Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwest College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/08/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college has a lot of scholarship opportunities with a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Going to the lake, hiking, camping, fishing, hunting, having bonfires, there are always shows around town and many bars and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food- even if it is a small school.

    Dorm Life

    Many dorm choices, all are used well.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many programs for success at NWC. By utilizing them, you will definitely do better than you think and it'll even be easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since this is a small college, make sure the classes that you are interested in are available in the college or online. You get to know the teacher quickly and it never hurts to be nice to them.

    In three sentences

    Small Town. Close Family. Would be a great match for almost anyone.

  • 11/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watching the games are always fun to do, most of the time I like to cruise to other halls to see what is going on because each of them using is doing something different. There is a lot of outdoor activity around here when it isn't snowing like biking, canoeing, fishing, and many others.

    Food and Dining

    I don't think I've ever eaten at a good cafeteria yet all my life, but they cooks are trying and have their days of good food. They serve pizza everyday as a option if the food doesn't taste good.

    Academic Rigor

    The college work isn't always easy, but this place offers a lot of tutor help and the professors are easy to work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    The welding program here is great to get into and this college is a good start to academic career, nothing wrong with a community college!

    In three sentences

    This college is rather small and is within the city limits, it's convenient because you don't have to walk or drive across campus to get to class. Everyone is has a positive attitude and helpful with each other. It's a laid back place that always have a lot of activities that are going on and a student can make friends easier.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is fairly safe. I feel comfortable walking alone at night on campus (even though one should never do that) since this campus is so well watched over by Campus Security and other students on campus.

    Greek Life

    We have Phi Theta Kappa, but no other major fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY CLUBS

    Great for these types of students

    Agricultural, Engineering, MUSIC, Equine, and Photography are huge here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs Zombies is a big deal on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The community in Powell is one that you will never forget. People here are incredibly nice, strangers say Hello on the streets, and of course the famous 3 finger farmer wave is present here from behind the steering wheel. People here go out of there way to help in the community and it makes for a great college experience, especially if you are a student who moves from out of state for school!

    What to do for fun

    If you love being outside, there are many places to hike, ride horses, go hunting, fishing, etc. Although there isn't much of a city life here being that it is a smaller Wyoming town. There is always an activity going on on campus though!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is really hit and miss at the moment. We'll see if it changes next year due to the contract ending for the current food services company.

    Dorm Life

    As a current RA at NWC, I have a high opinion of the residence halls. They are a safe home away from home, and nothing is a far walk from the halls. Unless you want to go to Walmart... Then you have to drive to the next town over.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you are taking some can of course be quite challenging, but there are also many classes that you can take that are not nearly as stressful and you will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, go visit Northwest! You will most likely enjoy the town and will find how excited everyone here is to help you.

    In three sentences

    I love being a student at Northwest College. The small community and the college's interest in seeing their students be successful has made a large impact on my life. NWC is a place to find yourself, make lifetime friendships, and grow into your future career.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus security that drives around and the campus has emergency phones/help buttons. These make me feel safe to walk around at any time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Yellowstone is only an hour away!

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy NWC and think that the price is manageable.

    What to do for fun

    The college has several clubs to join as I mentioned earlier I am in the Trap and Skeet club and we get to attend different tournaments. It is one of my favorite things about the college! The college also hold multiple dances through out the year. The local town is small but I enjoy it. There are different places to eat and drink. Also they will have buses that go to events such as ice skating at the local rink or that go to the University of Wyoming to watch football games.

    Food and Dining

    I thought that the food was exceptionally good especially the days we had egg rolls! We also had a special station that did different themes all through out the week. For example, one day they did a luau theme in which they handed out multiple types of smoothies that were delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that I lived in for a year were spacious enough, especially if you put up bunk beds, for activities and studying. My R.A. became one of my best friends and was always getting people involved in the college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest colleges academics require a student to do a substantial amount of work especially within the science program. It is a decent amount of work but is good to thoroughly educate the students who are wanting to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of your work and you shall succeed!

