses from other colleges in the area (including Simmons, MCPHS, Berkley)! More tips: -meet as many people as you can during orientation! -be sure to check out ratemyprofessor.com before choosing classes -if you have access to a kitchen, and/or are a picky eater, GO WITH THE HALF MEAL PLAN -don't spend your money on the student discount yearly pass for the T, unless you have good reason to believe you will be going into town a lot (for instance if you have an on-campus job)- in my experience, it isn't used as much as originally expected -take advantage of school shows and activities as much as possible -join clubs -enjoy Boston! -PRIORITIZE

    Bang for the buck

    Aside from the fact that all on-campus students are required to have a meal plan, and that the food is definitely over-priced for the quality of it, the studio classes and variety of classes here definitely make up for it. The school runs on one flat rate for every student, rather than paying per class.

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming from a small town in Maine, Boston is a big change for me, but it's definitely the place to experience college. Living around artists evokes inspiration, and there is always something going on in Boston if you're interested in having an active social life. Personally, I suggest really calculating your priorities before deciding to come to Boston simply for the social aspect; the curriculum is CHALLENGING and demands many hours of work outside of classes.

    Am learning a lot

    I took a lot of art classes in High School and in my previous college, but I'm still learning new things every day. Yes, some things get repetitive, but the teachers are very willing to cater to the students and personalize projects if you let them know that you've already learned that particular thing. As long as you're not afraid to SPEAK UP, and you put a bit of research into which teachers to take/avoid in regards to your interests and experience, you will have this same experience at MassArt.

  • 01/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Artistic -Adventurous -Determined -Hard Working -Open and Willing to learn

    Tips for prospective students

    1) When applying, make sure that you have the essential three things: -a knock out essay (make it honest, a believable heart felt essay is one of the best things when applying. Show them who you are) -an excellent portfolio (Be sure to include still lives and have variety. If you think your portfolio is lacking, take a class at AIB or MassArt to plump up your portfolio) -great teacher recommendations (Get the teachers you connected with on a deep level, who won't just write the standard fluff but really say who you are and what you're about. Try and get at least one art teacher) With these three things, MassArt will overlook mediocre grades and SAT scores. (When I say mediocre I still mean above a 1200 and a 2.5 GPA) 2) Really pay attention to deadlines, especially when it comes to financial aid. It will make your life a lot less stressful. Get on your parent(s) about completing your FAFSA as soon as possible. 3) Go on a tour! Don't jump onto this schools ban wagon without really deciding whats best for you. Make a roadtrip out of it 4) If you decide MassArt is the right place for you then take advantage of it. The teachers here are supportive, but they won't push you to do something if you're not stepping up. You have to remember, you're in college now. 5) Don't sweat the small stuff. So a girl in your class doesn't like you, or you had a harsh critique. Everyone's been there, and I guarantee that it won't make a lick of difference in a week or so. 6) Living off campus will save you insane amounts of money and will give you a greater sense of individuality. No guards to deal with etc. However be warned that you will have to bring stuff home on the T, which can be a pain, and you might feel left out at the beginning of the semester. People tend to cling onto what they know when they are nervous. Don't worry, you will make friends, I promise. Try rooming with someone who goes to Massart. 7) Don't be dumb; show up for class on time, do your assignments, don't walk around late at night, don't flaunt drunkenness to authority, don't stay up all night the night before an early morning class, don't spend all your money on booze and take out, don't go home with someone you just met... The normal stuff you've been taught, but so many kids seem to forget freshmen year.... 8) Check your teachers out on http://blog.ratemyprofessors.com/, in advance to avoid any negative classes. However keep in mind every teacher has kids who love/hate them, doesn't mean you will. 9) Grubhub.com will literally save your life when it's 1:30 in the morning and you must eat. 10) Talk to your teachers. They are there to help, and won't get mad. If you don't understand a project, email them about it.

    Bang for the buck

    MassArt has an extremely low tuition rate- especially for those who live in New England, and even more so for Mass Residents. If you are a Mass resident interested in art then this is the school for you; on top of an insanely low tuition there are a bunch of scholarships designated from MassArt just for Mass residents. The chance of a full ride scholarship is not rare if you apply yourself to the financial aid process and follow through. However be warned that although the tuition is reasonably low prices, fee's and art supplies will raise the price of attendance significantly, and Massachusetts is not a cheap place to live.

    Am enjoying being here

    MassArt is located within the heart of Boston. That being said it is no hard task to find something to do. The city is alive with concerts, events, clubs, shopping plazas, restaurants, movie theaters, museums, natural landmarks and anything a student could want. With the transit system in place it provides unlimited access to the entirety of the city. Be warned though that the winters get extremely cold, and the snow and ice storms can be severe.

