Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Motlow College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 10/04/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    An amazing atmosphere, the teachers are amazing and so helpful when you need them. The students here are very friendly as well and some of them are very interesting and intelligent. The cost is very cheap for classes but you still get an amazing education, I'm loving my time at motlow state community college.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No incidents have ever happened in my 3 years attending here, however they do have security patrolling as precaution.

    Great for these types of students

    All age range. Motlow of Smyrna has a broad spectrum on student characters and ages.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting your associates degree for the price is a big incentive.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on campus nor in town unless you like to go shopping or workout/swim at the near by YMCA and gyms.

    Food and Dining

    There are no cafeterias, but there are vending machines and areas where to eat at. there are food offering events occasionally during the semesters.

    Dorm Life

    MSCC does not offer any dorms, however there are apartment complexes in the area. One being 3 minutes from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics demands are fair from the professors. Some classes are more challenging than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are becoming competitive to get in as more students join Motlow. Register early.

    In three sentences

    Motlow College Smyrna Center started as one simple building that is growing quite rapidly. it is becoming more popular per semester. They are supposedly already planning on building a third building.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At night there is a security guard on campus to ensure safety.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure if Greek Life is offered at the Smyrna Campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Smyrna Campus doesn't offer many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Motlow is great for students that don't like a big campus. It is also great students that like a smaller class setting. Being that the campus only consists of two buildings that are about 15 feet apart, it is a great campus for disabled and physically challenged students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't noticed any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of Motlow is very good for what you get.

    What to do for fun

    The Smyrna Campus is very small and doesn't have much of anything to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines in both buildings. The campus doesn't have a cafeteria or anything of that nature.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the Smyrna campus and we don't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The only academic rigor I experienced is writing papers for classes. Writing papers is not one of my favorite things to do so I procrastinate when it comes to writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're in class on time and ready to learn. Whatever books you need for your classes make sure you get them as soon as possible. If you have group projects you have to do make sure you check everyone's work before it gets turned in with your name on it. Make sure everyone's work is up to par because you don't want to get a grade less than you deserve because someone in your group slacked on their part.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is a great school. If you like a small campus, this is the place to be. The student/teacher ratio is great.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I will admit that Motlow attracted me because of how much money I would save as an in-state student. And since the Art Institute jacked me over with the lottery scholarship, I could use the ability to save some money.

    What to do for fun

    I personally like Smyrna, TN. I grew up here, it's small town but expanding in its feels. Campus is a short walk away from YMCA. Down Sam Ridley from shopping centers and a lot of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Unknown

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to stay on them about your information. Never assume that everything is okay just because their website says it is. After going through admissions with them for the spring semester, I realized how big of a nightmare admissions and financial aid can be. Their system messed up my paperwork and they expected me to deal with it and pay up, blamed me for what happened and management was rude.

    In three sentences

    Admissions and financial aid was a nightmare. Unable to attend due to system mess up.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any class of people, but especially middle or lower class. Motlow doesn't care how much money you have. They will make a way for you to get your education.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not where you start, it's how you finish. Motlow welcomes everyone, while some other colleges might overlook you. Motlow lets you start on the right foot even if you had a rough education/ social life. You have another chance to make your dreams come to reality. The teachers are wonderful and are always there to lift you up and encourage in your hardest weeks.

    What to do for fun

    join a clubs, study in groups, and volunteer for projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a schedule, which will only help you in the end. It will make your life less stressful as a college kid. Remember to have fun, but also make time to study at least 6-8 hours each day. Your attitude affects your study skills; so be your self, and stay positive about all assignments!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the atmosphere of the small college. The professors work hard for the students, rather than making themselves look good. It's good to be known as an individual rather than just one out of the crowd.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have one night class and I feel a lot better with guards walking around at night.

    Food and Dining

    We don't have dorms, therefore there isn't a kitchen or huge cafe, but we do have some cool vending machines and even a microwave and the dining area has plenty of seating.

