Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Crafton Hills College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/14/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's pretty much always a campus security car nearby. never had any issues with campus police and always felt secure on campus, regardless of time of day.

    Clubs and Activities

    crafton offers an unusual amount of clubs and activities for a community college, with a large number of students engaged in them.

    Great for these types of students

    both students fresh out of high school just entering college and returning students of all ages. the students of crafton are extremely diverse and you are sure to find your niche.

    Bang for the buck

    crafton is excellent in this regard. they're a great starter school before transferring to a four-year institution and they do everything they can to make sure and guide you in the right direction. most of the instructors go out of their way to prepare you for university-level work.

    What to do for fun

    crafton is very active for a community college and has a ton of clubs and societies you can join to stay active around campus. there are frequent campus events including free zumba classes and a variety of performances. the surrounding cities also offer a wide range of activities.

    Food and Dining

    one of the newest additions to campus is the queen bean, a little cafe with great sandwiches, salads, and coffee. there are regular food trucks and events with food booths in the quad that offer a change of pace. otherwise, a wide variety of food is available along the main road in yucaipa about 5 minutes from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are fairly straightforward, never had anything too difficult but it was still a quality education for anyone who wanted to make it into one. for those seeking out more of a challenge and a bit more prestige, i recommend joining the honors institute on campus. this will allow you to take honors courses, which tend to be a little more demanding and will go on your transcripts.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure you set up your educational plan with a counselor as soon as you are accepted and so long as you follow it, you'll be out in two years. arrive at least 20 minutes early for classes monday-thursday in order to find parking (the very top or very bottom of campus tend to have the easiest parking). don't hesitate to apply for the on-campus scholarships, often times they don't have enough applicants.

    In three sentences

    nice campus with a lot of new buildings this year, but be prepared for a ton of stairs and difficulty parking. student body is very diverse, with a sense of community if you choose to seek it out. excellent faculty and no trouble getting into the required classes.

  • 03/04/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to transfer. Students wanting to save money opposed to going straight to a university Students wanting to receive teacher credential

    Food and Dining

    CHC now has a mini restaurant with a whole new cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    At the college level classes the classes are intended to be difficult just like at a UC or CSU the only difference is for the most part the instructors are more than willing to work with you and around your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as possible and take it serious regardless of it being a community college the quicker you get in the quicker you can transfer out

    In three sentences

    Very beautiful campus, teachers are very pleasant to be around. Administration on the other hand do not care about the student nor will they listen to what they have to say.

  • 12/17/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Crafton Hills College campus security does an exceptional job of keeping students and faculty safe. The security/police station is located in the middle of campus and the officers are super friendly and easy to talk to about any concerns or complaints that may arise.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of areas to hike, run, and enjoy the outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    I personally have not tried the food at Crafton, but I hear that it is exceptional. Apart from Roadrunner Cafe, there are a few local/ mom and pop restaurants around the area, along with Baker's, Subway, and Cuca's.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those of you who are thinking about attending Crafton, don't think too hard! just remember to buy a parking pass, arrive to class on time, and don't be afraid to ask your professors questions. For the most part, all of the professors that I have would go into detail and help me until I could figure out the problem on my own.

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills College is a great school for any type of student, whether that is old, young, undecided on a major, or you are a student who has their life all mapped out. The teachers and staff are more than enthused to help any student, and are especially happy to help students like myself transfer to a higher institution. Another plus is that Crafton is a relatively affordable community college, located in the heart of Yucaipa, CA!

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security and campus police driving around at all times. This school is very safe compared to other local community colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to choose from. There's club rush every fall semester.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a great school to get a good education. They not only have majors that are transferable to university, but also Fire Academy and Nursing Programs. It isn't difficult to get financial aid which makes going to school easier and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join. Plenty of events that happen throughout the year like plays, music, college hour. In-N-Out comes to campus every once in a while.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty nice. The food isn't bad, and it's fairly cheap.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers here try to make their classes as easy as possible because they really want everyone to pass. They have office hours so if you don't understand something, they will be there for you one-on-one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to financial aid to see if you qualify for it; even if you think you might not, you still could. Take all your general education classes first, because once you get high enough priority registration you will be able to get into your major classes with little to no problem. Make sure to check ratemyprofessor.com for each teacher you're thinking about taking; it really helps.