    In three sentences

    Northwest College is a small yet informative school. The teacher to student ratio in classes are small allowing a lot of direct attention to your personal needs. I am on the trap and skeet team which is loads of fun and allows me to have productive breaks from school work.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Check out how low the crime rate is in town and on campus. Even so, there are emergency phones all over campus. Not good enough? Then call either the day or night security... they'll even walk you to your dorm or car!

    Clubs and Activities

    All the normal clubs I expected to find were available, but I was impressed with a club that is set aside for non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are from Wyoming, then your tuition is super cheap. If you are not from Wyoming, then check out the other states they host and give great discounts for. I feel really lucky to have landed in Powell Wyoming at Northwest College!

    What to do for fun

    Northwest College does a great job of putting on school activities. I have been able to attend several events and I am always glad I did. Again the town of Powell lacks in this area, but the college makes up the difference.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is as to be expected. Bistro food is alright too. The town of Powell is very small and eating out is very limited, but there are two grocery stores.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I was surprised by all the different dorms the college has.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that my mind is stretched beyond what I expect all the time and yet I am able to keep up with the material. It's a fantastic balance for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit with your advisor and discuss your opportunities at least once each semester. Don't be afraid to go easy when beginning college. Start with generals that will transfer between majors without wasting your time and money.

    In three sentences

    I'm a nursing student. The teachers are amazing and strive to make sure you are learning everyday. I feel supported my my teaches and the college all the time!

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cody is only 30 minutes away and Billings is about an hour and a half. They are fun places to go when the week is done to just relax and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the time the food is eatable, but if you have flex bucks or just extra cash you can go to the seventh street grill to get a nice meal. There are really good dinning places in town like: skyline cafe, subway, pizza hut, dominoes, Chinese restaurant, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The best place to stay on campus is Simpson Hall. You have your own private room in a suite you share with three others. You don't have to leave your suite to go to the bathroom or take a shower. Majority of the time it is quiet. There's a living room in the suit with couches, you get a refrigerator, two sinks, two places to do make-up etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all my classes centered around my Major, I'm learning more than I thought I would. Teachers go beyond to try and help you if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for cold weather 7-8 months out of the year.

    In three sentences

    Northwest College is a great school for every type of person. Equine Barn for students is located not far from school but just far enough that not just anybody can come over. Class buildings are located close together, the alumni and staff help you out all the time. There are activities that go on to meet new people all the time.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i really have not heard much about it.

    Dorm Life

    I am sure it will be awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard the academics are great!

    In three sentences

    It will be a blast to attend there. At first I was a little iffy about coming to northwest as a starter, but now i seriously can not wait!

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the warmer weather a bunch of students play a game called Rambo. It is a game that reminds me of cops and robers, tag, ghost in the graveyard and... well fun!

    What to do for fun

    Be social and there won't be a dull moment. Video games are a huge thing here but there are pool tables, ping pong, people love playing card games.

    Food and Dining

    The Grille is very nice and I, nor any of my friends, have come across anyone rude working or anyone slacking while preparing food. The cafeteria could be better but everything is decent enough and there is usually a variety of different foods.

    Dorm Life

    Lewis & Clark all the way! Everyone is social in one way or another here. I know the other dorms are similar and there is diversity between different global backgrounds.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty laid back here at Northwest College but in a responsible way. You may get stressed but you won't live in it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I wish I had when I came here include knowing how your financial aid is going to work out, prepare for interesting people and. of course pick your classes wisely.

    In three sentences

    Northwest College is in a small town so it is easy to get around everywhere. The campus is very clean due to the many people who gladly help keep it clean. It is a great school if you are interested in a laid back, fun atmosphere.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Quite safe the campus is small and close together, which is nice.

    Great for these types of students

    Great if you don't like big cities/towns, and enjoy a more rural and nontraditional setting.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the cost of tuition. The low tuition cost is why I chose to start my secondary education here.

    What to do for fun

    Due to the fact that this school is located in Wyoming, would explain the lack of things to do for fun. But there is a few movie theaters near by, and the library on campus is fairly well stocked, so reading is always an option.

