Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northeast Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/13/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is very good.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is difficult to join activities because the activities are not properly advertised.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for the lazy or poor students, welders, agricultural workers, and nurses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school has a ridiculously state of the art and quality nursing program. Future nurses should come here.

    Bang for the buck

    It is excellent pricing for students who do not live in dorms. The education itself is, perhaps, lacking.

    What to do for fun

    They have fun movie nights and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the grill is excellent, as is the Starbucks. The actual buffet is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms because it's not worth it on basis of price.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very straight-forward and require little to no critical thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    So long as you pay attention in class intermittently and do at least half of your assignments you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Northeast is a great place to attend if you're looking to get some generals out of the way, work in agriculture, or work in welding. If you're looking for more than that it can get a bit more irritating. They have had troubles with properly transferring credits to another college, even when students were assured that the class was transferable.

  • 04/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Northeast offers an excellent education for the price, I am being accepted into a university and all of my credits transferred which saved me thousands of dollars.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafeteria, I have been to many other colleges in the area and so far Northeast has been the most fulfilling. Not only that but the price of the meal for the quality is unbeatable. Delicious and succulent cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    In the town of norfolk it is possible to live in apartments off campus. That may suit some better than others. Although the dorms are nice, I prefer to live off campus. Though the dorms here are very secure and neat, practically brand new.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor at this college is not too demanding and with the small class sizes one is easily able to communicate with the professors one's needs. Many are very willing to work with you, they want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Affordability, simple urban life, gives a more connected community feel. It's easy to get around on foot and on bike. Traffic is not bad at all if you're from a big city. Many places to eat. Starting at Northeast can be the stepping stone to a higher quality of life, while still keeping that cash in your pocket.

    In three sentences

    Northeast is excellent for the determinate student, no matter where you're from you can achieve if you go to Northeast. All you have to be willing to do is put in the effort and time. This college is excellent for fostering those willing and capable of achieving academically, and can serve as the foundation/building block for either a career or education path.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Norfolk is big enough to have lots of opportunities for fun. There's a bowling alley, a theater, a mall if you just want to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the college much, but I've usually had good experiences with it. Once the food was undercooked, but that happens everywhere every once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes have been really good. There were I few where I felt like I was wasting my time and a few that were over the top hard, but for the most part they have been challenging and beneficial.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Financial Aid Office is really great and will help you to get the most scholarship money possible.

    In three sentences

    Great Price. Great Resources. Some great professors and some not so great ones.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very secure and well represented.

    Greek Life

    Everyone has them..

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many club activities that student can join..

    Great for these types of students

    Yes I believe that this is a great school for every student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    This has a low rate in the school tuition and its been helping me with all my books and personal needs..

    What to do for fun

    The things to do for fun are some of the activities that they have their like book clubs, physical activities, and manny other stuff..

    Food and Dining

    Their is a store were we go to and we eat out side

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus because their is no dorms..

    Academic Rigor

    It's the best ..

    Tips for prospective students

    You can achieve anything you want as long as you set your mine to it...

    In three sentences

    I believe that it's the best school I have ever attended in my life. I really appreciate all the staff and worker their...

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is well taken care off. no illegal marijuana is tolerated here, or any substance, if anything out side the normal, charges will be taken against the student.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here's the opportunity to enjoy the art of photography. activities like this make this place a lot better for students who love art.

    What to do for fun

    compass is a big place to walk around with friends, activities with friends can always be enjoyed outdoors. library is you like to read. computer lab and more activities around to do.

    Food and Dining

    food is good, they tend to change the menu around for students. one day hamburgers and the next can b something totally different.

    Dorm Life

    its a good place to be staying at threw out the year. that's if you don't mind sharing your space with someone else in a small room..Most of the people are very friendly that live in the dorms and aren't afraid to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    stay active threw out the year, and don't stay behind with school homework.

    In three sentences

    its a community college where you come and do youe work and get done, fun and a lot of attractions to do around, i would rate this college as an interactive college with others.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to campus/college activity's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be to nervous, it's really not that bad. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    Excellent education center. Helpful staff.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a 24/7 campus cop.

    Greek Life

    Don't really have any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's actually quite a few: theater, Student Ambassadors, basketball, intramurals, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like one on one time with your teacher and like being able to raise your hand and ask a question then this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I know of so far.

