Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Texas A & M University-Commerce Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/19/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The dorms are absolutely amazing! I went to this school to get a tour and I fell in love with the campus. The dorms are really spacy and you have just enough room. It is a walk to get from the dorm rooms to the class but, other than that it is really nice.

  • 12/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THERE ARE COPS EVERY WHERE!!!! OBEY ALL SIGNS AND LAWS.

    Greek Life

    Pretty decent Greek life, they don't only associate with greeks. Most are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various activities to accommodate everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students can thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Firing a cannon off at every touchdown.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth the money you pay, all the staff is willing to help for you success.

    What to do for fun

    The Drunken Mule is the only bar in town but on concert nights its is tons of fun to go hang with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    In the beginning of the semester it is really great and you'll love to eat there however by miderms you will be eating at the fast food places around.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm you are living in, Pride Rock is the newest and nicer of the two freshman dorms with individual bedrooms and a shared bedroom and bathroom. It is not communal like Whitley hall is. Whitley is a 12-story building that is your typical dorm however still not community bathroom, just shared with you and three others.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but many tutoring outlets to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour of the school while the campus is open to get the best feel for how you think you would fit in there.

    In three sentences

    Very good school, all professors wish to help you succeed. It is a very small town with mostly commuters however everyone that lives on campus is very pleasant to be with. Is a little frightening to be outside alone at night.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People complain about UPD quite a bit, but it is also because they are always around! I would still walk with at least another person at night though, you can never be too careful.

    Greek Life

    I'm in Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, the greek life here is good. From what I see it is pretty respectful here on campus. They all throw regular parties or events, and participate on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are certainly plenty of clubs... more than I could list. Just go out and find some!

    Great for these types of students

    Our Music and Science programs are fantastic. Also students that want a small town feel would enjoy Commerce.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lion Statues on campus are awesome, they have some..... interesting background stories that you learn once you attend school.

    Bang for the buck

    Commerce is cheap!!!!! And honestly I have gotten a fantastic education for the price. I would recommend this school to anyone, GO LIONS!

    What to do for fun

    There are bars and restaurants, as well as movie theaters and lakes in surrounding towns. Make some friends, walk around campus, and just enjoy the East Texas weather!

    Food and Dining

    We just got a renovated Cafeteria! It's actually a lot better than it used to be. The food is pretty good most days, my only complaint is that it is not a 24 hour caf.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life is great! The buildings are well taken care of, and there are many apartment options for students. Maintenance is quick and easy to access as well. The only downside to dorm life here is that the cheaper dorms are kind of gross.

    Academic Rigor

    Commerce is a great place to learn with challenging courses, particularly in the Sciences and Music Program. There are Honors courses available, and plenty of opportunities to get involved with research and academics. Each class is what you make it though, pay attention!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pack light! Don't bring a lot of stuff with you to school, you will never use half of it. As far as tips for Commerce... get a water filter and don't choose more than $100 Flex cash on a meal plan (few people ever use more).

    In three sentences

    Texas A & M University-Commerce is a great place to get work done. In a small town feel, there are not a lot of distractions from your studies or the important people you surround yourself with. For some it isn't too far from home, and for others it's the perfect place to hide!

  • 05/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Large campus, but there are lights everywhere to light one's path. I don't walk at night much, but it's always best to have a friend with you. There are emergency posts around in case something were to happen on campus. But nothing bad has happened, so I'm happy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities going on, like the Spanish Heritage Month, Halloween and students dressing up in costumes, and stuff like that. There's an anime club that meets once a week where they watch anime and talk about it. They also do activities like cosplaying, cards. There's also the Fusion Dance Crew where you can learn new dance moves every week. It's fun! I finally learned how to dance the salsa!

    What to do for fun

    There's a gym to play basketball, swim, or simple workout. Activities hosted for special reasons (culture, anniversaries).

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but it gets tiring of being served the same thing every once in a while. At least there are fast-food restaurants around campus, and Braums for dessert!

    Dorm Life

    I've lived on campus for only a year now, and the dorms for freshman isn't that great. I only wish the walls weren't thin. I got a suite (Floors 2 - 4), so only two students for one bathroom. Floors 5 - 12 have one bathroom for 4 people.

    Academic Rigor

    I just went through my freshman year, and so far it's basic classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to do a college visit. I didn't realize Commerce was small, but it's fine with me. Study and do well. Never walk alone at night. Be active and join clubs.

    In three sentences

    It's a large campus with a lot of students with different backgrounds, mostly African Americans--Asian, Hispanic/Latino, Arabian. It's great that you can walk to places--good exercise--and not use a car. I had a car for my second semester, but I hardly used it at all!

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of school and local PD in and around the school. There has been a few reports of people being mugged. Just stay off the dark streets and don't be alone walking around town in the late hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of school clubs and school activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Its not a party school. Now good times are to be had, but don't expect the UT or Texas A&M College station experience. If you come to focus on your degree, its for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Lower cost vs bigger state school Personalized attention from professors and staff Most professors will email you back with in the same day. 60 Miles from Dallas Many different degree programs

    What to do for fun

    rec center, Fishing at Cooper lake (20 miles from Commerce) 20 miles from town is Greenville, more restaurants, movies, a mall (I use the term mall loosely). If you have a ride and the cash, hit Dallas for a goodtime, about 60 miles west.

    Food and Dining

    The campus dinning is very good. They also have a coffee shop and beagle place. Off campus, there is a Mcdonalds, Subway, Bruams, Lone Star (its like Chilis), Taco B (stay away from that nasty place), dominos, pizza hut, a Chinese place, sonic, and an Italian place.

    Dorm Life

    I hear some of the dorms are really nice and some are dumps. Take a tour, and do your research.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you go to class, study, do your work and tutoring, you will do fine. Don't think you can just wing it. The professors make themselves available to the students and there are many tutoring programs. If a student fails, it cause they did not study, go to tutoring, do there work or did not go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    My perspective is that of a mid 30's adult. Come check it out. The college is very affordable and has some very good programs. I hear some of the dorms are a dump, so do your research and take a tour. I would recommend this college for the low cost and personalized attention by professors. The professors and support staff really make themselves available to help students. The rec center is top notch with a large pool, and indoor and out door basket ball courts and an indoor rock wall to climb. Plenty of tutoring for just about all subjects. 60 miles from Dallas. As for the town of Commerce. It sucks. There is nothing to do here. No movies, no mall just a Wal-Mart and a few fast food places. Stay clear of Taco B, its nasty. Not much in the way of employment for students outside of the university. With just a few place that a student could work, and 100's of students applying, the numbers are against you if you will be looking for employment. Best bet is to work for the school.

    In three sentences

    Great college for the cost. 60 miles from Dallas. Small classes, personal attention from professors.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Commerce is a really small town with not much to do. With no cinema, no mall, no big brand stores, joining campus clubs is the best option.