    Dorm Life

    At the Smyrna campus, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged but not too overwhelmed in my classes.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is friendly and I have all of my classes in the newer building on the Smyrna Campus and I love it. The teachers I have are friendly and willing to answer questions and voice their opinion when I've done well. I love the atmosphere and hardly ever want to skip class; that's always a nice feeling.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in school more than extracurricular activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Economical but strong in education.

    What to do for fun

    Library

    Food and Dining

    Convenient to off campus eating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply immediately after high school.

    In three sentences

    A convenient location for me while I work and attend college. They have great counselors who have guided me and helped me find the best route for me to take, I feel strong and confident to attending a upcoming graduate school.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at Motlow is very safe. I always see security on campus making sure students have nothing to worry about. If anyone looks suspicious, an email will be sent to all students describing the suspicious person.

    Clubs and Activities

    Motlow offers a science club, sociology club, student government association, etc. There are several activities that occur during the academic year: a Halloween costume contest, karaoke, welcome day activities, drawings for gas money, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Motlow is a great school for someone who loves the outdoors, loves basketball or baseball, or someone who wants to attend a small school with a friendly environment. This school offers many programs of interest and online classes. It has night classes, and regular classes that are only four days a week!

    Bang for the buck

    Motlow is a good college that offers a wonderful education. The tuition is cheaper than any university, and the teachers make sure to help anyone struggling. Motlow offers the opportunity to further your education at a price you may not find at a university.

    What to do for fun

    Motlow has a bunch of activities to participate in. My favorite is the International Festival. There is so much food, and it is so good! There is also an activity and information for study abroad.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines and a coffee machine! The food from the cafeteria is healthy and pretty good. I have eat at the cafeteria when I had late classes or stayed late working on papers.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know of any dorms on the Motlow campus, since I drive to school everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    Motlow has a very thorough academic standard. I have learned a lot at Motlow. The professors make sure to be on time and prepare for each individual class. Motlow also offers online classes, which are very thorough and helpful if you have a busy schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to study for tests! Always check your student email, get your parking pass, and pay tuition on time!

    In three sentences

    Motlow State Community College is a good school that prepares students for either a career or for transferring to another school. Motlow is a safe and friendly environment. The faculty at Motlow is dedicated to students needs.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was never one to appreciate the idea of community college. However, I am so greatful that I ended up at Motlow State Community College. I have saved a FORTUNE and am getting the same education as I would be getting at any other university. It is a great deal to get those basic core classes out of the way. I don't regret it one bit.

    What to do for fun

    Being located at the Smyrna campus is a major asset, because we are in close proximity to a movie theatre, bowling alley, shopping mall outlets, and all the places to eat you could want.

    Food and Dining

    Since we are a community college, on my campus we do not have a caf���©. However, with being located at the Smyrna campus, there are plenty of restaurants very close by to grab something quick and easy or enjoy a nice dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Since we are a community college, on my campus we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard enough to be college level and challenge you on a new way of thinking, however it is easy enough to train your brain from high school to new found college student.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for any prospective student would be if you believe you can work hard, then come to college and complete that degree! You must stay on top of your work; College is nothing like high school.

    In three sentences

    It is a small community that is easily welcoming to students new to the college experience. Everyone will learn your name, and plan to help you in anyway they can. It's a stepping stone to build yourself up from the transition of high school to college student.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate on anything

    In three sentences

    Motlow is a great place to further your education and truly grow as an individual. I believe Motlow is a 5 star community college that can offer you many necessities needed in life. If you are looking for a great education without paying the high cost this is definitely a wonderful choice!

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Motlow has both an exceptional basketball team, baseball team, and girls softball. They also conduct plays and offer art exhibits.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food that is cooked and served fresh. They offer both indoor and outdoor dining areas that are spacious and great for studying while you have lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Motlow is a community college and does not have dorms. I can not rate something that I have not experienced.

