Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of the Sequoias Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/27/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I love our Student Activities department!! Being involved with Student Activities- Student Senate and having the opportunity to meet with staff members (a.k.a. possible professors in my future), departments supervisors and board members and know them on a first name basis is an honer. I also got to meet with Club officers to find out what's happening with clubs on campus and it's been pretty awesome to see how active clubs are. My advice, get involved and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you give.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved and stay involved on campus. There is so much to do if you actually look for something to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have a Carl's Jr. and The Grind coffee shop that serves something different every day and on Fridays you can order something that was served from the week. I gave 5 stars because the food is a healthy alternative to fast food and the coffee is legit coffee made by an actual barista.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Academic Rigor

    Be in class and in your seat promptly. You're an adult and no one is going to hold your hand much less care about excuses; if you miss up, own and ask your professor what you can do. Don't wait till the last minute though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take everything serious, get involved and the first week of each new semester make sure you arrive on campus 30- 45 minutes before class starts; parking is crazy ridiculous to find and if you are not in your seat at the EXACT time of your class. I've witnessed students get dropped and replaced with someone on the "waitlist" for being a couple of minutes late on the first day. Professors don't care whatever your excuse or reason is, it's your responsibility not theirs.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is an amazing community college because they have staff members that are friendly and care about their students and the campus is clean.

  • 11/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on campus, and there's a lot of emergency poles around the school where you can speak to someone if you're in danger or what not.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are really active and they typically do something once a week. Although, it is not necessary to blast loud music in the quad area. It's a school, but there are no school dances or raves and what not. Some professors offer extra credit if you join a club.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are cheaper than universities and UCs hands down, and this is the same idea with COS as well. I rated this four stars because yes, the classes are cheaper when compared to the more popular schools where everyone else wishes to attend. Living expenses are not bad at all. Apartments start around $650 and split that with a room mate or two. Online classes or hybrids typically cost more than regular classes which actually take place on campus in a classroom.. It's mainly because access codes and brand new textbooks are required for online courses, and in-class classes usually allow students to buy used copies of the required books. Take a look at how much the books will cost you as well. For example, I compared two art classes, and the first art class required 4 textbooks which would have costed me at least $400. The other art class only required two books that costed about $80 each (brand new). Do your research.

    What to do for fun

    Let's see.. There's honestly not much to do. We have a bowling alley in town, but the prices aren't friendly enough to come back every week to bowl. There's also an Adventure Park which is an arcade that has lazer tag and outdoor attractions such as mini golf, go-kart racing, batting cages, and bumper boats. There is also a Chuck E. Cheese and a Rollertowne (where people rollerskate/blade), but these places are usually where minors hang out for fun. Although the town has two malls, there isn't much to look forward to. Basically, the two movie theaters make the big bucks off of college students. As far as what the town has to offer, it's not much.

    Food and Dining

    There's a good variety in town. I have not found an authentic Italian restaurant yet, but there is an Olive Garden down the street. Whether it be burger joints or Mexican food, this town has it...

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college. On-campus housing is not an option, and although there may be apartments near the school, these are not 4 and 5 star living spaces. If I did not live in the same city, I would never agree to go to this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, this absolutely varies based on both the class and the professor; this is why it is so important to do research on the professor. For example, my history class meets once a week, and all of the tests are open note; in addition, the workload is light (a study guide each week). I'm acing that class. On the other hand, I spend at least 3 hours on homework for my English class. For this particular class, there have been nights when I could not sleep at all. I would get started on an assignment at 6PM expecting to be done around 10PM, and then find myself still awake at 5 in the morning just doing work for this class. The workload is beyond overwhelming. Please do your research on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're an incoming freshmen and you know that you absolutely need to take English 1 (or whatever class), do your research on all of the English 1 professors on ratemyprofessor.com. Compare them, and this will make that much of a difference for the entire semester. Also, use slugbooks.com when buying textbooks. I've saved hundreds of dollars thanks to the site. Oh, and the parking lots are a chaotic. Hmm.. bring your own lunch too. Everything sold on campus is ridiculously expensive. I bought a sandwich in the cafeteria for $5. It wasn't even a combo or Subway.

    In three sentences

    Because no one has the option to dorm on campus, this is just like high school, but there are less cliques, hardly any parking spaces, there's students of all ages, and there's definitely more freedom. This is not the school one would think of when picturing the full college experience as seen in the movies and what not. It's not easy getting the classes you want, and even the waitlists get filled up pretty quick too.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many emergency buttons scattered throughout campus which you can press in an unfortunate event that needs a campus police officer. There are always officers on duty. The campus is a quiet place anyways, and the cops often seem unneeded as a result.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be a lot of clubs on campus, though I myself never got involved with any of them. Club rush day always had the quad filled with different groups of people looking for new recruits. If you are into this scene, then you might feel at home on these days.