    Food and Dining

    I really wish they had a little bit more of variety. There's nothing wrong with the food itself, however things can sometimes get boring. And though two new stations opened, I really with they experimented with other cooking styles as well.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on where one stays. For instance, I live in the dorms on the other side of the school(Berry and Smith) and I can say that I've never had a problem with the quiet, comfortable atmosphere it gives.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors here are really great and extremely lenient when it comes to turning in projects and papers as they understand that life can be quite hectic for a college student. But as far as the actual work and rigor they give us, it's not that bad. Of course, they want us to succeed in whatever they do, but they remind us that the best work comes from confident people that know how to relax and not worry.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Adjust to the changes of academic requirements-Many people find college work to be too difficult, however, sometimes this is not really the case. The problem is that during high school and middle school we were taught to learn things in specific ways. In college there's many ways to learn things. Find a style that makes you comfortable and make it your own. 2.Take notes!-this is extremely important! Note taking has always been a huge requirement growing up, and in college note taking is the greatest way to get A's on tests and pass your classes. Also remember to find a style of note taking that makes you comfortable and make it your own! 3.Use the library!-Libraries are so amazing! There's literally almost anything you need to know about anything in there! Need to write a report on the Holy Roman Empire Charlemagne? Go research him at the library! There's so much you can do at these places! You can check out books, periodicals, rent laptops, chargers, cameras, etc. 4.Make friends!-also another important tip! As a sociable person myself, I cannot imagine myself without people around me. And it's 20 times better if it's friends. Though making friends with all kinds of people is great, I recommend making even more friends with people within your major since that tends to lead to study groups and study groups are not always about studying hahaha 5.Please do not cram- especially on your finals. That's a big no-no and a huge stressful situation. Be prepared in all you do and study. Whenever you're debating on sleep or pulling an all nighter, sleep is the best option! Let your mind rest instead of letting it crash and burn during your test the next day!

    In three sentences

    The University is so small, however because of that it's so comfortable. Everyone is just so friendly and the school itself is quite precious. Being that it's an official branch of the Texas A&M family, the academics are amazing as well.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe area and campus police!

    Greek Life

    Plenty of options!

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from theater to kayaking!

    Great for these types of students

    -International -ANY!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an observatory on campus that shows movies on the ceiling.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable and rewarding!

    What to do for fun

    Tons of recreation activities.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Great! Wide variety of different living options. Even family housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but fair classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be too hard on yourself if you don't do your best in a class.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college and anyone would enjoy going here. It has a great setting and amazing classes. The staff really cares about you.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are fun activities in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and cafes on campus are excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The high teacher to student ratio makes it easier to get extra help in classes when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always meet with a counselor when creating your schedule or switching degree plans.

    In three sentences

    A&M Commerce has a high teacher to student ratio which is great for a personal touch on your education. They offer a variety of degree plans. Our Education program is among the top in the state.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't walk 2 blocks on this campus without seeing a University PD squad car. there are plenty of checkpoints on ca,pus where UPD can be called to escort a student somewhere if need be.

    Great for these types of students

    TAMUC is a great campus for students who want the big time college experience, without having 300+ students in their lecture classes. This campus is great for the student who wants that small town, friendly atmosphere, but also wants to feel like they have moved out to college.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at TAMUC was just redone and reopened and it is wonderful! Plenty of space for you and your friends to eat together and the food has really improved!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone has a sense of community here at TAMUC (whitely Hall particularly). The way the floors and rooms are set up in the dorms here make it easy to transition from living at home to moving to a college.

    Academic Rigor

    College isn't easy, but college is a lot easier if you put in the necessary efforts. Talk to your professors, join study groups with friends, and use your available academic resources and you will have no problem here at TAMUC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved quickly, campus life gets revved up very fast and the best way to stay in the know here is to involve yourself in campus activities. don't go crazy and join everything, but at least try to get involved with at least one thing. There is something here for everyone.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 67

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Texas A & M Commerce is a very nice, clean, and success oriented school. They are very welcoming, and do whatever they can to ensure you are taken care of.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TAMUC is a great university for students who are trying to obtain a degree in education, agriculture, or engineering. The school used to be, primarily, known for its education program, which I heard is an exceptional program.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't all that much to do for fun in Commerce since the town is in the middle of no where. The university usually has some events going on every now and then throughout the week, the recreation center is a fun place to go when you want to work out or play racquetball or swim, the library is entertaining if you like to read, there are a few places to eat on campus, and the university has quite a few amount of clubs to participate in like - the BSM.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoyed the dining experience, especially with an unlimited meal plan. The cafeteria always ensured that there were various options for food choices every day. If you asked for food to be made a specific way then they would always make sure that your requests were satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    I resided in Whitley Hall this semester, and it had its pros and cons. Some of the pros were the fact that the dorm building was cheaper than the rest and I was able to have a suite (which most freshmen didn't have). The cons were that the fire alarms went off quite often, I was vaguely familiar about who my RA's were, the air conditioning system wasn't great, the building was/is falling apart, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the professors that I had last semester were hard and pushed me to excel in everything I did. They challenged me everyday, and they provided assistance when it was needed. Overall, I was very impressed with the professors and academics.

    In three sentences

    Texas A & M University - Commerce is an exceptional school. The university provides various areas and opportunities to ensure success for the students of the university. The president of the school is actively involved in the university and leaves his door open if any of the students need help or just need to talk, which I love, too!

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus PD is never too far and the university has things that are called Blue Light Stations that are everywhere and with a push of a button you can contact a campus officer to where you are at.

    Greek Life

    I wouldn't know. I not a part of one although since I have friends in greek life, i have been invited to participate in their events and those were fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    once again. CLUBS FOR ANYTHING. (anything that is not shunned on of course)

    Great for these types of students

    for anyone. there are different type of organizations and I'm sure anyone can find one that interest them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hall Of Languages is haunted.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of things to do for fun, for sure, there is always some sort of event going on and then the club is always open and you can always hang out there and do karaoke, play pool, air hockey, or just...hang out.

    Food and Dining

    It's way better than high school cafeteria food that's for sure. ts a buffet style and i have no complaints about the food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, but i don't know how it was for the other freshmen, i was lucky and dormed in the new dormitories that are for upperclassmen only.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic part is hard but not too hard and if you stay on top of your game, the workload isn't that bad. Not easy but not keep you up all night type of hard either.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!!!!! I saw lots of students who thought they could leave everything to the last second and then do it. This is not high school anymore, the teachers will fail you without second thought if you don't do your work.

    In three sentences

    It has so far been amazing. The classes are as difficult as any class should be and as long as you're not a slacker it is fairly easy. the campus is big but not to big to the point that you feel overwhelmed but big enough to where you always can find something to do.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Unsure online student.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure online student.

    Academic Rigor

    Grad school is challenging, its a lot of work that requires your undivided attention and time.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the next town over, Greenville, to go bowling or catch a movie. Attend a local middle or high school game. Become a part of the student body and get involved in greek life.

    Food and Dining

    Dinning is okay. The menu is very repetative and burgers and pizza is ALWAYS offered. Invest in groceries if you want to have a healthy lifestyle.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is simple. They are conviently located on campus and offer various events. The apartments are a great option but if you want to build community go for the traditional dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are of high standards. Professors expect you to be prepared for class before the class session begins. Be prepared to read alot and engage in various projects related to your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If moving on campus become involved because the city is rural. Don't be afraid to ask your professors for help and seek out opportunities to research fields you are interested in. Get involved in the local schools, there are many great things going on there and you can mentor/tutor to make a difference in someone else's life.

    In three sentences

    TAMU-C offers an affordable education. The professors are hands on and the knowledge you gain is often practiced pratically in and out of the classroom. The student life is great and there are plenty of opportunities to get involved.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the campus is very fun to walk around.

