Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Schuylkill Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are not sure about what size of campus you want to be in, I would recommend Penn State Schuylkill because it is relatively small, but then again, you have that option of transferring to a bigger campus like University Park in your last two years. This way you can get a feel of both types of living environments. Although I don't live on campus, I took a tour of the dorms and they are like little apartments...the rooms are shared but they have a living room and kitchen!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really need help with tuition, apply for FAFSA as soon as possible, and visit the financial aid office frequently. You can also save some money by packing your own lunch...there is a microwave for student use in the cafeteria. Also, if you like exercising, the fitness center is free for students and it is usually less busy in the mornings.

    Bang for the buck

    It isn't exactly cheap, but it is less expensive than University Park and some other universities. And since there is a 2+2 program, the first two years you stay in a smaller Penn State campus (in which you will save a lot of money completing general courses) and then for your other two years you can transfer to Penn State main campus. Food in the cafeteria is a bit pricey, but you can always bring your own.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are very understanding and want to help you understand any concepts you don't comprehend. Other staff and students are friendly too. I usually spend most of my breaks in the library, fitness center, or the cafeteria, but there is a pool (the game) room, computer lab, and a lounge area too.

    Am learning a lot

    Teacher to student ratio is pretty low, so you can really get to ask questions and participate in class discussions. Some teachers even make a study session for a specific class for students to go to. Tutoring is also available and is completely confidential.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Schuylkill Campus is great for those students who enjoy the small town feel, but still get to go away to school. Also, it is ideal for those students who would to participate in Penn State's 2+2 program (starting the coursework for your major in the first two years at one of Penn State's satellite campuses and then transferring to Penn State University Park for the remaining two years) because it allows for a smooth transition in both coursework and the sheer size of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students who are out of state, be sure to fill out the FAFSA early. For those students who are in state, be sure to apply to PHEAA if you're eligible. Also, Penn State is notorious for giving slim financial aid, so it's best to look to outside sources if you need aid.

    Bang for the buck

    One on one tutoring is available for any student at many times during, free of charge, helping reinforce what was went over in class. In addition, teachers are always willing to help students, so long as they ask and do their share of the work. The small class sizes allow every student to get their questions answered, which again reinforces the material.

    Am enjoying being here

    The small town feel on campus is great. Everyone knows each other bringing a strong sense of community to both residents and commuters. There is definitely a no pressure environment on campus, no immature bullying which makes campus, a nice place to spend your time.

    Am learning a lot

    Since the campus only has about a thousand students, class sizes are very small and teachers are able to help students one on one when they need it. It also allows for everyone to get their questions answered which makes for a much better learning experience.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though the campus is safe during the day, there are a lot of fights, and gang related activities during the night.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small campus, there are a lot of different activities. Cheer leading, basketball, and drama just to name a few. If you want something to do in your spare time, there is probably something for you.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who want to stay close to home. It is also a good campus for students who want to do their school work, and don't care much about partying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of tuition, Penn State Schuylkill is definitely a good choice . If you are looking for the full College Experience, this is not the school for you. If you are looking to get on with your career in 4 years, it is totally worth a look.

    What to do for fun

    At Penn State Schuylkill, you really have to make your own fun. The campus is basically an hour away from everything (malls, movie theaters, and other fun centers). If you are over the age of 21, you can have a lot of fun drinking in your dorms with other students.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place to eat on campus, and to be quite honest, the selection sucks. There is a Sheetz and McDonald's about a quarter mile away though so you do have some variety. The pizza at the school is bomb though!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are actually pretty cool. They are large, and have a nice living room and kitchen. You also have a good opportunity at meeting new people, because you have 6 roommates. I like the dorms here at Penn State Schuylkill more than any other campus that I have visited.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are good. I believe it is easier to learn here, because it is a smaller campus, with small class sizes. If you do have questions, you can ask the professor without any hassle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a lot more work than high school. Although the campus has a high school feel, the work is a lot harder than high school.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Schuylkill Is a small campus with good one on one attention. Although there isn't much to do around campus, it is still worth attending if you are on a budget. I would suggest local students to look into Penn State Schuylkill campus .

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is somewhat excellent

    Greek Life

    I don't know about Greek life, I haven't seen anything at this campus

    Clubs and Activities

    That I like, the gaming club and game tournaments

    Great for these types of students

    All Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothings unusual besides the animal sightings which are rare

    Bang for the buck

    I do like this campus, I just want it to be a little more interactive

    What to do for fun

    Play games online, make good friends, and chill out and live life

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are kind of small but when rooming with the right people it makes life go by better

    Academic Rigor

    It only gets stressful if you let it. I know this has happened to me and I came back to do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, Make positive friends, Do all work, and join clubs, you'll never know who you might run into

    In three sentences

    Penn State Schuylkill Campus is a ok campus. I like it because it's quiet and can keep a student focus, and it's only 2 hours from my city of Philadelphia. I also like this campus because some of the professors are good people and do everything they are able to help students pass.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We travel out to Allentown, to a club out there. Also certain nights people go bowling and almost every night the gym is filled with people.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym or to someone else door room. Watch movies, find a party for the night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your school work but have fun at the same time. Learn time management; this will help you have a great year.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Schuylkill is a great campus, which has a lot to offer. Its not such a big campus but this is great for incoming students,who may not be ready for the conditions of attending a big campus.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police are very capable and reactive to any possible situations. They are very friendly. They will even help you if you need a jumpstart, get locked out of your car, or would like an expensive personal item engraved for identification.

