Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Seminole State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bowling, shopping

    Food and Dining

    great on campus cafe

    Dorm Life

    i didn't live in the dorms but i have toured. they are new.

    Academic Rigor

    it isn't the hardest school but you will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are prepared for class. come to class focused

    In three sentences

    they have amazing professors. it is small, so you have individualized attention. you will get a great education inexpensively

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun i seminole state college, for fun i join after school clubs and sometimes seat in the library and enjoy the pace and quiet.

    Food and Dining

    at seminole state college food and dining or reasonable and very tasty. anyone who decide to seminole state would enjoy it.

    Dorm Life

    since seminole state college is a college they don't have dorm but if they did i think it would be a wonderful experience.

    In three sentences

    seminole state college is a great college, that cares for every student that attend their school.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New security systems were installed across the campus during the Spring 2012 semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not a member of any of the clubs at SSC because I am a Peer Tutor and I always have a full schedule but there are many different clubs that anyone can join. There is a Psychology club, an English club, there are trip that the students take during the breaks, and a lot of other fun things that you could try.

    Great for these types of students

    SSC is a great school to get your foot in the door so to speak. They have a great Nursing program that is one of the toughest to get into in the state, almost all of their students that get their general education here will move on to an university and do better then a student that goes straight to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    SSC is actually not that expensive. For example I am enrolled for 16 hours in Fall 2012 and I only owe $1838.20 in tuition at least $1000.00 for books and around $3000.00 for my dorm (including meals) but once I go to OSU I will owe 4 or 5 times as much for a single semester

    What to do for fun

    Some of the fun things to do here at SSC would be to hangout in the dorms with friends, go to the movie theater here in town (you get a discount for being a student), go to softball and baseball games, and just chill out. The school has something different going on almost every week that could be anything from a cook-out to a dance, you never know.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Student Union is always good and there is always a variety. The always serve two different types of meals along with many different drink choices, there is also a sandwich bar and two salad bars.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Seminole Nation Dorms during my time here at SSC and I absolutely LOVE it!!!! The dorms are a wonderful place to relax during the day when classes are over, there is a study room on each floor for study sessions and such things, but if you would rather work alone each student has their own desk in their dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the academics here at SSC are valued deeply and mean a lot not only to the students but also to the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, if you wait to long to enroll the class you need or may want to take could be full.

    In three sentences

    SSC has a wonderful staff, they are always ready to help their students succeed no matter the challenge. The professors value the one on one time with their students to make sure they are doing alright in their class. The students are deeply involved with EVERYTHING that happens here, good or bad. ;)

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Seminole State College holds a number of different games each semester, like table tennis, basketball, flag football etc....

    Food and Dining

    The food is great we have a Nature's Table, which causes you to eat healthy but the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm because they do not have any.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to their rules and and deadlines they give you a lot of room to make sure you have enough time to turn something, or they try their best to help you along with the process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply your self in the work that is given to you like you would in anything else and you will do just fine. Try to relax and use the tools that Seminole State College offers.

    In three sentences

    Going to Seminole state college opens a lot of great doors for me. Seminole State College is great with helping kids one on one, and making sure you understand the work. it is a very fun and relaxing campus that I'm privileged to be apart of.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There's little blue posts all around campus you can go to and push a red button in case of emergency and someone will come and help you out if you're in trouble. Or even if you don't feel safe you can still push that button.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined a club, but there is a very wide variety of different clubs you can join. For example, the psychology club, I think there's an anime club, religion and cultural based clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Business students, Science related students, 4-year students.

    What to do for fun

    There's SO many events. They have movie nights, poetry nights, bowling nights, and so much more and as well as clubs. If you're the type of person who likes clubs and to go out and have fun, this is the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    The only good thing there are smoothies and chips. The food there you have to eat in the beginning of the week because they keep it there until someone buys it or at the end of the week.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good course layout and easy to follow and the assignments are college - leveled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate on your work, get it done.

    In three sentences

    I love it here! The campus is nice and clean, and it makes you feel comfortable. The classrooms are very nice and faculty is very nice and make you feel comfortable to where you can approach them about anything.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has pretty decent police presence, as well as emergency pillars around campus. I attend both evening and day classes, and have not felt unsafe once on campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved, and therefore not qualified to have an opinion on the greek side of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I hear from other students, there is a pretty good range of options here. The Business Department is just starting up a branch of a national club, and there's a lot of enthusiasm there!

    Great for these types of students

    Returning adult students will appreciate this school. Tuition is pretty reasonable, hours are flexible, and the teachers are invested in education.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is within what you can get from FAFSA's Pell Grant. Labs raise it a little higher, but I managed 15 credit hours and books for all my classes this semester with money to spare for the lab I need.

    What to do for fun

    Multiple options. School e-mails you early information about things going on around campus. Recently, the cafeteria is doing free-cocoa Thursdays, and we had a hypnotist.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty reasonable, decent selection in campus cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Giving this full ratings, as I've only heard good things from my classmates who live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the hardest classes, but that may be because the teachers care that we pass! Overall, a well-rounded education with extra help available easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started early with enrollment, unless you have a thing for long lines. And when the bookstore opens, be ready with your list of needed items and your financial aid slip, if applicable. Also, make sure your classes are in buildings near enough to each other that you can get from one to another without jogging!

    In three sentences

    I am really enjoying my time in this school. The campus is easy to decipher, the teachers care about what they do, and the tuition is manageable. Wonderful starter school, for graduating high school students and returning adults alike.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Here at seminole state college we have campus activities. we get to attend extracurricular actrivities for free. We get a discount at the movie theatre in town, we have on campus activities such as ping pong and pool tournaments, pancake and pajama night, movie night, school dances, interaction with clubs and recruitment. We get to go to Laser Zone where you can play laser tag, bowling, and/or miniture golf.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is pretty decent. not too bad and is on the level of satisfactory. we haqve chinese food, steak, hamburgers, etc... we also have an amazing breakfast menu , salad bar, and on Tuesdays and Fridays we get to request Omalettes also optional if you would like to create your own waffles.

    Dorm Life

    Here at Seminole State College we have two dorms Roeslers and The Seminole Nation. The Roesler dorm was teh first dorm but is a small compact community with great interaction with your roommates and dormmates. The Seminole Nation Dorms are the Biggger dorms which have three floors, co-ed, boys, and girls. you have a chanec to get an individual room with an extra fee for a couples room.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes here can be advacned but can help you in the major you are trying to fulfill.

    Tips for prospective students

    Interaction and meeting new people is fun amd so the people in the Seminole State Community. Stay Foused and fun.

    In three sentences

    Seminole State is a Fun and Awsome.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    First time I stopped in to inquire, I saw two campus security cars in the main office parking lot. One was getting ready to leave for patrol. A friend lost his cellphone and they found it and kept it safe so he could reclaim it.

    Food and Dining

    With a walmart, a taco bell, subway, mcdonalds, and pizza hut nearby there are plenty of options for students. The Mcdonalds is clean and the employees are friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Not interested in Dorm life but this college has one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't knock small colleges. This one is clean and wonderful!

    In three sentences

    Small and well designed. I had no trouble locating the main office and getting started. The people in the offices were friendly and incredibly helpful!