Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brescia University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/05/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Nice

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nearly

    Great for these types of students

    Nice

    Tips for prospective students

    Small school

    In three sentences

    Great way to go this school

    Campus Safety

    Safely

    Dorm Life

    Safety

    Clubs and Activities

    Good realtionship

    Food and Dining

    Enjoying

    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher education

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brescia recently hired NightHawk Security guards and set-up a new security system. Students also have access to a One-Call program that notifies students of emergencies.

    Greek Life

    Brescia currently does not have any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities available at Brescia: Psychology Club, Spanish Club, Alpha Chi, Student Government Association, Student Activities Programming Board, Spanish Club, International Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Saint Angela's Messengers, Habitat For Humanity, Clay Club, Class Councils, Speech Pathology Club, Kentucky Educator's Association, The Bearcatettes (Dance Team), Band, Choir, Ichabod Society, Z.E.S.T, etc. If a club of your interest isn't listed, it is fairly simple to start up a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts Students who like a personal atmosphere Catholics Athletes International Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brescia has a Cat's Den in the basement of the Dorm Halls where students can hang out and where some events are hosted. We have an unusual tradition of soaping the fountain in the middle of the quad and playing in the suds.

    Bang for the buck

    Brescia is expensive, but like most colleges, it provides many opportunities for students. I believe bang for the buck depends upon how the student utilizes such provisions. If a student takes advantage of every activity and educational event offered by the school, and takes as many courses as possible, developing friendships, and professional relationships with teachers, they will be getting what they paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Brescia has a phenomenal Student Activities Programming Board made up of students who plan on-campus activities to keep students involved. We have hosted hypnotists, comedians, speakers, and bands; we have regular karaoke nights, intramurals, and dances as well. The only way someone can be without something to do at Brescia is if they choose to be.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience at Brescia is similar to that of a high-school cafeteria and leaves much to be desired. The Student Government Association is currently working on a Foods Committee to improve conditions.

    Dorm Life

    Considering that dorm life at any school is not the best, I would say that Brescia falls somewhere in the middle of the spectrum. The residence life staff tries to accommodate students' wants and needs, but only so much space is available. upperclassmen have better living conditions as they are eligible to live in apartments and school-owned houses.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is dependent upon how the student applies himself or herself. If a student does what he or she is supposed to do, studies, asks questions, and challenges himself or herself, the coursework is challenging and thought provoking, but not excessively difficult. Professors will work with students who do their best work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brescia is not a party school. If that is what you are looking for, I would not recommend coming here. However, this school is very good for people with milder personalities who desire personal connections and have a desire to learn. Brescia readily accepts students. I urge prospective students to exploit all financial aid options available as soon as possible. The tuition of a private institution is not cheap.

    In three sentences

    Brescia is a small, private, Catholic University devoted to liberal arts education. There is a personal atmosphere here that one would not feel at a larger school and the professors actually care about the students. Students can be very involved in the process of their education.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am an online student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are expecting flexibility with this university, please search elsewhere. You must log in at a designated time for each class. This is how you get your participation points. Online courses are intended to be convenient. Unfortunately, these courses aren't.

    In three sentences

    Brescia University is a Catholic-based school. I dislike the mandatory chat sessions. Otherwise, this school is okay to attend.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards walk the campus all night, they even walk the work study students back to their dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    Z.E.S.T, Phys Club

    Great for these types of students

    -Catholics, homebodies, social people

    Bang for the buck

    It's A little on the expensive side. But definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    We got to special events that The student activities program board (SAPB) host.

    Food and Dining

    food is amazing. 3 times a day all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    You have your own space, Its quiet. people are respectful.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to meet new people, the people here are really nice.

    In three sentences

    Brescia has wonder teachers. Brescia has friendly people. Brescia is a small campus.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Went on a campus tour today for their fall open house. Everyone was friendly and the campus is beautiful.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All door locks are card coded. Cards are worn around your neck. Campus well lit at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brescia has Baseball,Basketball,Soccer,Vollyball,Tennis,and Track for sports. Brescia Social Work Association Brescia University Habitat for Humanity Brescia University Pep Band Spanish Club Music Club Political Science Association of Brescia University Psychology Club Freshman Class Council (FCC)

    Great for these types of students

    Brescia is an Liberal Arts University open to any student that wants a good and quite education.

    Bang for the buck

    Costing 30.000 this year, that alot of money. Hope I learn something this year. Was not happy with the freshman dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Brescia has a rec center with Basketball court,running track and game room and TV lounge. Brescia is right smack dab in the center of town. The mall is only 1 mile away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and plenty.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not use to having a roommate, hope you get a clean one.

    Academic Rigor

    13 to 1 Ratio. Teachers are polite.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring plenty of quarters for washing clothes. Remember that the mattress has been used before so bring plenty of sheets and mattress cover. Stay in touch with family,makes life easier both ways.

    In three sentences

    This is my first year in college and it has been an adventure so far. Trying to play soccer and keep up with my classes is hard but can be done. Brescia is a good place to start your college years.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its small, security isn't needed but definitely is there in case something was to happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone. Newest club; ZEST a club focused on training in case of a zombie apocalypse.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing individuals who value education but love to socialize and have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On site ministry

    Bang for the buck

    Very generous on scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Attend events sponsored by the student organizations. Just Friday everyone was dancing at a Luau hosted on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The salad bar is a must. Always fresh and crispy. Everything else is always hot and yummy.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms feels a little like living in a small jail cell, but dorms are only for the freshman. Second years and above get to live in sweet apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It's the first week into classes and I'm already being challenged, but not to worry because all my professors make it known that they are here to help with anything I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Go to every event and activity. Enjoy Freshman orientation and take that time to relax and get to know everyone!