    Food and Dining

    I would not know what the food and dining is like. I have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know what living in the dorms is like. I have lived off campus for the duration of my time here.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a high standard of education here, and it is much easier to get one on one help from your professors. Having small class sizes creates a more intimate setting, which allows you and your classmates to interact more closely and freely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an idea of what you want to do after you leave Northwest. Make sure all of the classes you plan on taking transfer to the next college you go to. Also try to plan your whole year out at the beginning of first semester because some classes are only offered once a year and if you miss it, it may mess up your timeline of classes you need to take.

    In three sentences

    High standard academics for a low tuition price. Very enjoyable and friendly environment. Much easier to have one on one time with your professors.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Northwest College provides numerous activities for students to participate in, from intramural sports to drama and other activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to start your schooling career. It gives a lot great opportunities for the students attending.

    In three sentences

    It is a small town community college. It is a great place to get started when going to college. It is overall a good school.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    go to class

    In three sentences

    it is a good college to start with. with a small student population you get a lot of teacher attention. I am satisfied with this college

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no sororities of fraternities that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    NWC is especially good for those interested in Communication, Graphics, Photography, Rodeo, and Agriculture.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of outdoor activities, including: hiking, backpacking, rafting, skiing, and hunting. There is also some small shopping, but that is mainly in Billings, MT (90 miles north of Powell).

    Food and Dining

    The dining area is small and a little dated, but the food quality is pretty good. The cost is really what is exceptional because

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use and update, that is definite. The newest dorm though, Simpson Hall, is very nice and practical for student life.

    Academic Rigor

    The school aims to be top level, and for Wyoming...it is. Overall though, Northwest College is considered more agriculturally based. There is also many outreach programs offered through the University of Wyoming though, and there are also many impressive faculty members

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend bringing warm clothes and blankets for school; Wyoming is bitterly cold for most of the year. If you have the ability to, I would also suggest driving to college (or at least having a working vehicle). Things in Wyoming are pretty far apart and thirty miles is considered short.

    In three sentences

    Northwest College is community-based and offers unique opportunities for students interested in a rural education. Its campus is intimate and friendly and is a reflection on the dedicated staff and faculty of NWC. Northwest College offers all the charms of being located in charming small town Wyoming.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres lot to do here!!

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We play games of Rambo on Tuesday nights. You may know it as fugitive.

    What to do for fun

    There are dances, game courts, they have comedians and entertainers come. Students put on their own get-togethers and LAN parties. There is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    The hours of the cafeteria can be hard to get used to but the 7th Street Grille is open a lot and has great food. Food at the cafeteria is average.

    Dorm Life

    They can be very strict about keeping doors closed and security but it is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't understand something and ask about it they are very good at explaining it until you understand. But they do encourage your own ways of understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    This place does not cost much and they have great education. Bigger cities are not far away and the student activities is really good at planning things on campus. If your from a big city its a big change.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great atmosphere and amazing teachers that really know what they're doing. It may be small but it's really fun knowing pretty much everyone; it's like a big friend clique. Great peer tutoring programs and study groups.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Your completely safe here. The local police/sheriffs department is involved with the campus, helping to keep it safe and secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Cowboys, Cowgirls, adventure seekers, outdoorsman and woman.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ashley Hall, all the way!

    Bang for the buck

    This college has the best price for the bang.

    What to do for fun

    You can do it all here in what I would consider the heart of Wyoming.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, good coffee, good place to be!

    Dorm Life

    This place is a blast!

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent learning environment! Small class sizes makes it very easy for you to get help from your Professors.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school to attend, it's situated in the perfect place, especially for adventure seekers, cowboys and cowgirls. Anyone that loves the outdoors, this is the place for you.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No worries.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any intermural sport you can think of including skiing!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student that loves to be outdoors, involved in athletics and is outgoing as well as academically driven should attend Northwest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A really fun thing that NWC does is hold a late-night breakfast at the end of a semester. It starts at 9 and then you can win tons of prizes but mainly its a great time to hang out with friends. Also, Northwest holds dances on holidays and Thursday nights which is really fun to attend. Also, the Big-Horns, Peaks, Heartmountian and Beartooth mountains surround its outskirts so its really beautiful place to live.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest is a very affordable school and offers a variety academic and athletic scholarships. This was my main reason for choosing Northwest as my community college because it really offered financial help for me to obtain my A.S. degree. Most colleges would have never done this, and to be honest I wish Northwest was a four-year college because I'm really going to miss it.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends! Get involved. Powell Wyoming is a relatively small town, but becoming involved in intramural sports and activities you can meet a ton of people. Your not going to feel like a number here, you'll get to know so many people, just like you. Also, Northwest offers rodeo, girls and boys basketball, girls and boys soccer, volleyball and wrestling as collegiate sports so if your not playing their is always a game, match or rodeo to watch!