    Great for these types of students

    This school has an outstanding math and science program. The teachers are knowledgeable, and provide a rigorous education to prepare students for the upper division.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is cheap when compared to getting the same level of education for the first two years of college from a CSU or UC. The quality of the education is excellent, despite the fact that many look down upon community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Not too much near the school for fun, there are a few good bars in the downtown area which is a few miles away. There is a gym right across the street which is very convenient for the health conscious student. Other than that, most people do not stick around the campus to have their fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is lousy on campus. There are two options, Carl's Jr. and a taco place. Neither are very good, or worth the price. I recommend bringing your own meals, as it will save you not only money, but keep you from eating the unhealthy garbage they sling from behind the grease box.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available on campus, the 1 star rating is not representative of anything.

    Academic Rigor

    My major was in the science department. I came into contact with some of the schools most well-known and rigorous instructors. They do not pull their punches, and expect you to put in a large amount of work. Many of the science and math classes are modeled of UC leveled difficulty. This is to prepare the students for their upcoming transition into the next level of education. It may seem like a pain at the time, but it will be much appreciated later down the line.

    Tips for prospective students

    Treat education like a job, listen to the teachers when they give recommended sections to read, and most importantly, open the book and study.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is an excellent starting point for anyone college bound. The campus is well-kept, and clean. The staff is, for the most part, very interested in what they teach and eager to instruct students.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not many things to do in town. Bowling join intramural sports

    Food and Dining

    Have restaurants near by that are great. Even their cafe food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in town with parents, so i cant really say

    Academic Rigor

    Offer great classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to keep grades high so you may register early. Try out for the sport programs.

    In three sentences

    Awesome way to get GED out of the way. They have great teachers that will help you with your questions. Its in a convenient place in town were you can walk and get food. Great campus and offer many workshops so you can transfer.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally, I am very close to home here so I mostly do what I normally do, but Visalia doesn't have much to offer.

    Food and Dining

    We have a couple things, but nothing extravagant.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms I am aware of at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Not many classes are that difficult, but some teachers can make it difficult in my opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and make sure to turn in assignments as always. If you have trouble don't worry because other students would gladly help.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is a very friendly school. On the other hand, I feel some teachers have a lack of responsibility.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a Carls Jr on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and participate as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    I love this community college. They have small class sizes and the teachers honestly care about your education.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres always that one club that you fit in too.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a club or sport.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is geat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fun and you actually learn things that you can adapt to your future carrer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its never to late to start college again. After being 4 years out of high school I decided to come back, and couldnt be any happier with my decicion. I actually cherish everything i have now and understand how hard it is to make it out there in the real world without any education to back yourself up with.

    In three sentences

    This is my fist semester ever attending college, since graduating high school. College of the Sequoias is really easy to enroll in and they have an awsome new facillity for anything related agriculture only. I really enjoy attending classes there, and i learn something every time class meets.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a Carl's Jr and a couple other places. Near campus there are also several places within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are easy if you stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Most of the instructors are very helpful and entertaining. The campus is very nice full of trees. However the wireless internet connection on campus is terrible and spotty on a good day.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    If you want crispy chicken, Carl's Jr at the food court is the place to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to go to the library frequently, its the best way to maintain good grades.

    In three sentences

    It's ok, except that there's some teachers that hardly care about you.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe campus. The health center is practically in the center of the whole campus. Have not seen any dangerous outbreaks or shootings or fights in the 3 years I have been at this 2-year and transfer college. :)

    Greek Life

    Not much of one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs, but get involved because you may never join them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great if you didn't do well in high school and had a low GPA, or if you did well in high school and can not afford to go to the university you were accepted to. Especially great if you want to stay for 5 years trying to get into classes that other students fill up and don't even need or if you plan on failing classes because some of the paid instructors are obviously overpaid to babysit.

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't cost very much.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved at the school. There is no fun besides making the best of where you are. This isn't a high-end four-year college.

    Food and Dining

    They have two places to eat in their cafeteria and random snack places. The staff there consists of students so it's nice to see the school offering job opportunities.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study hard, you will prosper. The science classes are taught be phenomenal professors. You will never go wrong with the intelligence of one who understands science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with a counselor every year to make sure you're on the right track. Do not be afraid to ask for help. Every student on campus is a colleague so befriend those who seem adequate.

    In three sentences

    COS is a good school. It's not somewhere to finish, but it's definitely somewhere to start. I have enjoyed it.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always sports to participate in, clubs to join, and student activities to take part in.

    Food and Dining

    There are food services available, including a well-stocked snack store, a Carl's Jr, the COS Cafe, and a taqueria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered at the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor varies from course to course, teacher to teacher. I have a few classes that have been fairly easy for me, but that is also partly due to thorough teaching. There are many resources for students to seek help as well. Some courses require more work done than others, but they tend to stay with the expected calculated hours of out of class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider COS as an option to get your GE out of the way. It is impacted, but if you have the will to get into a class, you WILL get in. Teachers are constantly trying to squeeze as many can fit, or are allowed, in their classes.