    Academic Rigor

    Motlow will challenge what you think you know. They will encourage you to expand your ideas and accept the ideas of others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study everyday, do not wait until the last minute. Go to class, take notes, and pay attention during lectures. Find study partners and take advantage of the all the academic help that is offered.

    In three sentences

    Motlow has challenged me to be the best student that I can be. Motlow has encouraged my need for further education. Motlow encouraged me to accept the offer of becoming one of their honor students.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    not affiliated

    Great for these types of students

    students whom are wanting to get there associates for a cheaper cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good cost very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    No recreational facility.

    Food and Dining

    They have snack machines, but also have fundraisers with food costing only 5$.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    what you would expect from a college.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY!

    In three sentences

    A small home town atmosphere. The staff and faculty are helpful. They offer a lot of resources.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a great starting place to get you into a Major college.

    In three sentences

    I would give Motlow a score of 10 out of 10! The teachers are great, and I have learned a lot!

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a very simple school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not many.

    Bang for the buck

    Not very aware of this.

    What to do for fun

    There is not many activities there regarding fun events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the classes you want to take, and seek multiple advisement. Be sure to explore options.

    In three sentences

    It is a good place to go if you are located close to the school. It is not where I would like to keep atending. It's a good starting college.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous

    What to do for fun

    Motlow always has lots of activities going on.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Motlow is a wonderful college and I would recommend it to anyone.

    In three sentences

    Motlow State Community College is very handy with lots of campuses available to students from different areas of middle Tennessee. Motlow has been very helpful to me in many ways. Motlow has great instructors who are willing to help you in any way they can.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many activities going on, yet I don't have the time to participate in them.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines, a popcorn machine, and they do many fundraisers. One was French Toast for breakfast.. yum!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Motlow are outstanding... It feels as if everything is beginning to make sense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure not to load yourself with too many hours at a time. One of my friends did this, and they lost their scholarship and had to retake the courses. Don't sweat the whole college idea; yes it's a big deal, but if I could do it at 17 then you could too. It isn't possible to have a worse first day than I experienced-- I was so nervous that my nose started bleeding, and I didn't want to interrupt the class so I left. It was all rainbows and sunshine after that!

    In three sentences

    Motlow was an easy transition for me seeing as I began my first semester during my senior year in high school. The campus isn't too overwhelming, and the teachers are happy to help. Everyone is just so nice.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They do have some unusual traditions like career day in the middle of a school day, while classes are going on. That does not make since because you have to skip a class to go and then you are behind.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I do not believe they have a dorm anymore. I know they use to but not now.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is good. I have only had a run in with a class that I felt that the professor could have done a better job than what they did. The rest of my time there has been very enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Motlow has been a great college to start in. I feel comfortable around most professors and the other classmates. Motlow is a good experience for me. I am very happy that I picked this college.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great school to start out at for general studies and also offers 2+2 programs.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your advisors.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice clean campus. Has several good professors. Have had several problems with the student center with paper work missing etc.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe at this school. I never feel afraid.

    Greek Life

    I am not currently in this .

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not currently in any clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Any student would love to be here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love being in the library. It is very useful and helping

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great.

    What to do for fun

    There is clubs and activities going on all the time it seems like.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is very good. We do not have a cafeteria here, but bring it in.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    I am learning alot here and the teachers take there time teaching you.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    This is a very rewarding school. It is not a very big school. Anyone who came would love it.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adult

    What to do for fun

    none

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes based on the professor teaching.

    In three sentences

    This school is great. The professors are very helpful. The classes are convenient.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not on campus much, but there seemed to be a pretty good party going on the other day when I left.

    Food and Dining

    No clue...never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really answer since I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It's been a while since I've been in classes, so I have a hard time remembering anything else to compare it to. Also, I'm only taking one class at a time so that lightens the load. Overall, I have learned a lot, but as far as testing and grading, the classes could definitely have been a little more challenging had the professors taught them differently...I'm not complaining!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to factor in what type of college experience you want. On the other hand, the affordability of Motlow makes a lot of sense especially now. It makes sense to get basics out of the way before heading for a Bachelors if that is your plans. Just be sure to check transferability of all classes before you take them.

