Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Community College of Rhode Island Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/30/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there a campus police that walk around the campus. there hasn't been any danger at ccri and is a pretty safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities here at ccri. it would be nearly impossible for you not to find out that you couldn't get into. as i've said in my other reviews, there are several opportunities for people to take.

    Great for these types of students

    there are many different types of students here at ccri and there is a place for everyone here. as far as i've seen, everyone is nice to everyone else and helps each other out. anyone who is kind and loves making new friends will love it here at ccri.

    Bang for the buck

    ccri is the cheapest college in rhode island after all! and you get a lot of free resources that will help you succeed while you're here! all of the counseling is for free and there is even tutors! (which is free too)

    What to do for fun

    there are clubs, a student union room, cafe, a gym, etc. ccri is also surrounded by several stores that people can go shopping at if they feel they want to do so.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria here that has a lot of choices to choose from. the food here is really good and is fairly cheap. there are some things that can be on the expensive side but that is usually the chef special. the chef special changes from day to day and the food is prepared right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    as far as i know there aren't any dorms at ccri

    Academic Rigor

    i feel as though a lot of students do try. you will find some students that do what they need to do or students that hardly get by. there are several resources that are available for the students to help them and achieve a good gpa at the end of the semester!

    Tips for prospective students

    always go to class! a lot of professors take attendance and you could miss out on crucial information that will be on your exam! also if you miss a certain amount of classes, your grade is dropped. so if you can, always try to make it to class! get to know the resources that are available to you join a club and make some friends! college is more fun when you have people to talk to! always take extra credit. not many professors offer extra credit . . . so when they do, you can't take it for granted because you never know when those few points will come in handy. a majority of the time they have saved my grade when the professor moved onto harder material! lastly, don't do your schedule back to back. i did that my first semester of my freshman year and i wanted to die. space them out so you give yourself some time to absorb the new information, grab a bite to eat, or even study!

    In three sentences

    it's the perfect college if you like small colleges and cheap tuition!

  • 06/16/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    credits transferred from the previous community college i attended without an issue. placement tests are required in order for core curriculum to transfer, which is understandable. i experienced no issues with this process. if i had any complaint, it would be that only the credits applicable transferred, so i am left with other credits completed but will not show on my transcripts.

    What to do for fun

    i have had a lot of fun, and i have learned a good amount as well. there this lot of clubs and programs.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has really good food options, the cooks are really friendly too. delicious veggie burgers and quesadillas, all kinds of sandwiches they make right in front of you, pasta salad, and different daily specials .. the head of the cafeteria even listened to me about cooking sweet potatoes again when i said how much i liked it!

    Dorm Life

    the most affordable school to get your gen eds out of the way, save time and money!

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers at this school are very open to questions. i have been comfortable to approach them with all of my questions. the class sizes have been a good size to welcome class discussions. i wish that the semesters could be longer so that we would be allowed more time on the subjects but with what time given the use of it is very productive.

    Tips for prospective students

    the community college of rhode island is a great place to start to figure out your major. staff is very much into what they do, and are very hands on. there is also a lot of clubs to join where it makes everyone feel welcome, because there's a place for everyone! i recommend this college to everyone who want to study and at the sometime not spend a lot of money.

    In three sentences

    i love my education at the community college of rhode island, the teachers have been very real and helpful, the students are friendly and unbiased. i enjoy coming out and believe that knowledge is empowering. the more knowledge you obtain the more marketable you are to the work place. ccri has given me the wonderful opportunity to grow and better myself as a person while allowing me to explore different fields of study

  • 05/24/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    this college is a great stepping stone straight out of high school or even going back to school later on in life because it attempts to bridge the gap between what you know and what you should know once you graduate.

  • 12/29/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to save money!!!!!!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All the anime nerds hangout together in both the Lincoln and Warwick campus. They hog the TV, but I think its cool they stick together like that. They're all really friendly but they separate themselves from the rest of the student population. Its very strange and interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    The most affordable school to get your gen eds out of the way, save time and money!

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs though I was never a part of one.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has really good food options, the cooks are really friendly too. Delicious veggie burgers and quesadillas, all kinds of sandwiches they make right in front of you, pasta salad, and different daily specials .. the head of the cafeteria even listened to me about cooking sweet potatoes again when I said how much I liked it!

    Dorm Life

    There is none

    Academic Rigor

    It's what you make it. You can get by if you want, but it will affect your GPA

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers and fellow classmates, stay connected! The advisers don't seem to be very much help, they're always telling everybody something different!

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a good school because its cheap and a lot of the teachers are really passionate about what they do. Theodore R. Clement (Acting) Katie M Wild (Drawing) Dennis J. Najarian (Western Civ) Mark P Hartshorn (4D design) James C. Morrill (3D design) Allison K Randall (ceramics) All these teachers I've noted had an extremely positive impact on my learning experience.

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always work hard. The professors are willing to work with you, but you have to put the effort in too. The best I can say to prospective students, is always work hard and if you need help, you should take the initiative. This is why I love this college; it prepares you for the big four year universities.

  • 01/07/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Veterans Organization Chorus etc.

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs and organizations is always a great way to pass the time and also network within the institution.

    Food and Dining

    The quality of food varies across campuses. Overall, I think it's fair.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorm life that exists at this college, but there are other aspects of being social.

