Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Shoreline Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/29/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Schooling with lots of choices and opportunities. They have fantastic knowledgeable teachers. They have an Amazing administrative staff.

    Great for these types of students

    I'm enrolled in there ASAP program, it is an amazing program that allows students to work in the automotive field. I also receive hands-on learning at an automotive dealership as well as in the classroom. When I am finished I'll have an AA in applied science. If you're looking for a vocational technical school I would definitely look into Shoreline Community College.

  • 12/16/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC has an awesome safety plan. As soon as something happens, or is foreseen to happen, all students are emailed and texted. The emergency plan is constantly being enhanced and updated. I give it an A+ for making us feel safe and cared for.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest community colleges I've found. Depending on how many classes you take each quarter, it runs about 13k a year. I myself take three classes a quarter which totals $1665, and I absolutely get the full content and ease for the money out in.

    What to do for fun

    Well, what do you like to do for fun? This college has a ton of clubs, a women's center, and international center, and much more! Whatever your hobbies or talents may be, there are several extracurricular ways offered at SCC to enhance your abilities. Being in north Seattle, there are several beaches nearby, the woodland park zoo, the Ferris wheel downtown, and of course the space needle. If you are not from the area, there are many sights to be seen!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great! Forgot to swing by Starbucks? Check out the on campus cafe full of delicious snacks, lunches, and all sorts of thirst quenching drinks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, but there is student housing areas near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Five stars all the way! As I said, there's no fail here. Advisors are available to explain programs and map out what classes you need for your degree. The financial aid office is superb, and can often direct you to other financial sources as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, my most important tip is that you keep on top of what is needed in your application. Everyone is accepted, but applying for financial aid is a requirement and there are a lot of different pieces that go with it. If you are struggling financially or not sure what you want to study, don't let that stop you from applying here!! You will be assigned an advisor that, I assure you, will spend as long as it takes via email, phone, or in person with you to plan out what will happen next. If you lead a busy life, try out the online classes. I'm a mom to four kids under six and have taken my entire degree online. The virtual campus is awesome, there's even a to-do list on your dashboard that will remind you of what still needs to be turned in and when. Whether you want to take just one class or five, this college accommodates all situations!

    In three sentences

    This is a five star community college that accommodates everybody who wants to attend college! There are so many helpful grants and in-college programs to help those who are struggling and want to succeed. Another five stars goes to their program availability, there are so many choices from certificates to bachelor degrees in almost any genre you can think of!

  • 12/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I give SCC a full safety rating. The process for emergencies is made very clear in an email freshman get and all the emergency information and numbers are very clear. The campus is very safe and if you do not feel safe for any reason go to the nearest teacher and explain what is going on.

    Greek Life

    No Greek system

    Clubs and Activities

    Amazing clubs and Activities! So much to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Excited to learn. Any type of person is welcome. The teachers should meet all the students needs!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Non that I know of...

    Bang for the buck

    Of course! CC is the way to go for the first year to two years of college. You save so much money and it is a good chance to get used to college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a numerous amounts of clubs and sports available. Sadly there is no football but there is Women's Volleyball, Men Baseball, Women's Softball, Men and Women's Basketball, and there are much more sports. There are also photography clubs, pottery clubs there is a newspaper for the school. There are a lot of things that you could get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    No housing: Live of course off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I give Shoreline four out of five stars because there are very challenging classes. On the other hand you should get the right teachers because there are of course some that are not prefers teachers. That is where your counselors come in and will get you the right teacher that suits you.

    Tips for prospective students

    What prospective students should do is visit the school and learning centers and make and appointment with their counselors. Shoreline does have some amazing programs! The Dental program at Shoreline is one of the top transfer programs to major universities. The Community College path is a great way to go! It helps you along the path of getting used to college and the rigor of classes. Also of course CC's will save you so much money in the long run if like me you plan on getting your masters in your selected major. There is also a study abroad program that the CC has which is pretty cool deal.

    In three sentences

    Shoreline is an amazing Community College to go to. The teachers are always there to help and make sure you are there for the right reasons. Also all the learning centers are always there to help if help is needed.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the library and check out books to read for fun.

