Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

St Charles Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/18/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always there and they have posts where you can press a button if you are feeling unsafe and they will come and find you and walk you to either your car or your class.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of both! I encourage you to get involved it will make the experience way better!

    Bang for the buck

    SCC is a very cheap college, so incredibly affordable for all the degrees that they offer.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at the college. They have flyers posted everywhere about the upcoming events and they are on the school pages as well and in the bathrooms. There are tons of clubs to get involved in and can even start your own club if you wanted too. Lots of sports to play as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias. The food is excellent and they have a lot of options. There is a lot of tables in their so a lot of room. Most people do their homework while enjoying a snack before class.

    Dorm Life

    Cannot live on campus, although it is in the center of the county and close to a lot of people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are like normal classes. Some will be very challenging so study hard and do not give up! The teachers are willing to help as long as you put in the effort!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk when no one else is! Go to the teachers office hours! Use the Ace Center to your advantage! Bring an umbrella! Join clubs and participate in the college!

    In three sentences

    Smaller school with an inviting feel. Teachers make the classrooms worthwhile and intimate. Students enjoy learning and asking questions.

  • 07/17/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    do not be nervous. typical but true. act like a mature adult here and you will be treated like one with immense respect.

    Campus Safety

    i would say this school is one of the more protected schools i have gone to. not only are there blue emergency posts located everywhere on campus, but there is constant police surveillance here around the clock. walking to class alone i will not pass just one officer, however, it is very reassuring knowing how safe i am. these security men and women are also very friendly and may brighten your day. overall, with the campus security here, odds are, an unsafe encounter may never exist.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be nervous. typical but true. act like a mature adult and you will be treated like one here with respect.

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem. Since there aren't dorms, the latest you should be on campus is 10 pm (night classes). Plus campus security is all over the place.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs, just none that particularly interested me.

    Great for these types of students

    I graduated high school early, so SCC was a great option for me to still be at home before I turn 18 and head off on my own.

    Bang for the buck

    My tuition is less that $3,000 per year, and I'm still taking the same classes as a university that would charge me ten times more.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't really a lot of social activities. They have bonfires and things like that every once in a while, but they aren't very popular.

    Food and Dining

    I've never had hot food from the cafeterias, but they have a lot of options for snacks and grab-and-go food. Plus you can get a free 8 oz coffee if you get there before 9am.

    Dorm Life

    None! They did just build apartments across from campus, though.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a community college; it isn't supposed to be incredibly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to SCC is a great was to save money before you go off to a university. That being said, you should still take advantage of scholarships and grants.

    In three sentences

    St. Charles Community College is not a very social environment. People sometimes talk in classes, but the halls and lounge are mostly silent. However, it's super cheap for a college education.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police everywhere

    Greek Life

    One academic sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots to choose from if you have time.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students, nursing students, undecided students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the student center there is a group of kids who play ninja and yugio.

    What to do for fun

    People watch

    Food and Dining

    They have a cook at the student center that makes good food, but all the food is pricey. It's better to drive two minutes to McDonalds

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Most the classes are very educational.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers. Be active. Have fun.

    In three sentences

    Some teachers are very helpful here and want the students to learn. However, the admissions staff are awful and do not try to help the students at all and none of them are on the same page. Other than that it is a quiet easy going school.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. There are campus police that patrol the area. There are phones in every classroom for teachers to call 911 or campus police if an event of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    SCC offers many activities for the students. There are many organizations to get involved in like foreign language clubs, who often take out of the country trips, as well as a student center where you can relax between classes and shoot some pool. They also have a free fitness center and gym access.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun on and off campus. The town of Saint Charles has the typical suburb activities such as the theatre, mini golf courses, the mall. Saint Charles is also only 30 minutes from St. Louis. The city of St. Louis has many things to offer such as sports games, concerts, shopping malls. Overall there is a fair amount of things to do both in St. Charles and St. Louis.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria as well as a caf�©. So if you don't want a full lunch then you can stop past the caf�© for a snack. There is a wide range of food on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there are many apartments near by for students.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be challenging; however, I haven't had much trouble with the classes. If you push yourself and you put in the effort and work you will easily have success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for your classes early. The earlier you sign up the better chance you have of receiving the classes you want. Don't go into with a negative attitude. Most people make generalizations about community colleges, but SCC is a great place to start out for all those students who are undecided about what career path to choose.

