Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gustavus Adolphus College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Gustavus is a great place for students who don't necessarily know what they want to pursue in the future but is also wonderful for those who have an idea of what they want to become. It is also great for those students who might have worries about attending a big college because it is neither big or small.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is not to be scared off by the price. There are plenty of scholarships and grants available to help reduce the amount a student needs to actually pay. Also, don't come into Gustavus necessarily set on one area of study but use the first year to explore different areas because there may be something that becomes more appealing and then there is no committment made. If Gustavus is your choice and you do come here, use the resources available, such as the career center and health services and join clubs and groups and activities that seem interesting. Becoming involved in even just one activity will help make your first year less overwhelming.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Gustavus is one of the higher priced schools, the education received here is also of a higher standing. The professors are well-prepared and readily available and the classes offered are not only challenging but interesting. There are many different majors for all types of people who have different goals in life and the classes available are well thought out. The faculty and classes prepare students for their career and for functioning in life in the future.

    Am enjoying being here

    Gustavus is a very warm environment with the campus being a smaller one. Sometimes it becomes very repetitive if a student does not vary their extracurricular activities but there are always a lot of activities that go on during the week and weekends that provide opportunities to expand knowledge and find new interests. The location of Gustavus is somewhat remote because St. Peter seems like a small town but in truth it is stretched out and Mankato is only a fifteen minute drive away which provides off-campus activities. The school also provides activities which, for a small fee, are open to the entire campus such as going to a Twins game or going apple picking in the fall. Some of the most popular places on campus are the Arboretum, the Caf (where they serve excellent food), and the Lund Center. Lund is the health and fitness center so there are workout rooms, a pool and a hot tub and sauna which is open to everyone to work out or just relax.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes offered at Gustavus are well structured but also very fun and interesting. Most of the classes are based off of class participation which allows for students to give their opinions and ask questions even in the middle of a lecture. Although the classes are challenging, especially those that are specific to a certain major, the professors are very open and are available at different times during the week to offer help and further explanation. The pace of the classes within a semester is sometimes overwhelming but at the same time it is possible to keep up with everything with the help of the many study tools available on campus such as the tutors and the library. The size of the classes are wonderful because students learn the names of the other students in class and have the opportunity to have one-on-one discussions with the professor without the professor not knowing that the student is in their class.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, ambitious, involved (there is a club for EVERYONE, and everyone is involved in some way), values a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take in consideration what you want to do with your college experience. If you figure out what you want your major(s) to be, you can easily double major, with a few minors. Also, get in touch with your admission counselor, and don't be afraid to ask questions. It is important to find the college that is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Gustavus is expensive. That's a fact. However, as a student where financial aid was a large factor in my choice, Gustavus really came through. After speaking with my admissions counselor and financial aid, I was able to work out something that could work for me. Never let price get in the way of the college you want to go to, including Gustavus. It is possible, and 100% worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Gusties are kind, considerate, and friendly people. Even with the wind (it is extremely windy) people still have smiles on their faces. The cafeteria is outstanding (Top Ten Best Campus Food in the Country. Literally.). The buildings are nice to look at, and there is plenty of things to do during the week or on the weekends. Activities are constantly going on, including concerts in the Cafe, improv comedies, guest speakers, game nights, and dances. There is never a lack of things to do in between studying! The town of Saint Peter is very small, and the movie theater isn't the greatest. Luckily, Mankato is about 15 minutes away, and you can get anything you need from there. It makes life more enjoyable when you can get to Target!

    Am learning a lot

    If you are looking for a great education, you will definitely find it here. Gustavus is a liberal arts college that believes in a general education which requires you to develop critical and analytical thinking. In all of your classes, you learn something that you can take into your everyday life. Not only do you get to focus on a particular major, but you get to learn skills that will carry you everywhere. The teachers are extremely personable and friendly. They are willing to help and guide you. There is also excellent tutoring available and others are always willing to help! The library is also helpful and resourceful.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who enjoy and want to be pushed, it will foster development in a positive fashion and really bring out your true colors. Perfect for those looking for close relationships and a small campus that feels more like family than a large university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living your first year gives you three that fit into two different styles. Pittman and Sohre are a more laid back feel where as Noreilus (Co-ed) is more of a partying, social style.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive on the sticker price but can be made much more affordable (similar to state school tuition) with scholarships and financial aid. Apply and wait to see about your financial aid before saying it's too expensive. Also, I feel as if it is a better experience and prepares you more so the extra money is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is great. So many people of all personalities, a great place to find your niche. A lot of different activities and clubs to get to know people as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Great classes that provoke thought and tie into many subjects, not just the class focus. Also, there are many interesting options so that you can really find what you're looking for.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - people who care about social justice issues - students studying sciences - people who like to eat - people who like to be involved - people who want to make a difference in the world

    Tips for prospective students

    -visit the campus in the spring or the fall- it is gorgeous! - talk to current Gusties and ask them your questions, they would love to tell you about the school! -sit in on a class in your major to get a feel for the academics - apply for all the scholarships you can

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, looking at the price tag Gustavus seems expensive, but in general they give a lot of scholarships. In my case it was cheaper to go to Gustavus than a state school. Besides, you really get a good education at a college that is well known and respected. None of the classes are taught by teacher's assistants, and the liberal arts aspect is wonderful. For me it is totally worth the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at Gustavus. There are a ton of quality people who are just fun to be around. There are a ton of clubs and things you can join (and most people do) to get connected and meet people with similar interests.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a big fan of the elementary education major. The professors are very nice and know what they're talking about. The department as a whole has a student-centered teaching philosophy and a good mix of theory and application. The department is just the right size so that you get to be like a family with your classmates.