    In three sentences

    Although many entering/continuing college students dream about four year universities, College of the Sequoias is a wonderful community college that offers nearly every single course for transfer students in about all fields of majors. I am so glad I chose the cheaper way to go to obtain my general ed. The staff is very willing to answer any questions, and the teachers truly care about their students, wanting them to push forward for success.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theres always campus police as well as Visalia police department on campus and there are emergency alarms located throughout the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students on a budget.

    Bang for the buck

    Try to figure out if your professor even uses the text book before buying it. And check online for deals on you textbooks.

    Food and Dining

    COS is located on Mooney Boulevard the area where most of Visalia's restaurants are located. On campus there is a dining/cafeteria area that offers a good selection of popular fast food restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use www.ratemyprofessor.com when deciding which professor's class to take.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is a great community college. There are a lot of classes to choose from and the professors are personable. Also, COS offers a lot of supportive programs to their students and they have a really good library.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police all you have to do is call them and they are there in less than a few mins so don't worry they are there all the time and on the spot including nurses too. They have security cameras all over the place too as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, one being the asb(associated student body) and another is the bible club and many others I don't know about.

    Great for these types of students

    They have help for disabled students. A lot of students who go to COS are handicapped and that is a good thing because it helps others learn that if the handicapped who have a hard time can do it then we all can do what we want that we put our minds to.

    What to do for fun

    There are many asb activity's all the time just watch the student activity calendar and you will know the times and the dates of all the activity's on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of places on campus and off campus you can eat. Ask around and look around I don't know everything yet about this. I do know they have a jack and the box on campus and there is one off campus too.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms for me. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    For me there has been not as many challenges that I thought I would have. Most of the classes are pretty simple and to the point. You will be able to do really good if you ask questions when you don't understand something, do your work, study hard, and have fun learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to ask questions. There are many helpful people on this campus. Remember this is nothing like high school, there is no stupid questions and no one will laugh at you for not understanding.

    In three sentences

    Very beautiful, the teachers are very nice, the scenery is very beautiful. I love the environment, it is not like high school at all. The campus looks scary at first but it is very easy to find your way around because they put maps out and you will be able to understand it very well within a day or two.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are two movie theaters, mini golfing, go-carts, a minor-league baseball team, and some live action downtown.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest you make sure to meet with a counselor before each semester to make sure you are on the right track for classes; sign up early, appointments fill up very quickly.

    In three sentences

    COS is close to home, decent-sized, and a good price. Some teachers are fantastic while others are mediocre. It is at a close proximity to food, shopping, entertainment, and apartments.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    YES definitely.

    What to do for fun

    Baseball is probably the only exciting on-campus activity.

    Food and Dining

    I've had food poisoning twice from the food galleria on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academia is fairly easy...probably too easy. They are losing accredidation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find another college.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is for the independent student. They do not offer much help in the counseling and guidance departments, nor in the admissions and records. Everything is do-it-yourself.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club

    Tips for prospective students

    When you want a degree from a University, tell them you want your transfer degree. Otherwise the counselor will give you all sorts of classes for their own degree which is non transferrable. Those classes wont help you when you transfer.

    In three sentences

    COS is a good school. They are very affordable. They are pretty helpful to new students.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has an on campus police substation, haven't seen them do much besides enforce the law on the criminal parking violators

    Bang for the buck

    An absolute terrible place for someone who is actually putting themselves through college. Many of the teachers here give assignments on the first day, simply to encourage students to purchase there books quickly, so good luck ordering books online. Applying for Financial aide is a joke, many students take advantage of their financial situations, receive their aide money and either drop out or flunk out.

    What to do for fun

    Watch sports meets, seats and parking for those events are great because nobody watches them. If you are a sports fan you are set

    Food and Dining

    Has a Carls Jr. on campus, food is just like any other fast food, tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    This college doesn't provide any dorm support, not that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    So far it has been pretty easy, my toughest course would have been in math, but from my experience, my teacher was great.

    In three sentences

    Been to this college for about a year now, it is decent. Campus is very easy to navigate around. Parking is an absolute joke, but then again what college has good parking.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards and staff patrolling the campus. I feel very safe at COS

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life. I wish there was but since it's only a junior college, it's understandable.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in clubs or activities so I don't know how they are. However, I see flyers and booths all over the place so I'm assuming there is a lot to do at COS besides classes.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great beginner school. For someone who isn't quite ready to be thrust into the fast-paced college life, this is a good place to go. If you plan to transfer later, the counselor make it very easy. They will walk you through what classes you need to transfer to the school of your choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't participate in anything because I'm not there for very long during the day. There is a spot next to the athletic offices that has benches and shade and it's a nice little reading area.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not too ridiculously expensive. It has a nice atmosphere. However, if you have a question, ask someone instead of using the website because it sucks.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs to join. Every couple of weeks, there will be booths set up by these clubs in the quad so students can ask questions and join if they'd like to.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few snack places on campus. Sometimes they aren't as stocked as I'd like them to be.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Just keep up. Don't procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep up with the work. Like any other college, the classes are fast paced and they require you to take time out of your schedule to study or do homework.