    Food and Dining

    all the meal plans offer great food.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are amazing I hear. I have a buddy who is there and he says theyre great.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are spectacular at what they do. they wont leave you behind. they are very straight forward also.

    Tips for prospective students

    for students thinking about commerce I strongly recommend you to go see the campus. its great! take a tour.

    In three sentences

    Texas a&m commerce has been very helpful in helping me get my stuff together. the campus ive herd is very nice. The students are very nice and helpful.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Texas A&M University-Commerce is a University about an hour away from Dallas,Texas. Commerce is consider one of the most afforvable universities with the highest paid graduates.

    What to do for fun

    Many of the things I do for fun is socializing with international students. Here in campus you can join many programs and be involve. In my part I love to work out in the recreational center. It is great makes you want to try even harder.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great totally love it! Feels just like home.

    Dorm Life

    Being part of one of the many programs here campus called FLC my college experience has been great! Love to socialize with my hall mates and make life friends. Just like any college you might not get the best roomate but you do have the option to react the way you want to react.

    Academic Rigor

    Universities rigor is primarily base on the profesor expectations and not the institiution as a whole. Every profesor does it duty to have the spot the have and therefore have to be taken seriously regardless of the university. That being said and based on my experience level of a couple of days my academic rigor rating has to be set neutral.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips based on my personal experience of weeks would have to be first worry about your academics and then your social life. Many of my friends have fallen victim of the distractions offered in college. A distraction is only one when you make it be.

    In three sentences

    In basic terms the school is has an friendly enviroment, student resouces, and scholarship/financial help. The friendly enviroment is visible even with your eyes close simply by feeling the atmosphere at the school. Student resouces are eceptional by making them available to students for example calculator borrowing, message and relaxation room , and much more. Money! Here in Commerce the faculty is ready to help you the best they can it is all in you to walk to their offices.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that need small class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    GYM GYM GYM or a short drive to Dallas

    Food and Dining

    Good dining area, modern and very clean.

    Dorm Life

    Certain dorms are good, other are sub-par.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are willing to help and class sizes are small.

    In three sentences

    Commerce has a small community feel. Staff really wants to help students. School is really diverse.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I was afraid when I first arrived there because it was my first time away from home but it is such a good feeling to know there's people out there looking out for you. The police are usually all over campus, even late at night like late studies at the library, you'll always see a police car somewhere. Safety is very important and knowing that you're safe makes everything easier and possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have what we call The Club at the Rayburn Student Center. It is a hangout place where there's a lot of T.Vs, pool tables, and it's also a hosting place for many activities. Last spring we had our Luau night and we had so much fun with different games, Polynesian dances, Polynesian wear and what's best about it that there's always food at almost every event. It also our movie night theater and FREE popcorn, now that's awesome. Fall semester is usually the best semester because there's a lot of activities with FREE T-shirts etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester we have the International students perform and show their traditional wears, songs, food, dances etc. Last Spring, the Indian Association had an event called The Holifest where we throw colorful powders at each other, never experienced it in my life before but it was so much fun. One of the most attractive locations on campus is the lake right in front of the school. Students usually in the evening would go to the lake to feed the ducks and hang out. We also have churches nearby like the Catholic and other religions.

    What to do for fun

    For Fun? Hm where do I start? We have events every week. There's always something going on. You can never get bored. We gave movie nights, usually Tuesday nights, events and parties hosted by different associations and much much more.

    Food and Dining

    We have a variety of meal plans to choose from and also the times at the cafeteria are flexible. We also have other restaurants and eating places on campus instead of going to the cafeteria all the time. What's cooler than that is that there are certain meal plans that you can use at other eating places.

    Dorm Life

    Everything is well accommodated. The dorms are affordable and worth paying for. We have a lot of activities going on and you'll never get bored. The internet is free and there's also a kitchen to cook.

    Academic Rigor

    Accounting

    Tips for prospective students

    Texas A&M University Commerce is like your home away from home. It is not a big school and you'll easily get your way around. The classes are small too and even better, you get in contact with your instructor anytime. The classes are affordable and there are also scholarships available pertaining to your field of study.

    In three sentences

    It is the #1 school in Texas and #13 in the nation in Teaching Education. It is affordable and easy to get adapted to. The student and the Commerce community are friendly and very supportive.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During orientation I spoke with the Campus PD. He assured me that my safety was their first concern. He also stated that he sent officers to dorms to have sessions with the students about safety on the campus. This made me feel safe knowing that they were available and will to protect and serve.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is available on campus. Seek out which one you desire to be apart of. See what their requirements are, learn about their purpose and what they stand for.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities such as football, basketball, sororities and fraternities. There are many clubs that you can get involved as well. I plan to become a member of the Orientation team and soon become a RA.

    Great for these types of students

    This is school is great for any type of student. The campus has a diverse culture and welcome anyone seeking a quality education. They have something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located in the country as us city folks would call it. It sits on the most beautiful property and is surrounded by several restaurants and a Wal-Mart for your everyday needs. There is a legend on campus about kissing the book on knowledge. It states that if you kiss the book of knowledge that you will graduate successfully with a 4.0. I kissed the book of knowledge and hope this legend holds true.

    Bang for the buck

    Texas A & M Commerce is a great placed to seek a college education. The cost of tuition is very reasonable and with the expansions and additions they keep adding on to the school it makes being away from home a lot easier.

    What to do for fun

    For fun the campus does a lot of events on site. I suggest getting involved in different social groups or organizations. Interact with others and learn new and different things. Get involved as much as you can until you find something that fits your personality.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food on campus in the cafeteria. Depending on what meal plan you select you could try each restaurant available on campus from Mongolian grill, Starbucks, pizza, sandwiches and home style meals.

    Dorm Life

    Pride Rock is the place to be. Make sure you have all your basic needs when you arrive. If you have forgotten anything there is a Wal-Mart across the street. Make friends with your dorm mate because this is the person you will lean on the most. Also get acquainted with others in your dorm as well. These people will become your buddy!

    Academic Rigor

    As a incoming freshman I am looking forward to utilizing the many tools set up to assist me as a student be successful. My freshmen load is only 13 hours, but since the college life is new to me I feel a lot better knowing that tutoring, study sessions and on-line training is available to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus on Main Event days which can be located on their website. Ask as many questions as you can while on tour of the campus. Take advantage of the break out sessions because this is where you learn the most about financial aid and the requirements for being accepted as a student. Also when the admission representatives come to visit your school as them about visiting the campus. Obtain their contact information because they will help you through the process. Best of luck to you! Go Lions!!

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing! The staff is very friendly and shows genuine compassion and concern for the students. My first initial visit to the campus and I knew this was the place I would pursue my college education at.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The caf has its good and bad days. But the restaurants are always a option.

    Dorm Life

    The on campus housing is very comfy and community like. Most are apartment style.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are usually willing to work with you on your work.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for student who this their first time away from home. The staff is friendly, the housing is comfy and the student life is entertaining. And if your looking for a low tuition this is the place for you.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    3 police departments in town.