    In three sentences

    Saint Charles Community College in my opinion is one of the best community colleges around. It is academically challenging, but there are many opportunities provided to you, free of cost, to help you succeed. The campus community as a whole has an academically encouraging atmosphere.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to get gen. eds. out of the way or students who aren't sure what they want to do yet. Mostly anyone really.

    Bang for the buck

    It is well worth going to a community college and only paying $1300 a semester for the same education you get at a university for 10x the price.

    What to do for fun

    I sit around common areas with my friends and hang out between classes.

    Food and Dining

    While there food is really good, it is pretty expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There isnt one. SCC doesn't have dorm, but I do think they are considering adding some.

    Academic Rigor

    Most people think because it's a community college that the classes are easy blow off classes and that our subjects like science and math are easier but it's just not true. The courses at SCC are based on the curriculum of major universities and they are just as hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and find as much information for yourself as possible and if you go to ask questions make sure you know exactly what you're asking because it always seems they never address questions you dont even know you need to ask.

    In three sentences

    A good place to start your college education. Although, it can be a frustrating experience. I suggest knowing what you're doing before you get there because they aren't much help.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Had a bad experience with them once. Let's just say they play favoritism with certain students who come from families that have money or some connection with the school.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS OF CLUBS!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who dont know what degree they want yet, or ones who know exactly what they want but want to start with a smaller sized college first to fine tune their skills.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Priced just right and you get the best education you can have for the price. Can be a little expensive if you live outside St. Charles County.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is number 1 on the list. They also have movie theaters in the surrounding area too. The school offers end of the semester concerts by the school's ensembles and different activities such as movie nights as well. There's also an open mic night as well.

    Food and Dining

    Depends what you get, can be cheap or on the pricier side (most I've ever spent is $10, least is like $1.50.) But overall, the grill is great. Only two places to get food though and their both about the same in what they offer on campus. But they have lots of restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Only downside is their math department. Otherwise great all around.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest taking Prof. Davis's Government Class and Prof. Johnson's English Composition class on Edgar Allen Poe. They will make you think but it's well worth it in the end. You learn so much about yourself and the material as well. Prof. Sweetin's Music Appreciation class is a must-take too. She's so funny and a very informative professor overall.

    In three sentences

    Music Faculty is amazing. The professors there really understand their students and work their hardest to help you if you ask for it. There are lots of opportunities if you know where to look there.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see campus security around. They will walk you to your car after dark and there are emergency buttons and cameras around for added security.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from. Very diverse groups in each club or activity which strengthens them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking to get the basics out of the way or to accomplish an associates or other qualifications for the workforce.

    Bang for the buck

    Very well put together programs. Knowledgeable staff, a safe and beautiful campus makes for more bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do close by, like shopping, golf, bowling, exercise in the parks.

    Food and Dining

    The café is ok. A little over priced but enjoyable for a snack between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    It is tougher than high school (as it should be).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the workload but mix classes you might enjoy with the required ones so that you can do your best.

    In three sentences

    Above average instructors spectacular campus and reasonable tuition rates.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very good here. All teachers encourage night classes to walk together and to be safe. Never seen any problems on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get a good education for your money here. The A+ program is fantastic!

    What to do for fun

    They offer alot of fun things outside the classroom for students and families of students to do. The had ice skating one year at fall finals! And a giant snow globe!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has REALLY good food! There's alot of the greasy stuff like everywhere, but if you look for it, they've got good soups in the winter, panini's are homemade and also wonderful service. They have cut back on hours though...

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. I've found the math classes tough, but that's one of my harder subjects. I've retained enough...able to help others where usually I don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn, but come with a relaxed feel. It'll make your experience better. Teachers here love to help and actually teach!

    In three sentences

    Great school, great price, great location and great teachers. You really get a lot of good education, with small class size for your dollars. Teachers are generally ready and willing to help students who ask for help and show initiative.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The offer good and mostly healthy foods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. There is help everywhere at SCC along with the Ace center.