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work hard in college, but have fun at the same time with all of the various activities going on. Students who have an open mind to new ideas. And students who love to eat delicious food because the cafeteria is awesome! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Gustavus a couple of times because you will notice something new everytime. Also, doing an overnight stay at Gustavus really gives you a feel of what it is like to go to school here.

    Bang for the buck

    The initial price tag for Gustavus may turn people away, but it should not because Gustavus gives a lot of financial assistance. They make the school affordable to all students. There's merit scholarships, need based aid, student employment, and other scholarships. Also, the financial advisers are very helpful and will explain anything and everything to you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the campus; the dorms are nice, the food in the cafeteria is delicious, and it's easy to get everywhere on campus. The people at Gustavus are really nice and fun. Everyone loves being a Gustie (our mascot). There is ALWAYS something going on at school, including the Nobel Conference, Mayday, volunteering programs, sporting events, and much more. I enjoy the extracurricular activities at Gustavus very much; most of the coaches at Gustavus are supportive and do a great job.

    Am learning a lot

    Gustavus is a great liberal arts college. I have learned a lot in my classes. I was kind of intimidated/nervous for classes to start my freshman year because I knew that they would be challenging. However, I was put to ease when in my classes because all of the professors here are very helpful. The tutoring services are also very helpful in all of the subjects. One aspect that I really love about the classes at Gustavus is that even if I'm in a class that isn't for my major, I am still learning important information and gaining knowledge about the world and myself.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply but don't limit your options. Also, try to get as many scholarships as possible!

    Bang for the buck

    It seems like a great place to get an education-if you can afford it. It's closing in on 50k a year though, so you have to think about how much you really want to be there. Unfortunately they don't offer very many scholarships either.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful at any time of the year. Some of the students seemed as though they weren't very friendly though. Also, they like to party and drink a lot.

    Will learn a lot

    Gustavus has very strong academics, especially in the sciences. The professors all seemed to know their subjects inside and out, as well as helpful.

  • 11/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is perfect for students who don't mind being in little ole St. Peter and can deal with the nearest Target being about 15 minutes away. There is a lot of academic work, but it pays off! Perfect distance form home if you live in the metro area!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always take two visits. The first time will be so much broader but when you visit a campus for the second time you are able to see it in a better light and see things you didn't necessarily notice before!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, sticker price is a huge shock. I believe that if you don't use all of the resources they have for you on campus, you're throwing your money away and that could be anywhere.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a huge sense of community up on the hill! People are so friendly and there is always stuff to do! It is a very active campus with lots of socializing!!

    Am learning a lot

    Gustavus is such a wonderful learning environment! Classes are challenging but there are so many resources (tutors, upperclassmen, profs--anyone!!) that are here to help you through it all. It is truly a learning community. Class sizes are perfect in that all of your profs know who you are and something about you. They all want to see you do well and make time for you.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I love the environment of the school. It's a beautiful campus with people that are very friendly and welcoming!

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never felt unsafe, and campus safety is only a phone call away.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have the linneaus arboretum which is basically an on campus nature park.

    Bang for the buck

    it's expensive, but they seem to be pretty good about scholarships. it's a great school!

    What to do for fun

    there are always fun things happening, you just have to make the effort to do them. the campus activity board has many events throughout the week and weekend (small concerts, shows, speakers, etc.) and there is always something going on in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    great food! on the weekends there are less options, but during the week, there are always a ton of yummy choices.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are all pretty nice and the cfs (known as ras at most schools) try hard to make it a nice living environment. make sure you figure out which dorm fits you though before you choose!

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are difficult, but everyone here is here to support you. if you're looking into going into biology or chemistry, you have a lot of work ahead of you,

    Tips for prospective students

    visit gustavus, and spend the night!

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very on top of things and easy to contact.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is truly something here for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Express is the night before finals begin where professors serve free food to students and it's basically a huge study party.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not a cheap place but the experience is without question worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Mankato is not far from St. Peter and there is a lot to do there. There's activities going on every night on campus though including speakers, music events, sporting events, group activities, and a number of other fun things.

    Food and Dining

    Incredible food! The meal plans are also an easy thing to figure out and they make life simple.

    Dorm Life

    There are many options to choose from. The res life staff is very organized and on top of things as well as very approachable.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be what you make it to be. Professors are mostly flexible and willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to things like involvement fairs or activities where you can meet people. Strive to maintain those relationships as knowing people is a huge blessing.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus has a strong sense of community where there are plenty of opportunities to create lasting relationships. It is a Lutheran school but is very accepting of other religious practices. It's a great place to explore and learn about yourself.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Love the amount of activities.

    Bang for the buck

    I am rating this because I am hopeful. Everyone that I tell about the price gasps and asks how I'm going to pay for it. I am so very trustful in GAC's ability to give me such an education that I'll find a wonderful job right out of college. If anything, the amount of money I'll save going on Forensics trips will probably pay for itself.