    In three sentences

    COS has nice class sizes and the work isn't too hard. The Campus is pretty and the counselors are all very helpful. This is a nice junior college to start at.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for every type of person or interest.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! the vets club is recommended.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small shop, a cafeteria, and carls jr on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the office and register stay on track by taking care of what you need to do.

    In three sentences

    COS is a very good school for helping students transfer. the veterans department is informed and informs the veteran students. i recommend it to people in the central valley.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a bowyers club on campus. A printworks club and an artworks club.

    What to do for fun

    Have friends, make art, read. Listen to music.

    Food and Dining

    Ehhhh normal.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    It can be rigorous depending oh your pace and what course(s) you are currently enrolled in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions, stay after class, get homework help, and don't slack off.

    In three sentences

    The graphic design teachers have a passion to share with others and to see them thrive. Although the curriculum is being currently updated and moved to another location. I do hope to see an improvement in the curriculum for funding for the graphic design department because it is not what it could be.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IT IS SAFE BECAUSE THERE ARE COPS THEY ARE TOUGH.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'M IN BAND IN COLLEGE OF THE SEQOUIAS.

    What to do for fun

    I PLAY MY TROMBONE FOR FUN.

    Food and Dining

    I EAT AT TACO BELL

    Dorm Life

    NO DORM

    Academic Rigor

    MY MAJOR IS BECOME A MUSIC BAND TEACHER

    Tips for prospective students

    IM A VERY HAPPY PERSON IN SCHOOL AND AT WORK

    In three sentences

    COLLEGE IS THE BEST PART OF MY LIFE BECOUSE THEY HELP ME ON MY HOMEWORK AND THEY TEACHED ME REALLY WELL I REALLY LIKE THIS SCHOOL AND I ENJOY THIS SCHOOL I MADE LOTS OF FRIENDS AND IT HAS THE BEST ACADAMICS.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. In my time here I have seen nor heard of no instances where my own safety were endangered. Hardly any thefts either, I once saw a bike someone forgot to lock up stay there the whole day!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Limited choice of clubs. The only time I see them is the one or two club days they host on campus throughout the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who know what they want to do and take school seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All buildings are named for things from the close Sequoias National Park.

    Bang for the buck

    With the cost it is most definitely worth taking classes here in preparation for 4 year universities. Same classes, but much cheaper for general education requirements! Depending on your major, there are also classes to fulfill some of those requirements as well.

    What to do for fun

    Alas, there are not very much opportunities for fun around town. A majority of complaints are concerning the lack thereof things to do in town.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with a Carl's Jr within, and a little Mexican food place as well called TAC.O.S. (COS acronym for the school). Also, there are plenty of dining options surrounding the school within walking distance and definitely even more options with a vehicle.

    Dorm Life

    A majority of the students here live around the area and live at home. For the few that don't, there are some opportunities for housing close to the school, but just about anywhere in town is close in my opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are intermediate in difficulty, and often times I have thought a bright high school student would have no problem passing. However, math and science classes are lots of work. Just two classes in conjunction in one semester is enough to keep your plate full.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Science classes tend to fill up the fastest, so keep that in mind!

    In three sentences

    A fairly large student body with ample opportunities for getting your general ed done. It is a great stepping stone for students who wish to transfer later, or who want to get certified with the various certification programs available.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those of you who are looking for the first stepping stone into a brighter future.

    What to do for fun

    There are exciting football games, as well as concerts and shows. The college student's have many succesfull clubs that often times hold functions on campus that are always festive.

    Food and Dining

    The Carl's Jr. is great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus, and I don't think they have dorms anyways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you only take the amount of classes you think you can handle, the homework will take up a lot of your time. Be sure to earn any and all extra credit at the beginning of the semester when you don't really need it, that way you have fall back room in the credits you earn for your grade.

    In three sentences

    C.O.S. Is a smaller but very busy campus. It does a great job of notifying the students early and on time for important events. Also, The staff in all of the offices I have been to have always been friendly and quite helpful.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station right on campus and call boxes dispersed around the campus in case of an emergency. There are police officers that patrol the parking lots and the campus as well. Night is probably not the best time to be alone here on campus though.