    Food and Dining

    haven't tried the food yet.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are ready to challenge students at the same time make them understand it's okay to fail. i enjoy learning here because everyday is different!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of going to a community college. Come ready to learn as you should and you will have a blast.

    In three sentences

    Very lovely campus. People are friendly. A great learning environment because it makes me feel comfortable.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Great neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is also a vibrant club environment on campus which I feel is unique to a community college. Join a long running one or start your own, you will find support either way.

    Great for these types of students

    International Students - a varied and big international student population. International Studies students - it is known for its great IS program. Music Program is on par with any of music engineering Art Institute around the country.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student building where the student body offices, cafeteria and communal space is is modern and very nice and well liked.

    Bang for the buck

    A great Community College. In my opinion, community colleges can be simply a stepping stone and a money saver before you get into your University or real college. That is not the case with SCC. It really is a great higher learning facility. The international studies program, specifically, is above and beyond in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    As it is only a Community College and is kind of in a neighborhood setting, there is relatively little to do. But the student body is doing a great job trying to bring fun activities to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a decent cafeteria and a few small coffee shops with snacks but that is one thing that is lacking here. More options when it comes to food would be great. There is also nothing of note in walking distance. There is a pretty big and great grocery store down the road but it's about a two+ mile round trip trek.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life that I know of but I believe they are trying to change that.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously, the rigor varies depending on what courses of study you are in. However, my experience is their is high emphasis put on retention. Meaning, they care about you really learning and remembering what is taught. Of course, as with any school some professors are tougher and some are easier. That said, all professors I have encountered put a premium on enthusiasm and interest and are willing to listen if you have issues. It can be tough but you will not be left to your own devices to figure it out - you can find help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the services offered on campus that are free. Tutoring is available for pretty much any subject free of charge.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with a diverse student body. The students, as well as the faculty are all very passionate and enthusiastic about the campus and the learning experience. Because everyone, students and faculty alike cares, Shoreline feels more like a private University than just a Community College and thats a great thing to be a part of.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is plenty to do at this school, the campus is open so anyone could just sit outside and just lounge, hang out with other students, or read. The library has a collection of books that one could just enjoy. The computer lab is accessible to the students. The gymnasium is available to play basketball, volleyball, and or indoor soccer depending on the day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, a variety of selections.

    Dorm Life

    This doesnt really apply to me but I would believe there are plenty of areas near by that would welcome students.

    Academic Rigor

    This place is tough, it all depends on the program you are trying to get into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on the academics, do not get sucked into procrastination by not going to class or doing the work. You'll regret it.

    In three sentences

    Shoreline Community is a fantastic school. I've been attending for a couple of years now and not much has changed. The school's campus is beautiful, the professors are really wanting their students to succeed (well the ones I took did), the resources are vast and there's plenty for everyone that needs it. The library is a very helpful place to study.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC is very safe and have a strong security staff that is clearly visible. It also has emergency lights and stations for classes in the evening with good lockdown practices and protocol. There is an extensive system by which to contact the students.

    Greek Life

    None...thank God.

    Clubs and Activities

    Badminton Club, The Worldy Philosophers and Dismal Scientists Club, many clubs of different nationalities and cultures, Student Body Association, The Multicultural and Women's Center, the Global Affairs Council...