    In three sentences

    It is a really good school. It is very inexpensive and offers a great nursing program! It has an easy to learn campus.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Their food is good just like any other community college.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms at this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would choose St. Charles Community College because they are easy to work with and kind and get all questions answered. They are accepting weather you are a new student never has attended college before, for a mother of 5 children and in your 40's.

    In three sentences

    I would rate St Charles Community College at a 10 on a (worse)1-10(excellent) scale. They have helped me and answered any question I have every had.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of clubs, activities, and functions. Car shows, Comedy nights, and more.

    Food and Dining

    Tad expensive but the food is great and there is plenty of restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but the scenery is very nice and you also have plenty of places to relax and do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention. Do your best even if your not ready. I wasn't ready to start college so I slipped up and now dreadfully regretting it. Always try your hardest.

    In three sentences

    love the scenery. The teachers are decent. The people are nice.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have many campus police that are constantly patrolling the area!

    Great for these types of students

    This college has a variety of students! It is very multi-cultural.

    Bang for the buck

    I think its good to get ahead on your gen eds at a cheaper place!

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful. They have an awesome Cafe that you can get almost anything at!

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    It challenging, but helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say, study as much as you can. Take as many notes as you can. Stay focused!

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice college! The professors are very nice, and are willing to help you do anything to make you succeed! The campus is wonderful!

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had an issue, but security patrols around a lot and sits in parking lots that are a good distance from the buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be if you take classes with a good, experienced professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the professors, not all classes should be too simple. Advisors are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start off your college experience.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling Emergency phones on each parking lot Well lit for night classes

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many to choose from If you want to start a new one, process is easy

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students found here Many opportunities for meet and greet other students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very supportive of clubs on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is competitively priced Convenience of bookstore on campus

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to become involved Student Senate is very active

    Food and Dining

    There are two different locations in which to buy food on campus Nice seating area for students Special promotions from local vendors periodically Free food for students twice annually

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus This may be offered in the future This subject is currently being discussed

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the online classes are self-paced Once you are a student, you can register on line Apply yourself 100%

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your prerequisites carefully before doing your schedule Aim high, and try to go to graduate school Be sure to meet with advising counselors to discuss transfer credits

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus that is clean and smoke-free Classes are offered on campus and on line Teachers are very approachable

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, guards are constantly cruising the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities you may participate including non credit courses such as music, arts and crafts, cooking, fitness, and a whole lot more.

    What to do for fun

    There are pool halls near by and restaurants and further down is the mall with a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of places around the campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor often they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    St. Charles Community College has taught me a lot. If you are going back to school the professors are wonderful and very knowledgable. Their math department is great which is why I chose to start at St. Charles.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We do not have one

    Great for these types of students

    Students that do not know what they tend to major in. Looking to focus only on school, and not school activities, or sports

    What to do for fun

    There is not to much to do for fun around this school. It is really just a place to go to classes, and go home. It i kind of a boring place.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know your major make sure you look into the classes offered, because I did not and there are only a few classes for me to take.

    In three sentences

    I honestly do not like this community college. It is to small and everyone is very unsocial. It also does not have many classes for my major.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at SCC is great! There are phones around campus that you can access them easily virtually any time that you are on campus. They'll jump your car or even escort you to it if you have a later class or would just feel more comfortable doing so.

    Great for these types of students

    SCC is a great place for students that are undecided with their major. Rather than wasting money taking classes you may or may not need, the cheaper classes at SCC offer you a chance to experiment a bit with the kinds of careers they are interested in and take more classes that they want to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Anyone that is unsure of what career path to follow definitely must check out the Career Services on campus! They are a tremendous help and a great, FREE service for all students! They offer information on hundreds of careers and have a specially designed inventory test to help you determine which careers might be best for you. They even offer free help with writing resumes, job interview training, and can help you land a great job, whether it be part-time or a career!

