Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Marin Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Next to the sherrif's office.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to transfer to a UC and save a lot of money

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable

    What to do for fun

    The hikes around here are great, and San Francisco is only 20 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies

    Tips for prospective students

    Review your IGETCs for transferring

    In three sentences

    Good 2 year school

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join AGS, there is always fun activities in and out of campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good!

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm an international student, and it's hard to be away from the family and friends, and to learn everything in a different language. So, I'd say: - Make sure to build a good relationship with your counselor; - Join AGS, it's a great way to make new friends and give back to the community; - keep up the hard work!

    In three sentences

    It makes you feel like home. It helps you feel confident to transfer to any school you want. I love college of Marin.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join groups or run for president

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out everything about the college and what they offer.

    In three sentences

    College of marin has the best resources. There their motto is if we succeed they succeed. Every student and teachers are great.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a community college, so they do offer the same education that you would get in any other college for a much more reasonable cost, which gives the opportunity for anyone of economical class to be able to go to school and get their education. Most people come out of high school and join the two year transfer program at College of Marin because they realize that the first two years of college of Marin provide you with your basic lower division classes that you can take anywhere but here it would be for a much more reasonable cost which helps save money for future educational costs.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or do some sort of athletic activities that are offered. Most of the time, people are in class and then go home or hang out with friends after their class is done, so that seems to be the fun thing to do around campus, just to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is actually fairly good, which is occasionally surprising for a cafeteria in any school. The food that they hand-make in front of you, such as their open grill, is very good and is reasonably priced and they make it in front of you, so you know what is going in your food. They offer a variety of different foods, from salads to burgers and various little snacks that you can get. Some things tend to be a little overpriced, such as their drinks, but otherwise, everything seems to be reasonably priced. The cafeteria location itself is very nice, somewhat in the middle of the campus, and there are many open locations where you can go and sit in the cafeteria itself, and there are students always there, either those who are eating or getting some work done.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered for the college of Marin because this is a community college. Most students either live in their own apartment or if they are still out of high school live with their families.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at college of Marin are difficult and if you aren't able to keep up with workload that the teachers give you, you will fall behind and it won't be a good situation. The teachers expect you to be able to keep up to their standards and they give you multiple opportunities to fulfill those standards; if you are falling behind, they expect you to come and talk to them because they do want you to succeed. Almost every class that you can think of for your major will most likely be offered for you and you will be academically challenged, but you will also be learning about something that interests you and will guarantee to help you in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor from the school before and while you are in the process of applying for the school. The counselors are there to assist you in any way possible and will always assist in any way that they can, whether it be academically or any other case. The counselors will take care of whatever you need and will help you sign up for classes or talk to teachers if you need to and if you are looking to transfer after two years, then speaking with a counselor will definitely assist in the process because they are experts in the process of transferring,

    In three sentences

    College of Marin is an excellent community college that provides the opportunities for people of all ages and all different economical levels to be able to attend school and receive an education. It is a beautiful campus with recent additions that make the school more welcoming and better for students in terms of classrooms and better learning environments. They provide a lot of opportunities for students to interact with each other through various clubs or athletics or simply in the different classes that they offer.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sheriff sub-station right on campus. How could you feel more safe?

    Clubs and Activities

    Take a look at your campus catalog

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is very community involved and they make a point to let you know of all that there is to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Very exceptional all around!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are notices of events posted around the school all the time. Just keep your eyes open.

    Food and Dining

    Great little deli in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No campus life here but if home isn't far, you'll find plenty to keep occupied in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Find study buddies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself.

    In three sentences

    College of Marin is really one of the most wonderful places one could choose to go. For one, the staff there are the most understanding, warm and helpful people, ALL THE TIME. Not to mention the beautiful surroundings with the school being located in Marin.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's Marin county...

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students: anyone with a job, internship, family, or disability that limits their ability to attend class during the day. Plenty of evening or weekend classes available.

    Bang for the buck

    Can't beat community college prices. Look at traditional university credit costs!

    Food and Dining

    Have never eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    Community college without dorms. Living in the Bay area is pretty expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as soon as your enrollment date allows. Take more classes to get a better enrollment date.

