Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northland Pioneer College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 10/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always present and involved!

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa- honor society-join! Eagles Club Student Body Outdoor Adventure Club

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all kinds of students- old or young- there is a place for you here!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is so inexpensive! There is even a payment program, with monthly payments. They even have half-priced classes in summer! I have not seen education expenses this low- way to go NPC!

    What to do for fun

    The area is perfect for hiking, biking, running, photography; anything nature and outdoors. There are ski resorts, lakes, aquatic center, bowling, movies, and even a skating rink coming soon. This a great place to get out of the heat, and play in the pines!

    Food and Dining

    Show Low is ok for food. You have some decent restaurants and fast food chains here.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    I could not have asked for better teachers. They have inspired me, have opened my mind to new perspectives. I have fallen in love with subjects I thought I would never love, and now Science and Math are great passions. The Art teachers are talented and fully of life and passion. The History is the best stories you'll ever learn, and by such a fun professor; full of character and presence!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involoved! Ask questions, make your place and find the results. Everyone here is wanting to help you become your dream. So make it happen! This is a great start here at Northland Pioneer College! Soar with the Eagles!

    In three sentences

    The Professors here are amazing! I have found so much commitment to my education from all the staff. They even have free tutoring to ensure you can achieve a great grade!

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love this because they are the cheapest college in the state.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard its top notch.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in a dorm before but i have heard that there dorms are excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    Ill give it a five star.

    In three sentences

    I think Northland Pioneer college is a great college. I love the fact that there are so many degrees and certifications i can do. I also like the fact that they work around my schedule, because i still have to work full time.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Almost every student that has graduated from NPC has immediately received a job offer before or after completing their college course.

    What to do for fun

    NPC students and its teachers are very close, everyone on campus is very friendly and for fun we like to make videos of silly stuff sometimes. My instructors are laid back yet strict, they look out for their students as if they were their own children, atleast that's how they make us feel. We have also taken feild trips to the Rennaisance Festival for research on 'cosmetology life' back in that time. Other feild trips include Hair Shows and such, where you can win prizes and take mini classes on that subject.

    Food and Dining

    NPC does not have a cafeteria like most colleges do but there are many fastfood/restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms, its a campus that is open from 8am to 4pm.

    Academic Rigor

    NPC is one of the top colleges for cosmetology in AZ.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend NPC, especially for juniors and seniors in highschool. NAVIT will pay for your college as long as you are in highschool.

    In three sentences

    NPC is a very good community college, teachers always make sure you understand the material before any test. No matter what you ask to be helped on, teachers will take time out for you. I am taking cosmetology courses and my instructor teaches by repitition, which is very effective.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus security that make frequent sweeps of the school and parking lot.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price paid for classes at Northland Pioneer College, the classes are well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Near Northland Pioneer College there are movie theaters, bowling, fishing, and hunting.

    Food and Dining

    On Campus there are no restaurants on campus but not too far off of campus there are many dining places from fast food to nice dining.

    Dorm Life

    Northland Pioneer College does not have any dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is not very hard. Teachers like to help students as much as possible and realize that students attending are usually working also so they try not to assign too much busy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who plan to attend Northland Pioneer College should expect to take multiple classes where the teacher is not present in the classroom. The teacher will be teaching over a video class usually from another campus.

    In three sentences

    Northland Pioneer College is a very inexpensive college. Northland Pioneer College has decent professors. The college has locations all over northeastern Arizona.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    weld at the welding shop to improve my skills in this area.

    Food and Dining

    only have vending machines, but have several places to eat outside of campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers have a lot of faith in their students and help them as much as possible. some teachers are strict and some are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    research NPC's personal scholarships for more help. FYI they have a scholarship for moving into the town that has an NPC campus in it. (if you plan on attending school there)

    In three sentences

    Northland Pioneer College is a great school, low cost for classes, teachers have time to talk and help you unlike big colleges or universities.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    This college is part of the Phi Theta Kappa group.

    What to do for fun

    There is a park nearby with many acvtivities available there as well as a pool. There are also several gyms. Fishing and hunting is also a big thing here.

    Food and Dining

    There are many fast food places as well as a variety of restaurants which are quite delicious nearby the school.

    Dorm Life

    Due to it being a community college there are no dorms. However there are many apartments in the area that are relatively cheep to afford.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is very enjoyable. It is easy to get into the main classes needed and the professors are dedicated to what they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you are motivated to your college success, this college will benefit you greatly. Be sure to follow your academic advisor along the whole way.

    In three sentences

    Northland Pioneer College is a marvelous community college. Its tuition is very affordable and this college has wonderful professors who get to know each individual in their class. It is a very friendly and enjoyable atmosphere of learning.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security staff

    Clubs and Activities

    Few. SGA, PTK

    Great for these types of students

    High School (NAVIT Program), untraditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many location like in Hopi, Springerville, Show Low, etc...

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very inexpensive and has several satellite locations including out on the reservations. Many classes can be taken remotely by video or audio. They even have a decent selection of online courses.

    What to do for fun

    They have a great selection of elective non-credit courses such as dancing and basket-weaving or even self-defense.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the instructors that I've had have been very invested in the academic achievement of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the academic advising department to best get your schedule and your degree planned. The advisor is awesome!

