Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cisco College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food got better as the semester went on. I wish they had more variety for vegetarian options to choose from. But wonderful staff that was friendly and ready to greet you with a smile and some humor!

    Dorm Life

    Quiet dorms and awesome living space! Comfortable beds as well as nice closet space. Bugs were a bit of a problem at the beginning of the semester but went away with time! But other then that, awesome place to stay, very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers that will help you with assignments if you only ask. The curriculum is awesome and well spaced out, easy to learn and grasp concepts really well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about scholarships from an athletic departments or fine art departments, they really help get you through school and give you a drive with your education.

    In three sentences

    Great school to dip your toes in for the college experience. Wonderful teachers that will work with you on your assignments if you just ask! Highly recommended for first year students who want to get their basics out of the way!

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not a lot to do here. It's best if you go to Abilene or Dallas for stuff to do, but the Eastland theater has tickets for $4.50.

    Food and Dining

    Go to Abilene for real food.

    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know. I live with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    For a two year college, it's okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a small town. Don't expect a ton of stuff to do outside of school unless you want to drive two hours to Dallas.

    In three sentences

    Small town without a lot of job options, but plenty of choices to get started on your degree. Small classes and the option to go during High School. Don't get too excited.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a great place to get started.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    All there is to do here for fun, is just hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not all that great, but it is better than going out and spending a whole bunch of money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life if fun, but the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that people say. Also, there are several mechanical problems here as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are probably a better option than the sports here, the teachers help you well with everything you need help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware of all the drama that is at this college.

    In three sentences

    Cisco College is just a college for education. I would not say it is the best in sport activities. But there is nice and friendly people here that will help you out.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During my two years at Cisco, I never had to worry about vandalism nor afraid of going to a night class. Parking lots are well lighted and within very short walking distance to the main building.

    Great for these types of students

    Cisco is great for those students with careers already and wanting to obtain more school hours for advancement in their organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    Cisco tuition is less than most colleges in Texas. Day and night classes are offered which allows most students to work around school classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus. The Cisco campus has many sporting events to attend. Your still considered a Cisco student no matter which campus you attend.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat within 2 miles.

    Dorm Life

    I went to the Abilene campus and there is not a dorm there. Most students are from local area and stay with family which allows us to save money.

    Academic Rigor

    Most courses will transfer to another state college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities and clubs offered.

    In three sentences

    Cisco College is a great place to get your basics out of the way. You don't have to pay a fortune to get started on your future. You don't feel like your just a number since thier classes are varily small.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never, and do not foresee ever, feeling unsafe. The campus has a friendly vibe and places of safety such as storm rooms. There is also a police officer posted on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a good school for newly graduated high school students just looking to get their foot in the door. It is also good for students who will also be working or are trying to damage the pocketbook as minimally as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an affordable alternative to taking basic classes.

    What to do for fun

    Abilene is a smaller Texas city that does not have much to offer when compared to larger cities. However, there are plenty of coffee shops around, a few areas to fish, a couple tourist attractions such as Buffalo Gap, and other miscellaneous places. Although there is not an amusement park or river walk, there are plenty of places to find a good time.

    Food and Dining

    All that Cisco offers is a snack bar with outrageously overpriced items.

    Dorm Life

    I attend an extension campus of Cisco College that does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is not a sleep in class school, it does not offer very difficult academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good school to attend that is easy on the pocketbook. It is an easy way to knock out basic classes before attending a larger college or university.

    In three sentences

    Cisco offers a great college environment for newly graduated high school students. It boasts not only a beautiful campus that is easily navigated, and friendly staff/educators who are skilled in their individual fields, but also a very affordable price. It has, however, a less than challenging curriculum.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually a police officer on campus, I have never heard of an incident.

    Greek Life

    Maybe one, not advertised if there is.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nothing really going on in this arena.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want to do their basics for cheap and transfer to a four year institution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a location in Abilene which is great.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great education for the money!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, hang out with friends, church.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate there, but I haven't heard any bad reviews.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in the dorms, but I haven't ever heard a bad review.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but equipping.