    Greek Life

    everyones nerdy

    Clubs and Activities

    all sorts of clubs. you name it they got it

    Great for these types of students

    Science majors and teachers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of spirit

    Bang for the buck

    College town, about regular prices

    What to do for fun

    There are tennis courts, pools, rockwalls, clubs, bike rides, horse ridding,

    Food and Dining

    Good food but limited choices

    Dorm Life

    Fun and active

    Academic Rigor

    Are there smart kids yes. Is the school smart ...

    Tips for prospective students

    turn in your stuff. pay attention to deadlines

    In three sentences

    Is like a community. Willing to help you when you become part of the team. big yet small

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I attended school online. I have never been to this campus.

    Greek Life

    I attended school online. I have never been to this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous of activities and organizations in which to get involved. However, I attended school online. I have never been to this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults High school students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I attended school online. I have never been to this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Average tuition and fees for 12 semester hours is under $3000...not bad for a top-notch school.

    What to do for fun

    I attended school online. I have never been to this campus.

    Food and Dining

    I attended school online. I have never been to this campus.

    Dorm Life

    I attended school online. I have never been to this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Those who are attending Navarro College in particular, Texas A&M University - Commerce as a partnership with this school and you can attend classes right on the Navarro campus, online, or both. TAMU - Commerce is part of the Texas A&M University System which consist of 11 colleges. If you attend TAMU - Commerce, your chances of obtaining employment are extremely high due to the profound reputation this school has.

    In three sentences

    A nationally and internationally recognized school that's part of a system with a top-notch reputation. This school offers a quality education at an extremely affordable cost. Online programs are offered for those who work full-time so they can still achieve an education without having to sit in a classroom.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police along with Local Police stay on call and are very helpful even with fixing a flat, or locking your keys in the car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 200 clubs at commerce from Art Club to Zoology Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Commerce is a great campus for any type of student, because there is something for every type of student to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    If you like a campus where everyone is friendly, supportive, nice, and helpful all at a low cost, commerce is the place you would want to be.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, Commerce offers a water park, 3 full sized outside basketball courts, (single rimed), volleyball, full indoor student center with everything from full sized workout room to racket ball courts, even horseback riding and rodeos.

    Food and Dining

    Healthy cafeteria, different food every day. Not the old boring high school cafe, most students adapt to also, there are several choices out around the campus if cafe food is not for you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms, On campus apartments, even Frat and Sorority houses. everything is getting upgraded and revamped. but as of now is still very neat and clean. Rules are enforced

    Academic Rigor

    Commerce is an Agricultural school but have been told that some professors are very stern when it comes to arriving on time, and turning in work on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your going to come to a small town like commerce from a big city area, be ready to get to know a lot of individuals. The environment is more friendly and caring then a big city with lots of people.

    In three sentences

    Commerce is a small town, but the campus makes it look like a small city. Great campus clean and tidy. Students that attend here seem very nice.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I did not get to see Whitley Hall, due to a pipe bust and flooding incident, and as an incoming Freshman that is the most important place I could have possibly visited.

    Academic Rigor

    I am excited about the small student teacher ratio, I can be more comfortable and familiar with my Professors, enabling me to ask more questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is windy so keep a nice warm jacket with you.

    In three sentences

    Commerce has a very long and outstanding history. a nice tight small campus and a small student to teacher ratio. All of these qualities are what have decided Commerce to be the school I want for me.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are friendly and you see them everywhere. They keep things safe and make things easy for everyone.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is huge on this campus! If you're looking for a strong Greek community, you will find it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While this school is part of the A&M system, we are Lions. Not Aggies.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events are usually pretty fun. The Club in the Student Center is usually pretty fun. The Mule is dance hall downtown that is pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall and it is in the process of being remodeled so it has been a little rough. There are other nice options for dining on campus that you can use with the meal plan though.

    Dorm Life

    They are working on updating dorms and building new dorms. Some of the older dorms are run down.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes havent been too difficult so far. Just challenging enough to motivate you to go to class and stay on top of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit before you decide to come here! Small town life isnt for everyone.

    In three sentences

    A small university with just enough going on on campus so that you have choices but aren't overwhelmed with activities. It's located in a small town so there isn't much around the university. It's growing very quickly.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 67

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I heard its just getting the A&M name just for cheap and the academics have a significantly lower rating, is this true?

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Can be challenging at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Counselors are very helpful once you find out which one you need to talk to. Homework can be a bit overwhelming, the key is to stay on top of it.

    In three sentences

    Great online program. Teachers are well informed and down to earth. I am returning to school after 18 years and their ECollege program is user friendly.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not dined on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track!

    In three sentences

    Advisors are great. Teachers are mostly understanding. Atmosphere is pleasant.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are on patrol 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Every major Greeks you can think of!

    Clubs and Activities

    Spirit Den, Archery, Basketball, Football, Soccer, Debate, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There is the CLUB where we have games movies and food. Also we have the MULE which is sort of like the actual club.

    Food and Dining

    We have a wide variety of foods in the cafe. Pasta, pizza, expiditions, classics, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Certain dorms are O.K. depending on what you are used to.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level is very good here. Although I sometimes believe that some students take advantage of the system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make it to all off your classes, skip too much and you'll fall extremely behind.

    In three sentences

    Texas A&M Commerce is a great school for my major (Psychology). It's not too big of a school that I can get lost in, but not to small either. The teachers here are great and are really understanding.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although the city of Commerce doesn't have much to offer, you make do with the university. All the fun happens within the university. University parties every Friday along with all the quest appearances and student parties there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is the spot. The great assortment of food offered is quite delicious. Also allowing the different variety of food throughout the seasons also are another reason why the cafe is such a popular place. On top of the pancake eating contest, pumpkin seed spitting, and decorating cupcakes, the cafe will always be everyone's favorite spot.

    Dorm Life

    Being a freshman, residing only in a freshman dorm, I would have to say it was a great decision staying on campus. The friends you make are one of a kind. The dorms are all located within ten minutes from wherever you need to go.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a Music Major my life is engulfed with tedious amounts of work throughout the year. On top of the Music classes, you also must take the core classes. The teachers will work with you though. The mentors offered on the campus will come in and out of their way to make sure you get what you need in your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    TAMU-C isn't your average 4 year university. The teachers will actually help you out one on one if needed making sure you understand the curriculum to the fullest. TAMU-C is a great school indeed.

    In three sentences

    Texas A&M University - Commerce is the foundation for Music Education. The campus is heart-warming allowing students to really open up to the community. Texas A&M University - Commerce, along with its rich traditions foster great students and chances to achieve more than possible.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is in a rural area and night life is dependent on you and your choice in friends.

    Food and Dining

    Other than the cafeteria your only choices revolve around fast food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Your choice in studies doesn't effect the standard in which the professors hold for the students as well as themselves. They want you to succeed just as much as you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is in a rural area and night life is dependent on you and your choice in friends. Start everything early including becoming familiar with the campus and surrounding areas.

    In three sentences

    They are very student oriented. You will get out what you put into the Texas A&M Commerce experience. The admissions and counselors are very helpful.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus always has security and a the parking lot always has lights on.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel the school is expensive. That is why I am applying for grants.

    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus so I am not sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school with a lot of degrees that will work for anyone.

    In three sentences

    I really think this is a great college. They offer a wide variety of degrees for working students. I would not be able to get my degree if they did not have a program designed for working, single mothers.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really high which is great because the location of the campus is very rural and isolated from major cities.