    In three sentences

    This school has a lot of different types of classes to take, and many different degrees. The classes are fairly easy and interesting. It is a very safe and beautiful school.

  • 02/06/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus police station that is open during the day. The campus is patrolled by security 24/7. If you have any problem whether it be safety, personal, to car trouble the security and police officers are happy to help.

    Greek Life

    We have a Greek club but i do not know much about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Crafton has many clubs of all varieties. The members of the clubs are very welcoming and helpful. We are currently in the process of creating a golf team, creating more time for the pool to be open and for students to be able to swim outside of a class or the aquatic club practice time. There is also hiking trails that are accessible from campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Crafton has a variety of students and, welcomes all who want to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Im not sure if we have any unusual traditions but an interesting fact about Crafton Hills is that we have an Olympic pool that was donated to the school.

    Bang for the buck

    At crafton i think students get their band for their buck. We have great professors, a beautiful safe campus and, helpful administration. Professors understand and are aware of the students budgets and try to pick the best and affordable books and supplies. Most of them request a book to be in the library for students who can not afford one. We also have a wonderful financial aid staff who help students with getting government financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    while on campus I like to take advantage of our Olympic sized pool and art studios. Plenty of students like to hike in the trails. Off campus the students usually go to Redlands (a few miles away) to go to the movies, affordable restaurant and bars, shopping and market night.

    Food and Dining

    On campus we have a reasonable sized cafeteria that makes sandwiches, fruit bowls and, soups. They carry other packaged goods for students to purchase. The campus bookstore also carries a small supply of food. Off campus many of the students travel a few miles to Redlands where there are many places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Crafton hills does not have dorms, but the commute is very reasonable for most students.

    Academic Rigor

    For those who are looking for a higher academic challenge Crafton offers an honors program. Students must complete 15 courses out of the honors course list. The student is usually in the regular class but are required to do a little more work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus and talk to as many people as you can before you decide this is the school for you. Crafton offers a lot to its students but, make sure it offers the things your need for it to be your school.

    In three sentences

    Crafton offers a lot to its students; great professors, a beautiful safe campus and, helpful administration.

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to join and fun physical activity classes.

    Food and Dining

    There's a small cafeteria, and I would not recommend it because of the price.

    Academic Rigor

    There are plenty of helpful instructors especially in the science department

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the small town feel, this is great! There are a lot of great opportunities and programs here.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus with great student services if you seek for it. They are glad to help you in any way that they can. I enjoy going here because of friendly and encouraging people.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security/police are almost constantly patrolling the parking lots and streets.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities, though some Greek clubs are on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is such a wide array of clubs available for everyone; if not, anyone/everyone is welcomed to create one!

    Great for these types of students

    Low-income students. Not sure of what degree/major to pursue.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parade thrown for incoming students. College and job fairs are held every semester.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is currently being developed/updated w/ state of the facilities and technology.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of clubs and opportunities are available for membership.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers vegetarian options, which is nice. Snacks and drinks can be found at the book store as well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, as this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student pursuing the sciences, the classes prepare you for upper-undergraduate coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know which classes you plan on registering for prior to your registration date.

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills is a great community college. The teacher-to-student ratio is pretty low, allowing for a more personable experience. This school is perfect for transitioning to a four-year institute.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never tried it but I have heard it was great.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check it out. I guarantee you will stay.

    In three sentences

    So much more friendly and a lot easier to find someone to actually help you. I have received more help on the first day then I received the past 2 years at the other college.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus security and feel safe anytime of day. Including my late night classes that release at 10pm.

    Great for these types of students

    Willing wanting and enthusiastic about learning. Also those tired of enrolling at overcrowded and dirty campuses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The stairs located centrally in the middle of campus, just below the LADM building are spectacular for watching those gorgeous sunsets.

    Bang for the buck

    All anatomy classes are interesting, fun and extremely informative. Even if they are required classes, you may find yourself engaging in extra work and extra curricular activities because you may find yourself enjoying them much more than anticipated.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends and form study groups. Plus there is a wonderful view of the city from all around the campus edges; pick a spot and enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking and watching the beautiful sunsets.

    Food and Dining

    Student store and cafeteria operate during appropriate hours and are stocked with goodies.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on or near campus in any form of student housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Both T. Johnsen and Trong are exciting and wonderful Anatomy instructors. Arrive early to class for centrally located and proximal parking space to your desired class and come prepared to learn.