    Food and Dining

    Dinning hall is typical cafeteria food, although in the two years I had been there they have gotten better. You have salad and sandwich bar to choose aside from the regular lunch served as well as an action station offered.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Simpson hall which is a suite-type style that had four rooms to each dorm. By having four people to a room I was able to make so many friends that I am still close with today. To be honest, it was the best experience of my life and I miss living there. It was so much fun and I got to know alot of great people.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest college expects alot from their students but are willing to help each and every student reach their full potential. Personally, I like their free tutoring center that had students and professors giving assistance in almost every course offered!

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out Northwest college's scholarships and I talk to a financial aid advisor. This school is very good on giving each and every student one on one time. Also, get involved in intramural sports or other clubs and activities and you'll meet a ton of great people!

    In three sentences

    Northwest college has great accredited professors who are very good at what they do. The school is very personable and is nestled in the most beautiful northwestern part of Wyoming, right next to Yellowstone National Park. Sports at NWC are huge whether you are playing or attending a game, their is always tons of student interaction.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The size of the campus does allow for there to be a better sense of security. There is always a security guard on duty driving around the campus at night making sure that everything is as it is suppose to be. there is also Emergency post placed around campus in case you don't have a cellphone, it sounds an alarm and summons the police to the location.

    Greek Life

    The size of the school is way to small for Greek Life though, in my opinion it sound like it would be crazy fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    The one part of being and living from Wyoming is the fact that a lot of the activities do involve some sort of rodeo aspect to the activities that are offered. Though there are some clubs and other things that don't deal with that, i wish there were more.

    Great for these types of students

    This school I think is a great place to start out if you don't really know what it is that you want to take on as a career. Northwest allows student to explore a broad variety of classes in the hopes that something will catch your interest and you can finally make a life for yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I guess the only thing that really come to mind is during the very beginning of the year they have kick off weekend where they have a whole bunch of different activities that you can participate in. Its about 4 days of nothing but fun, the last few days of summer vacation before things calm down and the academic year starts. There is also a few activities the first weeks of the school year that some of the students organize.

    Bang for the buck

    Most colleges are very expensive but, Northwest isn't bad. Though because I do live in Wyoming, I don't have to pay for out of state tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Considering Powell Wyoming is a small town there really isn't a lot to do. Before the weather starts getting cold up there most of the time you can spend your days outside tanning with your girlfriends, riding bikes, rollerblading, an pretty much anything else you can think of. The best part is the college has a place where you can rent out any tools you need to achieve the activity of you choice, for free too. Unfortunately during the winter month if, you hate the cold, then is a good time to be social around the dorms and watch movies with your friends and just chill. ( no pun intended)

    Food and Dining

    For the first couple of weeks the food is just amazing and flavorful but, then it's just like you are back in high school. Bland, tasteless, and the same thing almost everyday. Sadly you almost dread going to lunch or dinner because the food is just that bad. Closer to the end of the year is when you just crave anything else just so you don't have to eat in the cafeteria. So if you have the money and equipment to do so then it would be a good idea to cook or start learning how to cook.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is probably one of the best parts to the college experience. You get to learn all the different personalities that are thrown together in a small community of whatever hall you happen to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    For this category it really just depends on the classes you are taking. Some of the classes that you take will seem easy but then others will just destroy you in terms of the material covered because there is so much to go over in the couple months in the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that college and the classes that you are taking are something that you are willing to dedicate yourself to whole heartily. From experience I can say that though college is somewhere that you learn about being on your own, for some, it is also a place where you learn what is it that you need to really work on as a student. Receiving your degree should be almost the only thing on your mind, not messing around no matter how tempting it may be to just do homework later because then procrastination sets in an nothing will get done. So keep a positive can do attitude and stay on track, don't conform to the masses.