    Greek Life

    The Alpha Gamma Sigma Club is the only Greek club on campus to speak of. It's an academic club that is involved in the community and provides its members with scholarship opportunities and a community of other motivated scholars.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus, but they are small. There is minimal club activities as well. The biggest club would be the Alpha Gamma Sigma Club, which is an academic club that is very involved in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great school for students just beginning to get into the college life. It's cheep and a student plans their education path just right, they can earn their certificate and transfer in two years. This college is also great for students who are looking to get back into college after an extended period of time without education. There are also work experience programs and internships for job seekers.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a cheep school to get your general education done and out of the way before transferring to a more expensive college. But programs are being cut more and more due to budget constraints. Extra curricular classes are beginning to be cut too in order to push students out of community colleges and into universities.

    What to do for fun

    The Associated Student Body class provides events about every Thursday in the center of campus, which can include food, dance offs, cultural festivals, and pep rallies. There is also a mall not too far down the street for students who want to do a little shopping in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not very clean and the food is not healthy or cheep for college students. It would be better to walk down the street to a Taco Bell than to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Math classes can be somewhat challenging and teachers push students out of the comfort zone of high school. Some teachers are easier on their classes than other teachers who teach the same course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as soon as you can. Always go to see a counselor because they will set you up on the path that is best for the student. The transfer workshops here will also prepare you for transferring to a CSU or UC.

    In three sentences

    This is a college that really wants to push its students. High school students can come to College of the Sequoias and begin to learn what college life is like. This is also a good college to transfer from.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is around and will help if you are in need of assistance.

    Great for these types of students

    it is a diverse campus with many races and cultures

    Bang for the buck

    Do not spend at the food courts there, prices are ridiculous. There is a 7 11 down the street that will save you some money or bring a lunch from home.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and try to find something to do with a group of friends.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a Carl's Jr. Taco Bell, Jack in the Box, The Habit, and Foster's Freeze are in the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but try to find reasonable housing off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are great and others are not so good but it depends who you get and are recommended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and do not miss your deadlines for anything that is time sensitive.

    In three sentences

    It is an old and small campus. Nice community. Basically it has a mini 4-year university feel to it.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus feels safe most of the time; however, at night it can get a little scary, so travel in groups.

    Greek Life

    The closest we get to greek life on this campus is our alpha sigma gama (honors) society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs on this campus, and there's something that is sure to fit everyone's life style.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who likes to be challenged academically. As well as likes to have fun outside of the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The balcony on the second floor of the social science building is a great place to hide out and study.

    Bang for the buck

    Tution and fee's are cheaper here than what you're going to find in any other school.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the quad. ASB is always putting on something.

    Food and Dining

    Right now all we have is a Carl's Jr; however, we are working on getting rid of it and bringing healthier options on to our campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is non exsistant since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I never get bored in my classes, because I am always learning something new. The teachers have you really hit the books and study a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a semester and really explore what you want to do with your life. Grab an AA plan in your second semester and stick to it.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is a top notch community college. It has some of the most dedicated faculty. The social science department so one of the best for the central valley.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is really important and I feel safe. We have a police station in campus, I do not feel like were prisoners and always stared upon by them, I know I'm safe and they ensure of it. They are also friendly and kind.

    Bang for the buck

    I would like to stay here more, but I want to get a degree as soon as possible. This school is nice and has friendly staff. I feel like I have a voice in here and the staff would agree.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs. Do community events and services. ASB is a really active club and good in your transcripts.

    Food and Dining

    The food they serve here are good. Its not fancy but it does keep you full. There is a Carl's Jr. and a taco place. They also serve snacks and other treats.

    Dorm Life

    Well there are no dorms in this college. Its a community college. But if there was I would definitely sleep in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally I have had easy classes, only because they were introductory courses. Middle school and high school prepared me for college. In some difficult courses, there was critical thinking and other information I was not comfortable with, but I tried my best and felt like satisfied with the outcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to enjoy yourself and do your best. College should not be easy and complaining is not the answer. Have fun and try your best in college.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I was comfortable with how things occurred in this small community college. I would give it a top score because the instructors know what their talking about and smart. It has made me have a different view about life and the importance of learning.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a nurses office that offers medicine/pills in case someone gets a massive headache after a math class.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of clubs and activities. I strongly believe a student should join them. As a student you will learn and get to know people.

    What to do for fun

    Depending on how many classes you are taking.If you want sleep and good grades there is no social life. If you want sleep and a social life that will cause bad grades. If you want a social life and good grades that means no sleep.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria there that offer Carl's Jr. and Mexican food. A student can sometimes get tired of those places, but you can always go off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There's many places a person can dorm with or rent.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are limited to certain amount of times a person may take a course , if they have failed it once.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly recommend students to visit a counselor at least once a semester. Also I strongly believe students should visit the library and visit the Math and English lab for help.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias has many helpful professors that will help you when you need it. The campus is small but it's good in a way because you don't have to walk very far to get to class. There are plenty of clubs and activities to join.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun on campus but there is a gym right across the street you can attend in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining options aren't so well.