    Greek Life

    Very present on the campus, I think its pretty neat even though I'm not part of that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much that happens on campus it's really neat. There are always postings of what club is hosting this on whatever date and the planner that's provided has nearly all the events marked in it. There is a lot of events that are seasonal which is pretty neat because the campus feels more welcoming.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for those looking to go into Music Performance or Music Education and also people wanting to be doctors because the biology program here is great.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of sporting events on campus, the recreation center usually has events/classes during the week at nearly anytime of the day, The Club hosts movie nights on Tuesdays, and there is quite a few things to do on campus but not so much off-campus

    Food and Dining

    I was surprised at the food that is served here on campus when I first got here, it is really good to my pleasant surprise and the people that work in the cafe are so nice.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to other universities, freshmen dorm are not the best (especially Whitley Hall) but other than that everyone that lives in the dorms are really open and easy to talk to. Not many people stay on the weekends or in their rooms in general since the dorms are so small.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the most difficult but you will have to put in some effort into your academic work.

    Tips for prospective students

    The university is primarily made of minority groups so don't be surprised when visiting. Do not be afraid to talk to people or faculty here, they are all friendly.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd say TAMU-Commerce is a 7 or 8. Its a quiet campus with a lot of activities that happen. There are a lot of new buildings on campus and for the most part everyone here is pretty friendly and easy to talk to.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 34 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    innovation

    Great for these types of students

    mix education with pleasure

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah

    What to do for fun

    Soccer and Pingpong

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    Great

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Great

    In three sentences

    Great

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. There are police basically everywhere you look, making sure everyone is safe, and there are many emergency systems put in place to help ensure safety all over campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life here is huge, and seems fun. They are always helping with events and getting to know people and are very nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities to go to and join, and most of them are open to anyone. They seem fun to be a part of, and help you become more involved in school.

    Great for these types of students

    A&M-Commerce is great for students wanting to ease into college life, and for any students who like everything being right there for them and being around friendly and helpful people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't heard of any unusual traditions or locations on campus so far. There are a lot of traditions such as spirit week and spirit wednesdays that are super fun, but they aren't unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is very nice, and right there for you. Laundry, rec, swimming, sporting events, school events, etc are all free, and with such a nice campus and friendly and helpful people, it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are always tons of events happening on campus, and they are announced everywhere. You get free shirts, food, buttons, etc. at most of the events and they're really fun. Since it is such a small town, there isn't much to do off-campus. But there's always events and sporting events on campus to go to.

    Food and Dining

    As a freshman, you have an unlimited meal plan, so you can eat as much as you want, as often as you want in the cafeteria. The cafeteria is really nice, and pretty big. The food is pretty good, and there's a pretty wide variety to choose from. If you have lioncash, you can get food from the campus restaurants and offcampus restaurants with your card.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is so much fun. There's always stuff to do and people to hang out with, and the dorms are pretty nice. The RA's are cool, and it's nice having lounges and laundry facilities on every floor.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, classes don't seem too hard, but there is a lot to get done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous. Everyone is so friendly, so just start up a conversation with anyone you see, and have fun! Get a P.O. Box so you can have your books sent to you cheaper, and your family can send you care packages. Make sure to get your financial done as soon as possible, and if you need help, the one stop shop is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    Everyone here is so nice and friendly and very helpful! There are always fun events to go to, people to hang out with, and places to study or get help with classes. There is a multitude of opportunities here, and support to help you reach your goals.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many groups and organizations on campus. Also, they offer a variety of sports to participate in, which always looked like fun to me.

    Food and Dining

    I live off-campus, very far away so I've never been in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus, very far away so I've never been in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are full of information and can get overwhelming if you do not keep up woth them. I don't think that they are so overly hard, though, that they are impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work as hard as you can when you take a course. If you want to re-take a course for a better grade, financial aid DOES NOT cover it! It will be covered if you fail, but you should never aim to fail anyway.

    In three sentences

    I like the convenience of taking online classes, however I find that the courses that must be taken on campus are inflexible. The professors generally respond quickly and will work with you on problems you have. I do not like all the potential holds and restrictions on getting myself set-up for classes every semester.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because Commerce is such a small town and a small campus it is a lot easier for the police to watch over the students and families. The UPD even offers to escort students to are walking from campus to their dorm at night.

    Greek Life

    I'm part of a future petition women's fraternity - Sigma Alpha Iota. Weve done fundraising events like car washes and baking goods.

    Clubs and Activities

    The greeks usually host sporting events like volleyball tournaments and Race for the cure. Then the school student council would throw events like Taco Night, or Salsa night at the Student Center.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oh, plenty... especially the Greek events. There are a lot school spirit parties wich are pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    The easiest way to save money through the semester was eating at the caf... they usually have late night hours until 10 which was pretty convenient during the week.

    What to do for fun

    Since the closest movie theater, mall, and other attractions were 20 mins away, people mainly hung out together and did whatever our little dollars could get us. There were also the college events which were pretty cool and and frequent.

    Food and Dining

    The caf was okay. They had their good days. Most of the time I didn't really enjoy the food except fir the desserts and cereal.

    Dorm Life

    Even though I wasn't in the nicest, most expensive dorm but it was a good size(especially because I was by myself) and I enjoyed living in a building with so many different people.

    Academic Rigor

    My first year I was a music major. I took 18 credit hour the first semester and 17 the second. I thought that was normal until I found out full time for most students is 12 credit hours. But the music program has phenomenal results.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your first semester GPA is the highest you can achieve. It's easier to keep up a good GPA than starting from a low GPA and attempting to work your way up.

    In three sentences

    I think A&M Commerce is great! Even though the school is in a small-town setting, the people and the education are awesome. Financial aid is a major pain in the but though...

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Getting involved on campus is the easiest way to have fun at this university.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has recently expanded to accommodate the growing student body.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen are truly integrated into campus through various dorm activities and locations on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Honors classes offer an optimal academic setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus, it's beautiful! Ask about the many majors the school offers. Look into the many scholarship options this school offers.

    In three sentences

    TAMU-C is an excellent university for students seeking a great education at a low cost. The location of the university is optimal for students looking for a more personal school setting. With Dallas only an hour away, it's close enough to an urban setting yet far enough away to enjoy the country.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 39 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere you turn you see someone who could help you such as a police officer or student aid.

    Greek Life

    All of my friends are the sororities and frats. They really like the atmosphere and the simple fun activities you get to partake in with many other students.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYTHING! Rec center for the ones who love working on and sports. The cafe for the people who love to socialize always many groups there. The library has a great study place where you can hold study groups if you like to study at hte library rather than your house/dorm. There is a place down town a lot of students meet to hang out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have wear your blue/gold day on wend. Some professors if they see you wearing your school colors on a certain day they may award you with bonus points on a quiz/test. They have a few traditions when it comes to homecoming with the football team. I know at the beginning of the year they have many types of activities that go on that are for students.

    What to do for fun

    The rec center is by far the best thing they offer to me. There are many outside organizations for sports that you may join which are really fun as well. There is a bowling alley and a really nice movie theatre right down the road. You are really close to Dallas so everything is at the tip of your fingers.