    In three sentences

    I am an adult student and appreciate the professors willingness to work with students who already have families and jobs. So far it has been a fairly good experience. I'm looking forward to entering nursing school in the fall.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus patrol car to ensure safety.

    Bang for the buck

    Motlow's tuition is not a bad price at all. It's only roughly $2100 a semester. Just can't beat the quality of the school for that price. I highly recommend this school.

    What to do for fun

    Do study groups with friends. Play in the yard. Walk around campus which is a very beautiful campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing. The food is always fresh and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The have hard classes but the teaching is slow based so it is not as hard due to no taking everything in at once.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait to sign of for classes at the last minute. Get help on what classes you should be taking and can take.

    In three sentences

    The classes are of good size for easy learning. The teachers are very nice an very willing to help. It was a very good learning experience for me.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe!

    Great for these types of students

    It is a small campus, i enjoy that. It is very personal at Motlow.

    Bang for the buck

    Look for used textbooks!

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy the activities they have for everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and don't procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    I love my campus. Everyone at Motlow is accomodating, and friendly. I have learned so much attending this college.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for nursing students and elementary education.

    Bang for the buck

    The school isn't too expensive, federal aid will pay for much of it. The only drawback is that some classes are only offered through a program online and cost more than a traditional class.

    What to do for fun

    Although Motlow is a small school there are many opportunities for fun. Students can attend basketball or baseball games, musical and theatre performances, and take part in clubs. The conservation and outdoor club has many hikes throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    While there are not many food choices in the cafeteria, there are healthy options and the cafeteria is never too busy. Several times a year free hotdogs or barbecue and drinks are prepared for students.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on any Motlow campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    While faculty and staff are very helpful, many classes necessary for a degree are only offered online. However, the classes offered on campus are great. Many teachers even go beyond what they are required to teach to prepare students for classes at 4 year schools and with other teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into the 2+2 programs. Several 4 year universities are partnered with Motlow and you can obtain a bachelors degree at a Motlow campus quickly.

    In three sentences

    Motlow has a great campus with a wonderful library. The teachers are friendly and always willing to offer help. This is a great school both for those right out of high school and older students with families and jobs.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    One greek organization

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't participate but there are many

    Great for these types of students

    anybody

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none known

    Bang for the buck

    Value is exceptional, compared to a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Any tons of clubs and activities take you pick

    Food and Dining

    no dining facilities, snack machine

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but Motlow will not let you fall through the cracks, (if you want it).

    Tips for prospective students

    Regardless of your age, race, or background there is a program or course of study for anyone.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is great as far as its faculty. Motlow's advisors are intellegent helpful, AVAILABLE, and always have an answer in a timely manner. Motlow is revered as one of the best nursing schools.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Motlow State Community College's McMinnville Campus always has food available for students sponsored by the many great clubs offered at MSCC (Phi Theta Kappa or the Student Government Association).

    Academic Rigor

    The Motlow State Community College's McMinnville Campus offers many different courses. Each course is filled with a great instructor to make your experience the best it can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider Motlow State Community College to be your first academic experience beyond high school.

    In three sentences

    I would recommended that any student in the Middle-Tennessee area to seriously consider Motlow State Community College. My first year has been a blast and it is welcoming to join the many clubs offered at MSCC. I highly recommend you to consider your first two years of your college experience to be at Motlow State Community College.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is one or two patrol officers on campus monitoring the parking lot day and night. They are very friendly and there to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to join. They are always celebrating on campus so games and activities are set up on most pretty days.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun activities and plays at Motlow to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has wonderful food. They even have a short order cook.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always something fun going on at Motlow. There are many different clubs and organizations for all types of people. It's always a blast!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like anything you ever do, you should work hard. Motlow is a great college and with a little hard work and motivation you will definitely succeed through Motlow.