    What to do for fun

    Join Forensics. Also their GSA. But mostly Forensics.

    Food and Dining

    I ate there on scholarship day and for a student with a normal diet it seems wonderful. I, as a vegetarian, am mostly limited to the salad bar but it was the best darn salad bar I've seen in a while.

    Dorm Life

    I freaking love the dorms, it was a huge deciding factor for me. Most other colleges offered dark, dingy dorms but these are so new and shiny! And the don't even smell.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to attend a class or talk to students about the work (which you should do!) so I have no idea. I'm sure it will be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely make sure you are in time for every scholarship. I missed out on most of the academic ones because of the early due date.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus seems like a magical, beautiful place filled with hope and possibilities. I fell in love with the campus and wish to marry it, as with the speech program. I will make something of myself here and hopefully you will too.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good at Gustavus because they hire students (through their student employment program) to keep people safe, this adds a student context to the rules at Gustavus, they understand that people make mistakes, so their job is less about punishment and more about preventing anything bad from happening.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very different here than it is at a normal school, there is no Greek row, there are no official Greek houses, also they are not usually nationally affiliated, except for Sigma Alpha Epsilon (SAE) so they are cheaper but won't get you networked as easily. They focus more around community service, but it doesn't mean they don't have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs here are super fun, I am involved with a men's choir groups and I often work with the colleges Queers and Allies program, both are super worthwhile and defiantly draw fun people.

    Great for these types of students

    People who love being with other people, also people who value having a prof in class every day, in stead of a TA

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a sculpture in front of our library, it is a 3-D bronze cube, that is a ABCD, you spin it around before a paper or midterms or finals, and whatever letter you have facing the library is supposedly what you will earn.

    Bang for the buck

    Gustavus is decently expensive, but they do give great financial aid, however the price of the college is still high. I would contest however that the environment here is worth the price you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Being in a small town there is a lot less to do than being in a large city school, so a down side is how small the college is, but the school also pays for events like SNL (Saturday night in lund- our athletics complex) to have parties that are actually super fun, they usually cater dominoes or buffalo wild wings, so you eat good food FOR FREE

    Food and Dining

    Gustavus has one of the best dining services in the nation for a reason, try our Gyros on Fridays! they are simply divine

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love my roommate and me section (my equivalent to a hall), its just a great group of guys.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very good, but the profs are the people who make the classes worth attending

    Tips for prospective students

    At the very least, check out Gustavus especially if Financial Aid is important to you

    In three sentences

    Gustavus is a place that prides itself on it's sense of community. However a lot of people believe that college who advertise that say that it sounds like a lot of hot air designed just to attract students. Now that I actually go here, I can say for sure, that they are not.

  • 05/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great, they do a really good job of helping out and giving you rides whenever you need one especially if it's night time.

    Greek Life

    A bit, but it's not to huge

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count- you name it we have it, or if for some odd reason we don't feel free to make your own, it's definiely encouraged!

    Great for these types of students

    People who are not afraid to be challanged academically but also love to have fun and just play around!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting this giant boulder outside of Old Main for events that are happening on campus that day, traying, dressing up Gus, a bust of the real Gustavus Adolphus from Sweden, SNL, Gustie Greeters on Orientation Day.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but do not let the sticker price turn you away! If you're good enough in school to get into the college, likely your grades are good enough to get you a really big academic scholarship, plus there are merit scholarships, you get lots of grant money, and there is student employment and loans as well. When it comes down to it you usually only end up paying what yopu would for a state school.

    What to do for fun

    Hang around town, go to a nearby city, lots of parks and trails to explore. Also, the college hosts a ton of events, and has SNL or Saturday Night in Lund, which is this big event with food, games, activities and such hosted by a different campus organization every Saturday night. There's also The Dive, where there are a lot of dances and people watch TV and stuff.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious! I cannot say enough about how fabulous the food is here, with tons of different opptions, and always the standard good stuff like pizza. My favorite is the asian cusine- many different types of stir fry, egg and spring rolls, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good, it depends on where you live, but overall it's wonderful! Everyone is super nice and friendly at Gustavus, and odds are you'll know most of the people in your dorm by the end of the year.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty difficult but definitely managable and extremely interesting!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you know you are up for the academic rigor. It is much harder than high school, but it is also a lot more interesting! Be prepared to take a class just for fun, and know its totally fine if you know nothing or everything on the subject going into the class, odds are you'll enjoy it no matter what.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful place to go to school with great emphasis on learning and community. Gustavus is the kind of place where everyone says hello to you as you walk by, and there truly is an activity for everyone. You will love it here!

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is amazing. they always have a wide range of foods available.

    Dorm Life

    there is always someone around if you need to talk about your living situation. dorms are very nice, with nice study areas.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging but do not become overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    beautiful campus. good environment.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    St. Peter has fun stuff, like the movie theater, cool restaurants and even a Frisbee golf course!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are very loud while others are much quieter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay over night to see if this is a good school for you. Sometimes things that you don't see on the tour may not be exactly what you're looking for.