    Bang for the buck

    For how cheap the schooling is compared to major universities, I think that it is an absolute bargain! Being a biology major, the science professors that I have encountered at SCC are every bit and sometimes even more educated and equipped for their position as they are in university.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations on campus. There are also a lot of free events sponsored by certain clubs or departments such as movie nights and festivals.

    Food and Dining

    There are two large cafes on campus, along with many vending machines scattered among the many buildings. The cafes serve pretty good food with a nice variety - especially in the morning during breakfast! The main cafe in the student center is pretty big with TVs, many tables, and lots of open windows to allow for a nice atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    SCC is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    For me personally, my classes weren't any more challenging that what I had expected. Some have described the easier classes as merely being an extension of high school, and I'll admit that I found this to be true with my English 101 class, for example. However, the math program at SCC is rather challenging and I have heard from many students that they had a lot of difficulty with the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I recommend that you do your research when deciding which classes to take and with what professors. If you plan on transferring as I do, make sure you get in touch with some kind of transfer adviser from the college you plan to attend after and make sure that the courses you are signing up for will be transferable so you don't waste any money.

    In three sentences

    There are many friendly faces and opportunities to get involved. The curriculum is up to par with that of many well-accredited universities. There are ample amount of opportunities to pursue different career paths and programs.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police academy on campus, as well as, emergency telephones all over the parking lots. The campus security are friendly, visible, and happy to walk you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    The community college has plenty of clubs to choose from including a Creative Writing Society, Zombies versus Humans, Outdoors Club, and the usual Chess, Game, and Political Parties clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    It being a community college, the tuition rates are low and many of the books for class are either optional or you can rent them for pretty cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Mid Rivers Mall is just down the road. I go there in between classes to watch movies, or just hang out. The campus also has plenty of free entertainment such as plays, movie nights, open mic nights, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The college is right next to mid rivers mall and Highway 94 so there are so many places to choose from around here. There are also a cafeteria and a cafe on campus with good quality food.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but doable as long as you utilize the resources on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help, and to utilize the resources on campus. Everyone is happy to help.

    In three sentences

    Saint Charles Community College has a wide range of helpful resources both for homework and for life. Their teachers are knowledgable and passionate with a strong sense of dedication to their work. I am glad to have chosen them for my first steps in college life.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC's campus is very safe. There are emergency buttons in every parking lot and SCC even provides state certified law enforcement training for men and women who wish to become police officers. You always see a group of police officers in training walking around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to join in on. I personally don't know anyone who are apart of any club or activity.But If you are really looking to be apart of something i assure you find it.

    Great for these types of students

    SCC is a great place for students wanting an accosiates degree. Many older people who are going back to school attend. A majority of the older people are women going for their nursing degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every so often the S.A.G.E club (straights and Gays for Equality) hand out condoms.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to choose from. You can even create your own if you have a certain amount of participants and approval.The only athletics SCC offers are men's baseball and soccer and women's softball and soccer. Personally I'm not interested in what SCC has to offer for fun. When i'm there i go to the library to study,meet up with a friend or wait in my car for my next class.

    Food and Dining

    SCC's cafeteria is filled with fresh foods every day. There are two places on campus to choose from. In the cafeteria there is a chef that cooks your meals from the menu.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers I've had know exactly what their teaching and how to approach teaching the material. They have many years of experience in their field which makes it easier to learn and relate to the material.In almost all of my classes i am quizzed or tested weekly on the materials Ive learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you struggle in math at all don't take a course here. The nursing program is harder to get into because there are a lot of people trying to get in.

    In three sentences

    St. Charles Community College is very affordable. The teachers care about their students and enjoy their profession. The campus has a clean environment that makes your learning and concentration better.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SCCC has a lot of different organizations that you can join with others to help further social networking and team collaborations.

    Food and Dining

    Great cooks at the student center, I actually got to know him personally.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at a community college

    Academic Rigor

    SCCC is not over overbearingly rigorous but it is hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in habits of studying frequently, just because it is a community college doesn't mean it will be easy. Time management is key, as well as being organized. Stay focused and Never give up.