    Academic Rigor

    This college offers classes across a very wide spectrum. In effect, the rigor of academics would vary depending on the classes that you are taking. Keep in mind that this is an accredited institution that is very much respected in New England.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd advise perspective students to be very open to joining clubs and organizations within CCRI. This is a very good way to become more informed about the institution and how it functions. Most importantly, remember that every experience should be a great one. Enjoy you time at CCRI and make it memorable!

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Rhode Island is an amazing institution. Its' staff is dedicated to meeting the needs and the expectations of their students. Due to my personal experiences, I'd rate this school to be highly exceptional.

  • 08/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join different clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    look for scholarships .

    In three sentences

    it's very good place for practicing english. it's very safe. each and every person cares for you. it's very challenging because of so many students that attend ccri .

  • 04/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The fun things to do at CCRI is to join clubs, and sports to keep yourself active and what not better way than to be social and meet new people.

    Dorm Life

    Its a community college. There are no dorms there.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I'd give students is to always stay focused on your school/homework because even the slightest thing can get yourself distracted.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. It's so nice and the atmosphere among the other students makes me feel right at place. It's also a great school if you don't want to stay at a four year college/university and pay the whole four year tuition when at CCRI you're offered the same education for a cheaper price for only two years, then you can transfer when you have your associates degree.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do know that there are programs you can join for fun but I do not have the time to check them out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging for me but not too challenging. Also, the classes are small which is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take to heart what you hear about it just being a community college. It really is a good school. I truely feel like I've learned a lot so far. My classes are challenging but not too challenging.

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a great school for someone who needs a flexible school schedule. So far, of the staff that I have connected with they are very helpful. The school staff really made a difficult task a lot easier with all their useful knowledge.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campuses are typically very safe, most of the time you can see campus police walking around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities for every type of student to get involved in if you choose to.

    Great for these types of students

    Good fit for those who didn't do well in high school, haven't been in school for a while, or have a busy schedule and need to get an education at a good cost.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get a good education for what you pay for tuition.

    Food and Dining

    Can be hit or miss depending on which campus you attend.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms or housing at the community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work can vary based on your professors and which classes you are taking, but expect to work. Not as hard as you would at some other universities but you will still be working hard.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright and a tad expensive but highly convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent teachers and curriculum which allows me to stay motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for plenty of scholarships, financial aid and work yourself!

    In three sentences

    Lots of familiar people and friendly faces with excellent teaching staff with a few minor exceptions. Classes are very diverse and interesting. Campus is clean and filled with many sociable people.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous options to choose from in many different areas such as mathematics, arts, languages, etc. There are also athletics.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure of what they want to study, students who need to save money, students who can challenge themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    CCRI is the best bang for your buck that you will find! It is a great way to save money and get your general education requirements completed while also determining what to do with the rest of your life.

    What to do for fun

    CCRI offers a lot of clubs, organizations, and sports!

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria but it is good food and in a large space, with the addition of couches/TV in a separate area close by.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Community College of RI

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor in my experiences thus far has been challenging but to a reasonable extent. I am forced to think out of the box and spend a lot of time on my studies but the lessons are valuable and interesting, rather than boring and useless. The academics will get you out of your comfort zone and help you realize your full academic ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    After going to a university far away and expensive, I quickly learned that I could get just as good of an education for a much lesser price. I transferred to CCRI after one semester because I was still being challenged just as much. Don't feel pressured to figure out what you want to do for the rest of your life right away. Complete your general education requirements and explore the different paths you can take, with the help of advising, and then plan from there. There is no rush to attend a popular university... it is the education, not the logo, that counts.

    In three sentences

    The classes will challenge you and prepare you to transfer to a 4 year college or university after 2 years or less. It is a great way to save money and get your associates degree, as well as general education requirements completed. The advisors will help you with the transfer process and scheduling to guarantee that your time there is valuable.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome campus security guards, the safety of the ccri employees & workers are the main priorities

    Bang for the buck

    Professors are awesome

    What to do for fun

    It depends on the person, ccri offers so many different things

    Food and Dining

    Good food & clean eating areas

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help don't be afraid to ask, someone is always willing to help

    In three sentences

    This college is very good if you are used to small classes. If you struggle in any class there are student tutors or better yet depending on your professor they will tutor you upon request. CCRI is like a small family that want to see the student progress In all challenges.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whoa. Where do I start. If you athletic, go to the field out back and play football, soccer, Frisbee etc. Go to the gym and play Basketball on the courts. Go to the Student Union and play a party game like Munchkin or Cards Against Humanity. Go play video games like Tekken in the Lower Common. Watch TV or a movie. Play Magic the Gathering. Become a fan of League of Legends. The list goes on and on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good. There are plenty of options ranging from healthy to fast food to oriental. Just be careful what you buy because the food is rather expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Though CCRI doesn't have dorms, that doesn't mean there isn't a dorm atmosphere. You quickly get acquainted with people you see around all the time. On top of that if you pay attention, you'll find out about all these events like movie nights and gaming tournaments. Trust me, there is never a dull moment.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you keep a level head and attend your class (please don't skip. SERIOUSLY) then you should be fine. Get in touch with a professor if you need help or go to the department and look into tutoring options. It also helps to have people to study with.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would recommend is not to be shy or introverted. Try to be as open minded and talk to as many people as possible. Also if your having any trouble in class, go visit your professor during office hours. no professor will ever bite your head off for asking your help and it could mean the difference between passing and repeating a course again.