    Dorm Life

    I can't answer this becuase I haven't stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are always willing to go above and beyond to help you achieve in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit a college counselor to talk about your options and make sure you do this within the first two months that you attend, so that you know your goals and which route you are going to go. Feel free to ask anyone for help, they are always willing to help you find out information you are wanting to know about. Just have fun!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending College of the Sequoias. The teachers are always willing to help get you into the classes, if you have to crash them and they are just simply extremely helpful. It is a very enjoyable Community College to attend.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's a community college. There are though plenty of food joints around the campus that are in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, you definitely get challenged. Though if you're stumped you have availability to ask the instructor or your fellow peers.

    In three sentences

    It has a very good educational atmosphere. The teachers that I have had are all dedicated on helping me succeed in completing my goals. A good community college.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very sage at COS.

    Clubs and Activities

    Would love to join a soccer team in the future!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm a mother of two that started college but never got to finish until now. It was hard with my husband always being deployed, thank goodness we are finally settled and now I have the chance to go back to college and show my daughters commitment and dedication

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my daughters and husband and I love to play soccer and read.

    Food and Dining

    I mostly cook, but I love me some chinese!

    Dorm Life

    I have 2 daughters and a disabled veteran husband at home so I never got to experience the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    My daughters

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take a lot of notes and make yourselves 100% dedicated, because life is not easy so try to give yourselves an advantage by going to college.

    In three sentences

    I think that COS has many great advantages and a little bit of disadvantages. For starters they have a great Veteran Office on campus that helps with everything for veterans. The disadvantage is there are so many students and since the budget cuts not enough classes.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of great clubs, including Alpha Gamma Sigma-Honor society

    What to do for fun

    Be part of a club and participate in club events.

    Food and Dining

    They have a food court and a snack court. Both sell great food. Many nearby restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    As a student, I am expected to abide to the college rules and take responsibility for my actions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before choosing your classes, talk with a counselor and email instructors to make sure you are on the right track. Never be scared to ask questions, especially when it involves you prospering in your educational goals and future career life.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is a very professional, accredited community college. The counselors and instructors really care for your educational plans and will listen carefully to try to answer any concerns about your grades or class choices. I am proud to be a student here at College of the Sequoias.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join at least one of the different clubs because they plan activities where you have the chance to meet other members of the club

    Food and Dining

    it is better is you bring your own lunch because the food in here is not really good and besides it is kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    they do not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard but it is college so it is supposedly to be harder than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to know what your educational goals are. try to get along with all your instructors that is going to make easier your classes.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is affordable College of the Sequoias needs better administration College of the Sequoias is small but a nice place to start college

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem, but there are some crimes that I know have been committed on campus, smoking weed and defacement of property, without any real problems for the people involved. But at the same time, it seems like I saw campus security everyday, so at least you won't get mugged on your way to class.

    Greek Life

    I only know of one Greek club on campus and that's the honors club, Gamma Sigma Alpha. I was a part of the club, you need a GPA of 3.5 or higher to join, and we volunteered around the community. but the best part was, GSA helps you find scholarships and colleges to continue your education.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't had much interaction with clubs and the various events held on campus, but it always seems like something is going on and a more adventurous person might get a kick out all the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Basically anyone who wants to get a jump on their education without spending too much of their money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    COS might be a little community college in a little farming town but it has, albeit smaller, all the things that a bigger college would have. There's even an art gallery and events for those who are into that sort of thing.

    Bang for the buck

    Probably every college student would say that they pay more for their education than their education is worth, but I feel that with some recent price increases and a canceling of classes that COS could round out the cost with the benefits a little better.

    What to do for fun

    The Club Rush days can be pretty fun, but over all the activities are just ads for either the college (we once had a rock climbing wall to entice middle school students) or various clubs. Overall COS is about getting an education, and there isn't much to do around town either.

    Food and Dining

    There is very little prepared food provided by COS, there is packaged food for sale in student shops, and a Carl's Junior on campus; but honestly the best food available is found on Club Rush days. Some clubs sell food to entice students, and there has even been Starbucks for free when the newspaper wanted more readers.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any norms, because this is a small community college and most people live nearby. So really, it depends on where you actually live.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that while busy times can be challenging most the classes I've had have been passable if the student simply puts in the time and the effort to complete the work. I've heard tales of students needing to work two hours at home for every hour they spend in class, but I've found that that's not really the case at COS; but honestly, I'm thankful.

    Tips for prospective students

    It can be hard to get classes in the beginning, but once you get some credit hours under your belt you should be able to get into more classes. In fact, they recently changed the enrollment policy so that the higher your GPA the easier it is to get into the classes you need.

