Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

John Cabot University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/07/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I fell 1000% safe here. Must show ID before entering building, 24 hour security, etc.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life at JCU.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do at JCU. Student life is amazing. Clubs for everyone, athletics teams, and the local community has a lot to offer as well! Rome has endless possibilities.

    Food and Dining

    Tiber cafe is amazing! Friendly staff, clean, and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Housing is fantastic. Clean apartments, 24 hour security, cozy and feels like home!

    Academic Rigor

    It is tough, but you'd expect that at any university. Professors will help any struggling students!

    In three sentences

    The professors are passionate and empathetic. The small classroom size makes me more than just a number here. I've met people from all over the world and I've had the opportunity to live in Rome, one of the most beautiful cities in the world!

  • 03/06/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe, security everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and sports, always an event happening on campus/ outside of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be open minded and willing to immerse yourself in the Italian culture. It is very helpful to be part of clubs/sports at JCU.

    In three sentences

    JCU is more than just a four year university, it is a tight-knit community of diverse students and staff. Due to the small class size I received incredible one on one attention from professors, which helped me to understand topics more in depth and motivate me to try my hardest. The student body is extremely diverse, I developed friendships with people from all over the world, friends who I will have for life.

  • 12/31/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a big city, so you obviously have to be careful. Especially in regards to small things like pickpocketing and petty theft or drugs. But otherwise, our school has lots of security guards on hire!

    Greek Life

    None at the moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities that we do have are pretty underdeveloped for the most part. One semester a club will exist, and it will do well in the first week or so, and then the next semester no one knows of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in international affairs. People who can handle a little bit of disorganization. People with patience and people with interest in other cultures!

    Bang for the buck

    It's Rome! Cheaper for me to go here than anywhere else I applied in the US. (And that's saying a lot). Work hard for those scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    It's Rome. I could go on forever.

    Food and Dining

    You're in Italy. The food/dining provided by the university isn't really all that great (it's pretty terrible honestly), but the university's neighborhood, Trastevere, is surrounded by cute, hole-in-the-wall restaurants that are both delicious and cheap. You can't go wrong. Personal recommendation: don't get the food plan. Waste of time/money.

    Dorm Life

    JCU's dorms are pretty nice considering the average Italian living situation. For permanent students: JCU dorms will either be a hit or miss for you, depending on who you end up rooming with. I was super lucky that the one time I stayed in JCU dorms was great. However, it's important to keep in mind that it's mostly study abroad students in the dorms. Very few permanent students occupy the dorms. (I don't mean to be stereotyping study abroad kids, but...) The JCU dorms aren't going to be quiet. They're very American, they're loud, and there will be lots of weekday partying. Prepare. For people studying abroad here: JCU dorms will be great for you. Be nice to the cleaning staff and the security guards. It will come in handy later.

    Academic Rigor

    I was really challenged as a high school student, but I didn't find that same constant challenge at JCU. My first semester English class was kind of a joke in that I rarely went and still got at an A. (Sure, I did good work for the class, but there was an attendance requirement listed on the syllabus, and according to that, I sure should not have gotten an A). That being said, it was my first semester. Things are getting harder now that I'm in the second semester of my sophomore year. Just depends on the professor and the subject matter I guess. But it's definitely not Harvard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look out for the university's Facebook pages! Find people who go to the university currently (easy to do so by just asking for a current student through the university's admission's email). Ask them all the questions! And definitely decide early on whether or not you're ready for living in Italy and so far away from home.

    In three sentences

    Not a very organized institution (much like the rest of Italy). However, it's an ever-changing student body taught by the most brilliant of professors. I can't say that I would rather be at any other university.

  • 04/23/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Rome has many cultural academies and museums with many permanent and temporary exhibitions. The Academies offer many lectures and conferences to the public.

    Food and Dining

    Not only are the traditional food dishes incredibly flavorful, but they are also affordable.

    Dorm Life

    When in Rome, don't live in an American dorm house. There is much more cultural immersion when you live in an Apartment in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class offered at John Cabot it a challenge which requires hard work and dedication but Professors are always there to help out when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with your eyes and minds open and be ready to adjust your perceptions of the world.

    In three sentences

    John Cabot offers a unique opportunity to earn a American College Degree while studying in a International city with students and professors from around the world. Studying Art History in Rome gives you primary access to some of the top collections in the world and its central location in Europe offers mobility to travel and see Art centers in person (i.e. Louvre, British Museum, Glyptotek Copenhagen). The small class sizes allows us to make personal relationships with our professors creating long lasting friends and networks.

