Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Alberta Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/27/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe. Street lights everywhere and secuarity 24/7. During midterms and finals, I stay in the library until 2 am and I still feel safe. You would be surprise how many student pretty much live in the campus libraries during exam weeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs. Something for everyone. I'm in nutrition and we even have clubs where we teach eachother about cooking from different countries and how to make cheaper, more nutritious meals. We have yoga clubs, chess clubs, language exchange clubs...List goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious students. Also for students interesting in B.Sc.Nutrition and food science or Dietetics because this in the only Uni in our province that offer that bachelor. By law, you have to finish your dietetics internship in order to work as a dietitian in Canada.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have some 2-3 bars on campus. Apparently one is secretely hidden somewhere. I haven't found it yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing professors and a lot of extra 'after-hour' help in specific courses that most students struggle with.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of student clubs and athletic clubs to get involved in. We have a HUGE gym, a amazing award winning climbing wall.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of food to choose from, but mostly fast food. We have 1 salad bar. We have open dining rooms with microwaves everywhere and I usually bring my own lunch and heat it up to stay healthy and save money.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what courses you are taking. I'm in science and some courses its pretty tough. I didn't do it before I started, but learned from other students, to research your professors on ratemyprofessor.com. There you can find out if they are tough graders, how many tests they make etc. I will use this while planning my next years schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. If you are an entrance student, visit your faculty at campus and ask about entrance scholarships and bursaries. They have a lot of them and they often never gets claimed because students do not know about them. I also missed this. If you have any questions about anything, email or visit StudentConnect on campus. I probably went there a 1000 times before my first day.

    In three sentences

    Good if you want to continue into grad or research. A lot of student clubs. A lot of help centers for "tough" courses. IE. statistics, calculus, general chem, organic chem etc.

  • 04/28/2017

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Its darn good...thats all i wanna say...

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe. There are libraries that are always open and students study there through the night. There are individuals that volunteer to escort you to and from the public transportation if need be. And most students feel at peace when they are surrounded by company at night.

    Greek Life

    I have attended a few activities and I went once to a corn maze. This was fun and I met a lot of new people. The Greek life is a place to bond with amazing people and explore activities together.

    Clubs and Activities

    Figure out what you are passionate about and be active in that club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love research, there are a lot of opportunities here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes the school tries to break record. One time, I was part of people that helped in breaking the dodge ball record for the highest number of students participating in dodge ball.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe most people should develop a healthy relationship when it comes to failing. Because a child doesn't know how to fail. You should focus on times where you excelled and believe you are that person. School can be challenging and most people might feel overwhelmed. But it has helped me when I go into a class without fear and doubt and learn the material. You don't have to love a class to do exceptionally well in the class. Know the objective of the course and follow instructions. Also, it will be good to talk to professors, they are likely to know about the hidden job market and opportunities and they have a better experience. Lastly, don't be afraid to try something new. Change is constant and one action can lead to various doors of opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student groups. Join! Meet people at conferences or seminars

    Food and Dining

    I try to eat home made food as much as I can. Although the food varieties are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm life experience depends on where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    Didn't like the biological sciences faculty. The classes are challenging to understand for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan or an idea of courses that you want to take. Know where you are heading. You don't want to be discouraged or annoyed when an unexpected event happens. Surround yourself with those that will encourage you and are like minded.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of international programs which is good for students that would like to travel. The classes are usually big for science classes. It is a research school.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a great school, that offers a variety of programs. They aren't the best at accepting transfer students. Beautiful Campus!

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just hanging with friends around campus is a lot of fun especially if you dont get to see them often.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good here but sometimes the service is lacking.

    Dorm Life

    Ive never seen a dorm room yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely loaded with homework every day

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to sit close to the front for lectures as it is much easier to focus and pay attention when sitting close whereas falling asleep in the back.

    In three sentences

    The University of Alberta is a great environment for learning. The teachers are very nice and super interactive with the students. This university is also filled with many engaging activities that is sure to build school spirit.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    As a member of the Greek community, I have nothing but good things to say about the UofA Greek community. Wonderful people, none of the stereotypes that one would assume.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great range from Greek life to manga.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically focused, math≻ience types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Monday night at the Hudsons on campus, fraternities and sororities get together after meeting for a pint.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best schools (top 4 actually) in Canada, you are paying for a great education.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!

    Food and Dining

    There are the usual choices; tim hortons, edo, etc. Nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    From my friends who live in lister, they just complain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and try to buy your books off of other students rather than wasting your money at the book store.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful professors and students, good atmosphere but little university spirit.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is giving quite a good education at a not so expensive cost. From what i remember it was 14,400 a year for everything for a resident. Which is very cheap in hindsight.

    Food and Dining

    The food court there had quite good food. I got coffee from a shop in there and it was extremely good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not really like the dorms, the building i went into had stone walls, and it just was not very pretty. I did not like the floor lobby much either :/

    Academic Rigor

    From what i have seen it is quite a good school with academics, while you dont need a 4.0 to get in, good grades are required.

    In three sentences

    It is a fairly nice school. I like that it is in the middle of the city, and most of the buildings are very nice.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Research club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The discipline nature of students on campus

    Dorm Life

    normal

    Academic Rigor

    very good

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a young graduate who wants to pursue my masters degree in Business administration.

    In three sentences

    90 percent in educational excellence.