Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Porterville College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/10/2015

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is really nice, the professors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to deal with admissions people, they are not reliable and really rude.

    In three sentences

    The professors are awesome. The atmosphere is friendly. The staff in admissions is not the best at all.

  • 11/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    lots of different clubs here that are friendly

    Great for these types of students

    great for students not wanting to get lost in the crowd and want a quality education taught by teachers who care about your success.

    What to do for fun

    tons of clubs to participate in, athletics, and there are a few off campus activities to do as well

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok, but you are better off eating off campus for the time being as there is no cafeteria at the moment.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life to speak of only off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    offers some great classes that transfer to a uc or csu from 3 campuses.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you do your work and not slack off you will do fine

    In three sentences

    Porterville is a small campus ideal for low student to teacher ratios, the closest you will get to one on one. A knowledgeable staff that cares about your success so long as you put forward an effort.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not a lot of fun things to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class on time, do all your homework and pay attention because all classes go by fast. Don't be left behind.

    In three sentences

    Porterville College is a good school for locals in the area to get their basic education before transferring to a University. I like how all counselors and teachers are focus in making sure you make the right decisions. I recommend this school to anyone in this are.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    PC has a lot of clubs and events to keep students busy. They also extend turoring and help for all students.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, but the prices could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Everything is off-campus, but the campus itself is very beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can pile up fast if you get distracted at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study a lot and remove any distractions.

    In three sentences

    Porterville College is a very beautiful place to attend. The curriculum is top notch, as well as the teaching. I am very pleased with PC, and would say that it is one of the best Junior colleges in California.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The town is located only a few miles away from the mountains and a lake. It is located far enough out to enjoy the country, but doesn't really meet up to the thrill seeker or a big city type of person.

    Food and Dining

    There is the necessitates on campus, but I don't know who can live off fast food and gatorade for two plus years.The

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and close to campus. The town is also small, so there is plenty of cheap living for college students.

    Academic Rigor

    No place is perfect, but I believe it all depends on the student and time they invest in their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is small, so it's not overwhelming. The staff is welcoming and the teachers have the most experience in their personal life relation to their education than any other college that I have attended in the past.

    In three sentences

    Porterville College is a school that holds many cultures. Its campus is a relaxing environment where you can sit outside of your classroom and take in the sites and sound of nature. It's culture is vast and welcomes all kinds of people from all walks of life looking to better their life through education.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a cadet program that is offered to students on campus and it also works as a class so that the students get credits. the cadets patrol the campus and parking lots throughout the day to monitor safety and enforce rules so that the safety of others is ensured and a safe environment is created.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are the occasional book clubs and asb clubs but other then that, there is not much going on at Porterville college. we do have a couple of competitive sport that include boys and girls basketball, girls volleyball, baseball and softball.

    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do for fun at Porterville college because its designed and meant in my opinion to go in and take care of business. I believe that all fun and extra curricular activities are meant for bigger college institutions because there is a bigger population and more money to be able to offer fun things.

    Food and Dining

    Porterville has a small cafeteria that offers home made foods and snacks by the wonderful cooks working there. the food is moderate and there is a small selection but it does the job when one builds an appetite between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    at Porterville college, the faculty makes every individual feel important and not just another number. from administration to the professors at the college, everything is one on one and it really make one feel comfortable and confident.

    In three sentences

    Porterville college is a good community college that gives locals an opportunity at attaining a higher education with great professors. the counselors at Porterville college work hands on with students to connect them the classes necessary to complete either an associates degree or certificate. I would recommend Porterville college to any high school graduate who is looking to stay local and looking for a great system.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty secure.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Cappa?

    Clubs and Activities

    i honestly dont know all of them. theres too many!

    Bang for the buck

    Good education for a low cost.

    What to do for fun

    Study. Hang out with friends. Many activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus living

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you but also help you beat their challenge. Its really nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help. Everyone is always happy to help there.

