Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Flathead Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/10/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Each student has to complete an online informational activity about drinking and campus safety.

    Greek Life

    No sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities weekly including basketball, volleyball, and bowling that students can be a part of. There is also Phi Theta Kappa honor society and several study abroad opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to focus mostly on studying and who don't place high importance on social and sporting events. There are available activities, but we don't really have sports teams or social events too often.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Logger Sports are pretty unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    FVCC is very affordable. The highest tuition I personally had was $2,980 and most of it was covered by scholarships I received from FVCC.

    What to do for fun

    Logger sports are a big thing here. I think you race to cut trees down with chainsaws and crazy things like that.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten in the cafeteria a few times, but it is very good. Food is prepared by the culinary arts students. They have a wide variety of options weekly with a daily special. Salad is always an option.

    Dorm Life

    FVCC doesn't really have dorms. They have off-campus student housing that is more like an apartment you share with a roommate. Each person pays $325 per month which includes the rent, utilities, cable, and internet. FVCC is also in the process of creating more housing options.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are available. Some are very difficult, but profesors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work really hard on the scholarship brochure and write a good essay. The scholarships offered could cover your entire tuition.

    In three sentences

    FVCC is a great school with professors who are willing to help and a great focus on academics over everything. Many scholarships are available and it is possible to have all of your tuition nearly paid for. Many activities and clubs are available and the college is right next to Walmart, close to many fast food places and restaurants, and only an hour or so away from Glacier National Park and a ski resort.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good caferia

    Dorm Life

    no dorms live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding

    In three sentences

    Oustanding Teachers. Low pressure environment. Great education for low price!

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I had my car window smashed in, as my car was locked, and a purse stolen. There was nothing the college could do as they have no security cameras. Therefore I lost my purse and had to pay for a new window.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much to do.

    Bang for the buck

    You waste time and money on math classes.

    What to do for fun

    So far the only thing is intramural sports but not everybody likes sports so the fun activities are very limited.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    It's fairly easy however it's extremely hard to get placed in a math class for your current level. Most students are forced to waste their time and money on math classes that are way to easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless you want a small school with no social activities, you should really aim for attending another school.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non

    Clubs and Activities

    logger sports intramural's and other activity's

    Great for these types of students

    great for older students and vets

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have a logger sports team.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are the cheapest in the state.

    What to do for fun

    I go hunt fish and go to Missoula

    Food and Dining

    the food is good when its open

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    its not bad

    Tips for prospective students

    just pay attention in class and give it a good effort

    In three sentences

    it is a good place to go the school. the prices for school are cheaper than any of the other colleges. and the teachers really help you learn the material.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had the slightest problem or even heard of one.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    I took college classes during my senior year in high school through Running Start at FVCC and saved a lot of money. Overall, the school is really affordable and their are lots of scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    The Flathead Valley is a great place to live if you like the outdoors. There are plenty of opportunities to hike, ski, spend time at the lake, fish, hunt, explore Glacier International Park, experience live theater, and SO MUCH more. FVCC makes a real effort to expose students to the Flathead Valley at an affordable price through student activities and intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students cook in the cafeteria, and the food is INCREDIBLE. I love their curly fries and philly cheesesteak panini.

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Typical community college, where you get a well rounded introduction to a variety of subjects, but nothing extremely rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand the school's financial aid and scholarship opportunities- there are a lot, and if you don't stay on top of it you'll pay more than you could have.

    In three sentences

    FVCC is a great place to work on an associate's degree or a technical degree. They are expanding and growing academically, and have just finished the nursing building. The community is really great.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. Old or young.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals!!! All sports!!

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria. Great selection and plenty of room!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is so nice, it explains themselves. Use the writing and math labs!

    In three sentences

    For FVCC being my first college, three years out of high school, I would have to say that i feel like i went to the right place. Instructors were and are knowledgeable in the studies, staff works well with students, and the campus is easy and nice. I would recommend FVCC to any college interested people, young or old.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is highly safe. There are cameras around the parking lot, there are faculty members who care a lot about their students. For example, I am in a late night class on Wednesdays and my professor said he would walk any of us to our vehicles if we wanted him to, to ensure we made it safely to our cars!

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek Life club for both male and females. I have not participated in this activity because I am too busy with high school, but I have heard great things about this organization because the Greek Life students do so much community service and help around our small town of Kalispell.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an endless supply of clubs and activities and the awesome part about FVCC is how easy it is to start a club. Each hallway at FVC has a bulletin board for all students to pin whatever they want up on the board. This way, any student can see what kind of clubs are available, jobs, and or activities going on for the weekends.