    In three sentences

    It may sound cliché but this place is like a second home. Everyone is friendly and helpful and more than ready to help you with your educational goals. CCRI is a great place to learn and grow.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    talk to any and all teachers and advisers they are very helpful. Talk to current or past students their information is helpful as well.

    In three sentences

    A very welcoming campus with very helpful staff and students. Such a nice place I can't wait to start school. The school is easy to navigate and is very spacious.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem, nor do I worry about my safety on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not belong in a club or any other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the general mixture of student body.

    Bang for the buck

    I think tuition for college in general is ridiculous. It gets more expensive every year, especially textbooks. Being a community college, there tuition can be more affordable with help.

    What to do for fun

    I am not aware of what they offer for fun. I go there and take my classes and then go home to a normal everyday routine.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    CCRI does not offer a dorm life. It is very conveniently located in different cities, so the commute is not a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very challenging in a good way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be on top of your game and pay attention to dates and deadlines.

    In three sentences

    The academics offered are abundant and it is easy to schedule classes for days and times that fit into your schedule. It is a school that actually offers a lot to fit around your schedule.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see guards walking around every day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs available.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming from a larger university to this college, it has certainly helped me be a better student with having smaller classes and more teachers who are there to help.

    What to do for fun

    You can not live on this campus. The entire school has many different locations but all are for classes only. There are sports teams and clubs available however.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school

    Academic Rigor

    The school is set up to help move your forward in life, either to get a degree for a great career or to help prepare you for a larger university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to look through all of the different degrees and certificate programs offered at the school. The school has so much to offer, and with many degrees leading right into a work field with many job opportunities.

    In three sentences

    This college is a wonderful school. The teachers are actually there to help and they want to help you succeed. It has been a great learning experience so far and I can not wait to get my degree!

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always many security guards and campus police to help with anything. They are very friendly too, greeting people at the door. Always a good morning or have a nice day. Makes you feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that don't have a lot of money to spend. It is also great for those who don't like the classroom environment as there are many online classes offered. Students that like to have fun while learning will also strive.

    Bang for the buck

    It really just a great school to go to. Everything is about the individual student and their needs, not anyone else.

    What to do for fun

    Again I don't spend much time on campus so I'm not sure.

    Food and Dining

    I have actually never had the food here. I am only ever on campus for an hour or two every couple of days. But I have heard the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    It is only as hard as you make it. Teachers are always willing to go the extra mile as long as you put in the effort and prove that you are trying. 100% easier than high school. Believe it or not, the teachers are your friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, and talk to advisers as much as possible. Do not be afraid of using all the resources provided, there is always more than one way to get things done.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to go to for the least amount of money. The professors are great and are always looking for ways to help students achieve the best possible grades. Administration is also very cooperative and helpful in finding exactly what the student needs.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    state police officers everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of sports offered. you can also use their pool if you want.

    Food and Dining

    they serve great food.

    Dorm Life

    it is a community college so there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    teachers are very insight full of their subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are unsure of what major you are going into then come to CCRI. Also if you want to get a feel for what college life is like CCRI has a great learning enviroment

    In three sentences

    it is a really good school. It has a very friendly environment, the teachers are very helpful. There are a lot of classes to choose from and has a variety of majors.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Books are expensive so I would stick with amazon rather than go to their book store. And make sure your professor is in the field your going for before you sign up for their class, sometimes the professor doesn't have a background in the major your going for.

    In three sentences

    I rate this college 2 and a half stars out of 5. Their advisors aren't too helpful on getting where u need to go to get your degree. And some of the teachers might not even be in the field that they are teaching you. The set up of the school is nice. And the food isn't to bad.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I got food poisoning once.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Students on average seem to have very high grades. Required classes seem to be difficult to get into though.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many officers watching the campus that will ensure you safety. The campus police also go in the parking lot to check if all the cars are safe.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that many people go to for great food, for cheap prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a very fair grading policy at CCRI. There are certain GPA's that you will need to obtain to get accepted into your program you desire. They also have pantalets to describe what grades you will need to receive to get accepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upcoming students that will attend the CCRI campus will have a great time getting to know fellow colleagues. They will also have a great time learning new material every class meetup. As long as you are interested in your courses, and want to make something out of yourself this will be a great experience.

    In three sentences

    There are wonderful, helpful professors at the Newport campus that always take their time to make sure you fully understand the material. CCRI has a wonderful Nursing Program that I am currently pursuing. CCRI is also a wonderful place to start your future.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Have to pay a good ten dollars for a full lunch meal. But food is edible.

    Dorm Life

    It's a commute college so not much on forms

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what professor you have. My experience wasn't the easiest but it was my first time so I didn't know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find some classes that are easy but look at student reviews too because sometimes the class that sounds the easiest will turn out to be the hardest

    In three sentences

    Good place to get your credits. Recommended for anyone who doesn't have all their credits from high school. If you also want a taste of how rigorous college can be go here and take one or two classes.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten there

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CCRI.

