Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Jamestown Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Perfectly safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Most sports are great here but Football. They need a new head coach

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who love Church, quite and calm environment. And of course drinking 24/7.

    Bang for the buck

    Its easy to graduate from here. The professors are nice and do try help you but some of the coaches here really don't care about you.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. All people do here is drink, smoke, and go to church. Just try to stay away from the drinking and smoking and focus on going to church and you will be fine.

    Food and Dining

    Food Absolutely sucks. Anybody who tells you different is lying to make the school seem better but honestly its horrible. They have been trying to make improvements but its still bad. Also the C-store on campus is nice and convenient but the hours are not to good on the weekend and the items in the store are very pricey.

    Dorm Life

    If your in the upperclassman dorms it is pretty nice the rest of the dorms suck and do not have ac in the winter time and the rooms are pretty small. Also the walls are very thin so its hard to have a get together without bothering other people next door.

    Academic Rigor

    We have a great academic rigor but its not very hard to be honest. A lot of people I know drink and smoke their way through school and are still getting decent grades without even studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cook Your own food. Travel away from school very often and focus on your grades.

    In three sentences

    Jamestown is boring, there is nothing to do but college night. The food at the school sucks. The faculties for the athletes sucks and everyone has to use one gym in the winter time.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The admin will not help you if you feel dangered. No security besides one guard. Lots of vehicle break ins on campus. Lots of bullying which leads to feelings of danger. Lots of drugs. Gangs on campus. College put on lock down due to no security on campus. Any issues you have go unresolved or ignored by admin. Dean was charged with beating his wife. Kept his job. He supposedly beat his wife, but he is the dean of students. So if we have an issue we need to talk to a wife beater? Nah man.

    What to do for fun

    Get a job in town! The community depends on the students working. It is easy to balance sports, school, and a job as long as your coach isn't a dick. Bowling is fun. Try to get a car there or else know someone with a car before you even move. Make trips to Fargo at least once a month. Things can get dry and boring after a few weeks there. Having a vehicle isn't always possible since parents might not provide it for you or you can't afford one. If you do not have a vehicle, make sure you know someone with a vehicle. The college isn't near the mall, food places, or Walmart. Most things are a walk from the college.

    Food and Dining

    Over priced in the caf and c store. Food sucks after the first week. They make the same food every meal, every day, every week. Nothing is new. It gets boring.

    Dorm Life

    People are loud. Someone got caught making meth in my dorm my first year of school. We went on lock down this year because of threats to other students. Lots of drinking. If you want to have a good transition into real life, live off campus. I was more successful off campus away from college life after my first two years. They cut scholarship, though. The dorms are not nice in any way, but they are remodeling now. Not your typical college life in these dorms. The college is like 1,000 high school freshmen attending college. Lots of bullying going on. Lots of drugs. Lots of illegal activities. A gang beat up a lot of students one year. Violence occurs with no assistance for the students or they go unreported by the college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty tough. Since it is a small town college many courses are with the same professor. If you are on the prof's good side, you are good. If not, expect to take online/ summer courses from another college for your gen. ed's, switching majors, or transferring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have an issue, don't expect the school to help you out.

    In three sentences

    I regret not transferring. The admin needs to look at the issues students bring up and take 5 years rebuilding.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non-existant and not permitted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Forced chapel requirements for freshman. No pets allowed. Social media bashing prevalent as town is EXTREMELY small and unpopulated.

    What to do for fun

    It's North Dakota. Unless you hunt and make friends with locals (and are willing to spend thousands on out of state licenses and tags) there is not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, albeit very expensive. Do not eat in cafeteria in summer as flies are not controlled and land on food freely.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are pretty small, extremely old/outdated, and while the rooms are warm in winter, they are deathly hot in summer. In-window air conditioners are prohibited.

    Academic Rigor

    While some classes are very easy many are more challenging than it is worth to take. Stay away from Christian Traditions and Statistics, no one passes and there is only one professor for the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Invest in auto-start for vehicles, bring a vehicle or purchase one IMMEDIATELY upon arrival (4-wheel drive IS necessary) and invest in clothing to tolerate five months of negative 50-60 windchill. Get used to online shopping, nearest decent mall or Target store is about 100 miles away.

    In three sentences

    A few life changing professors, a few terrible professors, and many welcoming people in the community. Almost entirely white, midwestern classmates. Near-unlivable winters and terrible administrative politics.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus. As well as activities to partake in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good but the deserts are the best.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. Almost everyone is nice and gets along very well.

    Academic Rigor

    Is great

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the movies, go bowling, go see the buffalo.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not too bad. I like it.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm I live in, I have so many friends and that has made all the difference.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a fair amount of homework but it is managable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have questions go ask someone, they are all more than willing to help.