    Am learning a lot

    MassArt offers a plethora of choices in your major and allows you to grow as an artist, and as a person. Teachers really want you to succeed and have you take something out of the class. Freshmen Year is filled with fundamentals that can be extremely helpful to some to sharpen your skills and get the foundation you need as an artist- however, many students find some aspects of these initial classes to be a bore. My advice would be to simply stick it out through what you know, pick out the aspects you don't know, and don't be afraid to go above and beyond expectations and challenge yourself. That's what MassArt is all about.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students who have a desire to learn, grow, and creatively develop. -hardworkers -students with dreams students who believe in a better tomorrow

    Tips for prospective students

    Be happy with what you got. You are young, don't try to grow up too fast. Enjoy your time, and keep things at a steady pace. Smooth and easy, simple and good.- REMEMBER THAT Don't make friends for the sake of having friends. You will eventually attract people with likes and interests and things will grow from there. You will also meet people whom you will naturally repel, no sweat, just treat them the same way you want to be treated( with love) ; and success is the best revenge. Be true to yourself and your beliefs. you are, what you believe in... Ahem! And eat. And think. And those who you keep company with. (take advantage of Cross Registration [ sophmore and up]) (take advantage of classes out of your major [for fun]) (have a clear state of mind) (STAY FOCUSED! there is no such thing as EQUAL multitasking; do one task at a time and do it good!) (be the best that you can be without self compromise and a deprived life; you only live once)

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah it is definitely worth a bang for the buck. But if you can overlook slightly dirty buildings and interesting bathrooms. You will find that it is all about what is on the inside, but not the outside that matters. [EAT AT SIMMONS or EMMANUEL's cafeteria.... better and healthier food] Chartwells needs an upgrade.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes and No. make sure you got: LIFE, FAMILY, FINANCE, ART, FRIENDS, WORK in check and even the extra stuff. Remember the simple things in life.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, and No. The teachers present you great material. But! it is up to you to take it to the maximum and to have fun. Also there is such a thing as a threshold for learning, whatever you do... balance school, life, work, family and friend time. You don't want to burn out. That means no nonstop marathons, over nighters, and sleep deprivation. Also accept the fact that you can't plan everything, life is bound to have surprises... Good and Bad. So it is definitely worth it to be around different types of artists.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Soul-less 'hipsters' and momma's boys that just love handing over their parent's savings.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a joke. Save your money for something better. Keep copies of everything and get things in writing. If you find a good teacher, try to stick with them for the next semester. Have thick skin to ward off the whole Mean Girls scenario of pretentious clones and try to get at least a sliver of education as you hand over your money, your life and your soul.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices for food are crazy, half a bag of m&ms is $3.99, a cup of cereal with no milk is $3.99 as well and a small box of cereal is $5.59 You're required to have a meal plan if living on campus. Basically, their answer to everything is a loan. I've heard a lot of people have trouble transferring credits even though Massart gave them the greenlight beforehand. They constantly lie/ never stick to what they say. You have to get EVERYTHING in writing, they'll lose your paperwork anyhow and that form you just filled out? Yeah, they'll get to it when they feel like it, how's three months from now sound? They have a new residence building under construction right now but, it's not going to help ease the lack of on-campus dorms. They're just going to accept more freshman to help pay back the cost of the building, then half of the freshman class will be forced to be commuters because they'll only tell you AFTER you accept to go here and get everything ready to be paid off.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cheaper tuition than most but they make up for it by hidden charges that crop up out of nowhere at the worst time. I just got charged $100+, went to the office and had it explained, paid it, then came back to a bill for nearly $500. There was no mention of this beforehand and I got it 2 days before the due date and my schedule can be withheld for the Spring as well as a $200 late fee charged, Happy Holidays to you too Massart.. This is the norm. They send things out as late as possible, then God forbid you're even a day late. They swindle money out of you at any given moment. Not only did they screw up my admissions, they also didn't have a dorm for me even though I sent paperwork promptly. After going back and forth, they put me in a studio (several thousands of dollars more) with 2 other girls. We barely have walking room. THEN they have the gall to tell me they'll charge me as if I were in a single, not forced double(cheaper), if my third roommate transfers(thankfully she didn't). When asked to explain that jump of logic, they just kept telling me to look at their maze of a website where you can only find things if you have prior knowledge of it. When I finally found the pdf, it still didn't make sense. That's another thing. They pretend like you know everything even though it's your first year there. Unless you go into the compass program(they select you) or have an upperclassman for a roommate, you won't find anything or know anything about departments, resources, etc. The campus map is a general map...basically exterior view/blocks of buildings huddled together, no mention of what floor has what or where entrances are. A nuisance considering some buildings you have to enter by going through other buildings. The cafeteria website is basically a farce, the scheduled meals are always empty and any holiday change to the schedules are not put up unless asked for. A lot of times you'll get really snotty cafeteria servers as well, although there are a select few that are friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    EVERYONE has to go through studio foundation year, even transfer students. You're basically duped into thinking that you'll be getting a little of everything(glass blowing, paper making, clay? how exciting!) WRONG. You get one elective for one semester, no elective the other semester. That's it. Everything else is Visual Language(just gouge your eyes out now, 5 hour bullcrap critiques), 2.5 hour art history classes(view slideshows) twice a week that everyone just falls asleep to atop their $100 useless textbooks, writing classes twice a week and a 5 hour studio drawing class of basics. Most schedules will not let you have any time to participate in school events/shows/anything fun by keeping you in class from 9am - 8pm or 9am - 6:30pm. The floor parties are a joke. Less artsy people and more valley girl cheerleader types/jocks/losers that basically go here to pretend they want an education. You'll be hearing like injected into a sentence more than 10 times as well as what-not and the pretentious I enjoy this piece because... I feel like I'm back in high school with several clones with the occasional wacky hair dye to pretend they're 'different'.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, Creative, Adventurous, Dedicated, Driven, Students who live in New England, Students who live in Massachusetts (the cost is cut for these states)