    In three sentences

    Motlow has caring and enthusiastic educators. The faculty is always willing to help you. I have really enjoyed my time at Motlow and I hope you will give it a shot.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This semester there was a lot of construction for the new building but they make sure that everyone is safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any clubs but they have had a lot of activities this semester. I have been taking honors classes every semester to try and graduate with honors.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any student trying to save money i think the environment is better than a university because you can actually interact with your professors and they help you out a lot where at a university its hard to get help from your professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are none that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Its amazing how little you pay for the same classes you would be taking at a university. It does not make since to pay a huge amount for the same amount of classes and degree that you will be getting.

    What to do for fun

    There is not really anything fun to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food on campus there is just a vending machine

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Motlow offers honors classes and i have tried to take one every semester so i can potently graduate with honors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with an ad visor if you need help or have any questions they are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is and outstanding school to attend. I have enjoyed my first year of college here and cant wait to finish here. They help you out in every way needed and are always there to assist you.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in a dorm

    In three sentences

    motlow has great teachers. its a small college, which i love. i don't like the way the financial aid department is

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Motlow campus is very safe. Very rarely are there any reports of anything bad happening. Its only happened once in the last year that I was there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society

    What to do for fun

    Motlow has a baseball, softball, and basketball team. They also have a jazz ensemble. In addition to this they have a huge library where students hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average college cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are strict about what they expect. However, they are willing to help each student achieve his/her full potential during their time at Motlow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Take your education seriously. Get to know the professors personally.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is a great place for those who are worried about expenses. The professors genuinely care about the education of each student. The atmosphere is very learning oriented.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If your worried about college and the idea of a big institute, don't be. Motlow has transfer programs that can help you get ready and save money on your way to another campus. Or simply help you earn a degree right there on their many campuses.

    In three sentences

    I believe Motlow State Community College is a great place to start your education after high school. It is very laid back and every one on the staff is very helpful. Teachers and office staff truly go above and beyond to make your college experience the best it can be.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    I have not spent time in the dorm so have not needed a dining plan.

    Dorm Life

    I have not spent time in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are serious. The online classes I have taken thus far have been intense and have required daily attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing I can advise prospective students is do not be afraid to ask. The staff is wonderful and ready to help no matter where you are in the process.

    In three sentences

    I have been extremely pleased with my experience at Moltlow. I have taken several classes online and they were easy to understand, and the professors were very helpful. It has made going back to college an easy transition in my life.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police sit on campus off and on throughout the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a really nice conservation club that goes on hikes throughout the year.

    What to do for fun

    Through the whole school there are basketball and baseball games. Along with art shows as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to dine out around the campus, but nothing on site.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy with minimal studying required. Other classes require hours a day to study, anatomy and physiology for example.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the office and make an appointment with the academic counselors. They will help guide you on the courses you need to complete.

    In three sentences

    I go to the Smyrna campus, and all the teachers are really nice. Because it is a small campus, you will get the help you need to pass the classes you take. Plus there are plenty of resources to help you succeed.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of safety being an issue but I believe that would be a positive comment.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I have heard that the few clubs offered at Motlow have overall positive reviews.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to the big college in my area, Motlow is much more productive, efficient, and helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Join the honors classes! They aren't more difficult necessarily, just more deep, engaging, and covers more information.

    Food and Dining

    Community College, not applied.

    Dorm Life

    Community College, no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are intimate, the professors care about how well you do, and the course work is engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to go to class, the information the teachers cover in their lectures are what they think is important enough to know so they will more than likely test you over it.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is small but intimate school which brings helpful caring professors that care about their students. My favorite classes are the honors classes because of how deep into the topic we dive into. I took a Greek Mythology class and somehow a lecture about the greek gods would turn into a class discussion over similarities on all religions.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every student, especially nontraditional.