    In three sentences

    It is all I could afford Good varierty of majors available Convenient to where I live

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is a great option for someone who wants a college education but does not want to pay as much for one. Many of the prices are reasonable compared to other institutions. There are also many class options which are available.

    What to do for fun

    Across the street from the entrance of the college is the Rhode Island Mall. Down the road is also the Warwick Mall which has even more store selections. There are many shops within the town of Warwick which will keep a student here occupied in between or after classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in the building is always stocked with different types of food and when the cafeteria is not open, there are always vending machines in the main halls for a snack. Luckily, there are many places to eat nearby the institution.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college with three locations in Rhode Island but none of them have dorms. Many of the students enrolled at this institute have part time or full time jobs as well as being either a part time or full time student.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on the types of classes that you take at CCRI. They have classes ranging from beginner classes to advanced classes. Although, the more that you put into a class, the more you will get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tips that I would give to a prospective student would be to follow the syllabus because the classes follow them closely and be sure to attend as many classes as you can because attendance always seems to correlate with the grades you receive.

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Rhode Island is a completely inclusive school which offers a variety of different classes. They offer many different levels with flexible times. I was drawn to CCRI to utilize the math lab style classes while I was still in high school and then transfer the credits to the college that I will be attending in the fall.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many social clubs

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers as well as staff are very supportive. Many resources on campus; tutors, PC labs

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check with your advisor and look up their degree evaluation online before picking classes

    In three sentences

    The community college of Rhode Island is a place full of diversity whether students or staff. It is a school build on support for young adults, helping to shine a light on the path of success. Any student can easily reach their goals and even go above and beyond in future plans.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Good school, great to start your way to understand college but I been here for 2 years and I want to transfer to start my Nursing career.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not many things to do for fun on campus you can either sit in the dining hall and talk to friends or relax in different spots of the building before class.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food in the cafeteria is actually pretty good. Its real cooked food made right in front of you and doesn't taste bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life for a community college

    Academic Rigor

    I've only taking a few of the general education classes here and they are not to challenging at all. You just need to attend class pay attention to lecture and do the work that is assigned.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your thinking of attending here its is a good idea to go for the first year or two. It saves a lot of money that way and all the classes are very transferable. Other than that you don't really get the full college experience of a university and the students here are very city like meaning they mind there own business and not to friendly.

    In three sentences

    Overall CCRI is a great community college to attend. It has very credible teachers that want to help you to succeed any way they can and its a smooth transition if you're thinking about transferring.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do in the area depending on what you would consider fun and how far you are willing to travel.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had opportunity to eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Because this is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is challenging but not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to manage your time properly or you will fall behind.

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a good college for getting your Gen Eds out of the way at a decent price. They have many associate degree and certificate programs available. The student body is very diverse in age and nationality.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCRI is perfect for non-traditional students: students who did not graduate from high school, students who are older and returning to school later in life, or students who may not have been able to gain entrance into a four year college yet. CCRI is an ideal place to acclimate yourself to the rigors of college and transition into a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, CCRI is the ideal place for anyone to begin their college career, whether you are straight out of high school, or returning to finish your education later in life. CCRI has a joint admissions agreement with Rhode Island's four year state universities; every class you choose with an adviser and successfully complete transfers to the school of your choice. The tuition at CCRI is thousands of dollars less than a four year university.Â?Â? Saving money while taking classes that count toward a bachelor's degree is a no brainer!

    What to do for fun

    I do not spend a lot of time on campus, so I am not very well equipped to answer this question. However, CCRI offers many clubs and extra curricular activities for students who enjoy such things.

    Food and Dining

    Each campus has a lively cafeteria with a relatively large selection of choices. The breakfast menus are pretty good and a lot less expensive than restaurants! Seating is limited however, and more often than not you will have to share your table.

    Dorm Life

    CCRI does not have residential students, as it is a community college. So, this question does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    CCRI may be a community college, but the professors have high expectations and demand quality, well thought out, work. The classes are challenging and require an ability to think critically, communicate articulately and effectively, and to illustrate how well you have mastered the material through papers, presentations, exams, etc. CCRI is not a school where you may simply coast through!

    Tips for prospective students

    Succeeding in college is all about time management and thoroughness. Do not procrastinate and make sure you dedicate enough time to each class. Begin papers early, and always have more than one person proof read your work. You do not have to be a genius to do well in college, you simply must be persistent and conscientious.

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a fantastic school where you can save thousands of dollars taking classes which will seamlessly transfer to the four year university of your choice. The professors are knowledgeable and and present the curriculum in a way which fosters understanding and cultivates critical thinking and independent learning. CCRI offers a broad array of class times and locations, making it a perfect choice for busy adults returning to school.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security cars roaming throughout the parking lot, especially at night for the safety of the students. There are also usually security personnel throughout the building along with faculty and staff in the hallways.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I hear, the clubs are a pretty big success at all four CCRI campuses. A lot of people are involved in them and people really seem to enjoy the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    CCRI is great for students who are financially challenged, who don't necessarily want to spend a lot for college due to other priorities, people who have families and children, students who are right out of high school and aren't too sure of what they want to do or just want to catch up before going to a 4-year school, and it is also a great place for adults to go to be able to go back to school and change their degree or get one in a different field.