    Food and Dining

    They have some fast food places and really good places to eat down town. If you request some well known chain restauraunts you could always drive about fifteen minutes to Greenville and visit there they have many places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I havent lived in the dorm there, but I have friends who do and they love it. They really aren't smothered by the R.A. You usually have a good roommate and the overall student is usually very pleased.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good classes and great professors that are well informed and heplful. People are nice and the classes are sometimes a challenge but nothing a well rounded student couldn't handle with some studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are in the right program. Join student activities that are sent through email they are so much fun. The rec center has many things to offer and fun things to do. Come visit the campus, you will fall in love with the place and the student way of life.

    In three sentences

    The staff are very well informed and super nice. The students are very friendly and will help you with just about anything. They have one of the best rec centers i have ever seen.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for new students are to get involved on campus. Make sure you do not rely on one advisor for everything and do not live on campus.

    In three sentences

    Commerce is a great school if you are looking for some serious one on one time with your professors. Our classes are small but there is nothing in this town. Unless you are involved with stuff on campus this place is pretty boring but it keeps you focused on your studies.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety is very excellent.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    When I went to go visit I enjoyed the food and dine.

    Dorm Life

    I believe the dorm life will give me the experience that I need to live on my on and be responsible.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the Academic Rigor will be my basics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Commerce has a very respectable and and safe environment. And I believe Commerce has all the requirements that you need.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1 to 10 I give Commerce a 10. Commerce has a very good environment. And I enjoy visiting.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The recreation center has many things to do. I'm always getting emails about special events too.

    Food and Dining

    Lion Cafe has really good smoothies

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not lived on campus. I have met many classmates that are living in the dorms and they love it!

    Academic Rigor

    Have really enjoyed all my instructors

    Tips for prospective students

    The college is very nice. Take time to learn your way around before your first day of class.

    In three sentences

    I have had great instructors. They have always provided help when I needed it.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 43 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Lots of sororities and fraternies to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful courtyard garden where you can sit on a bench and be surrounded by beautiful greenery and flowers.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is well worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    There is a local lake that is great for camping, fishing, and hiking. The university always has some sort of activity going on for entertainment. The recreational center is amazing!

    Food and Dining

    The food choices are great, I love eating in the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and some courses will test your abilities. Even the most courses are not impossible with hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is very active so try to take advantage of the various activities offered.

    In three sentences

    This is an affordable university with a great atmosphere. I would suggest Texas A&M-Commerce to anyone looking for an affordable, well-rounded college. The professors and staff are very friendly and love to work with the students.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 44 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety seemed pretty outstanding.

    Greek Life

    I did not participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    I didn't get to participate in these.

    What to do for fun

    I would go to friend's houses in Commerce and just have a good time relaxing from the week at school.

    Food and Dining

    I did not have any of the food at A&M. I was not in Commerce enough to be able to enjoy a meal on campus.

    Dorm Life

    This year, dorm life for me was not all that great. I had a MESSY roommate and this was the last semester for me staying in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    This first year here has been rather difficult for me. Not just because of the classes, but also working full time an hour away from school. So the academic part has not been as easy for me as it usually is.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to stick to the books, but don't study yourself to death. Make sure you still have a life while keeping on top of your school work. Make sure you are able to balance life and school and you will be just fine.

    In three sentences

    Texas A&M University-Commerce is a great school to attend. I have loved it so far and plan on finishing my degree here. I recommend it to anyone looking for a college to attend.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 45 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I wouldn't walk alone at night...

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a small community. I loved it at one point when I was younger, but now that I'm a senior, I've grown out of it a little bit.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an extremely wide variety of clubs for all students. Anyone can find something to join!

    Bang for the buck

    It's the cheapest school around, and you get a pretty good education.

    What to do for fun

    We typically go out to a bar called the Mule. We go for the dancing. There's not a lot to do in town because it's so small.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really hit or miss. It's mostly a miss.

    Dorm Life

    They have great dorms for freshman, honors college, and seniors. If you're anywhere in the middle, you get stuffed into the worst dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My courses are easy, but I learn from them. They don't try to over-challenge you. Your professors want you to pass! Nobody is TRYING to fail you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. This campus is so small that you have to be a part of something in order to get out and be social.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school with many opportunities to get students involved. I love having small classes with easy access to the professor's advice and help. The classes are well taught and I learn a lot in each of them.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 46 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have no experience in campus safety on this campus.

    Greek Life

    I have no experience in Greek life on this campus.

    What to do for fun

    I have one child and one on the way. My idea of fun is a good nights sleep and a date with my husband.

    Food and Dining

    I have no experience in the food and dining at the school either.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience in the dorm life at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really hard if you do not take the time to do your homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Motivation to finish school is hard to keep, therefore when you have some motivation use it wisely because it is hard to keep.

    In three sentences

    The online Business Administration degree is really hard. It takes a lot of concentration and dedication. The teachers are really nice and are willing to work with you.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 47 of 67

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out to the movies, chill with friends, go to the rec, go to the pool.

    Food and Dining

    Tha cafe food is good at the begining of school was good but once school goes along it get nasty.

    Dorm Life

    The housing at this school is very bad. They have bed bugs in two resident halls. And they hosing is very old.

    Academic Rigor

    The education that is taught here is good. The classes have a nice size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visite the school efore you pick to attend here. Stay in your books and do not get side tracked. Dont get invovled with drugs

    In three sentences

    Commerce has a good education facotr. The school is diverse. The size of the classes are a plus for me.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 48 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is a well trained staff of campus police department. The arrival time at a location is very quick. Also, there are a number of emergency call stations located throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    We do have most of the major social Greek organizations on this campus. The Greeks often work together to put on campus activities and parties. Fraternities and sororities that are service or professional can also be found on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a huge number of clubs and activies on this campus. Athletic clubs such as running club and climbing club are popular. Each department has a number of career related clubs and societies such as wildlife society and Pre-Vet society for the animal lovers and accounting club for those interested in numbers. Activities on campus are fun and often involve free food and tee shirts.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for music education majors, agriculture majors, business majors, education majors as well as anyone looking for a university to do undergraduate or graduate research under professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a small pond on campus named Gee Lake. It is home to some interesting wildlife, most notably the ducks and geese. These birds are friendly and are used to people feeding them.

    Bang for the buck

    Texas A&M University- Commerce is currently the most affordable university in the state of Texas. You wouldn't know this by how wonder this university is all around.

    What to do for fun

    Many of us play soccer, football, or softball on the university campus recreation park. Our Greek organizations through parties and the campus puts on events such as international festivals and organized 5Ks.

    Food and Dining

    The food in our cafeteria is significantly better than many other university cafeterias. Our food is good and there is a health variety from vegetarian menus to fish and steak and things funnel cakes and sushi.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life isn't known to be as exciting as other larger schools. With that being said, dorm life is what you make it. The dorms are nice and the rooms are larger than most schools. Single rooms are available and our campus offers traditional style dorms as well as apartment style and family housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The material is the same difficulty as any other A&M school. And the education you get here is the same quality as TAMU because our professors are held to the same standards and the teaching material has to meet A&M board approval. However, the acedemic rigor seems less than A&M because of our close and personal interactions with our professors and graduate assistants. Honors programs and classes are offered to those that what to be challenged deeper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on campus during the weekends if you really want to get a good college experience. Go to the football to support the team, they could use it, and also to hear and see a wonderful top notch marching band.