    In three sentences

    It is full of great professors. The staff and students are very helpful. The campus is beautiful.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The different clubs on campus offer different types of fun things to do. we are a small campus but we can still have fun

    Food and Dining

    ok food could be better our dining area is nice.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus it is a community college

    In three sentences

    I've never went to any other college that acually wants to help you succeed . They are there with you every step of the way.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs including the Anthropology club with Mr. Osborne, which is my favorite.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that offers a lot of snacks and meals for low income students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are very good at explaining themselves, and what they expect from their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can not afford books, ask your teachers how many they have on reserve to be checked out. I advise people to get started on their work as soon as it is assigned, rather than procrastinating.

    In three sentences

    This college offers a lot of help whether it be with free tutoring, or staff that is always available, through email or office hours. I have not had any bad experiences with teachers at this college, they have great science, anthropology, and child development classes. Books are always made available in the library for those who can not afford to buy them.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had any problems with my safety while on campus, nor have I heard of any safety issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Porterville College has such a variety and large number of clubs and activities available.

    What to do for fun

    During different hours of the day, there are many events in the center of the college. They are sometimes unusual, but nonetheless interesting.

    Food and Dining

    I've never tried the cafeteria food, but there are always students inside, so I assume the food isn't terrible!

    Dorm Life

    There is none, since this is just a small two-year college.

    Academic Rigor

    It might be difficult for students who have taken time off to jump back into basic education, such as Math and English, but there is always tutoring available in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete all paperwork and mandatory requirements on time as you register! Sign up for classes as early as you can.

    In three sentences

    Porterville College is a wonderful first-year experience. Counselors and teachers are available at numerous times to give aid to those who need it. I completely feel comfortable as a new student.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The college has a lot of food to offer and the price is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is pretty academic school with great programs to satisfy the needs of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what the college has to offer before attending.

    In three sentences

    Porterville College is a wonderful school. You have a great learning environment and you learn a lot from the professors. This is a excellent school to attend.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is always around, and the campus is well lit in the night.

    What to do for fun

    nothing much to do here.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is really small and it is the same food everyday. not much to choose frome

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    there are a couple of amzaing teachers here, however there are a couple of unhelpfull ones. if you are taking a political science class i strongly recomend keele. he is one of the best teachers on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you sign up for your classes on your registration date because classes fill up quickly. also take advantage of the tutors in the learning resource center they are great help

    In three sentences

    the campus is very small but thats to be expected for a communit college in porterville. class sizes are small which is a plus. but theres not much to do here besides go to class and go home.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun at Porterville College. Occasionally, there will be a dance or some type of club activity or assembly.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Porterville College is a serious downfall. The cafeteria does not offer very many options, and the remaining options are mostly prepackaged junk food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories at Porterville College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Porterville College can be challenging. They can also be very rewarding when you are challenged, so keep that in mind. If you are open and willing to learn, the classes taught here should be simple enough to pass with flying colors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest showing up to class on time! The instructors at Porterville College are sticklers for punctuality. Also, I would make sure you do everything yourself as it will not be handed to you like it was in high school.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed this school's opportunities for learning. However, their admissions office is rather lacking. Overall, I would recommend attending Porterville College.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know we have never had any thing more serious than a theft.

    Greek Life

    We do not really have any fraturnaties or soraties

    Clubs and Activities

    Recently more clubs have started that make more of an effort to include minorities like lgtbq, Latinos, Females, Muslims and those with mental conditions

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students or those with families

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No, not really.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a pretty cheap school to attend, and the Financial Aid department is really great about helping people find funds.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    There was only one cafeteria and most of the options were microwaved or heat lamps. Fresh anything was rare so most students would leave campus to eat, unless maybe a club was doing a food fundraiser.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorm rooms

    Academic Rigor

    That really does depend on what level of course you are taking. The higher the level the more demanding the courses are. Most Professors expect a certain adherence to deadlines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the different departments and what services they offer, many student struggle unnecessarily because they don't know they could be helped.