    In three sentences

    This school is a highly awarded school with lots of opportunities for all different kind of students. The professors and students here are all very nice. Its also a great school for athletes.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing, we try our best, I actually work on campus in Campus safety

    Greek Life

    ...Not sure about this one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gustavus Forensics is an amazing program! (that is speech, not cutting up dead people)

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, or introverted, liberal and fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Shakespearean pit is a place where students go and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey. I wish that it could decrease in cost rather than increase.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Mankato and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Rated number 1 in the country!

    Dorm Life

    Small dorm rooms, for freshmen at least.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is awesome here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to open up and have fun. This is your time, your life is beginning and take full advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus Adolphus is a very good school, it is challenging and rewarding. The staff here are wonderful. You will truly make your life count with Gustavus Adolphus College.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Gustavus has many different Greek organizations that are local to the area that have been around for over a hundred years, and Gustavus is very proud of them. There are also many national Greek organizations on campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every Friday there is a club night at Gustavus. It is a great way to relax after a long week! There are many activities happening on campus all the time so there is no getting bored.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly. Also it is cool to wear rainboots.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gustavus has cookies called Frost Your Owns which are legendary on campus. The are sugar cookies that you frost with a orange/gold frosting and cover in sprinkles.

    Bang for the buck

    Offers great scholarships!! Gustavus also works with students to make their education happen no matter their economic situation. In addition to that I have heard so many students say that they received full rides from other schools, but they still did not compare to Gustavus.

    What to do for fun

    St. Peter is a cute little town with many different actives, and it is right next to Mankato which is a much bigger town!

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, they even have a large Gluten-Free selection! This is great for me because I cannot have Gluten. Overall, I enjoy the food.

    Dorm Life

    They have a lot of options, which is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Gustavus offers a very unique General Education option for their students. Not only do they have the typical Gen. Ed. but they have a discussion based program for sixty students per grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't look for the college that everybody thinks you should go too, look for the college that fits you the best. For me it was Gustavus, and I did not see that coming.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus has a welcoming feeling that surrounds the campus. This campus was the first one I visited where everybody was friendly. I was on my way to a seminar on my visit and three different people not only gave me directions, but brought me where I needed to be.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security. I feel safe around campus all the time. They really step up their game in the security.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Investment club, Tennis, Government, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are social, enjoys people that knows them, teachers that care about the students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school. This is what you pay for almost a guaranteed undergraduate degree. They like to take your scholarships and make you pay something out of your pocket. So distribution of the scholarship is something they like to do.

    What to do for fun

    You can go fishing in the lakes around Saint Peter. You can go the coffee shop and play music. The city is close to a bigger city, Mankato where you can go eat out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is superb. Fresh fruits and ice cream is available 24/7.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are old and you may not get the building you want. There is no AC.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise, this college takes its academic experience seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a small college then it is the perfect college for you. You will see students you know around campus often. To be honest my freshmen experience felt like going to camp.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus Adolphus College is a great private school college. The school cares about you and your education. Everyone is friendly and the community is one of the best.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    St. Peter is a small town that is very safe and campus safety is always patrolling. Students feel very safe walking around campus alone and at night!

    Greek Life

    There is a great greek life system for those who are interested. There are national and local sororities and fraternities. All do great things around campus and in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to join! It's hard to choose! There are intramural and clubs having to do with ones major/department, along with many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Gustavus is a great fit for any type of person! We have phenomenal music, drama, language, athletic, science, mathematic, nursing and psychology departments. Anyone can get involved somehow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We go traying in the winter which is sledding with the caf trays. Homecoming is a TON of fun! Midnight Express is where there is a ton of free food and entertainment the night before finals start. The whole campus comes. The Nobel conference is held every year where students can attend speakers for free. Christmas in Christ Chapel is performed every year which is great! Presidents Ball is in the spring which is kinda like prom but way better!

    Bang for the buck

    Gustavus is pricey but you do get a lot for your money (dorms, free activities and events). There is GREAT financial aid!

    What to do for fun

    Campus has a TON of activities from concerts to movies to speakers. All free!! Saint Peter has cute shops and restaurants. Mankato is a ten minute drive away. River Rock Coffee shop is a great place to hang out or do homework.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has the BEST food! We are nationally ranked! There is only one caf so its a great spot to run into friends. There is a coffee shop with great coffee and muffins!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great! You get to know other students so well and everyone is so friendly! Free laundry and TV in lounges!!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great. With small class sizes you really get to know them and they want you to succeed. They will do ANYTHING for you. They give you their home phone to contact and invite students for BBQs at their house

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!! Talk to your professors! Eat in the Caf!! Live in Norelius Hall freshman year!

    In three sentences

    Gustavus is a wonderful, small, and close-knit community that helps you figure out or accomplish your dreams and goals. Everyone there wants you to succeed!

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs galor on campus. If we don't have you club... you start your own. There are planned activities and events for everyone one camous. Movie nights, dances, shows... you name it, we have it.

    Food and Dining

    MOST AMAZING FOOD EVER!! Trust me nothing will ever get old!

    Dorm Life

    They are normal everyday college dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Don't worry you will be challenged here. But it is all worth it in the end because you reciecve an excellent education

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the college is the right fit for you. If it feels right and you feel welcome, choose it. Thats what Gustavus was for me.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus has a beautiful campus. There are plenty of clubs, activities, and events to do on campus. Everyone is friendly and wants to be at school.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have personally never felt uncomfortable, but there are boxes around campus to call for a ride-- use them!