    In three sentences

    A university with a good student to professor ratio. A university that focuses on high achievement of their students. A nice quiet community in beautiful East Texas.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 49 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Future teachers; Agriculture majors; business majors.

    Bang for the buck

    As I said above, they offer a lot for the money. Good classes, programs, and faculty. Financial aid staff are helpful, too.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities on campus are varied and offer something for everyone. Football games are also fun.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there. This is only given because I need to mark something.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live there. This is only marked because the response is required.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to staff in person! They are slow to respond via email, and you might get voice mail if you call. However, they are more than willing to help if you ask for something in person!

    In three sentences

    TAMU-Commerce is working hard to expand their graduate programs. In recent years they have increased their online and distance learning programs greatly. They are a great value for the price!

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you are a student who works full time, has a full time household, or just need a web based education for a wonderful college, texas a&m provides many degree plans that can be completed online for a higher education desired in this every changing economic world we live in.

    Bang for the buck

    college is expensive, but in comparison to other universities in texas, texas a&m commerce is affordable and provides a welcoming atmosphere make any student feel at home.

    What to do for fun

    texas a&m commerce has daily, weekly and monthly activities to get every student involved in a wonderful and fun campus life. sports complex, theater presentations, and a hard knock boot camp will provide any student at texas a&m a wonderful, exciting time.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall at texas a&m commerce serves a variety of food and had an excellent staff to ensure good nutrition is provided to each student.

    Dorm Life

    dorms at texas a&m are great. there are new and traditional dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    courses at a&m commerce are presented in many forms such as face-to-face, internet, distance learning and other options that fit the need for all college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    contact texas a&m commerce for a feel of a great college with the small town atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    texas a&m commerce has a great academic variation of courses. full range of web based and online courses for the full time working or the full time parent going back to school to get a degree. excellent instructors who have genuine concern for student accomplishments.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police patrolling 24/7. and emergency buttons located around campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of activities. but they don't come to you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the is a bong fire every year. it is located on campus and by the grave of mr. mayo himself.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    join organizations! they are lots of events happening on campus. but its up to you to actually participate.

    Food and Dining

    great food on certain days. don't like anything, there's always burgers and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    lots of people to interact with. most people are friendly. but don't make your neighbors mad.

    Academic Rigor

    there's homework almost everyday and write it all down. not too hard but it can pile up quick.

    Tips for prospective students

    know how to manage school work and social life. school work should come first. join organizations to come familiar with people around campus. always have an open mind about anything. don't prejudge.

    In three sentences

    the campus is in a small town. the roads are horrible. but walking to class saves a lot of gas and time looking for a parking spot.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police makes sure that crime is out of the way by patroling and enlightening students on their safety

    Food and Dining

    good services, good choice of healthy food

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is a good experience because it comprises of students from different parts of the world

    Academic Rigor

    this is rated excellent because this university makes sure every student is carried along and out of illegal acts

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should follow up on the internet as to their admissions and ask questions on anything at all.no question is stupid

    In three sentences

    texas a & m-commerce is a standout university, the staff and students are homely and encouraging, ready to assist a troubled individual. the lecturers and professors go an extra mile to see to the assimilation of thier student. the slogan for this lion strngthened university should be making life easy.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    especially great for education majors or students who wish to pursue teaching; tamu-c was originally a teachers college and has since been adopted into the a&m system, but the legacy of great teacher education has stuck. also great for students who wish to study history, art or science.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    each wednesday is blue & gold wednesday (or spirit day) to stir up spirit for tamu-c's school colors.

    Bang for the buck

    tamu-c is a great university with experienced professors and faculty at a relatively reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    campus life is exciting and there is always something to do when classwork is done. organizations on campus are constantly hosting events such as movie nights, dances, cook-outs and fun activities to help students relax, de-stress and have fun with the college experience.

    Food and Dining

    our cafeteria is catered by an outside company and offers a wide and ever-changing menu. there are also several areas and shops to eat at on and around campus.

    Dorm Life

    some buildings are older than others, but each are clean, safe and comfortable for college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    you will not need a car unless you have to commute; every building on campus is accessible in less than a five minute walk. also, do not be afraid to utilize the knowledge and friendliness of your professors. most if not all are incredibly accommodating and willing to work with you.

    In three sentences

    tamu-c is a small campus but has a big heart geared toward making students feel welcome, important and well prepared for life after college. our university is in the process of expanding to better meet the needs of students and is steadily becoming an campus welcoming for international students. faculty and staff are always willing to help students succeed and are overflowing with knowledge and experience for students to take advantage of.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 54 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food we tasted was delicious.

    Dorm Life

    i dont really know beacause i dont attend the school.

    Academic Rigor

    according to their requirements and the calss we visited it was really interesting they are engaged in student learning.

    In three sentences

    texas a&m commerce is awesome. i visited it in december and they were very kind. the campus is beatiful and extremely safe. i would rate this school a 9.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 55 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, but don't get too caught up and remember to study hard!

    Am enjoying being here

    There's not a lot to do in Commerce, but there are several events that go on around campus that are fun and the rock wall is super nice!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are tough and definitely take a lot more work than High School.

  • 12/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is whatever you make it to be. There are a lot of activities to help you get involved or you can choose to connect with a smaller circle of friends. Whatever you decide, be sure to reach out whenever you need help because it's always there if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to take advantage of all the events and opportunities that are planned for students because it will help you get connected with people who help you succeed. Find study groups and make sure your instructors know who you are. I have found that instructors tend to pay more attention to students who demonstrate a serious interest in doing well in school.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very comfortable at this campus even though I could have chosen a couple of other schools to attend. Overall, the close proximity to my hometown, having a lot of familiar friends, the cost of tuition and fees and a nice campus that's not too big or too small makes TAMU a good school for me.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I arrived on move-in day, the upper classmen were extremely friendly and helpful so I felt very welcome at TAMU. I discovered that quite a few of my friends from home are attending TAMU so I felt very comfortable right away. I was lucky enough to get into a brand new dorm and my roommate is a good friend from home.

    Am learning a lot

    I came from a high school environment where students were required to be independent and develop effective time management skills. This has helped me adjust quickly to the college environment and it's been a very enjoyable first semester!

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 57 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is just amazing. There's not much more I can say!

    Did enjoy being here

    I absolutely ADORE Commerce! The people are really nice and there are so many activities to get in to. I personally, was apart of the New Beginnings Multi-Cultural Gospel Choir and loved every minute of it! From the late nights watching a football game in THE CLUB to the late-night food runs to Taco Bell and even the feeding of the ducks and geese...This school is awesome! I miss you guys very much, and I promise you, I'm coming back!

    Did learn a lot

    Just study hard, and dont party too hard!

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 58 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    I love going to A&M Commerce...Go Lions, The teachers are wonderful and make learning fun. The use of technology in the classroom is very benificial and having my own email works so that you can seperate school things from others. Yeah no spam. If you want to go somewhere that the teachers work with you and challenge you then this is the school.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 59 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school was perfect in every respect!!! Great campus, WONDERFUL staff, price is right. I had my heart set on Commerce until I stepped into the art department. :/ Not the right place for me. The head of the art department chose to display art that was pornographic and offensive to me, I'm not trying to be squeaky clean about my choice of art departments, but there definitely were some weird things going on there. Otherwise everything about the school was right, I would consider going back and looking into a business related graphics art, but only as long as I had as little interaction with the art department as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Don't bother with work study, a real job around town is more worth it - The staff and professors are welcoming and friendly, they made me feel as though I belonged and was more than just a number - If you plan to transfer into one of the art programs, don't get your core classes out of the way in your first two years... the studio art classes will pile up and make it nearly impossible to get through a semester. This was a gem of advice from a professor when I visited :)

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition seems like a great deal for such an awesome university. I don't buy the advice they give about work-study opportunities though. :) In the financial seminar I attended, the person was giving out estimates of what you could make while taking advantage of work-study and I calculated it out to be around 2 to 3 dollars per hour.