    Great for these types of students

    Any art student should attend FVCC. FVCC is a amazingly located right by the mountains and so many students find their inner self through nature and art while attending FVCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is surrounding by student's artwork and ideas. Each building has some sort of story to it. The unusual traditions are for freshmen, each instructor breaks the ice for incoming freshmen so everyone can get a chance to welcome them and help them throughout the school.

    Bang for the buck

    FVCC is the way to go to save money. The classes are cheap, the books and materials are cheap, and even the tuition was at a great price. FVCC also has a Running Start Program for high school students to earn college credits for only half the price!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do regarding the campus life. FVCC puts out an annual newspaper with events for all students at FVCC, such as bowling, basketball, laser tag, ect. FVCC is a wildly fun place to meet new people and be a part of something bigger.

    Food and Dining

    FVCC's food astonishing. Everything is homemade and warm. They call the dining area The Eagle's Nest. Students frequently eat between classes or hang out with friends in here. I have never had a bad experience from the food at FVCC.

    Dorm Life

    For starters, FVCC does not include dorms, but I rated them a 5 out of 5 because it saves students like me; who are fresh out of high school, money because I still live with my parents. The campus is sparkling clean and vibrant.

    Academic Rigor

    I have maintained a 4.0 at FVCC. The instructors are very open to helping their students out on a one to one basis. I have learned so much in such a short time frame that I would most definitely rate FVCC's academic rigor with a 5 out of 5 stars. They genuinely care about the student's grades and want to see everyone strive.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for future students is to go for the gold and take honors classes. The instructors are amazing at working with individuals and it looks great when transfering to different colleges. I also would advise prospective students to be strongly involved with the community and what FVCC has to offer. The best way to make friends is by trying something absolutely new.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Flathead Valley Community College with an A+ for helpful faculty members, well-rounded peers, and exthusiastic professors. Flathead Valley Community College is conveniently located with several clearly marked buildings and maps in each building as to where the classrooms are. I feel strongly rating Flathead Valley Community College with an A+ because I saved a lot of money coming here, I can easily find my way around, and the courses are highly beneficial.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as i know the safety on campus is adequate.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about this

    Clubs and Activities

    Theatre department.

    Great for these types of students

    The culinary arts department and the photography department.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of any unusual traditions or locations for the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to have a fun experience for a community college in your home town of Kalispell, MT then give this college a try. It's not only in your home town, but it will prepare you to be tackle the college experience as you decide on what you want to accomplish with your college carreer.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers a wonderful theatre program which provides plays for the student body to see for free. In order for a student to see the plays for free you just need to present your student id card at the time of admission for the play.

    Food and Dining

    Flathead Valley Community College has one of the best culinary programs in the Midwest besides the culinary arts program located in Coos Bay, Oregon. The cafeteria always has fresh food. I would personally like to see more fruit and vegetable choices though.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know anything about dorm life because i have never used it. I have never had to do so.

    Academic Rigor

    The college staff strives to help the students to excel in their college endeavor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Flathead Valley Community College then start checking out your options as early as your sophomore year in high school. If you are a returning student then apply for the semester that you want to attend as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    The professors are always willing to help the students. The help programs like the math and writing labs are easily accessible. The campus is laid out for easy access.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Northwest Montana is certainly much more affordable than all of the states surrounding Montana and the beauty is unparalled!

    What to do for fun

    You are in the gateway of Glacier National Park, need I say more

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten in the cafeteria but you are surrounded by a medical plaza and there are a lot of choices for food

    Dorm Life

    Not many dorms here as this is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    I can't really speak to this, as I have not started taking class

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the opportunity to utilize this resource close to home. They offer more in the medical field than most four year colleges and they have small class sizes to make sure that you don't fall behind!

    In three sentences

    They are very helpful and eager to assist someone who has been out of college for 5 years

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Greek Life

    a small frat somewhere... nobody really knows about them because they don't do much.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs and activities advertising everywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone wanting a good, simple education and to better themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nope.

    Bang for the buck

    great education for fair price.

    What to do for fun

    two ski resorts fairly close. swimming. camping. hiking. outdoors stuff :d

    Food and Dining

    it is very close to many restaurants in town :d

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in a dorm :p

    Academic Rigor

    not terribly hard, but challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't skip classes. you'll get behind.

    In three sentences

    great facility and staff. small campus but still a great experience. highly academic for a community college.