    In three sentences

    COS is a relatively small school but I feel that the quality of the education is high, for a community college. I've found that the teachers know that they're talking about, but the counseling staff could improve. That being said, the clubs and activities available and the teachers' enthusiasm makes this a good school for those that want a stepping stone to even higher education.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on the quad or the student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    It would be nice if they included a subway or other healthier food places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here but there are always apartments and such available in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have a great time learning new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work on time and try your best and you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    It is a good place to get started for college without having to spend big bucks. You can talk to counselors and get help if you need it. The teacher's are also very helpful.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to all the football and basketball games and hanging out with friends is all the fun that you can have at College of the Sequoias.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is pretty much the same as any other campus.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms at College of the Sequoias.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is in the middle. It all depends on what teacher you get and what classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first tip is to pass your class the first time you take it. If you don't pass, you will be set back another year and you do not want that.

    In three sentences

    I feel that College of the Sequoias has gone down the tubes. I feel that students at C.O.S. are having a hard time getting classes with the budget cuts and the student impact that it is not fair for those other students that are serious about their education.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of activities. They bring in UC colleges to tell you about their school. We have activities that are meant to get u involved in the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to present to the class or just love talking will love this school. They Make you present a lot. So if your shy get ready to break out of your shell like me.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my friends. The hanford campus doesn't have much around it.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria. Has vending machines and a microwave to heat up your lunch

    Dorm Life

    They have no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to be late to class. Trust me

    In three sentences

    COS is a great school to go to. They have amazing teachers who are always there to help. Going to the visalia campus would be great for you since they offer more classes. If your thinking of going GO!

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many options on and around campus. Carl's Jr., and TaCOS are restaurants right on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Since College of the Sequoias is a community college, no dorm life is provided.

    Academic Rigor

    I have enjoyed most of my classes at College of the Sequoias. However, it would have been helpful to have more classes offered so that students don't have to compete for a spot in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest for new students to get involved! With so many clubs on campus, it is easy to find one that fits for everyone. Joining the Associated Student Body is another great outlet for meeting people and staying active on campus.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias has been a great way for me to save money and still get a good education. The college provides many outlets to get involved including sports, clubs and student government. I have enjoyed my two years at College of the Sequoias!

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that are quite fun at the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one class you need to take when you come to this is Student Success. They give you all the resource you need to go threw college with all tools necessary to be an A student! One other class you should take is College Research Strategies, it is a cool course! Its helps you create correct MLA form and tells about the benefits of the library.

    In three sentences

    I rate this college at a 10! The counselors are great at helping you with your student educational plan. The instructors will go out their way to help you as much as they can. The writing lab and math labs really give you all the help you need.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. if your scared of walking in the dark and you parked far you can ask one of the campus patrols in the golf car to give you a ride. plus the school has emergence buttons just in case of an emergency

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is like 30-40min away from the sequoia mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    prices are rising for tuition everywhere but i believe its pretty affordable here at College of the Sequoias plus housing around here is also affordable. its not as expensive as other places in California.

    What to do for fun

    get involve with the college activities as well as with your classes and meet new people. Have in mind that its a small town so there's not much to do

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't great, as well as the verity of food. we don't have much to choose from except a student store that has the same things year round and a cafeteria that looks like a hospitals room, plain and boring.

    Dorm Life

    Not much of dorm life. I believe dorms are only given if your coming here for sports purpose and if you don't have anywhere to live. but the dorms are like a couple of bocks away.

    Academic Rigor

    Fallow campus rules, and the colleges requirments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to get involved with as many activities as you can. Also ask tons of questions either in class, or when trying to find accessible money for school such as scholarships. the people are here to help you succeed but its up to you to do it.

    In three sentences

    College of the Sequoias is a small community college that is accessible to everyone. The college helps the students become familiar with there strengths and weakness. In Order for the students to make better decisions for there future.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't had a problem in fearing for my safety while attending.

    Greek Life

    keeps you busy and involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs to select from.

    Great for these types of students

    laid back, go with the flow type of individual. hard worker too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the quad is where all the special events occur.

    What to do for fun

    i volunteer for a non-profit organization.

    Food and Dining

    not too shabby. tastes good and has a variety. only down turn is the cost.

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't know. i don't stay in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    absolutely love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't ever be afraid to ask a question. there is never a dumb question that is asked, the only dumb thing you can ever do is not ask a question on something you don't know the answer to.

    In three sentences

    i would have to say that the atmosphere is calming and soothing. i rather enjoy looking out and seeing the mountains. the staff that works there is very pleasing to speak with and very knowledgeable.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have a sub police station

    Bang for the buck

    the campus is much bigger than the college i had attended before but i like it. it is located in a more populated area which can be a bliss but also a burden, with traffic.

    Academic Rigor

    i am taking a chemistry class so it is quite challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early and try to get your parking permits or bus passes early. lines for fees are really big.