  • 11/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 security. Trastevere is an extremely safe neighborhood, there is nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are constantly present here at JCU. Find your niche and join clubs and participate in activities, meeting new people in the process!

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky. Independent. Worldly. Someone ready to experience new people and cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lemon Tree Courtyard. The hangout and home to all JCU students.

    Bang for the buck

    I live in the Eternal City and I'm receiving an American education what more is there to say?

    What to do for fun

    You're in Rome there's always something to do! Clubs, bars, and friends are abundant!

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I'd like to suggest that you avoid the food plan and stick to experiencing the various cuisines of Rome. Purchase a small meal plan and use the extra money for eating out or buying food that you can make in your apartment kitchen. With regards to the restaurants found in Rome, more specifically Trastevere, there are so many and they are SO good. I recommend Dar Poeta for pizza, Tony's for pasta, and Cafe Settimiano for a lunch time sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently living in the Gianicolo residence. I live with two girls, sharing a bedroom with one. Our apartment is spacious, inviting, and furnished with essentials. We have a large living room, dining area, and full kitchen. In each bedroom there is a large armoire that holds a significant amount of clothing, however I do suggest purchasing under the bed storage boxes. Dorms are apartment style, therefore you will not experience the typical college idea of dorm-life where people leave their doors open. There is a study room open all night, a social room, and the fitness center located in Gianicolo. 24/7 security is also present.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small, no more than 20 students to a professor. Expect essays and homework, but not to the rigor of an ivy league.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not base your opinion off of rankings. John Cabot is an institution in which you will receive a liberal education and a personal journey filled with independence and eye-opening experiences.

    In three sentences

    Small school with well-rounded classes and professors that genuinely get to know you and your learning abilities. Breathtaking atmosphere, every alleyway is a new adventure with stores, people, and delicious food. Ultimately, both a personal and cultural experience you will never forget.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good, we have ID scanners at the residence as well as guards at every door.

    Clubs and Activities

    JCU has a lot of clubs and activities, and it is also relatively easy to create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Thrill-seekers, jet-setters, independent students looking for the challenge of living abroad!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many beautiful terraces!! Our Guarini campus used to be a convent.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities to take advantage of at John Cabot, but you have to be proactive!

    What to do for fun

    JCU hosts a lot of fun events, plus we are located in a very student-friendly neighborhood. Rome as a whole has so much to offer!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, I don't have a meal plan so I rarely eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The university apartments are nice and security is tight.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a very wide range of classes. Classes are challenging but professors are generally enthusiastic and interested in their students, which definitely enriches the learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to current students about life at the university! JCU's student body is so diverse and welcoming towards everyone.

    In three sentences

    JCU has a fantastic atmosphere paired with the huge benefit of being located in one of the most beautiful cities in the world! I am both challenged and inspired at John Cabot, and it only gets better each year. I know when I graduate that I will be fully prepared for a happy and successful future!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 12 people found this review useful. 7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are within walking distance of all of Rome. Truly right across the river from the Historic City Center and events that are coordinated by the school.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 out of 28 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GOOD

    Greek Life

    Only Roman!

    Clubs and Activities

    All outside.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love traveling, if you love Italy, the language , the food and possibly are into Arts.. and can do without the big American college campus life.. and walk the streets of Rome without fear and can live without drying your clothes in a drying machine during the winter, this could be for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Despite a not so perfect appearance or great and prompt organization, you are in Rome and it is mostly a Liberal Art school . Rome is your campus. The idea would be to connect outside the school with local people and really live it. Up to you!

    What to do for fun

    Another 5 stars. pubs, bars restaurants and a vibrant downtown full of fanstastic art the whole world envies is just awesome.. recommend the purchase of a used lambretta to get around. faster and cheaper!

    Food and Dining

    you are in the Trastevere. it is 5 full big stars!! cannot argue on this one!

    Dorm Life

    not very comfortable. urban, tight arrangements and not on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Did not appear to be tough, but we couldn't say for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you visit during classes, during the week. Also look at schools in Florence they tend to be more organized for the American student.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a big green lawn you will not find it. Very small school, pretty much all inside one building. Rome is the campus! Dorms are about a mile or two away. no gym, no dryer, 1000 students. Classes all held in English. organization was not the first thing that came to our minds when we visited this school just recently this summer, but there is a family feel ...