    In three sentences

    Northwest College is very welcoming and easy to navigate through. The professors are willing to work with student who require more help. Its nice that everything is so close especially in the winter when the weather gets really terrible.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    With the town being smaller there isn't too much. An aquatics center, movie theater, some restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafeteria

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. Find out deadlines for everything and have fun.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful institution! Smaller class sizes and friendly personnel make learning easy. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Can't get much safer! I have never felt at risk.

    Greek Life

    none that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student activities, student-athletics and I am sure many more clubs I am unaware of

    Great for these types of students

    Student-Athletes Students looking for a slower transition into 4-year programs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    students play a nerf war game called humans vs. aliens. It is quite interesting to watch.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest schools out there.

    What to do for fun

    Many on campus activities. Inter-murals, dances, sports and a variety of other things. Not much to do outside of campus life though. small town.

    Food and Dining

    Any cafeteria dining situation has a lot to be desired. The hours of operation are okay, though sometimes if it does not fit in to your schedule you do not get to eat.

    Dorm Life

    This school has the largest on campus living opportunities I've seen on a 2 year college campus. If your looking to live on campus and get a jump start at a junior college, on campus living doesn't get much better.

    Academic Rigor

    Not as easy as you would think a junior college would be. Teachers offer a challenge to their students so they can be prepared for classes at the 4 year college level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to classes, do your homework, and try to have some fun!

    In three sentences

    Northwest is a nice school to get your college career started at. There is a good selection of classes for a community college. They also try very hard to help you get where you need to be to move on to the next level of schooling.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always at work. Patrolling campus, visiting residence halls, and keeping an eye on the cafeteria. They are always willing to help with a situation, and never let anything slip through the cracks.

    Greek Life

    Northwest College is a supporter of Phi Theta Kappa, a scholarship for students who hold themselves to a higher educational standard. By paying a small fee, students can pick from schools all over the country who support this program, and can recieve scholarships for doing so.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwest College has endless amounts of clubs, activities and sports teams. Block and Bridle club, the newspaper, SIFE, men's and women's basketball to name a few. Paying attention to the bulletin boards is essential to joining and finding new clubs that interest the student.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest College is great for any students trying to get on their feet for their first year of college. NWC offers many opportunities to transfer, and is cheap, so the financially-impaired have a chance for some education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because we are in the heart of the west, an annual pig wrestling contest is the thing to do here. Many students come out to get down and dirty with the muddy animals.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest College is known for being one of the cheapest colleges in the country. Also, prices in the bookstore and the Seventh Street Grille are quite reasonable. This is a great institution, and students do not sacrifice anything because of the low costs of schooling at Northwest College.

    What to do for fun

    Living in Powell, Wyoming gives the opportunity to do many outdoor activities. In the winter snowmobiling and sledding are the thing to do. In the summer hiking, biking, and going to the summer festivities are a blast.

    Food and Dining

    Northwest College offers many dining options, including the Dining Hall, and the Seventh Street Grille. This gives students the opportunity to eat how they want, and when they want. The food is high quality and very enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls at Northwest College have truly taken care of me while I have been away from home. The residance assistants have made sure that I am safe and comfortable. Living in the residence halls have also helped me to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest College is always challenging students to do their best. Whether it be helping students to transfer to larger institutions, or offering tutoring for any class that is offered at Northwest College, there is always a chance to move up on the academic scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always communicate with your teachers. They are there to help and truly care about your grade. They will never leave you hanging, and sometimes communication can make a difference in your grade!