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills is tremendously efficient. The campus is large, clean and never seemingly over populated. The staff and faculty are helpful, knowledgeable and respected.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are both friendly and diligent. They are always around if you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dance club. Awesome

    Great for these types of students

    Students who may have not done exceptionally well in high school will now have an opportunity to make something new of themselves and to take control of their academic career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Theatre is amazing. It is underground and takes some getting used to, as it is often dark and creepy, but it is a wonderful place to see some very interesting and beautiful productions.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College in California provides a quality education without breaking your back to try and afford it. I believe that anyone who wants to get a taste of college level courses, to get their general education out of the way, and to make something more of themselves could greatly benefit from this school. Also, they have some wonderful vocational training, and no better Fire Academy exists.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus of varying different focuses. The campus also has a great gym for exercise, and large enough open spaces for a frisbee to be thrown around with great vigor. Nearby is Yucaipa and Redlands, with a myriad of restaurants and bars to entertain yourself at night, and many culturally stimulating events, such as the Redlands Shakespeare Festival.

    Food and Dining

    The one bad thing is the food. The cafeteria is wanting in a terrible way. No healthy options, and nothing I would call real food. If you love junk food, you will be right at home.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms. : (

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor that I have had was simultaneously professional, and caring. There are many extraordinary examples of professors on this campus. They have each made and effort to personally help me. Now with their help I have turned my academic career into a focused and honed process. I feel very ready to go on to a 4 year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good walking shoes Bring a water bottle Get into the Counseling and Financial Aid early! Use the Tutoring Center (They are Great!) Make use of our new regulation sized Aquatics Center Look for good professors on RateMyProfessor

    In three sentences

    Crafton has an amazing campus that is built into the rolling hillsides of the Crafton Hills in Yucaipa California. It is a large campus, with much fewer students than Valley College in nearby San Bernardino. The Fire Academy is world renowned, and the other programs are extremely well put together.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great community college

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is quite high, you can go there and not have to worry about anything. The school is out of the way of normal roads so you don't have loiterers or other strangers walking around/in front of the school. Additionally, security also makes their rounds in little carts. Aside from that there seems to be some sort of police station right next to the campus (I'm not sure if it's campus security but there are legit police cars there) so that's something to feel pretty safe about.

    Great for these types of students

    Crafton seems to have a very good program for firefighters and health related programs (respiratory therapy). Everyone always speaks very highly of the fire program.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty affordable, especially if you get financial aid. Without financial aid two 3 unit classes are around 300 dollars. I believe currently their tuition price is 36 or so dollars per unit (it used to be in the low 20s when I started going here). Books are extremely expensive in the bookstore, I would not recommend buying anything from there unless you can't find it anywhere else.

    Food and Dining

    Not very good choices in the cafeteria. Simple triangle sandwhiches with lettuce, tiny bit of cheese, tomato, and stuff like tuna or pastey chicken can range from 3-4 dollars. Larger sandwhiches with more things in them can go from 4-5 dollars. Everything is very pricey in my opinion, it feels like a rip off. They do make fresh soups for a MUCH more reasonable price (2-3 dollars for a small bowl) and they taste pretty good. These soups are the only thing I can really recommend aside from drinks, chips, and most things you'd normally find. The frozen and refrigerated food isn't worth it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the computer teachers are very laid back and casual. They understand students have lives outside of school and will be fairly lenient with due dates and makeup work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to master anything if you're going here for the computer courses. Most of them are all very basic and general knowledge of the program, even some of the more advanced classes. Treat everything as an intro course and look into it further on your own time or find a college that teaches some more advanced courses.

    In three sentences

    The campus is pretty clean and well maintained. Students and teachers are all generally very nice and helpful. Financial Aid can be a nightmare due to the fact that only 1-2 students are allowed to go in at a time so expect to wait quite a while. That's one of the only negative things I can say about it. The student store isn't very good but it's not too bad either, pricey.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends in the cafeteria, playing guitar are what I do for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you know what major you are interested in. Also, if you have to take English and Math classes, do not wait until next semester until you register for these classes. Register right away so you don't stay an extra semester or extra years in the college.