    Greek Life

    Our first fraternity will be offered on campus starting Fall 2012.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to choose from leaving a ton of space for leadership opportunities!

    Bang for the buck

    The University makes their best efforts to keep tuition down. You do not miss out on any opportunity or pleasurable cirumstance offered at higher education institutions caused double or triple the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is great opportunity to participate in sports, clubs, and organizations. There seems to be a club for everything! If you want to start a club, all you will need is 6 people!

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes great but sometimes lacks in variety. It can be a bit pricey at times too. However, just spending holiday breaks away, so many of the dishes will be missed!

    Dorm Life

    All dorms here are actually apartments. They are very spacious and have full-sized kitchens. You would certainly not be in a cramped living situation. Resident Assistants are very kind, helpful, and understanding.

    Academic Rigor

    Penn State has top-quality academics. Graduating from this University will prepare you for a competitive world. At Penn State Schuylkill professors have the time to help you one-on-one and student tutors are abudant. Everyone can succeed if they utilize the resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all of your lectures! The professors have a great wealth of infomation to share with you, but you must attend your classes to take advantage of this infomation. Get to know your professors. Many of them went through the Penn State system themselves and can give you much valuable feedback. Take advantage of the tutoring center. It is incredibly helpful and easy to navigate.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Schuylkill is a wonderful community atmosphere with a beautiful focus on individual attention, research, and academic integrity. All of the professors take the time to get to know students on a personal level which flourishes networking. Also there is much help in preparing for the next phase of your academic careers.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are great and always willing to help.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Penn Sate has great university-wide clubs. THON is the greatest thing I've ever been a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than U-Park, and definitely worth it

    What to do for fun

    The area itself is a pretty small town. The campus is what you make it. If you view it as small and boring it will be, but if you become proactive and make it fun, it will be.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good, but its hours are a little annoying. Overall, the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Apartment-style living is absolutely great. Great community and the buildings and grounds are very well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes/professors can be a little tough, but it's like that at all universities. Overall it's not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get involved. Always put school first. Join THON!

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus. The Penn State Community is great! I absolutely love it.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    unknown

    Great for these types of students

    motivated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown of any

    Bang for the buck

    cheap county to live in

    What to do for fun

    bars and clubs around area

    Dorm Life

    did not live in dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT given up on school and further education

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. All staff are very helpful and friendly. I would recommend to anyone.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's alot of police onthe campus

    Greek Life

    no greek life3

    Clubs and Activities

    Basketball,glee and fatall attraction

    Great for these types of students

    That like small environments,Want to stay in their books and those that don't like to party!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than University park.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the basketball games,Join some clubs,Hang out in the buildings.

    Food and Dining

    You can get on a meal plan but the apts have kitchens

    Dorm Life

    It's apartment style living.

    Academic Rigor

    It's really easy,the professors are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like small environments don't come here.If yu like to have one on ones with your professors this is the right school for you. If you like to party alot don't come to this university.

    In three sentences

    The work is easy there at the university.The school is very smaill.It's very easy to get to class everyday.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball, play games in the lounge, participate in groups such as Thon.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Schuylkill is great academically. I rate Penn State an 8. The dorms are fine as well.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many interesting clubs and activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The money paid to attend this school isn't worth what you get here. I would definitely look at other schools if I was a prospective student looking to attend this school.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun here. There are some trips here and there that are fun to attend, but for the most part, there isn't much offered here.

    Food and Dining

    I don't like the food served in the cafe. It's greasy, tasteless, and expensive. The healthier choices aren't that great either.

    Dorm Life

    I do not like the dorm life here at all. It's terrible in my opinion. There's really nothing to do on and off campus and a lot of the residents of the dorms are loud and inconsiderate to others.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload isn't light but it isn't unbearable either. I believe that the education here is the best thing about the school. There are really good teachers here that are helpful, look out for their students, and understand that we're busy people so they give us just enough work to prepare us throughout the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would give to prospective students is be sure this is the school that you want to spend the next four years of your life at. Weigh all of your options and if this is the right school for you, then attend. However, if there are other places that will put you in a better situation financially, as well as better surroundings, then I would go with those choices instead of attending this school.

    In three sentences

    At first glance, I thought Penn State Schuykill was the right choice to be my future home but shortly after moving in, I found out it wasn't. It's not the best of schools and I'm not a fan of it here. Other students seem to really like it here, but it isn't for me.

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its very safe ! campus police are very helpful and nice .

    Bang for the buck

    what this campus lacks in size they make up for with great professors ,advisory and resources for their students.

    What to do for fun

    Campus like is what you make it ! It's a smaller campus so most clubs and groups are small but they offer many and what they don't have their open to getting . Be vocal about the things you want on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm is good when you meet the right people ...don't be shy !

    Academic Rigor

    it really all depends on your intended major and the work/study habits of the student

    In three sentences

    its i great place to ease into your college experience without being overwhelmed by the new experience. Most people start at this smaller Penn State campus then transition to a bigger one . You don't have to do that but its a great option!