    Great for these types of students

    SCC is good for both traditional and non-traditional students. There is enough campus extra-curricular activities to keep you involved, but it is also aware that people have to work, pay rent, take care of children and have a life outside of academia. It doesn't drown you in school spirit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SCC has a beautiful campus, there are so many nooks and crannies you can hide and study, or sit on the moss benches and watch the squirrels play, weather permitting. Being outside is the best thing on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, it is definitely worth the cost considering how much less it is than going straight to a four-year for the same classes. The class size is smaller, the instructors more attentive, and the academic scene is that much more intimate.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go walking around the campus. It is very beautiful and full of nature. A week ago I saw a hawk flying building its nest. Also, SCC has an impressive array of sports considering how small and somewhat rural it is. Dolphins volleyball!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is basic, with soups, sandwiches, an espresso bar with a full-fledged cafeteria and small lounge. It is very basic, but it does the job. You're there to learn, not to feast on seasonal delicacies on the terrace.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms as of yet, but President Lambert will be building a small dorm for international students soon.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is high and Robert Francis' honors program is intense and will prepare you for transferring to a four-year. The science department is intense and the instructor's and lab facilities are impressive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of the instructor's hours and even if they are prickly or give off the impression that they want nothing to do with you after class, confront them, ask them questions. It is so important to use the instructors, SCC's most important resource to students, to your advantage. Don't be shy, because we are working hard, going to class, working jobs outside of academia, and balancing other of life's challenges to be intimidated by the college experience.

    In three sentences

    Shoreline Community College is an excellent two-year institution. They offer incredible programs in Dental Hygiene, Automotive Technology, and my program, Biotechnology Lab Specialist. The reason I enrolled at SCC was for the Biotech Program, which allows me to work in a lab while I continue my B.S.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    International, first year, students looking to get pre reqs out of the way and transfer, tech students.

    Bang for the buck

    Shoreline is C-H-E-A-P compared to any other school.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs. If you're looking for fun I would suggest joining a club or doing a yoga class. There isn't a mall close or anything of that sort.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a fairly large cafeteria, it is a little pricey. There is also a coffee shop which is fairly priced and pretty good. Off campus there is a diva espresso, teriyaki place and more all together in a little strip mall-ish thing.

    Dorm Life

    There are no present dorms, however students were emailed a blue print of plans for student housing, to be brought out in the next couple of years.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy. Most teachers Ive had are genuinely nice and helpful. Small class size makes it that much easier to get individual help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shoreline has a great study abroad program which is always something to consider doing in college. If you're interested in nursing they have one of the best nursing programs. It is community college, so if this is your first year, get the pre reqs out of the way so you can move on to fun classes of interest!

    In three sentences

    It's very easy to get around campus due to its small size. A lot of the staff are friendly and helpful, but financial aid staff and other non teacher staff members can never answer a question related to their work, on their own. Class rooms usually have 20-30 students.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out and play games.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is poor, except for the chef's daily special. The school is far away from any good dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm yet

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes are challenging, but humanities are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on applying to nursing or dental hygiene you need to get close to a 4.0 in every class. Take early classes, you will get a better parking spot.

    In three sentences

    Shoreline is a nice and quiet school. Plenty of parking is available.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security roaming about everywhere on campus. I feel totally safe walking around campus by myself.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at SCC

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many small ensembles in the music department anyone can join. There are also many plays you can audition for every year. including an opera workshop.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are unsure about what direction they want to take. Awsome for people who want to go easy on their budget.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the price for Shoreline. It's affordable and easy to pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities for all interests such as bible studies, many different kinds of small ensembles such as ukulele, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cute cafe inside the pub in the center of campus where you can get coffee and other goodies and snacks and then study with friends.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus living facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm in the music department, and the classes are extremly challenging, but it's just the right push I need to get where I need to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for classes early because they do fill up. checking prerequisites is important, sometimes the catalog can be misleading, so always doucle check with the teacher.

    In three sentences

    Shoreline Community College is a great place to go if you don't want to spend all your money at a university. I love that I'm saving money and earning the same degree as my other friends going to other schools that cost at least 5 times the amount im paying. class sizes are small and teachers are always willing to give assistance and not let students fail.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school website actually lists any and all criminal activity on campus, but I think the most common thing is car prowling. I ride the bus to school, so I do not have any problems with this!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in Art club, but I was so busy in Spring Quarter, I didn't get the chance to do anything with Art club! I am also going to be working on the student newspaper this fall as the photo editor, which is a completely new experience for me.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn! Otherwise, if the student doesn't care enough, they won't pass the class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some beautiful woods behind the school, and on a weekend my boyfriend and I walked on the trails.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am learning so much, it is definitely worth the money to go here. All the teachers are awesome, and so friendly!