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills College is very diverse. It is a great school. The counselors definitely help you out with your Education Plan.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe campus with friendly people and the campus police are very helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to do on campus, do not be that person who goes to class and leaves.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not ready to leave home, who can not afford a four year college, return students, ANYONE

    Bang for the buck

    way cheaper than 4 year universities

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and get involved

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent, the food is all pre-packaged

    Dorm Life

    Community College, no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I've had classes that are more easy than high school classes and classes that pushed me to my limits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the assessment test seriously, depending on how you do on that test is how long you will stay there.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to save money and a great alternative option than going straight to a four year. Best community college around.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are completely unnecessary. Nothing bad ever happens, and it seems like when they get bored, they search for students to hand out tickets to.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    2 Stars may be a bias rating because I did not do anything at this school, but some teachers host subject-specific clubs and there are other things like Student Senate that you can be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students still needed to mature out of high school, students that need to work, and older students looking to go back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a few options to work on campus such as the bookstore, cafe, and tutoring center.

    What to do for fun

    There is not really anything to do for fun here. However, I did notice a select group of students that played Xbox there on what seemed like a daily basis.

    Food and Dining

    The Roadrunner Cafe is a good place to spend free time in between classes. The selection of items is pretty good and only a few items are overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    3-stars in a decent rating for Crafton Hills College. Some classes are difficult, while others are a complete joke. Take General Ed classes in something you enjoy, or else you will become miserable quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to struggle registering for classes at first. Really pay attention, and make good use of Ratemyprofessor.com as it has relatively accurate descriptions of most professors. Get a parking permit for the whole semester, or the $2 a day will hurt big time.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Crafton Hills College is a good junior college. Most classes are slow and boring, but there are the select few professors that enjoy their subject and it shows. The faculty, for the most part, is nice enough to converse with and the campus is actually relatively nice looking.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security and trouble is rare

    Clubs and Activities

    Philospohy, art, math, lots of clubs and club activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to expand their knoweledge and have fun doing it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love all of the quad activities. Declair your major day, and club rush are great activities.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, network with other students, run for student council!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be orginized, show up on time and do the work. Its worth it!

    In three sentences

    Great Professors! Beautiful Campus! Reasonable workload!

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Wide range of clubs for all students. There is a wonderful health and science club for the students going into the medical field. These clubs are very productive and motivate you towards for career.

    What to do for fun

    Theres great areas around campus that have a view of the whole town and you can sit with friends and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria and wide range of foods offered.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    student to faculty ratios are great

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school that is located in a small town but has a wide range of students from different cities. The students are very nice and the teachers are always putting in the extra effort to help students who need it.

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills College is a wonderful and inviting school. It offers a lot of classes and great opportunities for the small town that it is located. Also, very good professors that are the for one on one student help if needed.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's Yucaipa, so not much. Go to Redlands for a movie, or get some food in town.

    Food and Dining

    I've never bought the food

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to the school at least 30 minutes early to ensure parking. Take what you can online

    In three sentences

    Very few classes. Lots of walking up hills and stairs. Hard to find parking.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have personality never had anything happen to me.

    Bang for the buck

    Take advantage of a cheaper education.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate here because I live close by. Around the school there are a lot of food places.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you need before wasting your time. Talk to your teachers and get to know them. Do not waste your money if you plan to not succeed.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Crafton Hills provides education that is great to transfer with. I wish that the Transfer Center could be 100% guaranteed on information given. The majority of the teachers seem to know what they are doing.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The grill located in the Roadrunner Cafe was awesome. They just recently took out the grill but still offer some really good pre-made wraps such as chicken caesar, veggie, and turkey.

    Dorm Life

    There is not any dorms available on campus because it is a community college but there are inexpensive apartment homes in the local area.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had an outstanding experience at Crafton Hills in the Academic area. The professors are very helpful and want you to succeed. You may run into a few professors that are not very good but that is something to expect from any college.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Join AGS!

    Clubs and Activities

    Improving! Join to make your college experience the best!

    Great for these types of students

    HS new comers.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices to take classes are going up!

    What to do for fun

    Take speech 100 with Jimmy Urbanovich!

    Dorm Life

    There is none

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to ratemyprofessor.com to check which professors are best.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers and environment though parking and food is one of the worst.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is school police, but I don't ever feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    This stays in the English department. I hate English.