    In three sentences

    This is a good school for getting your 2-year degree. They have a great transfer program with AZ State universities, so you can use your 2-year degree for the first half of a Bachelor's and transfer straight in. They also have a great, in-demand, nursing program.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Northland Pioneer Campus is vastly and ever improving. Security officers are posted at all of the campuses and there will be security camera equipment being installed soon at the campuses as well. You can also ask any of the staff as well as the security personnel to walk you to your car if you take night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northland Pioneer College offers a wide variety of clubs and activities for all types of people and interests and if there isn't a club or activity that interests you, you can create it! How awesome is that??

    Great for these types of students

    Northland Pioneer College is perfect for students who have been out of school for a while or are unsure of the path that they would like to take. Northland Pioneer College has advisers who are always willing to help you along the way! It has diverse program options so that you can explore many of the things and career paths that interest you in life.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a quality education for nearly an eight of the price that you would pay at a university for many of the same classes. A lot of the classes that can be taken at Northland Pioneer College transfer via the SUN program to all of the three major universities in Arizona!

    What to do for fun

    Try out the Student Government Association! It is a lot of fun and extremely rewarding!

    Food and Dining

    There are no restaurants available on any of the campuses at Northland Pioneer College.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories available at Northland Pioneer College.

    Academic Rigor

    Northland Pioneer College has very high hopes for their students and they try to challenge them in a way that is fun and rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, don't slack off and take your education, regardless of where you choose to attend college seriously! You will make it a lot farther in life if you do.

    In three sentences

    Northland Pioneer College is great at providing any student a starting point into college. Northland Pioneer College has an outstanding family feel to it. The instructors at Northland Pioneer College are always willing to help any one when they are asked for help!

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am full time student and single mother. Fun is spending time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines. Are student lounges with microwaves to warm up food.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and instructors are available via email and always will help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are worried about cost of tuition then NPC is right for you. Attend Classes, work part-time and can stay at home if needed. Various locations in Arizona to help you further your education.

    In three sentences

    Enjoy attending, staff and instructors are awesome. Small classes and is in various locations to help me better continue my education. Excellent student centers and assistance provided to help me with my classes and let's not forget the free tutoring. Go Eagles!

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Those who will be transferring to another college/university (like me!) -Those returning to school (there are many students at NPC who are returning to school for a second bachelor's) -Those looking for vocational training, like welding, cosmetology, or EMTs. NPC's vocational programs are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    First of all, NPC does not accept Perkins loans or other types of Federal Student Aid. I wasn't aware of this until after I registered, since this piece of trivia is kind of hidden in the information and is easy to overlook. Luckily, NPC is very affordable, even without aid. Next, make sure you register early to get the classes and professors you want.

    Bang for the buck

    NPC's fees are phenomenally cheap. Classes are very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Northland Pioneer is a great place to start out your college career, but there isn't a lot going on in terms of a student community. It is academically focused, and extracurricular groups/activities are limited. Because it is a community college, it is understandable that the campus life is not very lively.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at Northland Pioneer are small and the professors are always available for one-on-one help. There are many classes to choose from, which is surprising considering the school's small size. The courses are challenging, but the workload is still manageable.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are a few types of students that this college is good for. Starting the college career is good. But a large population of this school students are adults trying to finish their schooling. There are also many job set classes as opposed to just prereqs. They have nursing, auto, welding, heavy equipment, cosmetology, and others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get scholarships there are plenty, also don't be afraid to write an essay for a scholarship. Don't settle for a grade other then the best. Study, study, study. Also most college classes the only things that matter are the Reports/Essays and Exams/Quizzes

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best place for prerequisites. The cost is so much less then most. If you are considering to receive bachelors or higher then this college is a good place to start.

    Will enjoy being here

    The college is very spread out which doesn't help with the social as much. There are social events if you look hard enough to find them, but you wont be able to find these as easily or as populated as major Universities.

    Will learn a lot

    This college is just what is needed to start your college career. The classes are smaller then you would find at major University so you have a better chance of asking the Teacher/Professor questions.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you find college a necessity to your future and want quality education without spending an arm and a leg, NPC is right for you. Instead of being buried in the debt of student loans, opt to spend a reasonable amount for a college education that will benefit you just the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many class times and instructors offered to students at the time of enrolment so be sure to create a schedule that allows you to balance college and your life as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Northland is a community college, you are bound to get a great deal, in state resident or not. The tuition is affordable and reasonable and doesn't hit you in the billfold. They even have a comparison calculator on the home page that allows you to directly compare NPC with other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    The NPC campus in Show Low, Arizona (where I attend) is a great area to be. It is a small, quiet town and the college generates most of the activity. With lovely weather, walking from building to building is a pleasurable experience I look forward to.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are smaller than the ones that you would find in a major university. This makes the learning environment much closer and you have the opportunity for one on one interactions with your instructors.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college has a lot of student-teacher contact, which is very good. I love the small classes and the flexibility. If you love small towns, nice people and learning this college is great for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    All I can really tip you on is studying. Do not get behind, the classes are flexible, which makes it easy to fall behind. Just stay ahead and you will do fine, perhaps even complete your coursework early.