    What to do for fun

    There are benches on campus everywhere where you can just sit and enjoy the crows, killdeers, bees, and pigeons, on a nice sunny day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good at the college, and it isn't too expensive. The student store has such an awesome variety of candy, I have to stay away from there, otherwise I am tempted too much!

    Dorm Life

    Shoreline doesn't have dorms, but the campus is beautiful!

    Academic Rigor

    Many of my classes are definitely rigorous. Sometimes I'll have three books I have to read for three different classes! I just keep up with the work load, otherwise I'd be buried.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss any days, otherwise you will get behind, as I have seen other students do. Care about the degree program you are in, as other students feed off of it, sharing and learning from each other.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are awesome and I can tell they love to teach. The administration is always available to answer all my questions. The campus is beautiful.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The things i love to do for fun is roller skating, exercising, and going to church. I grew up in a christian environment and love going to church. I love praising the lord, when I make time. Also going roller skating it's fun and helps my health life. I love taking care of myself.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is not a problem for me. The really hard problem is to make time to cook. Most of the time my mother comes back home late from work and i have to cook all the time. That take about 2 hour every day. It take most of my time to study. Home is great to be in but not to study.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm. I live with my parents and family. To tell you the truth is great, there company is great. The only bad thing is it can be very noise in the house and makes it very difficult to study. I would say most of the time i study at school. Studying is better at school for me.

    Academic Rigor

    The most difficult part for me in college was to discipline myself is studying and make sufficient time. You see when I use to study i would take time but not concentrate in studying the material. When it was time to get tested i didn't know what to do. I had to learn to discipline myself to actually study and that was my challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    High school student's especially Latinos and black who don't take things seriously, I would say to them in general to study more and stop watching t.v shows and parties. The problem with that is when you go to college it because very difficult to discipline yourself to study. Work hard and study hard, so that college won't be difficult you to go with.

    In three sentences

    Shoreline community college is great college and it is surrounded by a great community. The faculty and staff are very polite and encouraging, they motivate students to do study and understand the material we are taught. This summer quarter i attended general psychology and the professor had the patient and time for students to better understand the material. A great college.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am informed that security is topnotch.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't experienced them yet.

    Great for these types of students

    I feel this college is great fro new students to the college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I am playing soccer for Shoreline out of the many offers I received this college and coach made me feel the most comfortable and welcomed.

    What to do for fun

    There many activities to choose from in and out of the Shoreline College. From sports to plays to attend in all the seasons of the year.

    Food and Dining

    I have not personally had the pleasure of dinning there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms t this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a community college is beneficial to the college student with smaller class size and more individual help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and go for it.

    In three sentences

    Although I have not been on campus the college is a modern yet traditional and that is what is appealing to many cultures. The diversity of the student body is impressive along with the degrees available. A college like Shoreline is an ideal start or continuation to any one's education.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt fairly safe here, although there have been an incident or two during my time here. The school is always very fast on reporting incidents and letting students know what is going on.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Right out of high school, places like the PUB are very popular for hanging out between classes. This is the only CC where I've seen the common areas used so much!

    Bang for the buck

    The availability of courses online helps for adult/returning students like myself.

    Food and Dining

    The coffee shop is great, and the cafeteria offers acceptable snacks and such

    Academic Rigor

    The courses that I have taken are all very demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to do some schedule juggling. Sometimes required courses are all offered at the same time!

    In three sentences

    Campus classes are EXCELLENT. Online course can sometimes leave something to be desired. Howard Hsu is an AMAZING photography teacher.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe, no security buttons for help or anything like that but there are security guards that patrol, although like any other school i don't recommend leaving anything valuable out in the open.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large amount of clubs at the school who put on events including concerts and get togethers.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want less pressure, to know their teachers well, options to take online classes, and to meet some fun people should go here.

    What to do for fun

    There are no dorms here, but the student life is thriving with plenty of fun events like dances or parties for different holidays. There is also a game room that has ping pong, pool, and also video games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good with breakfast to lunch/dinner foods offered in the cafeteria. Even if the cafeteria closes there are other places like the campus bookstore where you can buy instant food or other snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be very tough while others very easy. It really depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know the path you would like to take in college, this is a great place to get your prerequisites finished up and save some money.