    Bang for the buck

    Why pay more for core cirriculum? This college offers a Tennessee Transfer to a 4-year University, and you can also save time and money by testing out of some basic classes.

    Food and Dining

    At the Smyrna campus, there is no cafeteria, but there are vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned much in my studies, and some of the classes are identical in context to the 4-year Universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the classes are taught by the same professors as the local 4-year universities. Take advantage of the same information at a lower cost. You can also CLEP out of classes, enabling you to finish your degree in record time.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is a great college for getting the core cirriculum to transfer to a 4-year university, or for those only planning to persue an Associates Degree. The professors are friendly and helpful, and the class sizes are small. There is opportunity to take night and weekend classes, and there are also affordable online classes.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent during the day do not need security. At night the Dean of Motlow requires to have security officers available.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA, PSLI, Art Club, Science Club, Poetry Club, Communications Club and much much more.

    Great for these types of students

    All students welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is international day. Food from all over the world. Come and enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low

    What to do for fun

    There is karaoke, costume contest, games out in the court yard.

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent in the cafeteria. If you don't like the food fast food is near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but easy at the same time. If you go to class and listen to your professor you will have a quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment and take a tour throw campus and you will be hooked.

    In three sentences

    The college is small so the amount of students in each class is low. This way the excellent professors have more one on one time with the students. This college is also more personable, you are just not a number.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Staff!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty, but I do not have time for any of them!

    Great for these types of students

    Close-knit and hardworking students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Motlow does not have unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Motlow has plenty of extracurriculars.

    What to do for fun

    Friends are good to hang out with for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Motlow does not have food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    Motlow does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers amazing academics! The classes are moderately hard and the teachers are fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for friendly relationships!

    In three sentences

    I do like Motlow College as a whole. It is small which causes most of the staff to be very friendly. I wish some specific people would care a little bit more about each student as a whole and that student problems. Everyone can't be perfect and I love this school!

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student campus safety was not at the top of my requirments when choosing an institute, but for my mother it was the main concern. Motlow requires each vehicle to have a valid parking pass to access the campus. It has many security guards that meander on and near campus as needed. Also, there are security cameras located at every other street light, every building inside as well as outside, and staff on duty at any moment in time a class is session for any situation.

    Greek Life

    Phi Thea Kappa is an honors sorority that you have to be asked to join. It allows advanced college students the opportunities for further financial aid, community service events, and life-long friends to stay in contact with. This sorority has many fund-raising events for any need considered by student raves, bake sales, car washes, performed plays, lock ins, and kissing booths! I am apart of this exuberance life and it pursues another reason for my choice of enrolling at Motlow State Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Motlow offers many clubs to be active in such as the science, honors, Phi Thea Kappa sorority and sport events that also look great on college applications and resumes. You can even study a course and earn college credits in a different country through the study abroad program.

    Great for these types of students

    All activities and traditions are great for all students. Meeting new friends and enjoying new experiences is always an option at MSCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have only attended Motlow State Community College, but my favorite tradition is Welcome Back week. The first week of each semester, Motlow welcome future and current students with free food, music, and entertainment all week long! Volleyball and basketball games can be played and multiple drawings and contests for free gift cards to help pay for books and supplies.

    Bang for the buck

    Motlow State Community College has a resonable tuition that I can afford. A secondary institute was not a option for me as I was growing up, because my parents could not afford it. Motlow is giving me the opportunity to accomplish my education goal without going into debt. Financial aid offers are spectacular with assisting students with additional scholarships and grants.

    What to do for fun

    What is there not to do for fun with Motlow Bucks? You can lose your voice while cheering and supporting the softball and baseball team at the games, become a member of the multiple clubs and organizations offered, and mingle with new individuals to expand your horizon of different cultures!