    Clubs and Activities

    The lacrosse team is fantastic!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will find their niche at Gustavus!

    What to do for fun

    The Dive, Football games, Hockey games, Clubs-- there is something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    Don't let your friends come visit and use up all your Food money! The variety of food is fantastic! You can eat the same thing every day, or try something new!

    Dorm Life

    Fantastic! Always someone around to study with or hang out with!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but with good study habits and a willingness to join study groups and approach professors with questions and concerns, you will do fine!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you tell your parents to send care packages! Don't go home for the first six weeks (at least), instead, go to the new student activities when you first arrive and attend as many on campus events as possible. Invite your parents down for parents weekend. Host a high school student overnight so they can experience college life and choose Gustavus!

    In three sentences

    This is a great college about an hour south of the Twin Cities, which is far enough away from home to totally immerse yourself in the college experience, but also close enough to allow you to go home for special occasions, holidays, birthdays, etc. Living in the dorms provides you with the opportunity to meet many other students, and develop long lasting friendships. The professors are very knowledgeable in their field, as well as caring and approachable.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome

    Greek Life

    Nice

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of student orgs.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of stuff.

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    Depends where/who you get placed with.

    Academic Rigor

    Challeging, I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study

    In three sentences

    In three sentences, you cant do that. The school is welcoming but dont let the minnesota nice give a false hood. Very tough academics.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very helpful, Gustavus promotes security a lot, If you are walking in the campus at night you can call campus safety and ask them to give you a ride to your dorm. Or if you get locked out of your room you can ask them for help too.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities!! (Sometimes too many).

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students seeking a major in a science or pre-med, or for any students interested in liberal arts.

    Bang for the buck

    Gustavus is an expensive school, but they are really reliable with grants and loans.

    What to do for fun

    We have activities on the weekend, but intramural sports are often played too. Also, you can always hang out in the basement with your friend or take a walk to St. Peter

    Food and Dining

    The food at Gustavus is really good and there is a great variety every single day. You will never get bored and the caffeteria doesn�?�´t close until 10pm.

    Dorm Life

    Great. There is always something to do and the atmosphere is cozy. We have games and activities planned, but studying is also strongly encouraged.

    Academic Rigor

    The proffesors are all experts in their areas and they are willing to listen to you if you have any doubts, at almost any time. Tutoring is offered in every subject, even in the dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this school for everyone who seeks a good education while still having fun.

    In three sentences

    An amazing school with great atmosphere. The faculty staff and teachers are really reliable. Greta activities and games every weekend.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always something going on so you won't ever feel like the campus is empty.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual one is climb the art building.

    Bang for the buck

    The one on one interaction and small class size is definitely worth it for me.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do! Especially during the winter time, you can go traying! That's basically sledding with a tray down our hills.

    Food and Dining

    Watch what you eat. Sometimes you're so busy with activities, friends and studying you forget to watch what you're eating. Make sure that you are eating healthy and not overeating. The Gustavus cafeteria is really good, they are top 14th with best food. Unfortunately, I don't have a meal plan anymore so I don't eat there anymore.

    Dorm Life

    I like what Gustavus have going on within the residential life. They try to create a friendly environment and relationships with the residents. With their RAs they try to make that happen through them. They are willing to spend money on activities for their residents.

    Academic Rigor

    It really differs from classes, I've taken some classes where I thought the grading was unfair, but I've also took a lot of classes where the professor really just want you to succeed and learn the materials. I wish there were more of those classes. In terms of how rigor the classes are I would say they all are doable it's just depends on how much you're willing to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    My few tips are that college is going to be tough, you're going to need a new study habit whether that is with a group or going to the tutors. Ask for help and get to know as many students as possible especially your freshman year.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus is full of fun and learning. They are sometimes perfectionist and so it takes a while to get things done, but when they do it's the best. The students are friendly and outgoing.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The sororities and fraternities have started a new program where you can call them when you're ready to go home and they will either give you a ride or come out in groups to walk you back safely to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very important on campus and is well populated. Great way to make new friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities are well advertised and fun to join in on. Comedy shows occur every week and school wide parties every month.

    Great for these types of students

    Social bunnies interested in sorority/fraternity life and people who like to party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas in Christ Chapel is celebrated every year with a bunch of performances from all different areas of study. It is one of the prized traditions at Gustavus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a little overpriced in my opinion. And financial aid is hard to come, so start browsing online soon. Once you hit senior year, a lot of scholarships that they provide will go away.

    What to do for fun

    Traying on the hill is a favorite past time during the winter months, grab a tray from the cafeteria and sled to your hearts delight. They also have monthly plans for students to have fun together, and posters are everywhere to remind you to join in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, but can be slightly repetitive as they serve the same thing on the same day every week. The lunch room is a great place to meet new people though, very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    This is where I struggled the most. Because it is a party school, the dorms can be quite noisy and dirty. Once out of your freshman year, its best to aim for an on campus apartment to avoid it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are moderately difficult, make sure to keep good study habits throughout the semester, not just around finals and tests and you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club, get to know your roommate and get out there. The experience is more fun if you get out and make friends when you first arrive.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus is a small quiet college in the middle of farm country. It is a party school, so there is a lot going on during weekends and vacation time on campus. Classes are interesting, but try to avoid 8am classes, they are hard to stay awake for!

