Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Country Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    minimal clubs. Students don't want to put the effort in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that just want to do their work and get on with life, but don't mind spending a little extra.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of nature around. Hiking is the biggest thing. The Winter Carnival is a great event that lasts a week long with a great parade at the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out the full amount it will cost to get your degree here. There are a lot of fees that are charged to the student. Having an extra $1,000-$2,000 per year for course fees, new student fees, college fee, technology fee, etc. is the norm. Keep all of your homework and keep track of your courses because it is not uncommon to have lost work or missing credits for classes that you have already taken.

    In three sentences

    North Country is administrative heavy which means they are more focused on income rather than the students learning experience. Many of the instructors are dedicated to the students experience, but are controlled by the administration. The campus is not an actual campus, but a few buildings on top of a hill so expect to walk a lot.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much, Malone campous I small

    Bang for the buck

    good

    What to do for fun

    not much in town but the college does try to keep fun stuff around

    Food and Dining

    I don't know. Malone campus doesn't have any

    Dorm Life

    I don't know. Malone campus doesn't have any

    Academic Rigor

    Very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know the job market before you choose your major.

    In three sentences

    Great school with a good selection of different programs to choose from.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security cameras and occasional patrols. This town is small and has always been safe. You can walk around at anytime with no worries.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor/adventurous people.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you get, the price here is phenomenal. At first I thought it would lack greatly but I couldn't have been more wrong.

    What to do for fun

    Saranac Lake is all about the outdoors. There's hiking, biking, rock climbing, kayak/canoeing, swimming (there is a local beach too), boating, fishing, camping, etc. 10 minutes away in Lake Placid there is a movie theatre, Ben and Jerry's, lakeside entertainment, bowling, arcade, laser tag, and much more including shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Always a versatile diet at each meal. Food isn't like the bigger schools where it's made in a hurry. Good variety all around, including drinks. Plenty of room to sit, with different size tables. There is also a couple of vending machines for snacks and drinks, along with a hangout area on the opposite side of the room.

    Dorm Life

    Clean, not too noisy, good kids, plenty of space for activities.

    Academic Rigor

    I've rated this a 4 but in reality I rate it around a 4.5 for the all around organization and push that the teachers give to see their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about starting out here because the faculty and staff are always willing to help and are very nice to the greatest extent. If you put in the time and effort, you will progress rapidly and do very well!

    In three sentences

    I believe when it comes to college, that the amount of time, care, and compassion put into the classes by the teachers here is what makes me believe in this school. You can really tell that they care about the students no matter which way they prefer to learn, and that can be hard to find now-a-days. If I were to rate this school out of 10(best), I'd put it at a solid 9.0 at least; this probably explains the fact that it is known as the best community college in New York.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Thankfully, we are in a rather safe community, but they do have campus security that patrols.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs seem very obscure or are non existent.

    Great for these types of students

    I came here because the Adirondack setting is perfect for learning wilderness recreational leadership. This is a good 2 year, springboard college. I think the college is striving to encompass all types of students of various degrees.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Other than a lot of student fees that have not yet been well explained as to where they go, it is a good bang for your buck school. It is around $3,000 a year to attend.

    What to do for fun

    The student life tries to book many fun activities for the students. One downfall is that this comes out of the student fees which rack up rather quickly and much was spent at the beginning of the semester leaving a tight budget for the rest of the year.

    Food and Dining

    For non traditional students it is overpriced. It is probably the same for dorm students, but they do have the option of all you can eat I believe. The few food selections I've tried are more like convenience store food than cafeteria food. I would have rather paid $2 for a slice of DiGorno pizza than whatever brand they had.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, they do not run the dorms themselves. There is a housing committee that runs them. The WiFi has been referred to as pitiful. The students pay a fee for this, but many also pay out of pocket for internet to be installed so they can actually use the internet to complete homework assignments.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the level of difficulty is fair in most cases. Enough to learn, but not enough to overwhelm. I would like to see a movement towards evaluating learning by something other than homework. Homework equals learning as putting in 40 hours equals productivity. Being engaged is the key to either of those categories.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make copies of all important paper work that you will be handing in as it seems to be common that it gets lost. Use your organizer to write down all homework in one place. It relieves stress and confusion.

    In three sentences

    I like the school as a whole. I was enthusiastic about the school before getting here, but am not as proud of it as I would like to be.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do but there is a field out front that is fun to study or hang out with friends in between classes

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining at the Malone campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at the Malone Campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about studying issues because they have great people who can help you learn how to study and great people who can help you with classes.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with great teachers. I believe every student in the area should start out at North Country Community College because it is a challenge. I have created some great bonds with some of the teachers at this school.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus.

    Greek Life

    None! no Frats or Sororities!

    Clubs and Activities

    Basketball, cross country, soccer ,softball.

    Great for these types of students

    Winter people Adventurous students Water students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always have wierd entertainment who comes to the campus once every month.

    Bang for the buck

    They have a dollar tree and a Adli's. Tuesday's at Romano's bowling alley is 35 cents wing night , at captin cook's bar they also have 35 cent wing night on wednesdays. (Captin cooks is better)

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley and that's it! Unless you like to ski, snowboard, kayak, and canoe.

    Food and Dining

    They are extremley expensive but they're roast beef sandwhich is the best!

    Dorm Life

    Every year they have bed bugs, and they never maintance the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's don't express material enough. That I know of. My classes are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for the winter, if you will be a out of state student, have plenty of money before you come. Most shopping has to be online, there are no shopping areas. Be someone who enjoys doing nothing but exploring nature.

    In three sentences

    NCCC is a experimental college. If you like the snow, and nature this is the college to attend. Education and sports wise, no.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security cameras installed outside of the dorms and always security on watch. I feel safe here with the help of the friendly RA's and Campus Security.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of NCCC compared to other colleges costs is much more reasonable. Similar colleges cost thousands of more dollars for not as nice of dorms and not as good of a teacher to student ratio.

    What to do for fun

    With Lake Placid 10 minutes away, there is so much to do from bowling to laser tag to movies! There are mountains to hike, Tucker Farm corn maze every year and plenty of activities on campus! Check it out.

    Food and Dining

    There is always something good to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love living in the Apartment Style Dorms. I get along great with my roommates and am more than happy with the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are all very friendly and helpful and the academic workload is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love the outdoors then North Country is for you. There is always something to do. Make sure you take a tour of the college!

    In three sentences

    I am a freshman at North Country Community College and I absolutely love it here. Everyone makes you feel at home and are so friendly and helpful. I am living in the dorms and they are so nice. Apartment style dorms are a must! You get a lot of privacy and a great place to stay. North Country is an all around well rounded school and is great for people of all ages. I recommend this school to anyone and everyone, you wont be disappointed.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play football

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help when you need it

    In three sentences

    Very exciting learning institute Teachers are very supportive

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outdoors, and close community members

    What to do for fun

    Outside activities are abundant in the Adirondacks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Achieve the Best.

    In three sentences

    The college is a great place in the Adirondacks. The surronding area is beautiful. The college gives numerous activities in which the students give back to the community which is very important to it foundation.

  • 10/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love this college. You get all kinds of help from the staff. Its a small college and that's what i wanted