    In three sentences

    I would give Jamestown College a high rating. The professors and staff really care about the students and their teaching abilities. I love it here.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    This school does not have Greek life

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus safety hotline. Jamestown College is a dry campus and there are occasional police on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. The Nursing Student Association is probably the most well known. There are also intramural teams too.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for motivated students. If you want a small campus feel with a great degree Jamestown College is a great choice.

    Bang for the buck

    Jamestown College is worth the price and there are many scholarships available.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley, movie theater, homework, library, sporting events. There is always something to do, if you have time.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus and a java hut (c-store). There is ethnic food, sandwich bar, and a grill in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Most students live on campus all four years. Freshmen dorms are two person with a community bathroom for boys and girls. Sophomore dorms are the same way. Upper-classmen can choose to live in a quad and there are also apartments available and married housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but they prepare the student for the future career. The college is well-known in the state and getting a job with a degree from Jamestown College is very possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and ask many questions. Don't be afraid to meet with students and professors and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Jamestown College is a small campus with intelligent professors. The admissions office is very helpful and the athletic programs are great. There are many majors to pick from.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Jamestown College offers a ridiculous amount of activities on campus. Almost every weekend there is something going on like a dance, picnic, sporting event and more!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself! Make sure you take the time to put yourself out there and meet new people. Don't forget to study hard, though!

    In three sentences

    Jamestown College is an awesome place to attend college. The students are great and the professors really care. It is easy to stay focused but have a good social experience as well.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    call campus security if you have a problem. the only thing you usually have to worry about is snow and ice in the parking lots. if you slip and injure yourself, there is a walk-in clinic a block up the hill from the college.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have about 30 different clubs and organizations, including student senate, habitat for humanity, and ignition (affiliated with campus crusade for christ).

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't mind blizzards, can handle being far away from family for months at a time, and are up for an adventure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's the boxer mile in the spring, sponsored by the knight society. people dress up in costumes with boxers (or boxes) and run a mile. the knight society also hosts the jazz knights dances: all jazz music, all swing dancing!

    Bang for the buck

    definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    aside from the usual college stuff, there are lots of churches in town that love college students (some have home-cooked meals after their services), and there is frontier village complete with an enormous concrete buffalo, and a buffalo museum, and a buffalo preserve.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is convenient and full of friendly people, but the food isn't that great. the best you can do is cook for yourself and go out to eat whenever you can, but stay on the meal plan so you don't have a scholarship reduction.

    Dorm Life

    be prepared to wake up at three in the morning once or twice a week to the sound of people yelling in the halls. people typically stay up late, but this is also a blessing, as they can help you with homework or hang out when you can't sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on the class. some classes are ridiculously easy, while others are very difficult even for the most studious of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. know how to dig your car out of snow. 2. know that you will miss your family a lot. 3. go to class and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    jamestown college is an affordable private school where faculty and staff are dedicated to christian ethics and student success.

  • 12/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jamestown is great for students who want a personal education at a smaller school. Jamestown is big enough that there are plenty of different people to spend time with, but also small enough that you will recognize people around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to put yourself out there! Leave your room and you'll meet so many fun people!

    Bang for the buck

    Jamestown is worth the money. I have also received a great deal of help through available scholarships which has made Jamestown very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending Jamestown! Everyone on campus is so friendly and helpful. There is also something to do, so when I'm not studying, I always know that I will be able to socialize with my peers.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my classes are engaging. My professors encourage me to study and work hard in order for me to grow as a person and in knowledge.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jamestown has so much to offer not only academic wise, but also extracurricular wise! There is something here for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because a college like Jamestown may seem small it has so much more to offer then meets the eye!

    Bang for the buck

    I really feel that what I have learned and gained as a person while at Jamestown can never be measured at Jamestown.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Jamestown College! There is so much to do here and the students are awesome! I can't imagine spending my college years elsewhere!

    Am learning a lot

    Jamestown College has a lot to offer for everyone! I know that as an undecided student going into JC I was unsure about what I would learn. But there are so many knowledgeable professors here and they took time to help me find what I was looking for! And they will do the same for everyone! I know that what I've learned here I could not have gained anywhere else!

  • 11/25/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    An Excellent school I would recommend everyone to look at!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early in reviewing schools. Most scholarships intend on being due in October and November.

    Bang for the buck

    They have many scholarship oppurtunities, so we wont have to worry about being broke during college.

    Will enjoy being here

    There is much to do on the campus and in Jamestown so you'll always be busy.

    Will learn a lot

    Jamestown College has a lot to offer. it's class sizes are small, so it's easy to get to know your professor's, where in larger schools most students are just a number. Visiting the school made me even want to go there more! I got to meet one on one withmy main professor, which made me feel even more comfortable!