    In three sentences

    Small community college in a small conservative town. Budget cuts has made it harder to get the classes you need to transfer. Recently more efforts have been made to make the campus more inclusive.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus cops on duty and an ex-cop so I feel safe knowing this.

    Greek Life

    There are a few Greek clubs that I have heard about at this college but due to the fact I work everyday I am not able to get involved in many things the school offers.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs but since I work I don't have much time for extracurricular activities. But I do know they are numerous of clubs that can entertain a wide variety of students.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to get involved in ASB and sports such as basketball and baseball or softball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is just located in a small town which is good because it doesn't get over crowded and there isnt much traffic.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is priced decently and with the help of financial aid makes it easier for students. Books are always the expensive part of school but the school has their own library with books available for students.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the gym and work out or to the cafeteria to grab some food. The school does have a place to hang out which has table tennis which is pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    I do like that Porterville College has a good cafeteria set up and have a good variety of food. They cook in front of you, so you know the food is fresh, unlike other schools that just have fast food restaurants on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Because this is just a junior college and is located in a small town, we do not have the luxury of living in dorms. Most students either live with parents or those who were able to move out are living in apartments or rooming with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Porterville College is tough. I have attended another junior college and the academic expectations does not lack just because the school isn't the biggest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because this school is s does not mean it will be easy. Teachers will push you to do your best and get the best student out of you.

    In three sentences

    Porterville College is located in a small town but is a good college. The teachers and staff are good about helping students reach their goals. It is an overall good junior college to give your college experience a headstart.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus appears safe. We have security patrolling at all hours of operation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual that I have noticed!

    Bang for the buck

    Save, save, and save for future school expenses. My highest expenses are books. I look for the discounted book rentals. I am so glad they started the renting of books vs having to always buy them at a higher price. I have found great prices at half.com

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball, catch up with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Fast food! They have plenty of food choices.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Do assignments in segments and early to avoid stress and the feeling of being overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Organized and practice your time management skills.

    In three sentences

    Porterville College has been a good educational experience for me. This is my first year and my instructors have been very helpful and easy to talk to. I am taking all of my undergraduate requirements and hope to transfer to UC Berkeley in a year and a half.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the ongoing Cadets program as well as the actual Campus Security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list, there are multiple choices on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who aren't quite sure where or what they want to do as of yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We hold what is called Pirate Madness week.

    Bang for the buck

    If you like the idea of having one-on-one interaction with your Professor, then this is a great place to be. Most of them are more than willing to help a student learn.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually plenty of activities on campus as well as plenty of different clubs to participate with.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has an adequate supply of food products available and is open from 7:30 am to 8:00 pm, Mon-Fri of the school week

    Dorm Life

    No dorm on campus

    Academic Rigor

    If you know what you want to major in, start with those classes first. Then do your General Ed. If not start on your General Ed first, you will figure it out along the way. Certain classes are more difficult than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check with each division in Admin, as well as the student services for any help you may need. Plus check your email and InsidePC often to keep up with your semester requirements.

    In three sentences

    Some of the Professors here need to get the idea that they are here for the students benefits not just theirs. Some of the professors here get a little sidetracked and too comfortable in their position to be an actual help to the students. Take interest in how the class is taught and pay more attention to the subject at hand. Students need to take an active interest in the politics of their school. More of the student body needs to get involved in the Associated Students of PC. Our Student government can have a big influence on what happens on campus. The budget needs to be adequately adjusted to provide the right courses. They need to make sure the proper courses for the degrees they offer are available. That includes Certificates as well.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those planning on transferring, but don't want to spend a lot of money. Those who want a transition into college life. Also great for those that one career training, like for an RN or Psych Tech.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall definitely worth the low tuition. Good education while saving loads! Totally recommend going here before a large university, its worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Its small and easy to find your way around. Can have a relaxing atmosphere at some times. They offer a fairly wide selection of clubs to join and they put on various activities that make going to school more than just going to school.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are pretty good for a community college. There are many teachers that are enthusiastic and willing to help if you don't understand something.