    In three sentences

    Northwest College has helped me to see my potential in life. I have realized what I need to do to be able to the the degree and job that I want. I have been challenged, and helped along the way, but wouldn't change a thing.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus. There are emergency buttons outside around campus that someone can go push if they are in an emergency. People are very nice here, and I feel I can trust most people here. It is a nice community with good people.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school has intramural sports like volleyball, basketball, and some others. Student activities can put on other activities like fun competitions, or raffle ticket drawings.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a country, small town person you will definitely like this college. If you struggle in school and usually need personal help, the school has a free tutoring service, and many other people that are willing to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every other Thursday, student activities put on a dance that a lot of people go to. Dances are way for people at the college to mingle and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I have an athletic scholarship here so I have hardly had to pay for anything. I know there are a lot of scholarship opportunities for people who are considering this college.

    What to do for fun

    There are bowling alleys, movie theatres and great places to eat here. There are quite a few local Mexican restaurants that are delicious and have good prices, so that would be good for us college students. There is a lake to go boating nearby, and parks to have fun at.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a definite negative here. The taste of the food is usually unpleasant, though there are a lot of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I feel safe in the dorms because all the doors are locked and a key is required from each resident. The resident assistants are always on the job in the lobby and will keep an eye out on things. The dorms are really nice and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The president of the school truly cares for the students. There are always promotions going on to help students, and to encourage them in their academic and life goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes that will transfer easily to a four year school. This college is in a small town so it is good to know if that works for you and your personality. Take advantage of the small classes and resources like the library and professors.

    In three sentences

    Northwest College has been a positive experience with nice, positive people. I have learned a lot here through some good professors. This is a good first college to attend because there are small class sizes and many opportunities for help if it is needed.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small town, light security, but good environment

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to count

    Great for these types of students

    music, nursing, broadcasting and pre-science classes

    Bang for the buck

    an affordable and great education

    What to do for fun

    various weekly activities, dances, sports, and many outdoor activities to many to name all.

    Food and Dining

    small campus, not much offered

    Dorm Life

    fun!!!

    Academic Rigor

    fast paced enough to keep you interested, but not so fast to fry you brain

    Tips for prospective students

    sign-up for classes early. if your major requires prereqs make sure they will transfer to next college.

    In three sentences

    i find the campus friendly and efficient. i believe the professors are always willing to help you. however, i believe the on-line system has quit a few flaws.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    free activities weekly.

    Food and Dining

    awesome.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms but i hear they are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    they don't give you more than you can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    do it.

    In three sentences

    great instructors. great peers. great resources.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attend games, join clubs, ski and snowboard at two amazing resorts less than 2 hours from powell, and of course meeting new people is always a good time!

    Food and Dining

    pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    with two brand new dorms, dorm life is not dorm life at all. the new dorms are more like apartments. they are clean, quiet, and private!

    Academic Rigor

    great! lots of opportunities and directions possible!

    Tips for prospective students

    stay dedicated. a year from here you'll wish you started now!

    In three sentences

    on a scale from 1-10, i'd give it a 9. small town loving, clean and beautiful campus! i'd recommend it to anybody who likes feeling like a somebody!

  • 10/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like small schools and a country environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Obtain a relationship with professors and students. Be pro-social.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest is a very affordable school even for those paying out of state tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like the small town atmosphere... it seems like I can get to know people a lot better and obtain better relationships with the professors.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging, but the teachers really push you to succeed.

  • 04/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school is for any type of student. any one who was or is enrolled here knows that anyone fits in this school.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a really cheap school compare to other schools to study at. if you don't have an idea what you want to study is fine still to come and get your generals cheaper than other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    I actually enjoy this area because i grew up around here. I like the college and the mountains. this makes it easy to be in school and going to do outdoor things.

    Am learning a lot

    Throughout my time at northwest i have learned a lot. I think my education as a whole has improved every year.

  • 03/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Northwest is so affordable that it made it easy for me to go to school! They offer some awesome scholarships too!

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel like it is my home aways from home1 It's great I couldn't ask for more!

    Am learning a lot

    I love Powell, because it is the same size as my home town and my class sizes didn't change size, so the adjustment was easy for me to handle! I have learn tons and have met some of the friendliest people here! and the staff is great, they are always trying to help you when you need it!