    Bang for the buck

    CCRI is definitely one of the most affordable schools in the United States. For less than $5,000 a year you can get a really good education, meet new people and make lasting friendships.

    What to do for fun

    At CCRI there are plenty of fun things to do. If you are someone who is an athlete, there are many sports teams to get involved in. There are also a wide variety of clubs you can join at any of the four campuses. If there is a club you want to join but it is at the furthest campus, you can start your own club at the campus you attend. You could also always take a fun class like an art or music class. It provides a challenge but also gives you the balance between academic school work and something you enjoy to do.

    Food and Dining

    The CCRI cafeteria offers a small variety of foods however it is all on the expensive side for students who go to one of the most affordable schools in New England. The actual cafeteria is a decent environment and people pretty much mind their own business throughout the area.

    Dorm Life

    CCRI is a school where students commute and there are no dorms on any of the four campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    CCRI offers classes that if you put in the effort can be really easy however, some classes held at CCRI can be quite the challenge. I always suggest Ratemyprofessor.com to people before choosing who they have as professors because if you are someone who is up for the challenge, you might want to see how classes run beforehand. Overall, CCRI's academics are reasonable and also have a good challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    To anyone who is planning to attend the Community College of Rhode Island, I would just suggest to them that they are in for a challenge. Community colleges aren't typically known to be hard, but CCRI has some classes like those in the nursing program, or classes held as long lectures that can really be hard for some people. I suggest that incoming students take a lot of notes or even record the professor so they can still get everything the professor is saying while taking down important pieces of information.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences, I would have to say that the Community College of Rhode Island is a good school to go to for the sole purpose of completing general education classes. It is a safe and pretty friendly environment and it isn't all that intimidating. CCRI has its downfalls but it is an overall decent school.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is available at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Opportunities are unlimited.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Former students tend to pop into classes to say hello and give encouraging words and advise.

    Bang for the buck

    Reaching my goals has me pretty busy, but so far I've fully learned the courses I've enrolled in and have had the opportunity to join in many activities.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club ! Attend school functions.

    Food and Dining

    They have Everything !

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your mind-set. You are what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework ! Develop working relationships with professors. Don't be afraid to contact your advisers, tutoring or professors if you need help or further understanding.

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a great intro to college life in general. Professors are helpful, available and encouraging. Courses are on track with today's standards and expectations of college level studies.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I consider it 100% safe.

    Greek Life

    No idea about Greek life of college.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are at an average level to make their scores sturdy. Some students can even take part as General Studies student and join JAA (Joint Admissions).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It has four locations or campuses at Providence, Warwick, Newport and Lincoln.

    What to do for fun

    You can join Clubs and Student Organizations and even take part in some other activities. e.g. sports, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with dorm life. I stay with my family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who face difficulties in studies must start their base from a college like CCRI.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best two-year college of Rhode Island. It lays a good foundation of education for students making it easier for them to join four-year colleges and universities. I am proud to be a student here.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security are always walking around and there are phones everywhere to call the school just got renovated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the community college in Lincoln, RI huge and has more teachers to choose from because no one wants to travel from providence where most students live

    Food and Dining

    Great cook makes anything and everything you want for any meal

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with couple of your teachers first

    In three sentences

    Great study atmosphere awesome guidance counselors help is all around everywhere you go

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ITS VERY IMPORTANT BECUASE THAT WAY YOU ONLY HAVE TO CONCENTRATE IN YOUR STUDIES

    Greek Life

    I LOOK FOWARD TO WORK WITH MY CLASSMATES AND PROFESSORS AND MAYBE I COULD TEACH THIS COURSE

    Clubs and Activities

    IN ANY CLUBS THAT LOVE HELPING THOSE IN NEEDS COUNT ME IN

    Great for these types of students

    STUDENT THAT ARE EAGER TO GET WELL ROUNDED IN THE MEDICAL FIELD

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I LIKE THE FLANAGAN CAMPUS DUE THAT I DONT GET LOST THERE ALL THE OTHER ONES I USUALLY GET LOST

    Bang for the buck

    I WOULD LIKE TO SAVE AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE

    What to do for fun

    MY KIND OF FUN IS TOO HELP THOSE IN NEEDS AND SING AT CHURCH

    Food and Dining

    I WOULD ONLY USE THE CAFETERIA

    Dorm Life

    I WILL BE COMMUTING SINCE ITS CLOSER TO ME.

    Academic Rigor

    I AM HOPING TO BE A VERY SUCCESFULL STUDENT AND HELP OTHERS ON MY WAY.

    Tips for prospective students

    I AM HOPING TO GET INTO THIS FALL 2013 DENTAL HYGIENE PROGRAM SO I CAN HELP THOSE THAT HAVE NO KNOWLEDGE IN THE DENTAL FIELD

    In three sentences

    I AM CERTAIN THAT ITS A GREAT SCHOOL SINCE I HAVE ATTENDED THERE IN THE PAST ALL THE PROFESSOR AND ADVISORS EAGER TO HELP ALL STUDENTS.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security always present and I always feel safe leaving my car unlocked while I'm in class.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap and classes aren't terribly hard. Ccri is perfect to start off with until you decide your career plans.