    Clubs and Activities

    People in clubs seem to love it, I'm not in any clubs but if your into them, you wont be disappointed.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who wasn't that high school cool guy that was the biggest jock. AKA, it's great for chill people of all kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My school is on the top of a hill, so past the p.e. area are many trails that people love to go on. I walked on a trail for about an hour or so into the mountains with some friends and it was very beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are getting very expensive. I think it is because of our governor, but it's ridiculous.

    What to do for fun

    There is tennis courts, a swimming pool i have never seen, a golf course, and a library. But me personally, I like to take my skateboard and do little tricks here and there on the way to class, even if it's not allowed.

    Food and Dining

    The food is WAY to expensive. Lower the prices and help out your students succeed in life!!

    Dorm Life

    I don't know if there even is a dorm, but i live 10 minutes away so i wouldn't need to know.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very smart and the class curriculum are very logical.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go to school everyday and do your all your homework and you will be alright!

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills College is a beautiful school with many beautiful people. There are plenty of great and fun professors, but it has it's fair share in the professors that shouldn't even be teaching. Also, the school itself is growing everyday in terms of classes, buildings, and thoughts, so it's pretty cool to see that.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They place you in the correct classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money by going to Crafton!

    In three sentences

    Great college to get your GE's done. Beautiful campus. Staff are very helpful and want what is best for you.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crafton Hills College has a police office on campus. The police men drive around the campus all day long to keep the students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many!!! Alpha Gamma Sigma, Anime/Manga Club, Art Club, Badminton Club, Beta II (Respiratory Care), Biology Club, Child Development and Education Club (CDE), Green Team, Health Science Club, M.E.Ch.A., PBL - Phi Beta Lambda (The National Business Organization), Pride Club, Research Club (for Western Psych. Conf.), Spanish Club, Swim Club, The Psychology Club, TIC (Terrestrial Investigation Club)

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student... for all ages: young and old! :)

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, with great staff, students and curriculum!

    What to do for fun

    Crafton Hills College has quite a few clubs, and these clubs put on fundraisers all the time. The clubs play music, offer food, entertainment and fun!

    Food and Dining

    Crafton Hills College has a cafeteria/kitchen full of goodies. During the day they offer food off the grill, and when the grill is closed you can purchase snacks, sandwiches and drinks from the snack bar. After the kitchen is closed (including the snack bar), Crafton leaves the doors to the cafeteria open throughout the day for a place for students to go and study or relax, which is full of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed in a dorm on college campus; Crafton doesn't have dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Crafton Hills College gives students a curriculum that will prepare them to succeed in college and/or the world of work; it is appropriately challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you attend Crafton Hills College, expect extremely thorough college classes. Therefore, do not ignore or neglect any homework or projects, because each class effects your GPA and your GPA is extremely important!

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills College is a quiet environment with a calm and lovely atmosphere, producing a quality learning environment. Crafton is completely affordable; students are able to take classes here and transfer them to a four-year university. Crafton also has small classes, which enhances the learning process for each individual student.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good Campus safety security is always around.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    great clubs i am vice president in Health Science Club, which promotes health related fields around campus, some including nursing, EMT, Respiratory, and Radiology.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None .

    Bang for the buck

    Most classes were affordable since i get bog waiver. so i Have to give it a good rating, thought the only negative is book pricing but anyone can get cheaper books online. .

    What to do for fun

    nice area can just chill around anywhere. .

    Food and Dining

    The food around area is great.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part i put a lot of work in all my assignments and that shows in my grades the professor that help make my rating low since they were so helpful that for me it didnt seem that difficult to understand

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on tasked. plan your schedule well, ask professors questions most are willing to assit students in understanding new concepts.

    In three sentences

    Crafton Hills is a great starting point in students educational aspirations. The Professors at the school are great and have taught me a great deal. The Knowledge and experience i have taken from this school will help me later in life.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at Crafton because campus police is always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that staff and students advertise to other students to get them involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Crafton is great for out-doorsie students who who enjoy being out and surrounded by nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not ave any unusual tradition or locations that I have experienced at Crafton.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition right know at all community colleges is ridiculous thanks to the government but financial aid staff helps students with information to financial resources.

    What to do for fun

    At crafton there are a lot of things to do whether it is joining a club or sport. Campus is full of student life.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria could use a remold but other than that its a nice place to hang out and their coffee is the best.

    Dorm Life

    Crafton does not have dorms for students becasue its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Crafton is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all campus resource do not be intimidated all staff are friendly and are more than welcomed to help.