    In three sentences

    Smaller environment conducive to meeting other students with similar interests. Very nice faculty who genuinely seem interested in engaging students. Great for non-traditional students with busy and limited schedules.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    College of Marin has many athletic teams that students can support, and our performing arts department often produces excellent shows.

    Food and Dining

    Our campus cafeteria works to provide a variety of healthy options, and they are always successful.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable as we are a commuter campus that does not have campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academice rigor varies depending on the department, but the hard sciences and math are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advice prospective students to become involved with the Tutoring and Learning Center on campus. The TLC is a great resource for students, both to receive help and to be employeed as a peer tutor.

    In three sentences

    College of Marin is our local community college. It has a strong nursing program, a strong math and science department, and a strong performing arts department.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a police station on campus and while I haven't noticed as many cops walking around campus this semester, I've never felt unsafe, even when I took night classes. Campus is pretty well lit.

    Great for these types of students

    Easy-going, relaxed students who may also work or have families. There are some online and tele-classes as well that help for those with

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition prices have increased, I still think you can get a good start at a long-term education at College of Marin. I am glad that they are renovating the campus to bring it up to date (and code probably) and so paying a little extra so new students can enjoy state-of-the-art amenities doesn't bother me.

    What to do for fun

    There's clubs and sports to participate in. The weather is usually pretty good so it's easy to be a part of different things.

    Food and Dining

    New cafeteria food is pretty diverse and good. Prices are comparable too.

    Academic Rigor

    I've found myself very challenged by most instructors/professors. One in particular led me to decide to double major when I transfer out next semester - best teacher I ever had!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school 20 minutes early to get decent parking.

    In three sentences

    Set back at what appears to be the base of Mount Tamalpais, it's a rustic old school. What it lacks in classroom aesthetics, it makes up for in organic scenery. Students are pretty diverse and most seem to be there to really learn. I've made some acquaintances and friends along the way and find most people to be really laid-back and friendly.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    since i have started going to the college i don't have much to say

    Tips for prospective students

    i don't have any tips.

    In three sentences

    the college is really good to attend. i don't have anything bad to say about the school.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and not much theft. The campus police don't ever really leave the parking lot but once in a while you see them strolling around the campus but there is barely any crime at the school.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many job opportunities around this area. It might take a couple applications to get a good job in this nice area though.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs at this school that do many fun local activities together. Also, there are movie theaters, parks, bowling, mini golfing, and more all around the Marin area. Everyone is very friendly so it's easy to make friends to do these things with people.

    Food and Dining

    The food around College of Marin is very good. There is a cafeteria which has acceptable food and a nice grocery store with really yummy organic foods along with a Mexican restaurant, breakfast/lunch cafe and more great food options.

    Dorm Life

    There is not much dorm life at College of Marin but the college provides information to students about where to find cheap housing around the area from apartments to large houses which students share.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at College of Marin are rigorous yet when things get tough a student is given many opportunities to raise their grades through the teachers office ours to seek help and free tutoring provided by the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard but when things get tough there are many resources to help you get the highest grade possible. If you are thinking about taking general ed at a community college then transferring to a university, this is the school for you because you will get the most out of your classes for less money.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school that helps prepare students for education at difficult universities by teaching rigorous course. The teachers are great and help the students achieve their goals. All classes are very interesting and engaging, even the general ed classes.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of someone encountering danger on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Many types of students will do well at COM. Science majors, artists, and athletes will all benefit from newly updated facilities. COM is good for those exploring the general education curriculum to figure out a major, as well as for those who have already chosen a major and want an affordable head-start before transferring.

    Bang for the buck

    Rent books that are not for your intended major! The bookstore is now offering this option, as well as the option to rent e-books through Nook. This can save a lot of money on books--and we all know how expensive those can get. Just remember to turn rented hard copies in on time, which I believe is always the last week of the semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of beautiful little spots on the campus to sit with friends and talk or read a good book. Lying out on the grass next to student services is always nice on a sunny day. One of the best parts about COM is being able to commune with people from all walks of life. It can be fun just to walk around campus and run into the friends that you meet here!