    What to do for fun

    I attend the Newport campus and in the summer things get crazy with all the tourists and locals. There are many shops downtown as well as many wonderful restaurants. There is always something to do in the summer here.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food isn't bad but the selection is very limited.

    Dorm Life

    Only off campus living. There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here aren't terribly hard and it has helped me get acclimated to college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its an awesome school to go to for the purpose of receiving an associates degree. Tuition is also cheap which makes it an option for many people.

    In three sentences

    Ccri is an awesome community college. It gives you the most bang for your buck. Ccri athletics are also fun to cheer for!

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here. I'm always comfortable with my surroundings and there are always someone there to help you in any situation.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't joined any yet, but my friends who don't have jobs, love the sports teams!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for types of students that don't really know what they want to do but don't want to do nothing with their life. Great for students who might be afford to move away from home but still want a great education. I would recommend everyone to join the JAA program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I always go up and down one stairwell so I have a point of perspective so I can understand where I am and so I don't get lost! I love the library. All my friends are around me and I always get everything done! Very good environment!

    Bang for the buck

    Huge bang for your buck! I can take the same classes at CCRI that are completely transferable to many colleges at a significantly lower price.

    What to do for fun

    There always something going on like ever college out there.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food but very over priced. I can drive two minuets away and get subway for half the price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms...so bad.

    Academic Rigor

    All depends on the classes your taking of course. CCRI is defiantly not like the 13th grade for me. I have a very rigorous math class and biology class. The styles of each of the classes are completely different than anything I've ever done in High School. Fast paced and quality driven.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a college success class. It has helped me so much. It has helped me to make friends, get information about scholarships, understand how college works, and has given me many tools for motivation that I desperately needed.

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a great school to get comfortable with college academic life. Its a way to understand how a normal college functions, without all the crazy parties and prices. I would recommend everyone in the surrounding area to apply to really get your money's worth in your education.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am not a member of any CCRI clubs or activities but I do know that there are many different clubs and activities for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest, I have only eaten at the Community College of Rhode Island's cafeteria once but I thought the food was really good. There are plenty of options to choose from so you have the freedom to try something new every day!

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living at the Community College of Rhode Island.

    Academic Rigor

    The Community College of Rhode Island pushes its students to do their absolute best to achieve the best education they can get so that later on down the road, they can graduate with confidence and become anything they want to be.

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Rhode Island is a great place to start your education. The staff is dedicated to helping students achieve their goals and dreams of higher education and a great career. The teachers at the Community College of Rhode Island are so nice and do their best to help their students through their studies so that each student may achieve the degree they desire with the grades that each student deserves.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely bang for the buck

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food , but deffenetly not the worst

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involve

    In three sentences

    some what challenging good faculty intresting classes

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the new student orientation, the campus police gave as much information they could possibly give to remind students that they are well protected. They even gave a key chain with the number to the campus police for every campus. There are police around the campus for whenever you need their assistance.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned before, CCRI has plenty of clubs and activities to do for every individual. It doesn't matter your particular likes, CCRI has something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    CCRI is great for students who have distractions at home that prevent them from studying. CCRI has plenty of quiet spots. For athletic students, CCRI has every sport for everyone. For workaholics, CCRI always has job openings. Also for students who consider themselves to be geeks, the library is a great place to sit down and research or, once again, study.

    Bang for the buck

    CCRI has a very affordable tuition. I'm only taking four classes and I am required to pay $1,992. So, even if you come from a low income home, CCRI has an affordable tuition and payment arrangements if its still too much. As for books, I found the books to be also affordable. One of my books only costs $60. So, CCRI has an affordable everything pretty much.

    What to do for fun

    There is a club or sport for everyone. Soccer, Basketball, Track, Volleyball, Baseball, Softball, Tennis, a Dance club, Art club, Psychology club, Writing club, German, French, Spanish, Japanese clubs, you name it. If clubs and sports isn't your type of fun, there is a library with several areas to sit down and mellow out, and even computers for entertainment. Even if you want to have your own club or study group, there are several areas to meet up at and study. Or if you're a workaholic, there's plenty of on campus jobs as well.

    Food and Dining

    CCRI has plenty of sources for food. The bookstore has a ton of refreshments for a low price. On the first floor also where the living room and dining tables are at is where you would see the cafeteria and plenty of snack machines.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms in CCRI because it is a community college. However, there are several spots to kick your feet up at. On every floor, there are comfortable couches and chairs to relax, listen to music or read at. CCRI reminds you to make yourself at home, especially in the area they designed to look like a typical living room.

    Academic Rigor

    CCRI requires you to use the best of your time. As much as you can on studying but at the same time to relax. CCRI is strict on studying but also reminds you that if you're not getting the proper rest and relaxation, there is no possible way you can store as much knowledge you gain into your brain as you would need to. Time Management is a key reminder in CCRI.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the college. There are so many resources in CCRI that can help with all of your questions. Many hang out spots to relax and take in the college environment. It's a very welcoming atmosphere to take advantage of!