    In three sentences

    St. Charles Community College (SCCC) has prepared me for life at a University. The professors that work at this college are spectacular at teaching and relating to young adults trying to excel. Finally, SCCC is my building block for the next step, they are a great 2-year institution.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Security is always patrolling. They will even walk you to your car if you request it!

    Great for these types of students

    I am a stay at home mom of 4 children. Saint Charles Community College has a variety of class times that meet my needs.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Charles Community College is very affordable!

    Dorm Life

    apartments are availabe accross the street.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor. They are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    This school has great teachers and great students. I am super happy with how my educational path is taking course at this college. I look forward to each semester.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the class times in advance, and have second choices. Go the first day of registration so that you have good choices

    In three sentences

    I believe that this college has some good qualities. There is many classes at many different times. This is helpful to work around your schedule.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the commons area.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the courses that you need to transfer to a 4 year college. Take advantage of the transfer coordinators at SCC. Also, take advantage of the free tutoring available.

    In three sentences

    SCC gave me the foundation I needed to continue at a 4 year university. I found the teachers to be helpful and available. The courses were well taught.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and a cafeteria just depands if u want like bread co type meal or want like a burger or chicken strips.

    Academic Rigor

    Math and science are extermly hard they are secound to Rolla. If one was to successed in there math class should feel very proud of themselves.

    In three sentences

    There is many free tools to take advange while going here universitys do not offer. Close to home and good place for returning learners. Everyone friendly and you get to meet new people but you may also run into people you already know.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers around campus are very quick responding and have emergency phones set up all around campus.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs but not that many activities

    Great for these types of students

    New college students or if you want to stay close to home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On my brakes I always go to the ACE Center and do my work and than go to the gymnasium with my friends.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like St. Charles Community college is pricey.

    What to do for fun

    The only thing there really is to do for fun around campus is the gymnasium, you can go there and play basketball, football, practice softball and baseball, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is over priced and very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to be on top of all your assignments and you have to make time for school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention, attend all your classes, and never get behind.

    In three sentences

    St. Charles Community College is much similar to high school. The teachers aren't really much guidance or help and they tend to get off topic easily. On the other hand the campus is very beautiful.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    St. Charles Community College is extremely safe. Campus police are always in sight and I have never had any problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at St. Charles Community College that anyone can participate in. It is easy to create your own club too.

    What to do for fun

    I play softball for St. Charles Community College and am Engineering Club.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias, one in the Student Center and one in the Cafe/Bookstore. Both cafes have a wide variety and are fairly priced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am engineering major transfer student from Lincoln University of Missouri, I can better gauge the academic rigor of St. Charles Community College. The math classes at St. Charles Community College are much harder and in depth than any other math classes I have ever taken. The general education courses I have taken have been at an average level of difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take a campus tour before attending classes for the first time. They should take advantage of the free printing and various campus organizations and activities.

    In three sentences

    St. Charles Community College is active in its community and cares about its students. The entire staff is always friendly and helpful. I truly feel at home there.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is very friendly and is always looking out for the students best interest. they give all the students the access to safety that is needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs and activities to do and join. also if you do not find something that you like you can start your own club if you would like, which leaves a broad range of options for any student to participate in.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of activities to do around campus at scc. there are aways events being held that students can attend for free and majority of the time even win some prizes or earn extra credit for their classes. plus there are sports teams that students can also join.

    Food and Dining

    the dining halls at scc are wonderful. the food is very good and the areas are always clean and neat. the service is very quick and the workers are always kind. there are also plenty of vending machines in the bulidings that students can grab a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms available at scc, but there are plenty of apartments surrounding the area that students could live in.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the classes are very easy as long as you pay attention and keep up with your homework and the class work. you may need to spend a few hours a week on each class to make sure that you are where you need to be in order to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would make sure that you look at each course description very arefully. it is important to know what the class you are taking is the class that you are intrested in. also make sure that you plan out your schedule ahead of time before you meet with an advisor.

    In three sentences

    i think that scc is a very good school to attend for stuents to get their foot in the door when it comes to starting their college career. the environment is very relaxed but challenging at the same time. the students and staff are all extremely nice and understanding, everyone is attending to learn and help further themselves in their lives.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police officers are on campus at all times and will walk you to your car if you feel unsafe.