    Food and Dining

    Motlow offers almost everything you can think of to gorge on during breakfast and lunch. If the meal you are craving is not on the bar a particular day, they will cook it for you (hot and fresh) if you have the time to wait for it. Student Success Baptist Chuch also offer lunch plates with reduced meal prices every Monday and Wednesday for broke college students trying to consume energy to stay up for late night study sessions.

    Dorm Life

    MSCC does not offer dorm rooms, but it does offer the opportunity to live at home while attending college and save all the money you can while you can.

    Academic Rigor

    The most difficult challenge I have been faced with as a college sophomore is learning how to study for exams. The rumor is true that you will have no life during exam week, but it all pays off in the end. Peer groups and study sessions have become my mentor to survive college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Deciding where to attend college and choosing a career are a few of the most important decisions a young adults are faced with, but don't let that impact your choice. Determine which opportunities are best for you and enjoy life to the fullest! College is considered the best time of your life so have fun, keep your GPA up and begin a new chapter of who you are.

    In three sentences

    Motlow State Community College is a magnificent institution to start your education, whether you have chosen a career major or not. Most education paths have the same basic requirements for every student, and Motlow bucks allow students the opportunity to live near home while enrolled in school, more individual assistance from instructors with smaller classrooms, and most importantly cheaper education! I love attending MSCC as it is teaching me the fundamentals of education needed to survive in this world.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No dining.

    In three sentences

    The admissions, financial aid, and Veteran's Administration staff have made it very simple to conduct the business needed in order to begin classes. A mistake was made on the part of the financial administration department which prevented me from meeting their deadline of July 15, but they recognized their mistake and made an exception so I could still attend.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a shy student coming right out of high school, then a community college would be better for you to start out in.

    In three sentences

    Motlow is a great school to attend. The staff is friendly and helpful. Your classroom sizes are small so it's easy to stay focused in class and talk to your professor when needing help.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is a small college. Many students know everyone. It has a safe feeling and enviroment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs to be involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    Motlow is by far the cheapest school. It's the most affordable for the education you recieve.

    Food and Dining

    No food and drinking.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are amazing, I have learned so much. The classes are what I need, and teachers care about school and school work. Motlow is a challenging, but comfortable, school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really work on scholarships. Don't put things off, they need to be done. Study.

    In three sentences

    I love Motlow State. The staff is very friendly. I have learned a lot from the teachers here.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe if something was to happen, the hospital is right in front of the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not that many clubs at the Mcminnville center, but would love to have some.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money considering it is a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley fairly close to the Mcminnvile Motlow center. Every Tuesday it has ninety nine cent bowling nights. It is so much fun to bowl with family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few restaurants that are not too far for the campus.

    Dorm Life

    off campus living only

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes are hard, but if you really want something you will always do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students should always use an advisor, they can help you out a lot. The library staff can always help you find exactly what you need. The last tip is always get to the campus early for good parking; who likes walking in the rain?

    In three sentences

    Motlow State Community College has a very nice campus. The classrooms are small, and classes are usually not over thirty students. The library is amazing, there are so many resources and helpful staff.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't like large groups of people, this is a good choice for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent nursing program.

    What to do for fun

    It is a rural area. Fishing, hunting, and lots of lakes near by. Also, 12 miles from Bonnaroo!!

    Food and Dining

    not much on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    It is small and gives personal attention to its students. It is affordable. The campus is beautiful.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Such a safe campus, I always feel safe and worry free.

    Great for these types of students

    Kids wanting to live at home and work along with attending college.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth your money, and not that expensive. A degree is a degree no matter where you get it!

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun activities that are held throughout the semester. There is also a ping pong table.

    Food and Dining

    They have free pizza and free deserts on certain days.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a duel enrolled student and currently have a 4.0 at this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try your hardest in every class. Do not judge teachers by the first impression. Also, do not judge the class by one day.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy Motlow State Community College. The classes are small and the teachers help you. The campus is clean and welcoming.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very small campus and security is very visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of extra curricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes will like Motlow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is small and very pretty. Deer are often seen on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's less expensive than a university.