    In three sentences

    Community College of RI is great for anyone who either just graduated or graduated in the past, but for any reason, could not attend college right after graduation but are now able to further their education or enhance their knowledge in their career. CCRI gives any individual the opportunity to become successful at a low expense.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCRI is best known for its Health Scienc programs.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities and clubs available at CCRI. Much more than you would expect for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to Orientation! Most of your questions will be answered there. And no matter what your plan is, make an appointment with an academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a great school with flexible schedules, knowledgeable professors, and campuses that are convenient no matter where in the state you live. CCRI offers many different options for degrees, certificates and training programs. It is a great school to either start or re-start your college career.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Great for these types of students

    In financial needs.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here and take the classes that you need without paying a lot of money compared to other schools.

    In three sentences

    The best option

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food actually isnt to bad

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is present, we also have crosswalks and I never feel at risk.

    Clubs and Activities

    All sorts of clubs depending on your interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent education for the money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I know of.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student groups to join such as student government which you can meet many new people and help make fundraisers and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at CCRI but sometimes it can get boring. It is also closed during the summer.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the Community College

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are easier than others depending on the student. But the challenges are what made me the student I am today. By studying at CCRI it has made me a stronger student and taught me to try harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a current student, my advice to any prospective students would be to apply for a tutor in any subjects you may have trouble in as soon as the course starts. The tutor will help you stay on track and keep your grades steady.

    In three sentences

    CCRI is a friendly school with a large variety of classes that students can take. It is a school that contains many staff members who are happy to help you with anything you need. The college also has programs that gives a chance for people with low incomes to get an education.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security day and night and fall and summer..

    Greek Life

    sing in the choir, dance, i like to bake .afiliated with the cathedral of life

    Clubs and Activities

    Bible study group,Basket ball

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have bible study groups i was told of.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is located in various parts of RI. That is a good thing because students from everywhere would be able to go to this college and not have to travel from a far location, write in your neighborhood and also if you want to stay home you dont have live on campus and two yrs or more you can recieve you degree and transfer to a university.

    What to do for fun

    Dave and busters. They have events that occur at college; jobs that somethimes come to the college. Also going to the computer lab and they have computers to use for personal use.

    Food and Dining

    dining room is closed during the summer

    Dorm Life

    no dorms/community college

    Academic Rigor

    It is my first semester back at ccri. They grade fairly by attendace ,test ,quizzes, participation, academic reports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for school pay attention, and get out of your comfort zone working at fast pace. Also dont drop or withdrawl from classes

    In three sentences

    I'm currently taking a summer class Engish reading 0250. The community college of rhode island is a good place for studying its quiet and has lots of space to do work. the even have work study as a place for employment opportunity.They also give you resources and have free toturing and also supply school supplies.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than the other schools in the area. I would call it perfect if I didn't have to drive all the way to Warwick, RI just to take general biology, physics, and chemistry. The only reason I complain about the drive is because is expensive and I traveled from Portsmouth, RI to Warwick, RI four nights a week for a whole semester and ended up totaling the cost of tuition on travel expenses and books.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses are extremely difficult and will swallow your social life all together while other classes are easy and require almost no studying. It depends on your academic strengths and weaknesses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that it's really not a two year degree program in anything. Between the prerequisites you'll be required to take and the courses for your major you will be spending more than two years. But that's okay because you're spending a fraction of the money you would spend at RIC or URI for the same curriculum!

    In three sentences

    I am currently going into my third year at CCRI in Newport but not for lack of trying for that 2-year degree program in General Studies/Biology Concentration. I love the Newport campus and all of my professors are very knowledgable in their particular field. I have learned so much in the two years I've completed; both from my peers and my professors.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is present, crosswalks between parking and school.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, Delta Epsilon Chi, Psi Beta.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 50 clubs and organizations, including Economics Club, Dance Club, Drama Club, Jazz Ensemble, Philosophy Club, Psychology Club, SkillsUSA, Spanish Club, The Art Club, Student Government, Student Nurses' Association and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent, employed full time, continuing education. I believe average age of a student at CCRI is around 34. Also great for kids right out of high school that want to get general requirements' classes for much cheaper and then transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Newport Campus is just minutes from Downtown Newport - great place to hang out between or after classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very low and quality of education provided is high compared to surrounding schools. Most credits transfer, therefore it is very popular for students attending other colleges to take classes at CCRI, especially during the summer.

    What to do for fun

    Providence, the capital of RI provides many choices to enjoy music, art, restaurants, parks, shopping, movies, nightlife. RISD museum is a must!

    Food and Dining

    Warwick Campus Cafeteria food is OK. Plenty of dining options around campuses in Warwick, Lincoln and Providence.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, there are no dorms provided. Plenty of rental apartments available in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy to get good grades if you dedicate the time, attend classes and do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get you placement testing and orientation done before the registration starts and register early, that way you are guaranteed a place in your desired classes. Some classes that are in high demand ( i.e. Human Anatomy and Physiology) may fill up within hours.

    In three sentences

    The biggest community college in New England. The school has campuses and satellite locations all over Rhode Island and offers day, evening, weekend, online classes, therefore making it convenient for any type of student. It also has transfer agreements with at least 30 colleges and universities so a student is guaranteed to transfer all or most credits earned at CCRI.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good security

    Clubs and Activities

    Lot's to do and be part of

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education for the money

    What to do for fun

    Join the various clubs

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria offers an array of choices

    Dorm Life

    Don't have any dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep good study habits

    In three sentences

    Perfect for students who don't want to travel too far for an excellent education.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Average Cafeteria Food

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider summer courses, and check into all campus locations to find the one most convenient to your schedule.