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. As for Campus Safety (our version of campus police) they are there when you need them. Also, with Medical Amnesty they really are there to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone. Campus Activities Board, Crossroads Program, I AM WE ARE, Queers & Allies, Christian Athletes, Gustie Dems, Gustavus Atheist and Agnostic, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight express: the teachers serve you dinner the night before finals week begins. There are many, many more.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the sticker price is a little overwhelming. However, Gustavus is great when it comes to scholarships and financial aid. For me it was less expensive to attend Gustavus than a State School.

    What to do for fun

    St. Peter is a quiet college town. However, there are always things to do on campus. If you want a change of scenery there is Patricks Pub, a Movie Theatre, and the Co-op. Also, the cities and Mankato are just a short drive away!

    Food and Dining

    6th in the nation is what we are... or 8th. Anyway, the food is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen housing is ok. However, once you start moving into the upperclassmen housing, it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any institution there are classes that will be less than challenging. However, the majority of the courses that you will take will challenge you to think and to push your comfort zone. Almost all instructors are willing to go above and beyond to help you achieve your potential as a human being.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out arboretum while on campus, it is a great place to take a walk and visit with friends. Also, be sure to try something new in the caf.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus is a place where a beautiful sense of community is fostered, while students are encouraged to be themselves and explore their passions and ideas. Gustavus is the right fit for you if you want to be involved and gain life long friends while you learn.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the hockey games, chill with friends and play a pick up game of ultimate.

    Food and Dining

    A great variety of different foods everyday all week long. It is open style so you can go whenever you want.

    Dorm Life

    It gets better as you get older.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major. Sciences are pretty tough and others aren't, but they will all challenge you

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind for what you want to do, but if you are 100% certain of what you want to do, find a professor that will tag along with you. They are always willing to help you within your major.

    In three sentences

    A great place to really find what you are interested in! There are many opportunities for new students to pursue their passions and find new ones. Dorms, food and athletics are great.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although the prices are a bit steep, the overall experience would pay off.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do here, you can take a walk through the arboretum, go to church, play a sport, and many other things as well.

    Food and Dining

    When I visited this College, I got to eat their food, and it was better than my mom's cooking!

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are quiet and great for studying.

    Academic Rigor

    I would expect a school like this to have challenging and comprehensive classes that will greatly benefit you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always think positive, but don't overdo it.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great place just to visit! The arboretum is stunning, and so are the many buildings. I would recommend this college for anyone interested.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'll be honest there were a couple scares of some strangers prowling around late at night. But most of my friends and I feel comfortable enough to leave our laptops out in the lounge. I would ask someone at Gustavus, if your ever concerned.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a hundred of them and Its typical for someone to get involved in 2, 3, 5, or 6! you can't help but get involved in something or other.

    Great for these types of students

    Social Justice. The Atmosphere on campus is very energetic and people are always doing what they can to make a little difference. If you like volunteer work or are looking for a little way to save the world, I see it every week here on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frost Your owns, ask a friend about Frost Your Owns, and make your you CF takes you Traying!

    Bang for the buck

    Gustavus is expensive and will probably be more expensive your senior year than your freshman year. But, you get so many things provided on campus. Food, laundry, your books, everything can be found on campus. Still is Pricey, so take a look at scholarships and grants, after you see the price tag.

    What to do for fun

    Most anything. Gusties on campus or well known for being over involved. I play a lot of video games with my friends, (in the same section as me), but the campus has weekly movie showing, like The Dark Knight Rises, or Les Miserables. Lund is open pretty much all the time, and my favorite way to exercise is jump in the pool, anytime!

    Food and Dining

    Gustavus Dinning Service was much better when I first arrived as a Freshman. A couple years latter the meals just aren't as exciting as they were. Still you might well be surprised when you have your first dinner. I think that Gustavus still is in the top 100 for best College cafeteria in the USA. So, its not too shaby.

    Dorm Life

    Like i said above the section of a dorm hall is like a neighborhood. Or a classroom. It makes it making friends a breeze.

    Academic Rigor

    The Program I took, Curriculum Two is demanding but prepares you well for the next four years. If your not in C2 you'll take a first year seminar. Which our very enjoyable, and they also sharpen you to make the rest of your time easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your section or your floor well. They will likely be your friends for the next four years. Life in Coed is great because you have a whole are full of people all new to Gustavus. That's where I lived. So, don't worry making friends is easy-peasy.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus, with plenty to do, and plenty of people to meet, and it honestly feels like a home for me.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a pretty safe campus. There were some incidences but for the most part, as a female, I feel okay walking on my own at night outside. Campus Safety Officers make frequent trips through buildings and around the campus at all times. They are quick to respond to calls regardless of how small they may be. There are places outside you can go if you need to call for help and Safe Rides will always take you across campus if you call them.

    Greek Life

    We offer both local and national sororities and fraternities. All of the groups reach out to each other in order to accomplish goals or just to enjoy a night of fun together. A great number of students participate in these groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities here. If you cannot find the right one, you are encouraged to start it yourself. Clubs range from dealing with social issues to playing Starcraft. Gustavus is known for student involvement on campus and all our clubs and groups make it easy.