    Tips for prospective students

    Map out all of your courses you plan to take early on so you can make sure they transfer.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic place to do your general education for transfer. Great teachers, flexible schedules, multiple locations. I Highly recommend Cisco College.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always an officer patrolling the school and the parking lots. :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great culture club at Cisco

    Great for these types of students

    Those who struggled in High School and are intimidated by college.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in Cisco and attend the Cisco Campus it's a great price, but tuition is doubled for those of us who live in Abilene, and go to the Abilene Campus.

    What to do for fun

    Classes and Study Groups.

    Food and Dining

    I've gotten sick from the little snack bar/convenience area at the Abilene Cisco Campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't drop out of a class based on the teacher. I almost did this past semester, and I'm glad I stuck with it. She ended up being a very reasonable and easy teacher.

    In three sentences

    Cisco is a great starter college for those going back to college, or just getting a taste for college. It's a very easy school to apply for and get into. The teachers will work with you as well.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cisco Junior college is much more affordable than all three universities in Abilene.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't a lot of options to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm in at Cisco Junior College, but there are many apartments that are affordable in the surrounding area.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students planning on attending Cisco, to visit with a financial aid counselor. They are very friendly and helpful. This will save future students from any mistakes on the financial aid application.

    In three sentences

    Cisco Junior College in Abilene, Texas is an amazing school. The counselors are extremely helpful and are always willing to answer any questions. The campus is small which allows the professors to know each individual student.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Abilene Police Officer on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    various clubs for various people

    Great for these types of students

    working, students with kids, or a family. Great for students not ready for a crowded university and adapting to a change.

    Bang for the buck

    Cisco is affordable, many available options financially.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of organized activities, everyone welcomed.

    Food and Dining

    There is a mini-shop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Abilene campus does not have dorm living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get to know students for tips on professors.

    In three sentences

    Cisco is great for the working adult. Cisco makes learning easier with teachers you can relate to. Cisco has options making life managable around school.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    it's a very small town. small class rooms up to 12-15 students. lots of help available.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all type of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    locked my keys in my car!

    What to do for fun

    activity center. meetings

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    start early to keep your gpa high. don't waste time, plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    this is college is closer to home. more affordable college for my budget. quality education with a affordable price!

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    kids who enjoy the smaller school and class size

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here and just do your freaking work then you will pass, but if you actually apply yourself more and try to enjoy yourself more then you will excel

    Bang for the buck

    Miss going to school for this price, used to do a semester for less than five grand then went to a college that is about eleven grand bleh

    Did enjoy being here

    What can I really say, when I went here it was a junior college and though they dropped the junior it is pretty much the same. You come here, go to class, then go home cause it is a commuting college. What I did enjoy about going here is that everything is in one building so it is easy to get to everything and that the class sizes were not huge, which made it easier to talk to other students and teachers

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who would be nervous on a large, crowded campus. You never have to worry about getting lost in this building.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes early, the good classes at the best periods fill up pretty fast.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good bargain, you get a decent education (at least enough to get you transferred to a four-year school) for a fraction of the price you would get at a larger school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying my experience here. I've made friends and met people that I personally won't forget.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I am learning a lot, when the teachers are actually teaching. Some of the professors I've had have the tendency to go out on tangents about politics, I find it sort of annoying. Although the online classes that I am taking don't have that problem.

  • 03/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want small, cheap and a good education this is where you belong.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend you go tour it and see what you think. Some students wants a massive school and this is far from that. Its a single building school with alot of students. If small is what you want then go for it!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes just be sure you get the right books because things get confusing in the book store and you'll want to be the first to sell your books back to them because the value of them goes down at the end of the week that they are buying them back. Other than that the classes are very cheap and worth your while.

  • 10/07/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Tips for prospective students

    this is the best college that i recommend you attend