    Will enjoy being here

    Commerce is EXTREMELY small, but it has all the necessities! All the restaurants and stores are within walking/biking distance and campus is very cozy with all the buildings where you need them.

    Will learn a lot

    I attended the Mane event this past March and the professors that were available were friendly, helpful, and gave me many tips/new student advice that made the trip more than worth the four hour drive.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 60 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    biology students and business students would love this school

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for the honors program as it is a very good program

    Bang for the buck

    The money you will spend at this school is very worth the dollar. For the great education you get here, you will be very satisfied with the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Thanks again to the honors program, I quite enjoy being at this school because of all the interactions and friendships that I have created there already. This school is a place where finding friends is easy and fun to do.

    Am learning a lot

    As a member of the honors program here at Texas A&M, I have been in very challenging courses that have taught me well in the areas of study I need. The professors on campus are second to none and they are always willing to help.

  • 06/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 61 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, Commerce is a great school for every type of student. If you like living in a smaller college town, this is the place to go. It's also a great commuter school, although I live on campus. We also have an Honors College if you are into that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for everything early. Stay optimistic. There is much more at Commerce than meets the eye. There are so many opportunities here and things to do! Most importantly: get involved. Get involved in something, like an organization or club. It will make your college experience amazing!

    Bang for the buck

    You are really getting your money's worth here! Commerce is so much more inexpensive than many other schools. Before you choose a college, think about how much money in student loans you'll have to pay off after you graduate. Commerce is great in that aspect.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to college here! There's always something to do (despite the common misconception of Commerce being small). You don't need to be in a large town to find things to do and to have fun. The best times are when you're with your friends hanging out and doing whatever.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned more than I ever imagined while I've been here. Personally, I believe the history and political science professors are outstanding.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 62 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't want to worry about huge debt but want a 4 year school, this is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The housing sucks. Tour them first. New housing is also being built now, which may be an improvement. Also, the campus uses soft water which will make your skin feel slimy after showering and tastes nasty in the fountains. I'd recommend sticking to water bottles for drinking purposes.

    Bang for the buck

    This school doesn't cost nearly as much as other schools but you'll see it when you realize that buildings are falling apart all over the place. They are trying to remodel and build new buildings though, so in a few years this should improve.

    Am enjoying being here

    There isn't much to do around here. They try to keep it kid-friendly since they have families here and it's a commuter school. It's pretty low-key.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here aren't bad at all, it just depends on the teacher. Most students don't seem to have much of an issue getting through the majority of their classes.

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 63 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're a student who is accustomed to a small environment, this is the perfect school for you! You will be able to get an abundance of assisstance just by asking one question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, prepare yourself during your senior year of high school because your parents won't be here to help you. You will have to do everything on your own and be responsible for your own actions. I believe that any prospective student will be successful at TAMU-Commerce by staying on top of your work, being well aware of grade and be willing to have fun all at the same time!

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, TAMU-Commerce is well worth your money. Simply because they have so much to offer! There are no expenses for tutoring or any assisstance in contrast to other universities,the housing is worth the cost, and also the meal plan, which most people are worried about is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being here has given me the experience of being on my own, seeing the reality of things, and actually realizing that if I truly want my success I must continue to go after it. I enjoy being at TAMU-Commerce, because it is a welcoming environment, I have made it my home away from home, and I have adapted to the differences. Initially, I thought it would be different, being that Commerce is in the country, but it is way better that I expected it to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Attending TAMU-Commerce, has taught me how to be more responsible for me. It's been a challenge for others, from what I've noticed. However, staying on task and completing all of my assignments and having the turned in before the due date has kept me more accomplished that I imagined that I would have been before.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 64 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any really, If you are pursuing a career in biology or any degree it has it all medical, law. It is a small town and there is nothing here. resturants close at midnight or sooner. There are a lot of young people as well as old that live around here. There is a lot of foriegn exchange students which is neat to see. but most importantly dedicated students. It takes hard work but if you have the motivation then hey come on down we will not turn you away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour and ask lots of questions. I did even is they sound silly ask them anyways. If you like the campus apply early and put your housing depoit down early. like before december or you will be staying in smith hall which has community bath rooms. Whitley hall does not, however it is a 12 story building. So when there is a fire drill I feel sorry for you. The university offers an honors program, I recommend applying so you get the best rooms.

    Bang for the buck

    It really is a bang for your buck. The cost is reasonable, the classes being small and you get free tutoring for math, science, english, and much more. They really care about you, from the people in your class to the lunch ladies in the cafe or the maintance guys. If you are having a hard day you can go to the counseling center. Sit in this big massage chairs and it relieves all your stress and you feel so amazingly relaxed. Book cost is average I would say, but you can not beat the recreation center! That place is wow.. will blow your mind. Courts of all kind to play on, also a gym and workout stuff, a track that is up above the courts and as you run you can look out and see the campus. I can not forget that 40 foot rock wall though, I love to climb and now I am certified to belay people.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my room mate we are best friends and I go to her house, visit her family and now I am like a part of their family. People hang with everyone else not many people have there own click of people. You can go to the cafe and instantly be surrounded by lots of people and it does not matter if you are a freshman or a senior. I get along with aln=most everyone here. I love this campus so beautiful. the maintance people keep up with everything.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are really small which is great for me because I grew up in a small town. However, there are a lot of students that go here are from Dallas Texas. Big or small if you get involved it never gets boring.

  • 07/10/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 65 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students from a small town

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely research the Honors College, it is a great program, and if accepted, it is free!

    Bang for the buck

    Texas A&M Commerce is no more expensive than any other University. If accepted into the Honors College, a student will receive a full ride, including an apartment (not a dorm) in an apartment complex reserved only for honor students.

    Will enjoy being here

    I personally think I will enjoy being here. I like small towns, and the whole student body is like family, due to the size. There is a brand new student center, a gym, a pool, and many school organizations to join.

    Will learn a lot

    I am currently looking into the Honors College at Texas A&M Commerce. Students are required to complete 21 hours of honors classes by the time they graduate, and complete an honors thesis on any subject they choose by their senior year. All in all, education will be eminent.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 66 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who come from a small town Texas Country

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus and residence halls before you decide to attend this institution, make sure you drive around town to see what there is do, and ask a student what it is like first hand.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is great but it is in a very dull and not very technologically advanced city. The closest enterntainment is 15 mins away in Greenville. The key to is to really get involved in campus organizations.

  • 07/01/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 12 people found this review useful. 67 of 67

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Texas students

    Tips for prospective students

    great art program

    Will enjoy being here

    The dorms are horrible. They are worse than a cheap motel! They are really dirty and the security is terrible. The college is in the middle of nowhere.