    Bang for the buck

    i got my associates degree free (except for textbooks) by using the a+ program.

    What to do for fun

    the activities center has a pool table and foosball table as well as several computers and board games.

    Food and Dining

    there are 2 dining areas on campus and both are pretty great. the cooks will make your food fresh which is nice. the only downside is it's a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is non-existent. there are no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    some classes you can breeze through if you do the work but a lot of the courses (especially math and science) require a lot of time and effort put forth to recieve an a. even after all the hard work you might still not be able to swing a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for the a+ program during high school if you are able. all it takes is 50 hours of tutoring and i think a 2.5 gpa and it will pay for your associates degree!

    In three sentences

    scc is a great community college. the campus is clean and easy to get to. while the math classes here can be challenging and it is a commuter school which means no dorm life, i have enjoyed my time here.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many student activities on campus, as well as sporting events and a gym for recreational purposes.

    Food and Dining

    they have a small cafe on the campus and a few vending machines as well. however, none of the food is particularly great.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes, aside from math, and not very difficult at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour of the campus and meet with a student ambassador. they can give you an idea of whether or not this campus will be right for you as there are many colleges in the surrounding areas.

    In three sentences

    most of the professors at the college are very friendly and willing to work with you if any problems should arise. there is plenty to do in terms of student activities on the campus. the math tends to be a tad more difficult than many other colleges.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all especially if you are wanting to save money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really just the obvious things. Go to class, it's hard to get good grades if you aren't showing up to class or you aren't doing any homework. If you put forth effort and try you'll get good grades. Work Hard.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is the way to go. It is the smartest option out there for people wanting to get general education out of the way without going into debt. Let's be honest after you graduate with your Bachelor's people really don't look at where you got your associates. So why go into debt for something that doesn't really matter, it just doesn't make sense.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. It is a great place to start or continue your education. There are a wide variety of extracurricular activities for everybody. Whatever you like doing other people here like it to. You'll be comfortable and always have people to hang out with and to study. The student center and library are great resources for any college student.

    Am learning a lot

    It is a great learning environment, the Professors are very knowledgeable and helpful. The Professors want you to succeed and will help you in every way possible. I've never been good at math, this past year in my math class i received a high A. The reason I feel I received that grade was because of the way my Professor taught, how she was always dong things in a way we would understand and remember. It is because of the Professors here that i have learned so much.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for anyone who's not 100% certain that a four year college is for them, who want to stay at home a little longer, or who just want more time to think over what they want to do in college major-wise. The staff really makes it easy to transfer to another college in the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a professor search before you sign up for a class. There are some really great teachers here, but if you just mindlessly choose, you won't be as happy.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a community college and not a college 'college', things can get a bit dull on campus. But the student activities office does try hard at making things fun with various events and activities, most that include free food or a chance for prizes.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great! They really take the time to make sure that you understand the information and you pass with the grade that you deserve.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There are several scholarships offered so try for them.

    Am enjoying being here

    You will find it is easy to make friends and feel welcomed and right at home.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm in the music degree program here at SCC, the teachers are top notch, the equipment is exactly what everyone needs. I wish SCC was a four year college because I enjoy it that much. If you need help with your class schedule see a counselor they have been more helpful than you can imagine, they want to help you. The entire staff at SCC are here for the students and it shows.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school was great for students who aren't exactly sure in what field that they want t study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the extracurricular activities they require as much time as you like to put in them and future colleges/employers definitely admire the motivation.

    Bang for the buck

    I had the chance to dabble in a few fields of interest without shelling out loads of money. Finally when I knew what career that I wanted to pursue I was able to use the information from my time at St. Charles Community College, both academic and personal.

    Did enjoy being here

    There were so many activities that one could get involved quite easy. The faculty, and the general ambiance is quite warming. The teachers seem to want you to succeed.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers here were qualified and the class sizes were small enough that you could get answers questioned. The teachers often took time out of their schedules to aid any additional questions after class. The quality of information was not exactly challenging or as in depth as I would have liked. Yet on the contrary I was able to use the skills learned from my time here.