    Great for these types of students

    Gustavus is great for people who want to continue civic engagement, are active politically, or enjoy great discussions. Students who do well are those who push their minds to think in different ways, are fine with looking at other perspectives, and can handle vigorous academics and a busy social life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During freshman orientation there is a Square Dance in which many people meet the person they will marry. It may be a myth but some truly believe it.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that the tuition is extremely high but we are in a recession and financial management is not the best currently. But the education and life here is really great.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a really beautiful arboretum that students, faculty, and other people around Saint Peter enjoy to walk in. The Lund Center offers equipment for use. Our Campus Activities Board also plays recently released movies from Fridays to Sundays every week. There are a plethora of clubs and groups to join. These clubs and groups have events of their own throughout the year. Just about every Saturday night, a group hosts Saturday Night in Lund where games and free food draws many students out for Saturday night fun. No one has a problem with finding things to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really great at Gustavus. Some items are in the Market Place all the time, pizza and french fries for example, while others are made every so often, like Eggplant Parmesan. They do have some Gluten-free and vegetarian options available.

    Dorm Life

    The Residential Life office strives to put people around those they may best get along with. Roommates are matched based on how much they have in common with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a liberal arts college that will push you to think deeper and question things that are taken for granted. People are here to help you but you also have to make a strong effort. It is important to study for exams and tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may be switching your major a few times so don't be afraid to explore different classes at least your first semester, if not your first year. You may find your calling through exploration.

    In three sentences

    The people at Gustavus Adolphus College are very welcoming. But I believe that the finances should be put more towards research and moving departments and dorms out of temporary trailers.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mankato is like 10-15 minutes away which is cool to drive to and do something there or go to their parties. We have a bowling spot and theatre in town but they're really small and often you'll just want to get out of the town for a little. Gustavus has off-campus houses for fraternities, sororities, and athletes- those houses through BBQs and parties during the year which is chill to go to from time to time. During the winters, it's kind of a tradition to take our cafeteria trays and go sledding down our hill.

    Food and Dining

    We have a GREAT selection for food & dining. For the most part the food is amazing, but like any other school or place after awhile you want something different. We have a wide variety, but there will be times you just want to order a pizza or run down to get better Chinese food/ Erbert's & Gerbert's. The deserts are really yummy. Oh and the dining services people/ workers are pretty nice and sweet, you definitely get to know the kitchen staff.

    Dorm Life

    Fun, dorm life is just getting better each year. You have parties and activities within your own dorm building. Dorm life is not that strict at all- except when it comes to alcohol and illegal drugs... my first-year was really crazy when it came to busting underage students with alcohol. Just be smart about your activities outside of the classroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Gustavus, is really academically challenging in my opinion. You have to be ready and serious about the steps you're making as a student there/ part of the community. It's not anything you can't accomplish, but it is challenging and I would say takes a lot of discipline.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit- make sure you get a feel for the campus and what our classrooms are like. I visited Gustavus six times before making my decision. Use a calender planner or some type of schedule best for you in order to keep up with due date for class or on-campus activities. Go to tutors or schedule appointments with professors if you don't understand something or need extra practice on a concept. Make time to relax and for yourself in your week or especially during finals so you're not making yourself too overwhelmed/ stressed. Make goals constantly for yourself and maybe each semester.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus is a well-rounded and respected private liberal arts school. The professors do notice you and care about your standing in their class. As a student, I can see there will be many opportunities from attending Gustavus.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many many clubs for every interest including sports, art and volunteering.

    Food and Dining

    Absolutely amazing! A wide variety and many healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I was extremely nervous for the dorms but after one year i have met friends i know will last a lifetime

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely more challenging than a state school but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what is important to you when looking at schools.

    In three sentences

    Attending Gustavus has been the best decision i've made so far. The people are great including both staff and classmates. Life at Gustavus is both fun and challenging.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am super excited to attend Gustavus in the fall. The campus is beautiful and I love the dorms. It is certainly a place that I can see myself living for the next four years!

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Go to the beautiful Arb. Play hockey.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing Cafeteria!! Rated top in the nation!

    Dorm Life

    For freshman it is no good. but after that you cant really complain.

    Academic Rigor

    Love the challenges I face everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet as many people as possible. Join as many clubs as possible.

    In three sentences

    Overall, great community based college. Many ways to get involved. Professors hold you to high standards.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus safety on call 24/7

    Great for these types of students

    Serious about education and your future

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the rock on campus, the Dive where the pool used to be, is now a weekend hangout, The Nobel Conference is hosted annually.

    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of clubs and groups on campus, weekly and weekend activities, sports and athletics, something is always happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We are ranked second or third in the nation for food.

    Dorm Life

    I think because we're a small college, you get closer with your dorm mates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you, but you learn so much. I enjoy the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is a place for students who are serious about their education, they want to learn and discover. It's a smaller liberal arts college, and you will get a liberal arts education, so you're learning more than just your major.

    In three sentences

    A community campus, you feel welcomed. An excellent place to learn. A faith-based education.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus. You can call for a Safe Ride any night if you don't want to walk somewhere yourself (Or if it is just too cold outside). It is a very helpful service.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus and it is fairly easy to start your own. I am impressed with the amount of student involvement on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Committed and involved students who want to work hard but also want to really learn and make connections.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gustavus is full of quirky traditions. Welcome week for incoming freshmen students is filled with them. For example, there is an annual freshman square dance and legend has it that you will dance with your future spouse there.