    In three sentences

    cos is very diverse. it also offers a wide range of classes. it has a very forest field to it.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the plays are cool. going to the mall nearby.

    Food and Dining

    only fast foods available. not on campus but in surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    not too hard but still challenging. i learned a lot, but it all depends on your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn your personal learning style. show up to class. show up early for parking.

    In three sentences

    wide range of teachers; some cool and some crazy. school is easy to get around. classes are sometimes hard to line up because of time made available.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For low-budget students, mothers, full-time workers.

    Bang for the buck

    I got accepted into a University, but unfortunately I could not afford the $45,000 a year. COS is a wonderful place to go to for students who cannot afford to go to a four year university right away!

    Will enjoy being here

    I know that I will enjoy myself here at COS! Not only do I have a lot of friends that attend the college. But I hear that the theatre and vocal teachers are phenomenal! I cannot wait to start!

    Will learn a lot

    From what my friends have told me, they truly enjoy the classes here at COS. I am a prospective student, and when I registered, COS offered a variety of classes! Which I truly appreciate. So basically anyone can apply to COS and be able to a class in their major.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working mothers, busy students.

    Tips for prospective students

    the only disadvantage is due to budget cuts a lot of there classes have been canceled and they do not offer summer school.

    Bang for the buck

    They have cheap books if you buy rented.

    Am enjoying being here

    College of sequoia is great! the teachers are even better!!! They are literally there for you and you only!If you are lost or need extra help they will offer extra help after hours.

    Am learning a lot

    This community college is great for all types of students. I am a full time student and also working full time with a 4 month old son. I'm learning something new every semester!!

  • 11/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can choose to change there life for the better. COS isn't just for a certain type of student. Its for the person within someone to finally say i want to create a better understanding of this concept or of that interest of mine. This college offers many areas of study and with hard work and perseverance anyone can choose to attend and become a student to gather a certificate of completion or degree of some sort.

    Tips for prospective students

    It really isn't a horrible thing staying back a few more years and attending a community college in the town you live in to help either your parents who are supporting you or just to help yourself. You aren't a failure by not running off to a four year college. Trust me that was my dream, to get out of town and experience something new and exciting, meet new people, get involved within that new atmosphere, that new community. COS is the right choice to save money and further yourself in education. You might still see familiar faces but trust me you will meet a hand full of new people as well! COS is a great place in taking that next step into a new chapter of your life...COLLEGE!! The transition is easier and the instructors insist that you thrive and continue your studies after your two or three years of hard work is reaching its end with them. College is really what you make it no matter where you attend. Community college or a four year. For me standing on my own two feet and growing as a student and a person started off at COS and there isn't a doubt in my mind prospective students wouldn't feel the same.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial outlook on this school is very economical. Starting off at COS has been an advantage for me because not only am i getting the same education i would be getting at a four year college starting off, I am saving money in the mean time for my future as well. Its a win win scenario in my point of view. I am getting an education as well as providing for myself which allows me to gather a sense of financial stability. I knew from the start i didn't want to jump into something that i wouldn't be able to afford or pay back. Not following my dreams was out of the question and going to college was apart of that dream, so COS is really starting me off on the correct path to my future and accomplishing the goals i have set for myself.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is relaxing and the atmosphere of the college is very easy going. People are friendly and the faculty and resources amongst the school are very helpful as long as you aren't afraid to ask questions. Scheduling an appointment with the counselors gets a little frustrating but they do the best they can and just ask for your patience in the mean time. They get to you as soon as possible, you just might have to wait a few days.

    Am learning a lot

    Due to not being a terribly large college the classes at COS are relatively moderate and allow easy communication and one on one time with the instructors. Not only do they appreciate you taking their course but they admire the fact that you aren't afraid to ask questions and be curious along with persistent integrity. My instructors are easy to talk to and are very open to answering and helping me further myself in my field of interest any way they can.

  • 07/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't have a lot of money to work with to earn a degree, people going back to school who need flexible classes, students who want a small, intimate environment we're teachers know your name, and finally students in the Central Valley who want to earn a degree but want to stay home for a year or two and then transfer, like me.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is where COS is a winner. For $20 a unit, you can't beat the price of an education that is equal to any education for the first two years of a 4 year university.

    Am enjoying being here

    Despite the good classes, theres really not too much to do here at COS. The library is excellent resource here, but aside from the occasional food fair and the mediocre sports venues, theres really not too much to do at COS. It is a Community college though, so it's not like you can expect a 5-star Recreation center. The center of COs is a great place to hang out with friends while waiting for class, there is plenty of green grass and oak trees that provide plenty of shade during the hot days.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a Great Community College, Some of the Best Teachers I've had is Mr. Ziessler in the Music Department, a great teacher who has given me a love for piano, and Mr. Howell for Geography, who far and way was the best class I've had so far in college. There are some inept teachers but definitely more good than bad at COS