    In three sentences

    I attended the Community College of RI for a high school running start program in which I earned college credits in place of my senior highschool year. I would reccommend this opportunity to any high school junior looking to accelerate their college process as it provided a great low cost opportunity to receive many general studies and elective credits that would otherwise cost much more at a university.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    mingle, do your thing

    Food and Dining

    organized

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    most of the professors are easy to understand and get along with.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you talk with an advising counselor to help you choose the right classes

    In three sentences

    it is fast, cheap and easy to do

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and non-traditional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I know.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is great and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    YOu can join many of the student groups.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it would be great if there where.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early for the best parking spots. Don't be afraid to use the writting center. Talk to your advisor often.

    In three sentences

    This college has great faculty. This college has many groups to join. This college has a great transfer program.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent, there are next to no crimes on campus each month and my safety never feels compromised while there.

    Clubs and Activities

    all sorts of different types of clubs for any type of student if they are interested. there is a gym and a basketball court that students can use as they please.

    Bang for the buck

    the quality of classes at ccri rellative to the cost of classes is top of the line. you could not ask for better education at the low price ccri offers.

    What to do for fun

    at ccri we have many international and fund raising nights. many times student goverment will provide its students with free pizza and activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    the quality of food is actually very good considering it is a community college. i purchace food there atleast twice a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    students should really focus on keeping their grades high. putting in a little extra effort academic can really pay off when it matters.

    In three sentences

    the majority of the teachers show they do career about the success of students and are passionate about their jobs. the low student to teacher ration allows teacher to apply effort for each individual. ccri's lost classes are an excellent choice to get your life started.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i do not eat the food at the community college or rhode island. i am a very picky eater and i do not really like any of the food that they are serving there. on top of that i am only there two days a week so i don't really have time to eat anything.

    Dorm Life

    in the community college of rhode island there are no dorm rooms. i think that it is much better that way, it is only a community college there is really no reason for one there.

    Academic Rigor

    in this college the way that subjects are taught to us are in a fun and exciting way. everything is geared towards us being able to take in the knowledge that is being taught to us. the teachers really know how to keep the attention of the students.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security likes to stay in their office since the campus is safe to being with.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs to suit any interest and major. if you cant find one that you like, it is a simple process to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone looking to complete general education requirements at a low cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is always something interesting going on in the all clubs area. the only way you know about it is too be in a club.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is cheap and the experience is what you make it. the more active you are in the school, the better experience you will have.

    What to do for fun

    the student government constantly has events in the common areas and clubs are a great form of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the school is over priced and very low quality.

    Dorm Life

    dorms and campus housing are not offered.

    Academic Rigor

    like any college, the rigor of classes depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    join as many cubs as you can manage. they are a great way to kill time between classes and a great social experience.

    In three sentences

    all of the clubs are fun and active within the school. advisers are very little help, but some professors are willing to meet with you to talk about your major. over all, a great junior college experience.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sorry, I go to school and leave :)

    Food and Dining

    The food is hit or miss at the Flanagan campus. I have never eaten at the Warwick campus.

    Dorm Life

    not applicable

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the professor. Ask around before you register for classes. Don't take the easy way out - you get out of class what you put into it! The anatomy and physiology classes are the foundation of the Nursing program, if you don't learn anything it will come back to haunt you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are aiming to get into one of the Allied Health programs, make sure you get good grades in your prerequisite courses! You don't want to waste your time and money having to repeat courses because you didn't get a good grade the first time you took the class.

    In three sentences

    I am getting ready to start the second semester of the Nursing program at CCRI. I think they need to streamline their admittance procedure so that you don't wait 9 months between finishing your prerequisites and beginning the Nursing program.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, working, basic education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Need extra cash for school. Do your own research, counselors are not overly helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are expensive, and not always necessary.

    Am enjoying being here

    Limiting my future options at this point in my education

    Am learning a lot

    Learning a lot

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Its a good stepping stone but if you have the change to goto a full four year college dont hesitate, JUST DO IT

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and affordable cant complain

    Did enjoy being here

    Not a bad environment, but it just feels like high school all over again

    Did learn a lot

    All the prof. I had til date have been great.

  • 11/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCRI is great for anyone who wants to get a higher education, but may not be ready to move away from home, and/or is on a tight budget.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a current student, my advice to any prospective students would be to apply for a tutor in any subjects you may have trouble in as soon as the course starts. It will help you with your grades, and as a result keep you happy. Also, talk to Frank (the guy who wanders around talking to everyone.) He's cool. :)

    Bang for the buck

    CCRI has excellent teachers, for which the school is highly underrated. I have not come across a single bad professor here, and I hear relatively few stories about them.

    Am enjoying being here

    While CCRI isn't exactly my dream college, I have found that I am enjoying school much more than I thought I would. Attending CCRI has also opened doors for me, and allowed me to explore my interests.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a full time student, enrolled in 4 classes; (12 credits.) Marketing Communications, Introduction to College Mathematics, Social Problems, and Lighting and Sound Production. Each class has it's ups and downs, just like any class, but I am learning quite a bit from every one.