    In three sentences

    Crafton hills college is a beautiful college to attend its location on top of hills surrounded by trees makes the feeling of college a serenity. All Crafton staff are helpful. Students are friendly and give new students warm welcome.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    student appreciation day

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is pricey just like all the food there.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    after the first day it all gets easier.

    In three sentences

    very nice scenery. students very involved. staff is very helpful.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security can be called out to escort you to your car, should you feel the need.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are over 15 clubs on the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    many people don't know this, but there is a small pond on the campus.

    What to do for fun

    clubs galore.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    there is an honors program available for students who want to push themselves. this allows students to present research data to honors conferences thought the united states.

    Tips for prospective students

    be a part of the campus! join some clubs, sit in on a student senate meeting, talk with the faculty!

    In three sentences

    crafton hills college is full of opportunities, if you know where to look. there are outlets for leaders, academics, and friendship throughout the school. the professors are usually open to talking to you one-on-one about any subject matter that might be confusing you.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is pretty strict. students who drive to school make sure you have a parking permit for the semester which is really cheap because if you do not have it by a specific time, the police will write you a ticket for $50

    Clubs and Activities

    very nice selection of clubs and activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes you pay for are always worth your money. make sure you check out rateyourprofessor.com before choosing classes to see if your teachers are really good.

    What to do for fun

    crafton hills has some clubs on campus. i will be joining a business club next semester when i am taking my business classes so i can adjust to my field.

    Food and Dining

    the food at school is not the best but it is alright in the long run. i would recommend going to bakers or subway which is about 3 minutes outside of campus to go eat.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus. but if there were i would definitely live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    crafton hills is known for its respiratory care program over the years.

    Tips for prospective students

    to future students attending or planning to attend crafton hills college, make sure you score high on your math and placement tests to get the courses you actually need.

    In three sentences

    crafton hills is a very good community college to go to. also it has the classes and programs i need to become successful in my future. the staff and instructors are pretty good at their jobs.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Crafton is great for all types of students. It is for those who need to go to school just during the night, like some of my friends. It is set up for those who are looking for a cheaper alternative for general education, like me. It has a broad range of courses offered for any intended major. All that you are looking for in your general education is offered at Crafton and I couldn't think of a better community college to go to. However, if you plan on playing sports for school, you should look at Craftons sister school, Valley.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to attend Crafton, I could suggest a few things. I would suggest going and seeing your instructor regularly and get to know them. They will generally help you with any homework, projects, or even help you study for the test. The professors generally reward those who go and see them in their offices. Make sure you study for each test, don't try and go in there thinking that all you need is a C or better and you will be fine. Get the best grade that you are capable of getting, this will help you so much more in the future. Make sure you go in and see a counselor. They will help you choose the best classes that you will need for your career. Be sure and get the most sciences that you need for your degree because they will be a lot less expensive and the professors will have more time to personally help you with any questions that you may have.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't even imagine who could complain about the price of Crafton Hills College. I have had to pay for it all by myself (tuition, books, student fees, etc.) and it hasn't burned a hole in my pocket. I have done 2 years of studying spending less than $2,000 and getting an education that is recognized at many many universities. If I could do it all over again, I would go to Crafton from the get-go, right after high school like I did and pay exactly what I did. In this aspect I have no regrets.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed my stay here at Crafton mostly because of the professors that I have had. Most of the lectures are not ones that are boring and will put you to sleep. The professors that I have had are involved with their students and will always try to keep the attention of their students to help them enjoy their time in the class. The periodic joke has always helped me stay focused and enjoy the class enough to take in the information being displayed.

    Am learning a lot

    During my stay at Crafton Hills College, I have learned a great deal. Crafton has helped me become the student that I need to be in order to succeed at a 4-year University. The professors are willing to talk and work with each individual student in order to help them succeed as well. Generally the curiculum is well organized in that it builds upon what was previously learned so that it is easy to stay on track and learn all that you can in each class.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Crafton is great for people that have not attended school in a while because this school has a lot of introductory classes. For instance, they have beginner's algebra, reading classes, grammar classes, and so forth. Therefore, people who have forgotten basic math or writing will get the chance to learn it once again before going in to college level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to learn a lot here. The classes are just as challenging as those at a university so they will require time and effort. Nevertheless, if those two aspects are put in it is easy to earn a good grade. The one thing that I tell a lot of new students is that the teachers what us to succeed so they will work just as hard as the student to help them get a good grade.