    In three sentences

    The quality of teachers can and does in certain situations surpass the level of teaching provided by the University of Washington. The teachers love to teach and are passionate about helping students. The campus provides a range of diverse classes, from pottery to animation.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    homework!

    Tips for prospective students

    good luck! stay focused!

    In three sentences

    shoreline cc is easy to navigate around. everyone i have met there is very helpful. i am extreemly excited to start school this spring at shoreline cc.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    i haven't been part of any clubs, but at the beginning of every quarter, they have a day dedicated to promoting all of the clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    if you are planning to attend the university of washington, shoreline is in good standing with them, feeding a lot of students into uw and has a reputation for producing quality students. it is a great place to start, and can take a big bite out of your costs.

    What to do for fun

    there are always events going on, like concerts and discussion panels. the most interesting are the events hosted by the global affairs center.

    Food and Dining

    decent food, the cafeteria offers a variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i've had extensive experience with the math department, a wonderful group of people; they are tough and fair. the professors in the social sciences know their stuff and many of them have published works.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your financial aid; the financial aid office won't keep you informed about paperwork you have to take care of if you make any changes to your status, i.e. part-time/full time. of all the experiences, i loathe the helpfulness of the financial aid dept.

    In three sentences

    professors here are very accommodating, and are willing to meet with you. the student body is very active around campus, promoting activities and keeping students informed about policy changes at the student government level. in the three years i have attended shoreline (part-time) i have only run into one professor i didn't enjoy having.

  • 08/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Shoreline Community College is a great school for those looking to work and go to school part-time. They offer a variety of classes online and have a stable system of schooling. Teacher and student interaction is very important and it is essential to keep in touch with your teachers with any questions that you may have. The teachers at this school are great for students who have a drive as they are all willing to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financially, plan ahead. I stress this because as these education costs are rising, it effects everything. Be aware of what you want so that you are not wasting money on classes that you do not need. Be mindful of changes and adapt to them and most of all, keep contact with the school advisors.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to higher education costs and limited financial aid at Shoreline, the price of education in GENERAL is not a bang for the buck. Prices vary from quarter to quarter, reaching higher rates as time goes by. My last quarter was extremely expensive and threw off my money savings so in terms of the bang for the buck aspect, as a community college, it is a fair rate. However, these rates are also increasing making it less affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do not commute to SCC often as I am currently taking online classes being a part-time employee and a part-time student. I do enjoy the enthusiasm of some of the teachers that I have had over this course. Some have made it very enjoyable to take online classes and some were confusing. Just like any other class, these online classes are a toss up in terms of enjoyment because some can be extremely fun while other times, disorganized and detached.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses provided at Shoreline Community College offers a variety of teaching methods, including online, hybrid, and the traditional in-class courses. Over the year that I have been there, SCC offers a new sense of freedom and direction in the curriculum as teachers have styles of their own. The nice thing about SCC is that teachers are whether or not the students are digesting information correctly and effectively that it has helped me over this time.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to study either drama, art, or music at a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to TALK TO A COUNSELOR about what classes you should take... But then also take advantage of the payment plan and online registering.

    Bang for the buck

    Every quarter that I've been here I have had to scrape by to be able to afford tuition and books, but its been worth it every single time. Also, theres a FREE parking lot down the street that has a FREE shuttle bus that takes you right to campus! That saves $100 in parking passes right there for the whole year.

    Am enjoying being here

    The music department is phenomenal for a community college, it was personally my favorite part. They have so many different music groups and different things to learn in just that one building. Also, the campus is surprisingly beautiful, there are sculptures and fountains all around, and the new student center is wonderful.

    Am learning a lot

    Shoreline Community College makes it as easy to get by as possible. The teachers are SO nice, but so many of the students either don't care or don't speak english well enough for the teachers not to dumb the classes down for everyone. However, the classes that I learned the most in were the music-focused courses. I went into the select acapella choir with little to no experience in sight singing and music theory, and in one quarter I left the group as a thoroughly improved vocal musician.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is tight on money, but still wants a quality education. Anyone looking to buy some time before a big university decision. Anyone at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the words community college turn you off. This school teaches you everything a university can, but in a more intimate setting. The largest class I have had was 40, and that was a double class.