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy smaller areas, and large expanses of uncramped space will enjoy the campus and town. This place is perfect for students who want some one-on-one time with professors as every class is small, manageable, and comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared it is a small town, but that just adds to the warmth of the area.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great for the money, especially if you live in state. The tuition is affordable and there is usually no need for loans especially if you recieve the hathaway or trapper scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dorm life is amazing! There is so much comradery and positivity buzzing through each of the halls! I recommend Lewis & Clark hall! I am a little biassed though, I do live there!

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty is great! I have learned a lot since being here on not only the subjects I am studying, but also on how to become a better student! Faculty gives great tips on how to study and be prepared for every aspect of College life.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ag students and photo majors... this is where you want to be. There are photo geeks and hillbillies everywhere. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Brace yourselves for a lot of hamburgers. It's not like the colleges you see in movies... there aren't hott chicks running around everywhere. But if you need a place to start out before transfering to a bigger college, this is the place to go.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely. It's the cheapest school I've found and I am confident that I'm getting as good of an education as all the other kids I knew that went to the University of Wyoming. And I'm not a decade in debt.

    Am enjoying being here

    A couple of weeks ago, I got a black eye and a chipped tooth playing football. I get to show off at open mic night. And my single room is totally decked out. This is high school with a break in the middle of the day--I get the credits and spend hours playing halo reach in place of doing homework like I would at a University.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn as much as you want to. Today, I learned that Cappex will give me money if I write a better review than everyone else who applies. I am really hoping that that knowledge pays off.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NWC is great for students who want that small-town feel while still having a larger city a few hours away. It is, admittedly, in the middle of nowhere, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The campus and the area in general has a very relaxed feel, and I would absolutely recommend it to students who are trying to avoid the usually stressful hustle and bustle of college life. It's also a great school if you're looking for a place to earn college credit without spending too much money. Because it has such a low tuition rate, I would recommend it for students who may not be entirely sure of just what they want to do with their careers just yet - and even if they change their mind, they wouldn't be overwhelmed with debt once they graduated. The school is best suited for agricultural and equine majors, although they also have a phenomenal photography program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for very, very cold winters. The weather is fantastic during the rest of the year - it's currently sunny and in the 80s in October - but the winters can be extremely cold. It's not uncommon for the temperatures to drop below zero, and because Powell is very windy, the windchill can be as low as negative seventy.

    Bang for the buck

    The low cost of attendance at NWC had me suspicious at first, but for the most part there hasn't been anything to be worried about. The food is surprisingly good, although with the cafeteria hours, you sometimes waste part of your meal plan since the dining hall closes at 6 PM. The residence halls are nice, though, as are the facilities around campus. Equine students will also enjoy the fact that the cost of being in the equine program covers food, bedding, board, farrier costs, and basic vet care all for a relatively low price.

    Am enjoying being here

    One thing I enjoy about Northwest College is that it's a very friendly school with an extremely approachable faculty. All of my teachers are on a first-name basis with their students, and my largest class has perhaps fifteen to twenty people in it. The campus is small, so getting from class to class is quick and easy, and the staff are always very pleasant. The dorms are all very close to the heart of campus as well. Life in the residency hall can have its unpleasant moments - NWC is a dry campus, but students are often blatantly intoxicated anyway, as with any school, and everyone in the hall is fined for alcohol violations. As far as I'm concerned, the pros still outweigh the cons.

    Am learning a lot

    So far I have learned a great deal at NWC - most of my teachers appear to be incredibly well-versed in their subjects, although there are definitely those who are less so. The information is presented well, however, and I haven't had any trouble processing information and keeping up with my class. The teachers are friendly and willing to help you if you ever need any assistance, and are almost always able to work with you personally if need be.

  • 06/30/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    equine majors, any ag related majors, any technical majors, and pretty much any other major that the college offers. the music program ROCKS and the college really tries to help you succeed. this is also a good school for students who are not ready to go on to a bigger city.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay in the dorms. the rules in the halls at this college are kinda ridiculous but the social life is wonderful :)

    Bang for the buck

    very good professors! pretty city, and the college is super cheap. overall, this college really rocks if you like wyoming.

    Did enjoy being here

    it is in wyoming, which can be a hard place to live at times.

    Did learn a lot

    it is very easy to learn a lot here because of the tiny class sizes and good professors.