    What to do for fun

    Bonnaroo!

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining and close to other restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    I am enjoying it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and follow your dreams.

    In three sentences

    It's close to my home. The instructors are great. They offer a wide variety of courses.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST VALUES YOU WILL FIND, ESPECIALLY FOR IN-STATE TUITION

    What to do for fun

    SPORTS ACTIVITIES

    Dorm Life

    THERE ARE NO DORMS AT THIS COMMUNITY COLLEGE

    Tips for prospective students

    BE SURE TO START EARLY AND HAVE ALL YOUR INFORMATION TOGETHER FOR A SMOOTH TRANSITION.

    In three sentences

    THE STUDENT TO TEACHER RATIO IS GREAT AND MAKES THE LEARNING ENVIRONMENT VERY COMFORTABLE. TEACHERS ARE EASY TO REACH AND EAGER TO HELP. ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND HELPFUL. I ENJOYED EARNING MY ASSOCIATES DEGREE AT MOTLOW.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No food or dining at the Smyrna campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the Smyrna campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes required more, but this was dependant upon the instructor/professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check to make sure you are taking the appropriate classes for the goals you have in mind, i.e. transferring to four year university or obtaining an associates degree.

    In three sentences

    An inexpensive college to get most general education requirements completed if transferring to a 4 year program. Has several associates degree programs.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    motlow is a wonderfully effecient way to start you college career, and save money while doing so!

    What to do for fun

    go hang out in the game room. there's ping pong!

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria on main campus. however, i attend the fayetteville campus and would like to see some dining options placed one campus here.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    motlow is not, by any means, a hard school. however, you are expected to work for the grades you make.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class, take notes, do your homework, meet the deadlines, and you can't go wrong at motlow!

    In three sentences

    motlow is a wonderful school for anyone, whether you're fresh out of high school, or a non-traditional student. the atmosphere here is wonderful and you meet nice people everywhere you go. i have greatly enjoyed my time here and graduation will be bitter-sweet!

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends....

    Food and Dining

    small town, but bigger towns with nicer restaurants aren't far away.

    Dorm Life

    na - off campus living only

    Academic Rigor

    so far it's not been to hard but you do have to work at it.

    Tips for prospective students

    check website and email daily!! if you don't you may miss some things you will wish you hadn't.

    In three sentences

    navigation of online classes and campus website are not as friendly as they could be. have great opportunities for local high school students. friendly people.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the price is very low for the quality of teachers they have.

    Food and Dining

    there isn't much in the way of food options. there is a couple of vending machines in the hallway, but for any kind of real food you're expected to go to fast food places that are located near the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    the best thing you can do is get as much information as possible as soon as possible. it doesn't matter how early in the school year it is, as soon as you decide to go to school you need to start the process of actually getting into it. even if it is too early too apply, have all the proper documents ready for preregistration.

    In three sentences

    applying for motlow was very frustrating and getting the required documents was more than difficult, because i kept getting a lot of different information from different people. however, once i started my classes my teachers did a wonderful job at putting me at ease. the wonderful teachers i have has definitely been what kept me in this school.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are ready to leave home, or maybe that would like to enjoy being close to friendly people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and keep up the good grades

    Bang for the buck

    The price is nice

    Am enjoying being here

    It's nice and friendly. Like home!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot and trying to keep up the good grades.

  • 06/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off, it's college not high school teachers in college won't stand for late homework or anything like that.

    Bang for the buck

    By far very cheap school, easy for people to pay for.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will definitely enjoy being at a great school with nice people, and enjoy being a college student.

    Will learn a lot

    Have a bunch of great classes that will help you get to your career.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IF you want to stay close to home, and don't want to go to a big school right off. They offer a great foundation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go tour the school and look around.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved being there. It was very nice.

    Did learn a lot

    The learning enviroment is great if you are looking for a small school with small classes. You can have alot of one on one time with a teacher.