    Bang for the buck

    It's relatively cheap with good-quality teachers.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities from sporting events, to Monday Movie Night (free pop and popcorn to first 50), and Wacky Wednesdays (cosmic bowling, swimming at YMCA, etc.)

    Food and Dining

    I have no issue with it.

    Dorm Life

    Some people are really loud and you can hear right through the walls.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until your drowning in homework to seek tutoring. There's also free counseling (sometimes the stress gets to you so don't be afraid to visit them)

    In three sentences

    It's small. Almost everyone knows everyone else. Teachers are great.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid the broadcasting program

    In three sentences

    Overall I love the college. The Head of the Broadcasting department is verbally and physically abusive. I would recommend the school but not the program.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for students (depending on what you want to go into) who are looking to get their 2-year out of the way, and possibly wanting to transfer over to a 4 year college. It is also great for students who just want to get their Gen. Eds finished.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate the food. However, from what I hear it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I couldn't tell you. I never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For most courses this was excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, be on time, do the work, and you will be good to go.

    In three sentences

    NECC was a great experience. The campus is smaller than most. The size of NECC is a plus when considering the amount of students in each class at a regular university. If you're concerned about $$, the cost was pretty resonable compared to other colleges.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with classmates.

    Food and Dining

    Good they are changing vendors so we will see what they bring in.

    Dorm Life

    Don't Live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics curriculum is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and be ready to study.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs that suit my interests as someone who is more interested in the arts.

    Food and Dining

    NECC has a large cafeteria that can accommodate lots of students at once. Their regular food offerings are pretty good as far as institutional food goes.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an audio recording/engineering student, and I am satisfied with the quality of the information being taught to me. The only thing that could be improved, in my opinion, is the pace of NECC's classes. I find sometimes class goes pretty slow for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    For your first year I would recommend living on-campus, as sometimes it can be difficult to meet those not in your program.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have Sioux City Night Patrol on campus 24/7 to keep things under control. From giving out parking tickets to walking you to your car after a night class they are a great asset to the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost every program of study here! If you don't find one to join then you're not looking very hard because there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really! But there are a lot of farming/small town students here.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting the same classes as other more expensive schools for a fraction of the price. I only have about $1000 in loans to pay off compared to $20,000.

    What to do for fun

    Monday Night at the Movies Wacky Wednesdays

    Food and Dining

    Always a variety of food, so there is alway something differnt to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm experience! The only problem was all the rules. But I loved having all my best friends right down the hall or in the same building. It makes it easy to connect with people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very easy to understand. Instructors do a great job of making time to help you if you need it and they know you as a person not just as a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your paperwork in and done on time and you'll have no problems.

    In three sentences

    NECC offers a ton of programs for people to choose from. It's great if you don't know what you want to do for sure yet. It's not a waste of money if you change your mind because it's very affordable.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest college I know!

    Dorm Life

    Most of the people are very friendly that live in the dorms and aren't afraid to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on your ACT--they accept almost everyone, but if you work hard you will get better scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Smaller than the average college, but definitely worth the money to go there!

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is a safe place physically, but unsafe with the above mentioned politico's running loose.

    Great for these types of students

    self starters and medical degrees.

    Food and Dining

    good

    In three sentences

    the overall education experiance was good. most problems students have are not with faculty, but the politcos and others who have their own agenda.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, self-diciplined students can whiz through the gen-ed's by taking CLEP (College Level Examination Program) tests, administered by the College Board through NECC's test center. It's a great money and time saver; I got through my first 2 years of college in just 17 months!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions, especially of your advisor. Don't just plan by semester like I did, make a two-year game plan so you don't have anything come back to bite you when/if you transfer to another college. Also, don't take the bookstore prices for granted, do your research! I've saved so much $$ from renting books online and buying used.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth every penny I spent here! I got sticker shock when looking at colleges to transfer too, NECC must be one of the last Nebraskan colleges with a per semester credit hour cost of under $100! (As of August, 2011)

    Did enjoy being here

    While I didn't use the main campus in Norfolk, every time I went there people were friendly and helpful, I didn't feel like I was bugging anyone when I needed help. I would give 10 stars to the West Point education center, they are super nice, friendly, helpful, and if they don't know the answer they know who to contact!

    Did learn a lot

    I enjoyed almost all of my classes; the instructors were helpful, explained things clearly, and made learning easy! My favorite classes were the Administrative Assistant/IT ones and my Spanish classes.