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for MassArt: 1) If a class choice comes down to a teacher, ask older students for opinions on teachers before selecting the class, this way you will find a teacher that is right for you and you will have more fun and learn more in the class! 2) I have found that the cheapest way to get art supplies is to shop buy the product at either Blick or Utrecht. Buy products based on which of those 2 stores has a better deal on it. A combo of both stores is the best way to go! Use coupons! 3) Watch your meal plan amount! Be careful not to run out before the end of the semester! You can watch it by asking the cafeteria cashiers to swipe your card and find the amount that is left on it! 4) Only stay up really late if you need to, don't be tempted by the dorm life. If you have an early class, go to bed early!! Sleep is important to your health! 5) Don't buy ANYTHING at the school store because it is VERY OVERPRICED! 6) When you first get to Boston always travel/explore/use the T with a friend because you will get lost on your own! 7) Try to get along with your roommates as much as possible but if it doesn’t work than you can switch at anytime, just get someone who also wants to switch! SWITCHING IS A MUST BECAUSE YOUR EXPERIENCE WILL BE MORE POSITIVE if you are with people who enjoy your company. 8) Most teachers verbally assign projects, so if you are confused about an assignment, ask the teacher to clarify it for you. don’t pretend to understand something that you don’t because it will make the assignment extremely difficult! 9) If you decide to party, always bring a friend (a group is better) and DO NOT GO BACK TO THE DORM UNLESS YOU ARE POSITIVE YOU CAN ACT SOBER IN FRONT OF THE GAURDS. Walk around and sober up before you go back to the dorm!! Or if you know the person you is hosting the party VERY WELL, sleep over! 10) If you get in trouble in any way, DO NOT TALK ABOUT IT WITH YOUR PEERS, because people in charge will hear you talking and will tell the RD, and you will get in more trouble than you already are.

    Bang for the buck

    MassArt is one of the cheapest art schools in New England and they give you so much for your money! Also the tuition of this school is cut down tremendously if you live in New England and it's cut down even more if you live in Massachusetts! They give you opportunities to meet famous artists, have internships, study abroad, work on campus, double major and much more! Also MassArt is apart of the Colleges of Fenway group, which is an organization that plans events for any college in the group! Overall this school really is a bang for your not-so-big bucks!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. MassArt is located in the heart of one of the most famous cities in the world, Boston Mass. I love exploring the city with my friends and since Boston is such a college-town there are millions of diverse teenagers to meet and hang out with! The students at MassArt are the most open-minded and kind group of kids I have ever meet. Also the staff and teachers here are warm-hearted and support whatever you would like to do! There is a very loving and supportive vibe throughout the whole school!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learned so much about art and about myself as an artist. MassArt starts with a studio foundation year which helps students sharpen their skills and find out what they want to do (you don't have to declare your major untill the second semester). Then in your major they deeply develop your understand of the material and help you make an identity with whichever art form you would like to do. Plus I am learning a lot from just living in the city and experiencing college life! Overall, I am learning more at MassArt than I ever have ever learned in any other school!

  • 06/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    creative and innovative, whether decided on a major or still unsure

    Tips for prospective students

    you may think you know what field you want to go into (and if you don't, that's okay too) - but once you get here you'll discover the awesomeness that is MASSART, and you'll want your major to be in everything! It's a phenomenal resource considering it's only funded by the state, and there are many studios here that you won't find anywhere else in the area - so TAKE ADVANTAGE!

  • 06/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, creative, open minded

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, be true to who you are, and take advantage of everything MassArt has to offer while you're here.