    Bang for the buck

    The best thing about Crafton is the affordable price. Being an international student, I cannot afford to go to a four years university at this point. However, at Crafton I only pay about $200 dollars a unit. This might seem a big difference from what a US citizen would pay, which is $36 a unit, but it is a lot less that any other school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never been to a four year university so I cannot say how social life works there. However, I have made a lot of friends at Crafton. People that come here are of all ages and from all walks of life, so going to Crafton has taught me to have an open mind.

    Am learning a lot

    Although Crafton is a community college, the teachers are just as qualified as those at a four year university. Most of the professors have a PhD. They take time to present their lectures and have thorough reviews before any test, especially the science professors. Due to the fact that the classes are small, students get the opportunity to receive individual attention either during class or after class has ended. Questions are always welcome during class time and the professors with gladly take time to answer them. In several courses students also have the chance to have class discussions and everyone gets a chance to have their opinion heard.

  • 01/01/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students with children, freshman who plan on transferring to a four year, those who want an AA, people who want a refresher course, and those going back to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do the homework and always come to class on time. You never know when a professor will have a quiz at the beginning of class and you won't be able to make it up. Missing a quiz or test or not turning in homework can cripple your grade greatly. If you need help, go to the Learning Center or go to your professor's office hours. This will help you immensely if you are struggling.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for this school is very low compared to other schools, even to other community colleges. I paid more for my books than my tuition. Going to this school is totally worth the money compared to what you will be paying if you decide to transfer to a four year school.

    Did enjoy being here

    Just about everyone on campus is friendly and just about everyone there is there because they want to be, not because they have to. This makes it more enjoyable. People are there to learn and not to waste their money. There are designated smoking areas which is very nice for the non smokers. Even though the campus is very open, there is a sense of security. The professors aren't just there to profess, they are there to teach and help the students learn which is greatly appreciated.

    Did learn a lot

    The courses were easy to pass if you did the homework and went to class. The professors are knowledgable in their fields and helpful when asked to assist in understanding. Sometimes the teachers did not stick to the curriculum and so not all the material was taught. Because it is only a community college, it was like being in a regular class in high school compared to the AP classes. The classes are a lot smaller than those at other colleges which makes is easier to have discussions and to have one on one time with the professors.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. I don't see any type of students that would be singled out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go hard. If you slack and get a 2.0 GPA it will be really hard for you to get into the more prestigious colleges. Especially now, since times are hard with the economy, schools are cutting back on accepting new transfers, so you really need to set the bar high on what separates you from other perspective transfer students.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is a great bang for the buck if you don't know what major your interested in, or you don't want to spend $$$ on a general education.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus is small, yet still expanding, the clubs and organizations on campus are enjoyable to be a part of and the student body is diverse and helpful to new students.

    Did learn a lot

    The amount of effort you put into the classes is what you'll get out. Most professors have teaching techniques that will give students the best chance to be successful in the given course.

  • 07/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In general, Crafton is a great place for people of all ages and situations to attend school. Students who like to get the most out of their dollar fit perfectly here. Older students who are continuing their educations, or are just starting, are great here as well. Plus, unlike big universities, students can attend classes and go home for lunch!

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come here, expect rigorous college classes. Do not blow off homework or projects; this type of behavior is a recipe for disaster and will surely result in an F. If you find yourself in a remedial class, do not blow it off and forget about homework. Without this class, you cannot continue to college-level courses necessary for graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    To put it simply, Crafton is CHEAP. Not only is it completely affordable (and with financial aid virtually free), but you can take classes here that will transfer to four-year universities for a fraction of the cost! And no, you are not sacrificing quality. Remember that all colleges, even fancy private universities, have bad teachers. Most teachers here are professional and caring.

    Am enjoying being here

    Crafton Hills college is a quiet environment with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. There is virtually no crime. Many activities are in the quad, including Earth Day and cultural celebrations. The students here are generally relaxed, creating a calming atmosphere for learning.

    Am learning a lot

    This college has small classes -- no more than 30 -- which allows individualized attention. Small class sizes enable students to ask questions; questions greatly enhance the learning process. A non-intimidating environment aids in a student's learning. Great services including the Learning Center - a free tutoring service for students - which greatly helps students who need a little extra help.