    Bang for the buck

    This school, while relatively inexpensive for most, is a stretch for my limited budget, but it's definitely worth every cent. I'm getting a quality education and a gorgeous, safe place to be.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is gorgeous, the people are nice, and the environment just makes me happy. There are little coffee and snack stands, picnic tables, and areas to just kick back and study in quiet or with your friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Every teacher I have had has known how to relate to the students in a non cheesy way while still getting their point across rather effectively. If I don't understand something they will explain it again until I do.

  • 10/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like any community college, Shoreline is a great place for people of all ages; it is even better for those who want to do running start when they are in high school. It also has a daycare for those moms who want to go back to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming straight from high school, please keep in mind, there is no lunch time or bells for that matter, so learn how to manage your time. Secondly, I know you have all heard this before, but don't procrastinate, especially when it comes to buying your books.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know what the cafeteria prices are, but overall, it is a nice way to transition from not paying for education to having to play x amount of dollars.

    Am enjoying being here

    Shoreline has a very scenic view that combines nature with metropolitain. Plus, having a small student to teacher ratio that is about the same as it was in high school is a bonus.

    Am learning a lot

    Every day is a new learning experience for me. From learning how to write good in-class essays to figuring out how to convert grams to moles( and I 'm not talking about the ones who dig up and eat your flowers) and vise verse.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCC is great for anybody. Whether you're a parent who is going back to school, or if you're a High School Running Start student, or if you're a Continuing Student, etc. there are tons of opportunities provided for every student of every kind. Plenty of resources for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    I've been a workstudy in the Administration building for two years, so I have lots of advice for prospective students. First of all, if you want to speak to Financial Aid or the Registration office, it's best to go there in person since the phone-lines get pretty busy. But if you're from out of state, then I would recommend calling before the busiest moments of the year, which is usually during the first few weeks of each quarter. My second piece of advice is: Ratemyprofessor.com is your friend. Third, check Amazon.com for cheaper textbooks before you decide to buy in the bookstore. Fourth, bring lunch to school, you'll save lots of money in the end. Fifth, get to know your professors during the first few weeks of the quarter. Lastly, the majority of the information you need will be on the school website: Shoreline.edu

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college, so it is affordable. For a 5 credit course, it's about $500 for residents, and $900 for non-residents. The cafeteria isn't so bad. They sell pizza, burgers, fries, wraps, burritos, lasagna, and soup. It's usually, the same thing, but they do change it once in a while. The price for food and supplies in the bookstore can be a rip off, so I don't recommend purchasing at the school on a regular basis. Shoreline also has neat cafes, one located in the PUB, and the other outside on campus. The baristas are always really cheerful and nice. Also, students can get parking permits for each quarter for just 15 dollars!

    Am enjoying being here

    Oh, I definitely enjoy being at Shoreline. The campus looks so Zen with all the cherry blossoms blooming in the Spring, and the green grass looking greener than ever. There is more than enough lounge area outside and inside the school. The school is also handicap accessible. All the doors automatically open, and there are always ramps. I enjoy being in the Sanctuary, which is a large quiet room with plenty of desks, upstairs in the library. That is where I get most of my studying done. I've also made a lot of close friends at Shoreline, which can be hard to do at a college, given that everyone only sees each other in class.

    Am learning a lot

    What I love the most about Shoreline Community College is that the classes are no larger than 30 people, max. The small classes definitely make it easier for hearing the professor, and also makes for more comfortable group and class discussions. So far, I've taken Biology, Anatomy, Calculus, Nutrition, Communications, and Psychology courses at Shoreline. Most of the professors are great, it definitely helps to get to know your professors by talking to them during their office hours. To avoid getting professors you may not like, I recommend looking at the reviews on Ratemyprofessor.com. But so far, I've had the best professors, and only one or two least favorable ones.