    In three sentences

    Brescia University is a small Catholic college in the heart of Owensboro, Kentucky. The small class sizes and personal relationships built with teachers makes it easy for firs time college students to adjust smoothly. The friendly staff and students makes Brescia a home away from home.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Decent

    Dorm Life

    Always doing something. Lots of activities and free food!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and Liberal Arts based

    In three sentences

    Brescia is small and focused on the individual. Staff go above and beyond the call of duty You are person not a number

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've heard of no problems of people feelings unsafe or something bad happening to them.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities. However, there is Sigma Alpha Pi which is the National Society for Leadership and Success.

    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish Club, Broadcast (school paper), Brescia Social Work Association, Brescia University Habitat for Humanity, Brescia University Pep Band, Brescia University Right to Life (BURTL), Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA),Freshman Class Council (FCC), Junior Class Council (JCC), Kentucky Education Association (KEA)/ Council for Exceptional Children (CEC), Music Club, Political Science Association of Brescia University, Psychology Club, Sigma Alpha Pi (National Society for Leadership and Success), Sophomore Class Council (SCC), St. Angela’s Messengers (SAMs Club), Student Government Association (SGA), Z.E.S.T. (Zombie Emergency Survival Team)

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't love big crowds. Everything is small, including: classes, amount of people on campus at a time, and the number of people who show up at events.

    Bang for the buck

    Without a scholarship it is very expensive since it is a a private college. However, it was rated one of the top colleges on the east coast.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities. There is karaoke night and game night once a month. Also, many performers like illusion artists, musicians, dance groups, comedians are invited. There are educational things as well such as speeches from celebrities over web-casts and people from specific career fields.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus because I live at home, but it is a buffet. It's as close as you can get to home cooking. There are many varities and each day has something different.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on dorm, but I hear the size is nice for a dorm. Also, there is a friendly RA and since the school is small they will get to know you and be willing to help. I only hear a few complaints, such as: temperature, at times and squirrels actually coming into the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses aren't fly by's but aren't killer, either. Besides long term projects and papers, classes only require an hour or two preparation a week, if that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since it is a small college, people will know a lot about you. Other hand classes are small and teachers can help more. Be prepared to attend class since it is a major part of your grade.

    In three sentences

    A small campus where everyone is friends, including the teachers. I always see the President of the University on campus and he's always involved with activities and students! Although it is a Catholic college, they don't shove religion down your throat.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I generally feel secure when walking around campus at all times of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm involved in several things around campus, and that has helped me meet so many people I never would have known otherwise. There's something for everybody here.

    Great for these types of students

    Social, active, academic, athletic. Everyone really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Soaping the fountain in the quad, haunted classrooms, haunted library

    Bang for the buck

    Look at it this way: Brescia is one of the cheaper private colleges, and everyone around here is willing to help you succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Relax in the Cat's Den. Hang out on the quad. Tennis and basketball courts. Walking track, exercise equipment, weight room. Frederica Street has everything on it, so you can always find something to do, such as see plays, movies, and ballets or go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    A better variety would be nice.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are outdated but still cozy. The apartments for upperclassmen are far better than the dorm rooms for freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes the athletes are favored more in classes, despite everyone says education is first. Other than that, I've learned a lot. And with Brescia being a dry campus, there are fewer parties and more time to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be as involved as possible. Befriend your advisors and professors. The more social you are, the more you'll be noticed and favored around campus. Utilize the science and mathematics library in the science building and the actual library by the administration building.

    In three sentences

    The academics are wonderful, as are the athletics. The campus is beautiful. Everything you need is within walking distance.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i'm on campus after dark weekly and i don't have any problems with feeling insecure at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    i hear of club meetings weekly, however you do not have to be involved if you choose not too.

    Great for these types of students

    brescia university is a great school for any type of student and of any age. they make no difference in one from the other. everyone is there to succeed and that is the entire universities goal, success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i haven't found anything to be unusual at all.

    Bang for the buck

    this college is expensive, however the financial staff does everything they can to get you all the help you need. they were exceptionally helpful with me.

    What to do for fun

    every week there are activities planned either on campus or somewhere within the town. there is always something going on somewhere if you are up to the entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    same thing with the food and dining, i can't lend any information specifically due to the fact that i am a non-traditional student. however, i have met some of the cafeteria staff and they are all extremely nice.

    Dorm Life

    i don't know anything about he dorms. i am a non-traditional student.

    Academic Rigor

    every professor is there to help you with whatever you need to succeed academically. they will appointments to meet your schedule to help you out when needed. each professor is straight forward in letting you know exactly what they expect from you and when it is expected, so there is not any surprises thrown on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    students of any age are welcomed and treated extremely well. this isn't a party college, therefore i've not saw one bit of misconduct in any way form or fashion on campus at anytime. someone is always there willing to help you so you can succeed.

    In three sentences

    as a non-traditional student re-entering college after fourteen years, the staff at brescia university has made me feel like i belong there. every individual i've came in contact with whether being a student or a staff member thus far has gone above and beyond their duty to lend a hand, inform, guide, encourage, or help in every way possible. i highly recommend this university.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    really expensive, but with the help of some scholarships you can do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply before the deadline, and apply to all the possible scholarships that you are eligible for.

    In three sentences

    this school looks like a very nice school. the whole campus is very tight nit. everything is really pretty.