    Food and Dining

    The food services was recently taken over by new management, and it has been something of an improvement from the cafe's last incarnation. The food is decent, there are lots of healthy options, and it is much more affordable than the high-end grocery market next to the school.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus dwelling at COM.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on what department you are talking about. I am a science major, and the science department has classes that are very challenging. Most of my professors in the science department also teach at nearby private, four-year universities, and most follow the same syllabus and lecture schedules for both schools. In other words, you are getting the same lectures that you would at Domincian University or Touro University, but on a much more affordable scale. My classes in other departments have been much easier than my science courses, though that is not to say that they were a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    The recipe for success is pretty much the same as in any higher education setting: go to class, take notes, do the assigned reading, turn in your work on time. If you find that you are doing these things and still not doing as well as you'd hoped, COM has really awesome tutors available in the tutoring center and the writing center. Don't miss this golden opportunity to get extra help for free when needed! I've gone for assistance in Italian, Reading and Composition, and Chemistry classes. The tutors who helped me were all super friendly and helpful.

    In three sentences

    College of Marin's faculty is a well qualified and dedicated group of educators. Most of the courses are sufficiently challenging to prepare you for transfer to a four-year university. The campus is in the process of being remodeled, and the new buildings, including the art and science facilities, are state of the art.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe there. If you're taking a night class, you can request and escort to your car afterward.

    Bang for the buck

    In-state tuition is reasonable. Lots of services to take advantage of if you want to.

    What to do for fun

    Take a swim class! Good exercise, cheaper than joining a gym.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is decent. A little expensive for what it is.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are pretty easy. Teachers just want to know that you're trying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to office hours at least once or twice. It let's teachers know you're trying.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus, decent facilities, some great teachers, a lot of goof-offs.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is really important and I always feel safe, especially since there is a police and sheriff building right there on campus. The police are always available for students. The campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Not really sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's definately several clubs as well as a on campus newspaper.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a very nice school with excellant moral. If your down to earth and just want to do well in school then this is the place for you. If your alternative then this is definately the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Indian Valley campus is literally in the country so you will likely see dear running around different parts of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very affordable and doable.

    What to do for fun

    The library is amazing if you need a place to relax and read. I'm not really sure what to do for fun just yet, but I know that they have a lot of clubs on campus as well as sports. Both the Indian Valley campus and Kentfield campus have a pool if you like swimming.

    Food and Dining

    I like the school cafeteria a lot. They have the basics plus a great healthy salad bar. They also have an awesome vending machine that makes a great cup of joe.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe that College of Marin has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent !

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip that I have for students is try to register for your classes as soon as possible to avoid being put on the waiting list for a class that you need.

    In three sentences

    This college has been a blessing in disguise. The staff of everyone on campus is professional and very helpful. The classes are fun and interesting as well.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lot of activities near and on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good choices.

    Dorm Life

    Not living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don´t be scared to ask help if you need it.

    In three sentences

    Lot of choices what to learn. Very helpful teachers and administrative side. Student friendly, warm atmosphere.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    from just out of hs to returning to the workforce, we come from all different backgrouds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the program is held at the indian valley campus in novato. a beautiful and peaceful setting.

    Bang for the buck

    one of the instructors is actually a trainer for casecat software. she is invaluable to the program.

    Food and Dining

    not much on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to the court reporting program's open house or come talk to the teachers or students. we are all willing to help.

    In three sentences

    the court reporting program at com is top-notch. the teachers are very experienced, thorough and caring. this is a very difficult program, but i think i have a leg-up by attending com.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    undecided major, nursing students, low income students.

    Bang for the buck

    can't beat the cost.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    the dining room has variety and fairly good food.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved, ask for support and have fun.

    In three sentences

    College of Marin is terrific. The faculty are knowledgeable, caring and supportive. The nursing program is top notch.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you can still live with your parents and attend this community college, it is highly recommended for you because you can save a ton of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get a good counselor, get on track early, and ask your counselor all the questions you have.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it to go to a community college and complete your general education first. At $36 per unit, its way cheaper than attending a UC to complete basically the same classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is alright, nothing incredibly fancy. However, there is a brand new fine arts building, newly renovated gym, and currently under construction a new math and science building.

    Am learning a lot

    Depending of course upon the teachers you get, they can be very helpful in making you succeed. I seem to have chosen the right teachers, as I have only had a couple that I did not get a long with.