    Bang for the buck

    Gustavus is a VERY expensive school, but don't let it scare you, they give out a lot of financial aid. I feel that the alumni connections and quality education that I will receive at Gustavus will be worth my money.

    What to do for fun

    Gustavus is located in a small town so most of the entertainment is located on campus. However, I think the entertainment provided by the various groups on campus is generally pretty well planned and well liked by students. A Saturday night activity takes place almost every week, there is a Friday night dance every week and campus movies on the big screens each week. There are also exercise classes multiple times a week and students are allowed to use most equipment and facilities such as the gyms, pool, and ice arena. If you want something to do, you can usually find something.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing. I rarely have heard a complaint about the food. Gustavus features an a la carte cafeteria instead of the traditional all you can eat style. This allows for the ability to buy grocery items in the cafeteria as well as the ability to grab a single item without using a whole 'meal' to pay for it. I continue to see new things on the menu each week and there are tons of choices every day. The cafeteria also stays open from 7am-11pm every day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life really depends on what dorm you are living in, some of them are very nice while others are basically your standard dorm. But overall the housing is great. Dorms and dorm bathrooms are generally very clean thanks to the custodial staff. The only downside is the lack of air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    Gustavus has fairly high expectations for students. In my experience, the class material may not necessarily be incredibly difficult, but a lot of work and commitment is required for most courses. Course materials often overlap and connect which makes for interesting connections and ideas. This school is a place for people who enjoy learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school that encourages excellence as well as involvement. Be prepared to work hard to get the grades that you want. Be prepared to be busy and involved, because you will want to join numerous clubs and activities. In addition, do not be concerned about boredom, although Gustavus is located in a small town, there are always plenty of on-campus activities every day.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus provides an encouraging and supportive environment for students while continuing to allow freedom for students to openly explore their ideas and thoughts. The sense of community and the alumni connection is very strong. Gustavus professors are generally well-liked, although I have heard complaints regarding tenured professors.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs, for just about anything. And they are all really including. Many students on campus are a part of a club that that it's not uncommon for people to overload on commitments and have to drop some clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Gustavus is great for students who want a liberal arts education. The general education requirements for Gustavus go a little further than other schools, and really offer insight into many different areas of study. Most people that I have met, including myself, have switched majors since starting school, because we were required to take certain classes which wouldn't have been our initial choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since Gustavus is located at the top of a giant hill in Saint Peter, using food trays from the cafeteria to go sledding down the hill is a pastime that is very popular in the winter.

    Bang for the buck

    Going here is expensive, but Gustavus offers great financial aid and the quality education that you can receive is definitely worth it, I feel.

    What to do for fun

    There are thousands of things to do. Campus Activities Board hosts many different functions, multicultural festivals, sporting events, musical groups and movies that are screened every weekend. Depending on the season, there's traying down the hill (sledding, basically, with caf trays) or walking though the arboretum.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is delicious, with so many options, it's overwhelming the first month of classes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm can be tough depending on where you live, but they all have decent rooms. They are all co-ed dorms and some are choice (no drugs or alcohol), but they all offer great opportunities to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes will be easy, some won't. But it is always easy to talk to the professors and get help on anything. They are all very understanding and want to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use a planner, it will save your life, and help manage college life easier. It's okay to not know what you want to do when coming to Gustavus, even if you change your major, they will try their best to get you out in four years.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus is very personal, a lot of things are designed specifically with you in mind. Campus is relatively small (approx. 3000 students) so there is no problem getting attention from professors. Gustavus offers many different opportunities, and they are easy to work around.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many students go to Mankato for restaurants, bowling, and movies. There are also free movies and other activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is really good, but slightly lacks variety.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms create a great sense of community from the start. With rooms grouped into sections, it is easy to get to know the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class is challenging in different ways. Most classes are challenging academically, but also personally. They challenge students' values and make them question their own lifestyles and interests. They help students learn who they are as well as what they want in their lives, which is sometimes different that what they thought they wanted going into school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! Everyone is new and looking to make friends, so take every opportunity you can to meet someone new. Thank your professors, and do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The Gustavus community is really welcoming, the professors are dedicated to and passionate about their jobs, and the students are happy to be there. Within just a semester at school I have made friends who I believe will last a lifetime. I am lucky to be able to attend such a fine institution.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is very good but it could take a while to get used to the way they run the food court...also there were no easily visible prices on items like fruit?

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seemed to be fairly nice, granted we only saw one...was a bit disappointed to hear that most don't have air conditioning

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be a tough school homework-wise. Probably wouldn't be able to skate by any of the courses with minimum effort, would have to actively try to do the work.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    One of the best school cafeterias in the US.

    Dorm Life

    The atmosphere at Gustavus is so welcoming that you feel safe and accepted by all the students here, not just those whom you are close with.

    Academic Rigor

    Gustavus offers quality academic programs across the board and excellent professors that facilitate discussion and learning in the classroom and out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask your professor for help! Start studying for exams/quizzes early, instead of cramming the night before.

    In three sentences

    Gustavus has provided me with incredible opportunities, both educational and outside academics. The sense of community here is an incredible thing to be a part of. Becoming a Gustie has been one of the best decisions of my life.